85

4.2 based on 85 customer reviews

53
14
8
4
6
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Love This Product

HTA9 23 December 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month ago with the sub and I am so happy with how this performs with movies and music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Sony HT A9

HT-A9//M1 SP1 20 August 2022 by Hummer Guy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Sony HT A9 abt a month ago with the SW5 sub. Sound is pretty good. Ease of setting up is 5 stars. BUT sometimes the drop off is irritating, intermittent connection.. thus cant give more than 3 stars.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

85 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic

HT-A9 06 April 2024 by StoneQ (United Kingdom)

I love HT-A9. They are amazing and very easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

5 Star product with 1 star connectivity

HT-A9 15 March 2024 by Ashiq (United Kingdom)

The sound quality is really good, but if you are living near block of flats with many wifi networks , you will suffer from sound dropouts. Sony should at least add the option to select the preferred wifi channel manually and also option to save the last used channel. As of now the system forgets the last used channel and you will again need to scan for good wireless channel every time you turn on the system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Amazing home theater system

HT-A9//M1 SP1 11 March 2024  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy watching movies using this system! Music quality is great too! One thing lack of is the connectivity. It doesn’t support optical cable or audio jack input, only allowing 1 extra hdmi input.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

OMG

HTA9 24 February 2024 by BeckyL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound system is simply fantastic, I am so impressed with the quality. It was so easy to set up. Thanks Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Fantastic Sound

HT-A9 14 February 2024 by Squeakers (United Kingdom)

We have had this sound system for a couple of weeks now and are still amazed at the clarity and depth of the sound. It was easy to install, and, as we love our music, we bought the woofer as well and this fills our living room with an incredible sound…..almost as though we were in a concert hall. I love it and am so glad we decided to buy this system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great Home Theater System

HTA9 05 February 2024 by gto5830 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is a great system!!! Easy to set up, and has a great sound. Really enjoy the setup with my Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Reasonable sound

HT-A9 03 February 2024 by Idontcarewhatname (United Kingdom)

Not bad for one little box. I think it's helped by using the Sony TV as the centre speaker. Disappointing there is only one HDMI and occasionally it's slow to respond

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Excellent system once set up!

HT-A9 01 January 2024 by rmal (United Kingdom)

The plus side first: it creates a brilliant immersive sound and delivers unbelieveable nuances in my music (particularly those which have been produced for immersive sound, of course). Balancing the speakers was easy using the setup process, given the limitations of having to set up the speakers within specific distances from electrical outlets in the room. The fun bit. Obviously there was some connection between the control box and my TV as the menus appeared on screen but.... the HDMI supplied was not reading at all to connect TV mode to the box so no sound and an error message told me that there was no HDMI plugged in!!! I checked everything, including resetting my Sony TV to ensure that it was set to use the right HDMI outlet for sound and that the TV was to work with an audio system. Still nothing. I happened to have a spare HDMI cable which I plugged in instead and huzzah!!!! It turns out that the HDMI supplied wasn't fully functional. At least I had a spare to check it all out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

360 Spatial Sound Mapping

HTA9 28 December 2023 by stev5067 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product because my son recommended it. I couldnt be more happier with it. The sound is movie quality and you can her everything

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Love This Product

HTA9 23 December 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a month ago with the sub and I am so happy with how this performs with movies and music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

HT-A9

HT-A9 21 December 2023 by Derek the Senior (United Kingdom)

Bought 3 weeks ago. Easy to set up and wonderful sound. Definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great

HT-A9 19 December 2023 by Dobbins (United Kingdom)

I bought this a while ago and it’s great I haven’t added the sun as my room small and the bass on this is just fantastic for smaller rooms

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

...sounds great, performs more than it looks

HTA9 04 December 2023 by rs1980 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this month ago, glad that its performance is as expected. Definitely need a subwoofer with this to add the punch. Does good job with reproducing good audio for the streaming movies. Streaming music is not as expected and is dependent on service which are not alike, needs improvements. Setup is simple and its placed in 12x12 room, not sure how it will perform in large space or high ceilings. Wish it had come with built in demo music and video clips with original content.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

immersive, ease of set up

HT-A9 24 November 2023 by L prasad (United Kingdom)

Recently bought to go with Sony X95L 85 TV. extremely easy to set up. Wireless connection resulted in frequent dropouts, though it is inches from Wi-Fi. I connected with ethernet, so far very stable Works best with ethernet. I am using TV speakers as centre speakers. Is it possible to add another subwoofer Firmware update?? overall great buy especially at great black Friday deal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing sound quality, wish it had the subwoofer.

