160

3.7 based on 160 customer reviews

72
35
15
10
28
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom)

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

CD Player Broke in One Year

CFD-S70 13 January 2019 by rayray222 (USA)

I bought this CD Cassette player from Fry's Electronics in Anaheim CA. Within one year, the CD player broke and reads "NO DISC" now. I bought this because of Sony's reputation in boomboxes in the 80s. Now this is broken. I am very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

160 Customer Reviews

0

Overall Good

CFD-S70 27 June 2019 by Dave from Ft Lauderdale (USA)

Cannot find how to make a song repeat on the CD player (very important to me). The Tape works, but you cannot tell where you are on the tape, so searching for a particular song or item is difficult. Otherwise, it is OK. The sound is good enough.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Poor amplification

CFDS70BLK 25 June 2019 by Dannyo (USA)

I bought this two days ago & the volume maxes out at low amplification

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Mr.

CFD-S70 15 June 2019 by Pat the cat (USA)

I bought this months ago, and am only now attempting to play a cassette. The manual does not tell you how to make it play. The SONY website offers a manual that tell you everything BUY that about the unit. It is extremely frustrating to say the least.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Value for money?

CFD-S70 15 June 2019 by Eddie 1 (United Kingdom)

I bought the product in June 2019. marvellously it plays my old cassettes, but I would have expected auto-reverse. The CD player is good enough, but this could have an instant replay button. Also it will not tune into my local radio station, which I find annoying. That said it is a very nice little unit and the sound quality is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great playing boom box

CFDS70BLK 13 June 2019 by Jeoy (USA)

Love the sleep timer I listen with headphones at night and my wife is not bothered by my late night listening it shuts off by itself so it doesnt play all night

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not brilliant

CFD-S70 13 June 2019 by Nexxy69 (United Kingdom)

The DC player is now inoperative after two months. Not good enough

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Brilliant piece of audio equipment

CFD-S70 13 June 2019 by un1corn (United Kingdom)

My first unit failed at 11 months, CD would not play. I was so pleased with it that I requested same replacement which arrived in 10 days from seller

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it!

CFD-S70 13 June 2019 by Richie2 (United Kingdom)

This was given to me as a present and I was delighted. Good size, excellent sound and added feature of a cassette player so I can now play my old cassettes.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great sound for such a small item

CFDS70BLK 11 June 2019 by Verne31 (USA)

Very pleased with this product. Small, compact unit that produces great sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, good value, looks classy for portable

CFD-S70 30 May 2019  (United Kingdom)

Needed Replacement cd player and I bought the best quality for price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent Product

CFDS70BLK 26 May 2019 by Regiboe98 (USA)

I share music with friends. Before I send the CDs I use my new Sony product to play the CD and the quality of sound is outstanding!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Purchase!

CFDS70BLK 17 May 2019 by DJCFB (USA)

We purchased our Sony CD/Cassette Boombox with Radio and are extremely satisfied with our purchase. The volume range and sound quality are outstanding in all modes (radio, CD player, cassette player); the product is also very light-weight and all the functions quickly masterable/implementable. The function keys are also very well placed on the system. Our purchase meets the expectation we have for well manufactured, high-quality Sony products.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to set up!

CFD-S70 16 May 2019 by TeabagEve (United Kingdom)

Bought this to follow Chris Evans on Virgin, but also wanted a CD player so this was ideal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value

CFD-S70 07 May 2019 by egeg (United Kingdom)

I have a large collection of CDs and I had to replace my old CD player due to accidentially dropping it. The ease of use and sound quality of my purchase is good and I am very pleased with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does the job

CFD-S70 29 April 2019 by rhythmking (United Kingdom)

Not as powerful or as bassy as my previous player but more compact and lighter. Difficult to read the engraved symbols on the buttons. Black on black - not good for legibility, especially in subdued lighting. Radio stations not easy to find and store. Vicious closure of CD lid. Overall, OK but not brilliant.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Boomboxes Extravaganza!

CFDS70BLK 26 April 2019 by BBRose19 (USA)

We love our Sony Boomboxes and the sound from it so Awesomely Amazing! Thank you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great

CFDS70BLK 21 April 2019 by record555 (USA)

I love the product and the portable cd player is awesome havent used the casset tape player yet

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Love it!! Just perfect for my room

CFDS70BLK 13 April 2019 by Dontownone (USA)

This was a gift to me and it absolutely serves my purpose. Tapes and CD.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

CFD-S70 06 April 2019 by Azmat (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and so happy that I did, it’s easy to use and very simple

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

CD failed after playing 6 Cd's.

CFD-S70 03 April 2019 by GlockDok911 (USA)

Huge dissapointment for a Sony product; this is the 2nd unit to fail. Sony is exchanging it for another, here we go again!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Do not know what you mean by title.

CFDS70BLK 21 March 2019 by Pickoneyourself (USA)

I usally like Sony products but the sound that this unit produces leave a lot to be desired. I have managed to muffle the unit and the soud is better.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good article

CFD-S70 06 March 2019 by aigi (United Kingdom)

Good article for reasonable price. Simply boombox.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Size

CFDS70BLK 04 March 2019 by Bob 57 (USA)

Bought a couple months ago and just stopped working.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

not a good option

CFD-S70 24 February 2019 by Jo824 (USA)

This thing died within 2 years. Very disappointed and would not buy again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0