163

4.3 based on 163 customer reviews

94
46
10
4
9
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

4K is here to stay !

FDR-AX53 28 April 2016 by Jonnie1266 (United Kingdom)

This camera replaces my nine year old Sony HDR-SR1E which was one of the first 1080i camcorders available, I only changed because the LCD monitor touch screen failed. I sincerely hope this camera can last as long. Firstly, as ever in my experience with Sony it has a great feel of quality and build. Secondly, the functionality is way beyond where I was with my older camera, WOW ! This I believe is the third generation 4K model and I have no doubt will be soon be superseded, but for now it is almost full proof for my purposes. Sony have addressed several issues over the last model. The microphone I am not yet sure about. I am used to AVCHD recording mode and 5.1ch surround sound setting, this is certainly available on this model but not so if you select 4K or HD XAVC S mode. In these modes only 2ch stereo is available which is a shame for those who own home theatre systems. I used to find my voice quite loud from behind the camera but now I struggle to hear myself during playback in 2ch stereo. There is a 'my voice cancelling' feature on this camera but I have not activated it, I have activated the built in zoom microphone function though which may have something to do with it ? I recorded in 4K 60Mbps mode at 25fps and plugged the camera straight into my 4K television using the supplied HDMI cable, WOW again ! The first actual raw 4K I have seen on my television set and not one pixel showed anything but sharp, clear definition and I had my nose pressed to the screen. Brilliant. I was impressed with the BOSS system also, I had mine set to 'Active' which is the greatest stabilisation mode available when in XAVC S format, it was weird whilst recording as the lens position appears to have a mind of it's own when compensating for any untoward movement by the user. Initially one would think the camera was broken inside as the lens can move when you shake the camera around - gently ! It is still early days for recording and storing 4K for the consumer, I use the Sony PlayMemories Home software which is great in my opinion. This comes available free with the camera via a download from the Sony UK website. It is extensive enough unless you are a pro editor. It can store 4K and HD XAVC S and allow some editing. I have bought a 4TB external hard drive to store 4K, 2hrs worth can eat 64GB memory ! I do not know when it will be possible to burn 4K to disc to watch on the recently available Ultra HD Blu-ray players so we are left waiting for now. The HD XAVC S mode will allow up to 50Mbps at 1080p which is great definition and can be burned to Blu-ray disc using PlayMemories Home, I will try this out as my old camera could only achieve 15Mbps at 1080i. I recorded in my living room in fairly low light and the result was better than my old camera which would have needed a light fitted in the same conditions. Speaking of which I bought the Sony ADPMAC Shoe Adapter which fits directly to the multi interface shoe and adapts to the Active interface shoe to allow the fitting of older Sony accessories. However, my light was "device not supported" on this camera - shame. Intelligent Auto appears to be a good feature which can easily be selected from the LCD monitor screen by touching the icon. This can switch several functions on automatically if required such as face detection, scene detection, camera shake detection and sound detection (for auto wind NR). The touch screen works well, my old one was the (push) resistive type whereas this one is capacitive, it is like a mobile phone screen which is certainly easier to clean. The menu systems are intuitive and become very user friendly. I also like the fact that the camera is on and ready upon opening the LCD monitor or pulling out the view finder, great for those quick shot moments.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

164 Customer Reviews

0

Pleasantly surprised

FDR-AX53 24 September 2019 by RetinaGuyInLubbock (USA)

I was a little leery about purchasing a camera released some 3+ years ago, but this thing is a true “prosumer” beast. I have long shot family/recreational videos on various micro 4/3 cameras, but found the zoom capabilities insufficient for capturing my middle child’s Little League baseball exploits. What a pleasant surprise to stumble upon such a well-constructed product absolutely fit for purpose. Pluses: 1/ image stabilization— BOSS is exactly that... boss! 2/ 4K picture quality- looks great on my 75” Samsung TV. Minuses (small gripes); 1/ Monitor is VERY hard to see in bright sun, almost mandating use of the eyepiece; 2/ Sony PlayMemories is an absolute shambles. It took a bit of internet sleuthing to figure out how to upload video files to my iPad/iPhone. Sony and its codecs have never played nice in the Mac universe that I inhabit. Having said that, I LOVE this camera and am altogether delighted that I trusted the reviews of other happy fanboys and girls to take the four-figure plunge. (So delighted, in fact, that I am writing this review... almost never do that.)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX53

