215

4.0 based on 215 customer reviews

110
47
26
8
24
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Horrible Long-Term Buy - Buyer Beware!

HT-Z9F 24 November 2020 by ThePrEPDoctor (USA)

This item seemed OK at first, and for the first few months, it worked as promised and delivered solid sound. I purchased this item with a SONY Bravia TV thinking that they would work well with each other. Then, after a few months, the sound started going out for a few seconds. No matter what I tried (unplugging, updating software, factory resetting both TV and soundbar, replacing the cables), nothing worked. I cannot get this to resolve to the point where I had to buy another company soundbar and magically it works. Buyer beware!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

218 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound, sound cutting out issues galore....

HT-Z9F 13 January 2021 by TyrionL (USA)

No much to add to other reviewers mentioning this unacceptable issue, the sound bar sound will cut out randomly, sometimes very frequently others every 5-20 minutes, it seems to me that it gets worse with Dolby Atmos content? Not sure, but whatever the cause it's unacceptable that Sony pretends to charge a high price for a flawed product. By the way I bought it, like many others, thinking that it would work better with my Sony TV (9000H) and what a fool I feel now.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great value for the oney

HTZ9F 11 January 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this few weeks ago and already enjoying the theatre like sound....watching movies with surround sound amplified/multipied many times than simply listening the sound of TV...worth every penny and does not have to spend thousands to get that experience...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does not sync properly with my Bravia TV

HT-Z9F 09 January 2021 by Pete01460 (USA)

I have been a loyal Sony customer for years. Although this sounbar is listed as compatible with by Bravia XBR65850F, it will not sync properly. Sony telephone support had me reconnect and said they would call back; the connection was not maintained and the tech never called back. Email support was worthless, and the telephone support is not available on the weekends - which, for someone working Monday - Friday is not a viable option. If this was my first experience with a Sony product it would also be my last.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Nil

HT-Z9F//M SP1 07 January 2021 by Anthony888 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Dialogue is too soft when watching movie. How to improve this ? Bluetooth sound also not good as what I expected.

Design

Average

0

0

0

Great Product

HT-Z9F//M SP1 05 January 2021 by Bd7469 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great upgrade from the built in TV speakers. A whole new experience and getting the surround speakers will complete the whole experience. Can’t compare with a full fledge Dolby Atmos system but the Vertical S does the job somehow. Love the simplistic & manageable design and form factor - does not occupy too much space on my console. Love it and no regrets.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WASTE OF MONEY!! SUBWOOFER CUTS OUT!

HT-Z9F 03 January 2021 by EAchicago (USA)

Three months after I bough the HTZ9F sound bar the subwoofer cuts in and out. According to reviews I have read, I am not the only person who has issues with the subwoofer. I have try everything I have come across online to try to fix this issue but nothing works. It is terrible that this unit was SO EXPENSIVE and it broke on me right away. I expected better reliability from a brand such as Sony. Even more when they are selling a sound bar for $700 that broke right away.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Leaps and bounds better than the competition

HT-ZF9 02 January 2021 by Coatsy79 (United Kingdom)

Tried this in a local store and it was noticeably better than anything else at the same price, sound is rich and balanced with good punchy bass and the virtual surround is very convincing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Jagged speech

HT-ZF9 02 January 2021 by Stevew7 (United Kingdom)

I bought this (Sony's top end) sound bar to go with Sony's 55XH9505 Hi end TV. It is connected via the ARC HDMI sockets on both devices and TV speaker are set to OFF (Audio system speakers enabled) The sound bar can certainly pump out a lot of volume with depth, but speech from regular TV channels, in particular like the News or Game shows, is very rough, jagged and prickly. Using the Voice option makes it worse. In TV costume dramas the speech is marginally better, but this impediment detracts heavily from getting engrossed in a program. If there were a EQ available, perhaps some of the speech high frequencies could be reduced, but that may have a detrimental effect on other sounds All of the many sound modes, effects and compatibilities, on this device, fade into irrelevance when trying to just improve the speech. This isn't a cheap sound bar, and it's very disappointing

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Problem with sound. The sound was paused 1-2 secon

HTZ9F 02 January 2021 by Narin94 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound was cut off 1 second every 5 minutes. Try to fix but it does not work

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Too much money, Too many problems.

