129

4.0 based on 129 customer reviews

62
32
20
3
12
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA)

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound/footprint; poor software & Bravia Sync

HT-Z9F 07 July 2019 by fjho2000 (USA)

I bought this sound bar with its rear speakers as well as the Sony BDV-S6700 Blu-ray to replace a 3D Sony home theater that stopped working and couldn’t be replaced. I connected the sound bar to my Sony xbr-55x850a Bravia tv. The connection was flawless and the Bravia Sync worked as it should: when I turned the sound bar on, the tv speakers would turn off and vice versa. Then I connected the blu-ray player to the sound bar to its HDMI 1 input and as soon as I turned the sound bar on, the tv displayed a message that the device couldn’t be found and then the tv speakers would remain on while the sound bar was on, creating an echo and I had to manually mute the tv for it to stop. After resetting the sound bar, I connected the blu-ray to the HDMI 2 input, but got the same problem. I factory reset the tv and the sound bar, and same issue with both HDMI inputs. I then factory reset all, and then connected an Apple TV to the sound bar input (all these with the required HDMI cables) and got the same issue, and so far all I get from Sony support is to do factory reset, which doesn’t solve the issue. If these products are from the same company and are Bravia Sync compatible, they should work without issues. Disappointed on that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

129 Customer Reviews

0

not good

HTZ9F 07 August 2020 by ray810 (USA)

unit will work sometime and other time it changes mode by it self.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Love the sound!

HT-Z9F 01 August 2020 by Thanos123 (USA)

Bought it last year and still sounds like new wohoo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good But some Issues

HT-Z9F 31 July 2020 by timstack709 (USA)

I purchased this SB 2 weeks ago from Best Buy. When I first Power on TV (Sony A9G) and Sound bar the Input settings from SB comes on with "TV" not HDMI 1 with my Tivo. I have HDMI cable from sound bar (ARC) to TV (ARC) and the other HDMI input into back of HDMI 1 port with back of TV. Also have a PS3 connected to back of HDMI 2 port of Sound bar. On the TV Inputs I see 3 HDMI inputs connected (ARC, Player 1 & Player ) I tried setting the TV input to say "Player 1" but the next day it goes back to HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC) Is this correct? Should the HDMI Input always be using HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC)? Also Firmware of both TV and SB are up to date.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound..Easy to Use

HT-Z9F//M SP1 31 July 2020 by vincenthah (Singapore)

Bought this 3 weeks ago...And never regret since then...Great sound with good punch of bass..

0

0

0

Great Soundbar

HTZ9F 29 July 2020 by Cham123 (USA)

As with all Sony products, the Soundbar is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Clear sound

HTZ9F 29 July 2020 by Southern Gal (USA)

Bought the sub-woofer to accompany our new Sony Brivia TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features especially the Dolby Atmos!

HT-Z9F//M SP1 22 July 2020 by SGComboKing (Singapore)

I just bought this less than a month ago, very satisfied with the sound quality and effects be it's used for gaming or movies. Simple to use and easy to navigate.

0

0

0

No satisfying bass & wide dynamic range

HT-Z9F//M SP1 16 July 2020 by chew711 (Singapore)

No mid vocal clarity on dialogue Bit disappointing Yamaha soundbar is better

0

0

0

Sound disappears-TV restart needed-Great sound

HTZ9F 14 July 2020 by Areview (USA)

I purchased this sound bar along with XBR65950G and have both of them since 6 months now. The sound is amazing from the sound bar. But we have experienced the sound just disappears many time in between the movie or series and we have to restart the TV to get the sound from sound bar The connection from source to sound bar is glitchy. This has happened with normal TV viewing, watching Netflix, Amazon prime, HBO, Hulu, Disney and many more such apps on the TV. The sound of the sound bar is amazing. But this issue of sound going completely out and needing to restart the TV in the middle is very frustrating. Hope Sony does something about this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Best for Small Living Room Experience

HT-Z9F 10 July 2020 by Ravkar (USA)

