352

2.9 based on 352 customer reviews

66
66
67
59
94
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Dual headphone activation during a Cell Call

WF-1000X 03 November 2017 by Andrew0025 (USA)

I got the earpieces and the sound is awesome. So is the noise canceling? However, A big issue is fat that only the left ear operates when making a call. Major drawback. How will you fix this?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Please fix it

WF-1000X 07 December 2017 by Tommacgr (USA)

After latest update no ones can hear my voice clear in calls . Noise reduction also disappears. What are you doing SONY ?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

0

352 Customer Reviews

0

Great quality

WF-1000X 15 July 2019 by Scooter68 (United Kingdom)

Bought these two weeks ago and absolutely love them great noise cancelling and sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Left ear piece is not charging

WF-1000X 11 July 2019 by Hasoni (United Kingdom)

Got it as a gift a while ago, now ur stopped worki=

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Keeps dropping out no matter what I am doing!

WF-1000X 11 July 2019 by Binome169 (United Kingdom)

Since I bought this item I have had nothing but problems with the sound dropping out between both earbuds... I have followed all the on line solutions that others have tried and so many have failed but none of them work and it’s getting ridiculous the sound drops out nearly every minute while I’m walking around shops or walking home and still drops out even when I’m sat down just not as often but definitely every 5 minutes or so... it’s so infuriating I’ve spent more time trying to solve the problem with online searching and then trying those results then I have done actually listening to my music..., I have had a few Sony wireless earphones which have all been brilliant this is my first Sony earbuds and I really wish I hadn’t wasted my money... I expect so much better from Sony ..

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Has never worked. Faulty on arrival

WF-1000X 08 July 2019 by UnhappyRay (United Kingdom)

faulty on arrival but since the box wasn't opened until after the warranty has expired I shall never be able to use it. I think to only offer a 12 month warranty on a product like this is very poor.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Rubbish

WF-1000X 27 June 2019 by Joste (United Kingdom)

Had these approximately 6 weeks and have had nothing but trouble connecting to Bluetooth. Seems as though they have a mind of their own when they want to connect. First two quite good but since as above. Furthermore volume is inadequate compared to others I have had. My advice is to look further than these.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Disappointed

WF-1000X 27 June 2019 by Jaded (United Kingdom)

I have owned this headset for one year and 1 month, I now have the red flashing light of doom on the left ear bud rendering the product unusable. I am very disappointed with a product who’s manufacturer prides itself on quality producing an item that lasts just past it’s warranty period. I did purchase an MP3 player years ago which did manage to fail within the warranty period so was able to obtain a refund and replace with another manufacturers product which works to this day. To coin a phrase ‘once bitten twice shy’, another customer lost.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Finally some top notch wireless buds!

WF-1000X 25 June 2019 by Brian2k (United Kingdom)

Ive been using wireless in ears for a while of varying price, including the air pods and my experiences havent been great with any of them. These Sonys tick all the boxes, comfortable, noice reducing, super quality and a good handsfree for phone and mac.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good apart from the drop outs

WF-1000X 21 June 2019 by Dean2106 (United Kingdom)

Had these for just over a week cant fault the sound quality, only niggle is the rh one keeps dropping out. Had a look online and see im not the only one... updated the software as suggested but still random drop outs even with my phone in direct sight with nothing in way. If things dont improve they will be going back for a refund. For somthing as expensive as this £179 I would expect this to be working all the time not just when it wants.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X 13 June 2019 by JSMTR7 (United Kingdom)

Music is reproduced superbly, shame that the noise cancelling isn't quite so good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

£180 and never worked properly

WF-1000X 09 June 2019 by Vegas123 (United Kingdom)

I bought these in ear headphones April 2018 with idea I would use them in the gym. Unfortunately due to a Heart attack I didn’t start using them till September 2018. At first I thought they had good sound but Sony had exaggerated the time you could use them for as I found mine only ran for about 1 and half hours so 3 in total with the case. Today as usual I went to gym and fully depleted the charge, but on return home the left ear piece would not charge at all. After multiple tries I have given up as the left one has had it. Obviously that’s the end of both because you can’t use right without left. Spending £180 on these I feel totally let down as they didn’t even last a year but are now out of guarantee. Not the quality I would expect to get from buying Sony products regularly over the years .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Noise cancel

