21

4.3 based on 21 customer reviews

17
0
0
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

21 Customer Reviews

0

3 months now and I'm still being impressed

MDR-Z1R 07 January 2019 by Z4Mcoup (United Kingdom)

The quality of the materials used for the headphones and storage box are first class. Adjustment and comfort during use is excellent. I power them with a Chord Mojo DAC amp. Having studied some reviews before I purchased them, I was aware of the “laid back” nature of the sound reproduction, which in turn has led to some negative responses. With this in mind I would recommend that anybody considering purchasing them has an extended demo, to realise their full potential. Be careful though --- it will probably end up with you having to own them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best closed back headphone in the world!

MDR-Z1R 25 December 2018 by lag81 (USA)

Exceptional sound quality! They've got a superb build quality,very durable and they are very nice looking headphones! I'm really impressed by these cans! Thumbs up Sony...you've done a really good job on making us happier with our music!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony Z1R Headphone review

MDR-Z1R 15 December 2018 by Conrad123 (USA)

Bought these headphones for a test. I am pretty disappointed. The product is overpriced.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

22

0

CHALLENGE..... PLEASE TAKE IT

MDR-Z1R 17 October 2018 by superprim (USA)

The sound is amazing... Beyerdynamic T1 gen 2 Were my go to before these came into my life. I am not an audiophile and for that matter neither is anyone else. Our ears are so custom that it I all about finding what makes your hearing "feel'

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Excellent Headphones, Improving With Use

MDR-Z1R 17 September 2018 by Tre7 (United Kingdom)

I bought these a few weeks ago on the basis of a series of excellent reviews. They are living up to expectations. Most reviewers suggest that they get better with use and that appears to be the case. I am also considering buying the matched amplifier that Sony offers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great Product - Amazing headphones

MDR-Z1R 14 September 2018 by Juniba (USA)

Such an amazing headphones best quality and design. 100% recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best headphones for Pop Music

MDR-Z1R 05 July 2018 by Matrix1989 (USA)

I've owned several other headphones including AKG K601, Sennheiser HD 598, Sony MDR-1A and Sony MDR-Z7, and in my opinion this pair of Z1R is the best so far for pop music, the sound is rich and well balanced, I just wanna listen to every song I have for once more. I really appreciate the use of the newly designed acoustic filter. However, I'm not happy with was the plastic housing, the metal housing used on the Z7 model seems to be much more durable and scratch-resisting. Also, the coating on the hanger is easy to wear off and get tin point too if you are not careful enough. These are well solved problems on the older Z7 and I don't know why Sony didn't adopt the merits from their old model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

3

0

Understated Design with Luxurious Performance

MDRZ1R 24 June 2018 by Formula1 (USA)

Over the past 40 years I have owned countless Sony products. From their TVs, compact and video disc players to Walkmans and many others in between. However, up until now I had never owned a pair of Sony high-end headphones. When I first saw the advertisements for the new MDR-Z1R I was immediately struck by their understated yet striking design. In reading about the technology and craftsmanship I was, needless to say, curious...if not captivated. So, after setting aside some considerable funding I decided to take a leap of faith and purchase a pair online. I received these a few days ago and have been giving them a pretty extensive workout since. I had been reading in previous reviews that they require a fair amount of break-in time to reach their peak performance capabilities. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised at how good they sounded right out of the box and they have only been getting better since. I was struck by their apparent balance across the entire frequency range with maybe a slight bump in the midrange, but that only seems to give the sound a bit more presence. It is not in any way disruptive of a completely enjoyable listening experience. Lower frequencies are tight and powerful and higher frequencies are not harsh or bright. It was a different sound signature than I had been accustomed to from other Japanese engineered products which always seemed to over emphasize the high frequency ranges. But not here, not with these headphones anyway. The sound is well balanced, non-fatiguing and among the best I have heard in comparatively priced headphones. I have a pair of Oppo PM-1 planar magnetic headphones that I have considered my reference and I can say that these certainly rival them for overall presentation and sound quality. As for fit, finish and quality, the Z1Rs are second to none. The ear pads feel luxurious and the band rests very comfortable across the head. The construction and feel of the unit is luxurious and shows off the tremendous quality and craftsmanship that has been put into this product. And while I have a read a few contradictory reviews I could find no fault with the design or construction of these cans. If there is one criticism it is simply that these headphones come at a price premium. At a suggested retail of almost $2300 these are not for the meek. But shop around and you can probably find them for a bit less. Regardless, they are worth the extra money if you are looking to make a significant commitment to your headphone listening and want a pair that will sound great and give you years of listening enjoyment. 5 out of 5 stars for this discerning listener! Good job Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

22

5

0

Poor quality control!