Bought this as open box from best buy, hesitate to buy at first, now its one year old, I'm glad my purchase was good.This sounds great, when you turn on vertical surround, sounds way different. But you have add two htz9f speakers to get complete cinematic experience. Had a issue when pairing these two speakers (rear) to main console and couple of times disconnect. After software upgrade seems this issue was fixed. Make sure you followed the guidelines as shown in the TV, for first time setup. If you have a perfect distance btw your main and rear speakers, you will feel the difference. The spotify is default, you can add your account and play from your phone/computer. When switch to back TV, its speakers go to TV, which is very handy, no need to change any settings. Noticed, sound experience is differences in some apps, may be depends on apps that your are using. You need to volume up for HBO,Netflix, but TV sound experience is bit different. Overall decent buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sound cuts out on the unit. known issue

HT-Z9F 09 July 2020 by nate11 (USA)

The soundbar cuts out. Customer service has been less than adequate.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

bar stops putting out sound randomly

HT-Z9F 30 June 2020  (USA)

goes out often through the day changed cable, updates act. been happening shortly after purchase nov 2019 at. Best Buy. this has been a terrible experience. When I use the optical cable the same loss of sound occurs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Cuts off/Subwoofer goes out

HTZ9F 26 June 2020 by ljphas (USA)

Bought during Nov 2019 during Black Friday Deals. Sound is great when it is working. Sometimes at random moments the sound will cut off. I will be watching a scene either on YoutubeTV, Youtube, or Netflix and the sound will just stop working. To manually fix this everytime, I figured out that I have to go into settings, switch the sound on the Speaker setting from Audio System to TV Speakers, and then back to Audio System and then the sound will come back on. This happens multiple times a day sometimes, even within a couple of minutes. Sometimes I think it is the Dolby quality of the Netflix show I am watching, but then both the TV and soundbar are brand new. In addition to that, the subwoofer does not always kick in. I will watch TV, the sound is good, but then the subwoofer kicks in at a random time and I hear the difference. I don't know why that happens either. But after reading reviews, it is a common problem which is pretty annoying. For the price and brand, this should not happen.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Solid Until You add rear speakers!

HT-Z9F 26 June 2020 by 06Dame (USA)

Purchased a few months ago as an upgrade over an older Samsung 2.1 set-up. Big improvement overall. Didn't notice too many issues. Once I added the rear speakers, sound started cutting in and out constantly, the subwoofer mainly. To temporarily fix the issue, you have to toggle RF on or off in the Soundbar menu. Quite an annoyance for such an expensive set-up. Sounds amazing when it works.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Sounds Great, but it mutes on its own at times.

HT-Z9F 24 June 2020 by Sound Bar (USA)

I bought this over a month ago. The sound is really nice. The only issue I have is that the sound bar mutes on its own. I then have to un-mute it by using the remote of the sound bar. Anyone knows how to fix this issue, other than a factory reset?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Always Sony

HT-Z9F 09 June 2020 by JBHII (USA)

Have had this for 1 month and am very satisfied. Works perfectly with new TV. Excellent sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Good Soundbar in a Nice Size Package

HT-Z9F 01 June 2020 by Jbirdnyc (USA)

The HTZ9F is a nice sleek design perfect for on the wall or on the table next to your TV. The slightly smaller bar size at 40" (many bars are 42-50") and my cabinet is 41" was a perfect match. Along with two HDMI inputs where the main reasons I bought this model. Although it would have been perfect if there was a 3rd HDMI input. The sound quality is good although I wish it delivered a better mid-range. Sometime the voice is hard to hear. The base is more than I could every need. I have the Bar connect to my router via ethernet cord. Plugged into the Bars HMDI is my 4k Roku and Bluray. Then I connect the Bar to my TV. Which was manufactured before HMDI ARC. The remote is Over all it performs well and delivers good quality sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great sound.