WF-1000X 08 June 2019 by C Anderson (USA)

I went through 2 pair of these the noise canceling quit working on both pair. I got a pair of Bose no problems with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

sleek design

WF-1000X 08 June 2019 by ursimplythebest (United Kingdom)

Purchased my new headphones because off the new improvements in technology. There compact and comfortable. The sound quality is enjoyable, also the reception for phone comms is also good. The setup was not to troublesome as i had read the reviews. Love the charger compartment.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Just doesn't work properly

WF-1000X 04 June 2019 by michaelb01 (United Kingdom)

Great specs and when you are indoors in a very stable environment, these are great. But set foot outside and they are an epic fail; the right ear drops out all of the time and the left ear drops out occasionally too. Just cannot use them outside / on a train / in a noisy environment.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Pleasurable listening and convenience

WF-1000X 28 May 2019 by NigeFB (United Kingdom)

Very happy so far some glitchy issues occasionally but overall good balanced sound and the battery life is fine considering the noise reduction. I'm listening to my music more on public transport largely because of these headphones down to ease of use and wireless features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, comfortable and easy to use

WF-1000X 25 May 2019 by DavieV (United Kingdom)

After several attempts at using other products I settled for the 1000X. The sound quality is excellent with options of, noise cancelling, ambient sound, or standard. They are easy to set up and use, and if using the Sony headphones app, can tailored to suite your individual needs. One concern (which is easily rectified) is that the right ear bud does not alway link in. The left bud works fine and connects to my source straight away, but sometimes it takes several attempts of turning on/off of the right earpiece before it connects. Sometimes frustrations. Overall. Happy with the

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awful Product

WF-1000X 24 May 2019 by Pcohmark (USA)

I bought this around a year and a half ago and I am sick and tired of the Bluetooth not working. I like the sound quality, but the trouble I have gone to just to try to use these earbuds is extensive. I would like to warn anyone considering to buy this product to stay away!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Good value & easy to use

WF-1000X 22 May 2019 by Grant14me (United Kingdom)

Am pleased with the headphones but some connectivity problems. The signal does drop out from time to time despite adjusting settings to avoid this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery does not last. Bad connection.

WF-1000X 21 May 2019 by jackie2700 (USA)

The battery does not last more than an hour on music playback. I have only used them occasionally in the last couple of months. They don't do so well on calls either. Signal drops or it's choppy.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Horrible connection and video lag

WF-1000X 17 May 2019 by MrBond (USA)

I want to like these headphones but I’ve had nothing but problems with them since day one. For the first 2 weeks the volume wouldn’t go higher than a whisper until a new software update came out. They struggle to connect to each other and now the right one won’t connect at all unless I reset them a few times and then it intermittently cuts out all the time. The worst part about them is that they lag at least half a second behind any video I try to watch. Every movie seems like an old school Godzilla movie with how bad it lags. The sound quality is good and they are comfortable. So they’re perfect if you’re looking for expensive earbuds that you only want to use at the gym.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound

WF-1000X/BM E 17 May 2019 by AceBen (Singapore)

Noise canceling is awesome, good sound. Enjoy using the SONY ear phones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Sound quality good, comfort & connection lacking

WF-1000X 15 May 2019 by Bigrig (United Kingdom)

Lots of options for did quality, if you stay connected. If wind blows or I turned head doing yard work, disconnected. My ears hurt after wearing one day. Very poor cartoon instructions. I like don't but they failed this time.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good value for money, but expect some issues

WF-1000X 14 May 2019 by ellie222 (United Kingdom)

I bought the headphones 2 weeks ago. I am very happy with the sound. The only issue that keeps occuring is that one of the headphones repeatedly disconnects which can become annoying

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Troublesome

WF-1000X 11 May 2019 by Sumbu1 (USA)

