329

3.9 based on 329 customer reviews

148
91
40
14
36
Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Such a small thing, such a lot of pleasure!

8GB 19 January 2021 by Chopsuey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd one and it is used every day. The only thing is that sometimes it doesn't charge. Whether its the USB plug, or the cable fitting into the player or something else I don't know but this has happened on all three, usually at the end of the battery life, but its happening on the new one this time. Otherwise I have never had such a reliable, multifunctional entertainment device. I have lots of talking books which I can listen to whilst doing my knitting, crochet, sewing or gardening. This has been a lifesaver during the lockdown. Sue

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

USB walkman (NWZ-B183F)

8GB 22 September 2016 by Jefffoo77 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with the performance (sound clarity) but unfortunately, this is my 4th units. Over the last 3 yrs, 2 pcs malfunctioned after 12-14 months of usages. Can't charge, can't turn on etc. Quite disappointing coming from popular brand Sony. Pls relate my comments to ur QA/QC team. thanks.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

22

0

329 Customer Reviews

0

hard to use

8 GB 15 May 2022 by jean85 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I still have not found a set of ear buds that will stay connected

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Compact and efficient

4 GB 14 May 2022 by Penarthref (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace our pld I pod - found it to be just as good and easy to use with great sound quality

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not as good as previous model NWZ A 816

8GB 12 May 2022 by Aequitas (United Kingdom)

Regrettably I found this Walkman to be inferior in quality to my previous Walkman A 816 which was more solidly built, gave a better sound reproduction and also in the sound settings had two custom equalizer features. The earphones provided previously were ear buds and now have been replaced by cheap standard ear pieces. Can appreciate that time has moved on, but...........

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Storage capacity

8GB 27 March 2022 by ThWong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I enjoy this basic Sony Walkman .However the 8G storage is small, I would recommend to set 16G as minimum capacity for any product design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light & Compact

8GB 21 March 2022 by Ben1812 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very basic design. Hope to be able to do some customization: e.g. to start with frequently used folder instead of All Songs.

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS

8GB 26 February 2022 by fk tan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

a) Batteries last barely 3hours of playing time. b) Can't compile to playlist on the unit itself c) Can't compile to playlist on Mac as well d) Size of memory barely adequate for today's use.

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

The Best at This Level

8GB 19 February 2022 by Rod55 (United Kingdom)

I've tried many MP3 Players but always come back to the Walkman. Easy to use, long battery life before charge required and good sound. I now own two of them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Needs turn off switch, not button.

8 GB 04 February 2022 by Sea n (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good sound with equalizer options. Fine pixel picture but unneeded. Bought Oct 2019. As of Feb 2022 play button won't work. I can't turn off machine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Great sound

8GB 31 January 2022 by Jsmoy (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the sound and ease of transferring songs into it. Wish it connect via bluetooth to my Sony ANC headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality product

8GB 19 January 2022 by PGC1 (United Kingdom)

I was delighted to receive this as a Christmas present. It's a Sony so I expect years of excellent service. I like the "sound" it makes and appreciate the Bass Boost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Meets all my needs

8GB 05 January 2022 by Shugboro (United Kingdom)

(This is actually my wife's but these are her opinions) For what it was bought for, it's excellent, but I only use it for the radio

Sound Quality

Good

Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Player

8GB 04 December 2021 by Old Timer (United Kingdom)

This is my second one, I love the timer setting and the next day the player returns back to where it left off. Shame they don`t make a case for this model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Battery and buttons

8GB 13 November 2021 by Max Toh (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using this product for 3 weeks. Battery shows full charge, after unplugging from PC, battery indicator shows not full, have to charge again for full charge. Need to press buttons slightly harder to select.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Light and small

8GB 13 September 2021 by Shenny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 2 week ago to replace a phillips mp3 player that i had for years my grandson loaded 6 cds onto it so i have 200 songs to listen to once i masterd the controls and found the volume control on the side i am fine just come out of hospital so when i cannot sleep at night this mp3 player is a godsend

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Just the job!

