37

4.5 based on 37 customer reviews

24
10
1
0
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

I love the camera.

Body Only 24 September 2020 by Carlitos27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it yesterday so far I love the camera, the focus, great videos. Really smart camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Buy The a6400 if you are focused on video

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 December 2023 by Kavo VFX (United Kingdom)

as the title says, Buy The a6400 if you are focused on video more than focused on photography as this camera is lacking a lot of features that are needed for good post production value. I made the mistake of not getting the a6400 which would have suited my needs more, and now im just stuck with this camera as i am not in the position to return and get the a6400. Things such as colour profiles, and the build quality in general to record in different environmental and weather conditions lack on this model. Don't get me wrong, its a great camera, but for my use value, its 1/5. For photography however, easy 5/5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

37 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Excited with my sony

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 31 March 2024 by Bouet281 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love this camera the pictures and videos are so clear and perfect. And it’s not heavy that’s a plus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I manged to get some good shots straight away

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 05 February 2024 by Grem (United Kingdom)

This is my 1st SLR since my film one (not used for years !). So back to being a newbie . Took some good shots straight away. Still practicing with all the options. I did some research between models. I would very much recommend this model. Yes I could have spent loads more and not necessary got better pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony 6100 review

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 27 January 2024 by Aüstin123 (United Kingdom)

The sony 6100 is a brilliant beginner camer with excellent picture quality and video quality

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No Longer Own this Camera.

Body Only 06 January 2024 by bobd2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Returned the 6100 and got the 6400 instead, a much better camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it! ❤️

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 27 December 2023 by Hijnks (United Kingdom)

Fantastic camera I love everything about it. The only problem I had was getting the app to connect to the camera, but I finally resolved this by changing a setting on my phone. The app could definitely do with being updated as its not very user friendly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Buy The a6400 if you are focused on video

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 25 December 2023 by Kavo VFX (United Kingdom)

as the title says, Buy The a6400 if you are focused on video more than focused on photography as this camera is lacking a lot of features that are needed for good post production value. I made the mistake of not getting the a6400 which would have suited my needs more, and now im just stuck with this camera as i am not in the position to return and get the a6400. Things such as colour profiles, and the build quality in general to record in different environmental and weather conditions lack on this model. Don't get me wrong, its a great camera, but for my use value, its 1/5. For photography however, easy 5/5.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Poor documentation

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 03 December 2023 by 12348476gfwiuehfiuhefaeif (United Kingdom)

Camera seems fine but learning to use it is not made easy due to very poor documentation and web site instructions.

0

0

0

Sony A6100

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 21 November 2023 by Kevpt (United Kingdom)

Was looking for a small, light camera with apsc sensor that handled well and I could get large prints. The 6100 has proven to be what I was looking for. With dedicated dials for aperture and speed I can quickly select iso or auto iso.I didn’t review sound as I only shoot stills.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera for the all-round amateur

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 30 October 2023 by GAllen11 (United Kingdom)

Getting back into photography again after a long break, I switched from a big DSLR (not Sony) to this model as I wanted to downsize my kit. This is a great camera for an amateur. The picture and video quality is great. For an all-rounder who does a bit of street, landscape, nature and casual family photography, this is great device. I also bought a Sony 50mm lens which has a wider aperture than the kit lens (included with my camera) and I have been very happy with the results. Only note is that this model is not waterproof at all (so in hindsight I should have the A6400), but otherwise a very happy customer!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great travel street Photography camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 17 October 2023 by AronJA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I been using the Sony a7c but wanted something even smaller, lighter and less expensive. The Sony a6100 is perfect for my needs. The one thing I wish it had was a Minimum shutter speed setting. That way I can tell the camera not to go below a set shutter speed. Other then that This is an amazing camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great beginners camera

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 05 September 2023 by TonyC63 (United Kingdom)

very happy with my Sony A6100.love the features and the auto focus is fab

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features and much needed upgrade!

