FE 85mm F1.8

Product Reviews

89

4.8 based on 89 customer reviews

78
9
0
1
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

89 Customer Reviews

0

Lightweight & Excellent optics

SEL85F18 SYX 11 July 2019 by _rnzw_ (Singapore)

Bought this lens for its weight and although it is not in the Zeiss or G-master range, the optics is still excellent. It gives me a nice reproduction of sharpness that I am looking for. It is a value for money lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sharpness

SEL85F18 SYX 10 July 2019 by MavWee (Singapore)

Bought this recently, and cannot be amazed enough with the sharpness and the compactness of the lens as well as fast and accurate AF. Given the price, it is really value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great bokeh!

SEL85F18 SYX 09 July 2019  (Singapore)

I bought this last month and i'm in love with it. My pictures are super sharp and produce a very nice bokeh. Really recommended for portraiture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent !!!!

SEL85F18 08 July 2019 by ljcolina (USA)

I'm very happy with this lens, is excellent I love !!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great affordable prime

SEL85F18 28 June 2019 by G4RKO (United Kingdom)

Very happy with lens........ ..... .........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Portrait lens

SEL85F18 24 June 2019 by helendee1408 (United Kingdom)

Excellent lens with super results. Very pleased with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 17 June 2019 by 85mm Value for money (Singapore)

Couple with A7III with the price you pay, it is as good as it get compared to GM lens. Bokeh, sharpness and auto focus is excellent!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL85F18 SYX 09 June 2019 by J McG (Singapore)

I'm really happy with the clarity and sharpness of this lens. It fits my needs exactly for the type of portraits I like to take. Especially Street and low light shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL85F18 08 June 2019 by Ty _dnb (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Lens a month ago when and I’m not dissatisfied. It’s incredibly sharp and works amazing with the eye af system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great image quality

SEL85F18 07 June 2019 by PFJ59 (United Kingdom)

Moved to Sony from Nikon I was worried about image quality but blown away by the excellent images from this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens!

SEL85F18 03 June 2019 by Rich58 (United Kingdom)

Superb lens! Very sharp from 1.8 to 8. 1.8 has a very scary narrow depth of field naturally. I usually use it a couple of stops down. Bokeh is great, if thats what you crave. For the size its light and easy to carry. I find it very useful for isolating subjects at 5.6 and above. Little bit pricey for what it is, but far better value than the 1.4 with equal quality. Who needs 1.4 and for that matter, who needs 1.8, 2.8 would have been fine! Great lens! If portraits are your thing, buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best portrait lens!

SEL85F18 21 May 2019 by MayaMo (United Kingdom)

The quality is absolutely amazing! This is the best lens for portrait photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Budget 85mm that’s on par with more expensive tier

SEL85F18 SYX 20 May 2019 by Kunioo (Singapore)

Not yet using the newly bought 85mm f/1.8 extensively. Autofocus is fast, images are sharp and get super sharp by 1 or 2 click stop down, bokeh is creamy and very good build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features , value for money

SEL85F18 SYX 13 May 2019  (Singapore)

Very happy with the focal length and speed of the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

SEL85F18 12 May 2019 by Cameraman999 (United Kingdom)

I had been using the 24-240 lens and enjoyed it but the 85 f1.8 is much lighter and so sharp with no colour aberration that I have experienced as yet. It is possibly not for vedeographers because the lens 'breathes' as it checks focus - but I bought it for still shots and it's excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus

SEL85F18 11 May 2019 by Edgar25943 (USA)

Great Bokeh and fast auto focus. Fast and quiet, great for portraits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super Sharp

SEL85F18 04 May 2019 by Ben Jones (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens 3months ago after playing with it at the photography show and what can i say? The lens hasn't left my camera since buying it. it is incredibly sharp and the auto-focus is on point, even in low light situations. I couldn't be happier! Pros: Super sharp even wide open. a nice size on the a7iii focus hold button (i've assigned this to eye auto focus) build is great Cons: None really! minor issue is in the design of the focus hold button, I would like to see it on the lens twice so when using the camera in a vertical position you can still use your thumb. overall: excellent value for money for a fast super sharp prime lens. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

SEL85F18 01 May 2019 by Mila7 (USA)

I bougth this lense for portraits and close up photography and happy with result. Reasonable price. Beautiful bokhen. Good for low light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Good quality lens that delivers.

