262

3.8 based on 262 customer reviews

120
58
24
19
41
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed

CFD-S70 26 February 2020 by NYLady (USA)

Thought this Sony boombox would last longer then the cheaper ones I had in the past but the same problem happened. I listen to books on cd's because of eye problem. The sound is great, nice looking item. Eventually when placing a clean cd the boombox said NO CD. No matter which cd I tried I got the same message. The cd's played in other players but not this one. This part of the boombox is not warrantied. Now I have a boombox that only plays tapes and radio. For the price and life of the boombox cd player I I might as well buy 2 cheaper machines which would last longer. Also, I would like to know why put black buttons on a black cabinet making them harder to read.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

262 Customer Reviews

0

Love it

CFD-S70 17 August 2021 by Devil Angel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was well pleased with this item. I can now play my tapes and CDs after 3 years and the sound is great. Price very reasonable as well. My only issue is changing tracks on a CD, its probably me but i find this a bit difficult. Overall i can't really fault it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent quality

CFD-S70 27 July 2021 by Jeanjeanniet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a cd player which would play mp3 files, also have a tape player and be able to work on battery power. Not only that I wanted it to be reliable. Asking too much? Not with this purchase. The radio is a great bonus. Very pleased I chose it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor design causes problems

CFDS70BLK 03 July 2021 by JRDEN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The boombox is solid black. Yet, the labeling for all function buttons/keys is also in black. This makes it impossible to see and read what the function is! And do not expect the "directions" to make much sense, either.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Ease of use

CFDS70BLK 29 May 2021 by tod4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We purchased this a little over two weeks ago to replace a unit that was no longer working. It has been a pleasure to use so far. Sound is nice and ease of use has been appreciated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

CFDS70BLK 18 May 2021 by Ms Zaturn Love (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love all my Sony products. The sound on this CD/Cassette Boombox is phenomenal. I have enjoyed listening to my music from Beyonce to John Coltrane. The price, durability that I will see in the future and the ease of use works for me. I am so happy that I purchase this product and the fact that I have no Blue Tooth interference makes this an excellent buy for my home.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

CD/Cassette Boombox with Radio

CFD-S70/BC SP5 01 May 2021 by mfws0825 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy to spotted it at Besk Denki store, all my cassette and CD is finally out from the storage box

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exactly what I wanted.

CFDS70BLK 22 April 2021 by CaptBW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything works as expected. I love my new Boombox.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Basic Boombox

CFD-S70 09 April 2021 by King Willie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my wife to replace her very old Awia boombox which she used in our conservatory for cd and tape use. This unit is much smaller with only 1,7watt speakers so the performance and sound quality is much reduced in comparison, but the trend these days is for streaming music on Spotify etc. so there is no market for making a quality tape deck or CD player. However if you have old tapes and cd's it does the job reasonably well. We have a quality twin tape deck/amplifier/cdplayer in our main lounge if we need to listen with high fidelity sound. It does what it says on the tin to a quality that reflects the price of the unit in comparison an expensive sound system. The radio reception and tuning was perfect for our area with all presets working fine. 3 favourite channels was enough for my wife as she only listens to Classic FM and Radio Scotland. The unit is quite flimsy in construction so we do not expect the same durability as the old Awia, but nothing is but to last these days unless you purchase top quality more expensive equipment.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Works well

CFD-S70 01 April 2021 by Deb491 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought a few weeks ago for my dad. Radio tape and cd work great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0