102

4.6 based on 102 customer reviews

76
16
5
2
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29 May 2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09 February 2020 by MikkiY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

1

104 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic quality photos, loads of options.

ILCE-7RM4 06 March 2021 by Grahammason5410 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have taken many photos of garden birds and wildlife, the images are fantastic quality. I can now crop into a photo and keep crystal clear focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A 'real camera': technically A1, great to use

ILCE-7RM4 06 March 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had an A7R2 for many years, but did not use it a lot because it felt like a piece of consumer electronics rather than a 'real' camera. Hence I was dubious about the R4, but decided to go for the extra pixels! I have been pleasantly surprised. I won't go into the technical - there is no doubt that this camera is far more techincally capable than the A7R2, or the RAW image quality which is what you would expect from a 61MP Sony. However, importantly, this piece of electronic wizardry feels like a camera, and is a pleasure to use. I have finally got it set up (the menu's remain complicated) so that everything I need (in A-priority) is at the fingertips of my right hand - hence I can operate this camera fully, for my needs, without removing the camera from my eye. (Aperture, EComp, Drive Mode, ISO, Aspect Ratio (great to have 4:3 and 1:1), Creative Style, Display, Review and Review Zoom - all with one hand!.) This ia an excellent camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality camera, with less intuitive menus.

ILCE7RM4/B 26 February 2021 by brigancook (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality camera, with less intuitive menus. Still happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 12 February 2021 by zach1992 (USA)

Great camera, easy to setup and use. Amazing image quality. Only downside is buffer fills up quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

An Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4 04 February 2021 by Mearnshowe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 4 weeks ago and to say I am well impressed would be an understatement. An amazing piece of kit which definitely benefits from good glass on it. It takes a little time to setup but is infinitely customisable to suit your own requirements.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

A stunning camera

ILCE-7RM4 21 January 2021 by Nate Dizzle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot believe how good this camera is! A stunning piece of kit. Great menu system. I was unsure about moving from nikon to Sony! NOT ANYMORE !!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing features

ILCE-7RM4 16 January 2021 by Buyi (United Kingdom)

Bought this recently and it is great! Just starting out the photography officially

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Not surprising, but absolutely top notch.

ILCE-7RM4 24 December 2020 by Anglesey (United Kingdom)

I swore I wouldn't review until I'd lived with the camera for a while, but how could you not be completely wowed by a camera like this. I admit it, I'm a pixel peeper and I have no need to produce massive prints for commercial use, but sharpness is important to me and I've always been disappointed by APSC sensors. Have plasters handy- this is sharp! The EVF is also important to me and this is magnificent. Manual focussing reminds me of my old manual medium format cameras. There's no guess work with focus peaking needed. The magnified image shows you exactly where your focus area is at. The ergonomics are great for me: I've large hands and was concerned it might be too small, but no. I worried about the menu system from reviews I'd seen but I've found it ok so far. The only issue I've experienced was a very dusty sensor from the off- which I'd also read about. It took a few attempts to get it as clean as I wanted and I don't know how it will fair in practice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Silent focus

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 24 December 2020 by Faddiezz (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus motor is fast and silent good for video lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great mirrorless camera

ILCE-7RM4 22 December 2020 by Brian58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for a much loved canon 5d mk 4, which I was starting to find heavy and bulky for carrying for a long time. Initially I found the menu and lack of touch screen a nuisance but you soon get used to the Sony way of working. The af is first class though I would like a firmware update to improve the animal af. Build quality I would describe as adequate, battery life is poor after a dslr but that it to be expected. The lens selection from both Sony and third party makers is great. It is a shame that some of the Sony lenses such as the f2.8 70-200 are so heavy and I found the tamron 70-180 suits the camera much better. Overall a great introduction to mirrorless

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

This camera made me switch brands

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 21 December 2020 by Aram Pan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using another brand for over 20 years, the A7RIV was instrumental in making me switch over my entire collection over to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Exelent Camera

ILCE7RM4/B 20 December 2020 by Karl61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 12 days ago This is my 3rd Sony Camera love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing!