HT-A9 17 November 2023 by TracyK (United Kingdom)

It might be expensive, but you can't argue with the sound quality from the HT-A9. The 360 spacial sound mapping will blow your mind. The speakers are so simple to set up, just plug them in and follow the instructions on the screen, it does everything else for you. It definitely sounds like you have a lot more than 4 speakers, it's a smart bit of kit. Although 'wireless' you obviously still need to plug the speakers into a plug socket, which can be tricky depending on where yours are located. I found the length of the power cord far too short for 3 of the 4 speakers, so ordered IEC C7 Figure 8 Extension Power Cables and this did the trick. For the cost of these speakers, I would expect them to come with the subwoofer and not sold separately. That, and the very short power cables, are the only reasons I've not given 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

It met my expectations and then some

HTA9 21 September 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this for several weeks and extremely happy with my purchase. My wife say's it is the best system we've had and I have to agree. Love listening to music on it but the system really shines when watching dolby atmos content. Great sound with a smallish foot print.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great surround system

HT-A9 15 September 2023 by charioteer (United Kingdom)

I've had this sony system for about a month and it replaces a Samsung system.the difference is very noticeable, the Sony is a great improvement over the Samsung.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Excellent but with a proviso

HT-A9 10 September 2023 by Lucy_C (United Kingdom)

An excellent set of speakers, i was worried at first by the lack of a centre speaker, but the sound mapping is so good that you do not notice that it is not there. The proviso - you really do need to add the optional bass speaker to get the best out of this set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

SONY HT-A9 Home Theatre Sound System

HT-A9 28 August 2023 by Tigress (United Kingdom)

I recently purchased a SONY HT-A9 Home Theatre Sound System & it’s amazing there are 2 issues that I was quite concerned about, the S Centre Speaker & the Pass Through which they recently did an update to rectify that Pass Through issue. The S Centre Speaker is a different issue altogether when connected to my Tv there was a loud continuous hissing sound & SONY had to arrange for an engineer to come out & change the TV’s Motherboard which rectified that hissing issue. You then had to redo the whole setting up of the TV again which I suppose was a minor in the whole scheme of things. My annoyance also comes from the cost of this premium product, I was lucky the price had been reduced but it still cost a considerable amount of money !. SONY need to do better, but the sound from that system is amazing & sublime it does what it says on the tin, & that’s why SONY are the very best at what they do.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Good system unless there's interference

HTA9 22 August 2023  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I live in an apartment with a large number of wifi networks and devices nearby and these speakers are nearly unusable. I get drop-outs in the audio constantly, and from what I can tell, this has to do with network/radio interference breaking up the connection to the speakers. Initially, the system was completely unlistenable, with pops and drop-outs every few seconds. I was able to improve the situation a bit by re-locating my wifi router to another room, but I'm still getting enough pops and drop-outs that it's difficult to enjoy music or movies. This is really disappointing because the speakers do sound great otherwise. I suspect that in a house without other networks nearby, if you could turn of your home wifi, then they would be perfect, but that's a pretty big compromise.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Great width to the sound.