FDR-AX53 20 September 2019 by Xxxxlllll (United Kingdom)

Excellent video quality, and surround sound recording, but surround recording doesn't work when you are using 4K.. Plus no internal hard drive..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 September 2019 by Sensualize (United Kingdom)

I was looking for a quality camcorder for some time and my loyalty to SONY contued to bring me back to not only the brand but the AX53 which I can't fault! Amazing piece of kit! I love it and it's ease of use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great 4K Handycam

FDR-AX53 30 August 2019 by JLT55 (United Kingdom)

I brought this handycam a month ago mainly because it has a view finder, so far I'm very pleased with the results.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX53 24 August 2019 by RanaImage (United Kingdom)

I am really happy with this camcorder. It does what it says on the tin.Great

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

website

FDRAX53/B 18 August 2019 by Ron Ron (USA)

your website is terrible. i can't access my account after password resets.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

slow motion

FDR-AX53 26 July 2019 by whatatodoo (United Kingdom)

Very disappointing as a casual videographer. The three second auto slow motion is very poor quality. High speed recording shows very poor frame rate despite choosing the recommended format I can only see MP4 files recorded. This is after hours of trying to figure it out from various instructions. What I wanted was a point and click at say half speed with a 100fps say but it requires a degree in videodigital photography to do what is shown in utube examples. I get better results with my £126 CANON legria hf r606 where I choose half speed and point and click but the wings on large sea birds flying show multiple positions, but at least its quick, simple and good resolution.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

focus ring

FDR-AX53 24 July 2019 by Jarapah (United Kingdom)

PExcellent pice of equipment great value for money I would also add that this camera could be used proffesionalally

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good compact camcorder

FDR-AX53 18 July 2019 by Vds1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this because it had a viewfinder as I have struggled in the past to use screens when videoing in bright light. The image stabiliser works very well Sadly I was unable to edit the XAVC S HD and in with my Roxio NTX 7 software However, it did work ok with Windows Moviemaker and Windows 10

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

FDRAX53/B 05 July 2019 by JORTHAN (USA)

AWSOME OPTICAL ZOOM AND NIGHT VISION. ALSO, THE STILL PICTURES ARE VERY HIGH QUALITY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

decent camcorder

FDRAX53B 03 July 2019 by Yama1 (USA)

I bought this for personal use. The HD video is shot in AVCHD is amazing. However there is not much support 4K XAVC-S. Even my Sony PS4 does not play the files???

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, quality Sony product

FDR-AX53 01 July 2019 by lenzo (United Kingdom)

I chose this product after buying other Sony equipment and have not been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well appointed easy to use

FDR-AX53 13 June 2019 by Stompanato (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for general use but it has many features that would allow me to use it to make a real movie. It is not a Pro camera but it is close, considering it is a hand held "Point & Shoot" it is quite amazing & with the best Steady-cam type suspension I've come across. the only difference between this & a real pro camera is that on the pro model you can operate it manually, with this camera you can choose one manual setting for the video & put the audio into manual mode that's it everything else is automatic. that is the type of camera it is & it truly is excellent, playback the content on your 4K TV & it is as good as a broadcast picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Plane filming

FDR-AX53 10 June 2019 by nobbyt (United Kingdom)

Bought this camcorder for Aeoplane filming as the stabilizer is the best for the price out there.Would prefer the zoom rocker to be two finger rocked from front to back not side to side.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Gret upgrade from my TRV-900

FDRAX53B 05 June 2019 by spt87 (USA)

I've had this about a month now. Picture quality is amazing. I stuck with my Sony TRV-900 for a long time due to its great low light and 480i quality. I've seen video from newer cameras the the TRV-900 beat them The FDR-AX53B camera definitely blows the TRV-900 away though. Mostly I've used an external mic with it but the internal mic seems capable. Great to have modern features and 12 hours of video on 128G micro SD card

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Just what I needed

FDR-AX53 04 June 2019 by Arty 67 (United Kingdom)

I haven't had it long but already I can see that it fixes a lot of my issues such as manual control of exposure and focus at the touch of a button along with the great stabilisation

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Does almost everything that I wanted

FDR-AX53 23 May 2019 by Cornish Lad (United Kingdom)

