35

4.5 based on 35 customer reviews

23
8
3
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Just enjoy the music!

NW-WM1A 30 March 2017 by Lingjie (United Kingdom)

There are of course products with better sound in the market. But to me at this price range WM1A is the best choice, taking UI, design & battery life into consideration as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

High Resolution at High Price

128GB 16 June 2017  (Singapore)

The sounds quality is good despite the price is bit too high, software need to be improved in many areas!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

35 Customer Reviews

0

Excelent sound with few shortcomings

NW-WM1A 13 May 2019 by Pero Zdero (USA)

As most of the reviews emphasized, sound is excellent. As a reviewer before me mentioned, memory is small (128GB of which some is used by the system) and it supports up to 256 microSD card. I tried 512GB and it worked without any problem but that is not what SONY promises. As far as day-to-day usability, there is only one improvement I wish SONY implemented in some future firmware update. It needs "search" function. Something like on HAP-Z1ES would be perfect so we do not need to scroll through hundreds of albums etc. Please, it would be really helpful and probably not too hard to do.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound made marginally useful

NW-WM1A 31 March 2019 by glupson (USA)

The sound is great and many have mentioned it so I will pass. It is great. It supports up to 256 GB microSD cards. It is a sad joke for people interested in this level of player. High resolution? It takes space and this player is not that generous. This is the era of 1TB microSD cards and new cell phones support up to 2TB. This player, according to some owners, may play 400GB. That is not much, and it is not even officially supported statement, even with 100 GB extra that is on the player, for a high resolution collection. Please, make it possible to use higher capacity microSD cards. This is a great player, everything is really great about it, but small storage may be a deal breaker for many of us. Could you have a firmware that fixes this, please?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Excellent sound for an upmarket player

NW-WM1A 19 January 2019 by Nishy (United Kingdom)

As a very seasoned music lover and user of top end DAPs (Hifiman 901s being a direct comparator), I took a chance on Sony's WM1A (and also bough Questyle QP2R at the same time). I am delighted with the Sony for its excellent sound (-I much prefer it to A&K models I tried out), very easy and clear functionality (-having got used to absolutely no frills in the superb HM901s, the Sony gives you Bluetooth pairing and various sound options which are quite adequate for me and work as described), and enjoy unexpectedly good battery power (-having been used to swappable batteries for long air trips). The build quality is excellent, it feels heavy (-much lighter than the coveted gold model I would have instantly bought after trying but for the price!) and the touch screen (-after the updates) works perfectly fine...no lags in my 300GB + of jazz albums (600+ albums) in flac/a few in DSD. The OS handles everything without burden, a previous concern. The only irritant is a) it comes with no cover, b) more important the 4.4 balanced output is a pain as one has to match my JH Audio 13R2 Pro (recommended for quality sound) with new plugs etc. and I wish Sony had a more compatible socket or gave some suitable accessories with the player, c) no dock to my advanced amps...so only plain lineout from 3.5mm headphone socket seems possible - big flaw for me as I want to use it also plugged into my extremely expensive headphone amp. The Sony has a wider soundstage to my faithful HM901s which has gorgeous sound but is much less practical than the Sony. All in all, thoroughly satisfied with with 1A as a dedicated portable and hope Sony will keep up with software updates and occasional decent new models. Five stars also (unlike with other manufacturers including Chinese) for the UK Customer Service from Sony - they actually respond professionally to my query, thank you in a marketplace of thousands of MP3/DAP players.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Super happy with the WM1A!