HT-A9 10 August 2023 by Dennis55 (United Kingdom)

Bought as a easy way into the latest surround sound setups with easy configuration.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Easy set up, excellent quality

HT-A9 08 August 2023 by PaulDYH (United Kingdom)

Very happy with the HT-A9. Took minutes to connect up to my PlayStation and projector, with a nice in built self-calibration system to optimise the sound. Great to remove the bulky speakers, amp and wiring from my old 4.1 set up. Audio is excellent, very immersive - although now planning to add a wireless WA5 subwoofer to complete the experience !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

8

0

Great sound

HT-A9 08 August 2023 by Cannibal0 (United Kingdom)

I’ve had other surround sound devices in the past, all connected by cables, not all have been great. The HT-A9 is great, I am so impressed by the quality of the sound and the immersive feel that it bring to films and gaming, just brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Great sound

HT-A9//M1 SP1 06 August 2023 by Midline (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in early Jul 2023. All’s well except that the volume of the rear speaker is very low. Technician who attended to the issue on-site could not do anything to resolve it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Home Theatre

HTA9 23 July 2023 by Home Theatre Enthusiast (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These speakers look great and sound great. I had the Sonos Home Theatre and these are so much smoother. Excellent highs and lows. These work so much better with my Sony Bravia TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds fantastic (with SW5 subwoofer)

HTA9 05 July 2023 by kenbr1960 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These sound amazing but you do need the subwoofer to get good bass. I'm very pleased with these speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound clarity

HTA9 29 June 2023 by ekilgore (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about two months ago with a Sony blu-ray and subwoofer. It was the best purchase I've made in a long time. The sound quality is unbelievable. I really like the fact that the speakers don't have to be on the same horizontal plane, or specially placed to produce an accurate soundscape. Set up is very easy and the remote provided makes it easy to tweak adjust levels on an ad hoc basis. It is a totally immersive experience when listening to 5.1 mixes of my favorite music on blu-ray. The only issue that I have is that it occasionally seems to get "choppy" sound and I have to turn the radio connection off and back on, and then do a basic sound setup again. It only takes about three minutes, but it is frustrating if you just want to watch or listen to something and you have to spend the time to do a "setup". [Since this is still fairly new to me, I cannot blame the product. I am experimenting with some speaker placements and some transmitting devices that could be causing interference.]

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Crisp Sound

HT-A9 11 June 2023 by saurmitt (United Kingdom)

I have been using it for 2 weeks. The sound is incredible, loud and crisp with clear dialogues. Decent bass even without a sub-woofer. Feeling of surround sound is ok though. OTT platforms on HD also do not sound like a proper surround.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

36

0

great sound

HTA9 27 May 2023 by MaureenK101 (USA)

I will be honest I truly have no idea how this surround sound is supposed to sound to me. This is the first surround sound system I have ever owned and so I have nothing to compare it to. I do have to say I dont know how I feel about the center channel out cable that makes the voices come out of the tv speakers so it sounds more directly in front of me. I kind of feel like that ruins the experience just a tad bit because I am connecting a low-grade speaker to a top-grade system and almost drowns out the quality of sound coming from the two front surround sound speakers mounted on the wall. But I will play around with it and see what I like better. As far as the subwoofer goes it is great truly is immersive vibration but if there was a way to connect a 1000W RMS or higher subwoofer (something comparable like a nightshade v5 2500W sundown audio subwoofer for a car) to this system I would highly recommend adding a new subwoofer to the Sony line up that is twice as powerful as this one or give me the ability to add a second subwoofer to the system. I can say I have never sat in my living room and watched an action movie and heard bullets zing past my head before. But with this surround sound that is exactly how it sounds and I can say with all honesty it is really an amazing and cool experience to have as my first one. Hope this helps with future bug fixes and tech updates. Please let me know if you add a new more powerful subwoofer or make it so I can add a second one to the system. Thank you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

worst item i have bought

HT-A9 25 May 2023 by wayno553586 (United Kingdom)

im not happy with these speakers has the quality of sound is so poor i have unpluged them untill i can find about to fix the issue or get my money back

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

54

20

0

Sound quality exceptional with Sony subwoofer 👍🏾

HT-A9 21 May 2023 by APOLLO 10 Jones (United Kingdom)

Super impressed with the deep sound quality and easy peas set up 👍🏾

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

54

0

Great sound

HT-A9 15 May 2023 by Ian 23 (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a home theatre system to replace my 12 year old system, having a Sony tv well what’s not to like or trust with this. They link together very nicely, great sound and I didn’t bother with a sub, was very happy with what I can hear. So far no Wi-Fi drop out and really pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

57

0

brilliant home sound system

HT-A9 24 April 2023 by hspunn (United Kingdom)

read the reviews and went for a listen to them at the Sony store. These blew my mind away. completely wireless and the 360 sound is out of this world. adds a whole new dimension when watching a movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

77

0

Simple Sound.

