109

4.3 based on 109 customer reviews

59
31
10
6
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 July 2018 by Plasticmat (United Kingdom)

Excellent product, an upgrade on my previous Leica DLux. I bought it as I wanted the small form factor, but also wanted zoom telephoto, built in flash, excellent optics and best sensor size. I have not been disappointed- fantastic focus times, great colour rendering and very sharp telephoto zoom shots of birds in my garden. Only disadvantages over my previously owned Leica are poorer battery life, and strange inability to bulk delete all images short of reformatting every time. All the rest are pluses!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellect camera spoiled by terrible app

DSC-RX100M6 04 August 2019 by PHSSheffield (United Kingdom)

I like the camera - powering on by popping up the viewfinder is very intuitive and the results are great. It is wonderful to have so much power in a tiny carry everywhere camera. However, the supporting app is very poor - there is no facility to control the camera from the phone, nor to automatically transfer photos every time you power the camera off - both of which I was used to in a previous sony camera. You have to remember which photos you have transfered - the app does not keep track, so it is easy to find you have left some pictures in the camera. I also expected to be able to load apps to the camera, but this feature has been removed from this model - it was there in earlier iterations of the RX100. So there is no intervalometer, which I use frequently on my a6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

109 Customer Reviews

0

How do they do it?

DSC-RX100M6 19 September 2019 by JonT2 (United Kingdom)

A superb follow on from my Mk 4. OK, the lens is slower but for the reach it is so worth it. Appears to have a quicker start up time and the newly engineered EVF makes life a lot easier. Quality of the output from the 1 inch sensor is very good with low noise. Controls are obviously small but as the camera is do configurable you are able to program buttons and dials so that operation becomes second nature. All in all, excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Sony RX100-6 Just gobsmacking!

DSC-RX100M6 31 August 2019 by Tad Eastman (United Kingdom)

I’ve had my Sony RX100-6 for two months now and it’s just amazing. The quality photographs I’m getting are as good as my mirrorless Fujica, but without the hassle of carrying a heavier camera and all the lenses. My only disappointment is that a month after I bought it, they brought out the RX100-7 with a mic input. Can I get a free upgrade?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Pocket Camera

DSC-RX100M6 31 August 2019 by PR19 (United Kingdom)

Had the camera for 3 weeks. Really impressed with the image quality and focussing on both stills and action pictures. Really like the fact that even with the leather case it fits my pocket and is great when I don't want to lug my DSLR around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazingly compact digital camera

DSC-RX100M6 30 August 2019 by Jeremy116 (United Kingdom)

I own an earlier version of the RX 100 which continues to work well. The V1 has a welcome increase in zoom range and the pop up viewfinder is also much improved. The camera has many other improvements and feels as small and well built as ever.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Wow!

DSC-RX100M6 29 August 2019 by TimSuffolk (United Kingdom)

I have had this camera for three weeks and am delighted. I can pop it in my pocket and get brilliant results. The ability to upload to smartphone is great too. I would have preferred a longer zoom but this one is already pushing boundaries. I just need to work out a way to quickly focus on wildlife in a grass area. This is expensive but you get what you pay for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New purchase of small camera

DSC-RX100M6 16 August 2019 by CMAH (United Kingdom)

Bought this for my latest visit to family very happy with results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 11 August 2019 by RichC58 (United Kingdom)

I think this little camera is truly superb and one of Sony's best models! I normally use a Sony A7lll full frame, but sometimes I don't want to be carrying the weight of the body plus three lenses. I had been looking for a truly compact, pocket sized camera that I could carry anywhere, and that would give me the image quality that I need to submit to the stock libraries and agencies that I deal with. A lot of research brought me to the RX100 Vl. Opening the RAW files up in Lightroom initially was a bit of a disappointment compared to the A7lll files, obviously, given the difference in sensor size. In no time at all I worked out how to get the best out of the images that it presented. Pros: 1. Light weight and small, literally fits in your pocket. 2. Build quality excellent like all Sony products. 3. Superb image quality for the sensor size. 4. Renders well in Lightroom 5. Good zoom range. 6. Broad range of features that should keep everybody happy. 7. Pop up viewfinder, very useful. 8, Fast accurate AF. 9. Built in Zeiss zoom lens is good corner to corner, edge to edge at around 5.6/8 depending on the effect you are trying to achieve. 10. Auto white balance extremely good. Better than A7lll in fact. Cons: 1. Sony menu system, can be irritating unless you spend a lot of time familiarising yourself with it. Small price to pay I guess. 2. Fiddly little buttons, but it's a small camera so, unavoidable. 3. Battery life. Again it's a small camera so it takes a small battery. Buy two or three spares.. 4. Had to buy an add-on self adhesive grip, which I think should have been incorporated into the camera as part of the original design. 5. Doesn't come with external battery charger. All in all, exceptional little camera. Highly recommended for the serious photographer who wants/needs a truly pocket sized solution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellect camera spoiled by terrible app

