203

4.3 based on 203 customer reviews

115
46
25
12
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Heaven is a place called Sony!

16GB 16 February 2018 by Virgill (United Kingdom)

I just love my new Sony Walkman, I love the ease of creating Book Lists, it gives me the opportunity to create music lists to suit the mood I'm in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Podcasts???

NW-A40 SERIES 05 October 2018 by cbayneo (USA)

I love this device. The sound quality is great. The build quality is fantastic. The UI is solid. There's just one problem: NO PODCAST SUPPORT I was so excited when I bought this device to replace my 2007 ipod Classic. You can imagine my dismay when I discovered that this device didn't support the main thing I use MP3 players for: Podcasts and Audiobooks. I am hoping this issue will be fixed in a future firmware update but, until then I cannot recommend this Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

203 Customer Reviews

0

Be aware

16GB 16 May 2019 by Huge66 (United Kingdom)

Beautiful product but poor software. Compared to the Apple ipod it was to replace, the software will not allow full download of my cd collection despite having installed a larger sd card. It looks like it will be confined to a draw - pity because it does look great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Hi-Resolution Music Player.

16GB 15 May 2019 by PB61 (United Kingdom)

Wanted a device to play higher resolution digital formats to complement the Sony WH 1000 XM3 headphones.Nice compact device, easy to transfer the files and sounds amazing through the headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely piece of audio technology

16GB 14 May 2019 by hertstoworld (United Kingdom)

Cannot fault the sound quality (I use Koss KSC75 Clip-On Stereo Headphones); feels 'heavy' in the hand, which suggests quality build; disappoined with software, A-Z listing is presented in a long string of several hundred songs, which makes navigation between an 'A' song to (say) a 'T' song a bit tedious when compared to the software on my Sony NWZ-E463, where songs are grouped by letters of the alphabet and navigation is quick and easy - possibly a 'first world problem' but just a bit disappointing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fabalous features

16GB with headphone 11 May 2019 by stef19 (United Kingdom)

Apart from the enclosed useless instruction leaflet ( need to go to Sony website for detailed manuals), I'm very pleased with the A40 Walkman.The sound quality is exceptional, compact size, huge data storage ( with 128GB SD card ), love the touch screen and ease and speed of operating the various functions (after a few hours of practice !)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great walkman

16GB 10 May 2019 by westiedeb (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with my Walkman. It has all the features I need

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Just what I needed!

16GB 08 May 2019 by Mezzo Soprano (United Kingdom)

I wanted a player that transfers music quickly and easily .This product is SO easy to use and the sound quality is wonderful

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Very Good....but a few minor niggles

16GB 04 May 2019 by skypilot62 (United Kingdom)

Bought after reading Tech Radar review - delighted with sound quality and very neat size but a little clunky to use. A shame that the Blu Tooth encoding does not allow settings to be ported as well. A little pricey but still a great piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good Sound Quality

16GB 04 May 2019 by Ratty51 (United Kingdom)

I found that the product is awkward to have alphabetical listing particularly with some multi artist albums, where there are different conductors or soloists but the composer is the same

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Not worth the price

16GB 01 May 2019 by Desert Breeze (United Kingdom)

I have always had an ipod and decide to try this for a change. I am not really sure what is so special about this mp3 player. Let me start with the positive. It looks good and feels good. Sound output is great. Navigating the screens is not user friendly, I could ver be sure where I am and hiw to get out. Functionality is bssic and what you would expect from any decent mp3 player. I do like the software, it is easy to upload and transfer songs but again nothing special. Instructions in tbe box are not all helpful for someone who has never used a Sony mp3 player. Ear buds not included. There really isnt much to say apart from repeat it is over-priced for what you get.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Excellent music player

16GB 25 April 2019 by Fee fee (United Kingdom)

Got this for my daughter and she loves quality of this Walkman which also has bluetooth feature.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

100 % EXCEPT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

16GB 25 April 2019 by igiwigi (United Kingdom)

