369

4.4 based on 369 customer reviews

201
128
20
10
10
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Camera

DSC-HX90V 20 March 2017 by Old Man1952 (United Kingdom)

Very good lens so much so that I have just sold off my Nikon 200-500mm zoom as this gives much better results in the real world

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Could be better

DSC-HX90V 21 September 2015  (United Kingdom)

Bought this a couple of months ago to replace an HX50. Having a viewfinder is great though having to 'erect' it every time is a pain and also makes it vulnerable. The camera is a bit smaller than the previous one, perhaps a bit too small. It also doesn't seem to focus well with some subjects / light conditions. The GPS is nigh on useless, it takes too long to get a fix. One improvement over the HX50 is the ability to disable the movie button which is still badly positioned. It is also much more cumbersome to use - having to launch 'apps' to do things like control from your phone. It was so simple and much quicker with the previous camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

369 Customer Reviews

0

A good replacement

DSC-HX90V 07 September 2019 by 7stripesprite (United Kingdom)

My previous compact camera (quite a few years old) developed a fault - it went to video EVERY time I tried to zoom in - so I was advised this Sony was a very good replacement. Having now used it for a coupe of months, I can agree it's features do exactly as described to me. It has been used to good effect at football matches and photographing small insects (it's main uses). I think, over time, I will be very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Too many to use when taking quick photos.

DSC-HX90V 06 September 2019 by bb472 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera in July and had a lot of problems with the battery.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Good small camera

DSC-HX90V 03 September 2019 by photowiz (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera just over a month ago and have found it to be easy to use and navigate through the menus. The pop-up viewfinder is good although does not seem over solid in construction. The only irritating point is that the activation button for video is right under where your thumb would normally be and is easy to activate accidentally.Generally a great small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSC-HX90V 30 August 2019 by JTsurvey (United Kingdom)

Bought this 2 weeks ago and cannot connect to I phone instructions and App rubbish!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Sony HX90V

DSC-HX90V 29 August 2019 by Pyrotec (United Kingdom)

I purchased the Sony HX90V a few weeks ago ready for my holidays in September. I wanted a camera that was fairly light weight but without being to light and with a lens that gives a good range without having to carry extra lenses as with DSLR’s, etc. GPS was also a significant factor as I wanted a camera with GPS built in and not having to be linked to my smartphone. The Sony HX90V does everything that I require and at the same time is good value for money. I definitely would recommend this camera to anyone.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 25 August 2019 by Constantinople (United Kingdom)

Small compact camera that produces high quality photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very flexible

DSC-HX90V 25 August 2019 by Whymustihaveanickname (United Kingdom)

Had the camera for about a month now and very pleased with it so far. Very flexible and pretty easy to use. Some of the controls are a little small but okay once you get used to them. Tilting screen useful, shame it does not tilt both ways though. Video very good and so is the tele lens. Software available for download and editing is total pants, don’t bother with it. Video files a little hard to find first time round and to download. Pop up flash and viewfinder very good. A great travel and day to day camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

An upgrade for my previous Sony Cybershot

DSC-HX90V 21 August 2019 by Jill P (United Kingdom)

A compact, quality product. I'm keen to get started.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great compact camera, easy to take out and about.

DSC-HX90V 19 August 2019 by CatLady15 (United Kingdom)

This camera was recommended to me by a friend. On seeing the camera in action I knew it was just what I wanted. The specification is good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Play Memories Sucks

DSCHX90V/B 17 August 2019 by StevenC (USA)

I have had this camera for months and to this day cannot transfer photos to by phone by wifi of nfc. I can transfer via usb, but I have to keep extra memory cards when I travel, rather than storing on my phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

An improvement on previous model

DSC-HX90V 12 August 2019 by fmmoir (United Kingdom)

I bought this product a month ago. It was a replacement for my previous cybershot. I am pleased with the new features. The ability to push up the eyepiece to compose the shot when it is sunny is so useful. I have also had a play with tilting the screen to allow me to video myself in my surroundings.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Powerful lightweight compact

DSC-HX90V 01 August 2019 by momentum (United Kingdom)

I bought this little camera just under a month ago with a view to taking it to Japan instead of my much bulkier DSLR camera and lenses and so far I'm really impressed with it. I've yet to read the instructions, but so far have taken some great sunsets, festival and family photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value for money.