I bought this last month in order to video family celebrations, holidays and for producing short videos for my YouTube channel. The camera is much smaller and lighter than my previous models which all date back to pre 2000! Optics are great, control is simple, results are fabulous either in 4K or HD. Does almost everything that I wanted except for two small niggles and that is why it only gets 4 stars instead of 5. On all previous purchases of Sony camcorders a remote control was included as standard but, for this one, I had to search the internet in order to find and buy one. There is no onboard memory so a SD card is necessary for the camera to operate and there was not even a basic card included in the package so, again, an additional item had to be purchased just to get it to work.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice camcorder

FDRAX53B 29 April 2019 by VaSquire (USA)

I purchased this Sony FDRAX53 the end of March 2019. It is a very nice camera although I have only had it a month. I like the size and weight of it. Fits my hand perfectly with the adjustable hand strap. The LCD screen is very clear and bright. I did purchase a screen hood for times in direct sunlight. The pictures are bright and clear with natural color. The zoom works great as well as the focus. The sound is very good from the built in mic. I did however, purchase the extra Sony microphone. I have not, as of yet, gone through all the features of this camera but will in time. This is my first digital camcorder after having a VHS camcorder purchased in the 1980's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Detailed, dynamic colours, limited manual control

FDR-AX53 04 March 2019 by Jedster (United Kingdom)

Only used a couple of times, solid unit, lot's of YouTube views to get a shortcut to advised settings... Surprised Lens Hood not included (for sunlight), but I like the features and sockets

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome cam

FDR-AX53 28 February 2019 by SWFLaccountabilityNews (USA)

awesome quality, the B.O.S.S system is amazing at providing a stable video while moving.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Disappointment

FDR-AX53 20 February 2019 by Fudrus (United Kingdom)

This camera makes great videos, and the sound is fairly good. But it has a fatal flaw - it is tied to a particular region. If you buy it in a PAL region, such as Europe, it records only at 50/25 FPS (plus 24 FPS). There is no way to set it to 30/60 FPS. The same is true if you buy it in an NTSC region - it records only at 60/30 FPS (plus 24 FPS). Why hobble a great product with this limitation? I want to use it for online videos, and most monitors are 60 FPS. So It would be better to record in 60/30 FPS. But I can't get the camera to do this. The other main flaw with the cameras is the zoom control over the viewfinder - very awkwardly placed and hard to control. The rest of the camera is OK, though the sound quality could be better - tends to pick up sounds from the camera. Use an external mike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

Could do (even) better

FDR-AX53 17 February 2019 by nhm1 (United Kingdom)

I have only had this camera a few weeks and Sony are already asking for a review, which I feel is premature. I bought it mainly because I wanted to move up at least to HD, with some headroom for 4K in the future. I wanted a dedicated video camera with a viewfinder, and the current options for that are limited without going to pro level. I tried out a couple thoroughly in store and the AX53 was the one I felt most comfortable with. So far I am very happy with the quality of the video produced under a variety of conditions. The auto-focus is generally good and the stabilisation excellent. For me the poorest feature is control of the motorised zoom, which I had already identified before purchase. It is impossible to start this really gently, and quite difficult to maintain a very slow smooth speed. If you switch to zoom via the lens ring, control is better but it is well nigh impossible to zoom the whole range unless you are on a tripod. Also if you are hand holding at the telephoto end of the zoom range it is difficult to stop recording without camera shake, so you'll probably need to trim every clip. I feel these are things Sony really need to address in their control system - they are surely basics. One other silly thing which could easily be fixed is that there is an external lens protection shutter, but it is incredibly fragile and could easily be damaged even by something in the camera bag, putting the unit out of action. The first thing I bought was a filter and a lens cap - you would think Sony would at least run to including the latter for a few pence! Finally the camera produces quite an elaborate structure of folders and files on the flash card, and so far as I can see Sony offer no explanation of this anywhere! Yes I found my videos and stills but I had to go on the Forum to try to discover what some of the other stuff might be for...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great features

FDR-AX53 11 February 2019  (United Kingdom)

Has all the features that I want. Great picture quality at a good price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fine camera - with a few drawbacks

FDR-AX53 11 February 2019 by RB_59 (United Kingdom)

