199

3.5 based on 199 customer reviews

66
59
24
18
32
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Smart but Woofer needs more punch

HT-CT290 26 January 2019 by Dsony (United Kingdom)

I thought the woofer wasn’t working - could do with more oomph

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Poor quality

HT-CT290 11 June 2019 by Henry John (United Kingdom)

Had this since January 2019 still unable to synch speech with TV and sub woofer is barley audible. Going to contact customer services again to seek advice

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

254 Customer Reviews

0

Piece of junk

htct290-b 09 October 2019 by Dissatisfied1234 (USA)

Subwoofer died after 6 months, don’t waste your time.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful

HTCT290 07 October 2019 by Joe2daE (USA)

Bought this for my partially deaf mother for xmas last year lol. She's happy with it as am i. Coming from a teenage background of loud car audio im not dissatisfied with the sound quality. The subwoofer did stop working recently and it was still under warranty. Sony took care of me and i shipped it out and just got it back fixed. Works like new.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy use

HT-CT290/BM SP1 04 October 2019 by Namkick (Singapore)

I bought few week ago, like the booster Bluetooth feature. No ugly cable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound - but caution!

HTCT290 02 October 2019 by Virtualrider (USA)

Warning!!! This was on sale at Best Buy, sounded good and I bought it. After three weeks the subwoofer wouldn't power on. I searched the web and sure enough, there are many many with the same problem. There is an electronic manufacturing glitch with this subwoofer and they go dead, won't power up. The soundbar continues to work fine. Sony sent me a shipping label to send it for repair and the problem with that is they also want the soundbar even though it works fine. Try to find a package for the long soundbar and subwoofer. Why they need both is beyond me. It was repaired quickly and the company doing the service work is great! Very helpful and followed up with a call after I received it. They said my subwoofer problem was very common. Check Sony issues BEFORE you purchase one.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Basic Soundbar good enough for everyday use

HT-CT290/BM SP1 02 October 2019 by Madman4 (Singapore)

The bass is not that deep but noticeable. The sound is not that clear at low volume.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-CT290/BM SP1 30 September 2019 by Alex roketman (Singapore)

Brought at a reasonable price.. great sound good produ

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality Sound

HT-CT290/BM SP1 09 September 2019  (Singapore)

I bought this sound bar 6 months ago, I am extremely happy with the performance. Its giving me super quality sound with a theater experience along with my SONY BRAVIA 4K TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound

HT-CT290/BM SP1 30 August 2019  (Singapore)

So far I happy with the sound and enjoying it. The best is to blue tooth my music from phone

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for money

HT-CT290/BM SP1 08 August 2019 by Kplow (Singapore)

Brought this on offer by HM @$299. For this price point it is okay. Don't feel the effect of the sub woofer although adjusted to max. I think so as no indicator so not too sure it is max. Seem no difference low or high Generally the overall sound is satisfactory

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Already my speaker doesn't work it's not busted

HTCT290 26 July 2019 by Jnatasha (USA)

I purchased this in March & buy June I had no speaker & still don't have a speaker

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Do not buy

htct290-b 14 July 2019 by Carlos22 (USA)

This product broke down after four months of years do not buy worst decision I’ve ever made

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Sound Bar that meet my Expectation !

HT-CT290/BM SP1 28 June 2019 by henry0267 (Singapore)

Upgraded my TV to a 55” and was recommended & given a good bundle discount on this Sound Bar. So far it has been great except subwoofer is a little “weak”. Beside turning it on for movie viewing, I love connecting it to listen to my music from my mobile device. Easy to manage.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Less than 7 months old and stopped turning on

HTCT290 24 June 2019 by BPPARich1601 (USA)

I purchased this product November 26 and as of June 24 it has stopped turning on completely. My devices are protected by surge protectors, so there is no reason for it to stop working other than a poorly manufactured product. I've always liked Sony products but this one has not lived up to my expectations.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

overall is good but not so clear sound

HT-CT290/BM SP1 14 June 2019 by Ericlinwh (Singapore)

brought it for about a month overall is good not as good as i expected

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great features

HT-CT290 12 June 2019 by Dejerm (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and I am pleased with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Poor quality