DSC-HX90V 27 July 2019 by Kippie (United Kingdom)

I have problems seeing a screen in sunlight and this is the best compact that has a view finder. It takes great pictures and is easy to use although I am sure there are lots of features I don't use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Picture quality brilliant

DSC-HX90V 24 July 2019 by Roo103 (United Kingdom)

Only recited the item recently after two outings have found camera simple to use and the picture quality is very high and the zoom range is very good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A very good compact camera to fit in the pocket

DSC-HX90V 20 July 2019 by Yorkie53 (United Kingdom)

I wanted a small camera that would be easy to use and produce high quality pictures. So far the camera has met my expectations and I lokk forward to taking it on my holiday.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 12 July 2019 by ChrisB123 (United Kingdom)

Bought this camera 6 weeks ago to replace my last one. This is the updated model from my old one, which I was very happy with. It is light, compact and easy to use. Viewfinder is a brilliant new addition which helps in bright sunlight.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Replacement for the one dropped

DSC-HX90V 10 July 2019 by Swey (United Kingdom)

I dropped my previous HX90V getting out of a taxi, was disappointingly told probably wouldn't be cost effective to repair so was looking for replacement. Having been very happy with previous camera, after reading reviews of current models (everybody's not just Sony) decided that the good quality 30x optical zoom and ultra compact size were the two standout features I valued most once you had a good overall featured camera. GPS feature for me useful too not having to mess with a phone. On a recent holiday my (old HX90v) point and shoot camera got better pictures of condors flying in a canyon than a more higher specked camera (better lens/more megapixels but only 10x optical zoom).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

DSC-HX90V 09 July 2019 by Jim438 (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to have a dabble at street photography and wanted one with a tilt. Really enjoying using the camera but takes some time to get through all the menu items, especially on a small screen. Very happy with the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fabulous, with one weakness!

DSC-HX90V 06 July 2019 by ngty2650 (United Kingdom)

I've been using the HX90V for a month now, and I'm really pleased with the results. Great images every time, and a fabulous zoom. Perfect for my hobby of countryside and wildlife photography whilst hiking. My only issue is that the absence of an eyepiece is a problem, due to the poor digital viewfinder which really struggles in outdoor sunshine. I've tried all the filters, but all too often it is a case of hoping. Otherwise, a fabulous product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great

DSC-HX90V 01 July 2019 by rafaeel (United Kingdom)

I bought it about 3 months ago and I like it, the downside is that the blitz is manual not automatic

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A great little point and shoot camera

DSC-HX90V 29 June 2019 by Mittch (United Kingdom)

I bought this little camera a couple of weeks ago and it is perfect for popping in my bag for impromptu photos on days out. It takes a good picture and is simple to use, which is what i was after, on a down side it is on the small size and feels a bit delicate so i have purchased a screw in hand grip which makes it more stable when being used. I haven't worked out yet how to move the photos by wifi but im not that tech savy so I''ve just bought a card adaptor to send them to my tablet.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good but held back by limitations

DSC-HX90V 27 June 2019 by OneMatt (United Kingdom)

It is a great little point and shoot camera. It has some pro features which allow you get creative and break the rules on a few shots. It comes with Sonys camera apps however my gripe is that it only let's you use 3 pre selected apps out of vast number of available apps. I use the other apps on my other Sony camera so I am very aware of what the camera is missing out of. I am disappointed that Sony make it about the money rather than providing a brilliant camera. My other moan is the user interface which I find long winded as getting to certain settings is difficult and requires a good memory to remember where they are hidden. With the apps the camera could be a class leader however what you get is an expensive point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

A great little camera.