NW-WM1A 17 January 2019 by Amused (United Kingdom)

Before buying the WM1A I had the Questyle QP2R which I bought bundled with the Focal Utopia headphones. While the QP2R excelled in technicalities and speed, I found its sound signature to be overly aggressive for the dynamic Utopia. So I decided to sell it and get the WM1A instead. Apart from being better built and with a much nicer user interface (including touchscreen), the Sony is extremely musical (something the QP2R lacks) and its bass is simply superb to any other DAP offering I have heard thus far. The soundstage is wide and airy, even through the overall signature is on the warm side. Acting as a server to the Sony TA-ZH1ES headphone amp/DAC (through the Sony BCR-NWH10 doscking station and Lush^2 USB cable), I am in sonic paradise. Just waiting for the Kimer Axios Cu balanced headphone cable to arrive, and then I will have a complete package for many years to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superior sound, and excellent features!

128 GB 29 November 2018 by Pasha12 (USA)

I bought a year ago and it just getting better! I would recommend to my friend!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent player.....but!

NW-WM1A 09 November 2018 by Martyn52 (USA)

I bought this player as I used to have an old Sony player which was lost many moons ago which was great. I have tried many other makes but I was drawn to this one due to excellent sound quality and ease of transfer. As far as I can see the only down side is transferring album art which so far has been impossible even after searching many websites. If they could sort this issue out I would have no hesitation in awarding 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic walkman

NW-WM1A 27 October 2018 by Tonybalony (United Kingdom)

Sounds absolutely superb, however the software to manage the files on your PC is still sub-par and requires a lot of improvement. iTunes it ain't.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Superb Sound

NW-WM1A 13 September 2018 by MSR HANTS (United Kingdom)

I've had the WM1A for a few months now. Physically it is well crafted, very robust, and in my opinion a beautiful HiRes DAP. The external buttons are well placed and the hold button (to disengage functions) is simple and well positioned. There are two gorgeous gold jack sockets one for standard 3.5mm and a 4.4mm for balanced cable. To get the most out of the WM1A it is recommended to invest in a balanced cable. The touch screen works fine perhaps lacking a little fluidity when scrolling but I don't find it an issue. There are a number of sound settings. The only disappointment with this device is the 'Gain' limiter incorporated in European version. This prevents the device from being used with some high end headphones (for me Sennheiser HD 800). The Direct Source setting for HiRes music requires IEMs such as Westone W60 to be played at volume between 70-110 with the standard jack but is improved slightly with balanced. To boost sound I use a personal setting with the equaliser. Overall once personal sound settings are set the quality of music is astounding. Well balanced bass, mids and highs, a wide sound stage and excellent clarity/detail. The reproduction for both modern and classical music is very impressive. Apart from the sound 'Gain' issue I am very pleased with this purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound great features

128GB 05 August 2018  (Singapore)

Loved the sound quality and the build quality. Wished there was WiFi chip so that I can use it with my Roon labs music player.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony Hight-Resolution Player WM1A

128GB 23 July 2018  (Singapore)

Im so happy with the Sony Wm1A ,The sound is so good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound but...

128 GB 23 July 2018 by justanother (USA)

I've had Sony ES equipment since I discovered it in Tokyo 30 years ago. I have a HAP Z1 which I love, matched with B&W and Anthem. I travel in the entertainment business and it's important to me to have great sound wherever I am in the world. But I'm having real problems transferring content from my Mac to my SD card and once again Sony's support is really weak. Everyone I demo it for flips for it but this product is less valuable to me than when I first saw it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

bedt Sound & build quality, usability needs work

NW-WM1A 11 July 2018 by dajw (United Kingdom)

This is an absolutely fantastic music player. Everything from the build quality of the unit through to the minimal user interface. The sound quality is exemplary-I listen on some balanced 5 driver custom IEMs and literally everything sounds better through this player. It has a slightly more bass forward profile than other devices I’ve listened to but I like that. I like that the Bluetooth features can be toggled. It works well with an Astell & Kern XB10 for wireless listening. What could be improved? I wish there was a way to suggest improvements to the UI. The ability to group music in compilations separately from the main categories would be good (like iTunes does). Right now any compilations just clutter up the artist view with hundreds of entries I just don’t need. In this regard, iTunes is better. I believe this is available in the metatata so should be an easy feature to add. I would like to improve the Podcast genre - e.g. controls for skip/go back 15s, remember position, mark as played, speed up etc. The startup time is a little slow. The Mac ‘Content Transfer’ app is very basic

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

TOTL sound, Feature packed and great battery life!

