23

4.0 based on 23 customer reviews

11
6
3
2
1
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fricking Awesome!

XBR Z9G Series 03 March 2021 by JTPHINNEY (USA)

I can’t believe the picture and the sound of this TV. It was worth every Penny! We use to never watch tv down stairs... Now that is where we spend most of our tv watching time...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Less than 1 month old and the picture went blank.

XBR Z9G Series 11 January 2021 by Karnivor (USA)

I purchased this tv knowing it was one of the best available. However after watching tv for less than 10 hours total, I turned it on and the pic was blank and it had randomly spaced green pixels on the lower right hand portion of the screen. HELP SONY

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

23 Customer Reviews

Models

0

Amazing image horrible software

XBR85Z9G 23 September 2021 by WYUNG88 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Image and color are best in class. Software glitches makes this tv worthless. The tv would loose sound on a random bases. T requires a reboot to get the sound back. After 6 months Sony engineering said problem was fixed. The problem came back 2 months later. Senior Sony support said “…engineering knows of the problem but does not have a date to fix this problem….” I rest may case in your judgement if you want to pay for an expensive tv to have software problems. I wouldn’t if i had known.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Picture Quality but lacks basic features.

KD-85ZG9 26 July 2021 by David 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have purchased 3 Sony TV's over the last 5 years, on each occasion they have come with a promise of future updates to features on the new TV but lacking at time of installation. It would appear this year is no exception. The lack of basic Apps. for streaming U.K. TV channels i.e. BBC and ITV etc is an example. Sony's advice on the use of the TV is to alter the screen ratio while viewing wide screen movies so that the picture fills the screen to prevent screen burn, perhaps they should inform their associated Hollywood production company. I asked Sony's customer service for advise on their screen burn policy only to be informed that if you view movies in their original format or watch TV channels with on screen graphics you are not covered by their 5 year warranty should screen burn happen. It is a shame that Sony has so little faith in a TV that for all intents and purposes is possible the most outstanding TV of 2021.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Amazing Quality

KD-85ZG9 02 June 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the Bravia 8k 16 months ago what an amazing TV, unfortunately now its gone faulty and its been 14 days we are with out a TV, sony have not replaced despite me purchasing one of their most expensive Tv models for £15,000

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best

XBR98Z9G 22 May 2021 by hermosaag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best picture quality of any TV on the market. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

7

0

Fricking Awesome!

XBR Z9G Series 03 March 2021 by JTPHINNEY (USA)

I can’t believe the picture and the sound of this TV. It was worth every Penny! We use to never watch tv down stairs... Now that is where we spend most of our tv watching time...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Awesome Picture Quality

XBR85Z9G 09 February 2021 by Raghu_M89 (USA)

Picture quality is what we admire most on the SONY TVs very good sound as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Less than 1 month old and the picture went blank.

XBR Z9G Series 11 January 2021 by Karnivor (USA)

I purchased this tv knowing it was one of the best available. However after watching tv for less than 10 hours total, I turned it on and the pic was blank and it had randomly spaced green pixels on the lower right hand portion of the screen. HELP SONY

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

No just no....

XBR Z9G Series 03 January 2021 by sassysally (USA)

do not buy it when it will end up breaking after a week of use

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

15

0

Great picture, Colors are amazing!!

XBR Z9G Series 14 December 2020 by Gojohnny81 (USA)

I’ve had this tv two months, But the android on this TV is horrible, I have sound and no picture keep rebooting rebooting to get picture back!! Don’t know what to do?!I should have reboot the tv everyday to watch direct tv?!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

18

0

Excellent

XBR Z9G Series 25 November 2020 by albanoooo (USA)

can't find a better television....................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

22

0

Super clean panel! Great picture!

XBR Z9G Series 30 October 2020  (USA)

I own 2 Z9Ds 75. Great sets with very little dirty screens. Z9G... I can’t see any imperfections! Clean panel awesome picture! Only reason I don’t give it 5 stars is because Sony still hasn’t released the update for the hdmi 2.1 port. Z9G isn’t cheap so.... When will the update be available so I can plug my PC to game at 8k 60fps?????!?? I’m sure that I am NOT the only one waiting!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

32

0

Good Picture but Sound, not so much...

XBR85Z9G 13 September 2020 by nljgimd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The picture quality in this television is outstanding however the operating system and audio characteristics leave a lot to be desired for a device of this projected quality. The Android operating system cripples this television and the sound is not as robust as one would expect of a television of this ilk. The remote control is not backlit illuminated either. As I stated at the outset, there is no doubt that the picture quality is definitely superior, the physical appearance is also very robust and if you are not mounting the unit, the legs allow for a sound at that you will need. TV is expensive and for the price Sony should have provided a whole lot more processing options in the menus to permit better optimization of the operating system, the way Sony used to in earlier times. I have owned several flagship units made by Sony and this is somewhat disappointing in terms of system flexibility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

50

0

Super sharp bright picture.

