80

4.8 based on 80 customer reviews

67
11
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

80 Customer Reviews

0

Good lens

SEL70200G 13 August 2019 by Mitchroth (USA)

I really wanted the 2.8 version but it was $1000 more! Wish I got that one though cause I want to use a 2x tele converter. can not be used on this lens .This lens is very nice and good pics!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Tele lens

SEL70200G 02 August 2019 by borolr (United Kingdom)

I have this lens from a year ago and I am very happy with the results. It produces a very sharp images from corner to corner using the right settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very sharp

SEL70200G 02 July 2019 by Darylg (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a Tamron SP 70-300 A mount with LA-EA3 adapter.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome 70-200 lens

SEL70200G AE 21 March 2019 by Bonxphotography (Singapore)

Exceeds my expectations on this lens, worth the purchase.. satisfied with its sharpness particularly for me more into landscape photography..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sharp and light in weight

SEL70200G 10 March 2019 by None discript (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and I am glad I was talked out of buying the F2.8 version as it is nearly half of the weight but even at F4 minimum I found this lens to be very sharp and with excellent shallow depth of field. Its lightweight means that I can carry and use a telephoto most of the day without getting tired compared to a very much heavier and more expensive F2.8 70-200 lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

An all round favourite zoom lens for landscape pho

SEL70200G 03 March 2019 by Tripod (United Kingdom)

I've been using this product for eight months in all weathers and have found it to an excellent piece of kit.It's very well balanced making it easy to hand hold and the compact design means it takes up little space in the camera bag.The optics are outstanding and the total weight is comparatively low. Ideal for travel and hiking.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Early results a bit soft

SEL70200G 02 March 2019 by PhotoH (USA)

Ore testing is required. I bought this to have a more portable option to the f2.8 but I think it may not be as sharp, but certainly is more affordable.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - FE 70-200mm F4 G OSS

SEL70200G 17 February 2019 by Gracai (United Kingdom)

I have had the lens for about 5 months now and I am very pleased with the resulting images that the lens produces, couple with the Sony A7R mkiii it's a wining combination. I used to have a Canon 70 - 200mm F2.8 but I really don't miss it and this lighter lens is a joy to carry around. I am a wedding photographer but this lens is perfect for portraits, landscapes and brilliant for sports.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nice quailty lens

SEL70200G 14 January 2019 by jad70 (USA)

This is a perfect mid range zoom lens. It is well constructed and extremely sharp at f11. I only wish that Sony would make a 2x lens extender for the F4 model.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

beautiful built lens.

SEL70200G 19 December 2018 by Mikeybikey (United Kingdom)

only had the lens for a month but what I see is sharp corners even a f4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lens

SEL70200G 18 November 2018  (USA)

I bought this lens in the spring before my 2 week vacation. It worked very well. I am sure there are better lens out there but for the money its a great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 16 November 2018 by fredbollox (United Kingdom)

Bought this summer and really enjoying the balance on my A7R body. Seems to be sharp pretty much across the range with fast accurate autofocus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ease of use

SEL70200G 30 October 2018 by W8STY (United Kingdom)

Used it when I was lucky enough to go on cruise to Greenland _ very pleased with photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great optical quality, fast focusing.

SEL70200G AE 13 October 2018 by AbrasiveWaif (Singapore)

My first telephoto zoom in a camera system. A very versatile focal length to do landscape and portrait. Comes with lots of switches to adjust the focusing distance limit and different stabilization mode. Loved the buttons on the lens that can be mapped to different functions is a neat feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredibly sharp and versatile

SEL70200G 25 September 2018 by JaWalUk (United Kingdom)

Sharp, versatile, great functions and size. Came from a 2.8 version and much happier with this as it's light enough to keep in my bag at all times. Brilliant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Quality Lens

SEL70200G 04 September 2018 by Javamidge (United Kingdom)

I’ve had this lens for about a month and have taken approx 1000 shots with it. The results are stunning. Extremely sharp and quick to lock focus. I am very happy with the performance of this lens and would definitely recommend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

AMAZING

SEL70200G 01 September 2018 by TOPCOACH (United Kingdom)

TRULY AMAZING GLAD I MOVED TO SONY FROM CANON, WELL BETTER PRODUCT IN 4K ALSO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent if you get a good example!

SEL70200G 11 August 2018 by iMarGo (United Kingdom)

My lens is super sharp, handles really well, OSS is amazing, really happy! Only problem is you’ve got to get a good copy, my first one was terrible, blurry shots, OSS issues but was claimed to be ‘within spec’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Best lens in the case

SEL70200G 11 August 2018 by Rjbeecher (United Kingdom)

This lens has an amazing 200mm zoom. It has captured some of my best shots without being invasive

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality. and great features.

