258

3.9 based on 258 customer reviews

109
85
29
5
30
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of a Select Group

4GB 03 June 2016  (United Kingdom)

I have had each iteration of this MP3 player as Sony has in my opinion produced the best music player for gym users such as myself. But. The competition is very limited for wearable MP3 headphone combinations and by no means is this Sony item perfect. It is however, a considerable improvement on the previous version which had a grim power on/off button and serious failure issues whereby it would simply stop working - which happened to mine. First off the buttons are much nicer to use and that makes a real difference. Once you have got the muscle memory in place it's all good. The overall construction both appears and feels very good and Sony seem to have moved back up a step from the previous model fortunately. It is also very secure on the ears and there is an additional rubber adjuster that can be fitted along with different ear buds to turn this into a MP3 player suitable for swimming with. And Sony seem to have worked out that they can't make software and this is a simple drag and drop operation for compatible files or you can sync using Microsoft Media Player which I do. But - like each version Sony have made there are improvements and retrograde steps. Whilst there is no doubt this is a much better player than before Sony have taken away the storage/charging cradle which held the player together securely which was ideal when being dumped in a sports bag. This player has a very small charging-transfer unit that fits to one side only meaning you have to be very careful when removing it from a bag in case it is pulled apart too much. In use the sound is good not brilliant. For my ears slightly bright. And not loud enough as Sony being a responsible company adhere to the dB safe levels which may not be loud enough to completely drown out the piped in stuff in some gyms. For use outside it would be fine I guess. There is a function to allow ambient noise to be heard which is something that road runners may find useful as cars etc. can be heard. Overall though, this is my gym player of choice because it sounds good and I don't have faffy wires hanging around me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Stopped working after 2 uses

4GB 23 September 2016 by musicless (United Kingdom)

A present for me to use when swimming. Followed all instructions and began to use it, but after 2 30 minute swims, in fresh water, it just gave up and became completely unresponsive despite all fixes / advice, including from Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

259 Customer Reviews

0

Worth the price

4GB 20 September 2019 by oliviaoh (Singapore)

easy to use and good soundproof definitely will be using for a long time

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The software is clunky and doesn’t work on Mac

4GB 15 September 2019 by ShaMack (United Kingdom)

I have no complaints about the actual Walkman but the software is surprisingly basic and interface doesn’t work on Mac.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Wouldn’t be without it

8GB 06 September 2019 by Hobbit100 (United Kingdom)

I love this product. I put my audio books onto them and relax in my hot tub every weekend. They are my must have for holidays, lying out on the sun lounger and then going for a swim, absolutely perfect. Cannot recommend enough!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

8GB 06 September 2019 by Fiona27 (United Kingdom)

I've been using another brand of waterproof headphones whilst swimming for years but these are so much better. Having a range of sizes of ear buds means they stay in place whilst swimming and the sound is great. I'm really pleased with this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent product

8GB 19 August 2019 by Clarepickles (United Kingdom)

Bought this for work , kept getting the cable to my old ear phones caught. Read other reviews but wasn't concerned as I am not usi g it for swimming. Sound is amazing and easy to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far the best

4GB 19 August 2019 by Elvinswim2 (Singapore)

Bought the older model and use it for many mnay years. Recently, the old gave way so changed to the latest model. Ease of use and superb clarity much better than the older model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works but ml lh.

4GB 30 July 2019 by Jlpp (United Kingdom)

They do the trick and work very well under water. Sound is not very loud however. Explanations are pretty awful. It needs updating to management by an app so that it can access Spotify playliats and other apps. Bit outdated but it down work underwater so can swim to podcasts which I'm very happy with.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Should have bought sooner!

4GB 28 July 2019 by Janandave (United Kingdom)

I bought this after six months of deliberating which one to get as I've seen good and bad reviews on a few. Well I'm over the moon with this product, it was easy to use after figuring out how to put music on. It's took me a few try to get earplugs to stay in as I have problems with earplugs, I have use headphones in gym. Well after reading the instructions I put them in dry ears and placed my goggles on so they helped them stay in place and they did most of the time. I have found now that I can put a grip through each side of the headphone wire and my goggles and they don't move at all throughout an hour swimming head underwater and turning underwater each lap. What makes it even better is the sound is fabulous nice and clear and it's plenty loud enough. All in all a great product I'd definitely recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great While It Works

NWWS413LM 22 July 2019 by Thehag (USA)

Bought this in April and it quit working in July. While working it was great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Rubbish

4GB 16 July 2019 by ssw1 (United Kingdom)

Bought the waterproof headphones. The sound was always too low and now volume will not work at all.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Room for improvement

4GB 01 July 2019 by Vleongck (Singapore)

