169

4.8 based on 169 customer reviews

145
19
1
1
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

169 Customer Reviews

0

Sharp, compact. versatile lens

SEL55F18Z 24 June 2021 by Andy W63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this as a standard lens for my A7IIR. Great all day lens, reasonable compact and gives sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 17 June 2021 by Andy1910 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a few days ago and am happy with sharpness and colour rendition. Not impressed with size of hood as it feels too big. Adding a polariser is tricky as not much finger space to screw it in and out easily. So I bought a 5mm extender ring and this has sorted the issue. But outcome wise- great results. So no regrets !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens

SEL55F18Z 02 June 2021 by Outlawmedia (United Kingdom)

I have a variety of G Masters lenses and i have to say that this lens is right up there along side the quality and speed of any of them. Really glad i purchased this lens and stays on my camera 90% of the time now

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice small lens

SEL55F18Z 24 May 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago as a lens for aerial photography. After some ground tests I flew with it last week on my A7Riii. These make a small and easily handled camera system in a cockpit and the results surpassed my expectations - very sharp and with good colour rendition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

zeiss lens 55mm 1,8

SEL55F18Z 20 April 2021 by Raicha (United Kingdom)

super quality lens...........................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This is a pro lens

SEL55F18Z 19 April 2021 by pbwfoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very nice lens. There is a bit of magic in the pictures. Beautiful bokeh, there is some magic to the pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very good lens

SEL55F18Z 12 April 2021 by Hunter11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a few weeks ago and I amvery with this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good

SEL55F18Z AE 09 April 2021 by johnchan (Singapore)

I bough this one years ago and I really like this lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but wonderful

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2021 by nelsf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Perfect lense. Wide angle, portrait or fashion shoot this lense is a gem. F1.8 gives a besutiful bokeh. Beautiful color rendering. Super light weight to carry along travel. Perfect match with a7rIV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice lens

SEL55F18Z 12 March 2021 by MRVR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focus not as quick as on the G Master lenses but a gret little lens, light with a classic focal length and decent minimum focus distance. I miss the focus hold button that is found on some of the G series lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens for portraits

SEL55F18Z AE 03 March 2021 by KemPo157 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Shaft, fast focus, light weight, affordable price. Excellent for portraits, especially indoor where 85mm lens found difficult with room constrains.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Paint has come off lens after first use.

SEL55F18Z 11 February 2021 by Dave 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased fro LCE Bristol, I took lens to do video of deer at local park. Turning th lens, the pait came away on barrel. Very dissapointed as i paid lots of money for thIS. Plus the lens breathes alot for video work. I don't this the shop was familiar with video shooting. I explained to shop paint coming off but nothing about getting a correct lens that doesn't have paint coming off.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

great quality

SEL55F18Z AE 16 January 2021 by L_S_Aung (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bough one month back, love it. overall satisified.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast and sharp lens

SEL55F18Z AE 10 January 2021 by ClaireN (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony SEL55F18Z about a month ago and am loving it. It is very sharp and focused very fast! However, there are some noise produced by the aperture blades when switching the camera on and off and when adjusting the aperture, which can be slightly annoying at times. But other than that, it is an excellent lens to have.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Scratches really easy

SEL55F18Z 27 December 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sorry i'm very dissapointed as this cost me £800 and it's not got a decent amount of paint on it to protect it. Powder paint i expect. I wont be buying any more sony lens. 1st time I used this.

0

0

0

Great for portrait and extremely fast focus.

SEL55F18Z AE 05 December 2020 by Enjamifu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Extremely recommended for a portrait. 55mm doesn't not distort the image as much as 35mm and Sony 35mmf1.8 can't even get the focus right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing lens!

SEL55F18Z 02 December 2020 by Roxocub3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens after watching many reviews for my new Sony a73 and I absolutely love it! It has it all, nice build, super sharp, much better than the 50mm one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beautiful bokeh

SEL55F18Z AE 22 October 2020 by N Sakura (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can take nice bokeh and very clear. Very good cost performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 06 October 2020 by Flow2 (United Kingdom)

great image quality, build ,autofocus and very compact for a ff lens, impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Like the Hubble telescope.

