208

4.3 based on 208 customer reviews

128
44
13
7
16
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great picture quality but Dolby Vision needs work!

UBP-X700 26 September 2018 by nabeelsheikh (United Kingdom)

Bought this a few weeks ago with the updated firmware that supports Dolby Vision. Overall great image quality. The set is a bit basic in bulid and much smaller that the UBP-X800 with no digital display or screen on the set. However one huge advatange is that with a firmware update it supports Dolby Vision. This is, however SEVERELY hampered - unfortunately, the unit does not auto-switch when you play a Dolby Vision disc which means that a) the switching has to be done manually from the menu and b) if you don’t know a disc has Dolby Vision and you don't therefore activate it in the menu, you miss out on the benefits (it can be quite difficult to see on Blu Ray discs whether a Dolby Vision signal is included) Sony - this could be an excellent product... please come up with a firmware update that auto-switches Dolby Vision on when it detects a Dolby Vision signal!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great player, when it doesn't freeze.

UBP-X700 03 December 2018 by dpwpup (United Kingdom)

I bought this player based on the glowing reviews it received from both professionals and consumers alike, and to be honest it is a great player in some regards. The picture quality is excellent, as is sound. The Dolby Vision mode is a little disappointing, having to toggle it on or off before you play a disc. The unit I had was a little noisy, but nothing unmanageable. Now we come to the reason for the one star review: the freezing. The first movie I tried in this player froze at about the 1hr40 mark (I'm guessing this is where the layer change was, this was a triple layer 100gb disc), resulting in my having to power down and restart the player. When I tried the same disc the next day exactly the same thing happened, and again when I tried it later that evening. I returned the player after three days of buying it as I found this totally unacceptable. I have since bought a different brand and tried the same disc, as well as other UHD Blu rays and they all played flawlessly. To be fair to Sony it may just have been a defective unit, but I have since read numerous reviews and reports of freezing associated with this model. If I'm being totally honest I should have done more thorough research before buying, but like I said I was swayed by the positive reviews. So to sum up, if you're lucky and get a unit that doesn't freeze then this is a great player, but if not then you'll be as frustrated as me. I really can't recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

209 Customer Reviews

0

Easy to ise.

UBP-X700/BM SP6 15 July 2019 by Jody155 (Singapore)

Bought this 2 weeks ago and had it connected to my Yamaha sound system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent

UBP-X700 12 July 2019 by rebaa (United Kingdom)

we bought this sony 4k blu-ray player the quality was first class and the picture was excellent its like being there in real life, best dvd we ever bought

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing value

UBPX700 10 July 2019 by DaveInWoodland (USA)

This has been a great player once you decide how to connect everything to work with a non 4K receiver (not a big deal). It upscales regular DVDs almost magically. Highly recommend this model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice features/great disk play back/streaming sucks

UBP-X700 10 July 2019 by Wholland7 (USA)

Nice clean look and ease of operation. Blu-ray/DVD playback is phenomenal. Pleased with the device in that department. However, during streaming (Netflix, Amazon) the device keeps “resetting” by freezing (picture and remote control inputs) then powering off. This is not an Internet issue as I do not have the problem during streaming play back on my iPad or other streaming devices. The unit is not stacked with other A/V equipment and is in open air (not overheating) and has the latest firmware update. According to the forums Sony is aware of the problem but has taken no steps to correct.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love it!

UBPX700 10 July 2019 by walo64 (USA)

It's great, the menu is simple and works very fast, its reproduction is fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Player.

UBPX700 09 July 2019 by wlarson504 (USA)

I bought my UBP-X700 about a month ago. Beautiful picture, impressive blacks and colors. It did a GREAT upscaling of a blu-ray dvd. Compairing the disc in blu-ray player compaired to the 4K player, the colors just jump out at you. Very Impresses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features and easy to use

UBPX700 09 July 2019 by francineb (USA)

This is by far the easiest and smallest 4K player I have ever used. I like it so much I have purchased several of the exact same unit. It has all the features that I need and the remote control is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small, light but excellent!

