189

4.6 based on 189 customer reviews

147
25
7
3
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great build and features. Soft copy.

SEL200600G 05 September 2019 by SkySpades (USA)

I love the feel and ease of use of the 200-600, it can't be beat in that regard. Unfortunately I received a soft copy. I also own a Nikon 200-500 and my copy of the 200-600 is noticeably softer in all situations; good light, bad light, near and far. I really had high expectations for this lens. I've read about others who have received soft copies as well as many who have received exceptional copies that are sharp even with the 1.4x. Hopefully Sony gets the quality control in order, but maybe that's why it's a G and not a GM lens.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

189 Customer Reviews

0

Superb lens for wildlife

SEL200600G 15 October 2021 by NINJA Allan (United Kingdom)

Absolutely great value for money if you are a wildlife photographer. You won't be disappointed in the results that this lens will get for your action shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

SEL200600G 15 October 2021 by DR Bow (United Kingdom)

Does not appear to be a great match with my Sony A7R IV. The shutter speed needs to be 4 to 5 x 1/focal length value which means shooting in very good/bright conditions or shooting at high ISO’s

Picture Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fast and accurate - great zoom “action”

SEL200600G 14 October 2021 by Gigshots (United Kingdom)

The internal zoom is great when panning motorsport which has been my main use. When I’ve used it for wildlife it’s has delivered sharp images in those scenarios as well. It’s quite heavy on a Sony body but I’ve spent hours panning and I am not at all strong ! (Wish it wasn’t white !)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great performance for price ratio.

SEL200600G 14 October 2021 by Stevie 7 (United Kingdom)

I have had this lens for nearly 2 years and I have managed to get some great photos with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good results but can be challenging to use

SEL200600G 14 October 2021 by N10CKK (United Kingdom)

I have been using this lens for around a year now. It IS possible to get great results from it but it is fussy about the cameras it likes and the light levels. I bought it to team it with my A7Riv. In retropect, this was a mistake since the combination of the aperture range of the lens and the high resolution sensor creates too narrow an operating window, esp if also teamed with the x1.4TC which I have had to stop using with this lens. This lens is best paired with something like an A9ii whereas I have now purchased a 100400GM lens for my A7Riv in order to give me a wider window in terms of aperture The other challenge is that the lens is really heavy. You MUST use it with a lens brace to save stress on the mounting point and even then, the camera can complain saying that the lens is not attached properly. The lack of a lens strap attachment point does not help. My advice is to buy a replacement lens foot for it as soon as you purchase it. This will help you to carry it. The weight has also required me to change my tripod Also, if you read the forums, there are a lot of bad copies around. I have had to change two lenses already That said, I have had some great photos from this lens and the optics are good for the price point

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Superb Lens for Wildlife

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Caerphillycastle (United Kingdom)

Bought this to accompany my new Sony A7M3 camera 9 months ago after extensive research. Have been a Canon user for almost 40 years. Made the switch to Sony,. Very happy with the results too. This lens is superb for wildlife & Bird photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Brian06 (United Kingdom)

Had a while now. Takes getting used too as not used long lens before. I any length of use get a bit heavy and a mono pod helps. Just wish the tripod foot was arcs Swiss built in.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive IQ, compact and brilliant handling

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Cliffd2 (United Kingdom)

Bought the lens over 12 months ago - shot around 8000 images with this lens bare and with the 1.4 TC, impressive performance, sharp, contrasty images, handling is a dream, internal focus, quarter turn to zoom, good range and overall value for money - best prosumer lens I've used by far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My Favourite Lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Alstomping (United Kingdom)

What an amazing lens this is - for such a large focal length ,its suprisingly easy to carry around .I really like the zoom - 200mm to 600m in quarter of a turn - brilliant ! The build quality is fantastic too,as are the images ( amazingly sharp) - and I also love that it has internal zooming - stays balanced too You will not be dissapointed with this lens - I love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Hairybeast (United Kingdom)

so glad I changed completely from another make to Sony, with the 200-600mm lens I have been able to get excellent shots from a distance, and the manual focus is out of this world. A lot lighter than my previous 150-600mm lens enabling me to get hand held shots when need be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by idm21 (United Kingdom)

I took this lense out into the African bush for 10 days wildlife photography in dusty and hot conditions. The lens was fantastic, allowing me to get sharp and clear images in any lighting conditions. Definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Image quality excellent

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Steven males (United Kingdom)