DSC-RX100M6 04 August 2019 by PHSSheffield (United Kingdom)

I like the camera - powering on by popping up the viewfinder is very intuitive and the results are great. It is wonderful to have so much power in a tiny carry everywhere camera. However, the supporting app is very poor - there is no facility to control the camera from the phone, nor to automatically transfer photos every time you power the camera off - both of which I was used to in a previous sony camera. You have to remember which photos you have transfered - the app does not keep track, so it is easy to find you have left some pictures in the camera. I also expected to be able to load apps to the camera, but this feature has been removed from this model - it was there in earlier iterations of the RX100. So there is no intervalometer, which I use frequently on my a6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Greatly improved lense and picture quality

DSC-RX100M6 29 July 2019 by Bucket (United Kingdom)

The mark VI is much better than the mark 3 The camera has a lot better picture quality and control options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent partner to DSLR

DSC-RX100M6 23 July 2019 by Rick 66 (United Kingdom)

After using the RX for two months I can say it has filled its role perfectly. It makes a great companion to the DSLR and being light, compact and having a fantastic range of focal lengths means pre-shoot work is now a pleasure.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Nice camera but has some drawbacks

DSC-RX100M6 20 July 2019 by chism2019 (United Kingdom)

I bought the MK6 as an upgrade from my Mk1. I wanted the extra reach the lens on the MK6 could give and not to have to carry my DLSR and heavy lenses everywhere I went. When comparing to the MK1 there are a lot of nice new features such as wifi and bluetooth (for GPS). However the basic camera appears little better although I've only had it for a few weeks. The biggest weakness is the lens and autofocus system - which is primarily why I bought it. Using the lens at maximum zoom on subjects not too far away gives reasonable results however once the subject goes beyond a certain distance the focus is not brilliant - all pictures tend to be 'soft'. At any zoom setting getting 'pin sharp' images is very difficult although possible with fast shutter speeds - maybe I'm expecting too much but for the money this is very disappointing. However it is still early days and perhaps some with some prolonged use I may change my mind. The wifi is a neat addition and works well (once I figured it all out). The GPS tagging is not very user-friendly and requires action on my phone each time I switch the camera on - which in reality means I forget to do it or for that 'quick' shot it doesn't happen. The ability to control the camera from my phone is a great addition over the MK1 and very useful. The sensor appears to be 'noisy'; subjectively little better than the MK1 which is disappointing as I would have expected a big improvement. This means the camera is great on a good day but less so in dull weather or indoors. But again it is still early days and I need to play around with it a lot more. I didn't buy the camera for video and have only tried it a few times. The results have been fantastic for a little camera with no problems using the footage with Adobe products for editing. I have some friends who have a competitors camera which is £400 cheaper than the RX100M6 - their pictures and features seem no worse than the RX100M6. This tells me that the MK6 is premium priced and not worth it; something to weigh up if you are considering the RX100MK6. Having said this I have managed to capture some lovely pictures which says the camera is capable of some great results.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Good specification ( reason for buying )

DSC-RX100M6 17 July 2019 by Notknown (United Kingdom)

Very good photo's, but difficulty with Eye Piece and poor visibility of the monitor, particularly in sunlight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great travel camera but now at the service centre

DSC-RX100M6 16 July 2019 by DevonGordie (United Kingdom)

I had a model 3 but traded it in for the 6 as I wanted the longer lens. It really produces sharp quality images and the longer lens, in the same compact body, is fantastic. For a year it has been my go anywhere camera but just before the warranty finished I had an error E91 01 and the flash and EVF didn't work. After trying a few online suggestions it has now gone back to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

better with time

DSC-RX100M6 09 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently to bring my model up to date. I for years have been using one of these compacts to subsidise my DSLR. I was glues to the Panasonic LX series, that was until Sony released this. Wow I was blown away and continue to be. Initially I upgraded to each new model. This time I skipped a new model. The improvement in the lens to include 200mm was fantastic. I really like the camera a lot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 09 July 2019 by deebee29 (United Kingdom)

