67

4.3 based on 67 customer reviews

40
18
5
0
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Ok..great features but I've heard better sound

HT-X8500 15 June 2019 by Jfghhfv (United Kingdom)

Had this a good few weeks now. Lack of display is hard work trying to see what light sequence comes on and what that combination of lights means is very tiresome, performance is nothing more than ok though the features are good with earc etc

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

0

67 Customer Reviews

0

Great quality sound

HT-X8500 30 May 2020 by saintybalboa (United Kingdom)

This adds to the atmosphere when watching sporting events. Not just because of the extra volume, but the quality of sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent first step into Dolby Atmos

HT-X8500 21 May 2020 by Gdawson (United Kingdom)

I have had this soundbar for a week now and on the whole I am very impressed . Unfortunately Earc is very buggy and I am forever having to switch the tv off then on to get any sound from the soundbar when switching to Netflix via the onboard app?! I had bought new high speed Hdmi cables and foolishly thought buying a Sony soundbar with a Sony tv would make the Earc process Seemless ?. How wrong I was !!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Great

HT-X8500//M SP1 09 May 2020 by David5231 (Singapore)

I buy this few week ago the sound is great I like it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Neat one piece sound bar built in subwoofer

HT-X8500 07 May 2020 by Discerning (United Kingdom)

Quickly elevates the TV watching to an amazing immersive experience Pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and easy setup

HTX8500 29 April 2020 by buckhunter67 (USA)

Bought this after reviewing several soundbars, I liked the fact that it has a built in subwoofer, so nothing else to clutter up a room. The easiest set up I ever had, plugged into an LG 4k television through the ARC, and I had to do nothing after that. It does have great sound and the bass, though limited, is sufficient to fill my tv room. Now I need to get Netflix again and watch some Dolby Vision and Atmos. Should be awesome.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Product

HT-X8500 28 April 2020 by Carol1teach (United Kingdom)

Bought to go with new Sony tv. Very impressed with Sony as usual.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Good sound quality

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Deano 7762 (United Kingdom)

Very good soundbar good features. Would recommend this soundbar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Soundbar HT-8500

HT-X8500 21 April 2020 by Gilliarno (United Kingdom)

Brilliant sound from this Sony HT-8500 it looks smart as well easy to set up good value for money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good product

HT-X8500 16 April 2020 by Bas23 (United Kingdom)

I purchased a while ago and all seems ok. Not sure I have it set right as I don't seem to be getting surround sound. My music from iPod is good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

pure rubbish

HT-X8500 09 April 2020 by Shod (United Kingdom)

possibly the worst thing i have ever purchased. With the soundbar connected and playing Netflix, Amazon Prime etc and selecting the pause button all sound is lost. the fix is to turn Sony Bravia TV off and on again

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Tv excellent but sound bar exceptionally disappoin

HT-X8500 06 April 2020 by Ricardo46 (United Kingdom)

Tv has been excellent and all that I expected. Colours amazing and easy to set up and operate. This is our third Sony Bravia. Sound bar arrived in packaging that had been opened. I should have returned at the time. Base is overwhelming and unsuitable for a medium sized property. I have hardly used it because it because it spoils all tv and most music. Very disappointing Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Superb Sound

HT-X8500 29 March 2020 by Orac1024 (United Kingdom)

I purchased this Soundbar two weeks ago with a 65" XG95 what a combination superb vision and ATMOS Sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

Great

HT-X8500//M SP1 21 March 2020 by Ong Kim hoe (Singapore)

I was started to use this Tv a week ago and I found out everything is good as I expected

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Money Worth sound bar

HT-X8500//M SP1 20 February 2020 by billythl60 (Singapore)

For an entry level sound bar, it performs better than my expectation. It is suitable for a small living or bedroom.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound!!