DSC-HX90V 26 June 2019 by Jack101 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a compact camera with a viewfinder, this one gives me that and more. The zoom feature is better than expected and the swivel screen is very useful for taking selfies with a good view of backgrounds. Photo definition is excellent with iA functions and battery life is better than on other ca eras of same size that I have had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One Camera You Need

DSC-HX90V 24 June 2019 by Twin1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera to replace a Fuji compact and I've been amazed at is quality of photos and its vast zoom range. It's small enough to fit in your pocket, the battery lasts for ages so you don't have to worry. Simply it's a camera for all occasions. The panorama function works well, movies look great all in all a Super Compact Camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

almost exactly what I wanted from a compact

DSC-HX90V 24 June 2019 by KD3000 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as a last minute replacement for my compact the day before a weekend away. The major plusses for me are the pop up viewfinder and the zoom length which are fabulous features on such a small camera, the flip up screen also has its uses. The images I took during a very grey weather period were good as were the indoor shots. However, the amount of functions in the menu is aimed at people who want their cameras to alter images within the system; I essentially turned them all off but only with the help of a friend who already owns this model as the instructions are minimal and having to work it all out with trial and error is frustrating and time consuming. The other major bugbear for me is the fact that you have to charge the battery in the camera so, if like me, you like a spare battery or 2 you cannot charge one whilst using the camera. I do not understand the thinking behind this at all, every other camera I've ever owned I could be out taking pictures whilst charging another battery at home and I don't understand what Sony were thinking by making this impossible. A side issue with this is that the charging light is so small and tucked away that half the time you can't tell if it is working at all. So all in all a good camera, with a few too many Instagram gadgets, poor instructions and a major oversight in the recharging capability.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing little camera

DSC-HX90V 24 June 2019 by Smurftec (United Kingdom)

Fantastic little camera, hard to believe it is possible to fit in so many features and get such quality photos from such a small camera which will fit in my pocket. Some parts are perhaps a little delicate but this is only to be expected in such a small package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I need

DSC-HX90V 23 June 2019 by Grandma Grump (United Kingdom)

As I am no longer able to carry my SLR plus lenses, this camrea is excellent for my needs

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A multitude of features

DSC-HX90V 23 June 2019 by gerrymay (United Kingdom)

Bought this about 5 weeks ago, so very pleased with it. Easy to use,very small and on-screen instructions excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Neat little Big Sony

DSC-HX90V 21 June 2019 by Segy (United Kingdom)

It's a good camera that's also priced well. Takes the pictures I envisaged but it has too many features for me....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Really compact camera

DSC-HX90V 20 June 2019 by Danic (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera this month after a hands on practice. I like the concept and practicality of a long zoom in a pocket sized camera. I also wanted an eyepiece for strong light conditions. The eyepiece is a novel design but a little flimsy in constant use. The camera is very versatile and the zoom is fast but this lacks a little definition at full 30x zoom.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awsome

DSC-HX90V 20 June 2019 by Craigs (United Kingdom)

Brilliant little camera with lots of great features and very easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-HX90V 14 June 2019 by Sheila42 (United Kingdom)

Purchased for my better half who insists on a camera with a viewfinder. Not many about, manufacturers take note. So far she’s quite pleased with her results. Taking a bit of time to get used to it after 14yrs with her previous camera, but we’re getting there.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing pictures

DSC-HX90V 28 May 2019 by penniless (United Kingdom)

This review is based mainly on picture quality. Having only had the camera a week, I used it at Chelsea Flower Show. Pictures taken on a sunny day and inside the grand pavilion. Couldn't see image on screen and as I wear glasses, found the viewfinder useless unless I took my glasses off. Couldn't hear the beep notification for focusing (noise from crowd). Quite a few pictures were overexposed and the colours haven't been captured. Inside, the picture quality varied from good to overexposed. My daughter's phone took better pictures. My old Sony HX20 was just as good.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Very pleased. Only one negative comment.

