193

4.0 based on 193 customer reviews

100
45
23
6
19
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by Christopher44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Terrible sound.

HT-Z9F 05 October 2020 by Saxmangreg (USA)

I bought this six weeks ago with a 65" Sony Bravia TV and it's awful. The music floods out the voice, I've tried adjusting every aspect of this system, followed all the directions and it's just terrible. Don't waste your money. The picture on the TV is excellent but the sound is just awful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

193 Customer Reviews

0

HTZ9F Soundbar

HT-Z9F 25 October 2020 by James Venice FL (USA)

I've had multiple sound bars with Sony. This is the latest one we bought just about a year ago. Evetime the one year manufactures warranty expires the sound bars die on us. Spending 900 dollars on a sound bar, I expect to last for several years. This is not the case with the sound bars we have purchased. I would not recommend this sound bar to any. Save you money and spend the extra on a hard wired system.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

SWEET SOUNDS

HTZ9F 12 October 2020 by ONLYSONY4MEPLEASE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT SOUNDS SET UP IS EASY CONNECTS TO MY X900H PERFECTLY

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage

HT-Z9F 12 October 2020 by BenG1234fg (USA)

I bought this at Best Buy to go along with my new Sony tv. The sound is not warm at all, sounds like tin and the subwoofer is the worst. I have it as high as it will go and you barely hear any base. I had a friend over who asked if it was even working. As well,, I have the 2 rear speakers. You cannot make any adjustments to the tone at all. For as much money as this costs I would expect a lot better. Don't waste your money, buy something nicer. Btw- sounds great in the store which is how they got me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Great Features

HT-ZF9 09 October 2020 by islawight51 (United Kingdom)

I am extremely pleased with the quality of the Soundbar, the sound is amazing. I can hear very clearly the speech on movies now, using the cinema setting, which in the past have been drowned by background music. T.v. is good in standard, the depth of sound is superb in all features. would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

10

0

Terrible sound.

HT-Z9F 05 October 2020 by Saxmangreg (USA)

I bought this six weeks ago with a 65" Sony Bravia TV and it's awful. The music floods out the voice, I've tried adjusting every aspect of this system, followed all the directions and it's just terrible. Don't waste your money. The picture on the TV is excellent but the sound is just awful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Amazing Sound and Great Google Integration

HT-Z9F 05 October 2020 by SonyJohn17 (USA)

I am loving recent Sony products with Android TV and casting built into the Sound Bars. All my devices integrate easily with my Google Assistant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound bar with rear speakers

HTZ9F 03 October 2020 by CGMANOF6 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I am in the movie theater in my living room!! Love this system........Sony never disappoints.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Neat and affordable sound bar

HT-Z9F//M SP1 01 October 2020 by ML72 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this recently and found it works very well with my new Sony Bravia TV. Easy to set up and provides clear dialogue and good sound effects on movies. Bass module provides deep bass. The vertical effect /pseudo Dolby Atmos could be more realistic but works ok for the price. The rear surrounds that need to be purchases separately well match the set and is a must buy for the full surround effects to be realised.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Horrible, do not buy this product!!!

HTZ9F 30 September 2020 by malcala63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit new along with a Bravia XBR-65X950H so as to ensure no compatibility issues. Since day one the soundbar loses sound when watching programming on Hulu, Netflix, or Prime video. Sound will lost two or three times during a movie. You have to go to TV setting and select TV speakers and then go back to those settings and select external speakers to get sound to return to the soundbar. Very frustrating having soundbar with no sound! Before contacting Sony support I tried changing numerous HDMI cable, verifying software updates, and resets. Performed these again with Sony Support. Now I find out that I need to send this unit in for repair. Looking on the forums, it appears that I am not alone with this issue. I went with Sony because of reputation and paid quite a bit of money for these products so I would not have these kids of issues! I will definitely rethink my next purchase.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 30 September 2020 by Bill26 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Accompanies Sony tv. Surround sound good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

8

0

Sounds great

HT-ZF9 29 September 2020 by KB10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall it sounds and looks great although I seem to have a slight sync problem with my Sky Q programmes which I cannot rectify. The remote speakers keep dropping out at start up and I can’t get any sound when starting my tv until I reboot the soundbar.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

