108

4.5 based on 108 customer reviews

68
28
9
1
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20 April 2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Beware of Overheating Issues.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23 February 2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to love it but, while setting it up along with a YouTube video last night it overheated in an hour and turned off. Had to extend the overheating threshold. This was without videoing or taking multiple pictures. Just set up, I want to love it but this frightens me. Hopefully this can be fixed with an update SOON!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

115 Customer Reviews

0

Best ergonomics ever!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 15 May 2022 by Dr Panos (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently and I am impressed by the level of customization you can have in this camera. Within minutes, everything was so intuitive... I can just think about the photos now and not about the camera settings. Also, I haven't seen autofocus working like that... Simply amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 May 2022 by footprint photography (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera as an extra body to support my Sony Alpha 1. There are some features (the articulated back for one) that I wish was on the A1. Only had the camera a week or so but so far it is an excellent camera. The 10fps is a bit slow for action but for things like weddings or events it should be superb. My wife and I both enjoy using it and the images that come out of the sensor are stunningly good. The 4k video is equally good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Grey camera.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 14 May 2022 by Daniel75d (United Kingdom)

Perfect, I am really happy. The only thing missing Video side is a video raw out, even only 25p. That can give a really Hight value to this camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Eye focus should be called eyelash focus.

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 May 2022 by Cashman2112 (United Kingdom)

Really annoyed that I went for the A74 over the A73. It seemed like a no brainer and after owning a A72 and I really was looking forward to having great Eye AF on my new camera. Really annoyed that even after the firmware update it’s still front focusing on most shots.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great hybrid camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 May 2022 by Mpnde (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera on back order and it was well worth the wait. The image coming out of this camera is phenomenonal, and the eye autofocus is crisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 07 May 2022 by Jono12 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few weeks ago still getting used to it after a move from Canon. Overall a great camera although the updating of firmware leaves something to be desired

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05 May 2022 by Domotions (United Kingdom)

Bought this one and really happy with it. Good quality images.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Overall Great Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05 May 2022 by JBinx (United Kingdom)

Had this for about a month and it’s brilliant, image quality is best in class and the features are plentiful. The cons are the overheating, the crop in 4k 60 (not the biggest issue though) and I’d of liked there to be 2 of the same dual card slot with the Type A CFexpress as they’re fast. But I get why there’s just the one of those.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Disappointed in video mode over heats

Body Only 05 May 2022 by Erimages (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because of it’s hybrid build. Good for photography, however when using it for video it is very disappointing due to the over heating issues. Even in an aircon room, it is heating up really fast, although still operational in air conditioned environment. The A7iv performance in outdoor is terrible as it gets overheat within 5 minutes in a hot sunny weather, even when Auto power off is set to high. Making it unusable for video functions outdoor. Will only recommend for photo. Unless a firmware update is able to fix the heat issues.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Reliable

ilce-7m4-uc2 04 May 2022 by Apocalipsis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has been such an amazing gift for Christmas. I have had it for almost 2 years and it has been so reliable and useful. If you needed to upgrade to a camera that gives stunning results this is a good starting camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04 May 2022 by Den101 (United Kingdom)

My wife got me this camera at Xmas and it’s fantastic in each and every way . Highly recommend. And a great price to boot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor image quality

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 04 May 2022 by moldova1959 (United Kingdom)

I received this a couple of weeks ago and I have to say I am not impressed, my a7iii produces better images, I have used both cameras with the same lens and settings and the a7iv is very poor, images are darker and not as sharp as the a7iii. I dont know if it is a fault with the camera or not but I dont think I will be keeping it.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great for Video

Body Only 30 April 2022 by tvnath (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was waiting for Sony a7Siii, but the set of specs in that camera is an overkill for me. a7iv is just right in the price and features for me who use the camera mainly for video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

OK BUT NOT AS ADVERTISED SO FAR

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28 April 2022 by derekseaward (United Kingdom)

I bought this especially for the Sony quality I have with my a7r but unfortunately it doesn't shoot RAW tethered

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

A Really Good Full Frame Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 27 April 2022 by ThadeusB (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera for a short time. However, with the lenses I bought with it I am getting superb results - beautiful A3+ prints. It took a while to learn the menu system, however, it is layed out fairly logically. The camera is easy to set up for custom modes and I love the 'Back Focus' button, a great feature for wildlife photography. What is missing: focus stacking and bracketing for modes other than exposure. The overall quality is superb. I am growing to love this camera. My next purchase will be the FE 200-600mm G OSS lens. I have yet to use it for video. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What an upgrade !