SEL85F18 07 April 2019 by Doclis (United Kingdom)

I bought the lense for photographing artwork, allowing myself to get behind the two soft boxes when shooting smaller pieces. I'm delighted with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Super sharp

SEL85F18 01 April 2019 by Redrsr (United Kingdom)

To get the best out of the A7Riii sensor I decided on primes, this one is a cracker, super sharp, lovely bokeh, fast focusing, nothing to fault, looking at the f1.4 it’s a bit of a bargain

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens. Great price.

SEL85F18 31 March 2019 by Mpayne99 (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this lens for 4 months. It’s great in the studio and out in the field. Super sharp. Lightweight and lovely and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Portrait Perfection

SEL85F18 30 March 2019 by Ajbrickyard (USA)

An excellent piece of glass and is a heavenly match with my a7iii!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It’s so sharp and fast.

SEL85F18 24 March 2019 by Gigshots Peter (United Kingdom)

I wasn’t sure whether to get the 1.4 or the 1.8 but glad I saved the money. So far it’s doing an excellent job at low light music gigs for stills and video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

More than worth the cost

SEL85F18 17 March 2019 by Azenturi (USA)

Not to diss Sony's higher-end lenses, but for most people, this is a better idea than the 85mm G Master. It's unbelievably sharp wide open, only gets better as you stop down, it's light, it's small, and it's built solidly out of metal. Focus is super quick in bright light and acceptably fast in low light. Said focus also needs your ear literally pressed against the lens to hear it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small form factor and very sharp

SEL85F18 SYX 17 March 2019 by juan2888 (Singapore)

I bought the 85 1.8 and not the 85 1.4 GM from positive reviews around the world. Haven’t tried the 1.4 GM but am loving this lens. It’s super light weight and works a treat with my A7M3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL85F18 11 March 2019 by Trubshot (United Kingdom)

This lens is light, super sharp, lovely bokeh and on my A7iii 75% of the time, with a fe 35mm f2.8 in the pocket. Switch between full frame and apsc (super 35) and I'm covering 35, 52.5, 85 and 127.5mm with 2 primes. Ideal travel set up with great results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 85mm F1.8

SEL85F18 SYX 28 February 2019 by Adry Azri (Singapore)

There is absolutely nothing negative to say about the Sony 85mm F/1.8 . It is a fantastic lens at a very reasonable Price. Sharp and lightweight lens overall i love it and looking forward to purchase another good lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Prime

SEL85F18 27 February 2019 by MidweSteve (USA)

85mm is my favorite. This lens does the job. I like small and high quality primes and don't feel the need to have a 2lb lens for my type of shooting. This lens looks very inconspicuous and unobtrusive and the image quality is outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp,

SEL85F18 22 February 2019 by Trubs (United Kingdom)

I purchased this 5 weeks ago, and its on my A7iii 90% of the time. Its light, f1.8 , very sharp and worth every penny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic value for money

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by RichardFoxPhotography (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens as a replacement for my old canon 135mm to use natively on my a7r3. I wanted a sharp portrait lens with great bokeh but the 85mm GM was out of my price bracket. AF is very snappy, it's very sharp with low CA and great bokeh for a 3 figure lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by Costasa (United Kingdom)

This lens is a much have in any photographers bag, amazing value for what you get. Beautiful rendering, nice bokeh, the picture quality is not far from the gm equivalent and very similar to the batis version, comparing the differences in terms of performance and the price is a no brainier, this is the lens to go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just awesome

SEL85F18 16 February 2019 by Dre2020 (United Kingdom)