First impressions are great, not tried out all the features properly yet but the image & video quality are brilliant. This camera is so versatile. Can be used in either all automatic point & shoot to full featured manual modes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Splendid little companion

DSC-RX100M6 03 July 2019  (United Kingdom)

So far does everything I want it to ;it would be good if it was quicker to open and close

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good walking and travel camera

DSC-RX100M6 26 June 2019 by P_Walker (United Kingdom)

This was an exchange for my RX100 MK III, solely because of the longer zoom. The new viewfinder is a big improvement, being a simple pop up and push down process. The different RAW format was a pain because my old MAC computer could not handle the files unless I converted them to TIFFs using Sony software. My Adobe Lightroom thus became useless unless I went through this extra stage before importing the RAW files. I have yet to try the various jpeg options. If my Mk III is anything to go by, the camera looks and feels well made, but is not as robust as one might think and needs handling with care to avoid scratching or denting the metal case.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great little camera

DSC-RX100M6 25 June 2019 by Joker27 (United Kingdom)

Fits in my pocket and produces super clear pics. Zoom is very useful and the auto scene selection is great for instant macro shots. The one touch evf is bright and clear and a real plus point for this superb little camera. No more lugging around heavy dslr kit.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased so far

DSC-RX100M6 24 June 2019 by JeremyB2 (United Kingdom)

After a long time researching cameras of this type I received my Sony RX100 VI only a little over a week ago so it's too early to make any serious comment. It is solidly built and, although it's small, I find the controls reasonably easy to use with my medium-sized hands. It's a steep learning curve finding one's way around the comprehensive menu system mainly because there are so many inter-reacting possibilities between the various settings. All of this means that once one has become used to the camera its flexibility should be considerable. I strongly advise anyone purchasing this camera to buy a guidebook as the Sony manual isn't easy to work through. Image quality is as good as one would expect from the 1" sensor combined with an excellent lens and processor. The optical zoom is up to 200 mm but I'm finding that using the Clear Image Zoom function which combines optical with digital zoom it is possible to produce very reasonable images at up to 400 mm. No real negatives so far but if you buy one make sure to also purchase a number of additional batteries as this camera gets through them quickly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Pocket sized wonder

DSC-RX100M6 23 June 2019 by Baz1957 (United Kingdom)

The best pocket sized point and shoot on the market

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Best So Far!

DSC-RX100M6 20 June 2019 by Dave the Rebel (United Kingdom)

I've always just wanted a little camera that could reliably take quality concert photos that wouldn't be refused entry at gigs and, most importantly, that records stereo sound that I can actually listen to without cringing at the distortion or volume drop as you zoom in or out. Why did I waste so much time and money on that rubbish Samsung (WB350F) that makes up it's own mind when it wants to work properly or not?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A great point and shoot camera for travel

DSC-RX100M6 E32 19 June 2019  (Singapore)

Very happy with this purchase although I would prefer a longer zoom which my other compact camera features. Also, I really dislike the flash because I find the flash too ‘white’ thus faces look ‘ghostly’, again compared with my other camera which features a softer flash and so faces look more natural. Love the size though, it fits easily into any of my handbags.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Full of features

DSC-RX100M6 18 June 2019 by puffin1957 (United Kingdom)

I haven't had this camera long and am still learning about it, but it has a wide array of functions and features in such a small package. I got it primarily for its size and large sensor with zoom - while the zoom is not huge, it does enable me to get reasonable photos of wildlife. The menu is a bit complicated as there is so much you can do with the camera, but it has a very useful memory recall mode in which you can save 7 of your most used settings and recall them instantly. It's 24 fps is blindingly fast and has enabled me to get good action shots. It is exceptionally compact with relatively small buttons, so someone with large hands may struggle a bit, but is very pocketable. Two main criticisms are it's whopping price, and you HAVE to get the hand grip at extra cost, otherwise you will no doubt end up dropping it due to its smooth finish. Why a grip was not included I have no idea as I would have thought that a vital part of any camera. But that aside it is an extremely impressive piece of kit and capable of producing very professional results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

ideal for trips without DSLR

DSC-RX100M6 16 June 2019 by fjb1 (United Kingdom)

I researched for a respectable small portable camera with good image output, one that will produce a respectable large print, that I can use RAW format and lets me work in manual. I do not use video, only images. Post processing of the RAW images and also photo-merge really provides an excellent end result. It is small enough to fit in my coat pocket, very easy to adapt to and although overpriced it fits the niche for me as often I am weight restricted when going to and from my work sites; also carrying my DSLR equipment isn't always practical on a day to day basis. I can thoroughly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and great