HT-X8500//M SP1 17 February 2020 by Randhir (Singapore)

The product is very good. Sound is very clear and gives a good feeling when I am watching my favourite shows!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound, Easy Setup

HTX8500 02 February 2020 by snowinjuly (USA)

Product has great sound and is very easy to set up. Mounted to the wall easily and connected to my Sony Bravia TV right away via Bluetooth. This is a major upgrade in sound compared to the TV speakers and looks great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

7

0

HT8500

HT-X8500 28 January 2020 by nicky177 (United Kingdom)

excellent soundbar very good features,great sound nice design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

10

0

Great features! Dolby Atmos All in one Soundbar

HT-X8500 26 January 2020 by Max03 (United Kingdom)

All in one sound is amazing, options of sound effect from remote and bass options too. I will recommend using an 4K HDMI instead of optical cable as the pass through isn't supported at all rates via optical. Dolby Atmos and Vertical sound is speechless! What I don't like is: not fully compatible with AG8 model, sound bar menu not displayed on TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

6

0

The mid range SB produces great music.

HT-X8500//M SP1 19 January 2020 by maverick 2020 (Singapore)

The vertical engine of this SB make listening to music a great past-time.The HT-X8500 SB pump out great music as compared to similar range SB, raising the dynamic range of the songs to the next level. The HT-X8500 is hooked up to the Sony 8000G TV and played back songs from my Samseng HP. Negative side is not able/ unable to use the ATmos sound engine.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

High tech specs

HT-X8500//M SP1 18 January 2020 by G Raj (Singapore)

The specs are impressive with dolby atmos, DTS:X and vertical surround for a reasonable price. The subwoofer incorporated in the bar saves space but at the expense of midrange and vocal quality. Movie setting may cause dialogue to be muffled, better to use standard setting

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Batteries!

HT-X8500 15 January 2020 by William the conker (United Kingdom)

Simple set up. Great sound. Couldn't work out why the remote wasn't working with the supplied Sony batteries. Swopped them out and all good. You don't expect supplied batteries to be stone dead!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

6

0

EASY TO SET UP

HT-X8500 12 January 2020 by MIKESCO (United Kingdom)

ONLY JUST GOT THIS VIRTUALLY A PLUG AND PLAY SET UP. WOULD RECOMMEND HDMI AS OPPOSED TO SUPPLIED OPTICAL LEAD. SO FAR IMPRESSED WITH SOUND

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

5

0

Mr

HT-X8500 09 January 2020 by GEOFFGB (United Kingdom)

excellent addition to my new sony tv which I registered thru Domestic and General on 7th January 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Nice bass sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 January 2020 by bevenoon (Singapore)

Nice design and easily installed. Sound mode auto change to suit different sound effect

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound Bar

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 January 2020 by kirbytan (Singapore)

I brought this about 2 months ago and my wife really happy with the atmos feature.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent

HT-X8500//M SP1 08 January 2020 by Clubmatt65 (Singapore)

Excellent sound bar. Easy to use n easy to connect to tv n hp

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

E, Exellent buy

HT-X8500 06 January 2020 by Lucky boy (United Kingdom)

Brilliant soundbar far exceeded my expectations in e ery way

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Just what I was looking for. Excellent quality in

HTX8500 30 December 2019 by 452Mary (USA)

Got this 2 days ago. Was a bit sceptical when Sony rep at electronics store said my tv and cable box would work as soon as connected. He was totally right. Didn't have to do anythink except connect 1 cable and plug into power.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-X8500 30 November 2019 by TV favourite (United Kingdom)

Looks stylish in front of my Sony TV. Good sound on TV channels and also for music and films. Easy to use and is synced with TV automatically. Very pleased with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Overall Addition!!!

HTX8500 26 November 2019 by Bob In Towson (USA)

Hard to find item but well worth the search!!! Walmart has a display item and online item but they say they are not available. Ebay is best bet...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic sound

HT-X8500 16 November 2019 by Dazu7 (United Kingdom)

Bought three weeks ago and no regrets, easy to set up and the sound is amazing,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

bad

HTX8500 12 November 2019 by gsk4 (USA)

I just bought the sound bar a few days later humming sound out of speaker and a couple days later sound just quit took it back to store and got a different sound bar it is still a sony this one works great

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Looks very nice and fits perfectly in front of my

HT-X8500 05 November 2019 by Drewbear (United Kingdom)

