146

4.2 based on 146 customer reviews

79
38
13
5
11
Performance

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Amazing and Impressive! Wow! Thx Sony.

HT-G700 09 January 2021 by CHIEF ret USCG (USA)

First, I purchased the HT-S350 sound bar to accommodate my KD-65X750 amazing TV on 04 Jan2021, of which my younger brother purchased the same setup as well. One day later my older brother purchased the same TV, but he purchased the HT-G700 sound bar to accommodate his Sony TV. All I can say is that...I move the HT-S350 to the bedroom ( which is still a great sound bar ). But once you here the HT-G700. Amazing, amazing and amazing!!! This sound bar just speaks MOVIES AND MORE MOVIES. Brings it on! This sound bar HT-G700 is on another level. It very impressive - crystal clear sound is movie theater in you home outstanding. Get the popcorn ready!!! The “Immersive Audio Enhancement”button when used, will take it too another beautiful level of room filling clear sound enjoyment. The BASS is of great quality at all volume level. I was truly impressed. The price is justified and once you get it home. You will understand why!!!! Recommendation: (1) Read the manuals. There is some good stuff to help enhance that sound quality alongside that 4K TV by using the correct HDMI cable. You will see in the fine print of the easy setup instructions. (2) Download the Sony support app. It will help a great deal. Notifications on update and more. (3) Because I downloaded the Sony support app, I was able to update my firmware. The Sony instructions was easy to accomplish. Make sure to FAT32 the USB. Side note: I wish the store had this setup so you can hear the difference and make your purchase. But no big deal. Glad my other brother did the work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Should you buy or not

HT-G700 25 January 2022 by Tryit (United Kingdom)

Bought this in January still trying to get the best out of it … sound sync issues

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

146 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound and clear vocals

HT-G700 15 June 2022 by Freddieski (United Kingdom)

Had the soundbar and sub for a couple of weeks now. Set up was so easy through my Sony tv(HDMI arc port) optical is also connected but this only becomes available if you unplug HDMI. The subwoofer also connected immediately but over the first week it was quite temperamental and Sony have just updated the software and this has worked. The vocals are clearer than the HT-260 I had previously but still keeping the bass. Overall a vey good buy and happy to upgrade.

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Convenient setup

HTG700 19 May 2022 by AlaTex (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony sound bar along with the purchase of a Bravia 4k tv. I replaced a Bose 321 system with this sound bar because I wanted to move toward an integrated system I can control with one remote rather than four. I’ve since added a Sony 4k DVD player. My tv signal comes from a DirecTV 4k box. There has been a bit of a learning curve, but I am glad to say I can finally operate our entertainment system with one remote. The sound is not quite as “rich” as the Bose, but is more than adequate since I like having a system in which all the components “talk to each other.”

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great sound

HT-G700 14 May 2022 by Spongebot (United Kingdom)

Bought today easy to set up fantastic sound through my lg TV, also connects to iPhone Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Product

HT-G700 07 May 2022 by Roseworth (United Kingdom)

Easy to set up in fact it took longer to open the box and take the Soundbar and Sub Woofer out than it took to set up. Display panel on the small side. Menu a bit fiddly to use. Pleased with product so far but not had a chance to play about with the settings yet.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Keep shopping

HTG700 23 April 2022 by Bstahls (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Mono sound with no way of changing it manually. I’m sure there are tons of better choices. I used gift cards so it was basically free for me. Otherwise I would return it to get my money back.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

HT-G700 01 April 2022 by Ramps2 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to use with my new XX55A80J OLED TV. The sound is brilliant . Very very pleased with the performance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good performance for the price

HT-G700 31 March 2022 by Navman22 (United Kingdom)

Overall very happy with this unit that replace an old 5.1 cinema system (Sony). Good sound when the wife isn't around. A bit disappointed with the speech enhancement feature, didn't seem to make much difference. Sometimes switch between signal sources I get no sound unless I switch the unit off and on again whereupon it seems to sort itself out.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very Disappointed ...

HT-G700//Z SP1 20 March 2022 by JeremyC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used the HT-G700 soundbar with my Sony Bravia OLED TV mainly to watch Blu-ray / 4K movies, but the dialogue of the movie is way too soft. I have to crank up the volume to >60 to hear the dialogue, but this cause the other sounds in the movie esp action sequences to be too loud. I found the soundbar to be effectively unusable under the circumstances.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Disappointed

HT-G700 13 March 2022 by Xm63 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to go with my Sony TV. Unfortunately I have had issues with the sound being out of sync . Ok when it works but not blown away with it. Going to return to store

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Easy

HTG700 26 February 2022 by sarah 567 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is much better than the older model I replaced

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound we didn’t know we were missing.

