614

4.2 based on 614 customer reviews

340
166
52
17
39
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 29 November 2020 by RAS12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I am a technophobe I found this camera very easy to use. Also, it is light weight so can comfortably be carried in a pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Super slow. Poor Pictures unless optimal light

DSC-W800 14 December 2019 by maps (USA)

I bought this at Target while I was in Florida about a month ago, In 1 weekend I took over 400 photos an I can use about 20. The picture quality is that poor. Unless light is optimal don't expect much at all. The camera -in every setting- also tries to correct and essentially ruins the point of capturing a true image. My hands, perhaps due to disability and other issues actually get very tired in between shots, it takes a second a more in between shots. I have never had a camera operate this slow -. If you want to capture important moments forget it. I trust and use Sony as a brand consistently. I will not be buying another Sony pocket camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

614 Customer Reviews

0

"How good is this Product?"

DSC-W800 13 October 2021 by Peter Rixon (United Kingdom)

I find my camera useful because it uses optical zoom lens and it only takes JPEG pictures with limited features.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture This...Brilliantly

DSC-W800 13 October 2021 by Ian Independent (United Kingdom)

A great little camera. Just what I was searching for after much debate. It takes great pictures and films. Plus, for a total novice is so easy to use. Also, importantly, it is compact and fits in a pocket so I can carry it anywhere and everywhere for those things that memories are made of. I never give 5/5 or 10/10 reviews on anything because that then makes the product perfect. I don't think anything ever is but can't really think of a fault with this camera so it gets as close to a 5 star review as I can give.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Compact Camera

DSC-W800 13 October 2021 by Paul67B (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about 2 months ago, it’s a great little camera to use, and takes great shots very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

pictures

DSC-W800 07 October 2021 by ruin lover (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It took a little while to work out all features but once I had it is great, I especially like the panoramic feature, this will be good when I get to go on holiday again.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat little camera, great pictures

DSC-W800 26 September 2021 by Joanie46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently purchased and as a beginner, haven't explored everything yet. There's a lot to learn, but so far....so good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSC-W800 11 September 2021 by scrat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a few weeks ago to take some photos at a wedding. It is easy to use and takes good pictures.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very nice

DSC-W800 09 September 2021 by Retep1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got bought for me as a birthday present, love it..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera

DSCW800B 06 September 2021 by Ruth Anne (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the camera and the ease of taking pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not completely pleased

DSC-W800 24 August 2021 by NeedHelpPlease (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been practicing with my new Sony camera and am having some difficulties. While I love the look and the size, I'm having trouble taking pictures. The shutter is extremely slow, and I don't know whether to continue holding down the button or release it. The screen just goes blank for perhaps 1-1.5 seconds, then clicks. It sometimes says that it is 'analyzing'. I am not sure what to do. I bought this on line so do not have a store to visit where I can get help. Right now I am frustrated with this purchase and may need to return it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Easy to use camera.

DSC-W800 24 July 2021 by Aberdarian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for a month. It is easy to set up, use and easy to carry. Just perfect for what I wanted. I enjoy local investigative history and need an easy to carry camera which I can use instantly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very neat in size but set-up instructions dreadful

DSC-W800 04 July 2021 by AnnK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera itself seems pretty good with multiple facilities, but the instructions are not good. I purchased on-line and had to rely on the good nature of the supplier ( Cambrian Photography - wonderful!) to talk me through the set-up. The instructions provided do NOT work!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 14 May 2021 by Ian 3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very easy to use camera. Fits into pockets comfortably.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smart

DSC-W800 26 April 2021 by Jamness (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, smart,neat , difficult to lose it, ticks all boxes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It’s not that great

DSCW800B 02 April 2021 by Stonebreaker (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in 2018 I thought this was the top of the line it’s so bad iPhone 6s has a better camera

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Just what I want but cannot download images to com

DSC-W800 20 February 2021 by geriatric101 (United Kingdom)

Camera is just what i wanted but cannot download images to computer with Windows 10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Read the instructions online instructions! Twice !