The case is too big to fit in the pocket, earphone is too big, unbalanced in ears, falls off easily. Have to work too hard to connect to any devices. iOS/Android. Battery life, short! Very short! Case batter, okay. Only thing I liked about this earphones is the noice cancellation. That’s it!!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

better than air pods

WF-1000X 10 May 2019 by airpodssuck135 (USA)

better that air pods and have really good bass and noise cancellation

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Overall Fine - however, a little niggle

WF-1000X 09 May 2019 by nuttyanorak (United Kingdom)

Bought these recently. I had read reviews mentioning the "dropping" of Bluetooth in the right earphone. It helps if you update to most recent firmware and set them to be stable rather than best for music. Still a little dropping but not very often. Would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Outstanding Headphones

WF-1000X 03 May 2019 by ChrisD27 (USA)

The release of 1000X came in just in time as I was researching the market for a pair of true wireless in-ear headphones for quick use, not necessarily noise-canceling. After hours of research, especially on what the competition has to offer, and upon trying out several models I concluded that Sony is the winner. My personal and main focus was on audio quality. Sure, other models fit better in your ear (especially the sport dedicated ones) and battery life might not be their strongest point, but when it comes to crystal clear audio experience, they deliver flawlessly. They are best buy for this price range.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Worst earphones I had ever owned.

WF-1000X/BM E 03 May 2019 by CHOY3168 (Singapore)

Always intermittently sounding. Sometimes cannot the right earpiece. Very disappointed versus my last noise cancelling wired from Sony

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

great product

WF-1000X 02 May 2019 by 010847 (United Kingdom)

great item works well good sound easy to use stylish

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Perfect for anxiety sufferers

WF-1000X 01 May 2019 by Laverticus (United Kingdom)

Got this a a birthday gift. They are perfect for me as I suffer from severe anxiety brought on by outside noise and people. These block out 90% of that noise without any music playing! Would highly recommend to anyone who suffers like me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Just need a longer battery life.

WF-1000X 26 April 2019 by DLanning83 (USA)

I have bought these the Sony WF1000X about four months ago and they definitely deliver on what Sony says they will do but there can be connectivity problems sometimes which is the reason for the four stars, great product and almost perfect, updating my new firmware right now so if that fixes the connectivity problem i have experienced over the last month I will change my review. Are they worth $200 yes I would say they are..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it

WF-1000X 20 April 2019 by Nadavi (USA)

Love it, comfortable, amazing sound. You’re getting the full Sony experience

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible Wireless Connection - Sometimes screeches

WF-1000X 18 April 2019 by Justus13 (USA)

I bought these headphones 2 years ago and about a month in noticed consistent connectivity issues. This ranged from the right headphone muting out, to popping noises, to flat out loud screeching that was deafening to the ears. It also can be difficult to charge the headphones when compared to some other competing products that have magnetic charging. Originally I bought these because their over the ear bluetooth headphones are fantastic, but these come up short drastically. Probably the most ripped off I've felt from a product. Next I'll be looking at Bose vs. Airpods for wireless sport headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

DO NOT BUY IF YOU PLAN TO USE THEM!

WF-1000X 15 April 2019 by Bootdogg (USA)

I wish I was still within my 30 day return policy with Best Buy because I would take these back as fast as possible. I have had them for nearly 2 months now and travel every other week. These things are horrible. They are constantly going out and disconnecting. It is either one or both and I feel stupid shaking my head hoping that it connects again. I even have my phone in my hand as I write this review and it has disconnected wife already. I even have it in the lower quality setting which is supposed to focus on keeping a good connection. Don’t ever use them in high quality mode unless you take a headband and strap you phone to your head. I have the newest iPhone XS Max so it isn’t like I have some cheap phone. This is just horrible. Oh, there goes the connection again. Oh, it is back. Just a bad bad bad product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

Excellent Sound and fit

WF-1000X 14 April 2019 by lowlandbaz (United Kingdom)

Buds are a good fit (has some alternative bud fittings if you need them) and the sound is excellent. Setup on my Samsung was really easy and I was up and running in to time. I mainly use them on flights where the active noise suppression is really good. Battery life is not the best but meets my needs perfectly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Poor battery life, erratic connection.