HTG700 25 February 2022 by TXNtv (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When we bought our new Sony TV several weeks ago, we impulsively bought the HT-G700 soundbar. Boy, are we glad we did. It makes the sound so much richer. And it was easy to self install.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good, but pricey

HTG700 18 February 2022 by DFB11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel it necessary to preface this review by saying I'm comparing this sound bar directly to an older Sony HT-NT5. I loved the sound of the HT-NT5, unfortunately mine died earlier this week. I immediately started looking for modern Sony options to hopefully replicate my experience. So far I'm underwhelmed with live TV sound despite trying every sound option. It's certainly better than the TV speakers, but it's not amazing. The HT-G700 has impressed with movies and other streamed shows with good sound and impact, though I sometimes feel like voices are muffled (voice setting is on). I suppose my biggest disappointment comes when playing music. Don't get me wrong, the G700 sounds good..... But not great. The older HT-NT5 was much more detailed, more rich and the bass was punchy without being boomy. The G700 just can't reproduce a lot of the finer detail in songs. Guitar strums/strings are muddy and blend together and other treble specific sounds just aren't there. I think I was spoiled by the HT-NT5 and it's dedicated silk dome tweeters. The G700's drivers are not up to the task in the same way with integrated tweeters. Build quality seems good. Looks are unremarkable....which is good. I'm happy with the connection options and the sound processing. The tech inside seems good......I suppose I just wish the quality of the components was better to enhance the sound..... especially given the price. Perhaps I was just spoiled by the last bar, but I'd be happy with this bar if it was $399 or less, but I'm not blown away for the price. I believe I'm going to keep the bar in hopes that more play time will break in the components and.......I honestly don't feel like doing all sound bar the research again. I realize this review sounds pretty negative, but I do believe it's a good product that will make most people happy. I just wish it lived up to the HT-NT5.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

First impressions is I have just wasted £399.00

HT-G700 17 February 2022 by Jimbo0131 (United Kingdom)

I bought this product today, set it up and thought what have I done. The sound is distorted and every S is coming as a shh. I will be contacting John Lewis tomorrow to complain.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

0

great sound

HTG700 02 February 2022 by numbo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

pleased with purchase good sound easy to install would recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent product, easy setup.

HT-G700//C SP1 02 February 2022 by William Quek (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Multiple connection options, not like others that required only HDMI ARC or eARC. My connection to computer for movies via HDMI & Bluetooth is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top Quality

HTG700 01 February 2022 by Curt2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This TV is beautiful! Easy to set up picture quality is out of this world. So clear and crisp. Definitely worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Should you buy or not

HT-G700 25 January 2022 by Tryit (United Kingdom)

Bought this in January still trying to get the best out of it … sound sync issues

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

good price

HT-G700//C SP1 23 January 2022 by JLKK (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought and try. For that price, I think the sound is reasonable.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sounds GREAT!

HT-G700 21 January 2022 by TheForge (United Kingdom)

Would highly recommend this product. Simple and effective! :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Difficult to setup.

HTG700 19 January 2022 by Paul19002425 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is a learning curve to use this item. Instructions in manual need to be improved.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Normal

HT-G700//C SP1 19 January 2022 by Kay chwan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound can be better but nothing much to expect for a 3.1ch

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

HTG700 18 January 2022 by Stingerdean (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love ❤ my new sony it works so good but one downfall my dogs and cat don't like being in the room anymore when I watch TV lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent system, great value

HT-G700 16 January 2022 by CGoodwin (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and would recommend it to anyone. Sound quality is excellent, the Dolby Atmos capability in a single bar is quite well implemented. Obviously doesn’t compare to a real multi-speaker surround but for a single compact setup it’s really worth the money, especially without needing a special ceiling in your room for other vertical sound systems that try to emulate this capability. One downside, for the price I would’ve expected WiFi integration to enable casting direct to the speaker rather than through my TV. Sound quality different on Bluetooth from phone, vs using an integrated music app (e.g. running Spotify directly on the speaker as in my previous Sony sound bar) is noticeable and so needing to have the TV on as well is a very minor irritant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Very good

HT-G700 12 January 2022 by MattKot (United Kingdom)

The sound is clear and crisp. I think matching it with SONY tv also helped. Subwoofer gives a lot of punch so if you like to annoy your neighbours this is the system for you. A lot of options for MOVIE, SOPRT, CONCERT etc. which actually work and make the difference. Remote feels a bit cheep but let’s face it, it’s not a top range product. It does what says on the tin and does it very well. Can you get better ones? Yes. But if you looking for sound bar under £500 this one definitely should be considered. I am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Better than my Bose speaker alone!