DSC-W800 31 January 2021 by RustyOToole (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this for Christmas basically to take pictures of stuff to put on Ebay. I'm just an open the box, point and click person. It takes very good photo's but I haven't quite mastered the (auto) focusing so I get the occasional blurred one. If, like me, you are not particularly interested in being David Bailey then it's useful to read the online User Guide. I would have liked to see a basic memory card included though I understand that would probably take it out of the price point Sony are aiming at. I

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 24 January 2021 by Auntie Boo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought before Christmas. Easy to use, good photographs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Photographs

DSC-W800 08 January 2021 by Nams (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace previous Sony compact camera bought many years ago. Pleased to find operation menu very similar and easy to set up. Wish I had kept printed paper manual that came with original - had to print off many pages from web site to refresh memory on what the icons on menu meant. Only problem took many attempts t get the battery to begin charging - still don't understand what was the problem

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good Little Camera

DSC-W800 07 January 2021 by Beau 45 (United Kingdom)

Compact camera which is easy to use. Good features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 05 January 2021 by rich007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great useable camera at a very reasonable price. Usual Sony build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceelnt features

DSC-W800 05 January 2021 by anted (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It was a Xmas present to replace old one that had ceased to work

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

disappointment

DSC-W800 27 December 2020 by Burty54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very disappointed. I bought this camera and cannot actually initialise it as it will only take me to the Language set up and then switches the single English page, so I press ok on the screen and then set. It then goes to the drop down menu of Languages so I then select English, OK and set and it switches back to the previous page. I cannot access the menu page so I am having to return the product. Customer service advice:- Try turning it off and on again

2

3

0

All features are great.

DSCW800B 25 December 2020 by Dan 4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this camera a few weeks ago and it works great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Neat

DSC-W800 21 December 2020 by terrytig (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for a couple of weeks and it seems to be very good. It is very neat and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

useful easy to understand pocket-sized camera

DSC-W800 19 December 2020 by PatsyIpswich (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is my second sony camera of similar style but quite a few differences. However the software 'PlayMemories at Home' is the same so downloading came easily. The main difference is that you cant get maximum zoom while using on Easymode. The essential thing for me is the antishake as I have a tremor. It is very good value and I would recommend for convenience.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Camera

DSC-W800 29 November 2020 by h1833 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great little camera . Small size fits into pocket . Very easy to use with different programs and noo need to buy batteries

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use.

DSC-W800 29 November 2020 by RAS12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although I am a technophobe I found this camera very easy to use. Also, it is light weight so can comfortably be carried in a pocket.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Not What I expected

DSCW800B 28 November 2020 by Thomp56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I puchased a song Cyber-shot 10.1 camera few years back for our business (Great camera). I decide to get another one, since this cyber-shot was old, so I purchased the above DSCW800B, it's not the same, trouble with the setting and picture taking in and outside and the program for downloading pictures are not working well, constantly having problems with this issues, called and sent emails to Sony for help. Their customer service is terrible. I sent another email a couple of weeks ago, got a reply back, saying will get back with you soon, no one yet... Terrible, Terrible. I really would like my money back or something better for our business.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Easy to Use!

DSCW800/B 20 November 2020 by jamq19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it on a Monday, I received everything that Thursday! Everything works fine and I'm excited to have this technology at use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good cheap and simple

DSC-W800 20 November 2020 by Nicklink4 (USA)

It is one of the best cameras for someone getting into photography, or just for fun!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great little camara

DSC-W800 18 November 2020 by Ascotmm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great compact design, picture quality and ease of use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

...Ideal pocket camera...

DSC-W800 12 November 2020 by Old48 Kangaroo (USA)

This is the second one I've bought,this one as a gift for my wife.It's an inexpensive camera that easily fits in a pocket and takes good photos.For some one like my self or my wife who aren't heavy use camera people this camera is a great fit,especially for the money.For anyone getting into photography this an excellent starting camera.I've taken video with sound and have to say I was impressed with the quality of both image and sound.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Only Sony for me

DSC-W800 10 November 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a replacement and I am so glad I did.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good buy

DSC-W800 29 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

gives a good picture,very handy to fit in hand and pocket,yes very good compact camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features and portability

DSC-W800 15 October 2020 by JRenner702 (USA)

I bought this for my birthday and I absolutely love it. It’s small and portable, yet just as powerful as my dslr

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-W800 14 October 2020 by Bell 11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my husband as he wanted a smaller one so that it could fit into a bag as his main one is quite large. He is very happy with it good clear picture easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great camera

DSC-W800 03 October 2020 by spud75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple f weeks ago just what I wanted fr taking quick photos when I am out walking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-W800 23 September 2020 by Gorbet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was given this as a present and very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good little "Shoot and go" camera

DSC-W800 07 September 2020 by Stuart44 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second time we have purchased the same model, having worn the first one out by continually swapping data cards which eventually damaged the mechanism. We had no hesitation in choosing another one and resolving to make more use of the usb cable to interact with our computers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Compact and easy to use

DSC-W800 07 September 2020 by Blueovation (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great for everyday use. We use this at our factory for recording accidents, taking pictures of machine parts that are worn or need replacing and use the video function for recording short clips which we use for training purposes. The compact size and ease of use makes it ideal as an everyday item that slips easily into a pocket. The picture quality is good and the flash function gives a clear bright light that doesn't blur the image.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

smart looking camera

DSC-W800 16 August 2020 by hobbitboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i got this camera a short time ago, its the best compact camera i have ever bought .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Sony Digital Camera!

