VLOG CAMERA ZV-1

Product Reviews

119

4.3 based on 119 customer reviews

75
23
11
3
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great vlogging and all-round compact camera

ZV-1 15 July 2020 by Fredrik (United Kingdom)

The Sony ZV-1 is a vlogging camera but that’s not all. Online reviews are full of praise for this compact video shooter that I have been lucky enough to test for a few days. It is a handy little device, slightly larger than the Sony RX-100VI if you are familiar with the RX series. A user of Sony cameras will find it a familiar experience, the menus are the same but there are some differences in hardware buttons compared with other compact models. There is for instance a ‘mode’ button to access shooting settings instead of the selector wheel on the top of the RX series. In its place is a large video trigger next to the shutter release and a C1 button for quick access to defocus the background, the latter which I found myself using a lot. The shortcut (C1) bokeh is not a software effect, it simply pushes the aperture to its max. The build quality is really good as always with Sony. The body is plastic but it does not feel inexpensive, instead it gives confidence that this compact shooter is built to withstand all kinds of tough handing to be able to capture all your amazing experiences. The screen can be flipped and closed with the screen facing the body of the camera, thus being protected from damage. If the screen is opened from this position it auto starts the camera, a feature that is useful for a quick launch to capture something instant. It is worth mentioning that I am not a professional photographer. I do mainly architectural photography for my work but photography is generally more of hobby. I have been testing the ZV-1 mounted on the new wireless shooting grip (Sony GP-VPT2BT) which I connected with the ZV-1. The set up was straight forward and easy. It can also be used with the smaller and wired shooting grip Sony VCT-SGR1. The connection for this is via the USB multi port on the right side of the camera. A benefit of not going with USB C is that older accessories (such as Sony VCT-SGR1) will fit. Other connections are a microphone input, a mini HDMI output and a multi-interface shoe on the top of the camera. At the bottom is the battery and SD card slot. When I first hit the movie recording button I was prompted that the inserted SD card had insufficient writing speed. The requirement being a SDXC Class 10 or UHS-I/UHS-II to get the optimum performance out of this camera. The ZV-1 does not have NFC so a connection for uploading to Imaging Edge Mobile app is done via QR code or direct input. What’s in the box. 1 Sony ZV-1 camera 1 Deadcat (microphone wind shield) attached via the multi interface shoe 1 Sony NP-BX1 1240mAh lithium ion battery 1 USB A to micro USB cable 1 instruction manual Features I found particularly useful are: The screen can be turned 180 degrees to be protected when not in use. Quick start by flipping out the screen (only when the screen is closed as above). The autofocus is superfast and follow a moving object with great accuracy. Bokeh mode (C1 button). At a press of a button the camera switches from sharp to a blurred background mode which is great for hobby photographers or inexperienced users, or for urgent moments when you do not have time to set the camera up. Grip. The camera has a right hand front grip and together with the non-metal matte finish body, the ZV-1 feels secure in your hand. 20.1MP Photography The camera produces sharp images with good colour accuracy and image depth. The auto focus performs really well and you can get really close for detailed macro shots. A great all-round compact camera that produces good skin tones and contrast. The camera has no built-in flash or electronic view finder. 4K Videography As this is camera is clearly aimed at a vlogging target group for showcasing products, evident by the quick access to the Product Showcase (C2) function, it must be said that it does that brilliantly. The Product Showcase function is triggered with a hardware button that shares its functionality with the delete button. It performs very well and changes focus in an instant from a face (eye tracking) to whatever is promoted closest to the lens. This function must be selected before recording commences and can not be switched while filming. Without the Product Showcase set to ON the camera will continue to focus on the face until both eyes are obscured or removed from view. The camera can be set for focus priority to a pre-registered face which is helpful where there are several people within the frame. Skin tone and smoothness are good and the microphone records voices well (indoors). The image stabilisation is on par with other products in this category. I found using a shooting grip helps stability and adds a bit of extra distance when recording self or promoting on the go.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

This reviewer received the product free of charge, or was a product loan programme participant

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good but overheats in 4k

ZV-1 09 October 2020 by Jhat (USA)