Yes all perfect , but i want the volume cap taken off and would sign a disclaimer from you.Why should beurocrats in Brussels lay down the law or the un-elected. Can you please tell me how to get this volume cap off as more expensive headphones need more power for low listening and i have to turn my hi- fi up to a ridiculous level for a reasonable listen and I have sensitive ears. Also i wish the volume level would stay the same every time i switch the unit on. otherwise quality all round. I would appreciate your replyon this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sounds great but issue with Bluetooth

16GB 25 April 2019 by mikey97 (United Kingdom)

This is a great sounding player but there is an issue with the Bluetooth connection to my Sony WI-1000x headphones. This does not re-establish automatically after the NW-A45 is powered off and then back on again; you have to go into settings turn off Bluetooth and turn it back on again to re-establish the connection. Sony support not interested because my Sony (yes Sony) headphones are not approved as compatible with the NW-A45

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Awkward to use

16GB with headphone 24 April 2019 by cjb37 (United Kingdom)

Transferring files to it was easy but playback was difficult. I connected it to my my Bluetooth speakers and it worked OK on day 1. On day 2 i couldn't get anything from my speakers at all, even though it stated clearly that they were connected. I gave up and sent it back.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Loaded with features to enhance listening.

16GB 23 April 2019 by Mac507 (United Kingdom)

Has taken the place of my aged ipod , improved quality, sound and ease of use, long lasting battery life.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great device

16GB 23 April 2019 by Bob4231 (United Kingdom)

Easy to use and the expandable memory was a key feature for my choice of MP3 player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely touch screen, intanty responsive.

16GB 20 April 2019 by Emma Sherwood (United Kingdom)

This model has an impressive memory, I can store up to 20k songs. the radio, however, is a little poor, just FM, it would have been nice to have had with DAB. I had to download the music centre, not realising this when I tried to upload the music I have already on it. However. The sound quality is rather good and I have used it every day without having to keep recharging.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up

16GB 20 April 2019 by Slinky49 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and all I expected from Sony.Super buy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Easy to use

16GB 18 April 2019 by Liz J (United Kingdom)

I bought this Sony Walman 10 days ago. It has more capacity than my last Sony MP 3 player which I needed. I was very disappointed that there were no earphones included. How can you justify this Sony? I paid £149.00 for this product. My previous MP3 player is still on sale for £100 cheaper and it comes with earphones. As a courtesy I think you should give us a voucher to buy earphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Sound Quality But...

16GB 17 April 2019 by NorthYorksChris (United Kingdom)

I have been very impressed with the Walkman A40. It's ability to play a variety of hi res audio files is great. I also really like the fact you can insert large memory cards. I've taken the A40 on a recent long-haul trip abroad and it was perfect for use on the flight and also linking it via bluetooth to the audio system in the hire car. The above said, the one major criticism I would have is that despite it 'creates a database' when first switching it on, there is absolutely no search functionality on it. This could be addressed in a future firmware update and would really round-off the A40.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Frustrating

16GB 16 April 2019 by Squeeze (United Kingdom)

My main aim for this was for playing through my car stereo. Item comes with very few instructions and i have been unable to find a comprehensive manual online so i am operating purely on trial and many errors. I have managed to put the music on the devise, but the car is reluctant to recognise the devise on occasions. And i am having to switch it off manually each time rather than it recognising that the car has been switched off. But perhaps i haven't got it set up correctly yet. Who can tell?

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Product

16GB 15 April 2019 by Nett (United Kingdom)

Bought this two weeks ago and have used it every day since. Great product brilliant sound, very easy to use and to transfer music onto. Only marked 4 stars because there were no headphones included and am unable to find recommended ones for sale anywhere.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

16GB 15 April 2019 by jumpingclounds (United Kingdom)

It is a very good music player, I use a 128gb sd card. Not many music players you can expand the memory so much. It's the best music player I've ever had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fabulous music player

16GB 14 April 2019 by Macca of London (United Kingdom)