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 20 April 2022 by Santesson_89 (United Kingdom)

I updated from the A7III and I couldn't be happier, the camera responsiveness is fantastic, the flip screen makes life so much easier and tons of other features will make you appreciate the camera even more !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Exceeded my expectations

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 April 2022 by WildernessWays (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a month ago although I always had this camera in mind from before it was even released. Seeing all the specs announced it looked to meet everything I personal need from a camera. The A7iv does not disappoint. Super happy with my camera and all the customisation it offers. The mode dial is a blessing for what I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Much simpler and more intuitive

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 April 2022 by Bathboy2 (United Kingdom)

A while ago I bought an A7C as a travel camera and was really impressed with the quality of the images and the ease of use compared to my A7Riii. When I read the reviews of the A7IV I decided to bite the bullet and sell my A7Riii and get the newly launched A7IV. No regrets whatsoever. The camera seems to be so simple to use to get great images. Also the new menu structure means no hunting around for changes. I particularly like the separation into 2 dials of the main setting wheel. I don't take video so just leave it on the still phot and don't have to worry. The autofocus is so quick and reliable. An image attached form my first outing with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great Birds eye sensing feature

Body Only 09 April 2022 by Shiang K A (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought Sony A4 for bird shooting which I get from the additional feature of Bird eyes sensing So far able to capture most of the targeting on the eyes

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great hybrid camera for the enthusiasts

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 06 April 2022 by N Emes (United Kingdom)

I love the upgrade from my previous A7 III. If you only take photos the A7 III is still a very capable alternative and save money towards a decent lens. But if you do videos as well this is hands down the better option, just shame about the crop mode 4K 60 hence the 4stars instead of 5, I`ve owned 2previous generations of Sony cameras and I believe it was about time not to cripple any features on a new model in 2022.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very MORDEN band

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 03 April 2022 by dougals dad (United Kingdom)

I filmed a young band it was the best video i have ever filmed could not believe the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great but still not enough.

Body Only 02 April 2022 by T2e07 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's my first sony camera and I love the features. But from the price point and current Era, it should comes with better LCD, blackout free evf and higher frame rate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best hybrid camera ever made

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 01 April 2022 by Gabrielcraciun67 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and is the best decision iade as a photographer. The camere has great feature, great autofocus, great button placements, and lots and lots of customization. I love how the camera feels in my hands, while having a very good grip of the camera, so i feel confident when holding it, even woth heavier and longer lenses. Great picture quality, great video quality, a bit dissapointed on the x1 crop but this is just one con for me, the camera has plenty of pros.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 28 March 2022 by janeyD100 (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a week or so, but immediately impressed by superior speed and accuracy of focusing - esp face recognition. Only thing i dont like as much as the 7M3 is the screen - bit awkward - found M3 much better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love Love Love

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 28 March 2022 by Traffik (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Almost 2 weeks in and I’m loving all the features of this Camera and the crisp photos and videos it takes. It also has great build quality because it is fully weather sealed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera so far

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 25 March 2022 by draganmikki (United Kingdom)

I am new to Sony photographic equipment, and with my limited experience so far I am comfortable in saying that this camera possess the best auto focusing of all cameras I have owned and worked with. I am almost certain the the dynamic range of the sensor is the best I have experienced. Small form factor is appealing feature but for the comfortable handling, when using the most of the Sony lenses, the battery grip is necessary. Quality of the images is beyond my expectations. I do find the menu quite complicated, coming from different systems, but with so many features, and being the hybrid camera, this might be the price to pay. I would not describe the ease of operating the camera as the easiest amongst the more established professional brands, but I approached this camera as a tool more akin to being designed by and for, a contemporary user without modern outlook on photography. So far, I am very happy with the purchase. My views are solely based on photographic use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

17

0

Simply Awesome

ilce-7m4-uc2 24 March 2022 by Sam254 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A7IV is like a baby A1. Works perfect. The image quality is Amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best hybrid camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 24 March 2022 by KristianCapuliak (United Kingdom)

So far I bought this camera week ago and it did exceeded all of my expectations. Excellent video performance, excellent photo performance, great menu system coming from previous generation camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

41

0

JACK OF ALL TRICKS BUT MASTER OF SOME.