DSCRX100M6/B 07 June 2019 by Lester1000 (USA)

Very happy that I chose this compact and versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Go everywhere camera

DSC-RX100M6 03 June 2019 by Robbo123 (United Kingdom)

Despite down sizing to Sony alpha camera and lenses I wanted a camera you could carry in your pocket. This camera produces really sharp images across the whole of its zoom range yet it’s so light and pocketable. A friend was so impressed with the results and size they went out and bought one themselves.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality versatile camera

DSC-RX100M6 02 June 2019 by Andydestiny (United Kingdom)

I did a lot of research looking for a dslr quality compact and the RX100M6 achieves this with quality high zoom range optics, a proper viewfinder and versatile settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fabulous little camera

DSC-RX100M6 28 May 2019 by NippyV (United Kingdom)

Fed up with carting my DSLR around, the RX100 V6 is perfect for taking out without the heavy bags. I have not tried out all the features yet, but the photographs so far are Excellent. The camera feels great in your hand, it is not flimsy, and the controls are easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very very very handy when on the move.

DSC-RX100M6 17 May 2019 by Billmac (United Kingdom)

Got about every thing you need in a small package. Excellent photos without thinking and also allows you to be creative if the will takes you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic camera in a small package!

DSC-RX100M6 13 May 2019 by steve1959 (United Kingdom)

I was tired of carrying round a DSLR + interchangeable lenses and wanted a compact travel camera that delivered on performance and picture quality. Look no further! This pocket rocket is the best camera I have ever owned in 45 years of taking pictures. It fulfils all my needs and I couldn't be happier with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best pocket travel zoom camera

DSC-RX100M6 27 April 2019 by FrancoT (United Kingdom)

I bought this towards the end of 2018 and I am still blown over by its excellent stills and videos results. I didn't imagine this possible from such a camera but, there it is, up there with the best bigger-size DSLRs. Highly commendable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great Compact Camera

DSC-RX100M6 E32 19 April 2019 by alfjas (Singapore)

I bought it one month and enjoying this little toys. The pictures were clear and fast with so many features that can be adjust to make it fun. The only downside is transferring of photos to mobile phone which would be ease if they have apps that can move the photos by bluetooth.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good but complex

DSC-RX100M6 18 April 2019 by RickyS (USA)

The "Help" file from Sony is out of date. It tells you to use "PlayMemories Mobile" and that software has been replaced. It describes a "Bulb" mode in shutter-priority which does not exist. The help file is a relabeled version of the document for an earlier camera. I tried to figure out how to use "Back Button Focus" on this camera but the menus are too different from the other Sony cameras for that advice to be helpful. The "Help" file describes how to use "Auto Exposure Lock" without saying what that is. Auto is the opposite of Lock. There are features not mentioned in the manual. If I'm in playback on a panorama and press the center button, it nicely scans the panorama in full screen. The "Help" on [Focus Standard] is gibberish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great camera, great quality!

DSC-RX100M6 07 April 2019 by rsh458 (USA)