Anyone looking for a top quality mp3 or CD quality format music player could do well to look at this one. What makes it for me is the microSD card slot which enables you to have up to 256gb of storage on a device which is no bigger than the palm of your hand. It can hold all my CDs in CD quality FLAC format. Combined with a top of the range Dali Bluetooth speaker I now have fantastic portable sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very easy to use

16GB 14 April 2019 by bowsaw1 (United Kingdom)

Only had this item for few days but I am so happy with it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Walkover with a walkman

16GB 08 April 2019 by Bruceben (United Kingdom)

2 months into ownership of my Walkman and I'm very pleased. Bought a reasonable budget headphone to go with it and Walkman linked smoothly, and the sound is better than my CD player! Bit of a struggle to copy my CD players over as Apple doesn't have CD play on my laptop, but sorted out using a friends desktop. Still loading music and have bought extra storage that I haven't yet used. My only criticism is it's not very clear how to set up playlists but I guess a search on net will show me how to do this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

exeptional

16GB 07 April 2019 by red man (United Kingdom)

great music player great features fantastic sound and easy to use. good value for money. as always well built lots of file space with the SD card. highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased

16GB 04 April 2019 by Ianastondb9 (United Kingdom)

Early days yet but thus far it has met expectations - sound quality is good for the price although this is subjective!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

So easy to use!

16GB 03 April 2019 by Davroy (United Kingdom)

Brilliant MP3 Player. Easy to use and the playback quality is excellent!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

16GB 02 April 2019 by Dekgill (United Kingdom)

Realy pleased with this player, although would of liked an audiobook folder aswell as music folder. Well made and realy good sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

easy to use

16GB 02 April 2019 by caterpillar2 (United Kingdom)

purchased about 2 weeks ago and have now put about 4000 thousands songs on from my cd's very easy to do this was a replacement for my ipod which died, should have repplaced it wiyh walkmen sooner. Am still learning how to use it but find the sleep timer brilliant I use mine with a small cheap speaker and the sound is great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Large (and expandable) memory and Bluetooth

16GB 29 March 2019 by bassnut (United Kingdom)

Have transfered all of my favourite CDs both old and new so I can now select music to play either through headphones or though a Bluetooth speaker. PC App makes transfer easy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Major flaw

16GB 28 March 2019 by dedzaboy (United Kingdom)

Nice, seemingly well made, sounds good. BUT, every time you turn the unit on it goes to "Creating Database" which takes a few minutes before the thing can be used, this is exceptionally annoying, especially since I bought it to use in my car and therefore if it's left on (as has been suggested I do) the next time I go to use it the battery is flat. Apparently this is not a fault, they all do it, but I've never had a similar player do this (including from Sony) and it seems a major design flaw to me. If it wasn't for the fact that I live overseas I would have returned it. Very disappointing.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing Walkman - shame about the Music Centre

16GB 25 March 2019 by DLXANDR (United Kingdom)

I have found the Walkman device itself to be a wonderful companion - the ability to select a personalised sound system (eg Concert Hall + EDM for the EQ setting - strange that this is awesome for Rock and Metal but there you go!!) is definitely an improvement though the older model is hard to beat. I must say not being able to scroll through artist/song/album choices by initial letters is a bit of a pain - especially with a 400GB Micro SD card in as it means 1000's of entries to whizz through to find what you want. I have really found my biggest real disappointment is with the Music Centre for PC which is definitely NOT an improvement on the older version. The icons for albums and artists are way too big and when I click on the Icon the album page itself is all take up with the artist/title and a huge blank space with the sons reduced to being cramped underneath. I can only see 2 or 3 at a time rather than the whole track list like I could before. Very frustrating!!! And when trying to import a CD the same thing happens leaving some of the relevant info regarding the programme missing from my screen - I don't know how!! All in all Sony have improved the actual Walkman but have over complicated the Music Centre and lost the user friendly aspect to the programme. It has caused stress and disappointment because I was inseperable from my old Walkman and I found navigating the Music Centre uncomplicated and fun. I wish I could get the old Music Centre back to work with the new Device - the it would be unbeatable as a product! I always sang the praises of my old device - but now I would have to be more cautious in recommending the Sony Walkman to others because the computer programme side of the MP3 player is as important as the device - something that HAS gone awry in this instance unfortunately! I truly wish I could be ecstatic and just extol the virtues of my Walkman - a week ago with my old device I would have sung its praises from the rooftops!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Brilliant music player