NW-WM1A 02 July 2018 by Dovahkiin (USA)

I love this player. I've owned many AK series and Fiio high end DAPs and I have to admit, the WM1A is the best priced player for extremely high value. I owned the WM1Z and I sold it when I listened to the WM1A. My only request to sony is to bring out another update with a USB DAC function like the ZX300 has, and make the UI a bit more streamlined when showing album art for files that are not 'Hi-Res'. Added to my 24bit FLAC and DSF collection, I have a large collection of lossless WAV format files and it would be easier to navigate to them if the UI allowed album art for these files to show as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sony NW-WM1A - Exceptional Player!

128 GB 27 May 2018 by jas328 (USA)

I had the previous version of the Walkman (NW-Zx2) and this tops it by a substantial margin. The sound is unbelievable! I have played professionally in symphonies and opera pit orchestras for years and I feel as though I am back in the orchestra while listening to the NW-WM1A. Don't need a headphone amp with my Shure SE846. Also have a 400GB SD Micro card and all works fine. Wow!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Awesome DAP

128GB 11 May 2018 by endlesswaves (Singapore)

No DAPs around this price range can beat what this awesome Walkman DAP in what does and what it offers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

handy.

128GB 11 May 2018 by xyz ato c (Singapore)

happy with the purchase. worth the money as the resolution is good. is user friendly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Product

128 GB 05 May 2018 by AeroSatan (USA)

If you're a fan of high resolution audio you owe it to yourself to experience this Walkman in balanced mode. So glad Sony is back in the high end consumer audio

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

THE BEST DAP IN THE MARKET!

NW-WM1A 22 February 2018 by Jonny1973 (USA)

Hi everyone I have my DAP with me for 2 days now, I use to have the NW-Z6 that is a nice dap to begin with HiRes music and a pair with the sony 1000XM2 Headphones with LDAC this dap is just incredible

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Sony Walkman for travel

128GB 12 February 2018 by Koh9288 (Singapore)

Excellent sound quality and ease of use. Solid build and small enough to pack for travel and use on long haul flight. Good upgrade for my DX90.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

EXCELLENT SOUND

NW-WM1A 13 December 2017 by Uommo (USA)

For me, the other characteristics are not important. The unique thing that is important is the sound. I've listened DSD, FLAC and other formats. The sound is fantastic. obviously, it depends on the headphones too. I recommend Sure 846 or MDR-Z7 or ATH M50x.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

If you're in the SONY team...

128 GB 24 November 2017 by Xiaomo (USA)

The first and only Sony walkman I owned is back in the 2002, an AIWA cassette player. After so many years we witnessed the vicissitude of Sony's audio product line, even to a period of time the NE20 and ZX1/2 looks like a joke to audiophiles. And now comes the wm1 series, which indicate the Sony engineers finally find some clues on how to manufacture a decent digital player. Admittedly, you can buy a Chinese DAP with less than half the price but produces the same or probably, much better sound quality. So why I purchase wm1a? First, its design is absolutely outstanding, if not the best, of its class; second, I can't bear the problematic OS of its cheaper competitors; and finally, perhaps most important, I want to own a "true" Sony walkman DAP, for me only the wm1 series deserves this honor. So, if you're in the Sony team, buy it; if not, the wm1 could still blow you mind if you think the ZX1/2 series are the "ceiling" of Hi-fi DAP. Otherwise, you got more choices than you think you have.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

16

0

under rated Digital Audio Player

128GB 26 October 2017 by catzombi (Singapore)

DSEE HX really changes the lower bit music. greatly constructed, feels great in hand. minus point is the search function without allowing you to search via keywords. pair it with a great sony earpiece and sony copper wire your music will shine!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Technology @ its best !!!