Great lens but a black colour or a dark grey options instead of a bright white finish which is easy marked

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent quality lens great results

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Loubylou1 (United Kingdom)

Fabulous piece of kit really excellent image caption although heavy to carry definitely requires tripod

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dependable

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by VisionOfYou (United Kingdom)

Super telephoto's are always going to be niche and not to everyones requirements. However if you have the need then this lens is going to meet all your requirements. It is very well built, cracking image quality all contained within a relatively short form and more importantly non extending. Also check out the price point - cannot be beaten

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021  (United Kingdom)

I bought Sony FE 200-600mm F5.6-6.3 G OSS lens and I'm so happy I did with the results I'm getting out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A beast

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Steven83 (United Kingdom)

Amazing lens. Ideal for wildlife and sports. Great colours, instant focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it I wished I got when I bought my camera

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by DT9334 (United Kingdom)

I have had my lens for about 3 months I got the 100 400 first witch I traded in for the 200 600

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Des norton (United Kingdom)

Superb lens and value for money having moved to Sony this year after many years using a different brand .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hit and miss.

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by PIGREF (United Kingdom)

Too many out of focus shots from this. Inconsistent AF and all too often just to soft. Forced me to switch from Sony to Fuji where you get much better after sales service.

Picture Quality

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great lens for the price.

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Alsads (United Kingdom)

My go to lens for wildlife photography. Good sharp lens for the price and reasonable weight for a lens this size. Internal focusing is a real bonus. My only hate is that there is no manual override on the focus switch like Nikon have on lots of their lenses, it’s either manual or auto.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by The coddy (United Kingdom)

Has to be the best long range on the market and ideal for when out on nature reserves and in hides.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Bluesnappa (United Kingdom)

I have had the 200-600 for a year now and it is a fantastic lens for wildlife as long as you keep an eye on shutter speed/iso setting. I have used it for sport and in good light it performs well. The 6.3 aperture can lead to you pushing the iso but with good holding technique you can reduce the shutter to get some great shots. I put mine on a monopod when out in woodland as it really helps with stability. It’s not the lightest and I use a wide peak design slide strap on the lens lugs and it’s fine to carry. If you want 600mm weight is just something you have to accept. It is permanently on my A9 and in the right light I use it with the 1.4 converter to get 840mm and it’s still very sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens and fantastic value.

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Rabb54 (United Kingdom)

I have had the 200-600 since they first became available in the UK. I needed to downsize from my Canon system (1Dx and 500f4) mainly for international's travel, but was bit concerned that the quality would not be there. No noticeable drop in quality at all! Plus the versatility of the zoom range. I love this lens. I also have the 100-400 and again, it is hard to see the difference in quality in real life situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best lens that I have ever had!

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by callidog (United Kingdom)

This lens combined with the Sony A9 is so quick (focus wise) & sharp for bird photography. It's that good one of my shots of a Red Kite with a medical mask caught in it's legs appeared in the Saturday Telegraph (1/3rd page spread). I can carry it with the A9 + battery grip all day long as its not that heavy- I'm 72!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Abwatershots (United Kingdom)

Ok so I bought this lens two months ago it’s super sharp especially when you consider the price of it it’s a great price for a telephoto of this build quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by GK56 (United Kingdom)

Had this a couple of months now and love it especially the way internal focus helps balance on a gimble

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

In the Sony range this is a Bargain!

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by Waylander1 (United Kingdom)

I am an experienced wildlife photographer with many years experience. I have been using this lens for many months now and I have to say that i am very impressed and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any wildlife photographer. Being a zoom it gives great versatility that you don't always get with a prime lens and I don't think it suffers in the image quality stakes. All that being said, if Sony produce a second version of this lens there are a couple of points that for me stop it getting five stars. Firstly there is no zoom lock. Most of the time this isn't a problem, however one of the lenses great features its silky smooth zoom action can be a problem when resting on a bean bag. You may find if you turn the camera following a subject the zoom can wind itself in and you are suddenly shooting at 300mm. The zoom moves from 200mm to 600mm in a quarter of a turn and with no zoom lock its easy to have this happen. Secondly it would have been great if this lens stayed at F5.6 all the way to 400mm instead of moving to F6.3 at 300mm. A lot of competing brands seem to switch at the 400mm point and as a wildlife photographer that extra light is valuable. Also it would be great if Sony sent me one to test when they build it. This lens would be pretty much perfect if these two points are addressed so I wouldn't let those points put you off. Its a stunner.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by sjr1403 (United Kingdom)