ilce-7m4-uc2 20 March 2022 by Jll35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

used this camera for a month now. I'm a sony user of A72,A7R3, A7C, A6600, A6400, A6500,and A6300. Patiently Watch sony improve thier camera with each reneration. My main reason for using sony now is the unlimited recording that help me to do long event plus some photos section. I know there are other company that have unlimited recording time. But AF is also important to me. I have mix feeling using A74 when it come down to video. It's amazing in photos mode. But in video mode, the camera get very hot to touch after an hr or more recording which I did not experienced in A7C or A6600. Even in 4k 420 8bit. And for some strange reason. When I plugged the power bank to extend my record time. The camera overheat even faster then it would have with just the battery. So it actually shorten your recording time with usb-c attached on it. And I cannot record higher then 1080p 60p in S&Q mode with v30 card. Where I was able to record that with A7c and a6600. Over all. This is still a very good hybrid camera. However if you are planning to record any long form in 4k. You should know that overheating is still an issue. YES. I SET THE TEMP. HIGH ON IN THE MENU.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

My first Sony

Body Only 16 March 2022 by Amazing camera (Singapore)

The AutoFocus is amazingly fast and the camera features and functions are just outstanding.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera for Photographer

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 14 March 2022 by Masst (United Kingdom)

I have used Sony camera in last 4 Years. I am very happy and at the moment I am using Sony A 9 and I was waiting for A7 IV to come and now I bought this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

128

43

0

Nice new features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 13 March 2022 by 4wdcowboy (United Kingdom)

Coming from A7iii and A7Siii I soon got to grips with most of the features but some of the new things in A7iv are useful and quite impressive. The Focus breathing compensation and Focus Mapping are good examples It's quite difficult to seriously bring up any niggles but batter goes down faster than the A7ii and the 50/60fps 4k crop which makes what is my default option on A7Siii sometimes is annoying. I wonder if there is any way to add a further file quality option which does away with that at expense of some resolution. Anyway great new camera and do hope that focus map at least makes its way to A7Siii too by firmware update

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

19

0

The camera I’ve been waiting for

Body Only 08 March 2022 by rahul131 (Singapore)

After using my a6400 for a couple years I needed something for my pro shoots - this camera is amazing for that. It’s a beast for portraits, and as long as you shoot compressed raw it’s pretty good for sports too. 10FPS at 33Mp is a balance between quantity and manageability of files. Bird Eye AF and real time tracking work amazingly. I used it to track pro swimmers at a meet and it instantly locked focus where it needed to (esp with the new 70-200 F/2.8 attached). My advice: if you’re upgrading from APSC or another ecosystem, get this. However if you already have an A7iii or A7C maybe hold off as those are still excellent cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07 March 2022 by D8rters (United Kingdom)

I decided to upgrade from my A mount to a mirrorless E Mount and chose this product as my replacement. I chose this is it had an upgrade in the megapixels, a new menu system and more functionality than my old one. It also had 2 card slots, so that I couls set one up as RAW and the other as a backup in Jpeg. I also like the ability to charge 2 batteries ( I also own a grip) via the USB C slot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

65

42

0

GREAT CAMERA!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 03 March 2022 by FabioFabs88 (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera for less than a week but I already love it. I had hired it before so I know it's incredible.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

27

0

just love this camera,

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 01 March 2022 by mike the bike bonny (United Kingdom)

fantastic auto focus and programmable buttons, great to handle

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

28

0

Perfect hybrid camera

Body Only 01 March 2022 by Ash176 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been spending a lot of time with it over the last 2 weeks. The menu is a welcome change (coming from A7M3 user). The 33MP sensor is just nice. The weight and overall design and CUSTOMIZABLE buttons and wheels makes this camera hard to beat. Loving every moment with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beware of Overheating Issues.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23 February 2022  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to love it but, while setting it up along with a YouTube video last night it overheated in an hour and turned off. Had to extend the overheating threshold. This was without videoing or taking multiple pictures. Just set up, I want to love it but this frightens me. Hopefully this can be fixed with an update SOON!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Awesome capabilities and features

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 20 February 2022 by Shot Taken (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a feature-packed product made with great attention to performance and user requirements. The enthusiast will benefit from the hybrid capabilities of stills photography and videography, making this camera extremely versatile.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Decent but not great

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 19 February 2022 by AdrianPhotography (United Kingdom)