HTZ9F 25 May 2020 by AlexS33 (USA)

Just bought this item today, and the sound is phenomenal. Can't wait to purchase more sony speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great Sound in Small Package

HT-Z9F 05 May 2020 by bran88 (USA)

I've had this soundbar/subwoofer pair for almost a year now, and have had zero issues with it. The 4K passthrough for my Ultra-HD Blu-ray player has worked flawlessly and sound quality is amazing. When watching a 4K movie with a decent audio mix, it will blow you away (Bladerunner 2049 is best example). The customization of audio settings is really nice to fine-tune how you want the sound. I do not have the optional rear speakers, but sound immersion is no issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Terrible

HTZ9F 24 April 2020 by LStep0418 (USA)

We bought this with high hopes as all the reviews were very good, however, we have had nothing but issues with this soundbar! The sound constantly cuts out throughout every show/movie we watch. We have tried troubleshooting every option and still nothing is working! I'm extremely disappointed in this product, it was definitely not worth the $900!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

It’s a mess all around

HT-Z9F 22 April 2020 by EmanuelM (USA)

Neither the Chromecast nor the Spotify feature work on this unit. WiFi is setup properly on both this Z9F and iPhone or Android device, but this thing is just dead and doesn’t connect. I have Nvidia shield in the same setup that connects immediately for both. The BT sound from my phone with 320kbs quality is extremely disappointing. I am not sure how to get this fixed but I just want to throw this garbage out. Restarts, resets, changing network was tried and nothing works.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Sounds great when it works

HTZ9F 19 April 2020 by Cjnords (USA)

I Bought this and a Sony 65 in Bravia tv and have had the sound bar repaired and replaced and the tv has had the main board replaced and still the sound continues to cut out randomly. Seems like it’s a known issue. I Won’t buy a Sony product again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

0

Love this... but

HT-Z9F 16 April 2020 by Rjensen (USA)

Great sound and love with bluray and 4k dvd’s!! Since I started more streaming though, the sound drops except for sub.? I then have to switch sound mode to get the sound back. Its very random, sometimes only once and sometimes alot. Recently added a fiber optic connection but that didn’t seem to help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

0

Sounded great in store only to hear about flaws .

HTZ9F 14 April 2020 by PaBigmo (USA)

Purchased a few weeks ago sounded great in store but during installation,Geek Squad said there was problems with using the hdmi cable because of issues so they used an optic cable.said Sony needs firmware update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

0

Full 4K HDR capabilities

HT-Z9F 13 April 2020 by Aeurelius2020 (USA)

I've own my XBR900F for some time now. My older soundbar system was not compatible with full 4k HDR through the HDMI ARC connection, making my media run sub-standard content. Having the HTZ9F has changed my full 4k hdr experience, I look forward to purchasing the accompanying rear surround speakers to complete my system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Great sound

HTZ9F 06 April 2020 by N2scbaff (USA)

Got this a month ago and would highly recommend it with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Sony Has Outdone Themselves Again!

HTZ9F 01 April 2020 by Lainiie (USA)

I am so impressed with the Sony HT-Z9F 3.1 Ch. Dolby Atmos® DTS:X™ Wireless Soundbar. Sony has always been a brand I trust when it comes to quality products and they have once again shown me why I always go back to them for electronic purchases. This soundbar is better than what I imagined. The setup was very easy and took hardly anytime at all. Just a few plug ins here and there and I was ready to go. I only needed to review the manual once or twice, because I have a 8K Smart tv and needed to do a few extra settings to make sure everything synched correctly. My tv is a 75 inch and I needed a really good soundbar that would provide amazing sound quality for such a large television. This soundbar definitely made that happen. The look is the soundbar is simple and sleep and looks great against my full entertainment system. I do have to use two remotes to control the tv and soundbar separately, but that really isn’t an issue. In the beginning I did gave problems with the subwoofer cutting out just during movies. It would happen 2-3 times and for only a few seconds. I even moved the subwoofer to the back of the room to provide a larger space for sound, but it still continued with the cutting out. After a little research and digging I found that this was a common issue with a simple reset fix. After resetting the soundbar I have not noticed it cutting out anymore. Everything is perfect and I couldn’t have asked for a better sound quality! I would definitely recommend it!

