18

4.2 based on 18 customer reviews

9
6
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for Motorvlogging on my Motorcyle

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 23 September 2017 by GA Ramblin Man (USA)

I bought this camera last December and mounted it to my motorcycle helmet to record my rides and do motorvlogs to upload to YouTube. It has been a wonderful purchase. The high definition video is awesome and the sound with the connected Sony microphone threaded through my helmet is excellent. The live view remote is super easy to use and works seamlessly. It mounted to my helmet easily with a Sony helmet mount and the field of view is great. Much lower profile than a similar GoPro and I love the ease of use for this action cam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Love New Features, Not the Battery

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 08 November 2017 by Craig32 (USA)

I've literally used every Sony Action Cam since they came on the market. I know and appreciate all of the features and quality that goes into producing them and will not use anything but Sony. The AS300 offers a few new features that are amazing. The On/Off button makes a big difference. The Record light was also moved to the top of the camera and that helps with knowing it's on. The stability is as great as ever and the lens quality is unmatched. That said, I've had two major issues with mine. One is a design error (I believe) and the other could be a manufacturing issue. 1. Sony has moved the battery to the outside of the camera instead of down the middle (through the back). This type of battery does not do well in the cold and the door that holds it in provides no insulation, so basically the AS300 is useless in temperatures lower than 40 degrees. In previous models the battery was in the middle, which meant it was insulated by the surrounding camera parts, but no longer. Now, once the camera is cold, the battery goes from fully charged to dead in about 5 minutes. 2. My images (photos/video/live feed) went blurry after owning the camera for about 5 months. I use the camera 1-2 times per week, so it gets a lot of use. It was never dropped or received a direct impact from something else. As a runner it is jostled a lot, but that has never mattered in the past. Some research showed that the lens had shifted, making everything slightly blurry. Instead of Sony issuing a new camera I had to send it to a repair shop (Sony does NOT do any in-house fixes for action cams), which there is only one of in the entire US, and prove it was still under warranty for them to fix. Total turn around time was almost a month. Brutal. This issue could have been a one-off defect, so I don't hold it against Sony. Overall, I do love the camera, but they have to fix the battery issue. I spend a lot of time using the camera in the Winter and this is a crushing blow to not be able to use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

18 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

stabilization is great, so is battery

Body + Waterproof Case 24 April 2019 by driftwood145 (USA)

In a world where action camera stabilization is all the rage, the Sony AS-300 meets the challenge. I've had the camera for about a month and a half with zero complaints. The stabilization is fantastic. The battery life shreds my GoPro battery life. Color looks great in full daylight or as the sun is setting. Haven't used it much in dark settings, so I can't speak to the quality there. Sound is a little tinny, but still usable. Great camera!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Image stable, light-weight

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 07 October 2018 by Vinzlee (Singapore)

Bought this action cam mainly to relieve from use of phone video and battery, the cam is water splash/proofing which i can deploy during bad weather. Cam can power up fast enough to capture action but remote view connection does take abit of time. One IMPORTANT upgrade is to have one button for toggle between still capture and video rather than using menu.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Simple, easy to operate, great result

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 11 June 2018 by Surhert (USA)

Am so happy could buy this, due could give great result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

As always never fails me when it comes to Sony.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 29 May 2018 by Legionchaos (Singapore)

Ease of usage Quality of motion files are great and live up to expectation IMO

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 09 December 2017 by JavierDFT (USA)

first time using it and everything is great... i notice the the battery drop a little fast but everything else easy as pie lol!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Love New Features, Not the Battery

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 08 November 2017 by Craig32 (USA)

I've literally used every Sony Action Cam since they came on the market. I know and appreciate all of the features and quality that goes into producing them and will not use anything but Sony. The AS300 offers a few new features that are amazing. The On/Off button makes a big difference. The Record light was also moved to the top of the camera and that helps with knowing it's on. The stability is as great as ever and the lens quality is unmatched. That said, I've had two major issues with mine. One is a design error (I believe) and the other could be a manufacturing issue. 1. Sony has moved the battery to the outside of the camera instead of down the middle (through the back). This type of battery does not do well in the cold and the door that holds it in provides no insulation, so basically the AS300 is useless in temperatures lower than 40 degrees. In previous models the battery was in the middle, which meant it was insulated by the surrounding camera parts, but no longer. Now, once the camera is cold, the battery goes from fully charged to dead in about 5 minutes. 2. My images (photos/video/live feed) went blurry after owning the camera for about 5 months. I use the camera 1-2 times per week, so it gets a lot of use. It was never dropped or received a direct impact from something else. As a runner it is jostled a lot, but that has never mattered in the past. Some research showed that the lens had shifted, making everything slightly blurry. Instead of Sony issuing a new camera I had to send it to a repair shop (Sony does NOT do any in-house fixes for action cams), which there is only one of in the entire US, and prove it was still under warranty for them to fix. Total turn around time was almost a month. Brutal. This issue could have been a one-off defect, so I don't hold it against Sony. Overall, I do love the camera, but they have to fix the battery issue. I spend a lot of time using the camera in the Winter and this is a crushing blow to not be able to use it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Great camera for Motorvlogging on my Motorcyle