UBP-X700/BM SP6 09 July 2019  (Singapore)

I have read good review about this player and decided to buy it. It did not disppoint me at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lots of extras

UBPX700 06 July 2019 by butch72 (USA)

i was looking for a 4k blue ray and this model gave me a lot of features for the buck.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little 4K Blu Ray Player

UBP-X700/BM SP6 26 June 2019 by YCMak (Singapore)

I just bought my first 4K disc to try the player and is very pleased with the picture and especially the sound quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent performance and ease of use

UBPX700 23 June 2019 by Bill38 (USA)

Product is great, but registration is confusing. The registration instruction sheet states that the product serial number is on the main unit and the carton box. There is no serial number on either. Having exhausted all the possible numbers, I finally attempted a login and found that you wanted me to specify the model number. Perhaps you should work to eliminate this confusion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works perfect

UBPX700 22 June 2019 by jdanq (USA)

Had it about a month and am very pleased with it. The picture quality is excellent and it was easy to install and is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great functions and features with all formats supp

UBP-X700 20 June 2019 by superfreak (USA)

I like the Sony style and it's running durability!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Bluray

UBP-X700/BM SP6 19 June 2019 by Ross57 (Singapore)

Just bought my Sony UBP-X700 and am so happy that I bought it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just stopped working

UBP-X700 19 June 2019 by Slandis (USA)

In less than 6 months the machine stopped working. We've tried the trouble shooting tips: different outlets, unplugging/replugging, etc.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Another fantastic Sony product!

UBPX700 18 June 2019 by barneygoogle (USA)

The Sony UBP-X700 Blu-Ray player is a fantastic machine that does everything an afficiondo could wish for!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible Product!

UBP-X700 16 June 2019 by Higgy50 (United Kingdom)

Oh dear Sony! What a terrible product this is! I bought this 4K player after reading all the good reviews but for me it's been a terrible experience from the start! Picture quality is average to say the least. The player has been temperamental since the start, sometimes playing first time others taking 10 minutes of trying different things to get it to play a disc! Then today it just refused to play a Blu ray disc at all ! I checked disc compatibility, new batteries in the remote etc etc but whatever I tried the disc just wouldn't play! In frustration I plugged in my old Sony Blu Ray BDP-S560 Player and WOW! the picture is ten times better than on this heap of rubbish! The only let down is that I can't play 4K discs in my old player, although even 4K discs look worse quality on the new player than Blu Ray discs look on the old player! The UBP-X700 will be returning to Sony as it really is rubbish!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

poor play of std DVD

UBPX700 09 June 2019 by pitken (USA)

this unit plays blu-ray disks great but has a problem playing standard dvds. the picture flashes black approx every 90 seconds. I have tried changing some of the system settings but nothing works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant! Into the 4K-verse!

UBP-X700 08 June 2019 by Spiderkemp (United Kingdom)

I researched for a while for an affordable 4K player and it was clear this was the main contender. I’m really impressed- I tested it on a 4K disc of spider man, into the spider verse and it looks absolutely incredible! Also I can play all my old dvds and cds, so very happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Player

UBP-X700 25 May 2019 by Irishpaper (USA)

Love this player. Plays 4K movie discs just fine. I use a high speed (>18Gbps) HDMI cable for best picture possible. I own a Sony 4K Dolby Vision supported TV and this player has a firmware update for Dolby Vision. It would be better if the feature was auto-detected. If the disc does not have dolby vision then you have to turn off dolbyvision in the menu of the player before viewing the disc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An excellent Blu-ray player

UBP-X700 25 May 2019 by Ray K (United Kingdom)

I buy all my electrical goods by first consulting the Which magazine as I did with this fantastic Blu-ray player. I would highly recommend this player to anyone. The picture, the sound and the price were excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

almost perfect

UBPX700 22 May 2019 by MTbilly (USA)

After careful research of Sony and similar products I settled on the Sony - 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray™ Player | UBP-X70 to compliment our new 4K TV. IT's been Great so far with one exception. The remote volume control will not sync with the TV sound. So when viewing we have to control the volume with the TV remote and everything else with the DVD remote. Having followed the directions on Syncing the two in the manual without success, there is no trouble shooting of this covered in the manual or other TV codes to try. This is very frustrating to an otherwise perfect DVD player.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Outstanding Features and pictures

UBPX700 21 May 2019 by Bo Isabell (USA)

I bought this about 2 months ago and wow I love it. Great job Sony I'll keep buy Sony products from now on. I also bought Sony Headphones Nosie reduction Bluetooth Headphones Love them also

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Reliable multi format player

UBP-X700 21 May 2019 by MJ20 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this uhd blue ray player a month ago, and am very happy with the picture/sound quality.I did not purchase it to use any apps so can’t comment on those.The support for Dolby vision is appreciated

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

UBPX700 20 May 2019 by Sundance70 (USA)

Purchased this player about a month ago. Was at first concerned on it playing 4k dvd's. Well was I surprised! Worked wonders. I bought this player too replace a Samsung I bought a year ago. After 6 months the Samsung stopped playing my 4k's. So tried this Sony and was so surprised too see how easy it was too set up. Have not had any problems. I should have known better and bought a Sony instead of a Samsung. Having a Sony stereo system and a 400 cd player with no problems I should have gone with Sony on a DVD player too. Well worth the buy you won't go wrong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality images!