So for just carrying around its been great. It's light weight and shoots great footage. Unfortunately I'm having a ton of trouble with it shutting off while streaming and recording gameplay in 4k. Most times my daughter and I can get 25-30 minutes before it shuts off from overheating but just today we only got 20 minutes max. I'm considering returning the camera to purchase something different. I don't think I'd recommend the zv-1 as it isn't a cheap camera. Plus, I've changed the hi temp setting and other tips I've seen on youtube but they aren't working.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

119 Customer Reviews

0

Super Vlog-cam

ZV-1 22 September 2021 by Florin25031978 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made a best choice! Period. There are alot of words wich can make the best description. You just have to try it. And the rest will come by himself.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent indoor and outdoor camera

ZV-1 15 September 2021 by Lineside (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As well as a great little indoor blogging camera it shoots spectacularly well outdoors. The built-in ND filter really makes this camera. Ok the telephoto lens motor speed is somewhat harsh but using it as a fixed magnification you are able to get stunning shots, especially with the Ziess lens. A fantastic pocket-sized camera ideal if you are constantly on the go. It has the ability to take superb photos too. For the price this was an ideal camera to get and knocks spots off any smartphone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My first camera

ZV-1 01 September 2021 by 3ligijus (United Kingdom)

Everything great apart couple of things: Very poor battery life Zoom sound in footage

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AMAZING

ZV-1 29 August 2021 by Tracy41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best camera I have used the focus on the camera is amazing like beats this

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice camera in good price

ZV-1 29 August 2021 by SandraSzych (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought by argos with 100£ cash back from Sony, my partner love it !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic!

ZV-1 28 August 2021 by Salts (United Kingdom)

I have been wanting to buy this camera for a while now, and it arrived today! I cannot wait to start filming, my YouTube video out put has not been the best due to not having a decent camera. I always used my phone, but I'm hoping that now with the in my arsenal my YouTube page can take off a little bit. I still need to learn how to use this properly and I love the aftermarket support that this camera has. I am looking forward to starting!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect size

ZV-1 24 August 2021 by CJay22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The perfect camera to have to record family & friends!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice en good

ZV-1 22 August 2021 by Nasissak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it last month ago en am loving it. Das great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small but professional looking footage

ZV-1 18 August 2021 by Jasonstanley68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this to film my holiday on a cruise, I have an a7iii but didn’t want to lug it around plus it’s expensive. Got th

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Happy so far…..

ZV-1/BC E32 16 August 2021 by Singapore Street Shots (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had 3 different RX100 cameras in the last 8 years…. I am a professional photographer and I love the quality of the photos these little cameras provide!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent camera - which could be a little better

ZV-1 15 August 2021 by Phil2164 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the ZV-1 daily for a couple of weeks - long enough to get to grips with most of it. I love the visual quality - which is a huge upgrade on what I was using before and definitely represents a massive upgrade to even high quality webcam products. Sound quality - even without a mic (and we've bought a RODE shotgun mic) is really very good. It does mean that you don't feel like you have to have a separate all the time. The hot shoe is definitely a great inclusion though. The flip out screen so you can see the shot when you are vlogging is super - great quality. Happy with all that. Here's where the product could go in future if it really wants to dominate the market though: 1) Battery capacity. You absolutely need spares and a charger running. Battery life is not tremendous. It's not unacceptable - but you can't do without spares. 2) The screen flips to the front but touch screen is limited and all the controls on the back. A vlogging camera needs controls to the front or a full touch screen. 3) The menus screens are annoying to navigate and use jargon terms with functions hidden within sub categories - this is the worst thing about this camera. 4) Supply it with a small remote control that activates basic functions (record/pause and zoom) With the quality of the image and sound that this camera brings, and with it being so compact and easy to carry - if you address those four things - the game is over for vlogging cameras and there would literally be only once choice on the market. As it stands this is a great camera and I highly recommend it - but it feels like an interim product and not quite the final piece.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Best quality we've seen

ZV-1 09 August 2021 by ETEO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has given us the best quality photos and video footage we've ever had from any other camera. We're not new to filming but we're not professionals, however this camera takes our videos to another level. Money well spent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many promising features

ZV-1 04 August 2021 by Walking Jack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Promising, because of printing most of the 500 pages of the instructions as PDFs is going to take some time. Then there's trying it out, which I never do with a new product till I am sure I know how to. So far, so good. Poor battery life, though. I should rather like to send a review when I've got used to the camera, the hand-held stick and the Bluetooth mic. The adverts were certainly good - I hope it lives up to their promises.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cini

ZV-1 31 July 2021 by Cini (United Kingdom)

I brought today it is amazing , this is my first camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An Excellent Camera!

