CLOCK RADIO

Product Reviews

57

3.5 based on 57 customer reviews

18
14
10
7
8
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Nice looking, user friendly design

ICF-C1T/BC SP7 22 November 2016 by Absolutely None (Singapore)

I bought it as I wanted a quality radio with alarm clock functions. It is simple to set and use. There are two options for alarm sound, beeping or turning on the radio. The beeping gets progressively louder but is still rather soft. However, if you are a heavy sleeper, you can use the other option of turning on the radio, the volume of which is dependent on how loud you set the volume control. This model has two alarm settings if you need to set another alarm for another time of the day. If you find the clock display too bright, you could dim it by pressing the snooze button. You could set the radio to turn itself off after a certain length of time, I think is up to 90 minutes. The radio sound is more on treble end as in most transistor radios but is very clear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

ICFC1TWHITE 04 November 2014 by Reddi (USA)

Was unable to tune in area FM public radio station. Tuner knob is very small, difficult to tune in stations. Item was returned (return shipping cost was half the original cost of the item.)

9

0

57 Customer Reviews

0

Very disappointed

ICF-C1T 03 September 2019 by Gayle 44 (USA)

I won't buy this again. Not the same as it was years ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Sony Cube Radio

ICFC1TBLACK 14 July 2019 by Vsherman (USA)

Cool radio ... we replace one that was 41 years old! Unfortunately, the backup battery in our new radio has to be replaced. We'll be making a trip to Best Buy to see if they can make it good.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Lovely bedroom clock

ICF-C1T 09 June 2019 by Lb06 (United Kingdom)

I bought this clock and love it I can see the display clearly and just plugged it in and the correct time was on the screen perfect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Disappointed in New Model

ICFC1TB 22 May 2019 by Patty08 (USA)

I received this as a gift. I have used Sony square clock radios for over 20 years. My new clock keeps losing time, it is currently 5 minutes behind, within the next several hours, it will be 10 to 12 minutes behind. I have older models that work perfectly but this one is not of the same quality.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

New alarm clock

ICF-C1T 12 April 2019 by Atomicd (United Kingdom)

Only one of its kind available on a Sunday. Came with ‘battery failed’ indicator. Settings not too difficult, seems to keep decent time.

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Clock Radio

ICFC1TBLACK 24 March 2019 by Wickerinthemorning (USA)

This clock radio has everything I was looking for. Two alarms. auto daylight savings time set and easy to use. Highly recommend. Great item.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good clock - not so good keeping time

ICF-C1T 08 March 2019 by SP in ATL (USA)

I have had this clock for a few years now, and it consistently loses time. Loses about 1-2 minutes per month. Frustrating.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Missing features

ICFC1TBLACK 23 February 2019 by windsorrider (USA)

Looks like a decent clock radio but it could have been better. The radio tuner is something out of the 1960s, analog, with a tiny dial. Setting the radio to the right station has to be done by ear, the tuner jumps from 88 FM to 92 FM in about a quarter of an inch, which is useless. For the price I expected a digital tuner. The display is rather small, given that it has a 4 x 4 display area all to itself, the clock numerals are only about an inch. Hard to read with my glasses off. And, nothing else displays, you can see which alarm(s) are set, but not what they are set to. To check the alarm, you have to turn it on, and once on, there is no way to display it again. I needed a clock radio quickly., and I trust the Sony brand, but this is a weak product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Not great product

ICF-C1T 12 February 2019 by Extremely Disappointed 2 (USA)

Purchased this product year ago. Followed manual precisely to set up. Have had multiple issues since purchasing. Past few weeks radio quit working. Now, clock randomly starts beeping then flashing month, date, hour and minute (without even touching it). Only way to get it to stop was by unplugging, since none of the buttons worked. After plugging it back in, unable to change any numbers displayed. Just flashes numbers and beeps, still no radio either. Tried to add video to show, but sony requires to be posted through you tube, which I don't have.