XBR85Z9G 20 August 2020 by DJRC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Definitely has some candlepower. I was getting tired of not being able to view dark scenes. This tv definitely brightens things up. Great upscaling. Not much more you could ask for except some true 8K content. A little disappointed that Sony doesnt provide a demo for customers that purchase this tv.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

49

0

Superb picture with great sound -

KD-85ZG9 20 April 2020 by Ian_ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this to replace a 65"4K TV that had failed. On researching all the TV types of 65" and over, I came across several five-star reviews for this 85" monster and thought, why not. Wow, is all I can say, I have had the TV for ten day's now and can say this, it has the best picture I have ever seen, period. For me, any noticeable DSE (Dirty Screen Effect) would have been a massive negative, this screen is an absolute gem, No visible DSE at all, just pure white all over and so bright. Positives for me are - No visible DSE just a pure white screen, major importance for me. Fantastic whites that pop at you from the screen. Great colours and skin tones. Good contrast. So bright a picture and can be used in a normally bright room with no problem, unlike some OLED TVs that are better in a dark room. Great black depth. Very good TV speaker sound. The speed at which this TV works with the Android system is a pleasure to use with No lag in response to the remote control command and you can scroll through the apps at great speed. On updating the firmware to the latest version the Home screen apps appear to be of a higher resolution than before with clearer on-screen icons. The motion handling, normally I would turn off any motion handling as I dislike the 'soap opera' video effect, But on this TV and with Sony's excellent algorithm it is very good indeed and I use it at a low setting. Blooming is not a noticed issue for me with general viewing being excellent all round. The perceived Negatives for me were - The quoted electric consumption of 636 watts, with the brightness set to a normal level for standard viewing without the need for the viewer to wear Sun Glasses it uses electricity at a much more friendly rate of about 235-250 watts, so this is a bonus for me. It will, of course, use more in electricity in HDR mode, but that is not normal day time viewing, only from HDR BluRays. The top and bottom black bars on a widescreen presentation in a normal daylight lit room are fine, in a totally dark room they are affected by adjacent white scenes and some minor blooming being evident by making the bars slightly lighter at times, some soft lighting in the room takes care of that for me and is not a big issue if it was a big issue I would have gone the OLED route, but then I would miss out on the punchy brightness and colours of the KD-85ZG9 which is wonderful to watch. Also on day one, the 85" TV looked massive in comparison to the old 65" TV that it replaced, but as before two or three days later you get perfectly accustomed to the newly acquired audio-visual experience. I did not go out specifically looking to buy a monster 85" TV and would probably have gone for a 75" upgrade in size, the Sony Master series 8K TV only comes in 85" or 98" so if I wanted the best TV Sony currently offer within my price range this has to be it. On reflection, I'm glad that my hand was forced to buy a bigger screen size than I thought I needed because once it is set up you soon get used to the bigger size, yes it dominates the lounge, so what, bigger is better in my view and with that lovely 8K resolution even though there are currently no 8k sources, my photos look lovely when presented on the TV screen, buyers remorse, none, if you can afford it, just get it, you won't be disappointed, it is built to a very high standard and totally solid, and heavy. Almost forgot about the lovely new metal-faced remote which is voice-enabled, you press a button on the remote and speak, Google will find what you require on youtube, etc, also because it is an Android TV you can download apps from the Google play store to add to the TV's functionality. Overall, extremely pleased with my lovely New Sony 85ZG9

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

49

49

0

Awesome TV

XBR Z9G Series 01 March 2020 by Paco G (USA)

I got this tv for my 50th birthday as a present to me it was this or a brand new car and I’m totally very happy with my Z9G 8K TV, before this I had the Sony XBR79x900B That I purchased in 2015 and it was awesome too but this tv takes it to another level in definition and quality you can’t compared a Sony with a LG tv it’s comparing a BMW with a Ford, Sony in my mind is the best Tv company ever. Thank you

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

115

0

Great

XBR Z9G Series 27 February 2020 by Arun R (USA)

Sony - Z9G | MASTER Series | LED | 8K | High Dynamic Range (HDR) | Smart TV (Android TV) Very Good Product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

102

0

excellent picture but!

XBR Z9G Series 26 February 2020 by Hi Tech Calibrator (USA)

Excellent picture with the HDR and BT 2020 Bit engage but the 8K port is bad ,can not get a 4K source to play without problems.For example either there is no picture at all or spots all over the entire screen it doesn't matter if a video source is on it or not ,I hope when the 2.1 HDMI port is available that Sony will swap it out! "Note Sony" My My Audio and Video technical skills are Advanced so don't throw up some basic responses you read off a sheet the port is BAD!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

100

0

Great picture BUT!

XBR Z9G Series 22 October 2019 by robdman (USA)

Very buggy ,I have done 4 master resets to correct sound, picture twice and just today flashing.for me paying over $13,000.00 I should not have these problems!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

43

119

0

Reboot after reboot

XBR Z9G Series 13 September 2019 by Charlie1234567890 (USA)

Had the tv for almost a month. Picture is outstanding. Software is God awful. android tv has to be rebooted and rebooted. Super hard to navigate. Get ready to put your usernames and passwords in again and again. Reset and reboot. Put in passwords again. Reset reboot and repeat. Errors and errors. Why Sony would put this junk software into such a nice tv is beyond me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

37

126

0

disappointing definition

XBR Z9G Series 28 August 2019  (USA)

what good is the 8k OLED tv when your playstation vue streams in 720p?

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

172

0

Simply Stunning !!

XBR Z9G Series 17 July 2019 by gab5 (USA)

Am a new owner of this particular model, in the 85-inch class. My self-described review title is worth repeating - Simply Stunning. Viewing this this television, using an upscaled 4K Ultra DVD, almost leads the viewer to believe as though he/she were looking through a window - it's that good. If you desire a no-compromise viewing experience, look no further than the amazing Z9G !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

47

110

0

Sony 85 Z9G 8K

XBR85Z9G 15 July 2019 by SRS5451 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautifully designed TV with an amazing picture and excellent built-in sound and Smart TV features. Expensive but as they say-you get what you pay for!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

45

110

0

Amazing new technologies.

XBR Z9G Series 27 March 2019 by Niapooh86 (USA)

I purchased this about a month ago, and wouldnt trade it for the world.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

74

132