0

Sounds Great

HT-Z9F 22 September 2020 by Delaina (USA)

I've had this soundbar along with the wireless speakers that work with this soundbar and I absolutely love this system. The fact that it has vertical sound included, which does not require speakers in the ceiling, and bounces all over the room, makes this a great system for movies,music and other things. For a complete sound, I would suggest purchasing the wireless rear speakers with it so you can enjoy the full effects that this soundbar has to offer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HT-Z9F 21 September 2020 by Jose626 (USA)

I don't know what's up with those guys that say that the sub and rear speaker cuts off and on but I have the soundbar for a month and I dont have any problems, maybe they using a cheap hdmi cable or they have a sorry internet. No matter what 4k or blueray I play it works perfectly. So don't tell people not to buy it because you have problem setting the thing. I will recommend this soundbar to anybody is a winner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Atmos Soundar and rear surround speakers

HT-ZF9 17 September 2020 by Khy786 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ve had this 2 weeks now, bought the rear surround speakers which I say definitely helps with the surround sound. The sound bar is a little difficult in set up there is an easy set up feature but I found that it wasn't performing to its best, so I manually adjusted the distance and dB levels on all speakers and what a difference. Really impressed with the sound. Would of liked a bit of extra bass output like an extra bass button but its sufficient. The rear speakers are priced pretty high but I got £100 off buying the soundbar and surround speakers together. Overall great sound and quality and also goes well with my 65 inch TV but a little pricey but thats Sony products for you. You know that you've bought quality which will last years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

7

0

Sounds great

HTZ9F 03 September 2020 by BrdyMama (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This sound bar has really improved the audio quality of our Sony Bravia tv. Even news programs sound so much better. Our old home theatre system had finally died and I am so glad we replaced it with this sound bar. We may even get the back speakers for it later.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound........

HT-ZF9 02 September 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this few weeks back and pleasantly surprised...........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound but problem linking to LG OLED TV

HT-ZF9 28 August 2020 by PhilA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an older soundbar hoping to get better sound and full surround by adding rear bluetooth speakers. After linking it via the HDMI ARC socket on my LG OLED55CMLB TV the sound was excellent and the surround sound reasonable.Unfortunately when I switched the TV on, which automatically switches the soundbar on the sound started then muted then restarted again. After a few weeks the sound started as uual then stopped but did not restart. I tried switching the TV, soundbar and STB on and off a few times which helped previously when I lost sound but the only way to get it to work again was to unplug it leave it a few minutes then restart it. It is a real shame that this issue has arisen on such a prestigious brand. I am very disappointed. This is the second SONY electronics item with which I have had problems so I won't be buying anything electronic from them in the future

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

0

1

0

Good when it works.

HT-Z9F 27 August 2020 by Zacht26 (USA)

I bought this several month ago to pair with my Sony 75” X950G because that is what I was recommended. We get it home and set it up super easy and no problems. Then a few days go buy and it will not pair to the TV and there is no sound being put out. It would switch to Tv and audio system and the would say that audio system is unavailable. We called Magnolia and they said to bring it back since it was only a week so we are now on our second system. We have still had trouble with the sound being put out to the system. It has trouble connecting off of any thing we use to watch Tv. I will have to turn the system off. Then unplug the hdmi from the sound bar then turn the tv back on and plug it back in then change it in the setting to the audio system and it only works sometimes. So I have no clue what to do but for the price it should not be messing up!!!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

The Best

HT-Z9F 24 August 2020 by ZaboGuy (USA)

my favorite soundbar, because of the possible rear speakers. The 3.1 is amazing and the control over the center channel is refreshing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

not good

HTZ9F 07 August 2020 by ray810 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

unit will work sometime and other time it changes mode by it self.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Love the sound!

HT-Z9F 01 August 2020 by Thanos123 (USA)

Bought it last year and still sounds like new wohoo

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good But some Issues

HT-Z9F 31 July 2020 by timstack709 (USA)

I purchased this SB 2 weeks ago from Best Buy. When I first Power on TV (Sony A9G) and Sound bar the Input settings from SB comes on with "TV" not HDMI 1 with my Tivo. I have HDMI cable from sound bar (ARC) to TV (ARC) and the other HDMI input into back of HDMI 1 port with back of TV. Also have a PS3 connected to back of HDMI 2 port of Sound bar. On the TV Inputs I see 3 HDMI inputs connected (ARC, Player 1 & Player ) I tried setting the TV input to say "Player 1" but the next day it goes back to HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC) Is this correct? Should the HDMI Input always be using HDMI 3 (eARC/ARC)? Also Firmware of both TV and SB are up to date.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great Sound..Easy to Use

HT-Z9F//M SP1 31 July 2020 by vincenthah (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this 3 weeks ago...And never regret since then...Great sound with good punch of bass..