ILCE-7RM4 17 December 2020 by Mahmud (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm really happy with my purchase , i wiwh you good luck Sony !!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome resolution

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 17 December 2020 by paulsingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having a wild time with my new purchase. One thing to note for those intending to buy. Make sure your computer has sufficient capability to handle the huge files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Improve the firmware stated below

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 07 December 2020 by TooHandsome (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is a great 61 megapixels cameras for Landscapes, Micro, Nature, Seascapes, Wildlife photographers and more. It would be better to improve the CONTINUOUS DRIVE SPEED from 10 FPS to 20 FPS and better tracking in birds in flight as well as birds eyes tracking functions in the firmware for birds photographers, Improve the menu function and NO. OF RECORDABLE FRAMES. I use it for the first time, the first RAW file is very bright.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

This Camera is SERIOUS!

ILCE7RM4/B 25 November 2020 by Picsmiths (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a So y a7iii a couple years ago & just bought another one but got the new a7r4 & WOW! The a7iii is an awesome camera but this one is next level! If you’re thinking about buying a camera DO NOT BUY A NIKON OR A CANON! Spend the extra money & get a Sony Alpha & you will not be disappointed. Pictures equal space saving memories & Sony clarity is where it’s at! Thank you Sony for helping me take my photography to the next level, @picsmiths

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

ideal work machine

ILCE-7RM4 09 November 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i have had it for two weeks and am happy. also works as a family camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good Camera...but need option for lower resolution

ILCE-7RM4 07 November 2020 by avng (USA)

While 61MP is a high resolution, it slows down the entire photography workflow from taking photos to editing.  It would be great if this camera allowed options to take full frame raw files at a lower resolution.  Please consider changing software or other things such that the camera can take full frame raw file at a lower resolution.  This would be a great feature and boost more sale if Sony can do it.  Other competitors can do it, no reason why Sony can’t.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

5

0

Best camera I have ever owned

ILCE-7RM4 23 October 2020 by GMW50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for 9 months and I am delighted with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

R=Resolution

ILCE-7RM4 23 October 2020 by Markn9115 (USA)

The first time is held the new grip, I smiled. It felt as though the camera was shaking my hand. It felt as though, from that day on, this camera and I had made a pact to create some mind-blowing and work. Sounds silly, right. Who has an actual relationship with their gear? I never had. After a year, the camera feels as if it is an extension of my arm. Once all of my customers menus were dialed in, it became a part of me. I know this sounds ridiculous. But I feel quite confident no other camera is configured quite like mine is. It is customized to my style of stills and video. knowing I have this flexibility is extremely liberating. As I grow as a photographer, I find néw and exciting ways to properly customize my camera. Do I feel as if I am the best photographer? Of course not. But this tool has definitely “upped” my skills to a level I hadn’t though possible. The resolution is just a bonus, but blows my mind when I capture a little something special which can be recompose in post. As if I were so good I captured the exposure intentionally...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

good but with flaws

ILCE-7RM4 07 October 2020 by geoff102 (United Kingdom)

SENSOR IS A DUST MAGNET!! Urgently need option to close shutter on power down as introduced in latest firmware for A9ii. No lossless compression despite being asked for multiple times. No focus stacking. Looses bluetooth connection to phone on power save when location sharing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

GAME CHANGER!

ILCE-7RM4 03 October 2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this in March, so I've been using this for personal work and three international jobs now, The camera is awesome! The Image quality is incredible, its fast reliable and just lovely to shoot on, images are great out of camera and great to work with in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 26 September 2020 by Trev12 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great view finder ,fantastic picture quality easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great value competing with medium format cameras

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 18 September 2020 by JLee53 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great alternative to medium format cameras. However it lacks alot of features such as a touch menu system, articulating screen and 4K/60P 4:2:2 video recording.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Thee best stills, landscape camera of 2019-2020

ILCE-7RM4 18 September 2020 by Chris the Photographer (USA)

