178

3.6 based on 178 customer reviews

74
43
13
14
34
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic treadmill headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 05 January 2018 by Marathonrunner (United Kingdom)

I bought these as I wanted some good quality wireless over-ear headphones for the gym treadmill and they are great! Light, don’t move around, good and loud! Bluetooth connection was super simple plus long battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 30 March 2018 by Yb509 (USA)

Received as a Christmas gift. Have worn them 10 times both sides broken. How will Sony assist with the repair?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

179 Customer Reviews

0

Easy out-of-the-box

MDRXB650BT/B 23 May 2019 by PattyH (USA)

I have upper range hearing loss and the extra base boost on these is great for me! They are comfortable and look great (I bought red!) Really good value for under $90. Hooking up to Bluetooth was a snap. Very pleased with the purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Durable

MDR-XB650BT 23 May 2019 by JackieJack (USA)

Received them as a gift, I was very excited. I use them everyday and the sound is great. Suddenly one day while placing them on my head, they crack at the swivel. Not five minutes later on the same side the swivel cracks making them unusable. The sound and bass are incredible but useless if unavailable to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Take a beating

MDR-XB650BT 15 May 2019 by The America Farmer (USA)

I’ve had these about 4 or so years and put several hundred hours on them mowing grass weed whacking or back in our fields, I have it tree branches, dropped, and actually flung them off my head and hey they still work besides the part where the the head band connects to the ear part. Although they still are still though as heck and defiantly worth the money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Comfortable, quality headphones

MDR-XB650BT 11 May 2019 by Vandenburgh3 (United Kingdom)

First time I've ever used bluetooth headphones so nothing to compare them to, but so far, so good. They are easy to connect, comfortable to wear and give fine sound quality. I'm using them for night time television watching, not for mobility, so can't comment on useable distance from source. Am a little concerned that the charge might fail without warning in the middle of watching a program, and apparently you cannot use them and charge at the same time, which is the only reason I'm dropping a star. Otherwise, one satisfied customer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-XB650BT 03 May 2019 by JRive (USA)

I bought them 3 years ago and they still sound great, but they recently broke since I use them mostly for sleeping. I'm impressed that they lasted for this long since I tend to move a lot when I sleep. They do cover external sounds, which is something that I tend to look for when buying headphones. I recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not Compatible with sony smart tv. No

MDR-XB650BT 30 April 2019 by sawneybeem (United Kingdom)

The headphones are really good overall. Very comfortable, very good sound with the extra bass.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Breaks way too easily

MDR-XB650BT 29 April 2019 by Cadenneedshelp (USA)

The headband breaks too easily had these for a month. Will Sony please help?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great product - would recommend.

MDR-XB650BT 25 April 2019 by Jill C (United Kingdom)

Looks good and sounds better. Comfortable to wear even in the Gym with no falling off/slipping. The base is strong which I like and the controls are easily used even when running.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not too impressed

MDR-XB650BT 23 April 2019 by Geepa 281 (USA)

Operationally this is a good product. The problem is cheap materials in the ear speaker swivel. I use this product with great care but, it broke is several places. Very disappointed in Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and features

MDR-XB650BT 22 April 2019 by Steve2010 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to use with my iPad and I phone whilst travelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Breaks way too easily

MDR-XB650BT 22 April 2019 by 444474 (USA)

My son bought me these for Christmas. The sound is great but the design is too fragile. Dropped them from their feet onto carpet and swivel on left side broke. Cheap design for $80 price should be sturdier. Will not be buying Sony again.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sounds great until they stop working

MDR-XB650BT 19 April 2019 by Stevenba (United Kingdom)

Great sounding but packed up after 13 months so out of warranty. Bought another set as a replacement as do like them but they should lasts good 5 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use, great full sound with nice tone.