16GB 23 March 2019 by wendy25 (United Kingdom)

My old Sony Walkman, which I had for around 15 yers died, so I invested in this one. So glad I did, all the original features are there, but loading it is easier, and it looks great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

I w2ish I had bought it years ago

16GB 16 March 2019 by seghillbill (United Kingdom)

I cant beleive how good this A 40 is I play it using My Tv surround speakers the sound and play back is fantastic. It sounds just as good when used in my car using the usb port.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

3

0

0

Shame about playlists

16GB 11 March 2019 by zeberdee51 (United Kingdom)

I’m really pleased with the player and it would have been perfect if I were able to set a playlist “on the go” rather than have to do it via a computer. Maybe there’s a way but I can’t find it. Bit of a shame it doesn’t come with any headphones or earbuds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

It's a cool little thing........

16GB 03 March 2019 by Superboy1uk (United Kingdom)

Got this item about a month ago took abit of time to get use to it and abit to try connect my Bluetooth head phones.... But after that it's well good battery last long time which is GREAT......Could do with a case for it so it doesn't get scratched... As my most have for any music lover who like music on the go... Also the Radio is good too :-)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony init'

16GB 02 March 2019 by Leafvine (United Kingdom)

I purchased because I wanted to update from my old (10 years) Sony Walkman. It seems a robust bit of kit with plenty of features. So far I am pleased with it. I like the option to increase storage via the micro card.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb music player

16GB 28 February 2019 by Dungaa (United Kingdom)

If you want a great device that plays music you won’t go wrong at all with this little gem,it’s easy to use and packed with enough audio setting preferences to satisfy anyone’s musical needs,it plays numerous audio formats but because of file size and space,at the moment I’m using mp3 until i can afford a new sd card then ill use the internal storage for my flac audio files,I must admit though that mp3 has never sounded so good as they do with this device,album art can be displayed which while not hd it is very clear and smooth and doesn’t look synthetic,I’m not an audiophile but like listening to music as much as anyone so won’t try to over complicate this product review,this device actually makes you feel as though you’re using a quality audio player and believe me it is a quality audio player,it’s easy to drag and drop audio files from your computer to this device and just as easy to delete audio files from this device from your computer,I’ve settled on my equaliser settings and got my music sounding just as i want it to sound,I have put a flac audio file onto my device just to see what difference in sound quality it had over its mp3 version and you can tell the difference,although the mp3 version did sound very good the flac version of the file was so much better all round so once i get an sd card the internal memory of my nw a45 will be flac only as flac is my favoured audio format and the memory card will house mp3 audio files only,the device also has a fm radio that picked up all of my available stations and did a thouroughly good job in doing so,this device is well worth the money i paid for it,it’s become my choice of listening to music above my other devices,if I have a complaint it would be the inclusion of Sony’s own proprietary usb cable,i really do think that it could have been designed to use a usb cable that we all use nowadays as standard and it seem that sony have done an apple on us in that we have to use their own branded/type products to be able to use this device fully for our enjoyment,shame on you Sony,it’s only a small complaint but a complaint nevertheless,apart from that,as i stated earlier in this review,you won’t go wrong purchasing this device,it has everything you’d need regarding being a portable music player,options,sounds settings aplenty,a lovely design and for the cost it’s a well worth the money product so it’s a thumbs up from myself that comes highly reccomended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent sound quality,very good screen.