Bought the camera over a month ago. Been my first Sony camera ever, I've been a different brand shooter for over 5 years. Obviously I will compare it with my other cameras. Although it features a 33mp sensor, and some will say a better low light performance, comparing with my previous camera can't say there's much of difference, although my camera had 2 years since release. After using it for few days, I've started to encounter this weird EyeAf focusing issue, every few shots I had more front focus or back focus than acceptable hits, like 6out of 10 were miss focused, on eyebrows or nose. That happened on wide aperture from 1.8 to 2.8 even 4. It happened on different focusing zones when eye af was priority. As this wasn't bad enough, the focus box confirmed focus on one eye and to find out that the other eye was more in focus, than the eye that should have been but was not. Seems there are more people encountered this issue, sadly the camera became unreliable for my use. Have no idea if this is a hardware or software related issue, as Sony support isn't that helpful as you would expect. Also, my a7iv copy seems to have more noise than normal even at low ISO, from 160 to 400 it looks like 800 to 1000 on my different brand camera (2 years old) in controled lighting conditions. It leeds me to believe that quality control isn't that strict as I would have thought for a big company like Sony. I am aware that there is a world chip crisis, but for no reason customer should pay that price, they should receive a faultless product that works as advertised.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

39

23

0

Mix Feelings

ilce-7m4-uc2 19 February 2022 by Ilikephotography (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 2nd a7iv body. First one was returned following the advise of Sony support - Due to focusing on eye-brows / eye lashes when using the Eye Focusing system (no problem if use the spot metering)... I need to retest it ... not sure that it solved it. Also - The camera has a tendency to show over heating symbol (and shut down unless you change the heating settings to "high"), even by just playing with the menu in video setting (not filming) ... Other than that ... this is a capable camera (if you get used to the menu system), very snappy, excellent control and flexible configuration. The lenses are very good, So nice that its supporting 3rd party lenses. The Phone connection - now that is working really nice. Not kidding here. Not the best SW out there .. but AWSOME to use for Macro, or even in the studio .. really nice and fun ! Eyepiece is not as good as I would expect for $2500 - It is better than my old Nex6, I would not say that this is the intention ... to show improvement compared to a 9 years old camera .. that costs 1/3 The back screens has such low res that it is just annoying ... remember to use that phone for critical review on the go.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Used On two big events, absolutely amazing camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 11 February 2022 by VideoManchester (United Kingdom)

I’ve bought this for professional videography and photography and it’s blew me away how well it performs in terms of fidelity of captured images and videos. Having different settings between photo and video is a massive time saver, the ease of use is incredible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

27

0

Great new features

Body Only 08 February 2022 by Mohd Halik (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent features, handling, auto focus. New LCD screen movement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features and outstanding performance

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 05 February 2022 by MGD_ (United Kingdom)

I bought this over two months ago (moving from canon). I couldn't be happier

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

58

19

0

Decent camera

Body Only 05 February 2022 by AnonymousA74 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is my first full frame camera and the reason I bought it because of the flip screen!!. If A73 has it or A7C has a bigger body with all the customized buttons, I would not spend a thousand more for this A74. Its focus mapping looks cheerful but sadly it works only for vdo. I don’t know why Sony can’t make it for photography. The continuous shooting maximum at 10 fps (not better than the older ones) only which is beaten by the Canon R6 which was launched a year before.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Over heating yet again

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 29 January 2022 by Jack d p (United Kingdom)

New hdmi port over the micro hdmi is most welcome. Over heating issues yet again, in some cases when just going through the menu system. New menu system is great. Cropped 4K 60 is frustrating.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

7

0

Amazing

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 21 January 2022 by Alex766 (United Kingdom)

Best camera for this year. It does everything for photos and videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

320

93

0

Overall picture quality is good

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 21 January 2022 by Vishnu_photoplorer (United Kingdom)

Picture clarify and autofucs is good but Gear is over heating even for pictures. I am now in less then 10 degrees Celsius so not sure if go to trips to India where 40 degrees is normal. I Never faced thses problems with my nikon even though I clicked 1000 pics in a day for 6 to 7 hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

6

0

First Sony Camera

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 21 January 2022 by Churchill378 (United Kingdom)

This is my first Sony camera so I’m still getting familiar with all it can do. Very pleased with it so far. Excellent build quality and customisation. Menus are a bit confusing at first but easy to customise and navigate. Auto focus is amazing compared to my previous non Sony body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