Have had it for a month or so and up to now i am very happy with it, looks good and sounds good. Had a few setup problems but Sony soon sorted it out for me with one short phone call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent quality and features

HT-X8500 02 November 2019 by michaelcassel01 (United Kingdom)

Bought with Sony XG90 49”. Easy setup and sync well with TV and SkyQ. Sound quality is very good and more than adequate for medium sized rooms. Easy controller. Enhances TV sound and viewing experience. Highly recommended!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good bit of kit

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Dickymint (United Kingdom)

Wish I’d gone for the htxf9000 as this is more compatible with my Sony 65” android tv. Didn’t know at time but would have worked better with theatre system built into tv.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Simple and effective

HT-X8500 28 October 2019 by Zebra999 (United Kingdom)

This was recommended by a Sony 'expert' in store and he was absolutely bang-on our requirements. Very easy to set up and works very well. Still haven't used all the pre-set sound options but quick tests suggest will do all it promises

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Good Soundbar

HT-X8500 27 October 2019 by Nicb (United Kingdom)

I bought this about a month ago and use with my 4K TV the sound is excellent and watching football with Dolby Atmos takes it to a new level

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by buffysaint (United Kingdom)

VARIOUS WAYS TO CONNECT TO YOUR TV, LOTS OF DIFFERENT SOUND CHOICES. I HAVE MINE ATTACHED UNDR MY TV VIA A SOUNDBAR MOUNT. MY ONLY ISSUE IS IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE AN ONSCREEN MENU

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

50

0

Soundbar

HT-X8500 14 October 2019 by dappadons (United Kingdom)

Good Sound, easy to operate, very pleased with purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

39

0

great audio atmos

HT-X8500//M SP1 30 September 2019  (Singapore)

I brought it together with the Sony 55"/8500 model as it is a matching pair for the sound bar. great picture and sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Neat compact unit

HT-X8500 29 September 2019 by Mike43 (United Kingdom)

A must for wall mounted TV, pleased with the sound from all sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

10

0

right size for my sony 43" tv

HT-X8500 23 September 2019 by josh 177 (United Kingdom)

Tidy design and well built. Sounds ok, vertical surround average. Easy to connect and set up but sadly only had it three weeks when power transformer blew up had to take it back for refund this may be a one off !

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best all-in-one soundbar on the market!

HT-X8500 17 September 2019 by Mahir007 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar about a month ago now and have been loving it ever since! I specifically got it as I wanted an upgrade over my old compact one with a soundbar that had more features (e.g. Dolby Atmos) and crucially, had full 4K HDR pass-through. This one ticked all the boxes, so I decided to buy it and I'm very glad I did. It has very pronounced & detailed bass (a suprise considering) and overall, great/clear sound quality that's a joy to experience. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great, fully featured, soundbar but is short on space and wants the benefits of an all-in-one unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

one speaker

HT-X8500 14 September 2019 by mreeee (United Kingdom)

very good sound worth the money just what i needed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Very disappointing purchase

HT-X8500//M SP1 04 September 2019 by Johnypg (Singapore)

I bought it 2 weeks ago and it failed after less than 2 weeks. This is definitely a very bad experience considering I was deciding between Pioneer, Samsung, LG and Sony. I chose Sony because of this so-called new feature, Virtual Surround System. Incidentally, it's this feature that failed me!! Once I activated this feature, there was continue distortion noises coming from the speakers! Now my 2 weeks old soundbar is with Sony Service Centre!! I've 75% to get it right but I've chosen a wrong product!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Very good value for money

HT-X8500 01 September 2019 by Frankie 540 (United Kingdom)

I purchased the compact soundbar last month was surprised with the overall clarity and detail.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Surround sound great

HT-X8500 17 August 2019 by Ted65 (United Kingdom)

Sound is great, Dolby atmos is fantastic feels that you actually there in the movie, would highly recommend compliments my Sony Bravia Tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Poor sound

HT-X8500//M SP1 11 August 2019 by Cclim (Singapore)

The sound is so poor when watching movie. Actors voice sound muffle.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

4