The Sony RX100 VI is a gem of a camera, an outstanding photographic instrument! It delivers beautiful, rich, detailed images. The auto focus is fast and responsive. The pop-up EVF is bright. The camera is small enough to fit in your pocket and go everywhere with you, yet designed so that it fits naturally in your hands. I also shoot with a Fujifilm X-E3 with an 18-55 mm zoom camera, a great combination but too bulky for a travel or go-everywhere camera. On my last European trip I paired the X-E3 with the 27mm pancake lens, a relatively compact package, but despite what you’ve heard, when traveling there are often times when you can’t zoom with your feet. So I researched small zoom cameras. Fujifilm had abandoned its compact zoom line of X10-X30, forcing me to look elsewhere and I settled on the RX100 VI. I haven’t been disappointed. The camera is well made with a solid, even reassuringly heavy feel. Fuji is known for its JPEGS but I’ve found that the RX100 also produces excellent color JPEGs, second to none (it, however, doesn’t offer the variety of B&W JPEGS of Fuji or anything comparable to Fuji’s tonally rich Acros B&W film simulation — something Sony will hopefully address one day). I mention JPEG quality because I prefer not to spend a lot of time editing RAW images — and you don’t have to with Sony JPEGS. Like I said, I did a lot of research, checking out Nikon, Canon, Panasonic/Leica and other models before going with the RX100 VI. I read scores of reviews. Let me address criticisms in some of those reviews of the M6. First, that it’s not a good low light camera. Well, yes, a slower aperture is naturally what you pay for the longer zoom, an exchange I willingly made. That said, it’s worth noting that Sony says the M6 has an improved image stabilization system. I wouldn’t be surprised if that improvement makes up for the more than one-stop loss in aperture speed over other RX100 models. I’ve done some testing and found that, even though I don’t have the steadiest of hands, I get consistently sharp images even with a shutter speed down to 1/8 of a second in the 24-70mm zoom range. Sony gets a lot of criticism for its complex menus. Well, the camera is a sophisticated instrument with many functions, so that means a lot in the menus. Could they be better organized? Maybe. But guess what, you can do that yourself by assigning your most useful functions to the My Menu for quick access. That quickly, Sony’s so-called menu problem is solved. Another knock on the camera is the limited battery life. Well, it’s a small battery in a small camera. We can only hope that as battery technology advances, Sony won’t forget it RX100 enthusiasts and will provide us with a better, longer-lasting battery when the technology is available. Meanwhile, keep a replacement battery in your pocket. The RX100 VI is expensive. You pay for what you get, and this camera is packed with quality. In short, the RX100 VI is everything I hoped for and more in terms of quality. And it’s just a fun camera to shoot with!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excelent quality and decent handling in a compact

DSC-RX100M6 02 April 2019 by JCPW (United Kingdom)

Looking for something much smaller and lighter than my DSLR, previous compacts I have tried were just too limited in image quality and flexibility. The RX100 provides a remarkable level of image quality for the size. Handling is also good within the limitations caused by shrinking physical size but retaining a full set of controls. a brilliant little camera but make sure you have the strap on your wrist because sooner or later it will slip out of your fingers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Battery life is its weakness

DSC-RX100M6 E32 31 March 2019 by Bungalaix (Singapore)

It works as it should with tons of features. Wish it had a much better battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Still and Video Camera for Travelling

DSC-RX100M6 E32 30 March 2019 by Travelling Gerry (Singapore)

Takes great 4k video and still images. Would be helpful if the camera had some type of rubber grip on the camera chaise to help when panning in video mode. The tripod/ handle (purchased separately) needs a start/ stop option.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

All that I hoped it would be with a few proviso's

DSC-RX100M6 27 March 2019 by CJUman (United Kingdom)

Purchased 3 weeks ago via John Lewis. It was this or the Lumix TZ200EB. Went for the more expensive but shorter range zoom as this was lighter and fitted in a pocket. It felt better quality and I like the way the screen can be pulled out and twisted up and down. Walks and holidays since then has shown how much I need to try to remember, given the many functions on offer. Yes it fits in the pocket, but with the leather Sony Camera Case it makes a tight fit and too fiddly to open in a hurry. Good quality photos on Jepg fine, 4K video was one of my reasons for purchase and its good quality but very difficult to avoid camera shake without a tripod. I have a 4K cinema projector and can vouch for the quality of film shots. Excellent quick focus facility. Be careful with the on/off button, it would be possible to turn it on while in a pocket or handbag with disastrous results. Linking to an Android phone (HTC 10) has been problematic, NFC no chance, Bluetooth not as reliable as I had hoped for, WiFi link ?for what? . Clearly I am still on a learning curve with these features. I have managed to copy some pics from the camera to the HTC and then to Dropbox but it is a slow process even where there is 4G. Sticking the card in my laptop is quick and easy. I had problems trying to figure out what memory card I needed, especially for the speed 4K video would need. I have ended up with a Sony 64GB U3 SDXC II which is probably OTT, but used for 4K video; also a ScanDisk Extreme Pro 128GB U3 SDXC I (170MB/s V30) which works fine and at half the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

RX100 VI Overheats :-(

DSCRX100M6/B 23 March 2019 by swooshy (USA)

Nowhere in the specifications, features, or reviews hint to the fact that this camera overheats and shuts down when doing video in excess of 15 to 20 minutes.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Really very good

DSC-RX100M6 20 March 2019 by kit cat (United Kingdom)

Fed up with carting around a massive SLR and lenses I thought this would be the solution. I nearly part exchanged my £2200.00 worth (new) of Pentax equipment and having used the Sony a few times I am glad I didn't. The Sony is great with spectacular results but not quite the Pentax K3 with a prime 35mm and 17-70mm lenses. I will use the Pentax for best but for most occasions I am more than happy to use the Sony. It is really very good indeed and tiny too. The only downside is the battery life.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant Camera

