94

4.3 based on 94 customer reviews

51
33
4
3
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7G 19 November 2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

94 Customer Reviews

0

rx100 vii

Body Only 05 May 2021 by marco choi (USA)

too expensive, it is not worth to buy it, waiting for rx100viii

0

0

0

Great features and handling.

DSC-RX100M7G 01 May 2021 by Otty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unable to continue using larger and heavier camera due to arthritic hands, the Sony RX100VII is ideal. It is a very well featured camera and size and weight suit me very well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very good camera

DSC-RX100M7G 25 April 2021 by Michael Vout (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This appears to be an excellent camera with the ability to be creative

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Defect !

DSC-RX100M7G 19 April 2021 by WonkotheSane (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fine photos so far, but the shelflife of the batt is only about 2 days max, then it is discharged till zero. All memory-settings are erased and have to be renewed. So I had to return it and lost my rubber grip and my filter-ring which I fixed to the lens. What a pity about the final QC...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony RX 100 M7

DSC-RX100M7G 12 April 2021 by David 262 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, and typical of the build quality you would expect from Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A Superb Little Camera!

DSC-RX100M7G 01 April 2021 by Chrissie28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the RX100 III years ago on a reccomendation from a friend. Loved it , but always thought it could do with a better zoom. So when the VII came on the scene, I bought one! I'm still getting used to it but its a super camera. Image quality is great, viewfinder is a must for me and I'm getting the hang of the different functions (which I didn't bother with previously.) The touch function is great and something I didn't think I would use. It is pricey but I would say worth it. I have tried other compact cameras but the image quality lets them down. This one will go into a roomy coat pocket or I use a little bag that just goes over my shoulder without knowing it is there. I don't do video so can't comment on that but I understand that it's very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Almost Perfect Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 15 March 2021 by Ashokab (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the features of the Rx 100 VII. Worth the Price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 10 February 2021 by Riggman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera for its quality photo’s in a little pocketable package. I have an SLR and a little Sony WRX but the image quality on this model is excellent. I recommend a good tutorial book to explain all its features though to get the best out of it. My only reason for giving 4 stars is l have had problems with video judder in 4K and HD at 25p through Play Memories Home, l have yet to get to the bottom of it, it may be my PC/Monitor or a setting. The only one that works without visible judder is 50p.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for taking any where in your pocket.

DSC-RX100M7G 08 February 2021 by Hube2019 (USA)

If you want to take pictures, but can not take a larger camera with you and you want more than a cell phone camera this is the one for you. It is has all the Sony features in it for HDR, panning or any picture you may want and it fits in your pocket. Being in your pocket meaning it can be with you Spring, Summer, Fall or Winter no matter were I go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So nearly the perfect travel camera

DSC-RX100M7G 20 January 2021 by ARIXY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned a RX100 V for some time and absolutely loved the quality of the images and the options available however it always seemed the zoom range was a bit limited and the lack of a microphone input was a real pain when shooting video. The RX100 VII has almost become my ideal travel camera in that it has both a much longer zoom range and a microphone input but, for some reason Sony has decided to take out the neutral density filter! Presumably it wouldn't fit with the longer zoom lens but it's a real shame. Fitting filters on the front of the lens is possible but far from ideal and shooting video without the neutral density in bright sun results in nasty-looking high shutter speed results. Until I find my ideal travel camera this one comes very close.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

The Always Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 18 January 2021 by Grif80128 (USA)

After reading the specs and reviews, I had to try the RX100M7! It has lived up to the hype! At last the perfect compliment to my a9ii, but in my pocket. Wherever I go, I have a good solid camera with me. Ready always. My only wish is the the cycle on time be shortened. Images are fantastic. So far all man held images have been sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality from a very small camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 13 January 2021 by Daveo159 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been surprised how good the image quality is from the smaller sensor in the camera compared to my apps-c camera. The camera is small and light enough Ito be taken with me when I might leave my A77 at home. The lens is great, the auto focusing brilliant. The small size does work against it sometimes as I find it easy to knock the control ring and touch the screen making it focus when I don’t want it to and it is a complex camera with many options that a no jive user might find off putting. The GPS feature which I value works via your smart phone and I have found sometimes the camera and phone won’t reconnect without resetting the phone. This could be an issue with my phone of course (One plus 5) but it’s annoying. I wish Sony would go back to incorporating GPS in-camera as they did on my Sony A77.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

