167

3.7 based on 167 customer reviews

75
38
16
10
28
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13 January 2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

169 Customer Reviews

0

Worked ok at first but...

CFD-S70 13 October 2019 by Tmiller (USA)

I got this for Christmas and it worked ok, but a couple of days later, the cd drive stopped working. Overall, unreliable, and mediocrity is written all over it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Has Everything

CFD-S70 13 October 2019 by Edwardsville38 (USA)

I was looking for a CD, Cassette and radio and this product fit the bill at a great price. I am thinking about buying another one for the kitchen. Good quality,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything I could expect in a boombox

CFD-S70 05 September 2019 by Superrrrr (USA)

Very happy with the two that I have purchased. Easy to use, whether radio, cassette...( which is a bonus )...and, CD.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very compact

CFD-S70/BC SP5 27 August 2019 by LEETH8 (Singapore)

I brought this equipment two months ago. I have used it to listen to many of my old cassette tapes. Excellent sound quality for such small equipment. I am also able to connect it with wireless receiver and use it to pair up with my personal computer for great entertainment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good value

CFD-S70 10 August 2019 by Ruby1948 (United Kingdom)

Very happy with my boombox cant wait to play my tapes

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love that it plays CD's, cassettes & radio!

CFDS70BLK 09 August 2019 by Ted A (USA)

Bought it about a month ago & it was a good purchase!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Another Sony boom box

CFDS70BLK 06 August 2019 by Peekiron (USA)

Bought this Sony boom box makes that four I own.Good sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just OK

CFDS70BLK 25 July 2019 by Christopher L (USA)

Everything works. Just not as good as the model it replaces (Model CFD-S200) which quit working after about 10 years. The new model has smaller speakers and the sound quality is not as good.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Everything you could want all in one

CFD-S70 19 July 2019 by Ken14 (USA)

Includes AM - FM radio, cassette, CD, AUX-in, so you can use it to play just about anything. The radio gets excellent reception on both AM and FM, pulling in clear signals on stations that some other radios I have do not even get. Tape has correct speed so your music sounds right. (I bought a discount-brand tape player a few years ago and it was worthless because the tapes played too slow and sounded terrible. This one sounds perfect.) CD has features to repeat song, repeat whole disc, etc. Plus it plays regular CDs or MP3 CDs that you can make on your computer. (When you make an MP3 CD you keep the music as MP3 files rather than telling the computer to make an audio CD. The advantage is you can get about 150 songs on a CD this way,) You can also play audio off of your phone or tablet by using a 3.5 mm cord to the AUX input. Mega Bass makes music sound great (you can turn it on or off with a button, which you might want to turn it off if listening to news/voice or playing it at lower volume). Not too many units like this are available anymore where you get all of these features in one - especially the cassette tape. I’m glad I found this because it works great and has excellent sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Overall Good

CFD-S70 27 June 2019 by Dave from Ft Lauderdale (USA)

Cannot find how to make a song repeat on the CD player (very important to me). The Tape works, but you cannot tell where you are on the tape, so searching for a particular song or item is difficult. Otherwise, it is OK. The sound is good enough.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor amplification

CFDS70BLK 25 June 2019 by Dannyo (USA)

I bought this two days ago & the volume maxes out at low amplification

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Mr.

CFD-S70 15 June 2019 by Pat the cat (USA)

I bought this months ago, and am only now attempting to play a cassette. The manual does not tell you how to make it play. The SONY website offers a manual that tell you everything BUY that about the unit. It is extremely frustrating to say the least.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Value for money?

CFD-S70 15 June 2019 by Eddie 1 (United Kingdom)

I bought the product in June 2019. marvellously it plays my old cassettes, but I would have expected auto-reverse. The CD player is good enough, but this could have an instant replay button. Also it will not tune into my local radio station, which I find annoying. That said it is a very nice little unit and the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great playing boom box

CFDS70BLK 13 June 2019 by Jeoy (USA)

Love the sleep timer I listen with headphones at night and my wife is not bothered by my late night listening it shuts off by itself so it doesnt play all night

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not brilliant

CFD-S70 13 June 2019 by Nexxy69 (United Kingdom)

The DC player is now inoperative after two months. Not good enough

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Brilliant piece of audio equipment

CFD-S70 13 June 2019 by un1corn (United Kingdom)

My first unit failed at 11 months, CD would not play. I was so pleased with it that I requested same replacement which arrived in 10 days from seller

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love it!

CFD-S70 13 June 2019 by Richie2 (United Kingdom)

This was given to me as a present and I was delighted. Good size, excellent sound and added feature of a cassette player so I can now play my old cassettes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great sound for such a small item

CFDS70BLK 11 June 2019 by Verne31 (USA)

Very pleased with this product. Small, compact unit that produces great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, good value, looks classy for portable

CFD-S70 30 May 2019  (United Kingdom)

Needed Replacement cd player and I bought the best quality for price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent Product

CFDS70BLK 26 May 2019 by Regiboe98 (USA)

I share music with friends. Before I send the CDs I use my new Sony product to play the CD and the quality of sound is outstanding!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Purchase!

CFDS70BLK 17 May 2019 by DJCFB (USA)

We purchased our Sony CD/Cassette Boombox with Radio and are extremely satisfied with our purchase. The volume range and sound quality are outstanding in all modes (radio, CD player, cassette player); the product is also very light-weight and all the functions quickly masterable/implementable. The function keys are also very well placed on the system. Our purchase meets the expectation we have for well manufactured, high-quality Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up!

CFD-S70 16 May 2019 by TeabagEve (United Kingdom)

Bought this to follow Chris Evans on Virgin, but also wanted a CD player so this was ideal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value

CFD-S70 07 May 2019 by egeg (United Kingdom)

I have a large collection of CDs and I had to replace my old CD player due to accidentially dropping it. The ease of use and sound quality of my purchase is good and I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0