HT-CT290 11 June 2019 by Henry John (United Kingdom)

Had this since January 2019 still unable to synch speech with TV and sub woofer is barley audible. Going to contact customer services again to seek advice

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Love Sony but Not this Subwoofer

HTCT290 09 June 2019 by Jazzy55 (USA)

Bought the HT-CT290 Sound bar eleven months ago. Love love the sound quality for the great price. Love Sony products. HOWEVER so disappointed that one night the subwoofer would not power on. Was working perfect six hours prior. Performed all the basic trouble shooting. Yes: Wall outlet works. Checked the power button on the back. No change. Google research shows this is a far too common issue!! Trying to get in touch with Sony now. Have never had to exchange a Sony product in the past. Hopefully they seamlessly rectify this situation. I really need bass in my life!!! Just not the same without it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sound bar works great. However seems to break

htct290-b 26 May 2019 by Abraham1990 (USA)

I bought this Sony soundbar/subwoofer based mainly on my previous experience with other Sony electronics (e.g. cameras / camcorders). It seems that Sony can do photo cameras and camcorders pretty well (I have one camcorder - Digital 8, which is still going after over 12 years), but when it comes to these type of sound devices, at least based on my experience and all the comments I found on the Sony blogs, this subwoofer failing is a common occurrence for this specific device. Some people were only able to have the subwoofer working for a few months. I guess I was lucky to have it working just after the warranty expired ( about 1 year and 2 months )

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Terrible Product

htct290-b 19 May 2019 by inxs900 (USA)

Could not register my soundbar which is in fact SA-CT290 and trying to register it does not have my model number and so put it down as a CT790. Secondly purchased this soundbar at Best Buy thinking it was a quality item, turn out it only lasted six months and now sub woofer will not connect to soundbar. Tried numerous reboots etc and nothing.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good & powerful soundbar but very weak subwoofer.

HT-CT290/BM SP1 09 May 2019 by Bencjm (Singapore)

Bought the soundbar as it was on offer. Soundbar was pretty good, nice vocal and sound. It was poweful as well. The only downside would probably be the subwoofer, even if i set it to the highest, it was so weak and almost non existant. Another minus point would be no gaming mode, only music and movie.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound quality

HT-CT290/BM SP1 08 May 2019 by melody801 (Singapore)

I bought this few weeks ago, great sound quality and connect to wifi is fast.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don’t buy

HTCT290 07 May 2019 by radmont (USA)

Woofer stopped working after 6 months and not with heavy use.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Sub-woofer stopped working after 11 months.

HTCT290 07 May 2019 by TK Hansen (USA)

Tried everything. Troubleshoot in manual is useless.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Sound Woofer Sucks!!!

HT-CT290 26 April 2019 by gab27 (USA)

I bought this a year ago and now the green light/power light doesn't come on .....no power and no sound.....I DON'T RECOMMEND TO BUY THIS!!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

htct290-b 17 April 2019 by JDRB (USA)

GLAD I BOUGHT THIS, GREAT CLEAR SOUND,AND EASY TO HOOK UP

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

HT-CT290/BM SP1 13 April 2019 by Lindt (Singapore)

Been wanting a perfect soundbar.. N yes we've got it!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Subwoofer quit working after 18 months

HT-CT290 11 April 2019 by J Horner (USA)

Sound was decent for the price. I was pleased while it worked. Apparently it's not just wattage that I skimped on, quality too.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

simple unit for small room

HTCT290 28 March 2019 by bampa (USA)

The sound bar was simmple to install once I had all the cables

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Not connect my laptop

HT-CT290 23 March 2019 by shahidi (USA)

i bought this speakers very best sound and i am really enjoying but only one problem that is speakers not connected to my dell laptop core i5 7480 model. anyone suggest me to solved this problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good quality + affordable price

HT-CT290/BM SP1 22 March 2019 by Haifi2002 (Singapore)

Bought tis a t 1 mth ago. Price reasonable ... setup very easy. Sound quality & functionality great. Tq.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money

HT-CT290/BM SP1 22 March 2019 by Jains (Singapore)