2

0

0

Great Soundbar

HTZ9F 29 July 2020 by Cham123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As with all Sony products, the Soundbar is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Clear sound

HTZ9F 29 July 2020 by Southern Gal (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the sub-woofer to accompany our new Sony Brivia TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great system

HT-ZF9 23 July 2020 by ceebee49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an oldish quite expensive surround system and was a little apprehensive that it wouldn’t sound as good. After setting it up I am very impressed by the ease of set up and quality of sound. I’ve yet to try it on a decent movie but am confident it will be impressive

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

9

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 22 July 2020 by Nurse23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Enjoying the sound quality and smart looks. Great connectivity to various sources.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great features especially the Dolby Atmos!

HT-Z9F//M SP1 22 July 2020 by SGComboKing (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought this less than a month ago, very satisfied with the sound quality and effects be it's used for gaming or movies. Simple to use and easy to navigate.

0

0

0

No satisfying bass & wide dynamic range

HT-Z9F//M SP1 16 July 2020 by chew711 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

No mid vocal clarity on dialogue Bit disappointing Yamaha soundbar is better

0

0

0

Sound disappears-TV restart needed-Great sound

HTZ9F 14 July 2020 by Areview (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this sound bar along with XBR65950G and have both of them since 6 months now. The sound is amazing from the sound bar. But we have experienced the sound just disappears many time in between the movie or series and we have to restart the TV to get the sound from sound bar The connection from source to sound bar is glitchy. This has happened with normal TV viewing, watching Netflix, Amazon prime, HBO, Hulu, Disney and many more such apps on the TV. The sound of the sound bar is amazing. But this issue of sound going completely out and needing to restart the TV in the middle is very frustrating. Hope Sony does something about this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Best for Small Living Room Experience

HT-Z9F 10 July 2020 by Ravkar (USA)

Bought this as open box from best buy, hesitate to buy at first, now its one year old, I'm glad my purchase was good.This sounds great, when you turn on vertical surround, sounds way different. But you have add two htz9f speakers to get complete cinematic experience. Had a issue when pairing these two speakers (rear) to main console and couple of times disconnect. After software upgrade seems this issue was fixed. Make sure you followed the guidelines as shown in the TV, for first time setup. If you have a perfect distance btw your main and rear speakers, you will feel the difference. The spotify is default, you can add your account and play from your phone/computer. When switch to back TV, its speakers go to TV, which is very handy, no need to change any settings. Noticed, sound experience is differences in some apps, may be depends on apps that your are using. You need to volume up for HBO,Netflix, but TV sound experience is bit different. Overall decent buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Sound cuts out on the unit. known issue

HT-Z9F 09 July 2020 by nate11 (USA)

The soundbar cuts out. Customer service has been less than adequate.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Awesome!

HT-ZF9 06 July 2020 by TheCheese (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this sound bar 2 weeks ago. I did alot of research before purchasing. At first I was going to be looking for a Bose as that's what I had before. That is before I heard the Sony! You really have to hear them ALL before you buy. The sound of the HT-ZF9 is amazing! It has great features and very easy to set-up. Go and have a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

bar stops putting out sound randomly

HT-Z9F 30 June 2020  (USA)

goes out often through the day changed cable, updates act. been happening shortly after purchase nov 2019 at. Best Buy. this has been a terrible experience. When I use the optical cable the same loss of sound occurs

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Cuts off/Subwoofer goes out

HTZ9F 26 June 2020 by ljphas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought during Nov 2019 during Black Friday Deals. Sound is great when it is working. Sometimes at random moments the sound will cut off. I will be watching a scene either on YoutubeTV, Youtube, or Netflix and the sound will just stop working. To manually fix this everytime, I figured out that I have to go into settings, switch the sound on the Speaker setting from Audio System to TV Speakers, and then back to Audio System and then the sound will come back on. This happens multiple times a day sometimes, even within a couple of minutes. Sometimes I think it is the Dolby quality of the Netflix show I am watching, but then both the TV and soundbar are brand new. In addition to that, the subwoofer does not always kick in. I will watch TV, the sound is good, but then the subwoofer kicks in at a random time and I hear the difference. I don't know why that happens either. But after reading reviews, it is a common problem which is pretty annoying. For the price and brand, this should not happen.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Solid Until You add rear speakers!

