12

2.7 based on 12 customer reviews

3
2
0
2
5
Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

12 Customer Reviews

0

Works fine for me

VCTHM1 29 July 2015 by Makoto456 (USA)

I installed the mount on a 3T Road Bike Handlebar. I did not position the mount the way it is intended, but rather I have it facing down and use the dial to tightly secure it to the action cam. The AS200V has a 'flip' function so I just activate that function and it works great. Therefore, I did not experience issues with the angle button not holding the camera in place. The mount feels sturdy enough and not so heavy. In addition, by mounting it this way, it integrates better with the bike rather than having it sticking out on top.

3

0

0

Bad.

VCTHM1 09 July 2015 by 2scottyd1 (USA)

First time using it, the hinge that adjust the angle would fail whenever I went over a bump and the camera would point straight down. Called Sony and after a while they gave me instructions on how to send them the receipt and get a replacement. I followed them but never got a response after that. Next time I went biking I was able to use electrical tape on the hinge, which fixed that problem but then the camera was bouncing around and making so much noise I could barely see or hear anything. I am sure it was mounted firmly and properly.

1

0

0

Very unstable

VCTHM1 10 October 2014 by leogag1 (USA)

When installed on a road bike handlebar, it holds very well. However, the camera shakes at every single bump or crack on the road because of the "much-too-loose" pivot system that is used for changing the angle of the camera. The concept may be interesting (no need to turn a screw, just push the button) but it is not sturdy enough for the kind of shaking that occurs while riding a bike, being on road or even worse, off road (MTB).

1

0

0

WORTHLESS!

VCTHM1 29 September 2014 by RBarkschat (USA)

I purchased this several months ago but did not get to use it until this past weekend. Way too long a time to go back and get my money refunded from the retailer I purchased it from. So I am out the money I spent on a completely useless mount. First off, I tried to mount this to my handlebars of my mountain bike in a space that other accessory mounts fit into. I run drop bars with interrupter levers on my mountain bike, so the space to mount accessories is limited but not small (area between brake mount and stem). This camera mount is too wide where it attached to the bar. I utilized an extender mount, that I have used for my lights, which solved the width problem. This mount came with three sets of pads to adjust for different diameter handlebars. The 25.4 (1") size of the tube I was mounting it on required me to utilize the fattest pads and one of the thinnest pads to get the mount close to not rotating...I had to wrap some hockey tape around the tube to get the mount solid. Went out and rode...discovered when I rode over bumps in the trail (not nasty gnar and rocks, just undulations in the smooth trail I was on) the angle adjustment would not hold the camera's weight. I watched as each bump made the angle adjustment click to each stop, until the camera was picking up a really nice picture of my fork and front wheel. I ended up taking a loop of velcro and strapping the adjustable head of the mount to one position. That worked okay, keeping the camera pointed at the level I wanted it. Continued riding, went home, and discovered this mount still let in so much vibration (with image stabilization and on a full suspension mountain bike) that it was hard to view the video. VERY poor design. I was about to purchase other Sony camera mounts, like the Universal helmet/head mount and the chest mount, but I think I will spend the money on an adapter that lets me utilize the mounts made for other cameras, such as Ion, Contour, or Go-Pro.

1

2

0

Hmmmmmm....

VCT-HM1 14 September 2014 by Voytec (United Kingdom)

This holder does not eliminate vibration and noise

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Sturdy with my AS100

VCTHM1 25 June 2014 by Butler (USA)

I was worried when I saw the other reviews, but was happy to see my own results. I will share two days of recordings. I attached this to my Harley crash bar and inverted the picture...the videos came out crisp and steady during smooth road conditions. Because it was close to my engine, it did grab some noise, but I was able to cover that with music. My secnd event with this happened this past weekend in Philadelphia where I used my As100(i have 2) mounted to my handlebars for the cycling segment of the TriRock Triathlon. The videos were amazing, hardly any vibration came through on the recordings(except when I hit a major pothole(thanks Philly) and blew out 2 tires during the race). The handlebar mount did not slip at all.

8

2

0

sturdy,well made item

VCT-HM1 02 June 2014 by muzza76 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to with my bike, it is easy outfit and strong keeping the action camera secure. Highly recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

i wish ther was a zero star rating for this

VCTHM1 11 May 2014  (USA)

If you think for a second that using this mount will give you the same type of video you see in the sony camera commercial you have something else coming your way. I'm new to using action cams; however, even I know that this is mount is terrible. This mount vibrates so much that having image stabilization in your sony cam becomes worthless. the adjustments are very limited and the mount just feels cheap. Im'm planing in returning mine asap. Save your self the time of buying and returning and just look for a better alternative.

8

1

0

Poor quality and performance

VCTHM1 25 April 2014 by titanmanus (USA)

I bought this to my new AS15 action cam but I completely disappointed. Full of plastic and the hole diameter is too large. You can put rubber plates in it but it won't be strong just jelly. :( I bought then a Cullmann Cross CC80 + CB2.7 with lower price and it metal and strong as concrete :)

4

0

0

Devil

VCTHM1 18 January 2014 by SnowD (USA)

Fundamentally a great mount, but inflexibility of mounting limits use. Little bit of slack in the adjuster creates vibration....devil in the detail, would have expected more from Sony. Good camera shame about the mounting system. Give me a call Sony.

5

0

0

A nice mount

VCTHM1 26 August 2013 by mikmar (USA)

This mount works well with the HDR AS15 action cam. I would have given 5 stars if it had a little better vibration dampening.

1

1

0

Not useful

VCTHM1 26 November 2012 by asdfasdfa (USA)

If you want to mount your camera only to a horizontal handle bar, then this is great. If you want to mount it anywhere else on your bike, forget it. The mount is totally inflexible. A minor alteration to include a ball mount so the orientation of the camera could be changed would make this a useful mount.

53

4