I have owned this camera just over a week and I am thrilled with the picture quality but there are a few 'operating' issues I've got to overcome: - the wind noise when outdoors in even just a breeze necessitates the use of an external microphone, I expected this; - the built in monitor has a highly reflective finish which makes for VERY difficult viewing in sunlight. I'm short sighted and the adjustment on the EVF eyepiece is insufficient to correct for my vision so I have to struggle with glasses, again making it very difficult to use. It's a shame everything is menu driven (I understand that on screen buttons mean not having to pay for hardware and therefore keeps the cost and size down) so making changes always necessitates folding out the screen. I'm still getting used to navigating my way round the menu structure but the layout is quite logical. As I said at the start, I'm new to this camera and I'm sure I'll find ways to work around the problems I've encountered, I'm very pleased with the results I get and I will be keeping the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Sony AX53

FDR-AX53 06 February 2019 by AllCarsChannel (United Kingdom)

I bought a second AX53 because i droaped my first and i damege it (after two years of using). For 800 £ it is the best camcoder wichh you can buy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great stabilisation

FDR-AX53 05 February 2019 by airshow22 (United Kingdom)

I bought this on the promise of superb stabilising for the lens, to give smooth filming of aircraft in flight. And it delivers. The smoothest I have ever seen, I think the best possible. Optical Zoom is decent, at x20, with intelligent digital still good quality around x30. Focus can be set to my choice, to avoid autofocus switching from the subject to any post, tree, cloud, etc that the subject passes by. Microphone also has settings to suppress sound close to the camera and wind noise. All features that are important to my chosen subject. Very pleased.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent pictures

FDR-AX53 25 January 2019 by Timbo55 (United Kingdom)

Can't praiuse picture quality enough, sound is great using a remote mic plugged in, less brilliant from the internal one

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, terrible software and support.

FDR-AX53 20 January 2019 by Very disappointed user (United Kingdom)

I bought the camera to replace (update) an old Sony camcorder that I'd had for over ten years, which used old HD mini cassettes. I was very pleased with the new camera. However, when I downloaded the PlayMemories software it told me it was an update of the old Motion Picture Browser I was using and that it would remove the existing software. I already had 35 files uploaded onto my PC and assumed these would be readable by the new software (as it was said to be an "update"). However, once I loaded it, the new software refused to recognise these. I contacted their customer support who initially seemed not to understand the issue. Finally, after some chasing on my part and taking advice on theirs, they came back saying that I would have to reload all 35 tapes recorded on the previous camera, although they noted that if I did this they would only load as MP4 files, which would not maintain the quality of my original files. They specifically told me to "please be advised that these two cameras are from two different generations and it won’t be easy to transfer all the contents with the same quality." Fortunately, because I am always cautious when loading new software which removes existing software, I had backed up the old Motion Picture Browser. Once I reloaded this it sits alongside the PlayMemories software quite happily and continues to run the old files perfectly (although I can't run both programs at the same time). Sony should have been aware of this issue and I see it as very poor customer service that they remove Motion Picture Browser when their new software is incompatible with any existing files. Providing the ability to maintain usability between "different generations" is very basic customer support. So, great camera but appalling customer support. I did ask for my email exchange to be passed up to a higher level as a complaint but was told I could only do this by by writing to the European Head Office.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

2

0

Great quality videos especially in low light.

FDR-AX53 16 January 2019 by Electric Phil (United Kingdom)

Had this for a couple of weeks and experimented with the settings to find out what works best for me videoing bands and artistes often in low light. I am delighted at the quality video results which look a great deal better than my previous Sony CX405. Even the built in mic give very good results but I will be buying the Sony ECMXYST1M.CE7 Stereo Microphone for better stereo seperation which isn't very good on the 53. Check out my youtube page Bands & Venues Burnley & Pendle for my recent vids taken using this Handycam.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

almost a very good camcorder

FDR-AX53 09 January 2019 by pitney77 (United Kingdom)

3 months old and used to record football games. Lack of full manual controls lets this cam down plus recently auto focus has been letting me down

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

3

0

Very impressed it has some fantastic features

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by Maltabus (United Kingdom)

It was a Christmas present although I haven’t had the opportunity to use it to its fullest I am very impress and after consulting the Sony help line because of a small problem which they rectified the next day I can only say thankyou sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Camcorder that could be improved

FDR-AX53 06 January 2019 by steambuff (United Kingdom)