ZV-1 30 July 2021 by G123H (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Small and convenient for outside photography and vlogging. Also great as a streaming webcam. I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

excellent video

ZV-1 24 July 2021 by Whiterose2 (United Kingdom)

very good product highly pleased but difficulty registering on line

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Small Body - Big Heart!

ZV-1 16 July 2021 by DV88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been playing around with this camera for a couple of weeks now and I can honestly say It's a fantastic piece of kit. It should be worth noting that I am an amateur and can't critique this like a professional photographer. I use the camera mainly to record videos for my website and love the bokeh feature. The camera is super quick to detect objects that are near and it blurs the background wonderfully (this is a feature and can be turned off also). It's light weight and I use it with the Sony GP-VPT2BT Handgrip which is also great! My only gripe is that I would like to see this be sold with a memory card which will cost you about £35 extra. I'm aware this is industry standard to sell memory cards separately. Very good overall.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great autofocus

ZV-1 14 July 2021 by ZV1user (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera drives me crazy with its menus! It took me several WEEKS of trial and error to find out, which setting prevented the eye autofocus from working in 4K30. It’s not onlcy the complexity and shere number of menu pages and settings that is overwhelming, but especially the mutually exclusive settings that don’t tell you, what they interfere with. So if you want to have fun operating a camera, don’t buy the ZV-! Once the settings are correct and according to your needs, the picture and film quality excels most of its rivals. Especially the autofocus tracking and the showcase mode are really good. So you’ll be pleased until you need IBIS for stabilisation. The image is cropped quite a bit and thus the wide angle is limited a bit too much. Maybe stabilisation in post is an alternative gor dome, but still will crop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great video camera even my 5 year old can use it

ZV-1 13 July 2021 by KatZR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

We’ve had the Sony ZV-1 for a couple of months now and am very happy with my purchase. It’s been used for taking pictures, but mainly for shooting videos. Highly recommend getting the Sony Shooting Grip with this vlog camera as it’s making shooting videos on the go so much easier. It can be also used as a tripod. As my title mentions, this camera is so easy to use, my 5 year old has started her own channel with excellent quality videos thanks to this product. The menu is easy to use once you learn all the basics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not sure I'd bother

ZV-1 13 July 2021 by touchtennis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product a few weeks ago and it's a top down camera at best. Photos are average and the blogging capabilities are questionable as you have to fiddle so much in order to switch from movie to photos. Sure you could set up function button shortcuts, but if I want that much hassle I'll take my A7C.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Sony zv1 bokeh ready baby

ZV-1 02 July 2021 by Nalina (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera just over a week - I’ve played a little as you can see and amazing results for the price I paid! Amazing vlogging cam and exceptional macro cam IMO I absolutely love it however I really now want a A9! I would recommend the zv1 for what it’s purpose is to vlog professional quality 4K video and beautiful picture quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great

ZV-1 24 June 2021 by reggie257 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

im happy with this product all sony products are ok

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice and compact but not a vlogging camera

ZV-1 22 June 2021  (United Kingdom)

Bought this as an alternative to the GoPro Hero 9, but it's not really an action camera alternative. The stabilisation is just not good enough for walking footage. Great for pictures and static talking heads, product reviews and just taking photos.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Love this camera!

ZV-1 03 June 2021 by Tanja007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was so afraid of the techy part of a real camera but ZV-1 makes it so easy, even for dummies like me. The quality is awesome. Looooove the blurry background :-) Looking forward to exploring this camera. Only shot 2 video's with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great feel

ZV-1/WC E32 02 June 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month my feel also great also I would like capture pic

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Average

ZV-1 16 May 2021 by Denzal (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was a little disappointed after paying so much for it I was expecting a lot more but to be honest there isn’t anything my small camera I’ve had for years can’t do

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Little power house !