1st piece gone after 13 months. Bought 2nd piece and hope life span can last longer than 1st piece.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent pair

NWWS413BM 26 June 2019 by Drock007 (USA)

These haven’t been the best and I had to buy different waterproof earbud prices because the ones provided don’t have a good enough seal. Sound is good and easy to use. It’s still worth the buy as they have a great functionality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great features

4GB 20 June 2019 by Jane 53 (United Kingdom)

Use this product for swimming very comfortable to wear and a good sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Features but NOT durable

4GB 19 June 2019 by coffeemom (United Kingdom)

I've tried several different brands of waterproof mp3s. Here's the good and the bad: This one is the most comfortable, has the best features and has decent sound quality, but they just aren't durable! This is my 3rd one! They only last about a year. I swim 2-3 times/week in a chlorinated pool for 1 1/2 - 2 1/2 hours at a time. I follow the directions to a "T" in terms of care and maintenance and yet it still just doesn't last. I keep coming back to this product because I do like it, I just get tired of having to purchase a new one so frequently. I think that if Sony stands behind their products I shouldn't have to buy an extended warranty either. I understand that I am in the water for a long time, but I still think that for the price it should last more than a year!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

does what it advertises

4GB 14 June 2019 by Budders (United Kingdom)

Good sound quality, sits easily in place. Easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Product - Beat my ridiculous expectations.

4GB 12 June 2019 by JFisch (United Kingdom)

I decided to swim (in a pool) 33.3KM on June 6th (D-Day) which is the distance across the English Channel. Music was critical to my success. These performed flawlessly and at full volume lasted the entire 10 hours and 27 minutes it took for me to complete the swim. Thanks Sony, for helping me honor those heroes from our greatest generation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound quality and easy to setup and use

8GB 26 May 2019 by Mo231299 (United Kingdom)

I like the way you can just drag and drop your files on to is and the sound quality is excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy

4GB 11 May 2019 by Piglet13 (United Kingdom)

So far so good, not had it that long but easy to set up and stays on when swimming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

4GB 05 May 2019 by Chepac (Singapore)

I bought a famous headset brand touted as Dive model for Swimming and it didn’t work- it cut out every time I dived! So I returned it for this Sony. Right away I could see the quality of the Sony headset and the charger is miles ahead of the brand I bought initially. The Sony worked flawlessly and even came with special earbuds for Swimming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too quiet

4GB 28 April 2019 by Ffwc (United Kingdom)

I brought to go swimming however I could not hear anything even at the highest volume. Returned after two uses.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Improvement from older walkman

4GB 28 April 2019 by Simon60 (Singapore)

Impressive, improvement from older model of Walkman I bought previously

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Almost perfect

4GB 24 April 2019 by georgelai57 (Singapore)

I’ve many Sony products but I knocked off one star for these reasons: 1. It won’t cost you, Sony, to give a minimum of 8GB storage. 4GB is just too stingy. 2. Maximum volume using the swimming ear tips is a bit soft. 3. Having a ridge or lattice design on the housing happens to irritate my ears every now and then. What’s wrong with a smooth finish?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best swimming companion!

4GB 19 April 2019 by Dedukun (Singapore)

Plug and swim. No opening to seal, no worries. Best companion for long solo swim! Hope Sony can add audio battery indicator in future models.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Volume level

4GB 16 April 2019 by SFAD (United Kingdom)

Amazing product to swim with Really wish you guys fix the volume level . It’s 30% less at full than it needs to be

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Friend for swimming

4GB 09 April 2019 by Moomin15 (United Kingdom)

I've used this once and am delighted with it. I had an older type that wouldn't charge. My new ones are easy to use. Download music was simple. Music clear whilst swimming and very comfortable to wear. Defo an improvement on the old style

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good all round performer

4GB 07 April 2019 by Goff 1 (United Kingdom)

I have never been a fan of in ear headphones as I have found them uncomfortable. Not with these however. I use them when walking the dog and they are still comfortable after an hour. I had tried a cheaper brand but had trouble loading files but no problems with Sony. So easy to drag files. It takes a while getting used to all the buttons but once familiar with them it's so easy. Have been using them for about 14 days now with half hour and 1 hour walks and still working fine on initial charge. Build quality seems good but you would expect that from Sony and they aren't the cheapest but very pleased with them

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

It did not last

8GB 22 March 2019 by stacis (United Kingdom)

My girlfriend bought this for me as a present last January. On February the left speaker does not play at the same volume as the right one.I was always taking are of it and never dropped it or wet it(even if it is waterproof). Its warranty was expired for only one month. It should not have one year warranty

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic device

4GB 20 March 2019 by Thomas16 (Singapore)