SEL70200G 08 August 2018 by Geoff42 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens in June and have now had the time to use it in many situations and I cannot fault it. it is a good all round lens and a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ultimate Action Lens

SEL70200G 12 July 2018 by DelayedPleasure (United Kingdom)

It's a great lens. F4 may not be as shallow as 2.8, but it still does a fantastic job!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

high quality, very practical.

SEL70200G 14 June 2018 by TerenceM (USA)

I have used this about 4 times - taken a few hundred shot. It is reliably sharp from f4 to f22. also at low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this lens

SEL70200G 13 June 2018 by Scorpio2 (USA)

Very good images with super colors and sharpness! Great in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My 70-200 f4

SEL70200G 29 May 2018 by Raybelline (USA)

Good value and good images..................................................

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Quality

SEL70200G AE 11 May 2018 by AceBen (Singapore)

I bought this lens a few weeks ago. The quality is awesome. I can take good and sharp photos in low light conditions. The lens is of a very high grade. Beautiful photos I can have with this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love the lens as an all around

SEL70200G 09 April 2018 by cutolo (USA)

I bought this lens few months before Sony released the 2.8 version. I was not sure I did the right buy but eventually it turned out to be perfect for my need. I used mostly in the day light and for landscape on tripod. I am not looking for fast AF as I use it mostly manual focus. The sharpness is as expected and the colours are the strengths of most Sony lens and camera. To close very satisfied and think twice to buy the 2.8 version as I see that lens for different users.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Better than I expected.

SEL70200G 26 January 2018 by Bounty Hunter (United Kingdom)

I was apprehensive about getting this lens as all my other lenses are prime lenses. I considered that this lens would not be as sharp and the quality would be lacking however I was pleasantly surprised and I can honestly say that I am not disappointed. It offers great versatility whilst on a shoot, it looks good and it performs very well indeed. I am glad I made the decision to buy it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top range product

SEL70200G AE 05 January 2018 by sengkim (Singapore)

I was a Nikon and later Canon user in my work as a media. Owing a Sony really raised my eyebrow to learn about the products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

nice

SEL70200G 28 December 2017 by tom557 (USA)

This lens performs extremely well, just buy it! Pics are sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A terrific lens

SEL70200G 18 December 2017 by DigitalAlan (United Kingdom)

Had it for a couple of weeks and very pleased with the results on my A7RII. Focus is very fast and it tracks well. Images a very crisp and colours well captured. A great lens.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great autofocus

SEL70200G AE 09 December 2017 by Endurance (Singapore)

Bought a month ago. Lovely lens. Been using it for my trip most of the time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fantastic lens

SEL70200G 23 November 2017 by brum1234 (United Kingdom)

great allrounder lightweight first expensive lens not sorry brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic lens. Shame about Sony's pricing

SEL70200G 17 November 2017 by Hughzy (United Kingdom)

This lens is often overlooked as people seem to be drawn more to the G Master. This is ashame as this lens is a fantastic performer and extremely light. It's just ashame that Sony still sells its lenses at prices that are far too high

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

First impressions

SEL70200G 09 October 2017 by alanealing (United Kingdom)

Although I have not had the chance to test in depth, I took the lens with my A6500 along a Thames walk last week. Highly impressed with the sharpness from all angles. Zoom is smooth. Colours accurate on the sunny day. Autumn colours especially. Lens is heavy which I expected, but I carried it around all afternoon with no fatigue.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Not a robust lens

SEL70200G 30 August 2017 by Pietmann (USA)

Looks like a tank and appears as an competitor alternative. Lens is not pro grade and can't be used as I used my competitors white lens. Focus not working after a impact within the camera bag. Inside it is a plastic lens, cheaply made. A big surprise to me. I googled and many 70-200 f4 and f2.8 users have the same experience. It's a pity that a small steel ring gets bended and fail the focus.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

11

0

Impress but lacking a tad

SEL70200G 26 August 2017 by Lrs Photog (USA)

This lens is awesome when it's on .... but do to some focus haunting and slow focus I had to knock it down a star

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Fabulous lens for travel

SEL70200G 25 August 2017 by svcace (USA)

While it is true the newer Sony lens is faster, the fact is it is really heavy and the barrel extends. If you travel or do hiking, it is a load to take. The f4 G OSS is simply a wonderful lens and razor sharp at nearly every point. Frankly, the A7'rII I have has such a wonderful low light ability, a faster lens simply is not a priority for me. I can't recommend this lens highly enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Good optics but no teleconverter available

SEL70200G 08 June 2017 by Desoscar (United Kingdom)

As above when are Sony going to make more lenses/converters

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Just the best

SEL70200G 19 April 2017 by Seaton Carew (United Kingdom)

This brilliant lens that complaments my Sony A7, so pleased to have it in my bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Light compact and sharp

