210

4.0 based on 210 customer reviews

100
61
22
7
20
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Brill sound

8GB 26 November 2016 by keithie 207 (United Kingdom)

Had a walkman when it was tapes this one is avast impovement

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Gone bad to worse

8GB 18 July 2016 by shadowflare88 (Singapore)

Cons: 1) Display is not as vibrant and clear as the old model 2) Unable to create playlist straight from windows explorer. Have to go through tedious process through windows media player by syncing music. 3) Fewer functions as compared to old model, e.g. no podcast. 4) Feels very plastic and cheap for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

210 Customer Reviews

0

Small, compact and does what it says on the box,

8GB 12 May 2019 by RedRose1 (United Kingdom)

Bought this as an aid to sleep and boy does it work!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Infuriating.

8GB 09 May 2019 by pennyforthem (United Kingdom)

Bought at the weekend to free up memory on my Ipod. I am over 50 but not completely stupid but have had so much trouble downloading and syncing my music. Last sync completely wiped the previously downloaded music. The instructions , what instructions! Not impressed. I have music on Ipod, memory sticks, phone & memory cards why is it so difficult to transfer music to this player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great features all round.

8GB 08 May 2019 by frenchchunkie (United Kingdom)

I bought this for the wife to replace iPod shuffle. Well pleased with it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

8GB 08 May 2019 by Trefferd (United Kingdom)

This is compact very light and easy to use. It fits in my pocket as i am working in the garden.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good mp3 player

8GB 03 May 2019 by BrianEm (United Kingdom)

I make m,y own recordings and this mp3 player makes transfer simple via my computer, The Apple mp3 players are difficult to upload to.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Bought as present for wife.

8GB 02 May 2019 by Mike 44 (United Kingdom)

Bought this as a direct replacement for a much older model-does everything that is requires of it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good sound

8 GB 26 April 2019 by rikka (USA)

the only bad issue is my previous MP3 Walkman Sony discontinued the battery and it was a 16gb with over 2000 songs. boo Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Frustrating functionality, poor sound quality

8GB 24 April 2019 by Cicely (United Kingdom)

GOOD-ish Attaching the device to the PC is simple. No software required; the device becomes an external drive. It's easy to see where music tracks go (or photos should you wish to use it for that). You can create as many folders as you like, but the number of layers is limited – full details in user guide. Must be connected to PC to move/delete files. Finding tracks is pretty easy: you can browse through track name, album name (if this exists in the file metadata), or folders you create yourself (using your PC). The device takes a while to scroll through lengthy filenames. This can be frustrating when looking through a folder dedicated to one artist where all the tracks look the same until you select them. It plays MP3s *and* M4A (AAC or MP4audio) files – the latter being higher quality but larger files. So it's your choice if you want more tracks or higher quality. The playlist sync function is useless to me because I don't use iTunes. And yet it should work, as the music app Banshee on my PC claims to sync with anything apart from Apple idevices. Battery life: after two weeks using it about 1.5 hours / day it was down to 25%; after three weeks the battery symbol flashed empty. So the advertised 35 hours is about right. Given the choice, I prefer removable rechargeable batteries, so I can have a spare set ready charged. However, the internal battery keeps it lightweight. In practice this device seems to last a decent time and is easy enough to charge using the same mini-USB as my mobile and e-book reader – about 30mins gives it a whiz charge but if you're playing it meanwhile it insists on keeping its screen lit, just to squander the charge. Doesn't show when it's finished charging; the battery symbol continues filling. Tactile stud on play/pause button helps orient your fingers to operate it without looking but buttons can be unresponsive. There is a beep option but that can get irritating. POOR Before putting the earphones in your ears, connect them to the device and turn it on. For some reason it powers up with an explosion in the earphones which you don't want in your ears. It claims to offer 8GB of file space, actually 7.17GB, even after deleting the supplied tracks. The radio can find only two stations; my windup wireless can find at least a dozen. A low resolution TFT screen?! Good in the 1990s, if you're playing Tetris. There is a pictorial quickstart guide included, but the full user guide is online, and pretty irritating to use. Somebody has had lots of fun making it into a pointless 3-layer hierarchy of dozens of pages, each with just three bullet points. One PDF document of about four pages would've been much more readable. The included earphones are of a low audio standard and allow lots of background noise. The design means they rest in your ears, so any movement and they fall out. The volume warning is actually a volume setting warning: it flashes at a particular number, regardless of the recording volume. Most of all, the sound quality is poor, even with supposedly better quality earphones. It lacks clarity, and fiddling with the graphic equaliser doesn't help. My old Sony digital voice recorder had far better playback. So disappointed I have returned this to the retailer for a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

So very easy to use.

8GB 09 April 2019 by Gershy (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Walkman a month ago, and it does everything that I need to record and playback. An excellent buy. Simple to use, compact, and good sound. What more can you want.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Handy

8GB 31 March 2019 by Assassin (United Kingdom)

This sony walkman music player has great sound, is very light but strong, and a nice size for the pocket

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loss of confidence

8GB 28 March 2019 by Sydpops (United Kingdom)

I bought this product a month ago following a great time with the previous model NWZ E585. However this version has a much shorter battery life between charges. I would hope to have the first model repaired and perhaps keep this one as a backup.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

complicated

8GB 24 March 2019 by ChicaPelle (United Kingdom)

I could not download any music from the internet, the controls were to small and the instructions were very vague, i took the item back for a refund

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Compact and easy to use

8GB 20 March 2019 by musicbunny1 (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with my purchase, qood quality sound, stylish and compact design and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good little walkman

8GB 19 March 2019 by robertybob (United Kingdom)

does what it needs to do easy for a pensioner of my age to use just wish the volume would stay the same when increasing it instead of going back to lowest setting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Walkman.