8GB 01 September 2021 by oldskool (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just wanted a device to store music without superfluous extra features. Quality sound, ease of use and value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

aBSOLUTE DISASTER - THE BATTERY DOESN'T CHARGE UP

8GB 10 August 2021 by mtoffice (United Kingdom)

HAVE TRIED TO CHARGE UP THE BATTERY SEVERAL TIMES AS PER THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL BUT NO LUCK. COMPLETE WASTE OF MONEY

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

Low quality, poor battery life, cheap garbage

4 GB 09 August 2021 by Aenima (United Kingdom)

I couldn't be more disapponted with this cheap, low quality plastic garbage product. It did work for 2 months, then it could only be switched on by pressing the reset button, now it does not switch on at all unless I connect it via USB for charging. However, once charged and the battery shows full, the battery drains within 1 hour or dies the following night. I had lots of Sony products (reliable walkman and disc player) throughout my life but this mp3 player has nothing to do with the quality Sony once stood for. Really a massive dissapiontment. I really regret having spent 90 Euros for this trash.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Capability.

8GB 05 August 2021 by Calvin 2475 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Play's the stations I want when I want. My last portable radio was a Bush and this is smaller, as easy to use with good reception.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does what it says

8GB 03 August 2021 by Rocket123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had thought of buying a cheap one so glad I didn’t

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great features

8GB 25 July 2021 by ROY56 (United Kingdom)

this product is an excellent example from Sony full of tech

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great value

4 GB 24 July 2021 by Diligent simon (United Kingdom)

Bought item for running, easy to fit into pockets and a very light product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

8GB 05 July 2021 by SKITTS (United Kingdom)

TOTALLY THE BEST AND WORTH IT. LOVE THE DESIGN AND EASY FUNCTIONALITY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

extremly hard to use

8GB 23 June 2021 by ockie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it is impossible to play several albums one after another. if you make a playlist it just plays all the number one songs then the number 2 songs etc.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Communication

8GB 21 June 2021 by JVJR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First MP3 player I have bought. Needed to consult the online Help Guides to set it up. Sticker over screen needs to have a notice on it to peel it off before starting setup, as I thought it was the screen image and couldn't make the device work. Only found I needed to download a driver for it by looking in the Help Guide, as nothing in the paperwork. Operation and downloads reasonably easy once learned and sound good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bluetooth

8GB 20 June 2021 by John553 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like it can play music for long hours. Quick battery charging.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not up to my expectatoons

4 GB 12 May 2021 by Jkarak (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have returned this to Amazon and have now got the NW A45 which is much better. I am currently testing it.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

3

0

Usual Sony features

8GB 18 April 2021 by Saudisteve (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace my aging old Walkman, very disappointed with the quality and feel of the new one compared to my old one

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just what the doctor ordered

8GB 11 April 2021 by Nonesuchlikeever (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound quality. Used only for classical music and practise my singing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

high quality, easy to handle, looks perfect

4 GB 15 March 2021 by wolf329 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

what I miss: output too low for beeing used as external player connected to my radio no SD card slot to extend capacity

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bit disappointed

8GB 02 March 2021 by StormClouds (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a version of this Walkman years ago and it was brilliant, worked with Windows Media Player etc. I am disappointed with this version, doesn't seem as good quality and cannot get it to play my playlists off Windows Media Player. Sorry Sony.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

can not get it to work

8GB 26 February 2021 by cherbear (United Kingdom)

boughgt it and the ony thing that works is fm wouldn"t recomend to anyone

1

1

0

Sony Walkman

8GB 22 February 2021 by Beat master (United Kingdom)

I bought this product this month and very happy with it I listen to it while travelling to work

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Rubbish

8GB 11 February 2021 by biker89 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked for one day, now will not load any music. My iphone will not load pics, so it could be Microsoft Edge that was loaded onto my PC without permission. Will be sending it back to Argos.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Such a small thing, such a lot of pleasure!

8GB 19 January 2021 by Chopsuey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd one and it is used every day. The only thing is that sometimes it doesn't charge. Whether its the USB plug, or the cable fitting into the player or something else I don't know but this has happened on all three, usually at the end of the battery life, but its happening on the new one this time. Otherwise I have never had such a reliable, multifunctional entertainment device. I have lots of talking books which I can listen to whilst doing my knitting, crochet, sewing or gardening. This has been a lifesaver during the lockdown. Sue

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Easy to use

8GB 05 January 2021 by Lin56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as a present from Argos for a great price and with good delivery and collection options. It is easy to use and charge, download music and tune the radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

disappointed

8GB 26 December 2020 by khaledgomaa (United Kingdom)

very disappointed bought 2 for my kids Christmas present . but i cant connect them to pc tried all the methods they said to do but nothing is working. wast of money. also i tried to contact support very poor regarding the name of sony.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

3

0

Good Value

8GB 17 December 2020 by Benny Hill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

An excellent piece of equipment, had one before so know a bit about it's capabilities.All tuned in and working well. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0