So, honestly so much is good with this camera I'll make it quick. This is literally the best stills, protrait, landscape camera there is on market in 2019-2020 and probably will be for 2021. This is comfortable in hand, it takes sharp images, definitely geared for the stills person but I've gotten some great moving sports shots, great 4k video, and everything else. Like you could not go wrong. Heck, 5 years from now this camera will still be a serious contender. All a camera is a tool and you make it work. This "tool" in particular though will really help you do your craft. When shooting with it the camera just works with me becoming an extension of my visual art, when I'm doing protraits, landscapes, photo journalism it disappears and becomes part of me. The only cons are the touchscreen is only useful for selecting focus points. If it worked for menus it would be a huge improvement! The other the other downside is the menus. Which really aren't too bad especially after you get the hang of them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One word: unbelievable

ILCE-7RM4 02 September 2020 by IcyMile (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Swapped over after 20 years of Canon, and completely blown away with the quality, lightness, and performance of the Mk 4. It wasn’t love at first sight, but have now learnt the menus and how to set up the camera The resolution and image quality is impressive, and at 10 fps, + the lightness of the body and G Master lenses means it’s easier to lug about, and great results. Very happy with this equipment, not cheap, but for me a massive step to improving useability and love of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Real time tracking

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 30 August 2020 by aiscen (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago and I’m so happy!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does most things .. 'ok'

ILCE-7RM4 09 August 2020 by JimmyOs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Two main problems. Focus 'hits' aren't great, giving about a 90% 'in-focus result. This is unlike the A73 which is up to about 99% (same mix of native prime lenses tried). Secondly, the write buffer is awful.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Ziggysmalls Photography

ILCE-7RM4 06 August 2020 by Ziggysmalls (United Kingdom)

Excellent no complaints very worth while purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

the A7r3 was great: this is even better

ILCE-7RM4 04 August 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just bought it so too soon to have many results, but it's beautifully compact, the 60 megapixels feature is remarkable, I already have great lenses from my old A7r3. What else could I want?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Just great!

ILCE-7RM4 31 July 2020 by TibAndy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days yet, I only had it for 2 weeks. But certain things stand out immediately apart from the mind-blowing 61 Mpx detail. Ergonomics: A7 which finally feels right in the hand from the moment you pick it up. New buttons and their locations - fall naturally under you fingers, the joystick particularly useful. Huge amount of customisation incl. 'My Menu', where you can keep the most used menu options for quick retrieval. The viewfinder: you forget it is electronic - looks very natural, without any graininess and even its standard frame rate gives a smooth viewing experience. Huge dynamic range. Manual focusing, is finally possible (even pleasurable) with great precision even with the old lenses (via adaptor). I didn't need 61 Mpx, but thought it worthy upgrading from A7RII for many of these features. But 61 MPx is great: much better images even if you only output them at 1920x1200 or similar. But you might need a new computer if you mainly shoot RAWs - the 60 MB files are quite demanding. All in all I'm in love with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Love my new camera

ILCE-7RM4 30 July 2020 by Boban1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After two weeks I can see clear advantages of M4 over my previous A7RM3. Ergonomics much better. Autofocus is so much better and faster. My only problem is that old Lightroom version is not recognising AW format. Need to move to Capture One. Also need to learn to handle large RAW files. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Still in love with the Sony a7R IV...

ILCE7RM4/B 29 July 2020 by efactor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a7R IV has become my go to camera for travel. In the past I've traveled with full frame DSLRs and even medium format digital cameras for their file quality. Now there is no comparison. The Sony a7R IV gives me that file quality, in a small package that can take the rigors of travel photography. Combine that with the wide variety of Sony lenses that take up very little room and traveling a breeze. Now I have room for a snack or even a jacket in the camera bag...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

Superb camera

ILCE-7RM4 20 July 2020 by Peppercrew (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned the A7 RII and whilst it is still going strong I wanted first a second camera body, a quicker write rate and great number of frames per second. I now have two excellent cameras that photograph anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Fabulous. The ultimate all rounder.