ZV-1 15 May 2021 by timeskyproductions (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an amazing camera for the size. Its selling point is for vloging but its much more than that. I bought it primarily for filming my music videos for youtube and not for vloging. The menu is fantastic and the camera boots up very quickly. Well done Sony on this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Vlogging Camera for 2021

DCZV1/B 06 May 2021 by DaBlackapino (USA)

Bought this to Add to my Collection of 2 Panasonic Camera's I already Own and Love it so much I sold my Panasonic G7 and use this with both my a6400 and Panasonic G85. It's Simple to Use and Easy too understand.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact and powerful

ZV-1 05 May 2021 by FrankinSpain (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the ZV 1 as all round camera. It has all amore of the features I was looking for and is fairly easy to get used to. It's a workhorse that offers great quality although a thread on the lens for any add ons, filters or optical addintional lenses would have made it perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Really great for those inexperienced

ZV-1 05 May 2021 by Vandie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Honestly could not be happier as someone who is relatively inexperienced with cameras other than my phone, it didn't take long to get the videos settings to how I'd like it. I'm sure at some point I'll want to upgrade to something with interchangeable lenses but at this point in time, It has everything I could hope for. If recording for a vertical format, there is no vertical mount point. I'd recommend buying a "SmallRig" brand cage for the camera to solve that problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Price is great

ZV-1 26 April 2021 by juku1324 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its good camera for the money..............................

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just the best

ZV-1 21 April 2021 by ECHPEE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's an amazing camera. You just have to buy and see. Used it for studio headshots and was plown by the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My White Sony ZV1

ZV-1/WC E32 17 April 2021 by Lynn28881 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am enjoying the features of this camera. Very easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I like this camera Sony zv-1

ZV-1 15 April 2021 by Eli75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had before the canon g7x mark iii but I was not happy. After change for zv-1, I have no problems with doing vlogging on my youtube channel. I love this camera so much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

ZV1

ZV-1/BC UC2 14 April 2021 by Ella9119 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm very happy with my purchase!!!!!!!!!!! I recommend

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

i love the f1.8 on this.

ZV-1/BC E32 14 April 2021 by InFrame (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already own a few A6000s and A7ii. Was looking around and saw the ZV-1. Love the fact that it's light, and can shoot at F1.8 without having to carry additional lens around. Don't like the battery cover position though. Get's covered when you put on a tripod base.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love my camera!

ZV-1 08 April 2021 by LindyB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about three weeks ago to step up my vlogging game. I love it! Still got to figure out all the features but I'm really impressed so far. I love that it's compact and I can carry it around in a small purse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Battery Slot

ZV-1/BC E32 04 April 2021 by faiosman (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Camera 3 months ago overall specs is good but the battery slot somehow was tearing apart while changing another extra battery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great little beast

ZV-1/BC E32 04 April 2021 by KKMMS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera packed with features My only qualms is battery life

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality

DCZV1/W 03 April 2021 by ÉCOUTE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sadly the camera is over heating and shutting off automatically when streaming

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great camera

ZV-1/BC UC2 03 April 2021 by Shyz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love how quick I can focus on an object! Would recommend getting if you are a YouTuber

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy and compact

ZV-1/BC UC2 28 March 2021 by PollyFox (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

East to travel with and good quality the only thing it’s sometimes it gets too warm

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant camera

ZV-1 26 March 2021 by newvlogger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for a couple of weeks and am still learning all its functions. It seems user friendly and is very easy to use on the go. Very good quality build and overall I am very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So light and small!

ZV-1 16 March 2021 by jLøk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for a month now and my life has definitely improved since! I am using it every day and since it fits into my trouser's pockets, I can take it with me everywhere. I had to spend some time finding the right settings for me and customising the menu. I love the fact that it has a button for photos and one for video recording. That way, I never have to use the menu to change anything, really. Have used it for vlogging, music videos and casual photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best little pocket powerhouse

ZV-1 14 March 2021 by Super massive Simon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As an ex video professional I haven’t had any kit for many years now. So, to have such a great little all rounder in my pocket that can take great stills as well as usable project footage for the odd little gig here and there is super nice. The build quality is excellent and it’s just so cute I’m in love. The hot shoe is great and the lens shield is a bonus. Yeah, so you can’t swap lenses but for what I need now it’s perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pocket Rocket

ZV-1/BC E32 07 March 2021 by ohanasingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good for its size and price point. Who needs full frame when you have this? :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worth it

ZV-1 03 March 2021 by Lets_Go_Rob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera last month and have received so many positive comments about the increased quality of video ever since. This camera is so smart to use, lightweight but feels solid, great features, just so happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Haven’t been able to use it yet

ZV-1 21 February 2021 by SharonS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been struggling to set it up for vlogging- and so far haven’t found how to remove the annoying graphics off the screen. Instruction manual very poor.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

8

0

Nice video camera with RX100 power for photos too

ZV-1 04 February 2021 by ZV1er (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for making video clips for work... but it takes as good a photo as my RX100iv which I have now given to my wife as the images are just as good but the focus on the ZV1 is better!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

14

0

Love it so far!