1

6

0

Good sound but poor connections

HT-Z9F 19 March 2020 by David in Illinois (USA)

The sound is very good and I like this bar more than any I have had previously. The main problem I, and others, have found is the connection to rear speakers and the subwoofer. Unfortunately, the system drops connection to the wireless speakers a lot and it makes enjoyment difficult. The only remedy is to daily turn the RF signal off and then back on. It's pretty silly and should be remedied. However, tech support from Sony has been frustrating and unhelpful. Other than this problem, I would get the system - just know that according to your environment, you may have to deal with this issue. There are sound system websites that have discussions on this issue and can provide you some information if it occurs with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

8

0

Seamless Sound

HTZ9F 16 March 2020 by jcgoyanes (USA)

My new Sony HT-Z9F system was a breeze to setup, especially with my Sony TV. The setup was seamless and the design is very minimalistic. The sound quality is superb for my game room and the kids enjoyed the sound effects from Lion King on it. All in all great design and not bulky.

0

7

0

Amazing

HT-Z9F//M SP1 12 March 2020 by Madhan (Singapore)

I loved the sound when I first saw this in a store and then bought it a week later. The sound is so awesome that I am listening to more music these days. Even better when watching movies. A bit expensive but worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Sony HT-Z9F

HTZ9F 10 March 2020 by rws2285 (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F was incredibly simple to setup and get running. It took me longer to pull out my old receiver and 5.1 speaker setup than it did to unbox the Sony and start watching a movie. The sound was pretty impressive for a soundbar, and even slightly better than my previous 3 year old, mid-range 5.1 speaker setup with a dedicated Dolby Atmos receiver.

0

7

0

Good but I expected better

HT-Z9F 09 March 2020 by Disappointed Sony Fan (USA)

I've had the HT-Z9F and the SA-Z9R rear surrounds about 6 months now and bought it to replace a HT-NT3 that was beginning to have problems when changing input from streaming Netflix back to the cable box. For the price of the sound bar with the rear surrounds, which should be included with the Z9F since its the only bar they can be paired with, I don't believe Sony gave me what I paid for. It has the latest technology with eARC, 4K HDR, the newer Dolby formats, Hi Res Audio, the ability to fine tune for each speaker distance and control the volume of the main bar, sub and surrounds independently and so on. I would give it 5 stars for all of this but the actual sound just isn't worthy of 5 stars, not to mention the Dolby Atmos reproduction leaves a lot to be desired. I read reviews, researched and listened to the in-store demo's prior to purchasing so I had a decent idea of what I was getting but I've been left disappointed with the end result of the sound that I hear in my home. I'm a Sony fan and have bought Sony products for the last 20 years and will continue to do so even though the Z9F hasn't met my expectations. I have the Z9F paired with a XBR830C TV but intend to move it to the bedroom and purchase the XBR950H when it becomes available in the near future and honestly, I was hoping Sony would introduce an upgrade to the Z9F for 2020 but it appears they will not. The older NT3 provided a fuller, richer overall sound than the Z9F. The slightly larger mid's with independent tweeters provide a cleaner, sharper sound then the single 2" cones used in the Z9F. I really believe this sound bar could make a significant step forward if it had 3 of the 2 way speakers used in the NT3 and the ST5000. Bottom line, if Sony had put the attention into the speakers they used for this bar as they did making sure it had the current, up to date technology and the latest set of features, they may have produced a top of the line sound bar whose sound actually matched the feature set that they built into the unit. Unfortunately, I don't believe the sound produced matches all the features this unit has.....especially when the rear surrounds have to be purchased separately. It has a premium price tag for a little above average sound quality. Sony, please take the Z9F package and upgrade the speakers used in the main bar and you may just hit the mark for the audience the unit is intended for.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Good but bad

HTZ9F 06 March 2020 by svenergy (USA)

The speaker when it works is a top notch speaker, but the bluethooth cuts out a lot and have to always go in and switch from auto to manual it is very annoying. Wish there was a way to fix that. It works for a day or so then it starts to cut out again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

great sound

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by Edward55 (USA)

This product was easy to install and sounds great. Glad we decided to purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Love the Sound!!