3

0

Amazing Camera!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 20 January 2022 by Newbiephotographer (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to get a new hobby which is photography and videography (Youtube). As a newbie myself it's alot to learn for all the features of this camera! But when you start to get use to the feature, you will start to notice how amazing this hybrid camera is! Definitely recommend!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow...what a difference!!

ilce-7m4-uc2 19 January 2022 by Huie D (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an owner of the A7III (Full frame) camera, as well as other manuf cameras (Nikon and Canon). After reading reviews from others, I have found, since having had it for approx. 3 weeks now, to be ABSOLUTELY an amazing camera. Focusing-amazing! Resolution on LCD and Viewfinder and digital images (30+ megapixels) are SOOOO fantastic! I would buy another if I could. Swivel LCD that can close with display protected facing the body of the camera is such a plus-helps keep it very well protected. The clicked or non-clicked extra (formally exposure compensation wheel) that I use for my ISO, just adds to the worth/value of my investment! Lastly, the FULL SIZED HDMI port....YEESSSSS!!!!! That helped seal the deal for my purchasing it! Thank you Sony for listening to us and giving us this wonderful camera!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing video and picture quality

ilce-7m4-uc2 16 January 2022 by TLY Rider (USA)

I bought it for my YouTube channel, I was always a fan of Sony A7III and I wished it had a flip out screen, a 10 bit color and 60fps for slow motion and walah... Sony A7IV was released with all my wishlist. I love this camera because of the new color science and updated autofocus for video and overall ease of use for Video and Photo right out of the box. I have dialed in my settings for SLOG3 for my youtube videos and I am thrilled with the videos coming out of this hybrid camera. I also use this to take thumbnail photos for my youtube videos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Colours and 10bit are fantastic

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 16 January 2022 by If you get it (United Kingdom)

I had the A7sii from brand new upon release. The low light of course has a much better reach that the A7iv but that doesn’t concern me anymore. Having great video and photos are a must for me these days and this camera does just that. The crop on 4k60 doesn’t matter to me as I usually use slow motion for B roll so having a tighter angle is a good thing for getting those detailed shots. S&Q can be used without CF express cards but not in 4k resolution. Various videos have been calling these trade offs “deal breakers” get real, how many people are shoot for big corps where these matter? It’s a great piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 15 January 2022 by AstroMax (United Kingdom)

It’s one week that I am using it and I already love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

3

0

Amazing hybrid camera

Body Only 12 January 2022 by jinwei1012 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been used a7iv for a month, great focus speed, noiseless night shot, awesome body structure, totally worth the price!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Finest Entry level Full Frame Camera ever

Body Only 10 January 2022 by Joseph Lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

After owning 5 Alpha 7 cameras. This is the Best in class for - Noise Management - Fast & accurate Autofocusing - Accurate 'Bird eyes AF' - EVF

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great camera with potential to be even better

Body Only 09 January 2022 by Ninja Scroll (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I own a Sony AyM3 since it first came out so the Sony AyM4 is certainly long-awaited. I primarily use it for bird photography and portraiture. The big plus for me is the higher pixel count which helps to increase resolution quality of the bird when cropping. The AF is improved over the old A7M3. It now has animal and bird AF. With that said, one has to manually switch from bird AF to animal AF and vice-versa using the menu. This takes too much time when one has only a few seconds to capture a photo of the animal or bird. Canon R5/R6 can focus both animal and bird without going to the menu to switch. I think Sony can do this through a future firmware update. The improved AF also helps in getting sharper bird-in-flight photography. The body design is also improved but I feel the handgrip for A7M3 feels better in my hands compared to A7M4. My middle finger that rests deep in the finger grip of the A7M4 feels sore after a while because it seems this finger is carrying more of the camera's weight. Overall I am very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Excellent image quality!

Body Only 09 January 2022 by RyuHua (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for Christmas use, excellent picture and video quality, love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7iv

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 08 January 2022 by CJD1 (United Kingdom)

Love the camera. Great changes to menus and much easier to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

6

0

Sony mirrorless at its best!

