53

2.4 based on 53 customer reviews

10
6
2
10
25
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good product, but...

WI-SP500 13 April 2019 by Duana (USA)

I received these as a Christmas gift and really like the sound. Unfortunately the earbuds wouldn't stay on and eventually they came off and there's no replacement buds. Now I don't have the luxury of listening to music or conversation through my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

OK....until you lose a ear tip...then junk

WI-SP500 01 February 2019 by Boseisthewaytogose (USA)

Worked OK until you no longer have a rubber ear bud tip. They split or fall off easily. If you do not have a ear bud tip then its worthless as it will not stay in your ear. Finding replacement tips makes this product garbage. First the part numbers make it difficult to know what you are buying since the right and left are different parts. Second they cost upwards of $13-15/each plus shipping. So if you are considering buying 1-2 pair you might as well buy another set of headphone!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

53 Customer Reviews

0

Good Sound and Battery Life...!!!

WI-SP500 15 July 2019 by Shanthamani (USA)

It's good with Music and Battery life... I usally connect my headsets with phone and laptop alternatively... But this one dont appear in my laptop bluetooth devices and checked with other laptops too. Does it compatible with laptop or not.?

0

0

0

Quite disappointed

WI-SP500 13 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this at the airport en route to Tenerife. It was a choice between these and a cheaper brand. I went with the more well known brand but now wish I hadn't. If I still had the packaging I would return them. The volume level is so low at maximum that I struggle to hear the sound on movies or Spotify. With the noise of the plane I had to put them away. If you push them in your ears it's slightly better but as soon as you release them, the weight of the earbuds makes them come away again. Not good at all.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Uncomfortable

WI-SP500 05 July 2019 by Lorie (USA)

I got these for my birthday. They are so uncomfortable. My ears and jaw hurt the next day. The sound is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound quality

WI-SP500 20 May 2019 by DGIE (USA)

I am coming from over the ear headphones and am very picky as far as sound, I want the full range with bass to plenty of mid’s and highs so lately I have been testing various in-ear headphones including Beats X and Jabra Elite 65t. These SP 500’s are way better than them and much cheaper. The sound they put out has much better range from lows to highs. I have noticed a little static in the background at times, but over all, I really like them so far. Further I would like to add that the range is pretty good, I can be in another room and still not loose a connection, roughly about 30 feet away.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worst value for money , bad quality

WI-SP500 13 May 2019 by v_panos (USA)

Considering the brand name and the market sector you would expect an above average performance across all its aspects. BUT these earphones are truly disappointing. By far the worst i have ever used when you take into account the expectations you get from Sony. Call quality is non-existent, people on the other side of the line can't hear anything i say unless i sit in a whisper quiet room!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Over priced and plan on needing extra ear tips

WI-SP500 05 May 2019 by dsfgasdfs (USA)

These headphones are over priced and the flexible ear tips fall off easily. You will not be happy if you ever have to put these in your pocket or back pack, as the ear tips will get lost too easily.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Good Sound, BUT......

WI-SP500 28 April 2019 by Keith F (USA)

I received this product as a gift four months ago. Sound is good, BUT the rubber earbuds are not secure enough, and you WILL lose them. The earbuds are a unique design, and these earphones are absolutely WORTHLESS without the rubber earbuds. You do get one extra set of earbuds, but Sony should resdesign, or package a dozen extra sets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

ear tips fall off

WI-SP500 17 April 2019 by Lawton (USA)

I bought these for jogging. Ear tips are poorly designed . They tear and fall off. Cannot find replacements

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

I’d love to meet the model they tested these on...