Great focal length range for the price; love the internal adjust so lens does not extend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great wildlife lens

SEL200600G 13 October 2021 by peterh0291 (United Kingdom)

I'm using this for video with the Sony FX6. Great performance and clarity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Epic Telephoto

SEL200600G 08 October 2021 by UltraPix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this a couple weeks ago and haven’t been disappointed, sharp images and up to 900mm zoom if you enter crop sensor mode

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Notch lens

SEL200600G 30 September 2021 by Joesblogg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have tried long zoom lenses from Canon and Sigma. This lens beats both hands down. The only things I would change are definite stops for near and infinity focus and proper 'grab and go' manual override for autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Professional build and quality

SEL200600G 19 September 2021 by icpictures (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great feeling lens, strong and durable without being too heavy. Great quality images, sharp and precise autofocus with my A7III.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So very quick from 200 to 600

SEL200600G 26 August 2021 by daltaf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used this lens for more than a month, focus is amazingly fast. Picture quality is fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Such a sharp lens!

SEL200600G 21 August 2021 by LDMillican (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I expected this to be a great lens, but it is better than that! Focus is quick, and quiet. Very happy I bought it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sharp focus

SEL200600G 20 August 2021 by Toby2 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens for bird and other wild life photography

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good value.

SEL200600G 20 August 2021 by Disco30045 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this a few weeks. Description clearly gives the weight but carrying it about really brings home what I’ve taken on. Rested it in bird hides and can just about manage hand-held. Balances OK on a tripod (must take the load: camera plus this closing in on 3 Kg). Much easier on a gimbal. Bought a cheaper one with no fancy stuff and it’s fine. I’ve still much to learn. I have the camera on auto everything thus far. Got some spoonbills (the knowledgeable ones told me). Missed a bittern! Come back to me in a few months when I can hopefully supply a better critique.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worth the price, sometimes prioritizes far things

SEL200600G/CSYX 15 August 2021 by Miradj (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from a Sigma 100-400mm and even though it is twice the price, the quality is so much better. More rugged, weather-sealed, no change in length, creamier out of focus backgrounds/bokehs, faster focus, much better image stabilization and sharper details. Definitely recommend this to step up your photo quality if you feel like you've reached the limits of a cheaper lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SHARP!!!!!!!!!!

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 August 2021 by Jonathan Ho (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome lens, couldn't wait to get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good quality and great with internal zoom

SEL200600G 10 August 2021 by Hadden78 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a month ago to go with my A9, the lens is great, the image quality is perfect and along with the intetnal zoom, this is my perfect lens for wildlife and sports.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A real value lens

SEL200600G 03 August 2021 by Stickman 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having purchased a Sony 200-600 lens I have found it to be a great usable lens, producing quality results. It is a good match for my Sony a7riv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

poor tripod collar design.

SEL200600G 30 July 2021 by ifxbonz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The loaner 200-600 suffers from the same problem as my copy . You have an issue with tripod collar loosening making the lens unstable and un able to use on a monopod or tripod.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great lens for the price

SEL200600G/CSYX 30 July 2021 by porkini (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this lens, it gets really close to a subject and when paired with the A7rIV, it comes up with some amazing shots. Just a couple of times, it kid of gave me a 'black screen' as it it was somehow shut down and I had to turn the camera off and on again but the vast majority of the times it works really well. It's heavy... there's no disputing that so you'll really want to use a tripod if you are waiting around but have to stay focused.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A fantastic lens

SEL200600G 27 July 2021 by Josie163 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this for a few weeks now and am constantly being blown away by how good it is, especially considering the price. I’m not going to go into full technical details as there are people who know way more about that than me who will have posted that info already, but as someone who has been using the lens for wildlife photography, I can say it is absolutely fantastic. If you’ve not used a focal length as long as 600mm before, it can take some getting used to but I absolutely love this lens and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of buying.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens so far, BUY IT!

SEL200600G 21 July 2021 by Eyeintheart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it end of May, took a month to deliver but was well worth the wait. I have used it a few times and I'm very impressed. Make sure you have a tripod that can handle the weight. Photo examples are taken on the a7 mark one. I would love the a7iii or the a7riii but can't afford them yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Could end at 500 and f5.6

SEL200600G 17 July 2021 by Piotreknik (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bit heavy , we'll build and very sharp . Could be f 5.6

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best telephoto birding lens I have used

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Nathanshutterbug (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best all round telephoto lens. Fast focus, internal zoom, excellent clarity and almost no distortion at all ends of the zoom range. Also use it for landscapes at time! Have loved shooting with this lens and would highly recommend it….