SEL55F18Z 20 September 2020 by Ynos01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The images I’ve taken from this lens are outrageous. Frankly, Sony need to give themselves a good talking to and allow the others to catch up. Buy it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Invaluable Lens

SEL55F18Z AE 14 September 2020 by Jack Benny (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enables a focused and sharp close up shot with a nice boke and crisp image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great form factor

SEL55F18Z 28 March 2020 by PJM171 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I could no be more happy with this lens. I have over a dozen lenses but had not got a 50/55 as it was not my favourite focal length, but i had read so many good reviews that i decided to add it to my collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Light, Sharp and good value.

SEL55F18Z 26 March 2020 by Mick A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a long time Fuji user but because I wanted the best BIF and sports action camera I opted for an A9. Apart from the 200-600 for my main use I needed to get an all round street/general photography lens to justify this system along side my Fuji. I have been stunned by the quality of my 55mm. i assumed Fuji had it sown up, but the quality and versatility of this lens has made me think seriously about trading in my Fuji gear and getting the sister 85mm lens for my use.The 55mm is so crisp and the Bokeh is lovely. Get it........

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

a super sharp fast lens

SEL55F18Z 03 March 2020 by dad48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens as part of a deal with a A7iii, and I am pleased that I did. It is super sharp across the aperture range and has a quality feel about its construction.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Wonderful lens

SEL55F18Z 01 March 2020 by MarkQ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredibly light, very sharp, fast AF and lovely colours and contrast. As good a ‘50’ (ish) lens as I’ve ever owned.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Art & Engineering Excellence

SEL55F18Z 28 February 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this lens with my A7RIV about a year ago along with 3 Sony GM lens. The body and other lenses are all great but this lens is outstanding. It stays on my camera 90% of the time. It's sharp, it's fast and it's tiny. I might upgrade my other gear but this will be with me forever. It's so good I get excited every time I see it. (I know!) If you own a Sony camera you must get this lens, it will be the best purchase you ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Love the spec

SEL55F18Z AE 19 February 2020 by Kifclick (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy at how lightweight it is, plus the lens is sharp and have that creamy nice bokeh. Love this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharpness is amazing

SEL55F18Z 04 February 2020 by Stevo1626 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in December never really considered doing any kind of portrait work but this lens alone combined with the a7iii has really changed my style of photography. Awesome lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharp ++

SEL55F18Z 24 January 2020 by FED20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this lens for a few months now, it is a delight. It is used on a Sony A7 mk 3. Very sharp, lovely bokeh. It is well balanced on the camera and has become one of my favourite lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great lens

SEL55F18Z 06 January 2020 by D S S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although not a new model this lens gives great sharpness.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Little lens, big performer

SEL55F18Z 24 November 2019 by jloz (USA)

This lens is lightning fast and easy on the wrists while delivering IQ expected of Zeiss. I mainly use this lens for poorly lighted indoor/outdoor portraits. Even at high ISO (up to 6400), IQ is still good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A eternal classic

SEL55F18Z 17 November 2019 by CARLOSANDRADE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it a week ago anyway I have already some pics that confirm why I choosed theese lens as premium lens for my A6400. Quite sharp, and colour rendering fantastic. That's why passing years they are one of the best...a classic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My first Prime for Sony

SEL55F18Z 15 November 2019 by MarkIsMe (USA)

I bought this lens 4 years ago when I purchased my a7r2. Now that I’m on the a7riv, It is still my “go to” lens when traveling a new city or only have the chance to carry a single lens on the camera. While in Boston I happened to be snapping away at the skyline in Boston Common. A squirrel caught my eye. Had to be 10 meters away. I clicked over to continuous focus and caught several images of these guys. This is cropped in at 100%. This is such a fast lens, it keeps autofocus and gorgeous bokeh. Just buy it!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Why buy the 50mm?

SEL55F18Z 09 October 2019 by noahthomas03 (USA)

I bought this lens after reading comparisons between this one, and the Zeiss 50mm. Needless to say I'm very happy I saved some extra cash and went with this one. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great construction

SEL55F18Z 11 September 2019 by Just55 (United Kingdom)

I bought this lense around a month ago and I am very pleased with the outstanding results it gives me especially when doing night street photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best lens I have ever had! expensive but the best!

SEL55F18Z 08 September 2019 by GrégoireC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Trials, first time using the lens, great fun to experiment..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Zeiss Nifty Fifty

SEL55F18Z AE 07 September 2019 by W C Tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

You cannot go wrong with Zeiss standard prime lens although the focal length is 5mm longer. There is no auto/manual switch and a higher price as expected on Zeiss. Lens focus is fast and sharp even in low light situations. My only dislike is the minimum focus distance is more than 1.5 feet which means you cannot focus closer in tight spaces. This lens is more suitable for portrait and scenery photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Most versatile lens!