Body + 28-70mm Zoom Lens 07 January 2022 by rachit8304 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera a month back upgrading from dslr to mirrorless. I have used the body extensively in the field in last month and I am quite satisfied with the overall performance. For me the USP is bird eye focus and quick focus even though I am using a large lens due to wildlife photography I do. Low light performance is reasonably good as well. 2 things I wish were there are quiter shutter and inbuilt photo focus stacking (this is quite a hot feature missing which is their in Canon and Nikon)

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

manual and control still need to improve

ilce-7m4k-uc2 07 January 2022 by gadsgfagfda (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Despite the touch screen is a good feature just like phone, but the screen is too small and the icon and selection bar is even smaller. There is a personal customize menu that is good, but it still not a one click to access. And from my experience, it seems like sony is waiting for customer to create their own setting rather than provide one which is quit awkward, like the AF-ON bottom is conflict with default setting of focus while holding shutter botton. Image edge app is unfinished product, 3 times connect to phone, there will be two-time failures. image edge desktop can't transfer file in Wifi which making the software totally useless, the editing also pointless since it is hard to use, with less function and everybody already has there own post work software. There is another awkward things that is the focus / tracking cancel, I don't know how it was there. I remember I'm doing the same thing since I just got the camera but now it always there.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Improved Alpha 7 series layout & chunkier handgrip

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 06 January 2022 by Stoney Guy (United Kingdom)

I've only had this camera a week but because I've got a similar Sony 7Alpha model the improvements are noticeable. Because of some design changes it'll take a little while to get used to a few of the changes but overall first impressions are very positive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

35

27

0

Great features!

Body Only 05 January 2022 by Yanzi (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago. Super eye tracking. Never miss a shot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great job

Body Only 03 January 2022 by chefmonkey (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it recently. Not used to it with many button from my lover a6400 but I was happy with auto focus very fast and also happy to see bird’s eye too!

Picture Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Maybe it's just because of the default lens

ILCE-7M4 / ILCE-7M4K 03 January 2022 by js2345 (United Kingdom)

Overall focus speed is very good and performs in low light environment. But for the similar price to my old stolen D850, I think its advantage is only on the size and weight side. I found though with way way more claimed focus points, the focusing algo lags behind Nikon. And my old lens is a very nice F2.8 Tamron, the default Sony 24-70 f3.5-5.6 set lens in the deal totally underperforms, I say about 20%+ of my shot photos are not sharp nor well focused. And overal camera system menu takes time to get used to. Some option like switching off the focus sound I really need to google and watch youtube on topics of A7M3 menu selection.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

0

Best Buy after A7 III

Body Only 03 January 2022 by sjsjason (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had been using the A7 IV for a few wedding projects and it was amazing! Love the flip out screen, 10bit 4:2:2, dial to switch between photo and video mode! Truly suit how i use the camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for stills, BIF tbc

Body Only 03 January 2022 by Scml1961 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to supplement my A9II. Overall satisfied with the performance thus far. The new menus system can be a bit confusing to navigate. Bird eye tracking is a great plus. Autofocusing with the 200-600mm + 1.4TC is a bit slow. Have recalibrated BIF settings to a) Release, b) Locked on (1) and (3) Focus Priority and hope to get better results in the future. Good option for those who don't want to splash $8+k on the A1. Has better low light / high ISO performance compared to the higher megapixel models from Sony and also better than the A9II in this area. Would have preferred the original EV compensation dial to show the +/- EV.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Huge disappointment

Body Only 01 January 2022 by Lau HM (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A7IV overheated as I was prepping and changing the settings on the camera the day before shoot. I was at home in the evening under a fan when the high temperature power off sign came on. In my 22 years as a professional cameraman working for shows for Nat Geo, Discovery, BBC, CNN, ABC, VICE, Al Jazeera, History Channel etc, I have never encountered this situation while operating close to 30 different cameras before. The next 3 days of shoot, I encountered overheating on the camera on a regular basis. This is a huge disappointment & a major embarassment in front of high-end producers who hired me to work on professional paid jobs. All my camera assistants are equally perplexed at the performance of the camera and can only deem it at best a consumer, not even close to a prosumer level camera. I've heard issues with Canon R5 or R6 overheating issues but I'm caught unaware of this failure on the part of Sony. I'm swearing off Sony cameras for now until the engineers can reasonably make their product line work for professional applications.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

5

5

0

Too many features

Body Only 31 December 2021 by Leonn8850 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Do not like the articulate screen as i do not do blogging. Find it a hindrance to my photo taking. Prefer horizontal/vertical flip screen. Do not require focus mapping. Too many additional features become confusing to the user. Good to have the shutter cover but the sensor still prone to attract dust. Do not have this problem with Fujifilm camera body which I also own. I still reach for the Alpha 7 III for photo taking. Do not have strong desire to use Alpha 7 IV.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3