DSC-HX90V 15 May 2019 by BS Portsmouth (United Kingdom)

A very good, high quality compact digital camera for use where my larger bridge digital camera is big and bulky to carry when out and about. I'm still learning how to use it to its full capability, but the potential looks very promising. Overall, I'm impressed with the camera and I would have given a 5 star rating, but the viewfinder (essential in bright conditions) is rather flimsy and fiddly to operate making me wonder when it will break off. When it is raised, the auto eye sensor is tricky, especially if you wear glasses. A bit of product development ought to sort this out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good optical viewfinder and zoom range

DSC-HX90V 30 April 2019 by John at Malvern (United Kingdom)

Impressive zoom, but needs tripod on max zoom. Optical viewfinder essential in outside bright sunlight. Only used once to date, after owning for one week. Most impressed with overall abilities. Video and panoramic abilities were a requirement for purchase.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Little Camera... packed with features

DSC-HX90V 25 March 2019 by Lisa762 (United Kingdom)

I was delighted to receive this camera as a birthday present. I am used to using a bigger DSLR camera, but wanted a small camera that was lightweight, that I could tuck away inside my coat, that would take great pix and capture fantastic memories. On a recent trip to New York, this camera certainly did not disappoint. From capturing fantastic skylines to people shots, this compact was on point. I loved the zoom and the control ring that enables you to change things like aperture easily. For me a perfect holiday compact and more. Still lots of features/modes to investigate, but loved the ease at which I could transfer images straight to my phone using the "Play Memories" Sony app. This enables you to instagram images on the hoof and easily back up images to cloud storage. The pop up view finder was also very useful in bright conditions. I invested in the leather camera case/shoulder strap (on special offer at the time), which I can highly recommend too... I like to have a neck strap for all my cameras and this gave me peace of mind that I would not drop my Sony into the Hudson river!!! Also, this enabled me to easily tuck the camera away inside my coat, but still ready for action. I have also bought a clear protective film for the screen ( I am a little bit clumsy - so worth an investment). All in all, really pleased with my new Sony HX90V... I can see myself using it a lot!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent camera

DSC-HX90V 22 March 2019  (United Kingdom)

purchased specifically as an upgrade to an existing compact camera and used on recent 2 week tour in europe

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

DSC-HX90V 21 March 2019 by His Honour (United Kingdom)

I bought it just before Christmas and am pleased that I did

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love the pop-up viewfinder & GPS

DSC-HX90V 18 March 2019 by IpsRich (United Kingdom)

What a great camera in a small package. One criterion when evaluating cameras was that I wanted a Zeiss lens as I have always had very good results with them and this is no exception. The ability to use the pop up view finderhas been great, especially in strong sunlight. I have used the rotatable rear screen to be able to take photos over the heads of crowds. If you have the camera on for some seconds before taking a photo, the GPS provides you with a position too, which has been good after a touring holiday to locate exactly where the photo(s) was/were taken. Also useful being able to download apps to the camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lovely pocket camera

DSC-HX90V 11 March 2019 by Cazg (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a few weeks ago to replace my Panasonic LUMIX point and shoot. I was having problems with dust on photos with the LUMIX (my third) but I really liked the features. I particularly wanted a view finder as I much prefer this to a screen and found that there are so few small cameras with this feature. I already have a Sony Alpha with a couple of lenses but wanted a small camera such as this. The only disappointment was the lack of macro setting although I am managing to get round this.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use! Good quality photos and lightweight.