WI-SP500 16 April 2019 by Duke4 (USA)

I’ve owned dozens of headphones over the years, and this has to be the poorest design I’ve ever come across. They were on sale at Sams Club so I figured I’d take a chance on them, but it took me 10 seconds into my first workout to realize I made a mistake. Both sizes of inserts were terribly painful and refused to stay in my ears, even when standing still. Laying down or walking with them and expecting to have them stay put is laughable, and that’s kinda what you need when listening to music at the gym. I see in these reviews they started at 79.99 and have slowly come down ever since; I got them on sale for $44. Won’t be long before they are $10, and I still wouldn’t buy them again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

most painful headphones ever

WI-SP500 15 April 2019 by glaneww (USA)

I got them as a Christmas gift and I was hoping to get used to them after some time. Instead, they are still a real pain, as their design make them super uncomfortable to wear. I wanted to re-sell them, but the price dropped down (probably the word about the quality spread...) and they were half price on Amazon. Worst purchase ever

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Good product, but...

WI-SP500 13 April 2019 by Duana (USA)

I received these as a Christmas gift and really like the sound. Unfortunately the earbuds wouldn't stay on and eventually they came off and there's no replacement buds. Now I don't have the luxury of listening to music or conversation through my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Not good

WI-SP500 10 April 2019 by Mdsooner (USA)

I boght these at Walmart and they worre 69 or 79 dollars. Battery life is great, but the buds dont really stay in your ears well. I tried both sets of ear pieces to make sure I got the best fit, neither fit well. The ear pieces fall off easily and now I have lost an earpiece. They do joy have replacements. $70 bucks down the drain, an upset customer who probably wont go back to Sony for future electronics

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

poor design

WI-SP500 09 April 2019  (USA)

Wanted to try Sony after some time of using skull candy. This one disappointed me with the design part, does not fit in the ear and the cable around the neck feels clumsy like it would fall off any time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Did not last 3 months

WI-SP500 01 April 2019 by JoanneLB (USA)

These were a present. After 3 months of normal use, the end cap of the left earbud fell off and cannot be found. I am dissatisfied because these are not cheap earbuds

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Does not look Sony's product

WI-SP500 26 March 2019 by Ejanz (USA)

- Very hard to keep inside ears keep on coming out - Does not connect with IPhone-7 - Design is awkward

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Good duration, good avr. use. Poor fit.

WI-SP500 10 March 2019 by Madish82 (USA)

Bought this 3 months ago. The headphones are ok, if you wish to be able to talk and listen while wearing these. The duration on 8 hours is the best thing to mention. The design is ugly, but you are free from any weight pulling down, other than the line connecting the earpods. These do not fit completely with your ear and will most likely fall out your ears very often. There are no possible ways of getting different ear pads for a more prober fit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great buy.

WI-SP500/WQ E 03 March 2019 by Joyjoy (Singapore)

I have always wanted a wireless headphones. When I managed to find Sony SP500, I was delighted, it's price is reasonable ans sound is better than what I expected.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not a good expererience

WI-SP500/BQ E 15 February 2019 by LuffyLam (Singapore)

Is hard to wear, very uncomfortable and easy to drop off

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, but horrible fit!

WI-SP500 11 February 2019 by Becky in Bama (USA)

The sound quality is great, but the fit is terrible. The earpieces have two interchangeable sets of covers, one supposedly smaller than the other. Neither is small enough to fit in my ear. They are too big and painful to wear for any length of time. And because they are too big to fit snugly and comfortably in my ear, they constantly fall out, even if I'm sitting still. I would not recommend these headphones unless you have really big ears or Sony redesigns them with smaller earpieces.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

5

0

0

Great Product

WI-SP500 08 February 2019 by samw1 (USA)