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by alicia124 (USA)

I recently purchased this soundbar and I must say it is outstanding. The sound quality coming out directly in front of the tv versus having separate speakers and a receiver makes it simple and the sound so clear. We also enjoyed karaoke and having the sound coming out with separate karaoke speakers improves the fun and quality using it. The movie sound is just like being in a theater, I am quite pleased with this soundbar. We look forward to movie nights with the family, experiencing the effects of actually being in a theater, but enjoying in the comfort of your home.

0

3

0

Excellent Soundbar

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by Jlm80 (USA)

This soundbar puts out great sound and looks wonderful on our mantle. Setup up was easy as we followed the simple instructions to connect the soundbar to our TV. The sound is clear and the surround speakers add a great theater like quality. We watch TV and listen to music pretty much every day, this soundbar makes our experience outstanding.

0

1

0

Dolby Atmos With Just 2 Separate Speakers

HTZ9F 05 March 2020  (USA)

When I first read that this speaker has Dolby Atmos in just a sound bar I was a little apprehensive. When I set it up, cranked up the volume and played some Dolby Atmos videos, I was thoroughly impressed. Now I don't want to say that it's as good as a full surround system with ceiling speakers but for someone who just wants amazing sounding audio without the added cost of an entire sound system, this is certainly the sound bar for them. A week after my purchase I also purchased the rear speakers and those definitely completed the package but are by no means mandatory for great sound. I highly recommend this sound bar to anyone looking for a sound bar that can get close to the sound of a full system.

1

0

0

Truly awesome sound quality

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by contactmanish (USA)

I am totally impressed by the sound quality of this sound bar. The 3.1 channel output gives a top notch sound giving an immersive TV watching experience .The sound bar is easy to setup and use. The bluetooth setup was also very easy. I tried the sound bar in different sound mode ( Movie, music and others) and the sound quality is very impressive. Totally recommend this soundbar to anyone looking for theater like sound quality at home.

0

0

0

Awesome Sound

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by cyber99cobra (USA)

This thing is amazing! The sound quality is unmatched and the connectivity just makes things so much easier. We had been using the television speakers and when we installed this soundbar we were blown away at the difference. We are no longer backing up scenes to try and hear what is said because the voice feature that this has makes talking much clearer, not to mention everything louder and clearer overall. I don't know that we could ever go back to not having external sound again after this. It also is a beautiful peace that just compliments our setup. Absolutely love this soundbar and now we are already talking about getting the rear speakers just to add to it.

0

0

0

Great Soundbar!!

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by kacherry25 (USA)

Wow what a great sound bar! From the moment it arrived we were so excited to try it out in our basement. It was super easy to set up and didn’t take more than 30 minutes from start to finish. Once we had it set up we tried watching a movie to hear the sound quality. It was awesome and honestly felt like being in a movie theater! We then listened to music and it was just as impressive. You can certainly tell the difference between something of this quality and Wonderful brand. This sound bar really completes our basement, and I am so happy we got it!

0

0

0

Amazing Sound with Lots of Features

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by amersonmd (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F is an amazing device! From receiving the box to watching a movie while listing with the sound bar took about 45 minutes. Instructions were clear and concise and having the wall mounting template made the install process much easier. The ability to pair speakers wirelessly made the install of the sub-woofer a breeze. Once installed the onscreen menus for the sound bar and set up process were great. Having the option to auto power on the unit when my TV is turned on was a welcome surprise. The sound is immersive and the base is deeper and rounder than I expected. I'm still playing with the Chromecast and Bluetooth music streaming. So far being able to access my Spotify has been amazing. I punch a couple quick buttons on my phone and I' rocking out to my playlist. Pros: Quick set up Seamless integration with my TV Ability to stream my Spotify account Overall sound quality Cons: Yet to find any I would happily recommend this to anyone looking for great sound quality and ease of use.

0

0

0

Next best sound compared to the movie theater.