DSCW800B 12 August 2020 by Sujoy7635 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a new Sony digital camera online. It is a nice camera, small, easy to use menu and taking pictures. I registered my product. I like photography. Sony is a cool company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT PURCHASE!

DSC-W800 07 August 2020 by RUTHIE60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago. Looks good. Easy to operate. Neat sharp photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very portable

DSC-W800 05 August 2020 by Dave the rave 123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I wanted a good pocket camera, and I am not disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Fun little toy!!!

DSCW800B 03 August 2020 by Skinhorse (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this little camera to replace a bigger bulky one. Is lightweight and fun little camera with enough buttons and whistles.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Purchased believing I could download pictures to m

DSCW800/B 28 July 2020 by Husker1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased believing I could download pictures from camera to my computer so I could enable my ability to send them to my daughter and family in Italy

2

4

0

Small camera that packs a large punch!

DSC-W800 27 July 2020 by Rob 104 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looking for a compact "Point & Shoot" camera to carry around every day, this more than meets my requirements. Clear pictures every time, with excellent zoom facility. Hopefully this will serve me well in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Handy Little Pocket Camera

DSC-W800 09 June 2020 by marjon46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always carry a small camera in my pocket because a photo opportunity can present itself at any moment. This camera is handy for such times and can be activated and the photo taken in seconds. Colour resolution is excellent and photos are sharp enough to be enlarged to 13mm x 18mm but no further.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice compact little camera

DSC-W800 18 May 2020 by Evie 63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Takes lovely photos,but as yet have not developed any.so handy to put in your pocket,nice size screen very happy with it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camera - Excellent Lense

DSC-W800 08 May 2020 by Rbh27 (USA)

I've had this camera for about 6 years and it is great ... I use it for work and it gets knocked around in breafcases and backpacks, Lense quality is outstanding and easy to use vs my little Lumix. and other fullsize cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Can't figure it out!

DSC-W800 02 May 2020 by CherylD (USA)

This was a Christmas gift from my son because he thought I needed an upgrade from my Nikon cool pix. Well, for one thing, I took it on a walk with me and after a few pictures got a message that there is no internal memory space remaining - and so I thought I would download on my computer to get what I took off, and it doesn't connect?? Glad I didn't get rid of my little Nikon which doesn't require a memory card and I can download to my PC with no problem.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Not the best

DSC-W800 30 April 2020 by DD Almighty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it and sent it back, picture quality was worse than my Iphone6S. I bought a Canon G9X MkII at a lot more money but pictures are superb.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better than using your mobile!

DSC-W800 29 April 2020 by Cardman (United Kingdom)

I have just got this excellent piece of kit and, for the price, I am astounded by the quality of the pictures! The quality of the build is very good too! Simply removing the memory card, plugging it into a dongle, and, connecting it to my iPad is simplicity itself. Will never not take it with me in future!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

can not connect to my computer

DSC-W800 29 April 2020 by notwen (United Kingdom)

about 7 years ago and is old but the camara works ok but i can not connect it to yhe computer

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Great Camera

DSCW800/B 25 April 2020 by Richp2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought it and the photos are excellent. I just recommended to a relative.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Never took so many blurry pictures

DSC-W800 24 April 2020 by Feraltamer (USA)

Seems the camera needs to be braced against something so the image doesn't end up blurry. Looked on the camera menu for image stabilization. No go. Looked on the help guide, still nothing. My Kodak easyshare (rest its soul) did much better than this. Flash is too bright, and washes out subject.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact and Easy to Use

DSC-W800 20 April 2020 by Wisim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this camera. Easy to use and compact.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ease of use

DSC-W800 20 March 2020 by ginty1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this about a month ago, and tbh not used it that much, as been self isolating, so nowhere to go to take pictures

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small, compact and easy to use

DSCW800B 09 March 2020 by cmills33138 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The DCSW800B camera comes in handy for taking quick tourist photos with a better zoom and photo quality than my mobile phone. No drivers were necessary and the device was immediately recognized by my system running Ubuntu Studio.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value camera with many features

DSC-W800 28 February 2020 by Benny 99101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a birthday present just what I wanted will definitely put it to good use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0