DSC-HX90V 06 March 2019 by Jedi25 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an alternative to the heavier DSLR which I have owned for 4 years. I am delighted with its versatility and high quality photos!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

very well made and so compact multi featured

DSC-HX90V 05 March 2019 by barni81 (United Kingdom)

the ideal camera for traveling no extra lens etc needed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good little camera

DSC-HX90V 24 February 2019 by CPC31 (United Kingdom)

Only bought a month ago so not tried much. Certainly a lot of helpful features and different options to give a lot of control over your pictures, if you want, or just point and shoot. The zoom quality is excellent. Transfer of photos to my phone very easy via NFC, but I wanted the camera to transfer to my iPad as well, via WiFi, but this seems to be very tricky. Instructions are for WiFi to a computer, but this has also proved difficult. No problem via cable using Windows, but the Sony software seems to fail on my laptop (to be fair that might be due to the way Windows 7 has been set up as an unrelated program also failed!).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use features

DSC-HX90V 16 February 2019 by Gerry28 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product 2 months ago and it exceeds expectations. Small but very powerful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat compact and easy to use camera

DSC-HX90V 13 February 2019 by Gunner495 (United Kingdom)

I have not bought a Sony camera before but found it easy to use and it felt familiar after using it for a few hours.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

just the beginning

DSC-HX90V 05 February 2019 by albie (United Kingdom)

still trying out camera and getting used to playing around with it,experimenting at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX90V 31 January 2019 by Alan 11 (United Kingdom)

Happy with this camera and it's ease of use. Just point and click as they say. Great quality pictures and very compact design.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Value for money

DSC-HX90V 24 January 2019 by Mediaeval Man (United Kingdom)

A compact with many features but pretty easy to use. Special effects are good fun and a decent optical zoom. Bought at an independent retailer at £80 cheaper than John Lewis and so on thanks to Sony's cashback offer. It seems the big boys didn't want to pass this on to the buyer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small Product Big Results

DSC-HX90V 23 January 2019 by okrnaingkeers (United Kingdom)

Bought for my husband 2 months ago. Having waited while lenses were changed and missed lovely photo opportunities for years this camera is a miracle. No waiting, small enough to take anywhere and best of all, NO missed photo opportunities. Thank you Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New camera replacement.

DSC-HX90V 15 January 2019 by Gez17 (United Kingdom)

We bought the camera because our old camera needed replacement,we where happy with the previous camera so we just replaced like for like as we knew the model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Some important upgrades from my previous model.

DSC-HX90V 14 January 2019 by Older Bill (United Kingdom)

I bought my HX90v a couple of months ago and have already used it for several home events and a holiday. I've owned a HX10v for 6 years before that and its getting rather battered so decided it was time to get a new compact camera. I use my compact cameras not only for photos but also Blu Ray quality video. Professional photographers will tell you that a compact will never produce the same quality as as full size DSLR and they are perfectly correct. However a compact is far more versatile and you are far more likely to have it with you than if you have to lug around a big heavy DSLR and a variety of lens, which this little camera can replace. Lets face it, if you’ve not got your camera with you then picture quality become academic. Don’t be fooled into thinking this is just a point and shoot camera; it has many features now that can rival full size DSLRs. It will take some time to get to know all the functions that are available. The on camera guide is useful but you will probably want to download the full guide to your phone as well to read while you are travelling. There are several worthwhile additions to the HX90v above and beyond my old HX10v. The first and most important, in my view, is the pop up EVF. I’ve had several compact cameras now and they all suffered the same problem of reflections in bright light; either directly on the screen or of my face reflected on the screen and I’ve not found a worthwhile solution. The pop up viewfinder is that solution. It has to be a pop up to allow the LCD screen to fill the back of the camera and to flip up so the camera can be used like an old faithful Hasselblad twin lens reflex camera. Very useful when using a tripod or holding the camera upside down for overhead shots. As bonus is that you can set the EVF and screen to show different displays. I choose a simple view with level gauge for the EVF and a detailed setting display, similar to DSLR for the LCD most of the time. The next is the ability to truly use manual focus. Its a little bit fiddly to get it right because the image magnifier doesn’t always show the area you want in focus and you need to use the rear control wheel to move it to the right place while at the same time holding the shutter button half cocked! That though is far better than the majority of compacts with no manual or zone focusing only. Manual focusing is via the front control ring which can be easily used for a number of other functions set by the Fn button on the back of the camera. When I'm not using it for focusing pictures I use it to change the aperture or speed setting when in priority modes. For video I tend to use the front control ring for zoom which is x30. The third best upgrade is the ability to connect the camera to your phone (Android or Apple). Very useful at first for taking those remote shutter release photos when on a tripod or you want to be in the picture. Far more useful is the ability to transfer lower resolution pictures from the camera to my phone which means I can now send pictures over the internet anywhere I can get a signal on my phone. Its very quick and simple to use either function. You can’t send AVCHD video to your phone though; so you have to remember to switch to lower resolution before you start to shoot; if that is your intention. I’ve got very used to using the Map View function built into Play Memories Home which showed the location shots. My old HX10v used to show magnetic orientation too. Orientation doesn't seem to be recorded in the HX90v.You'd be amazed at how often the pictures I’ve taken turn out to be in a totally different place or direction to where I thought. The GPS position information is stored in the metadata of each picture but sadly, as of October 2018, the function to use it disappeared from Play Memories. However there does now (Jan 2019) seem to be some kind of lower spec replacement. The co-ordinates are held in the properties of the picture, so you can enter those into any mapping software. So all in all I’m very pleased with my new little camera which I’m sure will give me several years service bouncing around in various pockets and bags while I’m on my travels (buy a hard case for travelling) and hopefully the Map View functions, which also include a travel log, will be restored at some point soon. I hope you get as much enjoyment out of your hobby as I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera - loads of practical features