MDR-XB650BT 13 April 2019 by PEJ53 (United Kingdom)

I bought these smart looking headphones to listen to music on my iPad, easy to set up following the quick start instructions. I really like the comfort, tone soundstage, exactly what I was looking for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

MDRXB650BT/L 10 April 2019 by Nooru (USA)

Very good sound + good design and quite user-friendly accompanied with lots of customers reviews online

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Good quality; great price

MDR-XB650BT 05 April 2019 by Boop bopp beep (United Kingdom)

I really love these headphones. Really good quality for the price range. Being able to forget about cables and not be constantly yanking them out of my phone, is such a relief. These are great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Would not recommend!!! :(

MDR-XB650BT 15 March 2019 by Meeeeeyo (USA)

Was gifted my headphones for Christmas 2018 I nearly 2 months later and less than a handful of times used Started having problems pairing to my phone did a reset and the left speaker stop working called customer service and they say without a receipt They cannot help needless to say I will not be Wasting my time on this And will definitely keep using my other brand headphones

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Junk, Two pair , same problem

MDR-XB650BT 06 March 2019 by Bradley123 (USA)

I bought two pair the first lasted six months and then would not charge and the latest pair lasted two months and the same charging problem..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 03 March 2019 by Nana199 (USA)

I bought this last year and the still work like new. I love to use them. :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Features

MDR-XB650BT 01 March 2019 by EricaB (United Kingdom)

This was a present. It is great that it is cordless and easy to use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Difficult to pair

MDR-XB650BT 01 March 2019 by SteveThomp (United Kingdom)

The pairing of these headphones to different devices is fraught with problems. Having to switch of Bluetooth of one device in order to pair to second device. Also unlike other headphones these do not pair to second or more devices simultaneously. Apart from this, the headphones are comfortable and the sound quality is very good with excellent base level

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent sound quality

MDR-XB650BT 06 February 2019 by Petrus123 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones a couple of weeks ago. The sound quality is very good and much better that other of a similar price.They attached via the bluetooth easily. I like the fact that you can adjust the volume on the headphones and you do not have to look for the remote or volume control on the device you are linked to. They are reported to have up to 30 hours of battery life but I have not yet tested this claim. My only minor gripe is that you cannot really see how much batter life is left. Press the heaphne button and it appears always to say medium. Think I would place more trust in a visual representation of battery life. Notwithstanding this minor gripe, they represent excellent value for money and would have no hesitation to reccommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Swivel broke.

MDR-XB650BT 29 January 2019 by Ana A (USA)

I got this headphone with my rewards points and the swivel broke. I am hoping Sony can repair.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Good quality value and battery life

MDR-XB650BT 21 January 2019 by Hugh01 (United Kingdom)

Received as a gift for Christmas. Cant fault other than lack of control over amount of base. For most part amount of base not a problem but with some music it seems excessive. Extra Base button would be welcome

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Rattles

MDR-XB650BT 20 January 2019 by Kewl (USA)

The thing rattles but the sound quality is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice looking headphones

MDR-XB650BT 17 January 2019 by Paul L 77 (United Kingdom)

I was gifted these at Christmas (2018) and I loved the design of them straight out of the box. They are on ear headphones, and not over - I feel this is important to stress, because there is a difference. Sound quality is decent, but nothing outstanding. I didn't experience powerful bass as the product details suggested, and the headphones were tested across multiple audio devices, if anything, they are more on the crisper side. I have a cheaper pair of blue tooth headphones, that in my opinion, sound just as good. The other thing which surprised me, is the fact that the volume control dosen't go that high - again, I can get much more volume from the control on my other cheaper pair than these Sony's. My conclusion is, they are a good looking and nice sounding pair of headphones, but nothing really out of the ordinary. I was gifted these, but not sure I would have been really happy if I had payed the price out of my own pocket

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound, bad encasement

MDR-XB650BT 16 January 2019 by Joe_R (USA)

The sound is great, but they break way to easy. I take care of my stuff and they still didn’t even last a year without cracking and I kept them at my desk at work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great until they break with only a month of use

MDR-XB650BT 14 January 2019 by Fennerz28 (USA)

Bought these headphones and enjoyed them until the right ear cup clamp broke for no reason

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Rubbish

MDR-XB650BT 12 January 2019 by Catz74 (United Kingdom)

Bought of amazon came scratched and right ear didn't work obviously Bern sent back before and not checked

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Poor Sound

MDR-XB650BT 10 January 2019 by John7mag (USA)

The Sound is good But This did not Last very Long

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

THE BASS IS REAL!!!