ILCE-7RM4 17 July 2020 by Dbraz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very high quality images and superb focus tracking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Amazing Camera

ILCE-7RM4 09 July 2020  (USA)

Great photos, great features. My only issue is that the menu is still subpar. Also I wish we could use the touchscreen zero navigate the menu, zoom into photos and other things.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best hybrid camera out there!

ILCE-7RM4 07 June 2020 by Jackster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had mine for about a month, and I’m blown away. I used to have a Nikon DSLR and compared to that it is night and day. The resolution, colour and other features you get with this camera are next level compared with the Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Phenomenal Camera

ILCE-7RM4 31 May 2020 by Blenn72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this thing! It's my second camera, and although I started off on a very basic Canon, I decided the time to play with the grown ups, was here. So I bought one of the best reviewed camera's, to date. I was not dissapointed! The learning curve, obviously, is steep. But I have a simple methodly. If my pictures are not great then it cannot be the equipment. Therefore I can grow onto what the this thing can do. But my first few pics I took, was mind blowing in difference to what I had.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Wanted

ILCE-7RM4 29 May 2020 by Geoff101 (United Kingdom)

Raw uncompredssed is huge. Raw compressed is lossy!! For God's sake provide lossless compression as many people have requested. Most cameras of this and lesser spec offer focus stacking. When are you going to catch up?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

0

0

Wonderful camera

ILCE-7RM4 18 May 2020 by Harribobs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had this camera for a month now, using it a lot for a book of photos ”Springtime in lock-down”. I had the original 7R a long time ago but this is in a different class. Its resolution and the 3D quality of the images it produces with my Zeiss lenses are awesome and the AF and eye-AF systems impressive. In use it is much like my 7III, which I am used to and can customise to my preferences using the control buttons and very versatile function menu button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lovely camera but a few extras still needed

ILCE-7RM4 16 May 2020 by Motor Show Photography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I don't have a problem with the fact you cam assign many options to buttons what I have the problem with is the overall lack of available buttons on the camera as a whole. When compared to the nikon D850 I have come from there is a dedicated iso on top that can be used on the fly and also 3 buttons on the front around the lens you can assign. Also when I use this in the dark nothing lights up like on many other brands. Quite disappointed as these are really important features to be in a camera of this excellent quality

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A technically advanced camera

ILCE-7RM4 08 May 2020 by Billy D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has taken my photography to a new levey

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive photo quality

ILCE-7RM4 02 May 2020 by borolr (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera when it was released and after using it for a long time I can confirm that the features of this camera are really impressive. This is my power horse that never fails when focusing. Having 61MP is a bonus, you can crop the picture at any size and still have a great size. I really recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent camera

ILCE-7RM4 02 May 2020 by RossPics (United Kingdom)

I replaced my A7RIII with the A7RIV and although I have only been using the A7RIV for a few days, I have been so far impressed by the results. The difference between the two cameras is not huge but there are some small features that for my purpose was worth swapping the A7RII with the A7RIV

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pixel shift rocks for studio work!

ILCE-7RM4 28 April 2020 by Pavlov (USA)

I bought this camera for scanning my artwork and I am so glad I did. Previously, I used my Nikon D810 and had to stitch multiple shots to get the resolution needed for printing. Now one properly done pixel shift image will do it. It’s great camera for travel and landscape photography accompanied with the Sony 24-105 f4 lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM4 23 April 2020 by qntt2002 (USA)

Sony! You made a phenomenal camera. Great in every way! Please fix the wifi connectivity issues. They are atrocious! Transferring images from my camera to the PC is an never ending nightmare and the Imaging Edge software is absolutely unbelievably bad. I tried to photograph some birds on a tripod near a feeder using the app on the phone as a remote trigger. The lag and the lack of control is horrible. Unusable! Please! Please! Please! Don't let down this camera with software that is not bad but just garbage. How are you capable to make a camera that is close to perfection bun at the same time have the worst companion software on the market is beyond me. Play Memories was bad but at least was usable. I hope you will correct this. Thank you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A chonky camera that make all-day-carry a chore.