HT-A9 04 April 2023 by Aerodatic (United Kingdom)

Simple, great sounding surround sound. Best set to Cinema AE On. I do recommend including SA-SW5 for deeper bass. Would be better if played stereo in back speakers too in music mode with AE off (instead of stereo front speakers only, back speaker off). Simple firmware update?! Maybe future model will be wall mounting design with downward speakers as well as upward speakers. Aerodatic

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

87

0

Bad out of the box

HTA9 16 February 2023 by Malda123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

ARC/eARC interface defective. Several hours of troubleshooting over several days with Sony technicians, narrowed the problem to the.HT-A9 controller. Sony wanted me to send it in to one of their authorized dealers for repair. Instead, I opted to exchange it with Amazon. The new system worked perfectly. Big pain.

Sound Quality

Average

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Amazing Atmos affect and stunning sound quality.

HT-A9 10 February 2023 by Pumpkinlove 36 (United Kingdom)

Bought the HT A9 as a treat to myself. Ater doing a bit of homework the reviews seemed to good to be true as all reviews were positive. Set up took minutes and everything seamlessly connected. Movies and music have a whole new life and 360 audio is just brilliant. The sound bubble is also phenomenal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

164

0

Soundly Brilliant

HT-A9 09 February 2023 by Ray75 (United Kingdom)

I have been up grading through the years from stereo to 5.1 to 7.1 and now spatial sound this has got to be the best,4 speakers and little box of tricks that give original movie sound and all setup with ease. Sony has cornered the market and I am over the moon with the result. Highly recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

120

0

Great for music and home theater

HT-A9 01 February 2023 by nbogoslovskiy (United Kingdom)

enjoy high-quality sound when listening to music and watching movies in the home theater!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

130

0

Sub woofer not included

HT-A9 01 February 2023 by Rondominius (United Kingdom)

Sub woofer is an optional extra. Disappointing, given the c £1800 price tag.got a Samsung sub, but not Bluetooth compatible with the Sony unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

128

0

New surround system & should have done it sooner

HT-A9 27 January 2023 by Sap006 (United Kingdom)

I have hesitated over this purchase as I had hoped to see it instore for a demo but have struggled to find this anywhere even on display. However, after reading all the reviews & spec I decided to change my existing Sony sound system for this & the added sa-sw5 subwoofer. I am delighted with the product & sound generated. It was well worth adding the sa-sw5 & my music listening is so enhanced, the availability of tracks for playing on the 360 Spatial audio format is good, the control buttons are easy to identify & allow me to increase rear speaker & bass level which I have found great for our living space. The sound within the room is way beyond the clarity at lower level than I expected after my previous system. Will continue to explore various modes & options available from the system but so far after first 2 weeks I am really pleased with this system. The pairing to my Sony TV was so easy & I am not a technical expert so go ahead if you are thinking of buying this system. I agree that cable length for speakers could be improved, or Sony could offer them as an extra over option to buy at same time. The colour of the speakers is ok but again a small negative would be options on colour would have suited my exiting decor. Could Sony not offer a discount if we traded in our old equipment? Sorry if this is already an option I have never come across it with Sony but have used it for other electronic suppliers. The technical support from Sony prior to making the purchase was superb so well done, they are a credit to your company.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

131

0

Amazing sound but disappointing connection

HT-A9 19 January 2023 by Benji0792 (United Kingdom)

I am amazed by the sound quality of the system. Not only do they produce great sound, they also look neat and more subtle compared to a soundbar. However, I have many issues with the sound suddenly dropping out or the system not producing sound upon exiting stand-by. I have tried all the recommended rectifications issued by Sony and had the system replaced by a new set under warranty but the second one also has issues, perhaps a bit less compared to the first set, but this shouldn't be the case for such an expensive sound system. Nonetheless, I am still happy with the purchase, especially when paired with the SA-SW5 subwoofer (the bass it can produce is astounding!).