The picture quality is excellent but it is limited on ability to tailor the video to your requirements. If you choose one manual setting you sacrifice the rest. Also: 1. some of my more expensive accessories do not work as LANC (developed by Sony) has been abandoned on this model. 2. You must open screen to insert HDMI cable 3. Zoom button is badly placed and difficult to work smoothly without moving camera 4. No rubber eye cup for viewfinder 5. Hot shoe cover flimsy and easily broken when open Otherwise, for the money, an excellent camera. It is a camcorder that could be superb but has been built down to a price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic

FDR-AX53 24 December 2018 by lawrence1952 (United Kingdom)

I Ibought this a month ago so glad I did would recommend Sony to anyone

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use excellent quality footage

FDRAX53B 24 December 2018 by Mcmt108 (USA)

This camera does more than the average person needs it to do. But the switch to 4K is a must if you broadcast video to your big screen tv or larger size pc screen. It is unacceptable to view blurry footage when the technology exists to view it in a sharp form. That is what 4K gives you. So get rid of the old camcorders and make the switch to 4K. But don’t expect to be able to easily transfer this type of footage. It takes a huge amount of memory and requires reconfiguration of the s drive to format the card to transfer the video. However you can film simultaneously in mp4 and 4K and transfer the mp4 with ease. As a young person with children I would only buy a 4K camcorder. Sony makes excellent film equipment because they are in the movie business.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very pleased

FDR-AX53 18 December 2018 by echo mike (United Kingdom)

Have this a month now and it is living up to expectations. best of all the batteries are the same type as my older model . it is a great idea that Sony keep using the same type of connection

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing picture, easy to use.

FDRAX53B 13 December 2018 by JimboD (USA)

I bought this camera for recording my children's basketball games. I was using a Handycam before I purchased this one. There is a dramatic difference between the two. When reviewing games with my kids and team, we can see the picture clearly without any difficulties. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect Camcorder for 2016

FDR-AX53 14 November 2018 by GaryX1001 (USA)

i bought this Camcorder 2016 and it was worth every penny. I want a new one now with HDR, 4K 60/50p and the great Video stabilization!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality product

FDR-AX53 12 November 2018 by bob 001 (United Kingdom)

I was looking to upgrade my present camcorder to a 4k with viewfinder.This was the only model in stock with viewfinder which is essential for videoing motor sports.The quality of image is brilliant but the best feature is the stabilisation system,rock steady picture even at full zoom! Also i recorded the local firework display in fireworks display option,amazing picture and sound quality.So far very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very good camera, low light exceptional shots

FDRAX53/B 10 November 2018 by Ogreworks (USA)

Took a bit to understand things but overall this is a really good camera. Lowlight and night vision . Autofocus doesn't struggle and I"ve done alot of concerts and moving shots. Can't complain at all. Hand grip is a tad uncomfortable for the larger hands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Getting to grips with its many (Clear) features

FDR-AX53 09 November 2018 by Newtonairds (United Kingdom)

I have only begun to try my new AX53 but already find it so easy to operate. The still photographs are just so clear. For me - A worth-while buy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Hk sony

FDR-AX53 02 November 2018 by Ian37 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a week ago and I am very pleased with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome Surprise in a Handheld 4K

FDRAX53/B 07 October 2018 by Michaelangelo (USA)

I'm just a novice videographer, all thumbs. I bought this 4K Handycam because I saw it had a Zeiss lens and when I was using cameras in The Bronx, as a child, I knew it was good. Well, it was more amazing than amazing. The resolution rocked my New York socks.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Better than the AX33

FDR-AX53 22 September 2018 by Toastandjam (United Kingdom)

They’ve managed to improve something that was already good. Like the extra zoom capacity and the active steady shot support.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

One of the very best photo tools for any occasion

FDRAX53/B 05 September 2018  (USA)

Linda tasked doing the videos while I aimed at the stills for our trip to BOTSWANA last year and ALASKA WILDERNESS this year. The AX53 could not have been more effective, easy to use, somewhat easy to upload to our iPAD and computers. The 600MM ZOOM is awesome. Able to reach the distant leopards, lions, wild dogs in BOTSWANA and to reach the bald eagles and bears and all kinds of water animals and birds... ALSO ... great to capture young grandchildren...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A good camera but a couple of things to highlight.