HT-Z9F 26 June 2020 by 06Dame (USA)

Purchased a few months ago as an upgrade over an older Samsung 2.1 set-up. Big improvement overall. Didn't notice too many issues. Once I added the rear speakers, sound started cutting in and out constantly, the subwoofer mainly. To temporarily fix the issue, you have to toggle RF on or off in the Soundbar menu. Quite an annoyance for such an expensive set-up. Sounds amazing when it works.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Sounds Great, but it mutes on its own at times.

HT-Z9F 24 June 2020 by Sound Bar (USA)

I bought this over a month ago. The sound is really nice. The only issue I have is that the sound bar mutes on its own. I then have to un-mute it by using the remote of the sound bar. Anyone knows how to fix this issue, other than a factory reset?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Always Sony

HT-Z9F 09 June 2020 by JBHII (USA)

Have had this for 1 month and am very satisfied. Works perfectly with new TV. Excellent sound!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Very Good Soundbar in a Nice Size Package

HT-Z9F 01 June 2020 by Jbirdnyc (USA)

The HTZ9F is a nice sleek design perfect for on the wall or on the table next to your TV. The slightly smaller bar size at 40" (many bars are 42-50") and my cabinet is 41" was a perfect match. Along with two HDMI inputs where the main reasons I bought this model. Although it would have been perfect if there was a 3rd HDMI input. The sound quality is good although I wish it delivered a better mid-range. Sometime the voice is hard to hear. The base is more than I could every need. I have the Bar connect to my router via ethernet cord. Plugged into the Bars HMDI is my 4k Roku and Bluray. Then I connect the Bar to my TV. Which was manufactured before HMDI ARC. The remote is Over all it performs well and delivers good quality sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great sound.

HTZ9F 25 May 2020 by AlexS33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought this item today, and the sound is phenomenal. Can't wait to purchase more sony speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Great sounds bar love the additional sa-z9r

HT-ZF9 09 May 2020 by Craziejae (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in december 2019, Great soundbar love the wireless rear surround sounds speaker sa-z9r, has awesome sounds quality for watching bluray movies has great depth and the surround sounds speaker adds to the whole experience!!! I have although experience sound drop out, and then the device reboots? It has,since had a frmware update which may have cured it, not sure yet. Still love it!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Great Sound in Small Package

HT-Z9F 05 May 2020 by bran88 (USA)

I've had this soundbar/subwoofer pair for almost a year now, and have had zero issues with it. The 4K passthrough for my Ultra-HD Blu-ray player has worked flawlessly and sound quality is amazing. When watching a 4K movie with a decent audio mix, it will blow you away (Bladerunner 2049 is best example). The customization of audio settings is really nice to fine-tune how you want the sound. I do not have the optional rear speakers, but sound immersion is no issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Superb sound for the TV

HT-ZF9 02 May 2020 by Charron (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this a month now and am really pleased with it. It was easy to set up and integrates seamlessly with my XG90 TV. The sound is excellent for just a soundbar, the sub-woofer really makes a difference. Very pleased with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Excellent sound with wonderful bass

HT-ZF9 27 April 2020 by Brownie33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago with a Sony KD 55 AG9 TV. Both products are truly superb. The sound bar produces fantastic audio with superb clarity and awe inspiring bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

35

0

Terrible

HTZ9F 24 April 2020 by LStep0418 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this with high hopes as all the reviews were very good, however, we have had nothing but issues with this soundbar! The sound constantly cuts out throughout every show/movie we watch. We have tried troubleshooting every option and still nothing is working! I'm extremely disappointed in this product, it was definitely not worth the $900!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

0

It’s a mess all around

HT-Z9F 22 April 2020 by EmanuelM (USA)

