12

2.5 based on 12 customer reviews

1
4
0
2
5
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Overall Acceptable

WF-SP900 17 November 2019 by Sam56 (United Kingdom)

Having bought these without reading any reviews my expectations were high as I am a keen swimmer and will only use them when in the Pool. My first impression wasn't very good as I had to contact Sony Support to complain about the low volume levels, however since updating the Firmware and, more importantly, checking the source volume of the MP3 files I now have a very comfortable, easy to use product. I can clearly hear both music and the spoken word whilst engaged in strenuous swimming. But I did have to increase the volume levels of my Downloaded Podcasts, Music from CD's are fine as the volume levels are such they didn't need adjusting. The process to increase the MP3 volume is simple and takes very little time. Additional I have tried many Swimming MP3 Players over the years and these are by far the best for staying in place and very easy to adjust volume, change tracks etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very poor quality for price

WF-SP900 25 November 2019 by TonyUK123 (United Kingdom)

As i swim 40 lengths every day, I wanted some headphones that work underwater. Being in Manchester airport, the Dixons store in Terminal 2 only had these headphones as an option. So, I purchased them at 200GBP without being able to trial them first. The volume is mediocre at full on the headphones (even when volume limiter disabled), and full volume on any Bluetooth device connected. The water slapping the headphones causes single (on left) and double bleeps (on right) continually throughout usage in water. This constantly distracts from any music which is already barely audible. The battery life is extremely bad, about 1 hour on Bluetooth before warning is made through headphone. Initial power on sound is so low it is impossible to hear what function has been selected. The units do not always respond to taps and double taps. The units do not always respond to the double and triple presses of the buttons to activate/deactivate functions. The charging station does not always charge the product, but, as LEDs are out, you don't know until you try them. I have had to reset the units three times already as they did not respond to charging or switching on/off. The worst headphones I have ever bought.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

12 Customer Reviews

0

Very poor quality for price

WF-SP900 25 November 2019 by TonyUK123 (United Kingdom)

As i swim 40 lengths every day, I wanted some headphones that work underwater. Being in Manchester airport, the Dixons store in Terminal 2 only had these headphones as an option. So, I purchased them at 200GBP without being able to trial them first. The volume is mediocre at full on the headphones (even when volume limiter disabled), and full volume on any Bluetooth device connected. The water slapping the headphones causes single (on left) and double bleeps (on right) continually throughout usage in water. This constantly distracts from any music which is already barely audible. The battery life is extremely bad, about 1 hour on Bluetooth before warning is made through headphone. Initial power on sound is so low it is impossible to hear what function has been selected. The units do not always respond to taps and double taps. The units do not always respond to the double and triple presses of the buttons to activate/deactivate functions. The charging station does not always charge the product, but, as LEDs are out, you don't know until you try them. I have had to reset the units three times already as they did not respond to charging or switching on/off. The worst headphones I have ever bought.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Overall Acceptable

WF-SP900 17 November 2019 by Sam56 (United Kingdom)

Having bought these without reading any reviews my expectations were high as I am a keen swimmer and will only use them when in the Pool. My first impression wasn't very good as I had to contact Sony Support to complain about the low volume levels, however since updating the Firmware and, more importantly, checking the source volume of the MP3 files I now have a very comfortable, easy to use product. I can clearly hear both music and the spoken word whilst engaged in strenuous swimming. But I did have to increase the volume levels of my Downloaded Podcasts, Music from CD's are fine as the volume levels are such they didn't need adjusting. The process to increase the MP3 volume is simple and takes very little time. Additional I have tried many Swimming MP3 Players over the years and these are by far the best for staying in place and very easy to adjust volume, change tracks etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Impulse purchase

WF-SP900/WM E 15 October 2019 by Polo SG (Singapore)

Bought on 16 Sep 19, was looking for another headphones but no stock so got this instead.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

5

0

Disappointing

WF-SP900/BM E 05 October 2019 by RoyP88 (Singapore)

Having owned numerous Sony products in the past, I’d expect the brand’s high quality and performance to be maintained. Sadly, the WF-SF900 Truly Wireless Sports Headphones are a disappointment. Sound quality is lacking - totally mediocre throughout the range. Using the equalizer function from the app did not improve the sound quality by much. The bass is totally unimpressive with no “punch” whatsoever. There’s also a brief, but noticeable, intermittent loss of sound, alternating between left and right ear-pieces - quite annoying. I have 2 other truly wireless sets from different brands - within a similar price range - and these have a much better sound quality without having to make any adjustments. Both sets work reliably without any noticeable problems whatsoever. Build quality seem lacking too with these Sonys. They stopped working within the first 2 weeks and had to be brought to the service centre. Design-wise, the control buttons are not at all user-friendly, and the case which houses the ear pieces isn’t the easiest to open. The main reason I purchased this model is for it’s totally water-proofed function - something I’ve yet to test and try. This has to be the most disappointing product I’ve bought from Sony. Hopefully, this just an aberration and not a sad permanent trend for the brand.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Poor

WF-SP900 24 September 2019 by GFrew (United Kingdom)

Bought them in Duty free, not great when running and sound average at best. Charge time nowhere near three hours, more like 2 at a push. Expensive for the claims of being superior sound, etc. Would not buy! W

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great Features!!b

WF-SP900/YM E 29 August 2019 by Zach_ary (Singapore)

I bought this a month ago, only bad thing is when I’m the lift the right side with lost connection or static sound. The rest is just perfectly for me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product, but still have rooms for improvemen

WF-SP900/WM E 08 August 2019 by Peter9889 (Singapore)

Happy. But I can't enjoy and feel of noise cancellation....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Malfunction after one use

WF-SP900/WM E 07 August 2019 by Yilong (Singapore)

I used it once and it stopped working about half an hour into the swim. Bringing it back for repairs.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Disappointment

WF-SP900/BM E 05 August 2019 by Jolufu (Singapore)

I bought a little more than a month, and am disappointed with the battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Worth the wait.

WF-SP900 27 June 2019 by Mega2019 (United Kingdom)

This is the first piece of technology I have ordered from outside of the States, so I was a little worried there would be accessibility issues. I was pleased to find that, as best I can tell, there is no difference in technology pairing (ie: bluetooth, iOS, etc.) A year or two ago I had a set of underwater earbuds that were so delicate and finicky I was always fussing with them between lap sets. With the Sony SP900 I rarely have to adjust the earbuds. The swim ear pieces fit snugly in my canal without creating any muffled noise, and also don't allow the entire pool to flood my ears. I love that the buttons can be clicked whether the tech is wet or dry. I love that I don't have to 'switch' anything on or off in order to go from the weight room straight into the pool. The instructions for the earbuds could be fleshed out a bit, perhaps, but overall I have no real complaints about them. I hope they continue to work for me for at least another two years, and I certainly hope Sony does not decide to discontinue them. Swimming in the gym's pool would be far less enjoyable without my music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Easy to set up

WF-SP900 27 June 2019 by Selena39 (United Kingdom)

i bought this a couple of months ago. I'd been looking for wireless headphones & saw these could also be used when exercising while swimming which convinced me to purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Super disappointed

WF-SP900 24 April 2019 by Lizete (United Kingdom)

After all the expectation And a hefty amount of money for these headphones, I was undergoing ten meters in the first swim when they died. Even before the first and fatal swim the quality if sound was disappointing. Trying to apply my guarantee from abroad

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

40