So much in a small package

DSC-RX100M7G 09 January 2021 by Nick82g (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using this camera for a month I am so pleased with the results im getting. I think it will take a bit more time to master all the great possibilities this camera offers .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb - big features in a small box

DSC-RX100M7G 06 January 2021 by roydolan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a superb camera with many features found in a big DSLR is a small pocket sized camera. No need to carry a bag full of kit for most situations now and is so much smaller than the DSLR I would normally use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Powerful and Compact

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2020 by wonton (USA)

The SONY RX100 VII is a excellent little camera. This is my third irritation in the RX100 line. I’ve taken this to New York, and most recently Christmas in Michigan. The past several months we found an absolutely beauty of a spot for a series photo. The colors were amazing and the clarity from this little camera is absolutely amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Broke after less than 6 weeks

DSC-RX100M7G 21 December 2020 by DH123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera 6 weeks ago mainly for landscape and nature photography and action videography. Results were excellent for videos and not bad for photos but unfortunately the camera broke after 6 weeks which for a high end product is rather disappointing. I would have forgiven this if the repair experience with Sony was easy and hassle free but as it was anything but, it meant I have actually returned the camera for a refund and will not purchase a Sony product again. This may be an isolated incident but it was enough to put me off. I have spent MANY monies with canon over 20 years of photography purchases and never had any problems so will keep my business with them.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Compact with big features

DSC-RX100M7G 23 November 2020 by Smiler2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I am impressed. Disappointed that there doesn’t appear to be focus bracketing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and Easy to use camera

Body Only 31 October 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a compact and easy to use camera. Great for travel and as a second companion camera to my dslr. Pictures and videos can be easily transferred wirelessly to a mobile app for editing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera for Travel

Body Only 28 October 2020 by waldyphoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the camera: the focus speed, sharpness of the less, dynamic range and color, viewfinder. I with it had a neutral density filter and and a bit of rubber material on the front of the right side of the camera for a bitter grip. This will be my travel and go-to camera when I don't want to carry anything heavier.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What a great little powerhouse of a camera.

Body Only 17 October 2020 by RichF14 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I came from a Nikon d750 with a range of lenses from 24mm to 200mm. It got old lugging all that gear around. I wanted small but still something I could count on for great high quality images. So, I got me a Sony RX100 M7... I have had this camera now for 9mo. It takes a little getting used to and you need to spend some time with its feature set, which is enormous btw. If you do you will find a very capable camera. I am pleased with IQ and how very fast the camera is. It starts quickly, shoots fast i.e. NO shutter lag, the AF is very fast and spot on. I have spent a good amount of time with its features and how I want it set up. I highly advise people to utilize the memory recall feature and set the camera up for certain shooting situations. I have one for sports, portraits and landscapes. This took a bit of time but was actually enjoyable and well worth it. The camera's lens is fantastic, from 24mm to 200mm the images are sharp and clear. JPG's are the best I have seen from any camera. You don't buy this camera to just use it on auto, although it will give really great results, it's features are just to good to pass up. I urge anyone to spend a Sat. morning going through the manual and really getting to know it's features. The auto ISO is one I use 90% of the time now, something I never did with my DSLR. Overall I love the camera, it's size, it's weight.. it's so much nicer to haul around then 15lbs of DSLR gear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Stunning photos from a compact camera!!

Body Only 01 October 2020 by Knightrulz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Read all the reviews and decided to try it, I have not been disappointed by quality of videos and photos! Menu’s could use a bit of cleaning up but it has everything you could want!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Suits my photographic output - walkabout!

DSC-RX100M7G 22 September 2020 by monkey snapper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An amazingly specified small portable camera that suits my walk-about photography. The array of menus and navigation within them is a trifle baffling but the picture quality and camera build and features are superb. It suits what I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Very versatile camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 23 August 2020 by misery guts (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned this camera for a week, there was a delay in its delivery and consequently it has very little use so far but it certainly a very capable tool. I am less than impressed by the overall package however; there is noo proper grip provided, it has to be bought separately, the flimsy carrying envelope which was packed with it is a waste of space and I think a decent set of instructions should be proveded; asking the purchaser of this expensive camera to print 630 odd pages smacks of penny pinching. The charging cable is woefully short. For just another few pounds all thes miserly omissions could have been supplied, making the purchase a joy rather than leaving this customer feeling somewhat ripped off. Anyway, the camera itself is a delight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

3

0

Great camera.