128 GB 03 September 2017 by Imadushka (USA)

I bought the Sony Walkman NW-WM1A last month. Sound resolution and reproduction Excellent... You won't be disappointed in getting this piece.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

0

0

Incredible! No Kidding, Really!

128 GB 23 August 2017 by Norm1153 (USA)

The WM1A replaced a well liked Sony ZX2. Yes, it absolutely is an improvement, even over the highly respected ZX2! More sound shaping options, and major hardware improvements.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

The winner by a longshot! Great work Sony!!

NW-WM1A 22 July 2017 by AudioFreak (USA)

Magnificent sound quality. Its plays slightly on the warmer side of neutral. Has crystal clear sound with warmish tonality, lush midrange and punchy bass performance. I mostly listen to rock music and this thing just really sparkles with thunderous dynamics. Classical music also sounds wonderful with nice smooth and clean treble with no hint of harshness. In short its great for ALL genres of music. I feel the best sound performance is experienced when you set the "high gain" mode on output settings. I've heard the sony zx2 and all models of Astell and Kern but this thing is just the best DAP for the money. It also has a phenomenal battery life. I have only one gripe with this item. The audio enhancements(tone controls, DSEE, etc) do not work on bluetooth streaming. So if you are looking to pair this with Bluetooth headphones you will not be able to tweak the sound if you may wish. Sony - can you please allow the sound enhancements on bluetooth as well ? Thanks! I'm very impressed by the sound quality of Sony products and also wanted to buy the HAP-z1es HDD music player to add to my high end sound system, but it does not have tone controls. Sony can you fix that through a firmware upgrade? Thanks!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

16

5

0

A solid product

128GB 29 June 2017 by Psychocandy (Singapore)

Soundstage, clarity and details retrieval are major improvements over my old Ak120. However, a lack of line out is a bummer. At this price point, this is value for money if like me, u can't justify paying more for the TOTL 1Z. I can assure u the difference in sound quality is not that big.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

High Resolution at High Price

128GB 16 June 2017  (Singapore)

The sounds quality is good despite the price is bit too high, software need to be improved in many areas!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sound waves !!

NW-WM1A 17 May 2017 by bombay welshman (United Kingdom)

Purchased over a month ago and generally very happy with the product. The instruction leaflet is very clear, (mainly illustrations). Probably better suited for child or female fingers rather than male, as control buttons are very close together. Sound at max is not very loud when swimming but otherwise very good. Overall, I'm quite happy that it does what it said it would do!!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

24

0

Loving it

128GB 11 April 2017 by Seanny (Singapore)

Bought less than 2 weeks and loving it everyday! Love the features but quote disappointed it doesn't comes with Sportify

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Just enjoy the music!

NW-WM1A 30 March 2017 by Lingjie (United Kingdom)

There are of course products with better sound in the market. But to me at this price range WM1A is the best choice, taking UI, design & battery life into consideration as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

0

0

Great Sound & Features

NW-WM1A 27 February 2017  (United Kingdom)

There are good things about the 1A Walkman and a few bad. First the good. Great sounds and packed with features. A balanced connection. Well constructed. A screen that doesn't smudge. The bad. Well the worst for me is that the UK model has the high gain setting removed. Over ear headphones need a high gain setting to power them or you end up turning it up full for a normal sound level. I have faith that Sony will give us a Firmware update soon to reinstate it. No problem. The other is the 4.4mm balanced cable. I have a pair of Sony Z7 headphones with a 3.5mm dual balanced cable. Sony should give all registered Z7 owners a cable upgrade for free. I managed to get a 4.4mm adapter cable from Moon Audio for it. I had previously gotten a balanced Silver Dragon V3 for it. The Sony OS is good. Some of the settings could be more better explained. Like the Type A and B DC Phase Linearizer. What's different about them. When you use the balanced connection you get DSD which is great. We just need Sony to reinstate the high gain setting and give registered Z7 owners a 4.4mm balanced cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

50

2

0

Superb build, great sound - I'm delighted!