WF-1000X 12 April 2019 by Kilmonster (United Kingdom)

These sound ok for the price (bought new for about half of RRP) but even new the battery is only lasting a couple of hours and the right earbud regularly glitches its connections, which is pretty annoying especially if you’re trying to relax. It’s got the bare bones of a great product but just isn’t there yet.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Superb

WF-1000X 09 April 2019 by dukesaeed (USA)

Fully satisfied with quality and design of this headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Headphones 1000X

WF-1000X 08 April 2019 by Lynne D (United Kingdom)

Excellent product. Really enjoy using them. First set of wireless headphones I have owned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

a little short of being great

WF-1000X 07 April 2019 by lancaster (USA)

I go t these for a gift for myself I already have 2 sets of Jabra's the elite sports and the active 65t with are great I was hoping the Sony's would be like the Mx3's or the Wi-1000 that I own but these need more development the BT drop outs are frustrating and they don't go loud enough. the sound quality is good when you add Comply sport pro tips they make a huge difference and should come with these the size of the unit is good the noise cancelling is ok but the WI-1000 and the Mx3's blow these away I am hoping software update will improve the performance and Yes mine are on the current version I expect a lot from Sony these aren't Beats so my expectation are the Gold standard because that is what Sony used to be. I own lots of Sony items. when I want the best I look at Sony first but this item need a little more work to be up to the Sony standard that I expect . I also think they need to sort testing these types of items in the real world

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

I wish I never bought them

WF-1000X 01 April 2019 by TMFerry (USA)

For what I paid for these headphones, I regret the purchase. It kills me that i have to spend the money to buy another pair of headphones because the battery doesn't work, people can't hear me and the sound cuts out. Sony, what did you do?!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Volume

WF-1000X 01 April 2019 by Fatboy98 (USA)

I purchased two sets of these one for myself and one for my wife who is slightly hearing impaired. I have not found a away to make the volume higher and I dont think they will work for her. This is concerning because i have had the headsets for a while and wanted to surprise her with them when she returns home. This will put us past the point of return and just would hate to get stuck with headphone for over $400.00 dollars. Can you please tell me is there any way to bypass the volume so that i can make them louder so they will work for her.

3

0

0

sony support was useless

WF-1000X 30 March 2019 by bklyn (USA)

took me 4 months to make them work with my galaxy s8 sony tech support was useless. did not help at all. I will never buy sont again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Excellent sound quality, but...

WF-1000X 29 March 2019 by N1gel (United Kingdom)

Am very pleased with the sound quality but with battery life about 30% of a transatlantic flight, less with noise cancelling on, they are an impractical travel option.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fit for purpose

WF-1000X 29 March 2019 by Sevener (United Kingdom)

Noise Cancelling excellent and sound quality good for wireless headphones. Good comfortable fit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound but battery life is horrible!!!

WF-1000X 27 March 2019 by Morgan0311 (USA)

I’ve had these for about six months now. I was very impressed with the sound quality and noise canceling I travel a lot and when flying they are great to cancel out sound. But the battery life is not as advertised. I can maybe get an hour of use before I have to recharge them. Plus sometimes the right earpiece won’t connect and when turning my head I lose connection. I like Sony products but I’m very disappointed with this product. Wish I could return them or sell them but nobody wants them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worst heaphsones ever

WF-1000X 25 March 2019 by Jnrogers (USA)

Constantly skips in right ear even when I have it in the right settings. My 10 dollar headphones work 10x better then these 200 dollar worthless ones. Don't buy

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Underwhelmed & Disappointed

WF-1000X 19 March 2019 by Sony User 111111 (USA)