HTZ9F 03 March 2020 by Sugarmedic23 (USA)

Sony products are all amazing and this one just sealed the deal. I love that it has different modes. Each sound excellent. It pairs well with my Samsung tv also. My favorite feature is that it is wireless. Easy to set up. Great product. Have already recommended to all my family and friends. Thank you Sony and Insiders!

0

0

0

Great product and best to compliment Sony TV

HT-Z9F//M SP1 01 March 2020 by Doshi (Singapore)

Great product and best to compliment Sony Android TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Soundbar for Flats

HT-Z9F 26 February 2020 by Chottu (USA)

I bought it two months back and I am happy with it as it delivers great sound but the left speaker alone crackles when there is more treble or base. It’s very disturbing in the middle of an action scene or music. I tried reducing the db level to -4 And keeping the volume below 25 so it’s less. Kindly help. Is it a defect Piece or it’s common ? I had been to the “Extra Stores” again,That’s where I bought it from and checked another piece but it also had the same issue. Please help.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

immersive awesome sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 21 February 2020 by gputt (Singapore)

sound quality is very good. one thing that can be improve will be the wireless connection between the sound bar and the woofer. it keeps getting disconnected even though i turn on the RF. I need to manually set it up everytime it disconnects. pretty frustrating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Intermittent connectivity issues

HT-Z9F//M SP1 20 February 2020 by Sk1234 (Singapore)

Keep losing connections with the tv. Intermittent issues.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Okay bar

HT-Z9F 18 February 2020 by aakar (USA)

Have this with the x-tension speakers, sound quality depends on source (doesn't it always) if you watch TV shows, you may forget it is on, but comes alive with movies and sports (motorsports are stunning). biggest complaint is lack of tone controls and rear speakers not playing loud enough @ full volume setting.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony Sound Bar

HTZ9F 16 February 2020 by Gera23 (USA)

Bought this to go with our Sony TV. Works and sounds great. Easy to use. Gives you surround sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Different sound channels

HTZ9F 09 February 2020 by william86 (USA)

I brought the soundbar from Best Buy this past December and it better than the Samsung N-650 soundbar, that I purchased in August 2018.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Superb sound technology

HT-Z9F//M SP1 29 January 2020 by Dunbuybose (Singapore)

Sony HT-Z9F soundbar cost less than the Bose soundtouch 30 but sound even more superior than Bose. Sony soundbar power and connect is almost immediate not like Bose that I really gave up hope, can’t power up and lost Bluetooth connection at times. Sony Vertical surround technology is so advance and sounds is so much fuller and richer. No regret at all for buying especially with the big discount during Sony festival!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome sound

HTZ9F 26 January 2020 by Dlbb (USA)

I purchased this soundbar with my new x950 tv because of the discount you could get and the salesman demonstrated the differences of each one and this hit the mark for me, when I got everything out and connected it was even better than in the store, and I also purchased the two rear wireless surround sound speakers and these took it to another level the sound is crisp and clear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Awesome sound

HTZ9F 25 January 2020 by Doreen214 (USA)

I got this for Christmas to go with my tv and it just elevate the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Nice Unit could use Equalizer

HT-Z9F 23 January 2020 by Vic_likes_Sony (USA)

I purchased this unit on New Years eve together with a new Sony 65inch and needed something to enhance the sound. Its a very nice sound bar but I must agree with a few of the comments made on this post. An Equalizer is absolutely needed. It would address a few of the comments posted here an some I read elsewhere on the web stating the unit didn't produce enough base. An EQ would allow them to adjust sound to their liking and should be something relatively easy to deliver through a software upgrade.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Disappointed in sound.

