597

4.3 based on 597 customer reviews

328
173
44
25
27
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera, Reasonable Price

DSCW830 02 October 2014 by EdMac (USA)

Picked up this camera when we accidently left our primary camera at home. Camera has proven to take great pictures and videos. Compact size is a plus - easy to carry in the supplied carrying case. Light weight and buttons are easy to press (even with my big fingers!). Battery life is long (we bought a spare battery but never have had to use it). The battery charging time was short. Wish the USB cord (for charging or pic transfer) was longer. The online manual is ok but would have been nice to have a printed one when we first got it as a quick reference; however, the camera's controls and on-screen menu are fairly intuitive and the learning curve was short. The included 8 gig memory card had plenty of space for all our pics. Wanted a black case but store only had silver - no big deal. My only issue is with the Sony online photo/video editing software. Not very user friendly or intuitive but I'm using other software until I figure it out.

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

UNFORTUNATELY, DISSAPOINTED

DSCW830 29 September 2014  (USA)

I was very excited when I first got this camera. I set it up right away, took some pics around the house and out at the park to test it out. Seemed to work fine. Couldn't wait to use it on our summer vacation, which was actually why we'd bought it for in the first place. But, when the moment of truth came it was definately not what I expected. Doesn't capture movement any better. Although, it does capture nice pics when you're out in broad daylight. Nonetheless, at someplaces, like at the aquarium the pics came out dark (eventhough the flash was on) and also, very out of focus. I felt it let me down, I was unable to take good-looking pics of the shark tank...that was a real bummer. Another thing about the camera is that when I'm looking at the pics I've taken this message appears on a blue screen "cannot display file" for some pics. Eventhough when I hook it up to the computer all the pics are in fact in the card. I also have to say that I used to have another model of a sony camera and it had a lot of the same issues. I went ahead with Sony once again because I liked to believe it's a brand I could trust. It's all very dissappointing

7

0

597 Customer Reviews

0

What a pain

DSCW830 25 January 2021 by bob7thousandand 1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 & 4 years ago. It was registered on my old computer. I don't have a proof of purchase from that time so please excuse me from that. I am just trying to down load some photos.

0

0

0

Not 20 Megapixel Images

DSC-W830 24 January 2021 by mfhalb (USA)

Over the course of four years I've been through two of these. Oddly, the first one lasted much longer before succumbing to the Utah dust. Although image quality never equaled my partner's iPhone, My Little Sony was smaller and cheaper. When the first one gave out research disclosed it was STILL the best choice for the money. But I was disappointed when it pooped out after only six months. Same issue: the lens had increasing problems while focusing and retracting (at shutdown) and eventually just stopped. The zoom is amazing and the video is pretty good too. But given the increased susceptibility to dust of the newer model, I can't recommend it, unless, of course, you're somewhere where there's no dust. Two stars for good intentions.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic - Once I got to grips with it

DSC-W830 02 January 2021 by locolady (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First I need to say that I have never had a camera before - I am 60. It has taken months for me to 'get-to-grips' with the camera simply because of my perception of the lack of 'use' information (i.e. manual). and my own ignorance, so experimenting has been the order of the day. Now I have even the basics to work I have to say this camera is a little gem! It is light weight, easy to use and the battery lasts really well - but I do have to say here that in the early weeks I did not use the camera a lot. The more I get to know this camera - the more I like it. As a complete novice I love the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great!

DSC-W830 12 December 2020  (USA)

Pretty Good the photo is 750p l wanted 1080p but it is still ok!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Digital Camera

DSC-W830 05 December 2020 by EasterRoad1980 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent purchase which I am extremely pleased with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camera

DSC-W830 27 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife wanted a good camera for trips out that could fit easily into a handbag or pocket without the need for a separate "piece of luggage". She had used an earlier version of this model that worked well for years and so decided to purchase again. So far seems to fit the bill.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good starter camera

DSC-W830 27 September 2020 by Cfc 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this camera brought by my wife and its replacement for my old broken one a good starter ca8