ILCE7RM4/B 17 April 2020 by HSolo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing Camera with a few critical flaws -- I love this camera but I wish it was more ergonomic and lighter! I gave up my Canon DSLR to take advantage of the lighter mirror-less platform. I've owned the A7R, A7R (III), and currently own the A7R (IV). Although the Mark (IV) has far greater features (most of which I rarely use) than the Mark (I), I really miss the smaller dimensions and lighter weight for daily (street) shooting. I wouldn't think twice about picking up my A7R (Mk.I) when I'd head out of the house -- it was so light I barely noticed the weight at the end of a long day on the street. Not so with the A7R (IV) -- I hate having to convince myself to carry a camera with me! On the topic of ergonomics, the camera just feels very awkward in my hand. The buttons and knobs on the back need to be placed in positions that would be intuitive and effortless for the thumb to locate during shooting. Sony should also consider having a dial that would rotate vertically (as opposed to horizontally) on the back of the camera to suit the ease of thumb articulation. I can't help but feel the designers compromised far too much on ergonomics for sake of style. Finally, get used to having to clean the sensor -- often! I'm not sure why, but the camera attracts dust on the sensor. To be fair, all three of my A7Rs have had this weakness I just purchased a sensor cleaning kit online and use it every 2 weeks or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

Spectacular camera in all ways!

ILCE7RM4/B 09 April 2020 by Chemman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been totally happy with the Mark 4 in every way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Kit

ILCE-7RM4 05 April 2020 by Dr Tickle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was recommended to this camera by a number of colleagues after years of shooting with Canon. The 61mp this camera has on offer is a game changer and I am very pleased with the results when using Canon lenses via an adaptor. Next step is a native Sony lens when CV 19 allows. Menus are less intuitive than I'm used to, but I seem to have been able to set the camera up in the same way as my Canons. True to say, there have been some real head scratching moments over menu settings and struggled to find the answer at times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM4 23 March 2020 by Hunter7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago brilliant in every way apart from the menu the menu needs sorting out its way to hard to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Amazing camera, world beater

ILCE-7RM4 19 March 2020 by Keva (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent camera, changed my photographic life. Recommend to everyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Great images but very buggy software

ILCE7RM4/B 18 March 2020 by Street photographer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great images and video so far. But the biggest problem is the flimsy OS. Whenever I use the product with the imaging edge app it constantly fails to connect. What’s worse is that this app seems to be damaging the firmware. For example my start stop trigger stopped working after using the application. And I had to load an older “cam set” which got it working again. So the firmware seems to be very flakey. Menus are improved but at the cost of stability. I would wait to buy until these bugs are worked out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Wonderful Experience !

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 16 March 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb focusing, metering, punchy colours and sharpness !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great image quality with good performance

ILCE-7RM4 10 March 2020 by snerkler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I am very happy with this camera, image quality is excellent as you would expect. Ergonomics are vastly improved over earlier models and I can finally fit my fingers comfortably between the grip and lens. Feature set is impressive and I really like the customisation. Eye-AF is insanely good. The only cons are that AF accuracy in AF-C burst mode is not as accurate as other models when subjects are moving towards you (such as a running dog), and not all functions are assignable to the Fn buttons or Fn menu, the biggest omission for me being the AF with shutter option which is useful to toggle BBF. Another thing that could be improved is that not all settings are stored in the user memory (memory recall), for example you can't store AF with shutter off so that that particular setting sets to BBF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Short of AMAZING!