I got this lens a while ago and have put it through its paces. I have to say it’s brilliant I wanted to get the GM f1.4 but for now this beautiful lens is doing the job.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My First Sony Lens

SEL85F18 09 January 2019 by GMWdesign (USA)

My first native Sony lens to go with my A7R2. Images are crisp. Auto focus is quick. I need to play wit the settings more because the eye-auto focus is not as quick as I've seen in demo videos from other photographers on youtube. If the eye-auto focus was working as I've seen in demos I'd give this lens 5-stars.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony 85 F1.8 FR

SEL85F18 SYX 06 January 2019 by Kelvin G (Singapore)

Great picture quality and size of len !!! Beautiful bokeh.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice Bokeh

SEL85F18 SYX 30 December 2018 by AlvinLim (Singapore)

I use it with my a6000, taking with F1.8, nice bokeh. but it is difficult to use when the background is too bright.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Light and Sharp !

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2018 by abhipro (Singapore)

Excellent sharpness and great Sony colours ! Great for Potraits and street photography !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Value

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2018 by Earl Of Atlantis (Singapore)

Bought this after reading reviews and recommendations. Best value for money lens for me so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens. Great Price

SEL85F18 SYX 24 November 2018 by ziggyzag (Singapore)

Bought it about 5 weeks ago and absolutely no regrets. Sharp, quick AF, light, small, and great price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Lens

SEL85F18 01 November 2018 by DJB609 (USA)

This is my first prime lens and after reading many reviews and watching countless videos I took the plunge. Amazing quality, tack sharp focus, quick in low light and the detail is sharp even at 6400 ISO. Not disappointed in this lens selection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Jury is Still Out

SEL85F18 28 October 2018  (USA)

Not long after purchase, I noticed the iris rapidly opening and closing while my A7RII was in aperture priority mode, AF-C mode and with the aperture set between 9 and 22. It was like the camera was rapidly zooming in and out even though it is a prime lens. With direction of a Sony representative during a chat session, sent lens and camera in for service at a service center in Connecticut. Both returned "cleaned" and "set to factory standards", but the aperture pulsating continues. I am unable to use this lens between f9 and f22 in A mode and AF-C mode. VERY UNHAPPY since it cost me $111.00 to send it in. Very possibly, it could be the camera, but I don't know since that is the only lens I have currently.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Superior optical quality at a affordable price

SEL85F18 SYX 21 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

When attached to the third generation Alpha 7 camera series, the focusing is fast and accurate. Sharp images with high resolution from this lens. Need features like the AF/MF toggle switch and the AF button. Very light and compact. Highly recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is the 2nd one I bought - I like it that much

SEL85F18 SYX 17 October 2018 by Keithtty (Singapore)

For the size, the performance is really good. I’m not sure how much performance improvement 1.4 would get me. From sharpness perspective, this is excellent to me, so the only other thing might be bokeh? I don’t want to carry that additional weight for that. :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unbeliveably sharp lens!

SEL85F18 SYX 03 October 2018  (Singapore)

85mm primes are always appealing for portrait shots, but using it as an everyday lens gives you a new fun to the shots you take. You can shoot it even as a street photography and being at a distance while still being discreet lol.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Value

SEL85F18 29 September 2018  (USA)

I own many FE prime lenses and wanted to add this one as a lightweight option to my bag. It's sharp, has good bokeh and I actually like that it's not as creamy as other FE lenses though it can be a little soft on the edges. I love it for natural light and editorial, street or travel photography and reminds me a lot of the 50mm APS-C 1.8 which made me fall in love with Sony cameras and lenses. It's not a G master but if you're starting out and want a great portrait lens I highly recommend it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sony FE 85mm 1.8

SEL85F18 03 September 2018 by Del1970 (United Kingdom)

Since this is the first lens i have purchased since the purchase of my A7r 111 this lens has been tested in depth over the last few weeks. The build quality is solid and feels like a very good quality lens, having come from Canon where i only used L lens this lens has the same feel although it is not weather sealed. So far i have had good results with this lens from portrait to Landscape. I bought this from an online retailer and paid what i concider a reasonible price for the product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing.