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed

DSC-W830 24 August 2020 by Brian212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was trying to move away from using my phone as a camera and thought this would be good. But I guess the processing power in a phone compensates for so much. The pictures were often blurred and it took an age to take a single picture. I really expected better from Sony.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Great Improvement

DSC-W830 17 August 2020 by Phat Tony (United Kingdom)

Looking for a new small camera and remembered the time when I had the Sony W200 when I saw this camera advertised. Just had to have it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fine camera

DSC-W830 31 July 2020 by Cyril514 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was bought to replace an earlier models the same camera which I’d damaged

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

DSC-W830 30 July 2020 by TonyDy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a replacement for one that died. I am generally pleased but disappointed that it does not have a macro facility. It does, however, have a close focus of about 5cm so is almost as good as a macro setting. \the image quality is very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice camera but display needs heavier protection

DSCW830 23 July 2020 by Mustang03 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this for my backup travel camera, unfortunately on the first trip the display failed, I assume it was damaged being carried in a pocket, I think it needs a heavier plastic cover over the screen since there is no viewfinder. It worked fine for the 3 weeks it lasted, its off to be repaired now.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat , with all the features i wanted

DSC-W830 21 July 2020 by Delilah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Looks good and takes great pics . I wanted an "easy to use " simple camera for fishing photo`s . It needed to be compact , had a timer and screw fitting underneath ( this was really difficult to discover and even Sony`s web site did not show or state there was one .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

new camera

DSC-W830 17 July 2020 by wee fatman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had to replace my old camera which was damaged while on holiday i found this camera very easy to use and handy as it fits into my pocket very easily operating it is very simple and gives very quality results very satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not to bad

DSC-W830 10 July 2020 by Tattie man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it as a replacement find it a bit on the small side

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

all the different modes means whatever the picture

DSC-W830 02 July 2020 by David St Helens fan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

this camera has different modes this means whatever the picture you are taking there is a setting to help from macro to infinity

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Handy and great photos

DSC-W830 29 June 2020 by The Huzz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Gréât zoom lightweight quality pictures. Simple to Operate

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera, but tricky charging connection

DSC-W830 15 June 2020 by xxxyyyzzz (United Kingdom)

I have now had THREE of these cameras but they have a tricky charging connection which you have to be VERY careful with - otherwise I would only have had one !! Got my money back on the previous one - same fault as usual -could no longer charge it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No good with CCD sensor

DSC-W830 12 June 2020 by US Resident (USA)

Never a good camera with CCD sensor even with zeiss lens. Take blurry pictures. Same quality but much cheaper on a Kodak FZ53. Kodak reigns on this sector. The only thing Sony could remind me is the invasion of Pearl Harbor by Japanese empire.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Good Camera

DSCW830 08 June 2020 by Maria Jose Rosa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My brother bought the Sony camera for me. It's a good camera but not perfect. You can use your Sony Camera to upload photos on social media sites like Facebook and Twitter. You can upload videos on Facebook and YouTube but I'm disappointed I couldn't use my Sony camera to upload videos at Twitter. I could only use my Sony camera to upload photos at Twitter. If you can use your Sony camera to upload photos at Facebook and Twitter than I'm sure it works fine for Instagram too but I wouldn't know! I also don't like the fact that I need to have Play Memories to upload photos and videos into my computer. I can't upload photos and videos into my computer without using Play Memories, so I think my Sony camera is a good camera but it's not perfect, so I'm giving Sony at three!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Samart looking compact camera

DSC-W830 27 May 2020 by Gen 5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera a couple of weeks, and only taken a few snaps with it. First impressions good, but not quite sure about colour correctness.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

A useful wee asset

DSC-W830 22 March 2020 by Eejit (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had to buy a camera to upload photos on a form. This one served the purpose admirably. Would have helped if the memory card had been included.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great camera

DSC-W830 22 February 2020 by aaaa22122 (USA)

Everything about it is great. The images (if you are in a bright enough environment), the video, they are all really good. The only problem being that the on/off button feels too sloppy. Having to push an entire finger in or using fingernails just doesn’t feel enjoyable. Beside that, everything is perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camera

DSC-W830/BC E32 10 February 2020 by ELANGOVAN (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Weight less and good quality......................

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0