--> The battery life is terrible. I am a student and tried to use these to study. After 45 minutes to an hour of use, the battery dies. I guess they're good for walking to class but for the price I paid for these, I have higher standards for how long these can last. Even if all of the other features were perfect, such a bad battery would nearly offset the other benefits...what's the benefit of the earphones if I constantly have to take them out to charge? I haven't even bothered to try them on a plane ride because I don't want to be disappointed further...I resort to my over-ear headphones (not Sony). --> Noise cancellation is OK at best. Granted, I currently live in NYC so I suppose I am exposed to more noise than what is standard. While studying, noise still penetrates through but at least some of it is blocked out. --> Microphone is terrible. Perhaps this has something to do with the noise cancellation, but when taking phone calls the person I am speaking to can never hear me. I always get "I can't hear you, are you speaking into the phone?" I then have to disconnect from the earphones, put them in their charger, then talk from the phone the standard way. --> Sound quality is OK, nothing special at all. Sometimes the earphones somehow get bad connection to the phone (not sure how) and the quality of sound turns bad. --> There is always lag in the earphones--the activity/output displayed on a phone does not match the audio heard in the earphones. I'd say it's half a second to a second behind what it should be.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Not as good as expected

WF-1000X 19 March 2019 by Hammer0112 (USA)

Poor integration, only hear left ear when calling, and I'm using Sony smartphone. Sound quality is not even close to a wi-1000x. No ldac, no aptx, no dsee hx. I ended up using the wi-1000x a lot more. And noise cancelling is not that good.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Awful headphones

WF-1000X 18 March 2019 by awful_headphones (USA)

These headphones work for an hour at most before they need charging. In addition, they cannot be used as normal headphones when connected to a Windows computer, they are stuck in "hands-free" mode, with awful quality and only the left unit working. DO NOT BUY. shame on you Sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Simple but effective

WF-1000X 18 March 2019 by Danieltatham1 (United Kingdom)

The only issue is when I turn my head with the headphones in,the connection goes weak and I lose sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best headphones I’ve owned

WF-1000X 18 March 2019 by Roberto4340 (United Kingdom)

Can use the app on the iPhone to vary how the sound is delivered, battery life is long, good fit for the commute to work, great deal on them at Costco as well. Overall a decent purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality sacrificed for features

WF-1000X 17 March 2019 by Reee (USA)

First off, I had really high hopes for this set. Sure, they were more expensive than the compeating Apple product (which is really hard to do), but I really wanted noise cancelation. I have a Sony camera, and I absolutely love it. I have heard good things about Sony audio systems. Therefore, I thought Sony’s headphones would be a good buy. I was very, very wrong. The first thing I noticed when I opened the (brand new) package was that the hinges on the case were loose. I could ignore this though, as long as the earphones worked good. They never even stared. 24 hours later, I gave up on them and returned them to the store I got them from. I realize that I was just unlucky to get a bad set, but this seems to be a fairly common problem. Even the professional revews I read mentioned, in more than one may I add, that their first set was also defective. In retrospect, these were not for me, because they are not sweat proof, and I do a lot of intensive lawn care. Also, the app is trash and the instructions are in some wierd picture format that I could not understand, and no actual writen instructions were included. Poor experience. DO NOT BUY!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Excellent sound but ...

WF-1000X 13 March 2019 by Bijko (United Kingdom)

Outstanding sound quality. Let down a little by intermittent loss of Bluetooth connection with R ear. Noise cancelling 4/5.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sounds great..!

WF-1000X 10 March 2019 by DazzaH (United Kingdom)

Had these now for a few months, the sound from these little earphones are amazing, the noise cancelling is also impressive. Only down side is the right hand earphone sometimes disconnects and then reconnects, not very often but it’s annoying sometimes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Beautiful sound quality

WF-1000X 10 March 2019 by Oeurf (United Kingdom)

I was fortunate enough to acquire these as a special offer from Sony with my Xperia phone. I hadn't previously been convinced by Bluetooth earbuds and I have a pair of Klipsch earbuds that I usually use. I have to say that the sound quality from the Sony buds is fabulous! Very comfortable and I love the flexibility of not having wires! A number of reviews mention connectivity issues although I haven't experienced this myself...and the settings can be changed within the app to prioritise connectivity. This appears to have no impact on sound quality. You can also adjust the equalisation by using the sound effect settings within the Spotify app so there's no problem getting dollops of bass and searing treble if you want it, without using the settings in the headphone app. Battery life is ok but I have found it necessary to take the charging case with me for the odd top up...pretty quick to charge though. Overall a lovely product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not good for smaller ears! & Horrible Sony Service

