190

4.3 based on 190 customer reviews

117
41
16
5
11
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A great soundbar, but not for everyone

HT-X8500 28 November 2020 by Wightknight (United Kingdom)

This is a very capable soundbar with a good, balanced sound presentation. The bass is good but not overwhelming. It has puzzled me why the reviews have been so polarised, either five stars or one. I think I understand why. To get the best from this soundbar, you need to connect it via HDMI to a TV that supports ARC/eARC. Remember that Atmos is only supported over eARC or where a component such as a Blu-ray player is connected directly. If you want bass that will shake the furniture, you need a soundbar with a subwoofer; a soundbar on its own will still produce plenty of bass, but with limits. Please don’t expect this soundbar to produce the same surround effects as a system with several speakers. Having said that, this soundbar produces a decent soundstage with some vertical effects. This soundbar is ideal for those who live in a flat or don’t want rumbling bass to disturb others in the house. It will provide scale and weight to improve your enjoyment of movies, sports events and music. It is a good soundbar, but it won’t be right for everyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Expensive for what you get

HT-X8500 27 February 2021 by cool1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im not sure if it's the sony TV 55in or the sonud bar but when i turn the tv on the sound bar comes on but does not activate on with the tv it uses the tv speakers till i manual turn speakers on with tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

190 Customer Reviews

0

Sound bar

HT-X8500 10 April 2021 by Hijacky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Disappointed.by the dialogue feature..................

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A little disappointed

HT-X8500 13 March 2021 by Wan27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good, would like to be able to adjust the sound. Bass is a little weak.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Garbage product

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 March 2021 by HRSG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

1 month of testing.Regret to buy this garbage...........,

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

hand set only works with in a meter of box

HT-X8500 28 February 2021 by tommyyy (United Kingdom)

Hand set only works with in a meter of the box is this normal

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Expensive for what you get

HT-X8500 27 February 2021 by cool1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im not sure if it's the sony TV 55in or the sonud bar but when i turn the tv on the sound bar comes on but does not activate on with the tv it uses the tv speakers till i manual turn speakers on with tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Nice soundbar but lacks simple features

HT-X8500 19 February 2021 by Cdot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is alright once you've pressed about a million buttons but the bar is really let down by some minor things. Also some sound setting seem to be useless, maybe its what we're listening to so that is open to investigation. 1. Remote layout - are all the sound mode or special affect buttons placed together.. No they're not 2. On screen display - managed to have this when you change the volume but for anything else you either use which LEDs have lit up (the ones on the left or right) or just a guess because the same LEDs indicate when turning on and off. Its like a game bit a really awful one 3. Connection - want to add to your sound bar no can do. I mean the thing is huge, surely there was room for some extra ports, or just use the existing wireless connections. This was a fair bit of money for us and the little thing really do take away from the excitement of finally getting a sound bar.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

Great sound quality with good base

HT-X8500 09 February 2021 by Chrisi123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar for a double sized bedroom 40" TV, and wall hung it accordingly. I always struggled to hear voice through the TV speakers and wanted something that would give clarity, a bit of base and any effects would be a bonus. This soundbar ticked these requirements with abundance. And I don't need to have it up loud either....which I am sure will be of some relief to the neighbour. In a room this size the Atmos effect works remarkably well too. Whilst I paid more than I might have meant for a bedroom amplifier, I am glad that I did and well pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very average

HT-X8500 08 February 2021 by tophers49 (USA)

really thought it sounded much better at Best Buy, and knowing bets buy it was probably another speaker system I was listening to. The control is very unresponsive and it cuts in and out. I have always tried to purchase the top brands any Sony was almost always on top the list. As with most things these days I believe they are selling their name from bygone days when they were on top. Trust me , for the money one can do much better and it the future that will be my direction, away from the name and more into research.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound system

HT-X8500//M SP1 07 February 2021 by Wirandri (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought in Dec 2020. I like the functions and overall sound of this soundbar. The soundbar is compatible with my TV remote.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound Bar

HTX8500 05 February 2021 by Jcbeno72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased, have all Sony TV's and Audio set up. This was for the bedroom. Sound is very clear and fills the room. Super easy to set up and has some cool audio features. I love the voice feature which amplifies the speech on the movies. Great buy and value for the price point

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

HT-X8500 31 January 2021 by Amackem (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this for my conservatory as as was sick of not being able to hear the tele when it rained. I needed a boost and this fits the bill I placed it onto of my TV and it works perfect Looks good and blends in

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really good, nearly as good as my previous one

HT-X8500 23 January 2021 by Jimbo47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to have a wired surround sound with a sub woofer, but my wife didn't like the wires so we went for the all in one. The surround sound is really deceptive, sometimes I hear sounds and wonder where they come from. It sounds like the other room, but its coming from the soundbar straight in front of you.The only problem is the led display on the top, you can't see it, it should be on the front.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Superb sound

HT-X8500 22 January 2021 by Jimbo 99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two weeks into use very happy with product sound great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

looks good under my Sony tv

HT-X8500 18 January 2021 by Vulcanb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound coming from box in my apartment ,sport sounds good because I have dolby plus UHD

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent cinema sound

HT-X8500 18 January 2021 by stevdo56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace old sounder with separate subwoofer. This sound bar is very neat and looks great under the tv. The sound is very good especially on cinema mode

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 17 January 2021 by Lisak46 (United Kingdom)

Just bought this today and I'm so happy with it ,, the sounds are fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Soundbar HT-X8500.

HT-X8500 17 January 2021 by Chris P Dy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it last week and works very well. Was very easy to set up and connect to TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound bar.

HT-X8500 16 January 2021 by 7007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this just before Christmas along with a Sony Bravia android smart TV. Has great sound and features and goes very well with the TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awful connectivity

HT-X8500 08 January 2021 by Exasperated99 (United Kingdom)

Will not connect to a Sony Bravia with ARC HDMI, only the optical cable, been through all soundbar and TV instructions and Sony on line help and still no joy. If I am doing something wrong then why do all the instructions and help line not put me right? I would have expected Sony to be a click and play when talking to other Sony products

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Sony HT-x8500

HT-X8500 08 January 2021 by martin1010 (United Kingdom)

I bought this 2 months ago and the atmos function works very intermittently , contacted sony support pretty unhelpful , just send out pages of user manual which don't resolve issue, they then ask you to contact one their support agents , nearest one to me is 60 miles away and also expect you to pay postage costs in my case £30.00 , will never buy sony again , very poor value for the money paid

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

1

0

0

Sound bar

HT-X8500 06 January 2021 by Raph009 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound bar, but I’ve had issues with the sound disconnecting.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Simple and mighty

HT-X8500 04 January 2021 by Kolli44444 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product from Sony if you don't actually want to setup 6-8 speakers in your room. It does a great job with 1 soundbar!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Amazing

HT-X8500 02 January 2021 by Station (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this sound bar for Christmas what a great move. Films, sport, documentaties etc. Makes watching tv a totally different experince would not be with it now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1