HT-Z9F//M SP1 21 January 2020 by Sony hardcore (Singapore)

No atmos feel n disappointed in sound quality of sound bar

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Sound

HT-Z9F 28 December 2019 by Billyxox (USA)

I purchased this unit 11 months ago, so have had a solid experience with this unit. As with other comments, Sony could add treble and bass controls... that is my only advice. This system sounds great especially with NetFlix atmos content. I highly advise buying the additional 2 rear speakers as it will then fill the room with sound separation. Finally there have been comments about losing speaker connections. The simplistic fix is: 1) unplug the unit for 30 seconds, 2) replug while depressing and holding the (-) negative button on the console. 3) Then hit the on button while holding down the - button. As it powers up the word "reset" appears and all speakers will work again. In conclusion I love this unit and have received many compliments.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Great buy

HTZ9F 28 December 2019 by Eastonac (USA)

Nice sound bar great features quality again from Sony. Priced a bit high but worth it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Wireless subwoofer constantly cuts out

HT-Z9F 24 December 2019 by td57 (USA)

Worked for a while then started cutting out. Reset system, moved subwoofer, it works for a while then starts cutting out again. I have seen many comments online from people having the same issue.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

0

Good Sound

HTZ9F 20 December 2019 by Golf Guy (USA)

I bought this sound bar a few weeks ago as part of a package deal with a Sony TV. There was a substantial discount for purchasing them at the same time. When I first hooked it up, I had the cable box and Blu Ray player connected to the TV and then connected the TV to the sound bar. The sound was not in sync with the people talking. I went back to the store and was advised to buy a higher quality HDMI cable than the one provided with the sound bar and also to connect the cable box and Blu Ray player directly to the sound bar. That resolved the problem. Works great but Sony could have supplied a better HDMI cable for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Very good sound, but seems to have some bugs

HTZ9F 02 December 2019 by Duntzman (USA)

I bought this 2 months ago. The sound is very good, but so far every few weeks I have had to factor reset due to issues. First it kept dropping connection with the sub, but was fine after a reset. A few weeks later it started randomly dropping all sound for a second every 15 mins or so. Again a reset seemed to fix it, for now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

great features

HTZ9F 01 December 2019 by talltex (USA)

I recently purchased this soundbar after getting my new tv. Sound quality coming out directly in front of the tv versus having separate speakers and a receiver makes it simple. I also enjoy karaoke and having the sound coming out with separate karaoke speakers improves the fun and quality using it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

MAKE A SOUND SOUND WITH EVERY DEVICE...

HTZ9F 01 December 2019 by R WE SET FOR VIEWING (USA)

The sound is so pour and great when it hooked up with every device nice and clear and sharp you can't go wrong with this Soundbar model. Especially when you can easily find the blue Tooth to connection. This is a great unit so you should get one too...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

No more CC's !!!

HT-Z9F 10 November 2019 by AlexP712 (USA)

First of all this is a very high quality device. It is beautifully made it like what you expect from a Bentley. Setup was seamless and I literally had to do nothing but plug it in. The subwoofer was automatically paired before I could even find the manual page on the topic. My test BD is the Eagles Farewell tour concert in Australia. I very demanding disc since the recording quality is so good. It sounded so good my wife and I sat down and listened to the entire concert - even though she had other things to do at the time. Next, I put in Spectre. I had the sound low and she was in the other room, She came out and said "That is so clear" Lately, we seemed to have to watch movies with the CC turned on, maybe a little age thing going on here, but these days movies and shows tend to deemphasize the dialog tracks or that dialog gets lost in the other sounds on the movie. Not so with this soundbar. It has the smoothest and most precise sound I have ever heard, easily cinema-quality or better. Plus with this, we can listen at more moderate volume levels and not miss a thing that is said. There is a "voice up" function that helps with the dialog but with this, you don't even need it. The overall sound is an airy openness that I find very pleasing. The bass is tight, on the Eagles disc I could practically count the cycles on the low end. I experimented with the different sound settings but honestly "Standard" sounds the best to me whether movies or music. Last night we re-watched The Bourne Legacy with no CC's first time in a long time. Later I think I will invest in the rear speakers, but it is hard to imagine how the experience can get much better. As we were watching my wife said she thought she heard something in the bedroom! It was in the movie! After she went to bed I watched Spectre again n "Night" mode. This evidently compresses the dynamic range where you keep the sound down at lower levels and not miss any dialog and also avoid rattling the windows. I could not be more pleased and this soundbar is worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Sub cuts out constantly

HT-Z9F 03 November 2019 by Desperado2583 (USA)

For nearly a year, I've tried every fix I can find online. Moved the sub as close to the sound bar as it can possibly be. Still sound cuts in and out several times per minute. Makes movie unwatchable or game unplayable. End up finally shutting it off in frustration every time. Wouldn't want it if it were free.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Upgrade from 2015 system.