WF-1000X 08 March 2019 by PaigeNC (USA)

I bought these less than 3 months ago at a big electronics store - they stopped holding a charge and they really hurt smaller ears, especially while running. I now cannot return to BB and Sony wont work with me.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Very very disappointing

WF-1000X 07 March 2019 by NickW62 (United Kingdom)

Noise cancelling virtually un-noticeable on any setting, especially compared to the Sony wired earbuds I also own (MDR EX750NA) - by comparison, the noise cancelling on these are quite good. Equalisation settings via app are all but useless. Low bass, and hence wanted to use Bass Boost - however on this setting, all channels are set to zero - effectively off. Latency is dramatic, making the earbuds unusable for watching video. Firmware upgrade to v2.0 had no effect.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

3

0

Very good, but.

WF-1000X 06 March 2019 by TimPT (United Kingdom)

These buds are very discrete and offer very good sound. They are let down, badly, by connectivity issues. They will drop sound in one ear, generally right, for no apparent reason. This could be something as simple as turning your head even when the source device is in open air less than a metre away.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Needs firmware update

WF-1000X 05 March 2019 by RonB99 (United Kingdom)

I bought this just over three weeks ago, and it's fine if I'm sitting still on a bus or train. The problem starts when I use it while walking, as the audio cuts out from the right speaker every second track (and sometimes in the middle of one). I can hear a click at the end of each song and I assume it loses its connection with my MP3 player and re-establishes it when the next track starts. The left is solid, but if there is any interference or I'm moving, the right only wants to play alternate songs. Other people have reported similar problems.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent

WF-1000X 04 March 2019 by Mikefree99 (United Kingdom)

Good design and features for the price, could do with volume control on earpiece though

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Im sorry to disappoint

WF-1000X 27 February 2019 by 1983FcoG (United Kingdom)

These where purchased for me for me as a gift. The sound quality is on point. However the issues i face is that the left ear bud cuts in and out, even after a full charge,. appears to easily get interference when in public places, tube st, underground. These are the 1st for me i usually just stick to the factory headset from the phone,. overall impression is that this tech still needs work. Big Media

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great!!!

WF-1000X 24 February 2019 by baer19 (United Kingdom)

Delightfully comfortable to wear, blessed with impressive sound capabilities (that can be further improved - to some extent - with the Boom app), they are also very good for an extremely immersive movie watching experience. Upgrading to Version 2.0.0 of the Firmware (i managed to finally install the update on the units by ... wearing them (!!!) during the update process ... otherwise it stopped at 50% all times) did not much to reduce the distracting cut-offs that sometimes happen on the right Unit, but finally the issue is more than compensated by their outstanding qualities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Battery life is disappointing

WF-1000X 22 February 2019 by shellyb (USA)

The only thing I can say positive about the are the fit. They come with multiple size choices for the buds. However, the life of the battery is certainly not worth the cost. I should have done my research. I would never recommend paying $179 for wireless ear buds that only gives you 3 hours of playback at BEST. There are way more cheaper ones that give 12 hours of playback. Do your research and don't waste your money on these!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

iv

WF-1000X 20 February 2019 by Ivose (USA)

very bad, I do not recommend anyone. Thrown out money

3

4

0

Great sound quality and truly wireless

WF-1000X 19 February 2019 by Gaz 8187 (United Kingdom)

Well balanced sound and true wireless convenience neat charging holder and noise cancelling an all round great pair of headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Keeps dropping sound

WF-1000X 18 February 2019 by Philippejsy (United Kingdom)

I bought this from amazon as wanted to go wireless. Was impressed at first with the ease of connectivity. That was when the realisation hit that they are not up to the job. Walking down the road with one ear cutting in and out is not great. Returned after less than a week. I have the latest phone with latest Bluetooth, I also had is set to connection priority. The performance was bad. Expected more.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Good sound spoilt by poor bluetooth.