I have Samsung tv and old Samsung sound bar - woofer stopped working and then sound bar also after few years.. TV sound was not audible. At Best Denki - the Sales man convinced me and we are enjoying.. hope it works longer than earlier one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

HTCT290 21 March 2019 by Saj87 (USA)

I bought few months before.i am happy with this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

soundbar

HTCT290 21 March 2019 by rome1710 (USA)

great soundbar for the money sub woofer could be better over all good sound for the room its in

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unreliable

HT-CT291 20 March 2019 by Bsnksy (United Kingdom)

I bought this product teo month ago and it is not working properly. Instructions aren't helpful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Excellent Sound

HTCT290 20 March 2019 by Barry1 (USA)

The sound bar projects the sound towards you and is a big step up over just the TV sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Decent Sound bar

HT-CT290/BM SP1 16 March 2019  (Singapore)

Bought a month ago. no mounting required. Just lie it down on any flat surface. Down side is only 1 HDMI input and Subwoofer lack of 'Punch'.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

good TV sound

HTCT290 15 March 2019 by hot pepper marty (USA)

Elevates the sound of the TV from poor to really good without having to involve my home entertainment system. There is a problem with the sound getting out of sync with the video, SONY is aware of this but seems to offer no solution other than cycling power on/off to the soundbar, I expect a better solution than this from SONY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Do not buy

HT-CT290 14 March 2019 by JessT (USA)

I bought this 2 days ago and it now no longer works after cutting the sound out horribly, it has decided to just quit making sound all together. So so so disappointed. Will be returning and buying Samsung.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Poor Durability

HT-CT290 12 March 2019 by FAEFAE (USA)

I bought it about one year ago and the base part broke one week after its warranty expired. Now I have to pay 0.3 the price I purchased it. Did you guys install a timer inside so that it failed perfectly on time? I trusted the reputation of SONY. However the durability is so disappointing.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Poor Durability

HT-CT290 11 March 2019 by jpm9ie8c (USA)

I Bought it one year ago which cost me about 10000NT dollars and the base broke one week after its warranty expired. The engineer said I have to pay 3000NT dollars to repair it. Did they install a counter inside?

1

1

0

Great sound

HT-CT290/BM SP1 06 March 2019 by Jimmy888 (Singapore)

I bought this a week ago and i everyday enjoy the beautiful sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for Money

HT-CT290/BM SP1 04 March 2019 by Fat Man (Singapore)

This soundbar paired perfectly with the Sony TV and meet all my needs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Clear Sound

HTCT290 23 February 2019 by Andy168 (USA)

The sound bar and bass speaker offer a crisp and clear sound. Even at high levels the sound clarity is fantastic. The subwoofer does not have the deepest bass tones, but it is decent for the price. One thing to note is the bluetooth connection will always override the ARC HDMI connection. So if your phone or tablet is near and has the bluetooth signal on it will connect automatically, thus overriding the ARC HDMI connection for TV. Speaker was a breeze to set up and connect to TV. Speakers design is very simple and clean. A nice addition to the room. Absolutely happy with the purchase..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointment

HTCT290 20 February 2019 by CarolDA (USA)

Bought the unit with a Sony tv on 1/20/2018. Had some issues with unit going in and out over the year but thought it was ok. Then approximately 10 days after the 1 years warranty was up the sub-woofer just stopped. Will NOT power on at all. I will not have it repaired BUT will NOT purchase another Sony!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Defective

HTCT290 18 February 2019 by Sadiq0620 (USA)

Bought this soundbar and had it for a few months and out of nowhere the subwoofer stopped coming on. I plugged it out I have done so many troubleshooting and it still dont work. The cost to fix it is almost the same amount that I purchased it for. Dont buy this unit please.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Could not get it connected to TV

HT-CT290/BM SP1 18 February 2019 by Eric Leong (Singapore)

Serious wrong recommendation from Courts Sales, TV and Sound Bar could not link up, Extremely unprofessional sales conduct & ethics

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Value for money

HT-CT290/BM SP1 18 February 2019 by Jhoch (Singapore)

Happy with my purchase, sound great for my bedroom. Highly recommended due to the price & is wireless base hence no messy wiring running around