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

133

0

You get what you pay for!

HT-A9 11 January 2023 by Big boy iain (United Kingdom)

A Christmas treat for myself and what a treat. A couple blips setting up, but I'm no Bill Gates! Once set up WOW . And the guys from Sony Leeds most helpful and patient. See for yourself.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

134

0

Seems Overrated Everywhere

HT-A9 09 January 2023 by Matt1881 (United Kingdom)

I've been waiting to get my hands on this for over a year. Massive stock shortages as well as the steep price have held me back. Every single review and video though rates this as just about the best you can buy. I'm not so sure. First real world problem is speaker range. You're supposed to be able to put the speakers anywhere but I had terrible trouble with the front dropping signals. I had to move it closer to the TV than I wanted. The control box doesn't like being in a cupboard either as that will make the speakers drop out regularly. The other problem is I'm just not convinced yet about the sound. It's devastatingly loud and clear with the sub and volume up (I only have the smaller SW3) but at normal volumes it sounds a little muffled and confused as to where the sound is placing itself. Some shows where the camera changes quickly and the direction of speech change confuse it, which sounds like speakers dropping out but they're not. I'm torn as I really don't want a soundbar in front of my TV, but this system is far from perfect and a lack of acknowledgement in reviews for it's downsides is bad, especially at the very high price point. I can't recommend it to anyone due to that price tag and the issues.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

144

7

0

Simply The Best (Forget The Rest.)

HT-A9 08 January 2023 by ToMatter (United Kingdom)

I bought this just before Christmas and Sony dispatched it to me very quickly and even registered it for me. It was the epitome of simplicity to set up and is the absolute apogee of Home Cinema Sound Systems, it does it all from one neat box. Sony have torn up the rule book, gone back to the drawing board and come up with this supreme offering. I always strive to afford myself the very best, when it comes to technology, I'm a big home entertainment aficionado too, when I read the reviews of this my interest was piqued by the universal and unique excellence that was agreed upon by all its reviewers. To start with Sony have removed the biggest weak link in any cinema sound system, speaker cables. The speakers contain two microphones in each, when they set up they exchange sound to ascertain their relative positions and 'Map' a soundstage, they really are not too fussy about where you put them either, we all know rooms are irregular shapes, Sony have clearly borne this in mind when crafting this, hearing this is believing it. Much of it's capabilities are not yet used mainstream so it is future proof. I tried not to buy this, it is expensive, I'm so glad I did, you will be too. Sony are making giant strides on all fronts at the moment, they are far ahead of the curve, the AT-H9 will be the gold standard home cinema system for the rest of the decade. The only downside from my viewpoint is that I'll have to wait until next Christmas to buy the matching Sony Bravia TV. Nothing on the market resembles this, it has singularity of form and function, if you can get it, treat yourself, you're a long time dead.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

137

0

Excellent surround speakers

HT-A9 07 January 2023 by Phill6666 (United Kingdom)

Good product to complement any home cinema but would recommend you pair with the sw5 sub. Good system but nots a flexible as the Sonos arc with a couple of plays 5s and the sun.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

136

0

Sounds very good

HT-A9 04 December 2022 by IanT599 (United Kingdom)