MDRZ1R 12 June 2018 by JKTRRT (USA)

Just picked them up 3 days ago and noticed that the paint on the back of the headphone has a missed painted spot. They are expensive and should have inspected for imperfections. I am not happy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

59

0

Madness!!!

MDR-Z1R 31 May 2018 by Amertat (USA)

I received this piece as a gift from a friend as a birthday present. I always promoted Sony for it’s products and was confronted by some complaints about their quality. I wanted to end those nonsense with this but when I found out about it’s price;well couldn’t do that anymore!!!there are many products with lower prices and worthy being called this one’s rival.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

20

0

Excellent headphone

MDR-Z1R 04 February 2018 by syed39 (USA)

My brother gift me the headphone and I think this model is the best headphone ever i used.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

10

0

ZIR PREMIUM HEADPHONE Simply the best

MDR-Z1R 17 January 2018 by Rauf (USA)

I am a Professor & two of my students purchased this Headphone. Invited me to enjoy music using this headphone. Splendid feeling,hard to describe it reception simply excellent. Both students describe it their immaculate treasure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

5

0

terable

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018 by bald larry (USA)

i have had these for about 2 weeks and i dropped them and now they dont work :/

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

162

0

trash

MDR-Z1R 16 January 2018  (USA)

these are the uglyiest headphones and trash and never buy these ever again its the worst headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

9

150

0

Grand,speaker-like experience;plump+organic images

MDR-Z1R 29 December 2017 by R__S (USA)

I've had this for almost a year and feel they are a real breakthrough in headphones. It's a big, grand sound along with palpable, natural images with real-life spatial portrayal. They are not fatiguing, especially with the optional Sony-Kimber headphone cable made especially for the Z1R (available at Amazon). The Z1R to me has a wonderful warm resonance that does sound aggressive, but is still uncannily real. The music flows but has real impact and humanity. You may want to give up on speakers with these headphones. It's a unique sound that you will not find with any other headphones. Many high end headphones can be shrill and painful in the name of a vivid sound, but that can be hard to live with. Not the Z1R, it is inviting while also resolving, with a balanced sound that is riveting and still supremely musical and detailed. And it's very comfortable too. It is best with a good, fairly powerful amplifier. The Z1R is a real cure for over-shrill digital sound. It sound analog, almost vinyl-like with any digital input. It's an awesome achievement for Sony IMHO.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

5

0

superb headphones

MDR-Z1R 07 August 2017 by Pavlova (United Kingdom)

Bought them to match the Sony headphone amp. They make a good match and provide wonderful listening. They are also very comfortable, despite their large size.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

28

4

0

Excellent sound

MDR-Z1R WW2 22 May 2017  (Singapore)

Have been using the Z1R for almost one month. The headphone has excellent bass and treble extension. With high clarity and dynamic range, I can hear details that were not easily picked up with my IEM (6 drivers). The Z1R also sounded natural and has good soundstage, especially width. The depth is also good. Do use the Z1R with a good sound source to fully exploit its capabilities. Using the Z1R with the balance cable gives wider soundstage and faster response.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

2

0

Great Headphone

MDR-Z1R WW2 02 May 2017  (Singapore)

This headphone very good if you using Kimber cable. You need to break for around 1 week before the original quality shine.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Outstanding on any aspect

MDR-Z1R 01 May 2017 by ThibS (United Kingdom)

I have it for few months now, and I am still smiling each time I use it. Love the sound signature, very comfortable, very limited sound leakage (I use it at home and at the office). Would not recommend for nomad use though, mainly because of the size and the risk of damaging it if the wired gets caught as it can happen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

38

9

0

Kando

MDR-Z1R 12 April 2017 by Sirencall (United Kingdom)

I've owned a lot of top end headphones, and none have compared to these. They're different and that's why I like them. What these do that other top end headphones do not do is deliver emotion. Warm, buttery emotion whilst not compromising on the high fidelity experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

7

0

Best close headphones

MDRZ1R 07 March 2017 by Richguy (USA)

With the new Walkman this the best combination i have bought in years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

50

13