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

I Have Never Gotten The Correct Time - Slow

ICF-C1T 10 January 2019 by Beautiful (USA)

I have the white version of this clock. The clock has never given me the correct time since I took it out of the box and plugged it in. I can't figure out how to adjust it. It is now off by over 10 minutes. Can you help me with this? The reason why I purchased this radio was because of the SONY name. I've always chosen SONY products over the years for their quality. This little radio was very disappointing because a radio with a digital clock should be adjustable if needed. New York time is EST. No matter the Time Zone it displays the incorrect time. Not good for waking up or staying on schedule for this simple reason. The channel choices are very limited and the reception changes, and you have to fine tune the channel often (or move the clocks position. You also sometimes lose the channel when you try to fine tune it. I keep it in the bathroom to listen to, but I can't use its features.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Looks nice but cannot keep time.

ICF-C1T 09 November 2018 by Arpeet (USA)

I bought this years back but haven't found where I can get support for this. I've struggled with it losing a minute every so often. Since my last adjustment, it's now 8 minutes behind. Please invest in better circuit designers as I didn't purchase this to get something made by interns. Or, correct your sourcing strategy.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Looks great, but disappointing design

ICFC1TBLACK 29 October 2018 by CraigSG (USA)

The unit looks good, but I'm somewhat disappointed given Sony's great reputation for well designed products. Quality of the speakers is not very good. Controls and buttons are not ideally located - it's too easy to accidentally touch the tuner dial and lose your station. The tuner dial is not well designed - it's too small with too few numbers, making it hard to locate a station. Also the labels next to the buttons are printed too light and hard to read. I do like the snooze features and blinking indicator though.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible Product

ICF-C1T 24 October 2018 by Aaron2018 (USA)

I bought This clock radio Sr. # F4145945. I regret buying it. It gains a minute every couple of days. So surprised that company like Sony cannot make a simple clock. I am going to trash this piece of sh...t.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Good sound clock radio

ICFC1TBLACK 23 June 2018 by Rbpatch (USA)

Bought it for the battery backup during a storm and was surprised that the radio reception was excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The great coverup???

ICF-C1T 28 May 2018 by Aakar (USA)

I took the time to write a review in 5/18, apparently Sony was not happy with what I had to say, as it has now gone missing!!!!???? So to repeat The "tuner" is a tiny little ANALOG number, exactly like you would find on a 1960's transistor radio!! There are NO presets To change a station, you must use one hand to hold magnifying glass, one hand to turn the tiny analog wheel and one hand to hold the radio @an angle The radio does NOT keep accurate atomic time, is always ahead of all other clocks, setting is almost impossible There is NO way to know what station is playing, and as said before changing station is a complicated, full time issue Sony has replaced my original radio, with another with the same identical issues My reason for complaining is because Sony customers are perfectionists who are willing to pay extra for high end products, if this radio is where Sony is going, we all, the customers and company have a huge problem.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

It's OK; not quite as nice as I had hoped

ICFC1TBLACK 28 May 2018 by MarsbarCT (USA)

I purchased this mostly for the radio. I'm disappointed that there is no bright display of the radio station you're on--instead there is this TINY (repeat: TINY) faint "dial" on top of the unit. Also, the buttons are so tiny, you could never see them in the dark, nor could you distinguish them with your fingertips. The radio OFF button is utterly not obvious. Come on Sony....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good, but I lost the instructions.

ICF-C1T 19 April 2018 by toothfairy (USA)

The item works great, however losing the instructions, the site makes hard to get a print-out and I had to unplug it and maybe get one less complicated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Big disappointment

ICF-C1T 08 April 2018 by Disappointed10003 (USA)

Difficult to set the time accurately if not impossible. Despite "DST" button, clock must be reset manually twice a year. Today is April and, when I woke, the clock was back at standard time. Impossible to see the station setting without turning on a light, sitting up and, if one needs glasses to see tiny things, putting on glasses to read the tiny station number in the tiny window. I wanted a 'real' clock radio -- with station showing on the face and ease of use -- the old ones that were about twice as wide as this one, but Sony no longer makes them. I seems that no one does!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Easy to use

ICF-C1T 12 January 2018 by Ryano (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and set up even for a technophobe like me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

ICF-C1T 06 January 2018 by rosiesmam (United Kingdom)

I got this as a Christmas present and was pleased at how easy it is to set and use. My only issue is that one of the lines which make up the 1st number 2 is missing. Although it doesn't affect the performance I was disappointed to find out when I registered it, that because I don't have the receipt I can't get it fixed without paying for it even though it is under guarantee. Apart from this small issue I haven't had any problems with its use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

compact & easy

ICFC1TBLACK 30 November 2017 by EllenMH (USA)