I bought this around 3 weeks ago and it has made all the difference to my swimming routine. I used to get bored and stop after 25 minutes or so, but now I swim for around an hour each time simply because I can listen to my favourite songs while I swim. Super easy to set up and use. Charges quickly via USB. Comfortable to wear. Comes with multiple ear buds for wet and dry use. I highly recommend this for swimming.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for swimming

4GB 19 March 2019 by Marmite (United Kingdom)

Absolutely love it. This is my second one as I lost my first one and it’s perfect for using in the swimming pool.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Portability

4GB 18 March 2019 by PeterM1 (United Kingdom)

This is a practical device for listening to music on the move or while carrying out activities as there are no hanging wires or attached devices to contend with. The only criticism I have it that is should come with a carry case or cloth bag as the ear buds can easily become dislodged and lost when transporting it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Stopped working

4GB 10 March 2019 by Chris74 (United Kingdom)

Got it and was initially really impressed by it then after 9 days it stopped working, am waiting for it's replacement on garuntee. Hopefully I just got a rogue one and the next will be fine . Can't recommend or not at the moment as it stands .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Little bit more sounds would be good

4GB 09 March 2019 by Salihagbi (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 weeks ago in argos good value ............................

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for swimmers

4GB 08 March 2019 by EduardoSG (Singapore)

Have been using it a couple of weeks and I love it. Drum and Bass DJ Goldie has one, so I decide to try one. The build quality isn’t fantastic if you are used to Apple products, but it does the trick. You get used to the buttons after a while and if you are listening to long mixes like I do (1hour plus) then you don’t have to play about with them. The other criticism is it isn’t very loud when you are in the water. would like to see that addressed in the

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Won't sink

NWWS413BM 17 February 2019 by Nonasbusiness (USA)

Bummer I was hoping to listen to music as I swim today but unfortunately I won't be. Its hard to believe I can't download music to my Walkman thru my PS4!? Now I risk losing money on a computer that may not be compatible either??? SMH why you do this Sony!?!?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great when swimming

8GB 17 February 2019 by Beverleybu (United Kingdom)

Bought this and used for two weeks now, initially daunting but easily figured the uploading music and podcasts and I’m no tech genius! Stay in place perfectly whilst swimming and moving around too. The headband is not to dangly either which I think the earlier models were.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does everything it promises!

8GB 14 February 2019 by Mynicko (United Kingdom)

Works very well indeed. Wanted to swim in my gym and this makes it less boring.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Unreliable not value for money

8GB 11 February 2019 by JoC Jo (United Kingdom)

This is my 4th in less than 3 years they keep breaking either no sound or stop working completely

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good quality product

4GB 29 January 2019 by Helseywelsey (United Kingdom)

Took some time and tips for me to work out how to download the music. Struggle to keep it on swimming but good for general workouts.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wouldn’t stay in my ears

4GB 26 January 2019 by DawnieQ (United Kingdom)

I’ve just returned the Walkman. Unfortunately when I tried to swim with it, one ear refused to stay in, and the other worked it’s way out as i swam, so I had to push it in every couple of lengths to be able to hear the music. Even when I could hear it, the music was pretty quiet.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Headphones

4GB 26 January 2019 by Din1 (United Kingdom)

I had this as a present I’m very happy with it although I had some trouble getting my music on to it but that is because I’m not very good with technical things

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

so far good

4GB 17 January 2019 by Lenka34 (United Kingdom)

I have now used this for 2 weeks the only issue and that is small one i find is that you cannot listen music based on folders it will just mix all together and when swimming i need to put the rubber string from my googles in order for the headphones to stay in tack otherwise they tent to move when i swim under water in speed but that seem to do a good job so not huge issue. Question is how long they last waterproof.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

I've had better

4GB 17 January 2019 by Granmanicola (United Kingdom)

I had these bought as a present. They are pretty bulky on the ear and don't realty fit in ear , even with the smaller buds. The sound is quite tinny. Sounds better when swimming as water seals yr ear

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product easy to use once used to it

4GB 12 January 2019 by Ems64 (United Kingdom)

Love swimming with my walkman. Makes swimming even more enjoyable!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing product

4GB 10 January 2019 by Puriniks89 (United Kingdom)

Except extra bass everything is good Happy with the product

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Too quiet underwater.

4GB 08 January 2019 by Ewilk (United Kingdom)

Volume not high enough underwater. I was really looking forward to my first swim with this product. As an MP3 player it’s fine but underwater it really becomes the product I hoped it would not be. not only are the earphones clunky and awkward to have in (they constantly fall out) but their volume is excruciatingly low. I wanted emmersion whilst swimming but these two factors really spoil my experience. Sony usually make products to a high standard. I own a 4K ultra Sony TV, PlayStation 3 and 4, record player and many more Sony products - this was a real disappointment. 

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0