SEL55F18Z 20 August 2019 by Noornuri (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens can do it all, from micro to macro. A must have!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality Images

SEL55F18Z AE 22 July 2019 by Edwin K (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It gives real quality images.. Light weight to give a perfect on the Sony A7R III body

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best prime lens for the A7iii

SEL55F18Z 05 July 2019 by Rookwood Productions (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Tax sharp and a great all rounder lens. I use this lens most on my camera. Quickest auto focus I’ve ever seen. And stable as any thing I’ve ever used. Now looking at the 35mm prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

amazing

SEL55F18Z 12 June 2019 by PeterHT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

small, beautifully made and deadly accurate .. it's my current favourite

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

First month on hands review

SEL55F18Z AE 09 May 2019 by GordonDi (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Most advanced points: Sharp photo. Fast, silent and accuracy focus. Likes points: Good build quality and light weight. Disadvantage: Price too high.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing Portrait lens with lovely bokeh

SEL55F18Z AE 23 April 2019 by kennethtwk (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my FE 50mm F1.8, and was absolutely glad I did. This is weather proof, so unlike the last one, I didn't need to keep cleaning dust. Also, the Zeiss lens is just gorgeous. Love this lens to bits.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The sharpness of picture is really amazing!

SEL55F18Z AE 29 March 2019 by Seng Siong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and used it during my dating with my girlfriend. The sharpness of the photo is really amazing and I like it very much. It provides a lot of details in the picture captured. Thumbs up for this quality product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL55F18Z 23 March 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice lens. Sturdy built and super sharp. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it!

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019 by Atabales (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a month ago and I am so happy with it. Can wait for more Sony lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Quite outstsanding superbly sharp prime lens

SEL55F18Z 14 March 2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an advertising photographer I require critically sharp images for my clients. This prime delivers on this requirement and is a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sharp, small and fast

SEL55F18Z 16 February 2019 by Davidreidphotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens a welcome addition to my kit bag, small light and sharp. A great all round prime

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has manufacturing fault.

SEL55F18Z 07 February 2019 by benthechimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus failed on this lens, £200+ to repair. I think it had been faulty since purchase, make sure there is no noise when focusing at high aperture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent photo quality in all conditions

SEL55F18Z 07 January 2019 by docv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Shipping worked perfectly. I used the Sonnar now about one week - with really good and really bad light and weather conditions. The photo quality was excellent

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Lens

SEL55F18Z 04 January 2019 by Lowbox (United Kingdom)

This is not a newly released lens but it one of the best in my kit, fast, focused and a pleasure to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great image quality but with loud aperture noise !

SEL55F18Z 03 January 2019 by ctanir (USA)

I just bought this lens after seeing so many good reviews, comments and also watching many test videos. Everything is fine except for one thing. The aperture blades are chattering, making noise every time I change them. After a bit of search on internet I found out that many people had this issue as well. I'm still not sure if my lens is faulty or is it just the way this lens is. I'm kind of disappointed because even my kit lens with Sony a7 iii didn't make such noises. Considering many people say it's an almost silence lens I doubt mine, then again there are many people facing the same issue. Hope someone could give some information on this.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

0

Best prime I've ever used!

SEL55F18Z 02 January 2019 by Scott SW (United Kingdom)

5 months in with this awesome lens (on A7iii) and absolutely loving it. I'm at wedding photographer and switched from Nikon to Sony this year, so glad I did! This lens is tack sharp at all apertures, lightening fast, beautiful bokeh, great contrast, tiny, light and great build quality. The only con - no manual focus / auto focus switch but hey that can be mapped to a custom button. If you're worried about the price over another 50mm you will be pleased you took the plunge on this one. Ref. I've owned Nikon 50mm f1.4G & Sigma Art 50mm f1.4. Many thanks, Scott

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

F1.8

SEL55F18Z AE 02 January 2019 by Tjagat83 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this and used it.. I’m very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp as Heck!

SEL55F18Z 30 December 2018 by Sierra NV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super sharp. Solid build yet light and compact. Overall, great prime lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Tack Sharp & Fast.