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 21 August 2020 by _QHQ_ (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Maybe the best compact camera now. The focus length covers the most useful range. The quality of the image is good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Ideal travel/pocket camera that packs a punch

DSC-RX100M7G 19 August 2020 by WacWac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The vii is a very capable camera whether you are a beginner wanting point and shoot or more advanced control through the various functions on offer. Picture quality is good and has exceptional auto focus capabilities. I’ve previously had SLRs (old school) and super zoom bridge cameras all of which require large carrying cases and for the SLR extra lenses. This camera is compact and fits in the pocket and is capable of macro pictures, wide angle and 8x optical zoom - did I mention it fits in your pocket! The digital zoom pictures are also very acceptable. I originally upgraded from a bridge camera to the rx100 v and was very impressed with the picture quality and versatility of that model. Having the camera for 2 years I always yearned for a better zoom capability. Finally I took the plunge and upgraded to the vii for the 8x optical zoom but had to compromise on the lens speed. This isn’t too much of an issue as the iso range of the camera helps compensate for the slower lens. The auto focus performance and touch screen were both additional benefits in the vii. I’ve had the camera for over a month and torn between the two (v and vii). I’ve taken similar images with the vii and and in certain circumstances the v took better images due to the faster lens; I take a lot of night shots. I’d definitely recommend both, especially if you are upgrading from a smaller image sensor, but bear in mind what you want to takes pictures of. Overall the zoom lens, improved auto focus and touch screen make the vii the all round, versatile compact camera. Note: Attached pictures have been compressed to fit the 5mb limit. Should provide a great view though of the quality.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

4

0

FANTASTIC CAMERA BUT.....

DSC-RX100M7G 18 August 2020 by BrianAAA (United Kingdom)

I bought the original RX100 a few years ago.... Great stills but so so video. The Mk7 soots truly fantastic stills and amazingly high quality video....... immensely impressed and nought the bluetooth shooting grip as well. Very happy indeed until....... After 2.5 of taking great photos and video I turned it on and....... Nothing. Completely dead........ investigated possible solutions online to no avail. I bought from John Lewis in the UK and communication with them about repair of replacement has been appalling..... Very disappointed with John Lewis and disappointing to be without a camera that was truly superb....... I will keep trying to get through to John Lewis or will put on a mask and take it to their nearest store Despite the camera dying on me I think I just got a strange problem and would still highly recommend it...... but not from the store I purchased from....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Many features

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 16 August 2020 by Tang Empire (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

everything except you need a shake handle to hold it steady

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dropped 3 x times

DSC-RX100M7G 12 August 2020 by adamfromayr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sent it back as o kept dropping it, its very slippy and small! If you can handle it! its a brilliant small camera but its too small and slippery for my needs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

10

0

Awesome Camera!

Body Only 09 August 2020 by A Moment In Time (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Spent four hours getting acquainted. Shot some the next day. Super!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

wonder camera !

Body Only 27 July 2020 by satindarpal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Getting to know the camera, Would like hard copy manual ! Please !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Everything you need in a small package

DSC-RX100M7G 09 July 2020 by Mane1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago so it's early days. I decided that owning a lot of expensive heavy gear that stayed at home most of the time was pointless, whereas this camera can be always with me, so I never need to miss a shot. It packs a terrific lot of technology into a small package, but at a cost. Nevertheless it's still cheaper than buying a body and zoom lenses. Early experience is that the Af works great and the camera features are really useful, once you have learned how to navigate the menu. Image results have been good so far and I got some great shots that I might have otherwise missed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

Just amazing!

DSC-RX100M7G 27 June 2020 by BastonZ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small, beautiful, featureful, AF like nothing else! A delight to hold in the pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Very Good Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 17 June 2020 by Brads1980 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product for travel and to replace my ageing Sony A77 so that i wouldn't have the burden to haul multiple lenses around. The RX100M7 is extremely well built, and features comprehensive and extensive. The focus is extremely fast and never misses, the colours are brilliant and i get tack sharp images time and time again. My only complaint is for the money that this costs Sony didn't include a manual in the box. I know i can view it online, but its nice to have a paper copy, also flicking through an online manual is time consuming and lengthy process.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Small, Light, with great Capabilities

DSC-RX100M7G 17 June 2020 by GilliB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this from my husband for my birthday. I knew I wouldn’t carry heavy lenses and bags around, so it had to be the size of a point & shoot, with capability to grow with my own. This product came highly recommended by experienced photographers

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Nice camera, limited windows support

Body Only 31 May 2020 by ThisGuyIKnow (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They ended support for their raw codec in windows. This is a huge negative to me. Sad I purchased this camera now since it's now several extra steps to view the photos I took.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Sony ARW file format Poor

