FE 12-24MM F2.8 GM

Product Reviews

8

4.9 based on 8 customer reviews

7
1
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

8 Customer Reviews

0

Truly staggering lens

SEL1224GM 06 July 2021  (United Kingdom)

Optically this lens is incredible. It benefits from corner focusing at 12mm due to field curvature, but focused carefully, this lens is pretty sharp corner to corner at all focal lengths. It beats my 14mm GM with both lenses set at 14mm & f2.8, in terms of average sharpness across the whole frame. The prime wins for central sharpness, but has stronger field curvature. I've also compared this to 2 copies of the 24mm GM, and with the 24mm and 12-24 (set at 24mm and f2.8 as well as f4), the zoom outperforms the prime for average sharpness across the frame. That 24mm prime is known for impressive sharpness, and this zoom beats both of the copies I've had of the 24mm. It really is that good. Very little CA, moderate vignette. My main complaint isn't about the optics, but is about what I'm assuming is software/firmware. The 12-24mm attached to my A7Riv has a red/magenta ring baked into the raws. It's pretty strong at 12mm, but not too bad by 14mm. It does not do this on my A1, and others have reported that covering up the lens contacts prevents the rings being baked into the raws with other bodies. Fix that, and it'll be perfect on all bodies (I repeat, the problem is absent on my A1, but this lens and others have the red/magenta ring baked in with my A7Riv).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best lens I've ever had!

SEL1224GM 14 June 2021 by Fuzzball (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the G Master 12-24mm to supplement my 24-70. I now own 4 G Master lenses and this one is by far the best - and my new favorite! Lines are straight and not curved all the way to the edges and photos are super sharp! Auto focus is awesome. Now if they would just give me a new 70-200 and 100-400 to equal this level of quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow. Super Sharp. Fast Focus!

SEL1224GM//CSYX 23 May 2021 by Toolman192 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the lens. Super sharp. Great color. Super Fast Focus. Cannot believe. Really need to bring out updated 24-70 & 70-200. They just cannot compete. They are like third party lenses compared to this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It is a G-master!

SEL1224GM 18 September 2020 by jloz (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Using this lens has been a joy. I used a 14mm prime before and it was just not wide enough. My real estate clients love the photos. This lens does a fantastic job in handling the flares when taking photos of the exteriors on a sunny day. This lens is super sharp even wide open at f2.8. The only gripes I have are the price ($3k!) and the distortion at 12mm which I expected with this lens and is correctable in post.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Great Ultra-wide

SEL1224GM 09 September 2020 by Ross_S (USA)

Perfect for interior real estate. Also, the best lens for landscape photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Great feature and very sharp lens

SEL1224GM//CSYX 30 August 2020 by Henry73 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this len when 1st launched. It is sharp and incredible detail especially the bokeh was great. Good images quality, no regret having this len. Awesome

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing glass~!

SEL1224GM//CSYX 29 August 2020 by Deric Tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens a week ago and I am deeply loving it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Speechless

SEL1224GM 15 August 2020 by SsgO (USA)

When I heard of a 2.8 G Master version of this 12-24 lens was releasing I was speechless. I have had it now for a couple of days and I've been out and about shooting what I can with it and the extra 2mm make a huge difference. I love wide angle photography in almost all settings and this lens does not disappoint... I am about to leave for a deployment and this is going with me, I cannot wait to see what I can achieve with this lens in the next year or so... Thank you Sony!! As for the price? Yes, by far the most expensive lens I've ever purchased but worth it in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

7