UBPX700 20 May 2019 by nonickname27 (USA)

This unit is a great value, in particular because it is Dolby Vision capable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HDMI/coaxical Digital output for Audio

UBP-X700/BM SP6 18 May 2019 by MMP30 (Singapore)

A month ago, I bought the HD Blu ray player and the picture /sound is very clear. It works perfectly with my SONOS surround system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Usual great quality from Sony

UBP-X700 17 May 2019 by RuthD (United Kingdom)

As usual it spoke to our Sony tv so nice and easy to set up and quality great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It

UBP-X700/BM SP6 14 May 2019 by Halimio (Singapore)

I thought I could download apps to the system like NBA app or Amazon but was unable to

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

When it works, it's solid.... however.

UBPX700 13 May 2019 by testaal (USA)

For most part this unit performs well and it's up-conversion on DVD's does a nice job. It's a clean design, no clutter. However, it's a bit buggy because sometimes it will simply freeze and become unresponsive. The only way to resolve is to disconnect the power cord and start over. Quite annoying and something my nearly 10-year old Panasonic never did. Judging from some recent receivers, it seems Sony has definitely slipped from their quality pedestal.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

appears to work fine so far

UBP-X700 07 May 2019 by chris46310 (United Kingdom)

Bought on a review by "What Hi-fi " have not used the 4k yet has no stable TV but no complaints about dvd and blue-ray, do not use net flix etc so can make no comment on these.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good HD Blu-ray player

UBP-X700/BM SP6 03 May 2019 by MyFirstSonyTV (Singapore)

Does the job well at a reasonable price. Recommended!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT PLAYER

UBPX700 02 May 2019 by mr ROBS (USA)

NO REGRETS would buy again, and recommend to my friends

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome picture quality!

UBPX700 30 April 2019 by Nick976 (USA)

I can tell a HUGE difference when I play my 4K blu rays with this machine. For the price, it is a great 4K played. Highly recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

This is a fantastic DVD player......but

UBPX700 28 April 2019 by Gbandy (USA)

The only huge non-issue was the Voice read out on the Appts it would not shut up! Volume up volume down. On Netflix started reading every title! Finally figured out how to turn it off in Settings. However fabulous player

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Up to date features

UBP-X700/BM SP6 28 April 2019 by Aidan Youngblood (Singapore)

Been using it for 2 months Straight forward setup A compact unit but lots of features Nice

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

4k Bluray Player

UBPX700 25 April 2019 by Sharock (USA)

I brought this last month now I really see in 4k clarity❣

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great picture and audio

UBPX700 22 April 2019 by 39dodge (USA)

We bought this to replace a old Sony DVD player that worked great for years. But all good things come to an end and this new player is a very big improvement. This player was recommended by the repairman at a large electronics store.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Worked Once

UBPX700 20 April 2019 by Media Enthusiast (USA)

This could just a faulty unit from a bad batch. But I used this player once and it hasn’t worked since. I’ve tried all the trouble shooting possible. Nothing. Will be contacting Sony Support to see if I can exchange for a working unit. Love my Sony Bravia TV, it’s a shame I haven’t been able to watch my 4K Blu Rays and unleash their full potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great DVD PLAYER!

UBPX700 19 April 2019 by Nate21 (USA)

Our 12 year old Sony Blue-ray player finally got to the point that we needed to upgrade it due to Netflix -audio not being able to convert to English language many of their movies are in foreign languages. The player still works with DVDs but we decided to replace it with this great Sony player. It was so easy to setup and along with our great Sony TV the quality of video is perfection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Works great

UBPX700 19 April 2019 by Magurk (USA)

Love that it plays so many different kinds of disks! Picture & sound are terrific! 4k upgrades improve the look of DVDs on our tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent UHD DVD

UBPX700 15 April 2019 by Richv71 (USA)

Recommended by my Best Buy salesperson and just great performance and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent

UBPX700 12 April 2019 by Eyedoc1 (USA)

Excellent compatability and intuitiveness. Just the right number of features and formats. And Best Buy made it easy with price matching, I bought 2.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Won't play sound properly

UBP-X700 09 April 2019 by JJ7070 (USA)