FDR-AX53 30 August 2018 by Geek Street (United Kingdom)

I'm a YouTuber and was looking take my recordings to 4K and improve stability / quality. This camera is pretty good in terms of picture quality and has amazing zoom with optical and digital you get 250x zoom, but I was let down by a couple of points you can't select the intelligent stabilization in 4K and also recording in 5.1 Dolby surround in 4K which is a bit of a disappointment, but in general I'm still pleased with it. I've done a review of this camera including sample footage for YouTube you can find it by searching for ‘Geek Street Sony FDR-AX53’.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Quality high end camcorder!

FDRAX53B 29 August 2018 by grainfarmer (USA)

I bought this to digitize our old family home movies taken back in the 1960's. Wow, did it ever do a great job recording with great clarity and vibrant colors. It is easy to use and has many features to allow creativity. I am so impressed with the feel of the camera in my hand, made with quality and precision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

SONY YOU CAN FILL ME

FDR-AX53 25 August 2018 by Aibek (USA)

SONY YOU CAN FILL ME, Sony is my favorite electronic company.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Disappointed it is only a 10X Zoom

FDR-AX53 22 August 2018 by PeteGirv (United Kingdom)

I am pleased with the AX53 but I am disappointed that it is advertised as having a 20X zoom and it is only actually has a 20X zoom, I do not count the 2X Macro facility as part of the zoom. Otherwise I am pleased with the camcorder, it produces good videos in the good light levels that I have used it in. The Sony software also works well with my Windows 10 computer, some reviews had mentioned problems but I have not had any with the recent software version.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Easy Use, Great Features, Excellent 4K Quality

FDRAX53/B 20 August 2018 by JimcSpirit (USA)

Have used the camera for a month and provides excellent quality video. Used in low light situations and an external wireless mic. Very satisfied.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera picture quality is really good

FDR-AX53 11 August 2018 by chrisms (United Kingdom)

I purchased this product from John Lewis 5 weeks ago what a super camera, however John Lewis were offering a £50.00 cashback from Sony (not John Lewis) trying to claim the £50.00 cashback was not easy to say the least, and I am still awaiting the money back, I had to buy a external microphone for the camera, and set the audio to manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Bravo Camcorder

FDR-AX53 09 August 2018 by Aibeck (USA)

Example: I bouThe quality of the footage this camera produces is nothing short of stunning. The optical stabilisation is on a par with aftermarket gimbals and the slo-mo function works brilliantly. The zoom is astonishing - even the digital zoom. At it's price point it is the best there is. Faults? None although the zoom button is too small for me. But that's a minor quibble. This is the current market leader and integrates with all my other Sony gear.ght this a month ago and am so happy that I did...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great Camera but software is awful

FDRAX53/B 25 July 2018 by Captcioe (USA)

I recently filmed a couple of weddings and have been trying to make CDs with the software. It’s clumsy and slow

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Excellent use, having trouble with some features.

FDR-AX53 24 July 2018 by scaramouche54 (United Kingdom)

This is my first digital camcorder, so I have nothing to compare it against. I found it pretty straightforward to get started, and the 4K video played back on my 2560 by 1440 PC HD monitor looked great. Haven't tried it on the TV yet. Transferring video to the PC is not very clear, I am not sure if I am transferring 4K or MP4. I have not been able to get the wi-fi transfer to work at all: although the network is recognised, the camera keeps insisting I connect with a USB, and the manual is no real help. That said, the wi-fi connection is hardly a problem to me. I don't much like the "Play Memories" software. I cannot seem to change the location of the transfers, from my Windows "Pictures" folder to a folder on one of my support drives (which have far more space). But I would not be surprised if most of this is just what I haven't yet found. The user guide download is very helpful, but I would really like more "help for dummies" such as myself. As a first such buy, I am overall very impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice pictures but terrible App

FDR-AX53 18 July 2018 by MCole2460 (United Kingdom)

I bought this one week ago and have now returned it to get my money back. The only way to transfer data, away from home, is the Wi-fi via an App which doesn’t work. SD card does not work with iPad or iPhone to transfer data. Imagine quality is fine but, unless the issues with the App are resolved, if the only other products in your home come from Apple, then this is not the product for you

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Like being at sea

FDR-AX53 17 July 2018 by Paul3780 (United Kingdom)