SEL85F18 29 August 2018 by EddysEng (USA)

All the superlatives are true. This is an outstanding lens. Small. Light. F1.8! Great optics. Awesome bokeh. What more could you ask for -- especially at this price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sharp !

SEL85F18 27 August 2018 by Crerand (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and am extremely pleased with the results. Minimal weight, great sharpness, colour and contrast.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Slow focus as well as front focus issues.

SEL85F18 21 August 2018 by Rich1968 (USA)

Bought this lens based on reviews...big mistake! Fortunately, I kept the receipt to return it minus re-stock fee. If you are a professional photographer of any kind and rely on images being sharp focus...avoid this lens at all cost. Spend the extra $$ and get the Sigma Art variant. First time I've ever been disappointed in a Sony product. The A7iii is AMAZING, and I use it all the time.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

15

0

Fast and light portrait lens

SEL85F18 08 August 2018 by Chris I (USA)

I bought it a few months ago and really happy with the fast focusing and easy handling. Great for portraits and even as a travel lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great low light performer

SEL85F18 01 August 2018 by jlozano281 (USA)

Bought this along with my A7R III. It is a solid lens and excellent Bokeh. I get great pictures even from fast moving toddlers and dogs. Even performs great on continuous shooting mode. The price point on this lens is the icing on the cake. Sure the GM is amazing, but this lens is 95% as good for less than half the price. You will not regret it. Get this lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing Image Quality

SEL85F18 23 July 2018 by bheist (USA)

This is my first native Sony lens and I am using it with an A7III. The focus speed is incredibly fast and accurate. The image quality is truly stunning. If you are looking for an 85 that wont break the bank but don't want to sacrifice image quality, this is the lens for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love it

SEL85F18 03 July 2018 by dougalrose (United Kingdom)

Have used it for two photoshoots - a school show and a for dance academy. So far I absolutely love it. Lovely pinpoint accurate focusing and depth of field. This is quickly becoming my go to lense.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sharp lens and beautiful Bokeh!

SEL85F18 SYX 26 June 2018 by Remoh (Singapore)

i bought the lens a month ago at Sony wisma and very happy with the pictures! great lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Absolutely fantastic!

SEL85F18 22 June 2018 by Marcus51 (United Kingdom)

I am an amateur photographer and I was looking for a good portrait lens that was also compact enough to suit the A7iii camera body as well as being reasonably priced. I can only say that my expectations have been hugely exceeded, this lens is fantastic, it is super sharp, fast focusing especially with Eye AF, has terrific bokeh and is a perfect size and weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing

SEL85F18 21 June 2018 by Trumpeter01 (United Kingdom)

Beautiful Bokeh. Amazing sharp pictures. Very happy I decided to go for this lens..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic lens all around!

SEL85F18 31 May 2018 by EyePlumber (USA)

Lighweight, extremely sharp, quick and accurate focus. My only criticism is that it really can't focus very close at all, but it is pretty normal for an 85mm portrait lens. This is a great value and I love the lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features at a reasonable price point

SEL85F18 SYX 11 May 2018 by Canon switcher (Singapore)

The optics of this lens is fantastic. Works really well with the Sony A7III

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, multi use lens.

SEL85F18 08 May 2018 by PCPhil (United Kingdom)

Perfect for family portraits but also a great mid tele for landscapes. Bokah is superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome Bokeh

SEL85F18 19 April 2018 by feelit (USA)

Bought this yesterday (4/17/2018) and received today (4/18/2018). Had the chance to test at home , but definitely putting it to the test this up coming weekend. The BOKEH is phenomenal! Awesome clarity and compression. Definitely looks like this will be my BUTTER lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Much better results than zoom lens.

SEL85F18 17 April 2018 by TomKtoo (United Kingdom)

Although really happy with the 24-70mm Sony zoom I wanted more optical isolation of my subject matter from the backgrounds and it really delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Lens, Great Price!