MDRXB650BT/L 09 January 2019 by God usopp (USA)

Good equality, wish the volume was louder but the bass is amazing!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic Gift

MDR-XB650BT 09 January 2019 by Neville57 (United Kingdom)

I was given these headphones as a gift and very pleased with the sound produced they are very comfortable to use whilst I'm in the gym

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Feature.

MDRXB650BT/R 08 January 2019 by Sk04 (USA)

I brought last month this product and i am so happy to use this item, long duration battery and comfortable on my ear and nice looks. also nice quality. Sony is the king of sound. wawooo bass......

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Quality

MDR-XB650BT 07 January 2019 by Artistik (USA)

As a very artistic person, I like to be able to feel the music, and these headphones deliver the heart and the feeling in the music that I'm looking for. They fit comfortably, and allow me to work in the yard without putting my iPad next to me in the dirt. The only downside is that they do cut out for very brief periods of time occasionally, but that could very well be an error with my device. Overall, these are wonderful, quality headphones that is definitely worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Do the job

MDR-XB650BT 02 January 2019 by Farah1214 (United Kingdom)

These headphones are great and are of good quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top quality bass

MDR-XB650BT 30 December 2018 by Big Dan (United Kingdom)

Top quality sound No wires to break Bluetooths awesome and battery lasts a long time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 29 December 2018 by Beastmcoy (United Kingdom)

Bought these about 2 weeks ago, I’ve only ever had buds but wa sick of the wire breaking all the time, these so far have been great other than a little big ( my head is small I think Lol) I cant complain with any of the features or the sound. I can’t actually hear anything else when they are on other than my music .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Affordable sound

MDR-XB650BT 29 December 2018 by Matty C (USA)

I bought them a while ago and they are amazing. They have great sound for a cheap affordable price. Thank you Sony

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

MDR-XB650BT 28 December 2018 by Kyd2016 (United Kingdom)

I just received today and im very happy with my product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

head band

MDRXB650BT/B 20 December 2018 by zachary2000 (USA)

i was in school and i go to put them over my head and the ear part snapped off the head band. other wise the headphones sounded great!!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Good song

MDRXB650BT/B 18 December 2018 by nas32 (USA)

i bought this couple of months ago. it was excellent and sound wonderful.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fragile!

MDR-XB650BT 14 December 2018 by Ayo_Fu (USA)

I purchased these headphones a month ago and was content. A month later I pick up my headphones and find the right arm of my ear cup is broken. Never dropped or anything. I’m a “Sony guy” when it comes to audio. But I’m disappointed. Be careful!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lack of Information

MDR-XB650BT 24 November 2018 by His Exelency (United Kingdom)

I am very disappointed by the absence of any instructions written in English. The absence of a transmitter is also disappointing.

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

0

2

0

Great Headphones, Until They Broke

MDR-XB650BT 14 November 2018 by swannie6699 (USA)

Received these headphones about two years ago, and they were a great set of headphones while I had them. Good sound quality and very comfortable. The issue is they simply broke one day. The plastic swivel snapped for no apparent reason, durability certainly isn't there.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great sound, Terrible structural integrity

MDR-XB650BT 12 November 2018 by Kyle236 (USA)

I bought this just under a year ago and they were definitely an upgrade from my Skullcandys (in sound quality), but I used those for 3 times longer and they are still in better shape than these. They've broken off both of the swivel joints and I've had to super glue them back on and one of the support arms broke off all just from daily use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

The swivel arms will easily break

MDR-XB650BT 12 November 2018 by opuskev (USA)

i bought these headphones about a year ago and the swivel arm breaks and then i found other people complaining about this problem on ifixit

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Good tones

MDR-XB650BT 03 November 2018 by Billy buck (United Kingdom)

Great product recommend to everyon excellent tones and sounds

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good headphones!