SEL70200G AE 13 December 2016 by Anindya (Singapore)

Light, compact and sharp. Good balance with my A7M2. The hood attachment bit flimsy. At times flare is a issue. Expensive compared to Nikon and canon f4 category.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just the ticket

SEL70200G 23 September 2016 by Camshy (United Kingdom)

On camera most of the time since getting. Size and weight are reason I chose this rather than to f2.8, being I shoot landscapes f4 is fine. Stabilization works great for hand held shots though that's rare. Image quality so far from lens and the A7R have really helped take my photography to a new level, so much so that I now have prints rather than just digital copies. Regularly print 20" x 30" and 16" x 36", also a 20" x 59". Anyone with E mount who shoots landscapes should get this lens as it doesn't disappoint.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Spot on!

SEL70200G 26 June 2016 by Kohakoo (United Kingdom)

I had read a few negatives about this lens being soft max zoom. I think I'm one of the lucky ones, its spot on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

FE 70-200 F4 G OSS

SEL70200G AE 13 May 2016 by tansoonyeoh (Singapore)

Sharp and heavy though. The switches are at finger tips and smooth.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

sharp and fast auto focus

SEL70200G AE 23 March 2016 by jokeryap (Singapore)

this lens work very well with a6000, sharpness is acceptable for a FF lens on APS C body

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony FE 70-200mm F4 G

SEL70200G AE 14 March 2016 by Harry Benjamin (Singapore)

Great to have this lens, beautiful Bokeh shot at 200mm F4.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Light, versatile, accurate and extremely fast auto

SEL70200G 18 January 2016 by dynot (United Kingdom)

Purchased last month and has been my main camera lens so far and I am very pleased with the results. Though rated at F4 the Sony A7Rii that I am using it with far outweighs this. I am looking forward to Sony releasing a 2,8 which I am sure, when released will become the lens of choice for many photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

A must have lens for sony e-mount users

SEL70200G 09 June 2015 by Fatbobby (United Kingdom)

A great lens for both my A7 and A6000 . Excellent image quality on both cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

nice balance with camera

SEL70200G 22 May 2015 by Dr Do (United Kingdom)

fitted in well with my setup and the screen helps with low level shots

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Switching to Sony

SEL70200G 23 April 2015 by mehansen (USA)

Been a Nikon user forever - shifting to Sony -The 70-200 and the camera combined feel like they weigh less than the Nikon 70-200 alone. and the clarity/sharpness is right there - Thanks Sony - Now you need a 2x like my nikon and we're really in business!

13

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 15 April 2015 by chriscamera (United Kingdom)

Having used this lens for a number of weeks on a 7R, I am very pleased with the purchase. I have used it as a general purpose lens, because it has the image stabilisation which my prime lens does not have and with the 7R you do need to be careful of camera shake/movement, so when I cannot use my tripod I like to use this lens. Of particular note for me are some of my outdoor portrait work with this lens, producing excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Smooth

SEL70200G 14 April 2015  (United Kingdom)

Even though I have had less time using the lense than I would have liked I have found the lense smooth and steady with crisp detail even when hand held and the light levels are not at their best . Worth every penny

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

WoW fast focus

SEL70200G 06 April 2015 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom)

Using this lens with a mirror less camera is just awesome. It's light small and has an image quality second to none. Used with the A6000 it's focus capabilities are fantastic, Using it with 36 mp gives an image quality which will amaze.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

32

0

0

Portrait Lens? Who Knew!

SEL70200G 28 March 2015 by CraigC (USA)

In addition to be the obvious telephoto lens it was designed for, finding some creative uses as a portrait tool.

7

4

0

hard to focus in low light

SEL70200G 23 March 2015 by cyclemichael (USA)

Hard to focus in low light is probable more of a problem with my Sony a7. Even when using my BIG Sony flash, its hard to focus in low light because there is no IR Preflash focus assist

7

5

0

Fantastic Glass

SEL70200G 03 March 2015 by Gmoney4u (United Kingdom)

I purchased this lens new and have been completely pleased with its operation. It takes exceptionally clear images at all focal lengths. The auto focus is crisp and fast. The lens is light and well balanced for controlled hand held telephoto shooting. The lens feel solid and well built and looks good.