NW-WM1A 02 February 2017 by Lemieux66 (United Kingdom)

I bought the NW-WM1A a few weeks ago and am delighted with it overall. Firstly, the build quality is exceptional - no visible screws, just high grade brushed metal and solid buttons with an excellent non-marking touchscreen. The leather back stops slippage on surfaces but is obviously not a good choice for vegetations. Synthetic leather would've been a better choice there. I'm not good with computers so was relieved to find the bundled Media Go software was genuinely easy to use. I've imported CDs, downloaded tracks from Hi-Res music stores and MP3s from Bandcamp too and it was all very simple to do. The User Interface is not as snappy as my iPhone 6+ but it has a certain charm in being unrushed! The options are intuitively laid-out and you have a choice during playback of Album cover art, spectrum analyser or analogue level meters. The EQ and other sound-enhancement options are comprehensive and effective. The ability to play so many file formats is great - even DSD downloads work faultlessly and an SD card slot really cokes in handy with these big files. The sound via the 3.5mm output driving my B&O H6 is the best I've ever heard them. I usually think headphones make the biggest difference to sound quality but here the WM1A delivers a definite boost. I suspect the amplifier quality has a lot to do with this. The music is big and precise, with good deep bass and uncoloured midrange for vocals. The highs seem to be perfectly balanced too. I've not yet been able to try the new Balanced 4.4mm output which promises more power output. I have a pair of Audeze LCD-3 here which should benefit from Balanced drive once I get the necesssry cable. Having said that the LCD-3 still sound great with the 3.5mm output. Complaints? Not many and mainly focused on accessories I'd like to see for the WM1A: There's no docking cradle available in the UK. The BCR-NWH10 works great but is available in Japan only. The digital output cable WMP-NWM10 is also deprived from UK customers. I'd really like to see these accessories released outside Japan to make the most of the WM1A. Also, as the new 4.4mm connector becomes more common, hopefully more Sony headphones and In Ear Monitors will be available with this connector. The range is currently only two models plus after-market cables which, again, are kept from UK customers. Hopefully it's just a matter of time for Sony to deliver here. So overall I'm very pleased with the WM1A. It's my first taste of true high-end portable music players and it does everything I want whilst sounding great and being of superb build quality. Recommended for people who love great sound and portable luxury. It's a real pleasure to carry around with you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

7

0

Awesome sound

NW-WM1A 27 January 2017 by PT88 (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my iPod Classic the difference in sound quality is night and day very easy to transfer my lossless tracks from iTunes to the Wm1a solid quality piece of kit, love it, my Etymotic er4p sounded great connected to my iPod. Connected to the wm1a they sound awesome, problem now is I will have to re rip all my CD,s to lossless to get the full benefit of this fantastic hi res Walkman.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

46

14

0

Dedicated Music player without distractions

128GB 25 January 2017 by Nuthead (Singapore)

This player does its dedicated job of playing music at its best. A must have for all music lovers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

A Great Detailed Player.

128GB 14 December 2016 by blazin (Singapore)

This player only starts to shines after 70hrs of use. As explained in the player, you need to burn in the player for at least 200hrs. It do not sounds so good initially although it has the details but after 70hrs things gets better, mids gets better and vocal got sweeter. Why this player is so bulky? Some might ask. Cause it probably have AMP built-in so it have proper power in the sounds and able to drive more power hungry IEM/Headphones. For 3.5mm port the output is 60mw+60mw. For 4.4mm balanced port output is 240mw+240mw. As expected from SONY, the interface is easy to use, have some nice added functions and longer battery life than most or all of the same grade players on the market. Some might think this player is expensive, but comparing to top of the line players, this player sound is comparable or even better than most. One of the most value for money and longest battery life around. It's

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

5