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Affordable plus decent image quality

SEL200600G/CSYX 16 July 2021 by Philip Loh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned this lens for ~3weeks and using it with my A7R4A for birding. Still trying to get use to its weight when doing handheld shoot - but should be manageable over time. One shortcoming - no click for its rotating collar mount - caused some inconvenience due to use of lens coat which covers the marking dots. Mounting leg is too short and it would be nice if it is arca-swiss compatible so no need to buy a replacement leg. Overall, I am satisfied with the price/performance of this lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A solid lens

SEL200600G 14 July 2021 by Nutsaboutbirdz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased on 30th June 2021 to link to my new Alpha 1. So far so good but I also bought a TC 1.4 and am disappointed with the quality of photos. The photo included with this review is not with the TC.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G 07 July 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 6 weeks ago very pleased with it very sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice lens for a knowledgeable amateur!

SEL200600G 01 July 2021 by The auditor (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at reviews for AGES and didn’t want to spend thousands on a top of the range upper glass (yes glass) lens. The Sony 200-600 is magic for me, produces really really good images which with my Sony Alpha 7ii (yes 2) full frame can be cropped as well. I also have a Sony 24-240 zoom which is magic too and a Mindshift backpack which is perfect. I am very pleased indeed, and don’t need to use a tripod most of the time for the 200-600. The 5 axis stabilisation (in camera) plus the image stabilisation in the lens is very good indeed. OK max aperture is 5.6 but I don’t want to pay a HUGE amount for and F2.8 or even F4.0 and I certainly don’t want the weight. I can adjust ISO as required. Autofocus is very good indeed. So I am a happy bunny. I take pictures of boxing hares (and bunnies) all sorts of wildlife and birds. I have not used an adapter yet and probably will not. Well done SONY yet again! Oh and I got £100 cash back as well which paid for the backpack. Even better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Product

SEL200600G 21 June 2021 by Ghost Wolf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Took this lens to Cornwall, took some fantastic photos especially of Longships, St. Micheal's Mount and at Tintagel Castle. I would highly recommend this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Monster of a lens but does the Job

SEL200600G 10 June 2021 by Packtraveler (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens will put some serious weight on your camera but it does get the job done. I do not use a tripod. It would get in the way for shooting wildlife where you more often than not have to follow the action. I use it on the Sony ARIV. It is nice and sharp. My gripes are that the lens hood does not attach securely. I lost it on my second outing while hiking. Sony could provide a longer strap for the lens. Finally the supplied lens bag could be a lot better. What is important is that I have no gripes about the lens. Make sure you try this lens before purchasing it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best lens ever!

SEL200600G 06 June 2021 by CindyS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens is absolutely awesome. Amazingly fast focus, crisp photos, and beautiful bokah. And, truth be told, I bought this lens a month ago after the exact same lens met with an untimely accident after 2 years. I can't live without it! I love the fact that the barrel of the lens does not move. Everything is internal which makes for a smooth transition. I shoot hand held and, yes, this is a heavy lens but nothing I can't handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 28 May 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this lens for about two months, a lens a must to have for portrait, macro and wildlife. Auto focus works perfect, is value for money! Attached some of the photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent

SEL200600G 22 May 2021 by Bob one1 (USA)

Received yesterday and went out today to try it on an a6300 camera. Very impressed with how Quick and responsive this lens is. Light enough to hand hold and shoot. To me worth the money. Most shots at 100 yards and more. Very pleased!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super zoom

SEL200600G 19 May 2021 by Paulcool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great value for money super zoom ,not a lightweight in any department great acuity ,fast auto focus ,great internal zoom ,well made considering cost ,short throw on zoom ring 1/4 turn ,only admission is no Arca Swiss foot .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens for birding and wildlife