16GB 24 February 2019 by ColinH2473 (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with the product. The sound is superb, the screen very sharp and clear and the build quality is excellant. I will now however need to puchase a pair of Sony HD headphones and possibly a headphone HD amp as I think my current non Sony earbuds are not letting me hear the full quality that this product can produce. Overall very satisfied with the purchase. I intend downloading the Music Centre for PC program, and ripping CD's in FLAC format to then transferring to my Sony Player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound = hi-res audio

NW-A40 SERIES 24 February 2019 by Custom337 (USA)

Bought to save battery life on XPERIA smartphone. High-res audio is the way to go. (1st use on Xperia z3v, then other sony products). I cant live without sound of hi-res. (nothing sounds the same anymore) Very solid feel, great sound, easy to use. Sony has always made great mp3 players. (i have many dating back to 2006) They are the last quality manufacturer still in business.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Features

16GB 23 February 2019 by Carole1201 (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this for a while now and I’m very glad I finally bought it. I thought it might be a bit too big to take out with me on my commute but it isn’t. It fits nicely inside a pocket. Lots of storage space, although I have a memory card in there as well. Sound quality is great as you would expect. The options for adjusting sound are quite extensive. I very much like the fact that the Walkman connects to my Bluetooth speaker and does so very easily. A great buy in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Just Great

16GB 21 February 2019 by Rosie Bess (United Kingdom)

This is a small but very powerful addition to my listening. I does everything I wanted and more it does it without fuss

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Easy UI

16GB 19 February 2019 by Forgi100 (United Kingdom)

Having struggled with the UI’s on other high end players, this was a joy to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good product at a good price

16GB 17 February 2019 by Denz63 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace my old iPod nano. It seems to be well made, and is quite easy to navigate the menus. Sound quality is very good, a bit richer than the iPod. Although I think that I will need to upgrade my headphones. I also found it quite easy to transfer music using the laptop. All in all I am very happy with it and I am certain that it will give many years of service.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

The Perfect music companion

16GB 17 February 2019 by RichardJS (United Kingdom)

Bought a. Couple of weeks ago it has fulfilled all my expectations. It’s small and very easy to use. All my CD collection has been transferred using the brilliant Sony Music Centre. The sound quality is great through my over ear headphones. What more could I ask for!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great MP3 Player

16GB 16 February 2019 by Mark1768 (United Kingdom)

The sound quality on this device is excellent. The product is well built and easy to use. I normally pay around £30 for an MP3 player, but decided to give this a go and I have to say I was very impressed. It is easy to load your music from a PC. Purchase, you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great

16GB 16 February 2019 by EdBiker (United Kingdom)

recently purchased very impressed with this product the small size works well touch screen makes for easy to select

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This plus the WH1000M3 are a bargain

16GB 06 February 2019 by TimboLondon (United Kingdom)

I think Sony are onto a winning combination with the A45 / WH1000M3 headphones. I recently converted to Hi Res digital audio and have been an audiophile for years. It's so satisfying to pay 500 GBP for both models and receive the kind of depth, clarity and sound staging of system worth many times that value. There's no doubt the utility of the product (A45) could be better - it can be a little difficult to navigate - hardly intuitive. In addition, you need a good sized memory card of you're going to play Hi Res files. However the improved DAC (on smart phones) and Hi Res audio easily makes up any downsides. It plays all formats FLAC / DSD / QMA. Classical music offers stunning depth and clarity. I particularly recommend REM Out of Time, Phil Collins Face Value and Leftfield Leftism 22.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Easy to use with good sound quality

16GB 05 February 2019 by Harleygirl110 (United Kingdom)

Bought for me as a present. Very stylish looking product. Very easy to transfer music using the Music Centre App. Love the playlist feature and Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

walkman A40 series

16GB 03 February 2019 by valpritch (United Kingdom)

Nice little walkman, once I had got bluetooth working properly it was fine

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works well

16GB 31 January 2019 by Dave j p (United Kingdom)

This is very easy to use and the software works well with the computer, my only issue is that although it states in the paper work use the supplied headphones Sony does not actually give headphones with the player

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great product

16GB 31 January 2019 by Jackiehen (United Kingdom)

Bought this to listen to music on a upcoming coach holiday

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ok item

16GB 29 January 2019 by enneo (United Kingdom)

Bought 1 week ago, seems to work alright, decent product. Radio is next to useless though!! Not sure why date and time are part of the setup, because they are just a background feature never to be seen again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good visibility

16GB 26 January 2019 by Skinflint (United Kingdom)

I am happy with the device. I have not mastered it completely yet as l am a novice with l.t. but overall l am pleased.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Does what I wanted...