Neither the Chromecast nor the Spotify feature work on this unit. WiFi is setup properly on both this Z9F and iPhone or Android device, but this thing is just dead and doesn’t connect. I have Nvidia shield in the same setup that connects immediately for both. The BT sound from my phone with 320kbs quality is extremely disappointing. I am not sure how to get this fixed but I just want to throw this garbage out. Restarts, resets, changing network was tried and nothing works.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

7

0

Sounds great when it works

HTZ9F 19 April 2020 by Cjnords (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought this and a Sony 65 in Bravia tv and have had the sound bar repaired and replaced and the tv has had the main board replaced and still the sound continues to cut out randomly. Seems like it’s a known issue. I Won’t buy a Sony product again.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

4

0

Love this... but

HT-Z9F 16 April 2020 by Rjensen (USA)

Great sound and love with bluray and 4k dvd’s!! Since I started more streaming though, the sound drops except for sub.? I then have to switch sound mode to get the sound back. Its very random, sometimes only once and sometimes alot. Recently added a fiber optic connection but that didn’t seem to help.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

6

0

Sounded great in store only to hear about flaws .

HTZ9F 14 April 2020 by PaBigmo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a few weeks ago sounded great in store but during installation,Geek Squad said there was problems with using the hdmi cable because of issues so they used an optic cable.said Sony needs firmware update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

6

0

Full 4K HDR capabilities

HT-Z9F 13 April 2020 by Aeurelius2020 (USA)

I've own my XBR900F for some time now. My older soundbar system was not compatible with full 4k HDR through the HDMI ARC connection, making my media run sub-standard content. Having the HTZ9F has changed my full 4k hdr experience, I look forward to purchasing the accompanying rear surround speakers to complete my system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Great sound and good looks

HT-ZF9 11 April 2020 by Aitch JM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just purchased the HT-ZF9 to go along with my newly purchased 65” Sony AG8 tv, so happy with the result, they work well together, easy set and intuitive. Great value as I purchased Grade “A” equipment that really is as good as new

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great sound

HTZ9F 06 April 2020 by N2scbaff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got this a month ago and would highly recommend it with the rear speakers

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Sounds good.

HT-ZF9 03 April 2020 by bratters (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needs a way to program preferred HDMI input/ output so you don't need to change it every time you power on. But the sound is very clear and spacious. Sub woofer works a treat just behind my seating position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Sony Has Outdone Themselves Again!

HTZ9F 01 April 2020 by Lainiie (USA)

I am so impressed with the Sony HT-Z9F 3.1 Ch. Dolby Atmos® DTS:X™ Wireless Soundbar. Sony has always been a brand I trust when it comes to quality products and they have once again shown me why I always go back to them for electronic purchases. This soundbar is better than what I imagined. The setup was very easy and took hardly anytime at all. Just a few plug ins here and there and I was ready to go. I only needed to review the manual once or twice, because I have a 8K Smart tv and needed to do a few extra settings to make sure everything synched correctly. My tv is a 75 inch and I needed a really good soundbar that would provide amazing sound quality for such a large television. This soundbar definitely made that happen. The look is the soundbar is simple and sleep and looks great against my full entertainment system. I do have to use two remotes to control the tv and soundbar separately, but that really isn’t an issue. In the beginning I did gave problems with the subwoofer cutting out just during movies. It would happen 2-3 times and for only a few seconds. I even moved the subwoofer to the back of the room to provide a larger space for sound, but it still continued with the cutting out. After a little research and digging I found that this was a common issue with a simple reset fix. After resetting the soundbar I have not noticed it cutting out anymore. Everything is perfect and I couldn’t have asked for a better sound quality! I would definitely recommend it!