These are a great pair of Bluetooth, in-ear headphones. I really like the ease of using this product. I was a little unsure of the look of them at first because they stick out a little bit from your ear. However, now that I have used them for a while, I do not mind it as much. I could see how some people may not like the style though. Setup is very easy for these headphones. I have not had any issues with the battery life up to this point. In fact, the battery lasts me more than a day of good use. The fit of these headphones was a little bit uncomfortable, but I got used to it after using them a few times. The sound quality of these headphones is quite good for the price. The sound is clear, full, and balanced. Other wireless headphones I have owned did not stay in my ears very well. Especially while working out or running, I would have to constantly adjust the position of previous headphones. I have had no such trouble so far with this product not staying in my ears, which is a huge plus. The wireless setup of these earbuds makes them perfect for using while at the gym or on the go. I have had no issues with the wireless connection cutting out. The Bluetooth signal seems reliable and strong. These headphones let some outside noise in so that you can stay alert and safe while listening to them in public places. Another nice feature is the water resistance that allows you to get sweat and water on them without affecting the performance. I have long searched for a pair of wireless headphones that stay in my ear and perform well while working out. I have finally found them in these headphones. The only thing I have against these headphones is that when I use them for extended periods of time, they can get a little uncomfortable in my ear. I usually do not use them for long enough for this to occur, however. I am pleased with the way they work both while exercising and just everyday use. These headphones are very affordable, and for the quality, you get your money’s worth. Overall, I am very satisfied with these wireless earbuds, and I would recommend them to anyone.

1

0

0

Works good but...

WI-SP500 02 February 2019 by emh2012 (USA)

I received these headphones as a Christmas gift and have only used them for about 2 weeks. The sound is good, and as long as my phone is in the same room I don't have any problems with the sound cutting out, which is good. However, the tip cover of the left earpiece fell off and is now loose and unable to stay on. There are several reviews that describe the same thing happening to them. I was told there was a 1 year warranty that only covers functional problems of the headphones and since this is a physical problem, they could not be replaced. You can get ahold of repair support to fix them but basically, they're just going to superglue it back together (in that case, anyone can do that without going through the trouble). Personally, I just feel like this problem shouldn't occur (especially after only a few weeks of use) for the price of the product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

OK....until you lose a ear tip...then junk

WI-SP500 01 February 2019 by Boseisthewaytogose (USA)

Worked OK until you no longer have a rubber ear bud tip. They split or fall off easily. If you do not have a ear bud tip then its worthless as it will not stay in your ear. Finding replacement tips makes this product garbage. First the part numbers make it difficult to know what you are buying since the right and left are different parts. Second they cost upwards of $13-15/each plus shipping. So if you are considering buying 1-2 pair you might as well buy another set of headphone!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

11

0

0

Sound is good but they hurt my ears to much to use

WI-SP500 29 January 2019 by Wendy16 (USA)

Bought these for my husband but he said they hurt to wear, I tried to use them and they are painful to wear and won't stay in very well. We tried both sizes on the earbud covers and neither made a difference. Second complaint is that the covers keep falling off and we have lost one set, can't seem to find replacements either.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

They slip out of your ear during workout

WI-SP500 24 January 2019  (USA)

I bought this last week and I hadn’t used them during workout until now. I noticed that they didn’t stay put in my ear during everyday activities, and just now I had to stop my workout because I could feel them slipping out! They definitely can’t deal with sweat, I have to adjust them every now and then so they don’t fall. Not happy with my purchase, since they aren’t supposedly designed for this purpose.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Great Music

WI-SP500 18 January 2019 by Adithya (United Kingdom)

I bought this during Christmas season. There were no test piece available even I bought this product. Sound: The sound quality is awesome, exactly with sony digital technology. I can ensure that the one who listens will get goosbumbs. Design: When coming to design, it's unique and the adjustments(play, pause, shuffle and call keys) are quitely designed and comfortable. With NFC technnology it's more easy to connect with upcominng smartphones. Fitting: I'd give 0/5 rating, one of the worst fitting ever I used till now. There were 2 different sizes given but none of them doesn't fit in ear perfectly. It iis designed for sports, but it gets out from the ear even performing simple head moves. Fitting is more important because one couldn't always adjust all time to get complete movie or sound experience. Sony should redesign or change the fitting issues atleast. Charge: The charge time is perfect, it takes 1.30 hours to charge and the bckup time is almost similar to 8 hours (I didn't count).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Sound Clarity, Smooth Bass

WI-SP500 09 January 2019 by Ryan_778899 (USA)

The sound clarity is good, the bass is smooth, comfort to use during sports, stylish and fashionable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

perfect sound and bass

WI-SP500 08 January 2019 by yamout (USA)

I bought these ear headphones, it's maybe not the perfect one to wear, but it has a perfect sound, its so clear and the bass is very good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great headphones, but will only last you months..