DSC-HX90V 08 January 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this for my wife who loves to take pictures while we are out walking. She is looking forward to trying it to capture sunsets but will have to wait a while as we don't get many good sunsets where we live. The zoom feature is a bit strange. It zooms Ok but the fine focus is not very good. Have to adjust with the control ring to achieve good focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features but....

DSC-HX90V 06 January 2019 by jwr1616 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and it is a great little travel camera, unfrtunately its NFC doesn't work with my phone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Camera

DSC-HX90V 05 January 2019 by Źsss (United Kingdom)

The camera is fine but trying to get the cashback is a nightmare, Sony need to sort things out

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

perfect for Home and Holidays

DSC-HX90V 03 January 2019 by CaptFlint (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a replacement for my old Lumix TZ3, with a small, high quality long zoom range, especially at the extra wide angle end (24mm) with the ability to set up options like B+W in camera. not only was I so impressed with the functions of the camera, menu set up same as my a6000, but the quality of the jpegs were so impressive, that my Son went out and bought his own HX90, then later my other son requested the same model for his Christmas, as did another friend's son on my recommendation. it does all the things my Sony and Canon SLRs do but in a tiny package for travel photography, shame it doesn't take RAW, but for the price that's acceptable

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

IMAGE ARTIFACTS (As Usual)

DSC-HX90V 03 January 2019 by SONYscamsUS (USA)

EXTREME IMAGE ARTIFACTS: Don't waste your money on these Sony cameras, they produce ugly image artifacts and Sony has an entire fleet of cameras doing so. Although you can bring this problem to a minimum you still end up with garbage photos that not even Lightroom can fix. Obviously people that give these cameras nearly full star reviews are not pros. Sony needs to finally stop making this technology where these images end up with so much noise and artifacts...WASTE OF MONEY...gotta go back to film.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Perfect for Outdoors

DSCHX90VB 22 December 2018 by SVX 96 (USA)

In the short time I've owned the camera, I've taken hundreds of shots. The pictures are focused and clear. The optical zoom is terrific. It gives me opportunities to take pictures of my female Doberman from a distance. I love it. The electronic viewfinder is great in the brightness of the outdoors. Its small size makes it easy to carry in a pocket. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features

DSC-HX90V 21 December 2018 by Charles Barraball (United Kingdom)

Have used this for a while, mainly on auto mode. Brilliant results! The settings wheel is too easily moved. The pop-up viewfinder is fiddly to use, as is the pop-up flash. And both are vulnerable to knocks. Not easy to download pictures other than with a cable, , and the socket is not USB2 - it's almost proprietary. The cable socket cover is fiddly. The button controls are positive in action. There are myriad functions, easily read, though often nested without logic. Deleting bulk photos is a case in point!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent features

DSC-HX90V/BCE32 11 December 2018 by Phil2928 (Singapore)

Dissapointed that no workshops conducted for this HX90V.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Feature Packed, but has trouble focusing.