SEL85F18 15 April 2018 by See Yee (USA)

If you have not own a prime portrait lens yet or looking to get one, this 85MM 1.8 is a must have for your setup. If you want nice BOKEH images and such this is a must have! Nicely build, feels good in the hand, small, sharp, and super quiet Auto focusing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Hands down my absolute favorite lens

SEL85F18 28 March 2018 by LenaNycPhoto (USA)

I purchased my 85 1.8 back in February it is now almost April and I carry it around with me constantly. My first Sony lens purchase was the G master 24-70 which I love but I do practice a lot of street photography and the 85 is easy to carry around. I was going to purchase the 85 1.4 G Master but I'm happy I went with a 1.8 because it's so much lighter and it's over half the cost. The bokeh is exquisite and the photos come out very sharp. Perfect portrait lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

9

0

0

As sharp as the Zeiss 55mm f1.8

SEL85F18 23 March 2018 by Jim64 (United Kingdom)

Brilliant. Get one. Lens hood is cheap tat but the lens is way better than the asking price. Good enough for pro work all day long.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sharp as a tack

SEL85F18 26 February 2018 by Taid (United Kingdom)

This is the perfect portrait lens. No need for the faster and more expensive version.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent portrait lens

SEL85F18 SYX 09 February 2018 by cyrilng (Singapore)

This lens is light, compact, fast, bright and gives excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome sharpness and Beautiful Bokeh

SEL85F18 12 January 2018 by Sebascelis (USA)

I read about this lens in many reviews and everyome said it’s close to perfect, so I decided to buy it and wa not dissapointed at all. This lens is perfect, autofocuses unbelieavably fast and accurate, and the images it produces are breathtaking. I was worried about the lack of OSS (optical stabilization) but with the IBIS in my camera I REALLY don’t need it. I can shoot still objects at 1/8s completely sharp!!! The focus-by-wire is linear and not accelerates which I prefer and manual focus (together with my camera’s magnification focus-aid) is a joy. I strongly recommend this lens, for it’s price, is my best lens so far (lightweight, small, fast...).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Best bang fot the buck!

SEL85F18 20 December 2017 by dmeds (USA)

Very sharp images from this lens. Wonderfully creamy bokeh, fast, accurate, silent focus. Lightweight and a lot of bang for the buck. I recently moved from Nikon to Sony and have no regrets whatsoever

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very sharp lens

SEL85F18 SYX 20 December 2017 by trixqq (Singapore)

Useful lens for portraits! Quick and fast lens. Lighter than the 1.4 GM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Don't be fooled- this is not a consumer grade lens

SEL85F18 05 December 2017 by Vision of You (United Kingdom)

for the past 30 years or so I have shot using Canon L glass- I am indeed a lens snob. I purchased the Sony A7rii and have been using my own glass via an adaptor but thought I needed to try a native lens. I have to admit that I was very reluctant to get a 'cheap consumer' grade lens but the write ups assured me that this was a good lens.. I have used the G Master version of this lens and was not impressed, the focus was slow and the lens itself is heavy. This 'cheap' lens is fast and accurate to focus. The images are sharp, in images of very high contrast you may see some colour fringing (although to be honest you would see this with most lens!), lightroom removes this quickly and efficiently. For the cost point this lens is definitely worth the investment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

What a lens!!

SEL85F18 11 November 2017 by gwtog (United Kingdom)

When you see a lens at this price point, with others very similar in features but more than double the price, you assume it will be low quality. You couldn't be further from the truth! The FE 85mm f1.8 is pin sharp, focuses fast and gives you an almost butter smooth background. This will stay on my body for a long time as my new "go to" portrait lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

1

0

Bokehlicious

SEL85F18 SYX 08 September 2017 by Keem (Singapore)

I had this for my birthday. I went around Coney Island the next day with it to take some portrait shots. I fall in love with the sharpness & bokeh!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0