DSC-RX100M6 05 March 2019 by Ianburridge (United Kingdom)

Bought for holiday in Costa Rica and got some stunning pictures from it. Very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent picture quality

DSC-RX100M6 26 February 2019 by Rich 1832 (United Kingdom)

Great camera impressed with results great travel camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Rx100 mk6

DSC-RX100M6 E32 25 February 2019 by Sco70716 (Singapore)

Bgt it after thking long and ghard for 3 years. Fast and gd reach.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera But Too Expensive

DSC-RX100M6 E32 15 February 2019 by TTHS (Singapore)

I bough this RX100VI after the IV version of mine malfunction and repaired 4 times in 2 years. Despite this, my only dis-satisfaction with the IV version was the zoom was too short ! So when the VI version was out and with a much longer zoom, I had little hesitation to buy it. For the VI version the only complaint so far is the opening and closing of the shuttle takes much longer time than the earlier version !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice camera - almost a DSLR in your pocket

DSC-RX100M6 09 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Had the camera a month. Originally bought a rugged compact but that fell far short of my daily needs. Now just use that for climbing, caving and underwater. I always carry the RX100vi with me and for my use, its features are almost as good as my Nikon D7200. Only nags are the front finger grip should be included rather than being a fifteen quid accessory and, worse, it has no in-built interval timer/timelapse facility; which, as a purely software function, would have cost nothing to add. Otherwise, I'm very happy with it! (Oh, and why doesn't popping up the flash turn the camera on in the same way popping up the viewfinder does?)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

More than meets my needs

DSC-RX100M6 04 February 2019 by Devon Harry (United Kingdom)

To take a good photo you need a camera - that is to say a camera you have with you, the best equipment in the world is of no use if it is at home in a cupboard! My specifications were for a multi-capable camera that is small and light enough to carry comfortably at all times in a jacket or coat pocket; that has a useful optical zoom range; a viewfinder; a tilting screen; RAW format as well as JPG; decent low-light performance; and that will produce large high quality prints. After reading numerous reviews, etc., the RX100 VI, although well above my initial budget, was the only camera I thought met all my criteria. And it does! Although I've only had it a couple of weeks it has already produced a very impressive set of candid ambient light photos taken at a formal dinner function, some great landscapes in our recent snowfall, and some superbly detailed portraits of my wife and of our cat. There is still a lot for me to learn about this camera and the many functions it offers but, so far, I am very impressed and pleased with my choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic small high quality camera

DSCRX100M6/B 01 February 2019 by garytex (USA)

I needed a small and lighter size camera that would still have the high quality I have come to expect from larger more expensive cameras. Amazed at the sharpness and quality of this camera plus the broad zoom range in something this small is incredible. It fits in my pocket and is easy to carry and use. Wish it had better low light noice reduction but it is no worse than my larger cameras that are near professional level so it's a good trade in small size and have all the features that this camera has.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first Sony camera - and it's brilliant !!

DSC-RX100M6 30 January 2019 by DarziPics (United Kingdom)

I'm a keen photog and have used Nikon dSLR cameras since D70 through D750, so have/am finding the Sony camera controls and mindset quite different - but do-able just (much) slower to use even with MyMenu and Fn menu access helping. The short battery life is a big downside. The image quality is acceptable, although the raw(.ARW) files can have a huge amount of lens distortion which correcting leaves minor traces and artefacts. The ExFine SooC JPEG files are good although the autoWB isn't as good as Nikon's especially for Caucasian skin tones in non-sunny light conditions. Overall I love the small size literally fits my pocket even in it's case, and the 24-100mm (35mm Equiv.) lens is fantastic for the size and convenience, if a tad optically slow. I too would prefer to have ND filtering built in, but suspect size constraints ruled.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Just about perfect!

DSC-RX100M6 27 January 2019 by JackKen (USA)

I read lots of reviews before purchasing the RX100 VI, but it still exceeded all of my expectations. I've now sold all of my DSLR's and lenses - and I don't miss them at all!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best travel compact camera

DSC-RX100M6 26 January 2019 by p1gala (United Kingdom)

The Sony RX100 VI is a high-end compact camera aimed at pros, enthusiasts and vloggers. If you’re after a do-it-all pocket travel camera, the RX100 VI has taken the crown.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 23 January 2019 by nickydee (United Kingdom)

Compared to other compacts this is streets ahead in quality & features.So compact you can carry it almost anywhere & not miss a shooting opportunity. Menus seem a bit complicated at first but are very similar to those that are in most other Sony cameras so there are lots of YouTube tutorials to help & also some excellent guide books too . You can, though, get excellent shots just in Auto.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worth the price and worth upgrading to.