ZV-1/BC UC2 03 February 2021 by Captjack671 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you’re on the fence - get off and get one. It does suck that you can’t monitor audio (no jack), but perhaps they can eventually include Bluetooth audio support in a future firmware update. This being said, I’ve learned to trust the audio both on the camera and with an external mic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Versatility, Ease of Use and a Vloggers Dream!

DCZV1/B 20 January 2021 by TampaCarGirl (USA)

Top choice for all new, rising and professional influencers! ! When I tell you the video quality is A1 it TRULY is! Personally, the type of content you like to shoot is primarily product reviews along with shooting a vlog of my life raising two special needs boys. An impressive feature which I use for "selfies" is the vari-angle LCD screen. Upgrades from my current camera are the two features of Automatic Exposure and Auto Focus settings. The video stabilizer that is built in is perfect for shaky hands. The personalized settings are amazing too like auto- focusing on products was a breeze and it auto adjusted to my face right after! Still shots look like I had an entire studio set up with the auto exposure it was perfect every time. Recording action moments are easy to slow down too. Allowing me to see each moment play by play at my friend’s wedding during cake cutting. No one wants to miss the quick moment of smashing cake on one another. The versatility that the VZ-1 has is all you every expected plus. It makes the transition of being behind the lens capturing moments to vlogging an easy switch. If you vlog/record often the accessory kit is a must! Holding the tripod/wireless remote with the contoured design makes balancing the camera easy. Aside from being a camera, video camera, video blogging camera this Sony Vlog camera is a professionals tool for their ‘toolbox’ when creating content or applying for campaigns and jobs. Highly recommend!

3

0

0

A true vloggers dream camera!

DCZV1/B 20 January 2021 by MandaJo1981 (USA)

This camera packs a punch in its compact size. I use this camera practically every day. My YouTube videos and vlogs are now so much better than before. I use it to shoot my product reviews, dream interpretations, and recipes. I get regular comments about the high quality and questions about what camera I use. I cannot wait to tell them it is the Sony ZV-1 and tell them all about it! The wind guard on the microphone is a special touch I like. Prior to this purchase, I filmed an outdoor video on a slightly breezy day. I was appalled at the quality of that recording sound due to the wind. But with the ZV-1 that is never an issue! One of the things that drew me to the ZV-1 is the flip-out vari-angle video screen. I wanted a quality camera that I could see the screen on while I am recording. There is nothing worse than recording a video and thinking you are in the frame only to realize you are not. This eliminates that issue all together. It has ports for an external microphone, HDMI, and a micro USB. This allows for a ton of versatility. You can use a micro USB cord to charge the camera or you can buy an optional battery charger. I even bought a couple of backup batteries to keep the footage flowing even on lengthy trips. I paired the ZV-1 with the shooting grip and I will never go back. This baby is super versatile. It lets me click record, snap a picture, zoom in, and more all while keeping the focus on me and not turning the camera around. This allows complete one-handed usage. In addition, it makes a great little on the go tripod too. All of this fits into a small case making it ultra-portable. I love my ZV-1!

2

0

0

ZV-1 Great for Personal Travel and Blog Documentat

DCZV1/W 17 January 2021 by Frank956 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased just after Christmas to take advantage of Sony special pricing. Purchased because of other positive reviews and I can say this is a great small almost "pocket" camera. Great features and extensive electronics for both photo and video imaging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great quality photos and video, ideal for vlogging

ZV-1 16 January 2021 by KrissEll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of photo and video is superb. I never planned for this to replace my 4 year old Canon DSLR, as I only wanted a compact camera to add to my kit. That said, other than optical zoom, there beats it in every way. I primarily use this as a webcam and vlogging, but also take it on walks using the Crane M2 gimbal. All round excellent piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The Choice for Most

ZV-1 13 January 2021 by Micboy (USA)