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50 mm & 55-210 mm) 19 May 2023 by Duckmath12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought only two days ago and I am already in love with it coming from a non-mirrorless dslr canon camera! I especially love the lens options and the clarity of it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrific Value Camera

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 19 January 2023 by A JAMIE (United Kingdom)

Purchased the Sony A6100 nearly two weeks ago. Great wee camera for street photography I've discovered and a lot of other subjects. It will take me years to outgrow this camera especially with the range of lenses available for it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great results from this light weight star.

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50mm & 55-210mm) 29 December 2022 by Headers (United Kingdom)

Really pleased with my camera, it is so easy to use and produces great results. It as amazing options allowing me to get the pictures I want.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Compact

Body Only 13 August 2022 by K9CJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One word...Amazing, finally have a great camera I can easily move around with, recommended by two other professional photographer's who had the same camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good Features

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 29 January 2022 by Vin88 (United Kingdom)

Device is perfect, except the battery charging method. We have to keep the whole device for charging battery, that i feel little uncomfortable. It is better to provide a charging adapter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Great walkabout camera.

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 17 October 2021 by photojeff (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for its compact size and the APS-C sensor which is larger than the sensors on bridge cameras. A friend of mine has the A6000 so I knew that the results would be really good. Equipped with the Sony Zeiss 16-70 lens, which gives the 35mm. equivalent range 24-135, you have a camera that will be fine for most occasions. I have wide angle and tele-photo lenses if needed. There are more sophisticated cameras in the Sony A 6 range but you would have to decide if the extra features are worth the cost for you.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Auto Camera

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 14 October 2021 by DeeAye (United Kingdom)

Great product for the amateur and more advanced photographer alike!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Good camera body

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 13 October 2021 by Kees Woestenenk (United Kingdom)

Good camera body, less good in documentation and guides. Short battery life

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Love it

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 14 September 2021 by Palmarcell92 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about2 weeks ago. I am really happy with. Still needs time to get know all the features it knows. Only i would change is the grip. It is just too close to the lens and scratching my finger on longer use (after halfen hour already hurts).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera!

Body Only 10 August 2021 by Osprey74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great camera for the cost. The picture quality is great and it's easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

good for the money

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 06 August 2021 by click74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought it in june 2021 the camera is very good and photos are excellent not used all the settings yet one thing no time lapse

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Perfection!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20 July 2021 by Xsarin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its my first camera. Looks amazing and will help me build a passive income online business. Cannot expect lower from Sony. Great purchase!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Amazing one! A6100

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 29 April 2021 by Karlo212 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A6100 in January and after a long consideration which camera to buy, I'm honestly very happy with my choice! Features are amazing, autofocus performance is top-notch and image quality is just amazing! While you might need some getting used to with the menu, this might be a small tradeoff for a great camera. Best value for money in APS-C mirrorless world!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A small upgrade from the a6100

Body Only 03 February 2021 by os01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my aging a6000 primarily because I wanted to have the silent shutter feature which is lacking on the a6000. Performance wise, I don't see much of a difference for photography. For video, I can happily say, you will be able to record more than 10 minutes before the camera shuts down as is the case with the a6000. Sony added touch focus to the a6100 which can be helpful sometimes but they still failed to provide full menu touch functionality which would have made this camera 10 times easier to use. But that is Sony for you, still refusing to make their cameras user friendly in 2021!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Brilliant Camera

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 28 January 2021 by siggles 01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few months ago as I needed to upgrade from the a58 I owned I was not disappointed as the images this camera.produces are of a fantastic quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

3

0

Awesome peice of kit

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 13 December 2020 by Aaron25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Even as one of the lower models in the range this camera has great picture quality, easy to use and get to grips with its doesn't take long till your take some stunning picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