HT-Z9F 28 December 2020 by vbm85 (USA)

I purchased this soundbar and rear speakers and when it works it is amazing! The Atmos leaves something to be desired but the sound is in general is just fantastic. Powerful sub, voices are clear and, setup was extremely simple. However, for whatever reason when I cast media to my A9G everything will be fine and then the sound just disappears. Reboots of the TV and soundbar don't fix the issue. Fiddling with the eARC, PCM, everything just don't fix the problem. I thought perhaps it was the app (Disney+) because when I played a different movie sound was heard. When I switched apps and even going to the cable box there was sound output. We watched WW84 and every 20 mins or so the sound would cut out for about 2-3 seconds. This soundbar costs too much dang money to be having these problems. I will be returning this unit very soon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Reboots itself every 30-60 minutes

HT-Z9F 28 December 2020 by Dan_photog (USA)

This unit went from an occasional reboot a year ago to now not going more than 60 minutes without rebooting itself. Followed Sony recommended procedures plus some internet ones and getting worse. Sony told me to contact their authorized repair facility for a repair for what looks like an engineering problem that many are seeing. Very disappointed in Sony!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Favorite Brand

HTZ9F 27 December 2020 by sonyjade (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this brand when it comes to electronics (tv, camera, amplifier... ) love the sound quality. hope i get the surround speakers today. can't wait for the tv tomorrow....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 17 December 2020 by SG son (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at the same as a Sony TV and the total package is excellent quality and we are very pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good product

HT-Z9F//M SP1 13 December 2020 by BobbySG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product suits my need in listening to good music and having good sound while watching a movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love the sound

HTZ9F 09 December 2020 by pastort (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this on Cyber Monday, I had a demo a couple of weeks earlier and I am very pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound, poor connection

HT-Z9F 29 November 2020 by kidfastball (USA)

I've had this system for about two months. The sound quality is great. There is an issue where the subwoofer cuts in and out. It is not consistent and I can't pin down a reason. Maybe interference, but I've moved the subwoofer around and it hasn't helped.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Horrible Long-Term Buy - Buyer Beware!

HT-Z9F 24 November 2020 by ThePrEPDoctor (USA)

This item seemed OK at first, and for the first few months, it worked as promised and delivered solid sound. I purchased this item with a SONY Bravia TV thinking that they would work well with each other. Then, after a few months, the sound started going out for a few seconds. No matter what I tried (unplugging, updating software, factory resetting both TV and soundbar, replacing the cables), nothing worked. I cannot get this to resolve to the point where I had to buy another company soundbar and magically it works. Buyer beware!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Wow!

HTZ9F 22 November 2020 by Kyzer LSFG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This soundbar is awesome! Awesime surround sound, great voice clarity and the subwoofer rumbles like thunder. Great experience all around....literally.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound!

HT-Z9F//M SP1 21 November 2020 by Sanfong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I enjoyed the sound experience of this sound bar. It improves my movies sound quality although I can't detect any vertical sound effect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound when it works!

HT-ZF9 17 November 2020 by BTK187 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second one of these I have bought, the first being two years ago, it is already displaying the same problem of sound to the rear surround speakers cutting out, as the first one which is really annoying as this is a quality unit and sounds superb when it works properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Sub and rear speakers disconnect constantly!

HT-Z9F 17 November 2020 by Jon Lombardi (USA)

The software is defective as Sony will not fix it. The sub and rear speakers cut out and disconnect CONSTANTLY! As in 5-10 times every 10 seconds. If you do a factory reset they'll work fine for a few hours then stop again. This tells me that a firmware update could fix the issue. Sony knows but doesn't care. Would rather just discontinue the model and push out a new one.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

1

0

sony’s reputation

HTZ9F 11 November 2020 by oscara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s really good, but a adding back speakers make it sound so much better!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Pretty good

HTZ9F 04 November 2020 by mw12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good value for the price, Make sure you have it professionally installed

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Excellent sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 02 November 2020 by Cho515 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this soundbar 3 weeks ago. I am pleased with the sound quality for music and movies