DSC-HX90V 08 December 2018 by Lastboyscoutuk (United Kingdom)

Nice little feature packed camera, which great picture quality. Zoom is good, but I found it had trouble focusing. Even if you zoomed out a little further. So did the camera generally. Would get in focus, then go blurred. However, I found the macro pretty good. Shooting with your mobile phone is complicated and often the app doesn't do what you want it to do. Using the camera itself is much better. I would have liked the option to instantly send a photo straight to my PC and you can't send selected ones. With cashback, the camera is good value, so I'll most probably stick with it, but far from ideal

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

A great walking around camera.

DSC-HX90V 03 December 2018 by AJEM (United Kingdom)

Really compact for a camera with such a large zoom. Fits in your pocket so is always on hand so you don't miss a shot.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great compact camera

DSC-HX90V 28 November 2018 by Steve I (United Kingdom)

I haven’t had much chance to use the camera since purchase but the excellent zoom facility was an important factor

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features. .

DSC-HX90V 26 November 2018 by Clivey (United Kingdom)

Very compact but quality product. Meets all my requirements

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat, quick & easy to operate

DSC-HX90V 25 November 2018 by Pollarded (United Kingdom)

I have bought this camera to replace my former HX50 which has given me excellent service since I purchased it brand new many years ago. The extra facilities on the HX90 will enable me to take better pictures which I need working in the housing industry..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All features included

DSC-HX90V 24 November 2018 by Rae123 (United Kingdom)

All features that you could want in a compact camera. Small and easy to carry around and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact superzoom.

DSC-HX90V 22 November 2018 by KezG (United Kingdom)

I purchased this camera from my local dealer as an upgrade to my trusty older model. The camera is compact and has a sturdy, well-made feel to it, but it does require a quality case to protect it when not in use. There's are lots of settings and features to have fun with for either standard photos or more arty shots. The zoom range is impressive and is the selling point for this model. Image quality is crisp and accurate in colour reproduction. Some reviews say that the images are dark when at full zoom.. this isn't an issue in good light and I'd imagine any camera of this spec would struggle in low light. I like this compact camera a lot.. it's my "go-everywhere camera" it will be with me even when I'm out and about with my DSLR

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good in some features

DSC-HX90V 14 November 2018 by JanNewm (United Kingdom)

I bought this s a month ago and am very pleased with the different features and neat holding BUT I am extremely disappointed that I cannot take a picture, zoom in and edit to save the zoomed in photo.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Quality camera.

DSC-HX90V 11 November 2018 by Scott4747 (United Kingdom)

Best quality compact camera.Brilliant super zoom camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgrade from HX50 to HX90V

DSC-HX90V 09 November 2018 by Cycling Syd (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for a forthcoming visit to Australia and New Zealand, it's compact, light and ideal for carrying around. The main reason the GPS that I will use on my return to tag photos of when and where they were taken

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A great choice

DSC-HX90V 05 November 2018 by Stediflite (United Kingdom)

Great camera with an exceptional zoom capability. As a reasonably experienced DSLR user I wanted to avoid taking my kit on on holiday but I wanted a compact which still has the features of the DSLR. With the HX90V I was not disappointed. One feature which really impressed me was the ability to transfer the pictures from the camera to my phone which I could them upload to the cloud - no worries about filling a memory card! My only criticism is the size and position of the power button, a tad fiddly for my fat fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to use

DSC-HX90V 29 October 2018 by Paul France 44 (United Kingdom)

Very satisfied to use the item since I bought it. I just wonder wether features such as viewfinder and flash are not fragile. Time will tell.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0