6

0

Awesome little powerhouse

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 18 November 2020 by BashedAndroid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been interested in cameras since my college days - Remember those big SLRs and DLSR cameras - well this camera is my first venture into modern mirrorless camera and OLED viewfinders. I have to say for a beginner camera based on the wildly successful alpha 6000 it lives up to the hype. Works quite well with various E-mount lens as well. I picked a few starter Sony lens one being a FE (full frame) lens. The Sony Alpha 6100 is a APS-C which is different than say the Sony Alpha 7S Full Frame camera. The full frame lens works reasonably well on the 6100. Best lens to get started with this product I my opinion in the E 20mm F2.8 pancake lens. Combined this really slim lens and the small frame size of the 6100, lends itself to a great point and shoot experience: best for exploring without the drawbacks of heavy and bulky DLSR cameras. Final note, if you can take the lower resolution of the viewfinder compared to Sony more expensive cameras and its modest LCD basic touch screen display then this is a camera you’ll grow to love. I have used it two months so far and will continue to work with it for a long time.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

I love the camera.

Body Only 24 September 2020 by Carlitos27 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it yesterday so far I love the camera, the focus, great videos. Really smart camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera

Body + 16-50mm Power Zoom Lens 13 September 2020 by WhiskyTangoFox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A6100 is a great camera packed with great features however only 4 stars as it is missing IBIS, apart that I am well happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

All as expected except the connectivity

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 06 September 2020 by Yuro76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was deciding between the canon m50 and sony 6100, I took sony because of better video (there is a huge crop on canon 4K). I am happy with the camera, the focus, video and image quality are excellent but the connectivity with mobile app doesnt work most of the times ...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Sony A6100

Body Only 30 May 2020 by SKKSGP (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

satisfy with the real-time tracking and fast focus

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony a6100 Review

Body Only 22 May 2020 by Morgan93 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is really awesome. I’ve previously used DSLR and recently decided to try out a mirrorless camera. It’s so light and easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Does what I want it to do

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 09 May 2020 by Boblet17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have in the past had two film SLRs, 2 DSLRs and a number of high-end compacts. I’m not a pro photographer, and I’m not a particularly good photographer, but I do take lots of pictures and avidly process them in photoshop. I know about ISO, f-stops, depth of field and depth of focus. That should give an idea of my knowledge and experience. Before I bought an a6100 I read quite a few reviews: dpreview, techradar, digitalcameraworld and so on. I checked out all the models in my price bracket (up to £1,000 with kit lens), and the a6100 was the one that ticked all my boxes. The negative reviews seemed to focus on dated looks, limited touchscreen functions and confusing menus. To this my reaction was ‘I’m not buying costume jewellery, it’s a camera, and anyway I like the looks’, ‘over-sensitive touchscreens are awful to use, and extremely complicated’ and ‘I’ll sort the menus out given a bit of time’. There were two overwhelming (for me) positive features of all the reviews though: fast, flexible and accurate autofocus, plus outstanding picture quality. It’s a camera: if it takes great photos that’s its job and the clincher for me. So what’s it like in practice? Well, its great. It can be used as a simple point and press; my partner for instance uses it in this way, she has a good eye for colour, framing and light but can’t be doing with all the f stop malarkey. On the other hand, with a few minutes work setting up the controls, it is as flexible and configurable as a DSLR, in my experience. Picture quality is outstanding, the autofocus is utterly brilliant, the camera is light but feels solid in use. Dynamic range is exceptional, eye focus really works. I’m very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

1

0

Best Camera that I have ever owned!

Body + Zoom Lenses (16-50 mm & 55-210 mm) 10 April 2020 by Mainemanjim (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first camera beyond the previous point and shoot cameras that I have owned over the years. Great for a beginner!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Pleasantly surprised

ILCE-6100L / ILCE-6100Y 05 February 2020 by alex1075 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded my camera to this one after a few months of reflection and do not regret it !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Excelente producto

Body Only 31 December 2019 by linuscore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to replace my NEX-5R to bump up my production of my business

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1