Brought just over a month ago to film a wedding. The boss system when zooming is not good. It floats about horribly which really shows up in video. I'm going back to try and exchange this product today but fear I won't have any luck so will be stuck with it.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Love this Camcorder

FDRAX53/B 16 July 2018 by Julie Julie (USA)

My first FDR-AX53 had a lot of use and I felt it was getting worn out so I bought a used AX53 as a backup and a brand new FDR-AX53. My second day using it, when I would turn it on nothing would happen. I would have to remove the battery and reinstall it to get it to run. This happened about 6 or more times during the day. Once I had to remove and install the battery twice before it would turn on. I don't remember this ever happening with my old FDR-AX53 in the last 2 1/2 years. It was a warm day, but not that hot. Otherwise I love this camcorder. You can't beat the image stabilization, but I wish the image quality was better when zoomed in.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great Features

FDR-AX53 13 July 2018 by ggstable (United Kingdom)

I needed needed needed needed to upgrade from CX760 fo 4k

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Well specified highly functional camcorder

FDR-AX53 11 July 2018 by AX53_Novice (United Kingdom)

I bought the AX53 just over a month ago and have really enjoyed using it. The BOSS (image stabilising) feature means hand held zoomed in shots are no longer all over the place. It really works well. The only very small issue is if the shot is a pan and the floating lens wobbles ever so slightly at the end, but it's not a big deal for me. I also like the manual override feature which allows me to compensate for dark interiors shot from outside etc. The camcorder itself is light, but heavy enough to keep the shot steady. It feels comfortable in the palm and all the necessary controls are easy to get at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not good

FDR-AX53 06 July 2018 by YoungBill (USA)

I read all the sony hype before i purchased the camera. Read all about the manual controls. Sony failed to mention that you can only use one manual control at a time. So if you set shutter speed, you cant ajust the iris and vise versa. The two most important features on a camera. Basically its an automatic point and shoot camera. Cheap junk. My gopro has better controls. I sold the sony within 6 months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

0

Very nice bit of kit

FDR-AX53 04 July 2018 by Download Dave (United Kingdom)

This does what it says on the can, very easy to use the and video quality is impressive at 4k. Battery life is good and menu is easy to get around . Image stabilisation is 2nd to none, really makes the shots very steady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent picture quality Example: Great features!

FDR-AX53 28 June 2018 by Johnbadger (USA)

I have 3 Canon camcorders and 1 Panasonic camcorder. I use the camcorders with my remote controlled Rover for wildlife and birding. I decided to go UHD and bought 2 Sony AX53 camcorders. One for wide angle and the other for Ultra zoom (120X) using high quality FPL53 lens elements. I am a broadcast engineer and can only say that the quality is phenomenal at the 120x zoom power. However due to the remote control application of the AX53 it would have been nice to have HDMI active while recording. To counteract the lack of HDMI wile recording I boosted the wifi and us the android App.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

FDRAX53B 13 June 2018 by Black Panther (USA)

I bought this for vacation and I'm glad I did, worked out perfect

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice but difficult to use

FDR-AX53 08 June 2018 by Nigi (United Kingdom)

The image quality and sound are second to none. So as a pick up and shoot camera it’s perfect. It also has many inbuilt options like a more professional camera but these can only be accessed via a touch menu on the screen making setup very awkward and frustrating. The instruction book supplied is also next to useless.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Super Sony

FDR-AX53 01 June 2018 by Mickieb (United Kingdom)

Good all round video camera great manual features easy to use nicely built cannot fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It is good ,but I still learning this

FDR-AX53 27 May 2018 by Revaro (United Kingdom)

I am very exited about this camera and looking forward to start make nice videos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing quality movies and perfect sound

FDR-AX53 20 May 2018 by PENDZEL (United Kingdom)

I had a choice between Panasonic hc-vxf1 and Sony fdr-ax53. Maybe Panasonic is a newer model and has a bit more possibilities but for me the highest quality of movies is important and the image from the Sony camera suits me better

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Meet my expectations

FDRAX53B 20 May 2018 by amarei (USA)

much easier to work with, as the automated features make what ever you need

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

New video camera

FDR-AX53 20 May 2018 by Steve 1000 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this 4K camera as a replacement for my Sony Handycam bought sometime ago

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1