HT-G700 06 January 2022 by Yuketobi (United Kingdom)

I bought this sound bar to replace my speaker from Bose and was nicely surprised to see that the subwoofer was included with it which I didn't noticed before! Voice can be hard to hear sometimes and in Voice mode sounds seems a bit flat on the background.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Fantastic sound.

HT-G700 05 January 2022 by Marty J (United Kingdom)

I bought this just before Christmas and am very impressed with the sound quality, a huge improvement on my previous soundbar which was good but dated. Dolby sound is amazing and Atmos is another level altogether. Would definitely recommend upgrading to Hdmi 2.1 to get the best from it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great value for money

HT-G700 02 January 2022 by Fusionhunter (United Kingdom)

I recently upgraded my TV and thought it was time to upgrade my sound bar, after setting my budget and doing a bit of research I decided on buying HT-G700, It's not the best at portraying the benefits of Dolby Atmos but it does a decent job. I would have liked a bit more projection on the centre speaker but realistically I haven't spent a fortune on the system. If I'd have got a much bigger budget I would have gone for a speaker with up firing speakers built-in but I can't complain.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really pushes out a great sound

HT-G700 02 January 2022 by Acupuncture (United Kingdom)

We bought this as a joint Christmas present. The sound quality is impressive. Compliments our 65 inch Smart TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Soundbar HT-G700

HT-G700//Z SP1 02 January 2022 by shanek12000 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product a few weeks ago and love how seamlessly it connects to my various services e.g. Apple TV, Netflix, Starhub, etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

not happy with this product

HT-G700 30 December 2021 by jumbo10 (United Kingdom)

I brought this sound Bar From John Lewis last March 2020 , and since that time never be able to use this sound bar , issues such as EARC does not work with LG 55 TV .

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

0

Not bad for the price

HT-G700 29 December 2021 by Ral 1 (United Kingdom)

Bought it about a fortnight ago not bad disappointed I could not add rear speakers to it otherwise good for a average room still trying to find best settings for it disappointed with the enhancement feature still not bad

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great sound and seamless connection

HT-G700//C SP1 27 December 2021 by AA SGWARDEN (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the HT G700 with the Sony 85X85J BRAVIA. The soundbar sound QUALITY is great and goes really well with the TV. Seamless connection and control with the eARC.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony Soundbar HT-G700 Exceptional Experience

HT-G700//C SP1 26 December 2021 by Liong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Big fan of Sony waits no more! HT-G700 A great soundbar for small HDB or Condo Living Room with excellent sound quality is all you need. Mine works perfect for me to replace my old Samsung soundbar in my living room. Love it after using for months. Highly recommended if you have a Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic sound system

HT-G700 16 December 2021 by sac8165 (United Kingdom)

Always been dubious about sound at systems rather than all round speakers. No worries. This system fires sound from everywhere. Absolutely brilliant and it’s a SONY so it integrates with my SONY BRAVIA TV without any special set up. Bass from the subwoofer is punchy and strong.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound for the price

HT-G700 12 December 2021 by Strongford Dip (United Kingdom)

Purchased the sound bar from Curry's for a good price, discounted £150 off. Pleased with this product ,

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good features

HTG700 11 December 2021 by ernie1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this for about a month sometimes audio goes away when you switch from one format to another

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound great features

HT-G700 10 December 2021 by Koyhot2 (United Kingdom)

Great sound , the woofer been wireless is a great feature as it can be located away from the sound bar .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good Soundbar

HT-G700//Z SP1 09 December 2021 by Kingaung (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good for small room. If it can connect with additional tweeters, will be best.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound system

HT-G700//C SP1 31 October 2021 by MKOng (Singapore)

I bought this for 3months and still loving the sound projection. I think it’s reasonably priced.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound and surround system. Design is very ni