This was made for any sort of influencer who uses a camera. Great for those who don't know much of using one or is new to video making. Its great for vlogs, product reviews and especially streamers or those doing any sort of live video conferences for an extended amount of time. Also the best carry anywhere family trip camera. If there was anything id change or ask for, it would be to have a wider lens start 18mm the least.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

I’m absolutely in bloggers heaven

DCZV1/B 07 January 2021 by Heymaine (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve use this camera for months it wasn’t my own so I decided to purchase one and I absolutely love it. It’s very easy to use it’s lightweight and if it’s in my pocket

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very light, love the photos, user friendly

ZV-1/WC E32 03 January 2021 by Joi J (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im happy with my purchase. Ive watched full video in YT about how the camera functions and feature works helps me a lot. I love how the photo taken, auto focus function and the 1 click C1,c2 button

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Vlogging Camera!

ZV-1 26 December 2020 by cbegg1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had many compact cameras, with a main purpose of using for my Vlogging Channel, but the Sony ZV-1 surpasses them all! The autofocussing is superb and amazingly quick. The battery life could do with some improvement, but I have 3 in total, so its not a problem. Its excellent in low light, another thing us vloggers need from our cameras. The wind filter or ‘Dead Kitten’ with the Active SteadyShot will be very handy when we can start walking again. 4K video makes it easy to zoom in during editing if necessary.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Sony ZV-1 Camera Vlogger Kit

DCZV1/B 24 December 2020 by jjl88 (USA)

Sony ZV-1 camera is made for content creators to make good quality of videos. The size is perfect because my other cameras are too big and made me tired of dragging them everywhere. This is a good camera for everyone, because of the size but has all the cool features. It has a flip screen that you can watch yourself while recording a video. That is the most advance feature that a normal digital camera doesn’t have. GP-VPT2BT Shooting Grip is well made, sturdy, and very functional. It has the button for taking a photo and recording videos without touching the Camera. You can easily adjust the angle through the stands or the rolling button under where you attached the camera. I also love the color that matches pretty well with the camera. This is a great wireless tripod to use for any vloggers and content creators.

1

0

0

Vlogger's Best Friend

DCZV1/B 24 December 2020 by DaeSilva (USA)

My biggest complaint with the Sony ZV-1 is battery life. I wish they had used the same battery as the Alpha a6000 series cameras. Besides that gripe though, paired with the vlogging kit, this is quite a powerhouse vlogging camera especially if you don’t want to spend the money required for the Sony A7c. I love its portability, it can even fit in my pocket without the tripod/grip attached, let me say that again 4K video recording that fits in your pocket. The fact that Sony was able to build eye-tracking into such a small package is astounding and you still get the same amazing Sony picture quality, no wonder everyone uses Sony sensors. The portability and flip around screen make this camera perfect for vloggers, allowing you to easily see what the camera sees, whether shooting solo or with help. The microphone and windscreen do an adequate job of keeping wind noise down when you’re moving, but I wouldn’t trust it in very windy conditions. The product showcase setting is perfect for smaller e-commerce setups, making this an ideal unboxing or review camera when space is a concern. I haven’t tried the Bokeh setting, but there is a bokeh setting meaning you don’t need to spend a lot on an expensive lens to achieve similar results for the platforms that interest you unless of course, you want to. The ZV-1 like other Sony cameras can also be used as a webcam, and because of its size it is very well suited for this purpose, just download the software, plug in the USB change a couple of settings and you’re good to go. The bundled shooting grip pairs easily and provides an easy to control the camera when you’re creating content solo. All in all, this is content creators' dream camera, easy portability, outstanding picture quality, 4K shooting, webcam functionality, and the Sony ecosystem of camera tech. I’m definitely sold. I was able to purchase this camera at a discount in exchange for my honest review.

0

0

0

It's On Par With My Bigger DSLR's

ZV-1/BC E32 23 December 2020 by justicepao (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Originally bought it as a C Cam for overhead shots and for casual vlogging but it's slowly replacing my main rig. Excellent picture quality, even when shooting in 1080p with the lower 50MB bitrate. Two issues that came up when using this for more serious work: (1) Battery life isn't good at all, this chews up batteries really quickly! (2) There's no headphone monitoring and I can only check the audio levels visually on the screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good so far

ZV-1 21 December 2020 by Dillincs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not been able to do much with this yet due to the world’s COVID situation! However seems a great camera. Pleased with how small, neat and light it is. Surprised it doesn’t come with a strap or even a basic case. There are so many settings, probably far more than I will ever use. Instructions for all the options are complex and can only be viewed online. I’m not so old-fashioned that I need a paper manual but a downloadable document would be good. Despite having all the up-to-date software etc I can’t get camera to link to my iPhone X though I’ve tried multiple times.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

4

0

Amazing Camera!!