HTZ9F 29 October 2019 by Moomba (USA)

Perceptible improvement over older system. Designed to work with specific Tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What A Surprise

HTZ9F 06 October 2019 by gclarkins (USA)

This sound bar was purchased because on a recommendation from a Sony Rep working in the store where it was purchased. I was hesitant to purchase this sound bar at first but, its totally blown away my expectations on sound and build quality. This unit was easy to set up and use. It absolutely rocks the room with stunning sound from high's too low's. Previously I had always perceived Sony products as low end or cheap quality. I can tell you that today Sony has changed my mind about them starting with this sound bar. I think I'm going to be purchasing more Sony products in the future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good and can be better

HT-Z9F//M SP1 03 October 2019 by bsc8 (Singapore)

Good product with good features. I hope the making dialogs sound better can be louder. I still cannot hear some movies voice dialog even at setting 2. I hope there will be a new software update to improve this.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent sound quality

HT-Z9F//M SP1 27 September 2019 by Baineteo (Singapore)

Love the Sound quality for this sound bar. The speaker grille however is too flimsy and falls off too easily. My unit also arrived with a line of dead pixel. QC is poor.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound immersion!

HTZ9F 08 September 2019 by Big TexEman (USA)

I’ve had surround sound before, but this system is fantastic. It’s so good I had to buy some old war movies with big helicopters roaring to re-experience that good old cinema feeling. Do get the rear speakers as well for the complete effect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-Z9F 08 September 2019 by Mackel (USA)

Have had for about 6 months. Great sounds especially with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

No trebles

HT-Z9F 08 September 2019 by AudioGuy2000 (USA)

I got this soundbar along with rear speakers. Trebles are non-existent. Hi hat sounds more like ch-ch-ch instead of ts-ts-ts. A simple software equalizer would correct that and I hope Sony could roll it out as a firmware update. You can raise upper-mids by pressing “Voice” button twice to set it to “up 2”. It helps somewhat but it is no replacement for a proper equalizer. Lows are no problem. You have a dedicated subwoofer volume rocker on the remote. After paying a thousand dollars for an audio system I am upset that I don’t have complete control of the output. Presets are great, but they can’t cover every use case. I have faith in Sony engineering and my house is filled with Sony gear for a reason. I believe that we are going to see equalizer - a basic feature found on even the cheapest sound bars in the next software update. Dear Sony, I hope you are listening.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great bar

HT-Z9F 07 September 2019 by fcabalm (USA)

Excellent bar for enjoying Dolby ATMOS and DTS X I enjoy this along with my Xbox one X and a Samsung Smart TV and the Z9R surround speakers It is almost perfect except for the fact that when playing music you cannot hear it in the surround speakers and finally the ATMOS is little or at least I have not been able to configure the bar to enjoy the inmersive sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Troubleshoot Sync Issue

HT-Z9F 05 September 2019 by Blst (USA)

I see many uses are experiencing occasional sync disconnects, and this is one of the biggest concerns when buying this soundbar. I tired many solutions for hours and hours and found that TURNING OFF RF channel in the advanced option (attached pic) almost always fixes it. While RF channel option is provided to secure stable connectivity, ironically it seems to cause this issue. Wish Sony can update firmware and to solve it in the future. Otherwise, with rear speakers, this soundbar not only has an excellent sound quality among other soundbars but also gives nice integration with other Sony devices when used together. My wish list includes a control of equalizer but not a major issue. Menu is simple but not intuitive. Display of video and sound source format. Optimization tool to configure distance of speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0