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Stable picture even handheld

SEL70200G 28 February 2015 by simonog (United Kingdom)

Bought last week. This is the first telephoto I have had where used with a Sony Alpha 7 II I can take a full zoom picture handheld and it's rock solid stable. Well made lens with easy action and good performance.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Best Bargain Of My Year

SEL70200G 25 February 2015 by BigELVIS (USA)

I borrowed this lens last summer for a very intensive shoot overseas in Korea for two weeks. It was a life saver. Using the Fe 70-200 F4 G OSS was the same as finding an oasis in the desert. The lens was so light on my Sony A7 so that even with a bum shoulder I always would forget about it until I needed it. Working with it and my 24 to 70 mm F4 lens was a pleasure and I really worked it hard. I shot every day In all kinds of conditions sometimes in really dark places and using the 70 to 200 mm, I shot a lot of interesting photos without a tripod shooting wide open at F4. I made images with that lens at 1/15 of a second handheld and sharp as a razor's edge. I was able to capture the subtle color that lived inside the color photographs that I saw in some very dark places. Buying this lens may be the best deal that I may have made recently. It is small and light and travels well. You can carry it in a jacket pocket or photo vest. And finally - the lens sturdiness is a plus and it is also as sharp as a serpent's tooth. It's a truly great lens!

11

0

0

Excellent, sharp lens.

SEL70200G 10 February 2015 by ClarkyAviation (United Kingdom)

Absolutely excellent lens. The build quality is fantastic, although with my sample the tripod collar moves too easily when it is supposedly locked down. The IS is decent, not as good as a cheaper competitor lens that I have, but it is a heck of a lot quieter. Focussing is essentially silent, as is changing aperture. This lens feels like it's built like a tank and could really stand up to abuse. The size is great for an FE system like my A7s, although I feel it's a lot more comfortable to use with a battery grip installed. It's a bit pricey for what it is, to be honest, but offset against the cost of the camera (in comparison to the competition) the overall price about evens out. But the lens is super sharp, lovely bokeh. I've been using it for aerial photography, and just general photo taking, and it's performed extremely well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Love my new Lens

SEL70200G 06 February 2015 by forgiven (USA)

I took my Sony FE70-200mm F4 G OSS lens on a road trip. The photos I took out the window of my car while the driver was going around 60 miles per hour. I was very happy with how clear and crisp the photos were. I have a Nex 7 camera and the colors were great. I have loved my NEX 7 and find this new lens a great addition. The lens fits well in my hand. The only draw back is the weight when I carry it around. Both photos below were taken while the car was moving at a good speed.

16

0

0

an excellent lens

SEL70200G 04 February 2015 by jotaenege (USA)

I like the 70-200, but rather wait if they make a 70-300 with a similar design

1

5

0

Simply put, a terrific lens!!!!!!!!!!!

SEL70200G 14 January 2015 by CharlieS (USA)

It is well worth the money. You get what you pay for.

1

4

0

Super Lens

SEL70200G 03 January 2015 by photooutdoorsman (USA)

The Sony FE70-200 F4 G OSS E-mount Zoom Lens is just abnout the best that money can buy. This lens is sharp as a tac and delivers constantly great images.

4

0

0

Optimus Prime

SEL70200G 30 December 2014 by ProArte (USA)

If you own an a7R, this is definitely the lens to capture images of sports, birds, portraiture, and videos. It is the only zoom lens that has the razor sharpness to match the high resolution sensor of the a7R; for example, when you take a picture of NASCAR 51, you will be able to discern each and every hair of Justin Allgaier's eyebrows. I have been using this FE 70-200 F4 G since it was first issued by Sony for everything but macrophotography. The color is perfect and there is no distortion. Marvelous landscapes come from closing the aperture down to have foreground to infinity in focus. Attach a polarizing filter and capture rainbow trout swimming in the clear mountain streams. Project the image on a 12 ft screen to see shimmering fish scales. If you are going to attach a zoom lens to the a7R, make it this one; and take spectacular photographs everywhere you go.

16

0

0

Great lens

SEL70200G 29 December 2014 by ezgl33 (USA)

This lens provides excellent image quality in a not too big package. It is a great addition to any full frame E-mount kit.

3

0

0

Excellent lens

SEL70200G 27 December 2014 by calm1954 (USA)

One of my favorites. This lens is sharp and has a fast AFS. I highly recommend this lens!

3

0

0

Superb ... as in GOOD

SEL70200G 27 December 2014 by Smart45 (USA)

Purchased specifically for a safari trip to Africa. It performed flawlessly. I took several thousand pictures and my only complaints had to do with the number of shots of my feet (taken by mistake).

2

0

0

Superb!!

SEL70200G 25 November 2014 by Grrrowl (United Kingdom)

Excellent build quality and superb fast sharp AF all in a nice tiny package. OSS is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

a great lens

SEL70200G 17 November 2014 by warwick72 (United Kingdom)

I bought my sony compact & lenses 3 weeks ago and a few hundred images later, am very pleased with the result.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

gorgeous lens

SEL70200G 27 September 2014 by BillA7S (USA)

Beautiful clarity and color throughout the zoom range and all f-stops. Happy with the electronics features also. At f4 with the A7S high sensitivity, able to get amazing low-noise evening/night shots across zoom range.

17

0