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound

HT-Z9F 31 October 2020 by Roy1979 (USA)

We just got this sound bar along with a Sony 65" A8H OLED a little over a week ago. The sound is amazing whether we're listing to music, movie or TV. The bass is room shacking. By far the best sound bar w/sub we're ever had. Super easy set up with the TV. If you follow the prompts, it's foolproof. Only issue we've had is with Hulu Live. From time to time the sound cuts out and won't come back until we go to settings, speakers and cycle between TV speakers and back to Audio System, then the sound comes back. Not sure if that's a sound bar issue, TV issue or Hulu live issue. Other than that, this sound bar is well worth money. Amazing sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

HTZ9F Soundbar

HT-Z9F 25 October 2020 by James Venice FL (USA)

I've had multiple sound bars with Sony. This is the latest one we bought just about a year ago. Evetime the one year manufactures warranty expires the sound bars die on us. Spending 900 dollars on a sound bar, I expect to last for several years. This is not the case with the sound bars we have purchased. I would not recommend this sound bar to any. Save you money and spend the extra on a hard wired system.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

0

SWEET SOUNDS

HTZ9F 12 October 2020 by ONLYSONY4MEPLEASE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT SOUNDS SET UP IS EASY CONNECTS TO MY X900H PERFECTLY

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Garbage

HT-Z9F 12 October 2020 by BenG1234fg (USA)

I bought this at Best Buy to go along with my new Sony tv. The sound is not warm at all, sounds like tin and the subwoofer is the worst. I have it as high as it will go and you barely hear any base. I had a friend over who asked if it was even working. As well,, I have the 2 rear speakers. You cannot make any adjustments to the tone at all. For as much money as this costs I would expect a lot better. Don't waste your money, buy something nicer. Btw- sounds great in the store which is how they got me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

1

0

Great Features

HT-ZF9 09 October 2020 by islawight51 (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with the quality of the Soundbar, the sound is amazing. I can hear very clearly the speech on movies now, using the cinema setting, which in the past have been drowned by background music. T.v. is good in standard, the depth of sound is superb in all features. would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

11

0

Terrible sound.

HT-Z9F 05 October 2020 by Saxmangreg (USA)

I bought this six weeks ago with a 65" Sony Bravia TV and it's awful. The music floods out the voice, I've tried adjusting every aspect of this system, followed all the directions and it's just terrible. Don't waste your money. The picture on the TV is excellent but the sound is just awful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

2

0

Amazing Sound and Great Google Integration

HT-Z9F 05 October 2020 by SonyJohn17 (USA)

I am loving recent Sony products with Android TV and casting built into the Sound Bars. All my devices integrate easily with my Google Assistant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound bar with rear speakers

HTZ9F 03 October 2020 by CGMANOF6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I am in the movie theater in my living room!! Love this system........Sony never disappoints.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Neat and affordable sound bar

HT-Z9F//M SP1 01 October 2020 by ML72 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently and found it works very well with my new Sony Bravia TV. Easy to set up and provides clear dialogue and good sound effects on movies. Bass module provides deep bass. The vertical effect /pseudo Dolby Atmos could be more realistic but works ok for the price. The rear surrounds that need to be purchases separately well match the set and is a must buy for the full surround effects to be realised.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible, do not buy this product!!!

HTZ9F 30 September 2020 by malcala63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit new along with a Bravia XBR-65X950H so as to ensure no compatibility issues. Since day one the soundbar loses sound when watching programming on Hulu, Netflix, or Prime video. Sound will lost two or three times during a movie. You have to go to TV setting and select TV speakers and then go back to those settings and select external speakers to get sound to return to the soundbar. Very frustrating having soundbar with no sound! Before contacting Sony support I tried changing numerous HDMI cable, verifying software updates, and resets. Performed these again with Sony Support. Now I find out that I need to send this unit in for repair. Looking on the forums, it appears that I am not alone with this issue. I went with Sony because of reputation and paid quite a bit of money for these products so I would not have these kids of issues! I will definitely rethink my next purchase.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 30 September 2020 by Bill26 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Accompanies Sony tv. Surround sound good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Sounds great