WF-1000X 15 February 2019 by Tugs (United Kingdom)

While the sound is very good, as is the fit, the amount of drop outs that occur is really very bad considering the price I paid for them... £130 odd pounds. Even if I am sat still in my own home listening, drop outs occur if even i move my head a fraction one way or another. Then at another time I can be walking around and everything is fine with my phone in my pocket and then again for no reason it drops out again and then picks up again a little later. Very very annoying. Tried it with my phone in different positions/ pockets etc, and again I get stops in playback. Tried toggling bluetooth on/off, and resetting phone, and downloading the firmware, but to no avail it still lets me down. I thought maybe that the device was at fault, and went back to the shop and exchanged it for another identical pair, but it's just the same. It's such a shame because sometimes it works flawlessly for maybe an hour or two, but then off it goes again. I really like them other than that, and I'm hoping that maybe Sony can fix it with an upgrade. Come on Sony, I expect better from you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Good sound and great fit but....

WF-1000X 13 February 2019 by Washroom (USA)

I purchased these and was very excited since nuance the wi1000 over the neck ones as they sound amazing. These truly wireless fit good and sounded very good. The only real issue with these is that they have a super bright blue blinking light that just doesn’t stop. Every time I touch skip to next won’t or noise cancelling or just any button it blinks for 30 seconds. This is terrible to use in public and especially at night. Forget about using in dark room to watch videos. It lights up the whole room. I notice people staring at me all the time at the freaking constant blinking. Very distracting. Returned them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Comfortable, with some minor flaws to iron out

WF-1000X 12 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

The positives; great and comfortable earbuds. Sound quality is good. Battery life is reasonable, and case holds a few recharges. The earphones come with numerous buds - more than enough to ensure a comfortable fit and a good seal. There are some great aftermarket buds that fit this model, also. The sound quality is great, as I have always expected of Sony products. The audio is crisp and clear, and the bass is responsive. These earphones stand up to competition - not as good as my V-Moda cans sound-wise, but more than adequate for my use (commuting, office, and gym) and super-portable. The adaptive sound profiling does a good job of matching your environment, also. The other benefit for commuting is the battery life (approx two hours of full playing with noise cancelling enabled), and you get a few charges from the case (relatively quickly, too). I find if I religiously plug the earphones in to charge whenever I am not using them (while I am in meetings/on calls in the office, for example) I don't run out of battery. For longer journeys its certainly worth taking some manual headphones to preserve the battery life when you are up and moving. The downsides; connectivity, noise cancellation, and notifications. Bluetooth connectivity is not overly robust (especially to the right hand ear bud), and seems to struggle in locations with a lot of digital interference (trains, for example). This is despite me enabling the app to prioritise signal quality over sound quality. The noise cancellation is not as effective as other Sony noise cancelling products (and certainly does not eliminate background noise, to manage expectations). While background noise is masked whilst listening to music or movie, they do not work robustly to just give you some "quiet headspace". Finally, the notification LED (that flashes when there is a notification... really pointless, as you can't see it) and chime (that cuts in over audio... really annoying!) can't be deactivated in the app. This would be a really sensible software feature. I haven't been able to work out if using a single bud switches to mono sound automatically (if not, this would be a great feature). Overall, I would definitely recommend - especially for the price. Specifically, if you are after use in the gym, the office, or on your commute (up to two hours). I would not recommend if you need continual use for more than two hours regularly, or if noise cancelling is your key reason for buying - especially if its for the silence! I hope that if Sony take anything from this review, it is to update the firmware/software to improve the noise cancelling, the notification options, the Bluetooth connectivity, and single-bud-use-to-mono. These four changes would make these little earpieces stand up to serious scrutiny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Useless and overpriced

WF-1000X 08 February 2019 by JohnV320 (USA)

Opened the box and 1 hour later updates were finally complete. I’ve had them two days now and still can’t get them to play sound continuously out of the right bud. Cuts in and out all the time. Bluetooth is so bad that if you pass your hand by one of the buds the sound stops. An 86 page manual downloaded for help was useless. Now I’m just trying to figure out how to give these worthless earbuds back.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Poor battery

WF-1000X 05 February 2019 by Miamale (USA)

The battery dies in 60 minutes or less, that's not enough for watching a movie, or any normal usage. On the other hand the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0