16GB 24 January 2019 by EzBasil (United Kingdom)

This was a Christmas present to myself as my previous walkman was full. Thus one allows a SD card expansion. Looks nice but the case feels cheap. Buttons are solid and OK. Touch screen operation really good and options easy and intuitive to find. One thing I don't like is when switched on it creates database every time. A bit annoying. Battery lasts well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Does what it should

16GB 21 January 2019 by Michael1991wta (United Kingdom)

It does what it says it does and has a nice clear audio feature and makes the sound better. However there's a lag when browsing and annoyingly there's no 'play next' option. You can add songs to a Bookmark to make a playlist, but once you start playing a song the Bookmark doesn't update automatically. Many of the artwork doesn't appear as my library was originally organised in iTunes.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Excellent bit of kit.

16GB 20 January 2019 by uranium235 (United Kingdom)

Sony NW-A45. I bought this in addition to my Sony NWZ-E585, 16GB for the ability to expand the memory with a micro SD card. I use them both to listen to music with my Sennheiser Momentum wired headphones. My music files are in FLAC format. I can't review any Bluetooth, Hi Resolution etc as I don't use it. I recommend reading the on line help guide on the Sony website as it contains a lot of useful information. I also went to the trouble of using Sony Music Centre for PC, (Windows 10) to import my whole CD collection again. I previously used Windows Media Player. Perception of sound/hearing is very subjective. What one person likes, another may not. I have the equalizer set to "Flat", no increase or decrease of any frequency. I can't hear "Any" difference in sound between the two. I wasn't expecting any, I'm just letting you know. If you like your "Cover Art" as I do, use FLAC as it gets transferred to the device and shows on the screen, if you use WAV the cover art doesn't, due to different transfer protocols. I've read reports of issues with none Sony SD cards so very reluctantly I got a Sony micro SD card. No issues encountered. Like the NWZ-E585 there's only about 12.2GB of usable space not 16GB. Having said all that, I'm very pleased with it. I like the touch screen, it's easy to use and responds well. The menus are easy to follow although I've had to read the help guide to find tracks that I had book marked. It will play just about any format. Loads of choice in music settings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Classic Sony Walkman.

16GB 20 January 2019 by Clive 66 (United Kingdom)

So far so good, no quality issues and I like the ergonomics. I'm not a fan of touch screen controls after all we don't always have clean hands and sometimes we wear gloves so I'm glad about the button controls on the side. Sound wise I'm liking it but I've only tried Sony WH-H900 and Sennheiser ovation wired headphones so far. Drag and drop works fine as long as the correct folder is used on the Walkman. Sony Music Centre software is not as intuitive when it comes to settings but for the most part it's good, don't use wave if you want artwork. I wish it was possible to rip SACD directly as HD music downloads aren't cheap and I've yet to try DVD-A transfers. Summing up, good solid player, sound and software but it helps to read the instructions on micro SD cards and play around with the settings in SMC.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice design.

16GB 20 January 2019 by Ed88 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a cheaper MP3 player. While it is well made and easy to use once you get the hang of it, I don’t notice much difference in the quality of the play back. The instructions are poor but I managed to work it out.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Walkman

16GB 19 January 2019 by Charlie cheesecake (United Kingdom)

I updated my sony walkman as I have had it for some years, still in good working order and though about time to renew. Very pleased with my new sony, a slightly different way to add music from the old one, but still works a treat. Happy Customer..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Walkman

16GB 16 January 2019 by Monicker (United Kingdom)

Good quality product, easy to use and excellent sound quality. Downloading music straight forward and good Bluetooth connection. Very pleased with this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0