1

6

0

Really enhances and compliments the 4k TV

HT-ZF9 24 March 2020 by Rich2052 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product has met expectations and comes complete with a very comprehensive instruction booklet. Its really easy to do the initial set up and connect to internet. Further fine tuning for the individual speakers is also relatively straight forward! There is volume and bass to spare and a 4k DVD really brings out the best in this product. Designed as a wall speaker but is also easily adapted to attach to a TV stand. TV stand must have the relative bracket for this procedure!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good sound but poor connections

HT-Z9F 19 March 2020 by David in Illinois (USA)

The sound is very good and I like this bar more than any I have had previously. The main problem I, and others, have found is the connection to rear speakers and the subwoofer. Unfortunately, the system drops connection to the wireless speakers a lot and it makes enjoyment difficult. The only remedy is to daily turn the RF signal off and then back on. It's pretty silly and should be remedied. However, tech support from Sony has been frustrating and unhelpful. Other than this problem, I would get the system - just know that according to your environment, you may have to deal with this issue. There are sound system websites that have discussions on this issue and can provide you some information if it occurs with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

8

0

Seamless Sound

HTZ9F 16 March 2020 by jcgoyanes (USA)

My new Sony HT-Z9F system was a breeze to setup, especially with my Sony TV. The setup was seamless and the design is very minimalistic. The sound quality is superb for my game room and the kids enjoyed the sound effects from Lion King on it. All in all great design and not bulky.

0

7

0

Amazing

HT-Z9F//M SP1 12 March 2020 by Madhan (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I loved the sound when I first saw this in a store and then bought it a week later. The sound is so awesome that I am listening to more music these days. Even better when watching movies. A bit expensive but worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Sony HT-Z9F

HTZ9F 10 March 2020 by rws2285 (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F was incredibly simple to setup and get running. It took me longer to pull out my old receiver and 5.1 speaker setup than it did to unbox the Sony and start watching a movie. The sound was pretty impressive for a soundbar, and even slightly better than my previous 3 year old, mid-range 5.1 speaker setup with a dedicated Dolby Atmos receiver.

0

7

0

Good but I expected better

HT-Z9F 09 March 2020 by Disappointed Sony Fan (USA)

I've had the HT-Z9F and the SA-Z9R rear surrounds about 6 months now and bought it to replace a HT-NT3 that was beginning to have problems when changing input from streaming Netflix back to the cable box. For the price of the sound bar with the rear surrounds, which should be included with the Z9F since its the only bar they can be paired with, I don't believe Sony gave me what I paid for. It has the latest technology with eARC, 4K HDR, the newer Dolby formats, Hi Res Audio, the ability to fine tune for each speaker distance and control the volume of the main bar, sub and surrounds independently and so on. I would give it 5 stars for all of this but the actual sound just isn't worthy of 5 stars, not to mention the Dolby Atmos reproduction leaves a lot to be desired. I read reviews, researched and listened to the in-store demo's prior to purchasing so I had a decent idea of what I was getting but I've been left disappointed with the end result of the sound that I hear in my home. I'm a Sony fan and have bought Sony products for the last 20 years and will continue to do so even though the Z9F hasn't met my expectations. I have the Z9F paired with a XBR830C TV but intend to move it to the bedroom and purchase the XBR950H when it becomes available in the near future and honestly, I was hoping Sony would introduce an upgrade to the Z9F for 2020 but it appears they will not. The older NT3 provided a fuller, richer overall sound than the Z9F. The slightly larger mid's with independent tweeters provide a cleaner, sharper sound then the single 2" cones used in the Z9F. I really believe this sound bar could make a significant step forward if it had 3 of the 2 way speakers used in the NT3 and the ST5000. Bottom line, if Sony had put the attention into the speakers they used for this bar as they did making sure it had the current, up to date technology and the latest set of features, they may have produced a top of the line sound bar whose sound actually matched the feature set that they built into the unit. Unfortunately, I don't believe the sound produced matches all the features this unit has.....especially when the rear surrounds have to be purchased separately. It has a premium price tag for a little above average sound quality. Sony, please take the Z9F package and upgrade the speakers used in the main bar and you may just hit the mark for the audience the unit is intended for.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Good but bad

HTZ9F 06 March 2020 by svenergy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speaker when it works is a top notch speaker, but the bluethooth cuts out a lot and have to always go in and switch from auto to manual it is very annoying. Wish there was a way to fix that. It works for a day or so then it starts to cut out again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

great sound

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by Edward55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was easy to install and sounds great. Glad we decided to purchase

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

Love the Sound!!