SEL200600G 03 May 2021 by Tricky01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wonderful lens, bit of a luxury owning this and the 100-400 with 1.4x TC (and if you can only afford one, get the 100-400, far more portable and shorter minium focus distance makes it infinitely more useful), but if you want a lens dedicated to wildlife then this is the lens to get. A whole stop faster than the 100-400 with 1.4 TC, and that combo will only get you to 560m. Would strongly recommend getting a dotsight (the Olympus one is perfect) if you want any chance of catching birds in flight, much easier to find them and can rely on the A7iii's AF system to get the subject in focus. Also recommend getting a neoprene cover, keeps the lens in good condition and stops it getting too cold.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

If it was beer it would probably be Carlsberg

SEL200600G 26 April 2021 by Chevron Kevin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens with the A9 for my first mirrorless set up. I shoot motorsport normally but with Covid restrictions chose to capture wildlife when possible. Total change from Nikon (D850, D500 and various 2.8 / f4 primes) because I dislike carrying all the weighty gear. My expectations were realistic, the lens was almost a tenth of the price of the Nikkor 600 f4 just sold but not in my wildest dreams did I expect the quality or results I am getting with the 200-600 zoom lens.Combined with the A9 it's absolutely amazing. More importantly I can hand hold this lens to track the diving falcons and birds of prey. I would not upgrade to the 400 or 600 f4 primes because the improvement is too costly and probably add the A1 camera to my stable eventually. I've been a motorsports photographer for over 50 years and been fortunate to use some excellent gear but nothing has excited my photgraphic enthusiasm like this new Sony equipment. It's fabulous.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great sharp copy of the lens, perfect for birding

SEL200600G/CSYX 26 April 2021 by andy88 (Singapore)

I was initially sceptical of the lens due to the size and weight but since I had the 100-400mm. I wanted this more for the reach!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Explorations!

SEL200600G 24 April 2021 by Kerry R (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After watching many reviews on YouTube I decided to get this lens to use with my A7R IV. I saw that many shooters have issues with soft focus and motion blur in low light. I really don't shoot wildlife in low light so that's not an issue for me. I've been on many tours and a couple of safaris and they all took place in early morning light to bright sun, so I think that I'll be OK in the future. I'll have to get a monopod because the lens gets heavy after a while, but the results to me are well worth it. I love that the barrel doesn't extend and the lens is very well built. I need more practice getting used to photographing wildlife and also remembering and knowing when to use the different modes/buttons on the lens. I'M HAPPY with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 20 April 2021 by SSeann (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My best photographic investment so far. Glad I bought the lens, superior image quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lens is incredible

SEL200600G 11 April 2021 by ncmuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is absolutely incredible!!!!! The only downside at the current moment is that it doesn’t pair very well when using the Sony A7R IV. The autofocus with this combination isn’t the best and does need to attention by Sony, but non the less the lens itself is of the highest quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Superb lens.

SEL200600G 07 April 2021 by Old Blue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is simply a superb lens, pins sharp, brilliant bokeh, the image stabilization works incredibly well. The constant physical length, irrespective of focus or focal length makes it very easy to handle. I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Superb lens at a great price!

SEL200600G 07 April 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this lens over the 100-400mm for the extra reach and also the superb design, internal zoom and focus means that the lens remains the same size and never extends. Not too heavy, great handling with the custom buttons and fabulous image quality. Focus is really fast as well. The (relatively) slow maximum apertures do not bother me at all as Sony cameras handle higher ISO settings better than any other manufacturer in my experience. Totally recommend this lens and I use it every day!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Wow...!

SEL200600G 03 April 2021 by dkim99 (United Kingdom)

I knew this lens was going to be good but I am completely gobsmacked at just how good it is. Everything about it is impressive and coupled to my A7R4 there's really not a lot that can touch it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

200-600 awesome

SEL200600G/CSYX 31 March 2021 by Chefpinaki (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

superb performance as expected . light , sharp and fast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

FE 200 600

SEL200600G/CSYX 27 March 2021 by sguser (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good for birding. Fast and silent auto-focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic results!

SEL200600G/CSYX 25 March 2021 by rtancl (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this about a month ago and I have been using it regularly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to Operate and Nice Reach

SEL200600G 20 March 2021 by GlenH AZ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this lens a lot and the optics are very good, but I don't think they're as good as the Nikon 200-500mm lens I shot with previously. The optics on both lenses are very good, but in my opinion, the Nikon 200-500 is just a little better than the Sony 200-600. Don't get me wrong. I'm very happy with my purchase of the 200-600 and would buy it all over again; just for the extra reach if offers and how much better Sony lenses and cameras work with extenders / teleconverters.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0