I just wish the included power cables were longer. Or at least give you the option of choosing longer power cables. I got the optional sub with these speakers. In my opinion the sub should not be an optional extra. The setup was easy and the sound setup was easy. Done a software update and there was no sound but a power cycle on everything cleared this up. I was a bit worried at first. I’d recently this unit over in place of a sound bar but I doubt that it would rival a full ATMOS system. I currently have a LG C2 stand mounted and it leaves no room for a sound bar. I plan to move house and a Sony OLED is on the cards so we will then see how good the system will be using the Sony TV as the centre. I hope that the do an update to allow the S-Centre to be wireless. And Apple HomeKit integration.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

143

0

Great sound, build quality could be better

HT-A9 22 November 2022 by Cal90 (United Kingdom)

My first impression of these speakers was formed from a visual standpoint as soon as I opened the box. I could see when removing the polystyrene that all the speakers have the same annoying feature on the top grills. When viewed from above, the top grill has a slight change in paint covering which is presumably from when the grills are dipped or hung to be sprayed. This is quite eye catching and frustrating for a relatively high end speaker. The sound is very good and has sufficient settings to enable an over the top cinema experience or dial it down to be a more relaxed sound for less intense viewing. I would recommend but do think the reoccurring imperfection could be designed out with a little more thought.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

144

0

GREAT SYSTEM WORKS AS SHOULD!

HTA9 21 November 2022 by GNICHOLS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WE BROUGHT OURS ABOUT 6 WEEK AGO AND SO FAR IT HAS BEEN GREAT.. NO DROP OUT AND NO PROBLEM AT THIS POINT WE COULDNT BE ANY HAPPIER. GLAD WE SPENT THE MONEY!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Awesome Sound!

HTA9 19 October 2022 by Huge music Fan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is pretty incredible, especially when coupled with Dolby based sound. You have to get the technique to dealing with dropouts in sound, once you learn the system and it's quirks, then you can use the speaker optimizer in a couple of different eays to recalibrate the sound back to great, which only takes a few minutes. I moved my router away from the control module box so I have to recalibrate every so often. Also because I do move speakers around depending on where im sitting depending on if my girlfriend is woth me or not. So, depending on your space setup with other hardware and how patient you can be at learning how to positively work through the dropouts if they happen, this system sounds amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

Amazing

HT-A9 26 September 2022 by Studs929 (United Kingdom)

Been waiting 8 months well worth the wait sound is amazing works great with the sony bravia tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

147

0

Sony HT A9

HT-A9//M1 SP1 20 August 2022 by Hummer Guy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the Sony HT A9 abt a month ago with the SW5 sub. Sound is pretty good. Ease of setting up is 5 stars. BUT sometimes the drop off is irritating, intermittent connection.. thus cant give more than 3 stars.

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Near Perfect Experience

HT-A9//M1 SP1 14 August 2022 by Disappointed9889 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HT-A9 and 90K Tv were installed in June 2022. Immediately there is a loud hissing sound from the TV speakers whenever it is plugged into the A9 processor via a single cable and center channel is turned on (this is seriously a flawed design using a cable on a wireless system). After several months, the problem was solved via a board improvement on the TV and a new TV was delivered. HT-A9 should have been designed with a wireless center speaker.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Best Affordable Speakers without breaking the bank

HTA9 09 August 2022 by Enas007 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the speakers and subwoofer a bit over a month now. I'm extremely satisfied with my purchase. The SW5 subwoofer is a must have with this speakers. I wish for an option to add one more subwoofer to the system

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great immersive sound

HTA9 03 August 2022 by Modernliving (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting for this product for close to a year. I finally got it and absolutely love it! I have a dedicated tv room (den) and the HT-A9 with SASW5 subwoofer sounds banging. I've been re-watching GOT on HBO Max which is now in Dolby Atmos...fantastic! Book of Boba Fett, A Quiet Place II...all sound amazing, totally immersive - the phantom speakers are pretty impressive. The Apple Music catalog of Dolby Atmos keeps growing and I find myself only wanting to listen to Dolby Atmos recordings now. My room is only 14x14' with 9' ceilings so that may make a difference. I do think a firmware update to control speakers will benefit most people though. I bought a pair of Mounting Dream speaker stands on Amazon for $80 and they are perfect for these speakers (you'll need a couple of M5 30mm screws). I also had to purchase longer power cords for these two rear speakers on stands (12') because the included speaker power cords are less than 4'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great alternative for A7000 Soundbar...