WI-SP500 05 January 2019 by wilma1 (USA)

I loved these headphones! they stayed in my ears during runs and the sound- quality was perfect for me. However, unfortunately the top bit (not on the right earbud where you charge, but on the left one) of the earphones started falling of after just 3 months of use, and I finally lost it yesterday, which left the wires exposed. It looks like this bit has just been superglued on, so I was hoping to find a replacement part, that I could glue on myself, but can't get a hold of one anywhere. The experience was good, but for only lasting 3 months, these headphones are really not worth the money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Christmas ruined

WI-SP500 04 January 2019 by Rpress38 (USA)

I had received them as a Christmas gift, wouldn't stay in ears. Very painful fit. Tried switching out the inserts and still wouldn't fit in ear.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Love them!

WI-SP500 31 December 2018 by HannahB21 (United Kingdom)

Really great headphones, stay in whilst running and great sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worst design on earbuds

WI-SP500 28 December 2018 by Bubba76 (USA)

Got these for Christmas and after 4 days, I still haven't figured how to keep them in short of super glue. Your products are usually fine but the designers must have very strange ears. Spock maybe???

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Worst earphones

WI-SP500 19 December 2018 by nik2 (USA)

I bought these 2 mo ago and the ear tips became loose soon after and fell off. Worst part is that they can't replace them or refund them.Sound quality is okay, not the best.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

0

Quite good

WI-SP500 09 December 2018 by Flappy asdf (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago great value and it is Bluetooth as well!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Value

WI-SP500 02 December 2018 by Rob 0996 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the headphones. Well made, really good for the active user. Great value. Can be used to take phone calls- my only issue with this is in windy conditions the other person struggles to hear me. the bass is not as heavy as other headsets I've used and the sound quality not as good. Could be louder but overall fantastic value.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worst fit. Can't be returned

WI-SP500 24 November 2018 by Neo1977 (USA)

I bought these headphones a month ago and although I am a fan of Sony products in general I was so disappointed to find out that not only these don't match my ears, they are painful to wear as well! I've tried in so many ways to wear them so they can be comfortable but they never fitted or stayed on during my runnings. Can't take them back to store either since I used them and won't be returned for hygiene reasons. What a waste! Money in the bin... So frustrated.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

0

best headphone ever

WI-SP500 17 November 2018 by Mahjan18 (USA)

I love it because it’s not earbud and I can hear my surrounding when I go out running

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

They were great while they worked.

WI-SP500 15 November 2018 by beahbeah (USA)

I hadn't even had these two months before they malfunctioned. When they worked they were awesome though. Good sound, stayed in my ears during long runs, never had connectivity issues. But the power button unfortunately shorted out. It wouldn't let me power them off no matter how long I held the power button. So I left them powered on and let them lose charge until they were dead, then fully charged them hoping they would work again. But now I can't turn them on, the power button is just done. Very disappointed. For the price, I expected them to last a lot longer than two months.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

They were ok when they worked

WI-SP500 23 October 2018 by BrookeGrace (USA)

Have only owned for a couple of months. The left ear stopped working and then eventually the headphones stopped charging.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Nice sound

WI-SP500 21 October 2018 by Jahson (USA)

Good battery life,good sound. Too bulky,want stay in ears. Too bad took immediately back. Purchased the beats X.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Need improvement

WI-SP500/PQ E 15 October 2018 by Celest (Singapore)

This In-ear design is not suitable for me after using it , bluetooth function can't work properly with Samsung Note 4, as for Note 5 intermittent connection error. Luckily , both worked on NFC but need to wait a while before it connected. Hope that bluetooth function can be improve and have clip or carrying holder to safeguard the headphones.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

uncomfy

WI-SP500 02 October 2018 by Michaela123456789 (United Kingdom)

i received these as a present and have used them twice they make my ears really sore and are too large even with the "smalll" attachments. unfortunately due to the nature of product i assume i am unable to return - plus dont have box anymore.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