ILCE7RM4/B 09 March 2020 by SamS1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this Camera since September 2019 and have put to some good use since. I'm a landscapes and travel photographer and have paired this camera with the Sony 16-35mm f2.8 GM and the 24mm f1.4 GM. The camera performed beautifully and with many more refinements that it's predecessor. All from minor ergonomics changes to buttons placement to overall performance with its fantastic autofocus; this camera is certainly a game changer. My only gripes with this camera, hence, being a bit short from "5 Stars" are some improvements that Sony should make before the competitors catch up with their systems such as, better menu system, replacing the current "atrocious and clunky App", improve the touch screen capabilities to current industry standards (take a lesson from FUJIFILM), offer smaller uncompressed RAW files and revise the shutter speed to allow longer than 30 seconds instead of always having to go to "Bulb" (like up to 10minutes options will be great); this is just to mention few!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

Brilliantly Versatile

ILCE-7RM4 08 March 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is versatile and packed full with latest tech and features. The 61MP allow you to shoot incredibly sharp pictures as well as able to crop to your hearts desire while still being able to use images for professional use. On top of this, the APSC-mode and the ClearZoom functions allow you to get an even better reach for those times where you feel your focal length isn’t enough without having to sacrifice too much on image quality. The IBIS is good but compared to other camera manufactures could be better. The 10FPS both mechanical and electronically is also incredibly useful whilst shooting fast moving subjects, especially sports and wildlife photography. Also, due to the maturity of the Sony mirrorless line-up the lens selection is excellent from both a first party as well as third party perspective. Overall this is an excellent piece of versatile kit which has everything for every occasion and more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent High Resolution Camera

ILCE-7RM4 28 February 2020 by Peter2204 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Terrific camera in almost every respect, it would have been perfect if you could use Animal Eye with tracking

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Almost there

ILCE-7RM4 20 February 2020 by DSNOIR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item 4 months ago, the image quality is no better than the riii, with noise and focusing being an issue. The rear screen is as ever a disappointment, other manufacturers make far better use of it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Advanced

ILCE-7RM4 13 February 2020 by T Money (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great piece of equipment. My online content is going to the next level. Really looking forward to this new adventure...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Very poor in low light

ILCE-7RM4 09 February 2020 by MikkiY (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros - superb detail in a studio or good light. Better ergonomics than the Riii. Cons - atrocious noise even at very low ISO. This is probably a side effect of the huge number of pixels but it is unacceptable in a high end camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

15

1

0

Impressive!!

ILCE7RM4/B 24 January 2020 by BigBrownBear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded form the sony a6000 and wow!, big difference in a good way!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Loving It

ILCE7RM4/B 21 January 2020 by RichTimm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been on the edge of moving from Canon to Sony for quite some time. Not an easy move for me. I have been a Canon shooter since the 300D. I had a lot of Canon L Glass as well as 3 cameras. 2-5D Mk IIIs and 1-7D Mk II. After following Gavin Hardcastle and Nick Page on YouTube for almost a year I felt more at ease making the switch. I am so glad I did. I am just loving this camera. It has a few things I really need to get used to but I am very thrilled with the images I am getting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Wonderful grip

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 20 January 2020 by gainleem (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

After using this a a couple of months the speed and convenient features are a upgrade from my other Sony’s.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Resolution beast

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 18 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing amount of resolution to play around with in case there’s a need to crop your shot it will still be crisp and sharp. Night photography just got a whole lot better with Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Noisy

ILCE-7RM4 12 January 2020 by Jtucker57 (USA)

I bought mine right as it arrived on the market and I wish I would have waited. The noise level seems to be worse on my previous cabers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic Sharpness with Sony Lenses

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 11 January 2020 by ShenYL (Singapore)

I bought this A7R4 for my recent trip to Japan - 23 Oct 2019 till 12 Nov 2019, as a replacement for my Sony A7R2. Just the battery life for the A7R4 is sufficient to brighten up my trip. In fact I hardly need to use my spare battery during my 21 days. The sharpness with my existing lenses (16-35 F4, 24-105 F4, 28mm F2) simply improved due to the higher resolution. I uses a tripod for most of my landscape shots. The My Menu feature helps alot as I don't really have much time to explore the features before going for the trip. To me personally it is well worth the upgrade from A7R2 to R4. Only issue is that the higher resolution also means you have to be extra careful when using handheld mode. However even blurry 60MP shots when scale down to 4K, they still look pretty good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