Body Only 30 May 2020 by NEARACTOR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the camera primarily because of the RAW capture feature. Found the Sony ARW file format difficult to convert.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 30 May 2020 by TommyJames (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the RX100M4 and this is an upgrade. I used the M4 for three years and loved it and now I'm thrilled to add this. I love everything about the camera and because of the small size, I use it frequently. It's far more practical than carrying a large camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

the best quality camera made

DSC-RX100M7G 29 May 2020 by leezza (USA)

I bought this as soon as it came out and I love it. I really wanted to try the new Sony ZV-1 but they are all ran out and the RX100 took some of my money. I'm not complaining. I do recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

AF!!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 02 May 2020 by Camera Gal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my fifth Sony RX100 and the best one yet!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Compact quality

DSC-RX100M7G 15 April 2020 by Notpiks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this for my birthday because I take photos for a walking group. Unfortunately because of lock down I have not been out as usual but I am trying to get used to the cameras myriad of features. The build quality is amazing. I did want a small camera “all in one” which it is but the small size takes getting used to after big cameras. Just what I need for climbing styles and muddy fields! Still great quality photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

4

0

Great camera and video device for travelling

DSC-RX100M7G 04 April 2020 by Stephent122 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to the WX500. I wanted a camera I could take on holiday which allowed me to take great pictures and video. This will do that. However, the Covid-19 outbreak is keeping me at home and I haven't yet had a chance to go through all it's features. I love the quick autofocus and the optical zoom. The new microphone jack means I can record good audio without as much win noise through an external microphone. I have recorded a short video as part of teaching amateur radio and it worked well. The big downside is price. It really is a lot a money. I am hoping to have it for years but technology does move quickly so I wonder if it is value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Fab Features and Pics

DSC-RX100M7G 31 March 2020 by Oxford Cherry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I researched long and hard before buying the Mark 7. I was look in g for a DSLR quality camera without the need to carry round loads of lenses when on holiday. The Mark 7 is very good at most things I was looking for, ease of use, battery life, sharp images and compact. 4K video is great, the hinged view panel is really good, shame it’s not ‘touch pad’. Some say it’s small size makes it difficult to hold; I don’t have any issues with this but have recently bought the Sony handle and small tripod. Although this is £100ish it’s well worth it and makes use even better. Great camera, I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Quality product,great pictures/video

DSC-RX100M7G 30 March 2020 by IP11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only negative is the 5 minute limit on 4K video recording,everything else is great for such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

7

0

Great Autofocus and Powerful for the size

DSC-RX100M7G 18 March 2020 by Birchy2000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera for it’s compact size, great features and its 1” sensor. I intend to put it in a waterproof housing for scuba diving. So far I’m really happy with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

The MENU is still a jump around system

Body Only 16 March 2020 by TC3444 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had a RX100M1 from when they came out and enjoyed it because of it's size and picture quality. My wife has heard me say I would like a tilt screen and a viewfinder so for Christmas I got the RX100M7. I did not think Sony could make their menu system any more complicated but I was wrong. The picture quality I'm still not sure of. Still like the size. I would recommend the camera to a friend because of size and lens but price and menu would be a hard sell.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Professional camera in compact size

Body Only 26 February 2020 by huiming (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Effortless photo taking experience, dependable AF and beautiful image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 25 February 2020 by Stew the brew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera that fits in your Pocket, I have had The RX100 V, VI and now the VII, Although not a dedicated Sony user, this is one camera I keep coming back to, It has Great Pro Features all I a handy small Camera. Great for days out or trips when you don't want to take one of your Larger DSLR's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

My Eyes Have Been Opened!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 23 February 2020 by UltimateTerrainMagLance (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a working photojournalist in the off-road industry, I've spent many years working with digital cameras. Truth be told, I'm a "Nikon Guy" with all of the professional Nikon gear you could ever want. I was in the market for a camera that was portable and made the process of shooting video content simple and quick, with outstanding quality. I toyed with the Nikon mirrorless offerings and honestly wasn't that impressed. A friend turned me onto the RX100 platform and since then, it has been an amazing purchase. The eye detection in video mode is better than anything I've ever used. No drama. No crazy setup. It just works! The addition of the external microphone port makes it an even greater camera, since I already had a few other high quality external microphones to use. I'm beyond impressed with this camera. I never considered moving to a Sony mirrorless DSLR before....but this new Mark 7 is making me seriously consider abandoning ship and heading to Sony for good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