I bought this player and I can not get the sound to play properly. Regular blu rays work fine but the ultra blue rays will not play the main feature soundtrack. I can hear the regular sounds before the movie starts but as soon as the ultra blue ray starts the movie there is no sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

App selection is horendous and so disappointing

UBP-X700 08 April 2019 by RamblinWreck89 (USA)

Should have paid more attention before I restricted my self to this narrow app selection. For all the talk, Sony does not offer many apps. I will find another way.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Great Machine

UBPX700 07 April 2019 by Howard Co Jim (USA)

Have had this for 2 months. Easy to set up. Seems to work fine. Sends good pix and audio. Remote fairly intuitive, altho is does 'feel' cheap since it's so light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Tempermental

UBP-X700 05 April 2019 by BukImyk (USA)

I purchased this between Thanksgiving and Christmas 2018. Along with this I purchased a new sound bar and 55" TV. After the first of the year... I had built a new bookcase and was able to finally watch 4K Sony TV. We were both looking so forward to this unimaginable hype that had been written about and talked about from sales people to professional personnel... all raving about this. To say the least... totally disappointed! I have purchased new 4K movies to watch... and not the first one has played cleanly... not 1. On the other hand... I have used Blu-ray's in the place of the 4K's and they play just fine. At first I thought it was some fingerprints on the disc. Removing the disc and cleaning it worked on the first one. But on the others no matter what I do... it freezes... or blanks out... or blanks out and loses audio. Nothing I seem to do seems to work... and I am at my wits end... and ready to buy something else. I am and have been a "Sony" person for most of my life... so it bothers me to have this type of "lack" of quality. Still looking for answers.. and hoping to find answers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

What an upgrade!

UBPX700 04 April 2019 by Natbob (USA)

This is the perfect compliment to our new Sony 4K tv. So easy to us and raises the bar on 4K movie picture quality. Great price at Best Buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Functions well but again quality is dropping

UBP-X700 04 April 2019 by Stayahead (United Kingdom)

Compact, easy to use product but in my view very fragile because of poor quality materials. Come on Sony, I would rather pay more for better quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

WOW!

UBPX700 03 April 2019 by RoboTramp73 (USA)

A beautiful piece of equipment! I love all the features it has and I'm glad a friend of mine recommended this model to me!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Not blue about this Blu-Ray

UBPX700 03 April 2019 by rho2019 (USA)

Easy to set up. Easy to use. Sharp picture and great sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Did not last but 2 months!

UBPX700 03 April 2019 by ravidlasmjaxx23 (USA)

This particular Sony UBP-X700 stopped working after 50 days after it was purchased. The network connection and streaming services never worked for more that one session and the device had to be reset to factory defaults and the power reset on the device because it would not respond to remote control to turn off the device. Fortunately it was covered by a 4 year service plan by the retailer and I wa able to exchange the item for a replacement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great when it works!!

UBPX700 01 April 2019 by jleezy (USA)

I bought this on sale around Thanksgiving 2018. Since then I have used it about four times total. The first viewing went great and as expected, but the second time we used it there was some flickering in the picture while the movie was playing. The third time it stopped twice during the movie and had to be powered back on to continue on. The last time we couldn't even complete the movie as it was shutting off every 20 minutes or so. Like many of the more recent reviews, we have definitely had issues with this player, but the picture is great when it actually works. I made the switch from Samsung to Sony and I feel regret over that decision. I guess we'll have to file a warranty claim and see what happens, but based on current feedback that doesn't sound promising either.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Does what's written on the box

UBP-X700 28 March 2019 by Enemem (United Kingdom)

I bought the UBP-X700 because my LG UBK-80 suddenly stopped playing region code 2 discs - not so Lucky Goldstar. LG support told me it was a software error but would have to send it in for repair - maybe they are not familiar with firmware. The UBP-X700 has a good selection of apps (the LG has none) and connectivity options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

6

0

I like the new features and the streaming apps.