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by alicia124 (USA)

I recently purchased this soundbar and I must say it is outstanding. The sound quality coming out directly in front of the tv versus having separate speakers and a receiver makes it simple and the sound so clear. We also enjoyed karaoke and having the sound coming out with separate karaoke speakers improves the fun and quality using it. The movie sound is just like being in a theater, I am quite pleased with this soundbar. We look forward to movie nights with the family, experiencing the effects of actually being in a theater, but enjoying in the comfort of your home.

0

3

0

Excellent Soundbar

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by Jlm80 (USA)

This soundbar puts out great sound and looks wonderful on our mantle. Setup up was easy as we followed the simple instructions to connect the soundbar to our TV. The sound is clear and the surround speakers add a great theater like quality. We watch TV and listen to music pretty much every day, this soundbar makes our experience outstanding.

0

1

0

Dolby Atmos With Just 2 Separate Speakers

HTZ9F 05 March 2020  (USA)

When I first read that this speaker has Dolby Atmos in just a sound bar I was a little apprehensive. When I set it up, cranked up the volume and played some Dolby Atmos videos, I was thoroughly impressed. Now I don't want to say that it's as good as a full surround system with ceiling speakers but for someone who just wants amazing sounding audio without the added cost of an entire sound system, this is certainly the sound bar for them. A week after my purchase I also purchased the rear speakers and those definitely completed the package but are by no means mandatory for great sound. I highly recommend this sound bar to anyone looking for a sound bar that can get close to the sound of a full system.

1

0

0

Truly awesome sound quality

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by contactmanish (USA)

I am totally impressed by the sound quality of this sound bar. The 3.1 channel output gives a top notch sound giving an immersive TV watching experience .The sound bar is easy to setup and use. The bluetooth setup was also very easy. I tried the sound bar in different sound mode ( Movie, music and others) and the sound quality is very impressive. Totally recommend this soundbar to anyone looking for theater like sound quality at home.

0

0

0

Awesome Sound

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by cyber99cobra (USA)

This thing is amazing! The sound quality is unmatched and the connectivity just makes things so much easier. We had been using the television speakers and when we installed this soundbar we were blown away at the difference. We are no longer backing up scenes to try and hear what is said because the voice feature that this has makes talking much clearer, not to mention everything louder and clearer overall. I don't know that we could ever go back to not having external sound again after this. It also is a beautiful peace that just compliments our setup. Absolutely love this soundbar and now we are already talking about getting the rear speakers just to add to it.

0

0

0

Great Soundbar!!

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by kacherry25 (USA)

Wow what a great sound bar! From the moment it arrived we were so excited to try it out in our basement. It was super easy to set up and didn’t take more than 30 minutes from start to finish. Once we had it set up we tried watching a movie to hear the sound quality. It was awesome and honestly felt like being in a movie theater! We then listened to music and it was just as impressive. You can certainly tell the difference between something of this quality and Wonderful brand. This sound bar really completes our basement, and I am so happy we got it!

0

0

0

Amazing Sound with Lots of Features

HTZ9F 05 March 2020 by amersonmd (USA)

The Sony HT-Z9F is an amazing device! From receiving the box to watching a movie while listing with the sound bar took about 45 minutes. Instructions were clear and concise and having the wall mounting template made the install process much easier. The ability to pair speakers wirelessly made the install of the sub-woofer a breeze. Once installed the onscreen menus for the sound bar and set up process were great. Having the option to auto power on the unit when my TV is turned on was a welcome surprise. The sound is immersive and the base is deeper and rounder than I expected. I'm still playing with the Chromecast and Bluetooth music streaming. So far being able to access my Spotify has been amazing. I punch a couple quick buttons on my phone and I' rocking out to my playlist. Pros: Quick set up Seamless integration with my TV Ability to stream my Spotify account Overall sound quality Cons: Yet to find any I would happily recommend this to anyone looking for great sound quality and ease of use.

0

0

0

Next best sound compared to the movie theater.

HTZ9F 03 March 2020 by Sugarmedic23 (USA)

Sony products are all amazing and this one just sealed the deal. I love that it has different modes. Each sound excellent. It pairs well with my Samsung tv also. My favorite feature is that it is wireless. Easy to set up. Great product. Have already recommended to all my family and friends. Thank you Sony and Insiders!

0

0

0

Great product and best to compliment Sony TV

HT-Z9F//M SP1 01 March 2020 by Doshi (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product and best to compliment Sony Android TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0