The best compact camera

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 20 February 2020 by mitztk (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used RX100 II before. VII is relatively improved many points! Auto Focus speed, apearture range... Personaly, I loved the function that save geo tag in a photo with bluetooth connection. I always want to track location from EXIF. my concern is finally solved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Poor build quality and long delay in repairing

DSC-RX100M7G 18 February 2020 by swingman (United Kingdom)

I bought this as Christmas present for me and used it on the Christmas day and for a wee after it. Only taken about 100 photos and 5 video clips. hoto quality was bet below par but it's early days and hope it would improve with usage. The main problem was that the camera wouldn't engage to computer to download using WiFi. After spend few days by changing setting and trouble shooting secession with 'customer services' it was decided that it needs to be sent for repair. I was told after few days that it would take longer to repair implying serious fault. I then asked for a new replacement as the unit was not fit for purpose and only a month old. I was told that they can't do that. After paying a premium price for the compact camera, now I have to wait don't know until when to get my camera back. At this price point I would expect top quality fully working camera out of the box. On paper this is one of the top cameras in this segment but reading at various computer forums, many had quality control issues. A camera is only good if one can use it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

4

0

Great little Camera for travel

DSC-RX100M7G 15 February 2020 by Foto Jock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for use on a Travel Holiday and I am not disappointed with its features, so much in a small (almost) pocket sized camera. Only gripe is the raw files are Sony's own, I don't think I would have purchased had I known. Capture One Software not very user friendly in my opinion and would be better to have had a generic raw file in my view in which case it would get 5 stars so a little dissapointed as post processing will not be as simple as I had hoped.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Works well

DSC-RX100M7G 14 February 2020 by bobr666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using a Sony Alpha 7s as my main camera for work (I do a lot of reports as a technology journalist). I love that camera especially with the 24/240 lens, but got fed up with the weight around my neck for days at a time. I also found the focus was a bit slow, so I often found on processing that close ups were out of focus, which was frustrating. Changed to the RX100 VII to reduce weight and improve focus. So far, I have only used it for two events - the weight is much better and with a 'sling' strap, the ergonomics are much better. Quality is not quite as good as the Alpha, but shooting Raw and with DXO for processing, it's good enough and not far off the Alpha 7. After the first event, I still had some focus failures, but fewer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M7G 11 February 2020 by jt 100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with this camera, all the settings fantastic and microphone socket an added bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-RX100M7G 05 February 2020 by Kip75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s a good camera but the WiFi transfer of photos to phone is terrible and needs much improvement

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great pocket-able camera with quality results

DSC-RX100M7G 30 January 2020 by brucool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera less than 3 weeks. Great design features built into such a small space, but needs to be easier to adjust the multitude of settings needed to get the best out of the camera. Reviews of previous models made the same complaint! Body needs improving so one can hold it more safely - Sony stick-on grip - on a £1200 camera - No!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

amazing

DSC-RX100M7G 26 January 2020 by 3manxlegs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This compact camera has all the functions a serious photographer needs . Yes the controls are small for big fingers but the menu is extensive . Is an A7 in miniature , the lens is good and sharp with a zoom to 200 mm . An attachment from lensmate in USA for a lens cap and filter which Sony might have included as many photographers like using filters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Photos

DSC-RX100M7G 22 January 2020 by RichardSt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony RX100 VII mainly for its apparent speed and accuracy of focusing, and the quality of the photos. So far, with limited use, I have not been disappointed. The menu system is complicated, but after an initial setting up of the camera, and putting the contols I'm most likely to use on the fn button, I don't see this as too much of an issue. The price has come down a bit but it's still an expensive little camera. For the price I think parts of the body are a bit plasticy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Can’t upload video in MAC and pic not clear

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 21 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hi, I bought this camera for my Europe Trip. It turn up to be v disappointed. The pic taken was not clear. Do not know why? 3 of us hv take turn to use the camera so it could not be all of us do not hv a stable hand. We did focus for every shots. The worst part is that I can’t upload all the video in my Macbook due to Sony do not hv the latest version for uploading the video in macbook. Hoping that Sony will come up the latest version apps for macbook.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

6

0

excellent features

DSC-RX100M7G 20 January 2020 by Knoby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had this little camera about three weeks quite impressed but haven't used it to its full extent yet I havethe Mk3 already and this seemed like a good upgrade to lighten my load