0

Great running earphones

WI-SP500 02 October 2018 by Olap (USA)

I bought them last week and already managed to run some 50 KM with them, the longest run being 22 KM. They fit me good and I encountered no problem whatsoever. Recommended for runners.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Review SP500

WI-SP500 21 September 2018 by MarkC (USA)

Good sound, but THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE Ear buds EVER!! What good is the nice sound if you cannot use the earbuds

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

6

1

0

Worst Headphones I've ever used

WI-SP500 14 September 2018  (USA)

I purchased these at the airport before a trip. These are no better than the cheap $5.99 earbuds you can pick up at wally world. They are also the most uncomfortable earbuds ive ever put in my ears. The ear bud is the old large round circle style from the early 90's that came with the foam cover, except these use a silicone cover. I dont think i will purchase sony earbuds or headphones ever again. Quality is the same as the $5.99 wally world specials.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

great value

WI-SP500 22 August 2018 by MAZZA69 (United Kingdom)

DONT GET ON WITH CHEAP EAR PIECES SO THESE ARE AN EXCELLENT FIT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Very comfortable!

WI-SP500 16 August 2018 by Julio Nevado (USA)

I use it on my iphone and the quality is better than earpods headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Muted

WI-SP500 01 August 2018 by Goldentunez (USA)

I muted my headphones how do I unmute them I been using them 3veryday love it

1

0

0

HORRIBLE

WI-SP500 31 May 2018 by Zeeman40 (USA)

Returned my third pair of XB50's within a 7 month time frame and Sony substituted with this. Despite all the quality issues I had with the XB50 such as the device melting while charging at least it stayed in my ears. This doesn't! I've tried both tips and studied the correct placement and they still constantly fall out of both ears. Worse, even when they are in place they feel like they're about to fall out. It's just a bad design...at least for me. Sending them back and it's I could I'd give this headset 0 stars

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Uhh.....

WI-SP500 28 May 2018 by Capt_Obvious (USA)

How is it Jaybird can make lighter, better fitting, better sounding wireless headphones with a couple different ways to wear for max comfort, and Sony makes an inferior sounding earbug that feels like I am holding the handles end of a wooden spoon in my ears?!? I mean really....

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

9

0

Great headphones

WI-SP500 21 May 2018 by Anlov (USA)

Great headphones on my taste. In my, not so big, kind of ears it fits almost perfect. I can bear them for few hours without any noticeable discomfort. Do not fall out during training. Sound quality is pretty good as expected from Sony, pretty loud, battery is hardy, looks - stylish. The guy above mentioned that external sound suppression is not perfect - it's true, but on my side that is a plus, because I looked for such headphone that will allow to hear passing cars. That "problem" can be notice only outdoors, in flat you can enjoy music without any distractions of TV or something... In the end I'm satisfied by that buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant - comfortable and stable in ear

WI-SP500 19 May 2018 by Jamieson23 (USA)

These are fantastic. sound quality is hard to fault - great dynamic range across all tiers. Sit extremely flush in my ear, are not intrusive like most modern day in ear phones, they are comfortable, stable, could use them all day no worries. best value for money. sony delivers again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not great!

WI-SP500 11 May 2018 by ydankwa (United Kingdom)

I purchased this because I use the public transport 98% and the other 2% on foot. I could hardly hear any music when I was crossing the road or in a reasonably noisy place. The ear bud is big and even though I used the small cover my inner ear still hurt. Totally disappointed. Eventually I had to return this.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

4

15

0

it hurts my ear

WI-SP500 10 April 2018 by hellbong (USA)

cool looks, good sound, but it hurts my ear so bad. haven't used this kind of hard plastic type in-ear headphone so long and forgot how painful it gets after half n hour of use. Sony makes great in-ear headphone that much comfortable and i can use all day. this one is NOT...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

4