HDR-AS300 / HDR-AS300R 23 September 2017 by GA Ramblin Man (USA)

I bought this camera last December and mounted it to my motorcycle helmet to record my rides and do motorvlogs to upload to YouTube. It has been a wonderful purchase. The high definition video is awesome and the sound with the connected Sony microphone threaded through my helmet is excellent. The live view remote is super easy to use and works seamlessly. It mounted to my helmet easily with a Sony helmet mount and the field of view is great. Much lower profile than a similar GoPro and I love the ease of use for this action cam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Won'k work

Body + Waterproof Case 19 September 2017 by Frankiexyz (USA)

Will not go into record mode. Can't be used at all.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

16

0

HDR-AS300 Action Cam

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 18 September 2017 by EJ Action (Singapore)

The menu functions are not friendly. Navigation through the different modes is confusing.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Handy camera for events with action

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 28 August 2017 by ValP75 (Singapore)

I was comparing this action cam with go hero pro and eventually decided to go for sony. What attracted me ia the image stabilization on this gadget. As well as the shape. It is shaped as a small video cam and most accessories make it easy to operate and adapt

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for the price

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 17 July 2017 by Rockwell (Singapore)

Comparing apple to apple in value and function, ActionCam HDR-AS300 has much better performance in it video and audio recording. I can't wait to test the time lapse but I am sure it will be fun.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Challenges

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 16 June 2017 by sonyfan2000 (Singapore)

Attachments are not easily interchangeable. Example, handheld to finger grip to hand strap. Difficulty in activating buttons on Live view needs a "harder push". Good quality video. Needs Live View to support if use like a "video camera" (though not the intention).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Action Camera

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 09 June 2017 by empireridesback (Singapore)

I bought this camera on the 13th of May 2017 and have been using it for about a month. Was getting another action camera for a long cycling trip around Europe that I'm doing in June, so wanted something good. Previously using other brands of action camera (not the market leader). I researched between the AS300, the X3000 and other action cameras on the market. Initially I didn't find much information on the AS300, most of the reviews online and YouTube were about the X3000. The price point for the X3000-R was abit more than I was willing to spend (especially with the Live View Remote I was planning on getting (as you couldn't buy it separately - at least then). The AS300-R was at a good price point for me, and what really sold the camera was that the stabilisation for both the X3000 and AS300 was the same, Sony's Balanced Optical Steady Shot - aka B.O.S.S. And it works, like a BOSS! No gimbal needed (although, you'll get even smoother footage with a gimbal). But the stabilisation was important for me, as shaky footage is nauseating and unwatchable, but a gimbal was yet another device to charge, and lug around. Video is stable and good outdoors, audio is OK, not great, but good enough for amateur video production, should be good enough for most holiday videos. Timelapse is good, although, you need to use the Sony's Action Camera Movie Creator to stitch the photos together. My smartphone can do that without any additional programs. If Sony's reading, please update this. I've used the Live View Remote all of once! There's an app (I use Android, but I think there's one for iOS too) to do most of the things the LVR does. Just that the LVR is waterproof to a few metres, and I rather have that wet than my phone. The Field of View is wide enough that you get what you're aiming for, besides, you'll know roughly where the centre of the lens is pointing. Spend the money upgrading to the X3000 (without remote) instead. Or on accessories. I bought the lens protector (MCP1). Apparently it was so popular that the Sony shop I went to had only two left. It's cheaper getting a replacement lens protector than to change the lens. Although the waterproof housing does the same job, but it's bulkier and will affect audio quality. One downside of the lens protector is that the shape makes it abit more awkward to fit into my pocket, but better that than a scratched lens. If you're looking for an action camera for sports, or just to capture daily life, you can't go wrong with the AS300. Or bump it up to the X3000 if budget allows. The BOSS system really works wonders.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 23 April 2017 by Aliesh29 (Singapore)

Definitely anproduct worth buying. Very easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great video recording. Stabiliser are excellent.

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 03 April 2017 by Zulkifli (Singapore)

I bought it on 23rd of march and the only issue is, when viewing the recorded clips, there are no sound even when I had go the setting and click the sound to ON.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Impressed with video anti-shake stability!

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 12 March 2017 by branndon (Singapore)

I'm very impressed by the image stabiliser. It has surpassed even it's rival competitors on this technology. However, battery life could be better.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super compact

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 09 January 2017 by Whitemonster (Singapore)

Item very handy.with all the acessories attached. like back pack harnes easy to move around

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not better than go pro

Body + Live-View Remote Kit 02 December 2016 by Botek (Singapore)

Should buy go pro. Used at wild wild wet. Did not record video. Clumsy to handle 0n wrist strap. Camera battery run out so fast.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1