DSC-RX100M6 20 January 2019 by xyzab (United Kingdom)

I had the MK3 for many years and loved it, but found the extended lens on the M6 too tempting. I was worried about maintaining good sharpness over such a longer zoom range but after reading many reviews, went for it. I must say I am not disappointed. Its an excellent camera. One complaint is that the stick on hand grip, which is excellent, makes it tight to fit the case (the £100 one) despite Sony advertising the case as suitable for that grip. Clearly they have not re-shaped the case to accommodate the hand grip properly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrific little camera!

DSC-RX100M6 18 January 2019 by Nigglynige (United Kingdom)

Improvement on previous models, great zoom range starting at a useful wide angle 24mm equivalent. Pop-up viewfinder is very useful in bright ambient light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor image quality

DSC-RX100M6 E32 24 December 2018 by Gerdy (Singapore)

Bought an RX100mkVI to use on my trip to Japan. Had previously own RX100mk2 and RX100mk4. Not enough improvement in IQ to warrant a jump in price difference.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

a good pocketable all-rounder

DSC-RX100M6 E32 17 December 2018 by Wabbit (Singapore)

bought this for my travels. has always been impressed by Sony's white balance accuracy and the sharpness of Zeiss lens. the touch screen in mk.6 makes custom focus so much easier. A challenge in lowlight capability compared to the mk.5. I travelled with both the mk.5 & 6, selection dependent on shooting environment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Fantastic Camera

DSC-RX100M6 10 December 2018 by Prabodha (USA)

Been using the RX100 since the beginning version 1. This is the best yet with the enhanced Zoom. Literally has changed my life!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Enjoying the zoom and portability

DSC-RX100M6 E32 02 December 2018 by Srinivas9 (Singapore)

Would have liked to see F1.8 or even F1.4 aperture. Would be perfect then!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bring to Japan Hokaido.

DSC-RX100M6 E32 28 November 2018 by Tomsawyer (Singapore)

I brought it this month as a Christmas present for myself and trip to Japan.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great Color Rendition and Detail

DSCRX100M6/B 28 November 2018 by ScottB100 (USA)

Many of the reviews have emphasized the zoom lens and the great video quality. As a professional still photographer, I rarely use video. The 24mm to 200mm has proven to be quite useful when shooting urban landscapes, but what I am really blown away by is the sharpness of the photographs (there seems little to no difference between the 24 megapixel ASP-C sensor and this 20.1 1" sensor) and the color rendition. I shoot RAW, and I have noticed I make very view adjustments to color in Lightroom. The noise is also very light even at ISO 1000, which I shoot below as much as possible. The blues, yellows, and reds are particularly good. Yes, the camera is expensive, but it so portable. Because of the image quality, I feel less guilty leaving my full frame at home when I am out and about and want a serious camera with me at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Get great images without looking like a tourist.

DSC-RX100M6 18 November 2018 by Taffy bloke (United Kingdom)

Just to set the scene - I'm an amateur photographer who uses an A7mk 2, along with a number of G Lenses. Previously, my preferred travel camera was the hugely impressive RX10 mk 3, down simply to that incredible focal length of 24 - 600mm. The reason I bought the RX100M6 was an impending USA road trip where I had would be visiting the 'Real America' - New Orleans, Memphis and Nashville. I wanted a camera that would give great image quality but could be tucked away in 'dodgy' areas. The RX100M6 certainly delivers in both areas, image quality is absolutely incredible, better than my RX10 by a country mile in terms of sharpness and colour rendition. I've been shooting in RAW & JPEG, but to be honest the JPEGs are so good I'll probably ditch the RAW files. I've attached a few images from my American road trip which hopefully will illustrate my point. I know it's an expensive camera, but it's expensive for a reason, it's bloody good! Just hit the buy button, I promise you won't be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

0

0

Great little camera – good for creative pictures

DSC-RX100M6 16 November 2018 by tinaistda (United Kingdom)

Since I bought the camera about 2 weeks ago, she is always there. So far, I can only report good things. It makes great shots, you really have a lot of settings (almost like a big camera) and the absolute advantage is, it is small, light and handy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

No manual

DSC-RX100M6 14 November 2018 by cookgirl (USA)

No manual is included with the camera and none is available online. Sony, you disappoint once again.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

33

0

Fast! Great zoom range. Good in low light.