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great images

Body Only 18 January 2020 by Ollie skier (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Traded my Sony HX99 for the RX100VII because the functions are pretty similar except the 700mm zoom. The images are much better especially in lower light! Maybe not as good as the Va would be but I needed more than 70mm zoom for wildlife photos! Very happy with stepping up!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worthwhile Upgrade for Vloggers

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 18 January 2020 by D Scott (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from the V to the VII because of the advanced video and vlogging features. With the optional grip and cold shoe bracket the VII becomes a small and lightweight videomaker's dream travel setup. Lots of new video options too in the menu settings. Best is shooting a single scene for almost 20 minutes without overheated shutdown. Best of all is the new external mic jack. Photo quality and functionality almost identical to the V, so not worth paying extra for stills.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent travel camera

Body Only 18 January 2020 by PChua (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 2 months ago. Great travel camera with 200mm zoom. Light and hence with me most of the time. Autofocus sharp, fast and reliable. Downside too slippery, dropped it once and had to get it repaired. Warranty not covered in this instance. Exposure still on the dark side. Need to tune picture to get correct exposure. Flash quite weak. Low light shots and backlit situation result not up to expectation. Miss my A7r in this instance.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product but let down a little by accessories

DSC-RX100M7G 11 January 2020 by Kevin2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for travelling and hiking. I will always take my DLSR but there are times where the size and weight is impractical. I chose the Sony because it gave me scope to cover wide angle and zoom, it had great features and I can just pop it into my pocket. However, for a product costing over a £1,000 I would have expected the grip to be included. Also, Sony has changed the orientation of their screen so the only way to install the screen protector is upside down so the word Sony appears upside down and back to front (it doesn't look very professional)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Travel Zoom

DSC-RX100M7G 10 January 2020 by Ray101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am primarily a dSLR user but wanted a pocketable camera for hiking and general use. After much research, I settled on the RX100 VII. I wanted a camera with a 1 inch sensor rather than the usual 1/2.3, and a flexible focal length. Whilst the zoom isn't as long as Panasonic's 1 inch sensor TZ200, image quality from the Sony is much better and it also has much faster auto focus. My only gripe is the touch screen. It cannot be used for any of the menu functions. Why include a touch screen, then not use it to the fullest.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

Another advancement technology, external flash nxt

Body Only 06 January 2020 by drken (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera does not compromise on improvements even from rx100-V. Much improvements were needed. I wish the manual was true to Sony's quality, I am laboriously printing at 2up, both sides & bound short left side in enhanced color printing. That is what is needed for those of us that like a printed book, seriously the world is digital but the manual should not only be for the price that I paid. Again not questioning the product its a big imprisonment and so needed but a manual production made large enough to read would be a nice touch even if you needed to charge me $5 more. There is so much that you have included and hunting would never uncover all the features or how to use them. This amount of time already spent 2 days is keeping me from using the camera. And by the way the contents page does not address the page numbers so it is also taking me forever to match up to the printed pages with page numbers. I found the software hard to locate for the remote control and still can't upload thru wifi, still says there is an error. Working on it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera with fast focus !

DSC-RX100M7G 06 January 2020 by Yadu (USA)

I bought this camera from Best Buy soon after it was released. It's a very good camera with fast focusing and very sharp picture quality. Ideal for casual or even serious shooting. Because of it's size, easy to take around. Since I have more Sony cameras, it was very easy for me to get hang of its menu.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Great picks

DSC-RX100M7G 18 December 2019 by Paulzxcvbnm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super flexibility to control the shot... once you have understood the menu structure and programmed the various buttons to allow quicker access to the most used items

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A premium compact camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 17 December 2019 by Birdofprey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Probably the best compact camera on the market today albeit at a premium price.As a fan of the RX100 series having owned mk1 and mk4 and now the 7,it amazes me how Sony manages to improve and add features at each iteration to keep us RX100 fans interested.I fine now I use my DSLR cameras less and less as the RX performs as well and I can have it with me all the time.The reason I upgraded to the 7 on this occasion was the increased focal length and excellent tracking and eye detection this model has which makes such a versatile camera.I'm not finding the lack of built-in ND filter on this model to be to much of a problem as I am learning to adjust camera settings to get round this.As seasoned photographers as myself say ''the best camera to have is the one you have with you'' and because the RX100 is so convenient in its compact size no excuse not have it with you at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent pocket size travel camera

DSC-RX100M7G 02 December 2019 by Cocodog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera when I wanted to travel light but still wanted good image quality and full control. It ticks every box in my experience so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7G 19 November 2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

33

0