HT-ZF9 29 September 2020 by KB10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall it sounds and looks great although I seem to have a slight sync problem with my Sky Q programmes which I cannot rectify. The remote speakers keep dropping out at start up and I can’t get any sound when starting my tv until I reboot the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

7

0

Sounds Great

HT-Z9F 22 September 2020 by Delaina (USA)

I've had this soundbar along with the wireless speakers that work with this soundbar and I absolutely love this system. The fact that it has vertical sound included, which does not require speakers in the ceiling, and bounces all over the room, makes this a great system for movies,music and other things. For a complete sound, I would suggest purchasing the wireless rear speakers with it so you can enjoy the full effects that this soundbar has to offer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HT-Z9F 21 September 2020 by Jose626 (USA)

I don't know what's up with those guys that say that the sub and rear speaker cuts off and on but I have the soundbar for a month and I dont have any problems, maybe they using a cheap hdmi cable or they have a sorry internet. No matter what 4k or blueray I play it works perfectly. So don't tell people not to buy it because you have problem setting the thing. I will recommend this soundbar to anybody is a winner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Atmos Soundar and rear surround speakers

HT-ZF9 17 September 2020 by Khy786 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ve had this 2 weeks now, bought the rear surround speakers which I say definitely helps with the surround sound. The sound bar is a little difficult in set up there is an easy set up feature but I found that it wasn't performing to its best, so I manually adjusted the distance and dB levels on all speakers and what a difference. Really impressed with the sound. Would of liked a bit of extra bass output like an extra bass button but its sufficient. The rear speakers are priced pretty high but I got £100 off buying the soundbar and surround speakers together. Overall great sound and quality and also goes well with my 65 inch TV but a little pricey but thats Sony products for you. You know that you've bought quality which will last years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

8

0

Sounds great

HTZ9F 03 September 2020 by BrdyMama (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound bar has really improved the audio quality of our Sony Bravia tv. Even news programs sound so much better. Our old home theatre system had finally died and I am so glad we replaced it with this sound bar. We may even get the back speakers for it later.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound........

HT-ZF9 02 September 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this few weeks back and pleasantly surprised...........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great sound but problem linking to LG OLED TV

HT-ZF9 28 August 2020 by PhilA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older soundbar hoping to get better sound and full surround by adding rear bluetooth speakers. After linking it via the HDMI ARC socket on my LG OLED55CMLB TV the sound was excellent and the surround sound reasonable.Unfortunately when I switched the TV on, which automatically switches the soundbar on the sound started then muted then restarted again. After a few weeks the sound started as uual then stopped but did not restart. I tried switching the TV, soundbar and STB on and off a few times which helped previously when I lost sound but the only way to get it to work again was to unplug it leave it a few minutes then restart it. It is a real shame that this issue has arisen on such a prestigious brand. I am very disappointed. This is the second SONY electronics item with which I have had problems so I won't be buying anything electronic from them in the future

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

3

0

Good when it works.

HT-Z9F 27 August 2020 by Zacht26 (USA)

I bought this several month ago to pair with my Sony 75” X950G because that is what I was recommended. We get it home and set it up super easy and no problems. Then a few days go buy and it will not pair to the TV and there is no sound being put out. It would switch to Tv and audio system and the would say that audio system is unavailable. We called Magnolia and they said to bring it back since it was only a week so we are now on our second system. We have still had trouble with the sound being put out to the system. It has trouble connecting off of any thing we use to watch Tv. I will have to turn the system off. Then unplug the hdmi from the sound bar then turn the tv back on and plug it back in then change it in the setting to the audio system and it only works sometimes. So I have no clue what to do but for the price it should not be messing up!!!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

0

The Best

HT-Z9F 24 August 2020 by ZaboGuy (USA)

my favorite soundbar, because of the possible rear speakers. The 3.1 is amazing and the control over the center channel is refreshing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

not good

HTZ9F 07 August 2020 by ray810 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

unit will work sometime and other time it changes mode by it self.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Love the sound!