I love the small size and the fact that the orange-colored display is not too bright in a dark room, yet is easily visible in daylight. I'm so glad I found this clock radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

ICF-C1T 24 August 2017 by Brian999 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, good sound and nice to look at and reasonable price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cheap radio

ICF-C1T 21 August 2017 by Ian57 (USA)

They say preset 10 stations. I thought I could set ten stations. So I also thought the stations would be Digital also like the time. If only want this clock to wake you up in the morning excellent buy. If you expect anything more then poor buy. The dream machine was ten times better than his product. If it isn't broken why fix it? Still have a dream machine clock since 1998. I bet this clock will not last a year. Two years tops.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good alarm clock

ICFC1TBLACK 02 August 2017 by akv54 (USA)

this item is good as a clock and alarm. The date is also registered but not displayed. An analog Radio is however an outdated concept and should have been digital.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Lovely product

ICF-C1T 21 June 2017 by John BFS (United Kingdom)

This was pricier than I had planned to purchase, but I liked the styling. A little disappointed that the tuning is so manual but still a nice item.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great alarm clock

ICFC1TBLACK 15 June 2017 by annac (USA)

We enjoy the ease of use of this alarm clock. I just wish we could adjust the brightness a little more

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I like the sleek look and it works really well for

ICFC1TBLACK 04 April 2017 by Dan32 (USA)

I bought this to replace an old RCA clock I had for years. Changing from large blue numbers, I was hoping the amber light would reduce overall lighting of the room, and it definitely does. It has brightness settings that also helps this. The only problem I can think of are the small buttons. While that does help to keep my toddler from changing my settings, the alarm button is hard to find sometimes in the dark, but I am adjusting. I have had it for about 3 months now and it works great! I do recommend this clock.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Issue with the wake up alarm

ICF-C1T 08 February 2017 by smalldages (United Kingdom)

I bought this radio 1.5 month ago as I really like the shape and the design. However I want to return it as I have a problem with the alarm. It happened 3-4 times already that when you set the alarm for the morning, when the time comes the radio switches on but the radio not in tune so you can't hear anything. Due to this I missed appointment. I read a few other reviews and same problem occurs to other users.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Compact, multi-feature, radio alarm clock

ICFC1TBLACK 23 December 2016 by john80249 (USA)

As a former employee, I have great faith and pride in all Sony Products; this radio alarm clock was an outstanding value right out of the box! It was easy to configure for operation. I especially like the battery backup for the clock and automatic conversion to daylight savings time and back. Great sound, great value, I'm pleased.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony clock radio

ICF-C1T 30 November 2016 by Rumby (United Kingdom)

Had 2 of this product both of them had dead batterys

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

1

0

Nice looking, user friendly design

ICF-C1T/BC SP7 22 November 2016 by Absolutely None (Singapore)

I bought it as I wanted a quality radio with alarm clock functions. It is simple to set and use. There are two options for alarm sound, beeping or turning on the radio. The beeping gets progressively louder but is still rather soft. However, if you are a heavy sleeper, you can use the other option of turning on the radio, the volume of which is dependent on how loud you set the volume control. This model has two alarm settings if you need to set another alarm for another time of the day. If you find the clock display too bright, you could dim it by pressing the snooze button. You could set the radio to turn itself off after a certain length of time, I think is up to 90 minutes. The radio sound is more on treble end as in most transistor radios but is very clear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Top notch clock radio

ICF-C1T 24 October 2016 by Margsman (United Kingdom)

This replaced a previous Sony clock radio which we have had for many years. It is just as user-friendly and is even better as the two alarms can be set for either radio or beeper rather than radio for alarm A and beeper for alarm B on the old one. A 10cm cube, it takes up less space on the bedside cabinet than the last one and is very smart in appearance with its gloss black finish and mirrored front. The time display can be set to one of three light levels and is easier to read. Sound quality not great but I only listen for a few seconds as it wakes me anyway. All round, a really good piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small, practical with a good sound.

ICF-C1T 19 September 2016 by Murghy (United Kingdom)

This product was better than expected. I was able to pick up a local commercial radio station, which was not possible previously. The clock function is very practical.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0