281

3.8 based on 281 customer reviews

128
64
25
20
44
Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

CFD-S70 26 February 2020 by NYLady (USA)

Thought this Sony boombox would last longer then the cheaper ones I had in the past but the same problem happened. I listen to books on cd's because of eye problem. The sound is great, nice looking item. Eventually when placing a clean cd the boombox said NO CD. No matter which cd I tried I got the same message. The cd's played in other players but not this one. This part of the boombox is not warrantied. Now I have a boombox that only plays tapes and radio. For the price and life of the boombox cd player I I might as well buy 2 cheaper machines which would last longer. Also, I would like to know why put black buttons on a black cabinet making them harder to read.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

281 Customer Reviews

0

Works great!

CFDS70BLK 24 July 2022 by Vic 9 inches of pleasure (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Provides great jams for my monster workouts. I'm also able to listen to my ancient cassettes and CDs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like the features it has to offer

CFDS70BLK 20 July 2022 by janny26 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift, been happy with it, I like the am-FM radio

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

CFDS70BLK 17 July 2022 by ralphe417 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I am very happy with the purchase. The price point was good. The ability to play both CDs and cassettes was a major factor in my purchase decision and I have not had any issues with any of the Sony products I have owned in the past

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far, so good

CFD-S70 14 June 2022 by Judyc13 (United Kingdom)

In the past, not in this country, the similar electronics I bought lasted only 12-18 months. I have had this just a few weeks, and it impressed me as feeling more solid, and operating more smoothly. Time will tell!

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

ok for the money

CFD-S70 04 June 2022 by Duckie19 (United Kingdom)

The player seems ok for the money however I thought it was a little tinny

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What has happened to Sony?

CFDS70BLK 15 May 2022 by Robio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This should never have had the Sony name attached to it. The sound quality is unacceptable and noisy. I cannot play tapes due to the noise from the tape mechanism. Th volume and bass controls are useless. Sony used to be the Rolls Royce of audio. Now it seems that Sony attaches its name to any piece of garbage that they think they can make a profit off.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

not satisfied

CFDS70BLK 12 May 2022 by crystal radio (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

no mic; blue-tooth device not in manual(added?){mentions car ad-on -- requires objectionable USBinterface) legal issues concerned with privacy of piracy businesses...(I have home and pro audio experience, before compact disc and learned about amiga compact disc interactive) sony music disc format forgotten(mp3 sales use? also read in mix magazine about DCC digital compact cassette) (simon and garfunkle might not aprove)

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

portable

CFDS70BLK 22 March 2022 by RAN84 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am able to go plasces and also outside to play CDs which I could not before.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Sony CFD-S70 Boombox.

CFD-S70 19 March 2022 by Groovepop66 (United Kingdom)

I bought this item recently from an online retailer. I’m really impressed with it. Smart design that’s easy on the eye, simple controls make it easy to use and most importantly it sounds really good for a small device. I can now listen to my old cassette tapes that I haven’t heard for years and the Megabass feature really enhances the sound quality. I would highly recommend this unit to anyone that’s looking for a reasonable priced boombox.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Exterior look nice n light

CFD-S70/BC SP5 06 February 2022 by May lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I happy, satisfied with wat l spending n need. Thanks Sony have such a good quality radio cassette recorder. Sure recommend who those needed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Nice and powerful

CFDS70BLK 29 January 2022 by SSONY King (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Elegant design, compact, with powerful speakers. Fully functional 3-mode unit (radio/cassette recorder/ cd player). Well done SONY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A Tiny Box That Tries Hard

CFDS70BLK 20 January 2022 by NoExpert (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This boom box is a small sound system that sounds better than most low cost, small sound systems.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Replacement no better than original

CFDS70BLK 18 January 2022 by cyclist64 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This boom box replaced an earlier CFD-S70, but had a different problem - tape portion seems to be running slowly (sounds like low batteries, even though it was plugged into 110-VAC outlet). Can this one be exchanged for another (hopefully, it will sound normal)?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Sony A win win boombox

CFDS70BLK 16 January 2022 by Joeys joys (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for my wife she loves it. Sounds Way better than expected she loves the timer Great lil boom box A+++++++

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

great CD sound

CFD-S70 29 November 2021 by keighleyhary (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily for the CD player and I'm not disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not so great.

CFD-S70/BC SP5 26 November 2021 by Simple user (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound system is not so good even with the bass on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good audio.

CFD-S70/BC SP5 18 November 2021 by Zimbab22 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago mainly to play my cassette collection. It does so nicely.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0