SEL55F18Z 11 December 2018 by Teotizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last 1stDec'18 with A7III as a package after I straight swap it with my Nikon arsenal D300, battery grip, nikkor 24-70f2.8, 105f2, Tokina 100 macro, Tokina 11-18, SB800, nikon tele 2X, R1 macro flash.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Technological Marvel

SEL55F18Z 26 November 2018 by Hillclimber (USA)

I've owned this and several other Sony/Zeiss lenses for a while now, and this lens is special. It's not the sharpness that everyone talks about. It's the color rendering and bokeh that make it so special. The size and weight are also a big plus. It's just the most reliable producer of interesting images of any lens I've used. Can't say too many good things about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

So sharp it cuts

SEL55F18Z AE 10 November 2018 by Wilson L (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've heard good things about this lens. Seeing it for myself however is a different matter. I am not a professional photographer by any means but I do feel that this lens will be a great gem in any photographer's arsenal. It is extremely sharp! At it's price, it's a no-brainer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but well-formed

SEL55F18Z 01 November 2018 by Leftyrex (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had a Sony 850 from some time back, decided to upgrade to an A73R. Most of my lenses are ~1kg apiece, and part of the point is to reduce the weight for everyday photography. The 55mm is small, and seems very well made. From what I can see - limited experience so far - the product is producing nice images.

3

2

0

The focus ring needs to redesign.

SEL55F18Z AE 23 October 2018 by Tianshu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus ring needs to redesign or at least re-thinking. It's an electric focus ring. So why not to give the option to the user. To choose which focus method we would like to use? You can simulate the mechanical focus method. And if we set it to auto-focusing mode. Could you please assign another function to the ring? Like change ISO/ Speed/aperture/none. Just give users the option, please!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Possibly the sharpest lens I've ever owned

SEL55F18Z 20 October 2018 by Dylthedog (United Kingdom)

When I got my A7R3 I planned to build up a set of primes to go with the zoom I purchased with the camera, and this was first on my list. If I'm honest before buying I would have preferred a 50mm, but I'm happy to say the 55mm has worked out OK for me; in practice I've not noticed the extra 5mm. The title says it all - this is lens is amazingly sharp. It also focuses very quickly, and I've found it to be excellent for portraits and as a general walk-around prime where wide shots aren't needed. I've noticed some lateral chromatic aberrations (colour fringing at the point focus drops out) in certain circumstances, but it isn't a deal breaker by any means - I'm sure most people wouldn't even notice it. I wouldn't hesitate to use this lens for paid work at all. Contrast is great, as is colour rendition, though I'd say its more neutral than saturated. Camera settings can change this, of course. I like that the lens is relatively compact and very light, which makes it easy to carry as an alternative to a heavy zoom. It's also nice to see that it includes a lens bag and hood, but then it isn't a low cost lens at all. It's pricey but well worth the cost in my opinion, and I stand by my comment about sharpness - it's amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

An excellent lens for all Sony user

SEL55F18Z AE 13 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The compact size to its performance is a marvel. This is a lens I will highly recommend for all Sony E mount users. Fast and silent focusing. Superb optical quality. Creamy smooth bokeh. The lightweight size makes you want to carry it around with you all the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 55mm F1.8

SEL55F18Z AE 07 October 2018 by psp710 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good for value ... I love its bokeh images quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great lens

SEL55F18Z 24 September 2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

outstanding pictures and sharpness of the lenses The camera feels like a extension of your hand

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Super sharp and super quiet.

SEL55F18Z 07 September 2018 by Andyvalver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantasic little lens. Silent autofocus and a super sharp image. Really impressed with it. I just wish there was a 35mm 1.8 for around the same price or less.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning lens.

SEL55F18Z 23 August 2018 by Mark C (United Kingdom)

This lens is truly stunning.Vibrant colours,the detail is amazing across the frame. The handling is superb,small,light with super fast accurate focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Awesome Lens!!!

SEL55F18Z 03 August 2018 by Ray Picart (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the sharpest and the best lens money can buy. You will never regret buying it. Portable, light, durable and fast. Definitely I would recommend to a friend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

nice photo quality

SEL55F18Z AE 23 July 2018 by joonhung (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

just tried once, noted better photo quality compared to default 28-70 lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New Zeiss 55mm lens

SEL55F18Z 15 July 2018 by Jim4848 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This my first Sony Lens and it is wonderful and very sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sharpness

SEL55F18Z AE 09 July 2018 by hainhtet (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought two weeks ago , like this lens for portrait

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0