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by CLehmann (USA)

This camera has exceeded all of my expectations! The compact design is great for on the go recording. The software that runs the camera is very versatile and the camera can be used for different applications! The out of box set up is ready to go for vloggers. I was able to change a few settings and use it for birthday party pictures and videos! this camera is awesome!! The movable screen on is perfect for all types of photography and videography. I use It for everything from work to personal life including vlogs for my family and HDR photography. The tripod handle makes it easy to switch from first person view to selfies in a blink of an eye!

0

0

0

Recording Vids and Blogs Made Easy

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by mdaniel428 (USA)

I was wanting to create a Youtube channel for all things Asian foods for cooking and reviewing products. We used the Sony ZV-1 to film our first video and it was fantastic. I was able to make panning in and out shot with ease as the camera automatically stabilized the shot. Even while moving the camera it kept the video steady and smooth. The auto focus kept clear the product I was reviewing. The grip was an excellent and necessary equipment to have in filming. I could use it as a tripod while I was handling and eating the product we were reviewing. When I need to move around the grip was comfortable to hold and I was able to get the angles I wanted for my shot. The grip also came with a micro SD card with plenty of memory to start filming straight away. I am very happy with the vari-angle lcd screen that folds out so I can see what I am filming as we are shooting. I was going to use my smartphone to start filming my new youtube channel, but this camera has replaced and will be the only camera I use. The size and weight makes it ideal to bring with me in travels. I will definitely be bringing this camera around everywhere when we are able to start travelling to Asia again.

0

0

0

Great compact device that does it all!

DCZV1/B 17 December 2020 by Vikarr7 (USA)

I received my camera and couldn’t wait to use it. Normally, I record my travels and family/lifestyle content, but unfortunately given the current world climate, the travel will have to wait. However, I know that for lifestyle content, the features this camera offers are fantastic and will help products stand out. I already have a vlogging camera from a popular brand that most gurus and vloggers use, and while I love it and its features, I was getting frustrated with how bulky and heavy it is. It’s almost akin to carrying around a DSLR all day, except it’s not supposed to be! A vlogging camera is supposed to be compact and easy to carry, while offering great shooting capabilities. Enter the Sony ZV-1. I was expecting it to be heavy and bulky, but it’s not, it’s actually pretty light and compact and fits easily into my hand. I was also shocked at the video quality, and the how easy it is to figure out. The Sony ZV-1 is perfect for those who are always creating, if you wanted to take it out of the box and start creating content, it’s a snap to figure it out. The camera does everything for you! Right out of the box, the only settings I had to configure were the location, date, and time. As soon as the camera was ready to go, everything else was already configured. Even the face detection was automatic. You can easily choose to have the background defocus option on or off, based on preference. You can also set the mode to "intelligent auto", which auto-identifies the scene and shoots accordingly, it can go from 'macro' to 'portrait' and even detect when you're walking. I also love the flip-screen feature and the fact that it flips to the side versus flipping up. I think this makes it much easier to hold on to, but that may be just a matter of personal preference. Battery life is pretty good, unless you are using the 4k feature, however I want to mention that this would be the case on most vlogging cameras, and even on phones. The 4k option if fairly new technology, therefore the tech is not there yet to allow for battery life to last forever. So if you intend to shoot in 4k, make sure to invest in a couple extra batteries and keep those charged and ready to go if you are recording on the go. All in all, I’ve very happy with the features of this camera and the tripod/grip that comes in the vlogger accessory kit that allows for stabilization. I can’t wait to further test it out during travels when everything in the world gets back to normal a little bit.

0

0

0

Great picture quality, some frustrations though

ZV-1 07 December 2020 by BobsVlog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture and video quality are excellent. Audio is pretty good for onboard mic. Frustrations: 1. Connecting to the computer via usb and using the ZV1 as a webcam through the usb is hit and miss. 2. The lack of touch screen for menu options is highly frustrating when using it in vlogging/selfie mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0