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noi Sub Woofer connection with sounbar

htct290-b 17 February 2019 by inxs900 (USA)

Purchased this late last year and sound is aweful, sub woofer is not working and will not connect to soundbar

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

I’m satisfied

HT-CT290 10 February 2019 by Nate Dogg (USA)

Got this sounbar about 6 months ago and it is perfect, I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy To Setup

htct290-b 09 February 2019 by daveo1999 (USA)

The product was simple to install and setup. I wanted to get away from having a multitude of speaker wires and this product answered that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Electronics

HT-CT290 04 February 2019 by Star274 (USA)

I just bought this last year and it is excellent gives out great bass Great volume.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not what I expected

HTCT290 04 February 2019 by deaninsavannah (USA)

I purchased this just over a week ago. The subwoofer is not very loud at all, you have to put your ear close to it to hear anything. I found out that I will not be able to control it from my Samsung Remote control. This is very disappointing. I wish I would not have thrown the box out I would have returned it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

1

0

0

Decent Sound Bar

HTCT290 29 January 2019 by Mac22 (USA)

Wanted a better, richer sound out of my great Sony TV. Overall the bar puts out a much better, richer sound than produced by the TV alone but the base speaker is weaker than I anticipated and certainly doesn't rattle the windows in my house. At that it's much better to than what the TV put out on its own. It is also disappointing that the sound bar doesn't have a digital read out display that gives you a read out as to the volume level. The set up is very easy and the instructions lead you through it very quickly. Much easier than they use to be and for a novice like myself, appreciated.One problem I have been unable to solve is the lip synchronization between the picture and the sound bar? Fortunately its not on all the channels but seems to be on the ones I watch the most. All in all its not a bad sound bar for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money soundbar

HT-CT290 27 January 2019 by Gentleman Jim (United Kingdom)

Not had it long but so far so good. It is a vast improvement over the inbuilt speakers of the TV. Good sound and suitably unobtrusive beneath the television. Good value for money and for my simple purposes I can't imagine I would improve on it at twice the price. Controls are relatively straightforward but it will be a while, if ever, before all features are tried out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Prime experience

HT-CT290 27 January 2019 by pabloroberto (USA)

I brought the sound bar for Christmas. The best decision. It’s very easy to set up, and works perfectly with my LG tv, my Apple MacBook and IPad Pro. Just love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smart but Woofer needs more punch

HT-CT290 26 January 2019 by Dsony (United Kingdom)

I thought the woofer wasn’t working - could do with more oomph

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Soundbar

HT-CT291 21 January 2019 by tmc0918 (United Kingdom)

Does not work on new Bravia TV. Fiddly set up and not recognised on hdmi port.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Fantastic

HT-CT290 13 January 2019 by Darrian (United Kingdom)

Really quick and easy setup, sound is clear and crisp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy to set up

HT-CT291 11 January 2019 by powerful (United Kingdom)

Just plug the power lead in and follow the set up guide. No issues and great sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HTCT290 06 January 2019 by Jack crabs (USA)

Was looking at many sound bars and liked this one . Easy set up and Bluetooth works great. More than enough volume for my needs. Crisp sound from bar and subwoofer has good bass sound. Nice remote, one of the main reasons for choosing this model besides the sound is the material has no cloth on it , we have cats , they can’t use it as a scratch board .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good clear sound bar

HT-CT290 31 December 2018 by twizzle2 (United Kingdom)

i purchased this sound bar with subwoofer yesterday and all appearsd to work well. So far I am very satisfied

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Affordable and Good Sound

HT-CT290 29 December 2018 by M Grasso (USA)

Bought this as an after Christmas present for my new smart TV. The subwoofer appears to be very very very low bass and sound. As if it’s hardly connected with the volume on highs if could be better with a subwoofer that put out a little more sound and bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SONY HT-CT290 (Entry Level Sound bar)

htct290-b 29 December 2018 by UnrulyMike (USA)

I bought this as a gift for my dad for Christmas to fix the terrible sound of our 55" Sony Android TV. The SONY HT-CT290 is a great entry level sound bar system if your looking to amplify your TV's sound with good bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0