HT-Z9F 01 August 2020 by Thanos123 (USA)

Bought it last year and still sounds like new wohoo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good But some Issues

HT-Z9F 31 July 2020 by timstack709 (USA)

I purchased this SB 2 weeks ago from Best Buy. When I first Power on TV (Sony A9G) and Sound bar the Input settings from SB comes on with "TV" not HDMI 1 with my Tivo. I have HDMI cable from sound bar (ARC) to TV (ARC) and the other HDMI input into back of HDMI 1 port with back of TV. Also have a PS3 connected to back of HDMI 2 port of Sound bar. On the TV Inputs I see 3 HDMI inputs connected (ARC, Player 1 & Player ) I tried setting the TV input to say "Player 1" but the next day it goes back to HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC) Is this correct? Should the HDMI Input always be using HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC)? Also Firmware of both TV and SB are up to date.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Sound..Easy to Use

HT-Z9F//M SP1 31 July 2020 by vincenthah (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 weeks ago...And never regret since then...Great sound with good punch of bass..

2

0

0

Great Soundbar

HTZ9F 29 July 2020 by Cham123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As with all Sony products, the Soundbar is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Clear sound

HTZ9F 29 July 2020 by Southern Gal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the sub-woofer to accompany our new Sony Brivia TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great system

HT-ZF9 23 July 2020 by ceebee49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an oldish quite expensive surround system and was a little apprehensive that it wouldn’t sound as good. After setting it up I am very impressed by the ease of set up and quality of sound. I’ve yet to try it on a decent movie but am confident it will be impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 22 July 2020 by Nurse23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoying the sound quality and smart looks. Great connectivity to various sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great features especially the Dolby Atmos!

HT-Z9F//M SP1 22 July 2020 by SGComboKing (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this less than a month ago, very satisfied with the sound quality and effects be it's used for gaming or movies. Simple to use and easy to navigate.

0

0

0

No satisfying bass & wide dynamic range

HT-Z9F//M SP1 16 July 2020 by chew711 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

No mid vocal clarity on dialogue Bit disappointing Yamaha soundbar is better

0

0

0

Sound disappears-TV restart needed-Great sound

HTZ9F 14 July 2020 by Areview (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this sound bar along with XBR65950G and have both of them since 6 months now. The sound is amazing from the sound bar. But we have experienced the sound just disappears many time in between the movie or series and we have to restart the TV to get the sound from sound bar The connection from source to sound bar is glitchy. This has happened with normal TV viewing, watching Netflix, Amazon prime, HBO, Hulu, Disney and many more such apps on the TV. The sound of the sound bar is amazing. But this issue of sound going completely out and needing to restart the TV in the middle is very frustrating. Hope Sony does something about this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Best for Small Living Room Experience

HT-Z9F 10 July 2020 by Ravkar (USA)

Bought this as open box from best buy, hesitate to buy at first, now its one year old, I'm glad my purchase was good.This sounds great, when you turn on vertical surround, sounds way different. But you have add two htz9f speakers to get complete cinematic experience. Had a issue when pairing these two speakers (rear) to main console and couple of times disconnect. After software upgrade seems this issue was fixed. Make sure you followed the guidelines as shown in the TV, for first time setup. If you have a perfect distance btw your main and rear speakers, you will feel the difference. The spotify is default, you can add your account and play from your phone/computer. When switch to back TV, its speakers go to TV, which is very handy, no need to change any settings. Noticed, sound experience is differences in some apps, may be depends on apps that your are using. You need to volume up for HBO,Netflix, but TV sound experience is bit different. Overall decent buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Sound cuts out on the unit. known issue

HT-Z9F 09 July 2020 by nate11 (USA)

The soundbar cuts out. Customer service has been less than adequate.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Awesome!