A big improvement over the a7Riii

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera in late-November 2019, and have been thoroughly impressed with it so far. Other than the obvious jump in megapixels (from 42 to 61), there are many other improvements that I feel are more important. If those improvements do not do much for you, the a7Riii is STILL a very capable camera and I am still holding on to mine. So on to what I feel are the more noteworthy improvements other than the increase in resolution. 1. Dual UHS-II card slots. Now both card slots are making use of the much improved UHS-II speeds. 2. Bigger and beefier grip. Helps when you handhold the camera for most shots. 3. Better port doors and accessibility to ports, especially where the multi-use terminal (micro USB) and USB-C slots are. I can easily open the port doors and get access to those 2 ports without having to shift my L bracket out. 4. More tactile feel in the buttons. The buttons feel less mushy and there is definite feedback when you press the buttons. 5. Better resolution in the viewfinder. It is very noticeable especially when you are focusing manually. 6. Doors for the card slots also seem to be beefier and feel more robust. I have not had an opportunity to test the other features, such as improved Pixel Shift, but so far, I am very happy with the purchase. While the price is obviously higher, it is not by much to be fair, considering the improvements over the previous versions. I have included a few photographs made with the camera here.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A complete package!

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by isaacmatthew (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for about 1 month at the time of writing this, and I can truly say that its a beast of a camera. People complain about why this camera has 61MP but honestly, even if it retained the 42MP of the A7RIII, you'd still buy it for all its other improvements. The image quality and dynamic range of the camera is excellent. The 61MP gives you tons of room to crop your images. The AF system for both stills and video performs exceptionally, to the point I feel its closer to the a9 than it is to the a7R III. It's almost always finds and locks on to the subjects' eyes and even when it doesn't, it locks on to their faces. One area of concern I had before purchasing this camera was its high ISO performance. Traditionally, having all that resolution meant that noise would become more obvious at high ISO values. I was pleasantly surprised to see that images were usable all the way up to ISO 16000, after which the color fidelity of the images start to get compromised (a green tint starts creeping into the image) In conclusion, you're not going the get the same kind of high ISO performance as say the A7III. But its definitely competitive, especially when compared to other cameras with high resolution. (eg. 5DSR and D850) Video performance of the camera is also very promising. 4K footage is stunning in both full frame and Super35/APS-C mode. When it came to 1080p video I was a bit surprised. Full frame mode looks amazing but when I switched over to Super35 mode, the video quality dropped drastically, to the point it almost looks like 720p. Moire and aliasing was so prominent. I'm unsure if this is an issue specific to the a7R IV but I've ended up just using the full frame mode when shooting 1080p. If there is one thing I wish Sony could address in a firmware update, it would be to enable medium and small RAW shooting options. Though 61MP is excellent it'd be nice to shoot at a lower resolution and to perhaps attain better noise performance. All in all, its an amazing camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Amazing!

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by Zantistic (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using this beast almost a month now, and I have say it has lives up to his name "Alpha" and expectation. Coming from someone who have been using Nikon DSLR for years, well I'm very please and impressed with this mirrorless performance, on how it focus, tracks and detects face and eyes with ease. I'm always looking forward to shoot more pictures with this camera cause I know I will get amazing result. Here are some samples on what this camera can do.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

This makes me feel like a god.

ILCE-7RM4/BQAP2 08 January 2020 by babamonkey (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top of the line features. Super sensor. Pictures OOC is better than RAW. Paired with a GM 24mm F1.4, I died and went to heaven.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A stunning piece of hardware...fantastic!

ILCE7RM4/B 06 January 2020 by LGabrielPhoto (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a professional photographer, I can appreciate the amazing IQ and features that this camera offers. 61MP is enough to print VERY large and crop at will. Then you have the Pixel Shift which is amazing for product photography as well. Really, aside from a possible 36MP version of the A9, this camera is at the top of my favorites list!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0