8GB 17 March 2019 by pawTFL (United Kingdom)

I have only just bought the product and from first use appears to be very good. It was more expensive than others but want to have a name that I knew and trusted.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Ideal item

8GB 14 March 2019 by WJJ50 (United Kingdom)

item is just what I want it to do, Very pleased with product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use.

8GB 07 March 2019 by skitty (United Kingdom)

I bought this a short time ago as there are fewer cars with CD players these days. Not being too technically minded I have found it simple to add the music and to use in the car. Good product to have if you don't have a smart phone for your music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple graphic instructions.

4GB 01 March 2019 by Blue2ooth (United Kingdom)

No better company when running 10k. Impressive battery life.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this product

8GB 09 February 2019 by Silkygirl (United Kingdom)

I had been looking for an MP3 player for a while adnI am really happy that I found and bought this one. It is light and easy to use once I had worked out how to sync tunes to it from my computer. I use it every day . The battery life is good, the sound is good. the storage is fantastic. I absolutely LOVE my MP3 player thamk you Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

NW 394

8GB 08 February 2019 by Gerorge (United Kingdom)

I Bought it other week it is very good sound on it also good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good product, but very small

8GB 06 February 2019 by 55555555555555 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use, good sound, good memory, not as good as previous ipod

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Disappointed

8GB 03 February 2019 by Dannyboy4 (United Kingdom)

Very flimsy, buttons are tempremental and battery does not last long. The instruction sheet is very poor and needs much more information on.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Disappointing Version

8GB 03 February 2019 by Oldmanwalkman (United Kingdom)

Been a Walkman user for many years but the software and playback are poor on this version. No continuous playback from start point, slow to switch between songs, AVLS reset when you go to use it every time and worst of all, AVLS resets in the middle of play back. My previous Walkman worked in all these areas without issue. Also, it freezes and the only way to unfreeze is to attach a cable, or wait till rebuilds the library, and it is a lightweight black plastic and not metal like others.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

dont know will not charge

8GB 01 February 2019 by 1974misty (United Kingdom)

boght today and it will not charge up. canot comment on anything because it does not charge up

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

very easy to use even for an older person

8GB 31 January 2019 by scooter boy (United Kingdom)

had an archos for years this more superior to use sounds better

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Useful

8GB 31 January 2019 by fossill (United Kingdom)

Nice little unit but would be nice if set up and operating manual was included

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Walkman digital music player

8GB 21 January 2019 by geodar (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a replacement for the NWZ-E585 which i have had for many years. This new one is slightly lighter but the screen is smaller with less functions. It does have a base function and an equlizer function and a FM Radio. The sound is good even with the provided headphones. Settings are easy to use and the download of music is very easy, click and drag into the music file. I have given this 4 stars because the feel of it is not as good as the other Walkman I purchased many years ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent compact

8GB 19 January 2019 by Maxwell1234 (United Kingdom)

Was a great present, am pleased with sound quality, battery life and features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

delighted

8GB 16 January 2019 by gordo52 (United Kingdom)

bought for me as a present. I must say I am delighted, I have loaded my own taste in music . plus having radio access is just perfect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy for technophobe mum

8GB 15 January 2019 by LETW (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my 8 year old daughter who wanted to have a radio and device where she could listen to audio books. As I don't use much technology, I was a bit nervous it might be difficult, but the drag and drop software has been simple to use and we have been able to load up all the audio CDs we haven't been able to use since new cars stopped having CD players. We can also use the downloads from the local library so it's very good value, and we can plug it into the car and listen to all our talking books again. Brilliant.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

simple to use .seems good quality

8GB 15 January 2019 by Bigger al (United Kingdom)

Idea for travelling simple to use no battery needed

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Dissapointed

16 GB 10 January 2019 by Ahg13219 (USA)

Has a very cheap feel and the display is grainy. This is something like you would pickup at Walmart for 20.00. For the price ($76.00) its just not worth it. Seriously thinking about returning it. Sound quality is good but doesn't make up for the rest of the issues compared to price. Rather have a refurbished Ipod Touch. Sony is going backwards with quality.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excelent music player

8GB 08 January 2019 by xxxxxxxccxccc (United Kingdom)

Excelent easy to use good very good music player mp3

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great item

4GB 08 January 2019 by Liliank (United Kingdom)

Received fir Christmas gift, love it, very versatile and compact. Much better than Apple one, had one if these and cannot get it repaired just instructed to purchase new one which makes for a very exspensive hobby!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliantly easy to use

8GB 05 January 2019 by Dickiesing (United Kingdom)

Got this as a present and I'm so impressed with the features and capacity Great for taking with you anywhere, small but not on the range of controls you have at your fingertips.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

8GB 05 January 2019 by John Boy 70 (United Kingdom)

Found that the program was easy to download and add to the Walkman

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent buy

8GB 02 January 2019 by Suzy1 (United Kingdom)

Good value for money , with a great sound. I found it easy to install on my Mac. Great product, just what I needed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0