HT-A9//M1 SP1 22 July 2022 by Sonytle (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hope Sony comes up with a Additional Centre channel Speaker, just like the additional the additional subwoofer. That will make it the best buy for Sony.

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Feast for the ears!

HT-A9//M1 SP1 18 July 2022 by nccng2001 (Singapore)

When optimised in its calibration, the audio, I would say, is better than the audio generated in cinema. Don't believe me? Try it. It is a beast that is a feast for your ears! Without the wireless subwoofer, its bass is okay. However, if coupled with the expensive subwoofer, it roars! No, it thunders! No, it surrounds you! The 2 main reasons why I am getting this set of speakers is, firstly, the audio super quality with great volume and, secondly, simplicity in wiring. The audio loudness is the one that gives you the power of audio that makes it so much better than the cinema. The wireless concept for the speaker is actually a good thing but it is still not well done yet, which I will elaborate on the next paragraph. Imagine if I have to run the audio cable across the living room, my wife will kill me for that. But you will need a power socket for each of the 4 speakers. I guess that is much an easier problem to solve than routing the audio wires to the TV. The only problem I face is the need to recalibrate very often as audio keeps dropping. It is super irritating. This is BIGGEST issue I have. I believe if the system can calibrate intelligently each time it is being switched on, that will solve the issue. But once done, I need not say anymore how good it can be.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best surround I have ever had!

HTA9 09 July 2022 by Rusty53 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The hta9 surround sound system is truly the best. I have others in the past that were a pain the neck to set up, with wires running across the living room. This wireless systems sets itself up at the push of a button. I have had this system for about a month now and am still amazed at the sound. The sound quality is amazing. The separation is amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Does a good job

HTA9 02 July 2022 by Bobisi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was very easy to connect. The sound is excellent with no lag when someone is speaking. I added the optional sub woofer which upped the quality of the bass by a lot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing Sound!

HTA9 22 June 2022 by RW77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Waited patiently for them to be in stock soooo, glad I did can't wait to listen every day to my new sound system, Love it!

1

2

0

Great product, but tinny sound

HTA9 20 June 2022 by TaxBear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this, with the optional 300W subwoofer and was very impressed with the sound coverage. Odd-shaped room and was able to hear sounds from where you would expect to hear the sounds. The only downside for me was the tinniness of the sound, even with the subwoofer, which I thought would help (which it did, but not enough for me to keep the system). I returned it after one week of listening, as my old system still sounded better to me, but without the coverage of the HT-A9.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Unparalleled

HTA9 09 June 2022 by LightningSShhaaddooww (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing. Extremely happy with purchase. No drop outs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Works great when there is no sound cuts

HT-A9//M1 SP1 02 June 2022 by Dumbledore6 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speakers sound great when watching movies and does mostly as advertised. However, there seems to be frequent sound cuts everyday. Doing the RF optimization multiple time does not help much as the issue just crops up again after some time. Moving my wireless router further from the control box did not help much as well. Also, the rear speakers aren’t as loud as the front speakers even at max rear volume. These issues should be fixed because it’s starting to get annoying and this product should not be working this way for the price. As every home is now filled with wireless devices, I expected this product to be able to accommodate the interferences and work properly regardless, but guess not..

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Not working well with my A80J TV

HT-A9//M1 SP1 29 May 2022 by Vunjick1 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Most of the time my TV cannot detect the HTA9 or not sound at all. Have to restart my TV to get it work again everything. Also HTA9 sound cut off from time to time. Poor execution else is a very nice sound system. Surprise that not working well with Sony A80J TV.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2

0

Look mom no center channel, lol .

HTA9 18 May 2022 by ltmoe1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely happy with the HT-A9. The sound stage is wonderful; and before you ask, yes you need to purchase the sub, there's no way around it. If you can get the HT-A9 home you will enjoy it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2