DSC-RX100M6 09 November 2018  (United Kingdom)

I have had this for a month and use it as a backup for my system camera where I don’t want to take something so bulky. It’s is Fast! Great zoom range. Good in low light. Touch sensitive For those who comment about complex menus -> Get a grip. It’s not that difficult. This is a 5 star camera for a compact pocketable camera. Yes pricey but you get what you pay for. I compared with many others and they all lacked something.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Slow lens - Practically f4

DSC-RX100M6 04 November 2018 by Shaji123 (USA)

I had to cancel my order realising the slow lens compared to previous model M5, which will affect low light photos and bokeh effect. It's ok to have f2.8 max apperture (M5 have f1.8). But, I would expect it to keep f2.8 until 70mm. Unfortunately, its immediately going to f4 at lower focal lengths. There are lot of great improvements over M5. But the slower lens is a major flaw at this price. I will wait for M7, assuming it will have high zoom and better lens speed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

5

0

Colour trending towards red and yellow

DSC-RX100M6 E32 02 November 2018  (Singapore)

Bought this camera a month ago to replace my SONY Alpha 6000 as I now prefer to travel light. Has been waiting for such a compact. The camera form factor is small and hard to grip so I bought the shooting grip VCT-SGR1 to have a better hold as I have a bigger palms and indeed it is a well worth purchase. Overall, the camera performed well but a few small points that I do not quite like are: 1. As in with the 6000, the colour still trend towards more reddish and yellowish, making it less natural. 2. The time it takes to save a photo is too long, even on a class 10, 95 MB/s SD card. 3. The shutting down of the camera is also taking too long.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

my RX100 M6 purchased for Oz trip

DSC-RX100M6 01 November 2018 by Snapparoo (United Kingdom)

The M6 is my 3rd RX100, bought for the Oz trip with the longer reach of the 24-200 lens in mind. In bright conditions at wide & medium apertures it is OK, but nowhere near as good as the M3 I also took on the trip. Stop the aperture right down and resolution drops off. In low light the image quality drops off significantly, ditto from ISO 400 upwards. As a consequence I only use it on very bright days, fairly wide open and with as low an ISO as I can getaway with. The M6 is one very compromised camera, quite how I will get on when I get back to winter in the UK I cannot. Maybe I can, it will go in the drawer until next summer when it will be make or break. Break = eBay.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

6

0

Does what it claims

DSC-RX100M6 26 October 2018 by Sceptic (United Kingdom)

I bought this about two weeks ago and it is impossible to try out many is the almost innumerable capabilities it has I have so far found nothing wanting. Perhaps as an experienced photographer you do need to check what setting you are on as the camera will produce a reasonable image unless perhaps you use full manual. The under desk shot was taken at iso 8000! Very acceptable. The others at iso 100. The optical stabilization works well too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

You can’t fault this cameras abilities

DSC-RX100M6 21 October 2018 by Wwwdotsteve (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about three weeks ago and have used it in various situations to test the capabilities, I have not been disappointed with the results. Picture quality is second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Missing a time lapse app

DSC-RX100M6 19 October 2018 by rockett100 (United Kingdom)

Great camera for travel photography with a huge zoom range. The camera seems to be missing software features that you would expect in a high end camera. I would like to see a time-lapse app included on the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great sharpness at full zoom

DSC-RX100M6 E32 19 October 2018 by Enjamifu (Singapore)

Great sharpness and details but bokeh not as nice as others

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Specifications to become the perfect camera

DSC-RX100M6 15 October 2018 by Manel RG (USA)

This camera has to extend its zoom from a minimum of 15 mm (wide angle is so important for mountaineers to include all the mountain in the photo). Also it must be sealed from dust and water. The viewfinder must be bigger and more comfortable. Add grip. Is it possible to add a variable polarizer and ND filter? Is it possible to increase the sensor size like APS-C or even full frame like the RX1R II? I know that the camera will become more expensive, but I don't matter, it will worth.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

6

0

The Best Yet!

DSC-RX100M6 09 October 2018 by Nick46 (United Kingdom)

Superb camera. Worth it for the exrra range. 2.8 instead of 1.8 at the wide end doesn't effect the type of photograthy I do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0