UBPX700 28 March 2019 by Paul2019 (USA)

I recently purchased this to replace an older blueray player to go with my new 4K 65in flat screen. What can I say. AWESOME!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Very compact and brilliant picture

UBP-X700 27 March 2019 by Joe 34 (United Kingdom)

Bought this two days ago haven't had chance to buy a 4k video yet so far very pleased i bought it and reasonably priced

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Great quality

UBP-X700 27 March 2019 by PCLincs (United Kingdom)

I bought this for the 4K and HDR compatibility - not fully tested yet but I ma impressed initially with the performance and features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Another Sony

UBPX700 26 March 2019 by Smker (USA)

Found after buying a competitors brand I was disappointed in it's overall quality. With wanting DV I returned to Sony. This may not be ES build but it is always quality. I'll be awaiting the latest product to pop up in 2019

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Excellent player

UBP-X700 24 March 2019 by KG73 (United Kingdom)

This replaced an old Sony recorder. Excellent quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

Very good 4k blue ray player

UBPX700 19 March 2019 by Eliren (USA)

I bought this blue ray player about a month ago and it has been great. I am very satisfied the video imagining is very good the audio is also very excellent. I have not experienced any of the problems that I read about in the reviews I am very pleased I would recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

An excellent product.

UBP-X700 18 March 2019 by Adebabe (United Kingdom)

I only purchased this to have a top quality BD and DVD player and the UBP-X700 is certainly that. Loads up quick and the picture quality is superb, even older DVD's are enhanced that well that you may well think its a BD being played !! Well worth paying extra for - highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Not Multi-region

UBP-X700/BM SP6 18 March 2019 by awsderfgty (Singapore)

Not multi-region. Cannot play all regions discs, What else????

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great 4K Blu-ray Player

UBPX700 12 March 2019 by BigJ64 (USA)

I purchased this Sony 4K Blu-ray player a few days ago, and so far my experience has been a positive one. Easy set up and updates. Unpackaged, installed to my 4K television and watching my first 4K movie in less than 20 - 30 minutes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Features/Great Price

UBPX700 10 March 2019 by Blue Bayou (USA)

In preparation for Season 8 of Game of Thrones we purchased the new UHD DVD package. We started watching using a 6 year old high quality Denon DVD player. We encountered a problem where the first Season Six Disc wouldn't play so before returning the DVDs to Costco we decided to get a new player to ensure it wasn't a player problem. The X700 was unanimously the top rated player and Atlas Video had it on for a great price. We set it up, inserted the disc and voila! - perfect. We also found the quality of our picture and sound improved noticeably. We have watched several favorites since then and found they have all been improved by the X700! One of the features allows you to program your Bravia remote to operate the ploayer, we find that much superior to utilizing the X700 remote. We have a 55" 2018 Bravia TV and use a Sonos sound system so the combination has been greatly enhanced by the X700 - we strongly recommend it to all our friends.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Great features

UBPX700 07 March 2019 by Mrs Simon (USA)

I am awestruck of the quality of the picture of my DVD's, even the old ones. Excellent sharpness, great colors, and sound. Very easy to use, great for using the apps and watching Netflix.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Good product

UBP-X700 03 March 2019 by Nirmala (United Kingdom)

I brought a month it’s good quality video but Netflix Dolby Atmos is not support

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Really enjoy the quality of the 4k movies. Great

UBPX700 03 March 2019 by Patsarge (USA)

Really am enjoying this 4k player. Good quality, nice small footprint and it runs on 12 volt. Made our own adaptor to plug into the 12 volt plug on the trailer and now have a blue ray for camping. Hey Sony, how about making a 12 volt power plug for us campers that have a motorhome or trailer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Audio Format Drawbacks

UBP-X700 27 February 2019 by raxhid (USA)

As of now the player has been showing good performance with regards to Picture and Audio quality but when it comes to play movies with your external drive, some of the audio formats are not supported Like Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Atmos and LC AAC like formats. Where as DTS X is playable whether you play it by Disc or external Hard Drive but Dolby Atmos is playable by Disc but not by movies being played with External Hard Drive. I don't know whats the logic behind it that sony is keeping these formats outdated via USB port but it should not as most of movies are coming now on these formats especially when you are playing in Hard drive. I bet if i am playing an Atmos enoded movie with external hard drive and with no overhead speakers it wont even downgrade it to Dolby TrueHD. Please have these issue resolved by firmware upgrade. These are the only features that this player is lacking. Otherwise this player is awesome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Plays all the 4K Blu Rays I put in it so far

UBPX700 26 February 2019 by jrnorman (USA)

This is my first 4K player and wit the advice of the salesman I bought this one as a basic starter. So far it plays everything I have put in it and I have pretty much learned how to use the remote. This is my first Sony player so the remote logic has taken a little time to get used to but nothing a little seat time doesn't fix.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Awesomeness

UBPX700 25 February 2019 by Fasteddie23 (USA)

I bought this a month ago the good everything works including Dolby Vision and Atmos. The bad it feels of less expensive material so far one movie has frozen while playing. Overall for the price is pretty awesome compare to other models.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2