HT-G700//C SP1 25 October 2021 by Maran (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought with the sound system with Sony XR65-X90J. Exactly a month. The soundbar warranty should have been 2 years instead of a year.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features

HT-G700//C SP1 03 October 2021 by Weihao (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is great and it's easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So Far So Good

HT-G700//Z SP1 02 October 2021 by Yuez (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for almost 1 month. So far So good. Please go to any shop to feel it yourself.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good stuff

HT-G700//Z SP1 01 October 2021 by dang0410 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds fine n sleek for sub woofer can designed it smaller

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sound with movies but faulty

HT-G700 30 September 2021 by Ari07 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds ok with movies but it developed a fault where one of the soundbar speakers had a rattling sound

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great value

HT-G700 20 September 2021 by TonyM1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a few weeks ago and it is the first sound bar i have used to fit my Sony Bravia 49XH9505 (bought in March). I wanted to replace an old Hifi cabled system . The TV itself has a good listening sound but adding the soundbar improves spatial image and the wireless subwoofer adds a reasonable base. Some reviews say it is complicated to setup but i found it straight forward and virtually automatic. The only complication is deciding which settings to choose , so read the manual. The important thing you must do is to set the base level from the remote, i had played with it and had the base set to s high level(10 levels) and the base overpowered the the opera. I set the level to 4 . The level appearing on the TV when you use the vol control. You can change the preset from cinema , to music etc while watching . I have left it to autoselect and dont need to us the soundbar control. The system can be upgraded to 5.1 with wireless speakers. Or stream music to other rooms. It is good value for money and while the Atmos over head effect may not be good enough for the cinema effect for some people , it worked for me.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Very satisfied

HT-G700 14 September 2021 by Frankignolle (United Kingdom)

Every I have kino in my living-room... and I'm not joking.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound for this range of modules

HT-G700//Z SP1 07 September 2021 by Naveen G Gowda (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good Base and surround sound good for small hall (House ) effective

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant Soundbar

HT-G700 29 August 2021 by couldwaj (United Kingdom)

I got a Denon from Richer Sounds that was useless for voice enhancement. This works really well recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good bass but lacks voice clarity

HT-G700//Z SP1 29 August 2021 by Mike_B (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used this for around 3 months, I feel the cinematic auditory experience for action/adventure movies even when played at home. However, the voices are being drowned out by the overwhelming bass, even when different audio modes are selected. The Sony Bravia TV's own audio system is much much clearer when watching documentaries, dramas etc.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Better sound

HTG700 16 August 2021 by Tpl4040 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the sound bar and Sony TV so I would be able to hear and understand the people speaking clearly It didn’t help The sound quality of the sound bar Is better then the Sony TV but unfortunately I still have trouble understanding what people are saying

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Good design but not without issues

HT-G700//C SP1 12 August 2021 by Gunzerker (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this after reading some positive reviews. Overall good design and easy to set up, but the biggest letdown for me is poor vocal/dialogue clarity. Have to turn the volume up to 55-60, just to have dialogue adequately audible, even after turning DRC and Vocal boost on.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Great sound and features

HT-G700 06 August 2021 by Gooner56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product with good sound quality and ease of use,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

Solid Sound for the Price!

HT-G700//C SP1 28 July 2021 by laveen29 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to complement my X85J and PS5 - this sound system is another wonderful investment to complete my set up. And the functionality to connect my phone to play music without having to watch TV is also appreciated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

GREAT FEATURE

HT-G700//Z SP1 26 July 2021 by royngms (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BROUGHT IT 1 MONTH AND HAPPY WITH THE PRODUCT IT CAN BE CONNECTED WITH ALL THE BLUETOOTH

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sounds Amazing

HT-G700 23 July 2021 by ericthefrog (United Kingdom)

Just got this and the sound is amazing on all inputs - my Sony TV and Bluetooth from my phone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Amazing sound quality

HT-G700 12 July 2021 by edeggie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought with a Sony TV as I saw it had 200 pound off what a bargain

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

6

0

Disappointed

HT-G700 25 June 2021 by Pen65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this sound bar after being persuaded by the sales rep for Sony that it was a better sound bar than the Bose Smart bar 300 . When I got home to set it up I found that the display panel on the front of the sound bar didn’t work , so I ended up taking it back . In the end I decided to buy the Bose Smart bar 300 the build quality on the Bose is far superior and easy to set up .

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

12