HT-ZF9 06 July 2020 by TheCheese (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 2 weeks ago. I did alot of research before purchasing. At first I was going to be looking for a Bose as that's what I had before. That is before I heard the Sony! You really have to hear them ALL before you buy. The sound of the HT-ZF9 is amazing! It has great features and very easy to set-up. Go and have a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

8

0

bar stops putting out sound randomly

HT-Z9F 30 June 2020  (USA)

goes out often through the day changed cable, updates act. been happening shortly after purchase nov 2019 at. Best Buy. this has been a terrible experience. When I use the optical cable the same loss of sound occurs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Cuts off/Subwoofer goes out

HTZ9F 26 June 2020 by ljphas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought during Nov 2019 during Black Friday Deals. Sound is great when it is working. Sometimes at random moments the sound will cut off. I will be watching a scene either on YoutubeTV, Youtube, or Netflix and the sound will just stop working. To manually fix this everytime, I figured out that I have to go into settings, switch the sound on the Speaker setting from Audio System to TV Speakers, and then back to Audio System and then the sound will come back on. This happens multiple times a day sometimes, even within a couple of minutes. Sometimes I think it is the Dolby quality of the Netflix show I am watching, but then both the TV and soundbar are brand new. In addition to that, the subwoofer does not always kick in. I will watch TV, the sound is good, but then the subwoofer kicks in at a random time and I hear the difference. I don't know why that happens either. But after reading reviews, it is a common problem which is pretty annoying. For the price and brand, this should not happen.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Solid Until You add rear speakers!

HT-Z9F 26 June 2020 by 06Dame (USA)

Purchased a few months ago as an upgrade over an older Samsung 2.1 set-up. Big improvement overall. Didn't notice too many issues. Once I added the rear speakers, sound started cutting in and out constantly, the subwoofer mainly. To temporarily fix the issue, you have to toggle RF on or off in the Soundbar menu. Quite an annoyance for such an expensive set-up. Sounds amazing when it works.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Sounds Great, but it mutes on its own at times.

HT-Z9F 24 June 2020 by Sound Bar (USA)

I bought this over a month ago. The sound is really nice. The only issue I have is that the sound bar mutes on its own. I then have to un-mute it by using the remote of the sound bar. Anyone knows how to fix this issue, other than a factory reset?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Always Sony

HT-Z9F 09 June 2020 by JBHII (USA)

Have had this for 1 month and am very satisfied. Works perfectly with new TV. Excellent sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Good Soundbar in a Nice Size Package

HT-Z9F 01 June 2020 by Jbirdnyc (USA)

The HTZ9F is a nice sleek design perfect for on the wall or on the table next to your TV. The slightly smaller bar size at 40" (many bars are 42-50") and my cabinet is 41" was a perfect match. Along with two HDMI inputs where the main reasons I bought this model. Although it would have been perfect if there was a 3rd HDMI input. The sound quality is good although I wish it delivered a better mid-range. Sometime the voice is hard to hear. The base is more than I could every need. I have the Bar connect to my router via ethernet cord. Plugged into the Bars HMDI is my 4k Roku and Bluray. Then I connect the Bar to my TV. Which was manufactured before HMDI ARC. The remote is Over all it performs well and delivers good quality sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great sound.

HTZ9F 25 May 2020 by AlexS33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this item today, and the sound is phenomenal. Can't wait to purchase more sony speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great sounds bar love the additional sa-z9r

HT-ZF9 09 May 2020 by Craziejae (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in december 2019, Great soundbar love the wireless rear surround sounds speaker sa-z9r, has awesome sounds quality for watching bluray movies has great depth and the surround sounds speaker adds to the whole experience!!! I have although experience sound drop out, and then the device reboots? It has,since had a frmware update which may have cured it, not sure yet. Still love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

0

Great Sound in Small Package

HT-Z9F 05 May 2020 by bran88 (USA)

I've had this soundbar/subwoofer pair for almost a year now, and have had zero issues with it. The 4K passthrough for my Ultra-HD Blu-ray player has worked flawlessly and sound quality is amazing. When watching a 4K movie with a decent audio mix, it will blow you away (Bladerunner 2049 is best example). The customization of audio settings is really nice to fine-tune how you want the sound. I do not have the optional rear speakers, but sound immersion is no issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Superb sound for the TV

HT-ZF9 02 May 2020 by Charron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this a month now and am really pleased with it. It was easy to set up and integrates seamlessly with my XG90 TV. The sound is excellent for just a soundbar, the sub-woofer really makes a difference. Very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Excellent sound with wonderful bass

HT-ZF9 27 April 2020 by Brownie33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago with a Sony KD 55 AG9 TV. Both products are truly superb. The sound bar produces fantastic audio with superb clarity and awe inspiring bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

35