MDR-XB650BT 31 October 2018 by TheThat (USA)

I've owned these headphones for about a year now and they're amazing! no complaints very easy to connect and would reccomend for everyone. but after about 45minutes of usage the band does start to hurt the top of my head. :(

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

THE SOUND IS GREAT AND CLOSE OUT ANY OUTSIDE NOISE

MDRXB650BT/B 30 October 2018 by EDISON77 (USA)

I BOUT 6 MONTHS AGO BUT THE PLASTIC RINGS HAVE BOTH BROKE . THEY ARE TOO WEAK FOR THE EAR PIECES.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Faulty Manufacturing/ Poor Construction

MDR-XB650BT 22 October 2018 by Svasthya (USA)

Like many others, I am sad to report that the plastic attaching the headband to the earphone completely shattered one day from gentle use. I just took them off my head like normal and the swivel joint broke. Had only used them a total of two months since I bought them. This was very confusing and disheartening as the headphones basically seemed to self-destruct, and up until then I loved the sound quality and comfort. To have such poor and faulty manufacturing is completely absurd and outrageous for headphones at a price point of $250.00 when I bought them. Most upsetting was the complete disregard on behalf of customer service. They seemed aware that this was a recurring issue with their product but still referred to it as “product damage” and told me it voided the warranty. Both times when I called I asked to speak to the manager and as I was insisting upon replacement or repair, she went as far to begin saying she couldn’t hear me and I was breaking up, under a perfectly sound Wi-Fi connection. She acknowledged she knew it was an issue yet continued to put blame on me. By looking at their next model, which fixes this swivel connection problem, you can tell the company is aware of it. When it is so clear from looking at reviews that this is obviously a consistent problem indicating a failure of their manufacturing, and knowing that the company refuses to own up to it and compensate consumers, I will not be supporting Sony in the future and will not recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great sound

MDR-XB650BT 14 October 2018 by Jason 1969 (United Kingdom)

I've had these headphones a month now they have a great sound and look amazing only draw back is the headband is to smooth and they tend to slide about a bit on my head apart from that I'm very happy with headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

CHEAP QUALITY

MDR-XB650BT 06 October 2018 by Pimpgrease47 (USA)

I bought these a few weeks ago and both sides have just fallen off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB650BT 29 September 2018 by brownie1707 (USA)

The headphones are great I love them. They have great battery life I can listen to music or Netflix for weeks ad not have to recharge them. They are very comfortable. My dad and sister own a pair and love them. They are very nice and are durable. I wish I would have bought them earlier than I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Solid Piece of Equipment

MDR-XB650BT 24 September 2018 by callovian (United Kingdom)

I wanted some headphones that were of good quality that did not break the bank - and these fit the bill. I use them primarily to listen to movies without bothering the neighbours and they are spot on for this. The sound quality is pretty good although I am no expert but it does everything I want and the sound is very immersive - exactly how I like it. However, the design could have been a little better and they can get a little uncomfortable after a couple of hours wear - but this may be me not quite doing it right as these are still a recent acquisition. This is the only reason I am rating it four stars. Otherwise a nice piece of kit that I am happy to recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great headset

MDR-XB650BT 10 September 2018 by Brian the lion (United Kingdom)

I bought these head phones for my wife as she can’t always hear what being said on television. Worth every penny they are Bluetooth so does not interfere with my listening. Well recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great design comfort but too much stuttering.

MDR-XB650BT 06 September 2018 by Alan_1970 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product 6 months ago and am so dissapointed. Like the overall sound/design/comfort/features but they suffer from so many stutters in the sound it has made them unusable for me. Tried all the troubleshooting but problem just recurs. Should have bought a wired version.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Right side broke both times.

MDR-XB650BT 05 September 2018 by Dipendra (USA)

I enjoyed the sound quality of this headset. It mostly sat in a nice velvet pouch in a drawer and was in use barely 2-3 times per month for 30 minutes or so. One day the right side of the sound was completely gone. Piece so immaculate and cared for, I couldn't understand why!? Thankfully I had few days left from a factory warranty, and after some trouble, they had replaced the unit to a new one. I was happy until after a few months the sound was gone again and it also started to tear from inside by itself. I'm left confused as the unit is not cheap and I cared for it very much and used it gently, but it just was ripping apart.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good basic but missing some features

MDR-XB650BT 13 August 2018 by NeilW57 (United Kingdom)

I got this as a gift and it plays ok...radio is good...Bluetooth works fine. I am not so happy with big not being able to play from an iPod. More importantly I am.not impressed that it has no way of listening via headphones neither wired nor bluetooth this is a big oversight. If you have no one else to annoy with your tunes then it is a nice small tidy piece of kit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

4