113

4.5 based on 113 customer reviews

85
16
5
3
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Beware if you are pairing with Ar7IV

SEL200600G 13 November 2020 by ADP62 (USA)

There is an issue I and many others are having only when using this lens with the Ar7iv. Firmware update has not addressed soft focus and sharpness on stationary objects. Appears to work fine for many however there is an issue not is not being caused by the settings.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

115 Customer Reviews

0

Very good for bird photography.

SEL200600G 01 March 2021 by GWP Multimedia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an outstanding lens for bird and wildlife high-quality photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent performance.

SEL200600G 01 March 2021 by Scall (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to replace a Sigma 150-600mm and the quality and performance are considerably better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good

SEL200600G/CSYX 21 February 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fast and professional. Easy to use. A little bit heavy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Terrible

SEL200600G 16 February 2021 by Jonnnunn (USA)

This lens has been nothing more than trash totally sucks can’t even manual focus

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great lens

SEL200600G 15 February 2021 by Sid9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had for about 2 months and very happy,I do love the internal zoom compared with other lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lightweight can use hand held

SEL200600G 10 February 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great lens bought for a trip to africa, wonderful for wildlife. Great zoom ring that you use with your little finger

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My change to Sony

SEL200600G 07 February 2021 by Krugerbill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens and a A7III about 6wks ago, a total change from using a Nikon D4 and 500mm F4 which I traded. The lens so far has only been used on static wildlife shots as the weather and COVID have not been kind. Fully open, the quality has been excellent even at high iso. It’s reasonably light and I like the customisable buttons to change camera settings. Love the easily adjustment of zoom using just a quarter turn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great with the A9

SEL200600G 31 January 2021 by MrXO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over a month ago along with an A9. The combination is great both at full frame and cropped sensor options. Focusing is fast and the pictures are pin sharp. Only issue i have with it is that its quite heavy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Best Telephoto len

SEL200600G 22 January 2021 by KamikazeDHB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this telephoto lens one month ago and is the best telephoto lens I used. I recomend this len to every photographer want to have sharp pictures for animals far distances from you or water extreme sports that you need to be outside in the sand. I used the len for both types of photos and the result is very impressive. The only thing is that the len is little heavy but you can fix this so quickly with a tripod or monopod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

SEL200600G/CSYX 21 January 2021 by Austin Phone (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Len last month ago and enjoy with my new G-Len 200-600mm.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Quality

SEL200600G 18 January 2021 by Buzz71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy I got this lens its taken my photos to the next level

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Worthwhile Purchase

SEL200600G 17 January 2021 by Tutivilleus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already had a lens that covered this focal length, albeit for my Micro Four Thirds cameras. However I have a Sony A7ii now and had heard that the larger light gathering properties of a full frame sensor, should produce superior results, plus I would have an extra 4Mp to crop into. Christmas was coming, there was a £100 cash back offer and Amazon was offering a £70 gift voucher if I bought it, so I took the plunge. My photographic opportunities have been a bit lean since purchase, but I am pleased with the results so far. They are not 4 1/2 times as good as the M4/3 lens price differential, but I am satisfied with my purchase. The lens is sharp wide open at 600mm and I like the internal focusing. I do not like the strap which is too narrow and uncomfortable to use. I have made a camouflage protective cover for the camera/lens combo and I have changed the foot for one which Arca Swiss compatible and also fitted a home made handle using a flash bracket and that gives me a steadier grip and I am getting away with sharp, hand held shots, 250th second iso 2000 f6.3. in the darker winter months. This will almost certainly be my goto long lens, but I will keep the M4/3 device for travel.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

I'd recommend it

SEL200600G 17 January 2021 by Jukeboxjohnnie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good to look at, great quality and build, carry strap lugs are brilliant high optical quality close to medium ranges, shooting things a couple of miles away not so good but this was likely atmospheric factors. I'd buy it again.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing long range telephoto lens

SEL200600G 08 January 2021 by chunkydunky139 (United Kingdom)

I have rented this lens and now bought it and am delighted with the ease of use and handling of lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding

SEL200600G 02 January 2021 by Sonyjed (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A brilliant lens. Can be used for a wide range of styles, from news, sport, travel it is light, perfectly manageable, very sharp and incredibly inexpensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Super fast autofocus

SEL200600G 02 January 2021 by Joshbinx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve only had the chance to use it twice due to Covid-19 restrictions but very exciting to have bought it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great lens for wildlife photography

SEL200600G/CSYX 30 December 2020 by Ninja Scroll (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens to try out bird and wildlife photography with my Sony A7M3 body. What I like: 1. Sharp and high contrast lens. Image quality is very good. 2. Internal Zoom. The lens does not extend out and shift the center of balance for the camera+lens combo. 3. Zooming from 200mm to 600mm needs only 90 degrees turn which make it quick for recomposing your shots. 4. Effective image-stabilisation 5. Reasonable price for the performance What I don't like: 1. Tripod foot is not Arca-Swiss compatible. I bought a 3rd party foot to replace it. 2. 95mm filter size means expensive filter 3. Heavy lens for hand-held photography. Need to use it with a monopod or tripod.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply brilliant lens.

SEL200600G 29 December 2020 by Dave2Smiley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this lens in the summer and it is my best purchase lens wise. Simple to use with perfect weight and super smooth motion. The tripod mount also doubles as a great hand held mount. The images are crisp and very good quality. Very happy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

sony lens

SEL200600G 24 December 2020 by twitcher2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

unable to leave a fair opinion of the lens as it is being repaired at a sony center under gaurantee

0

5

0

Superb lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 17 December 2020 by Balgor (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens for my APSC camera on Nov 26 2020 at first i was hesitant to take but due to good review on this lens why not give a try and i am blown away with the result fast and sharp focus even in apsc camera. Can't wait to upgrade to FF body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 09 December 2020 by paulsingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it a week ago. Performs well especially for birding. I wish Sony would come up with a lens foot to attach directly onto an arca swiss ballhead/gimbal

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Expanded my enjoyment

SEL200600G 06 December 2020 by Tscip22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned for @ a year, with the A7iii have had more fun with bird and wildlife photography. Can hand hold for about an hour. Have a very good setup with a Jobu gimbal on a tripod. BlueJay taken recently in Northern Minnesota.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great for birding

SEL200600G 06 December 2020 by Lindyloo 68 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought to replace my other lens as I needed more reach and its a great lens . I live in the uk so only downfall is in the bad winter light its not the best. Still OK though. It is slightly weighty so I brought a proper sling strap.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Beware if you are pairing with Ar7IV

SEL200600G 13 November 2020 by ADP62 (USA)

There is an issue I and many others are having only when using this lens with the Ar7iv. Firmware update has not addressed soft focus and sharpness on stationary objects. Appears to work fine for many however there is an issue not is not being caused by the settings.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

The Bokeh Equates to GM Lens

SEL200600G 11 November 2020 by Wildlife photographer (United Kingdom)

I’ve been using this lens for almost a year in various situations to know it’s strengths and weaknesses. Firstly, the reach of 600mm at this price is amazing. I also would like to commend Sony for making this lens fully compatible with both of its tele-converters. The quality of bokeh you get from this lens is very close to that of FE 600mm GM. What kind of bokeh you get is dependent on shooting situations such as distance to the subject and how far away the background is from the main subject, but when such parameters are spot-on, you get creamy bokeh. The focus-hold buttons are good to have, too, although the placement and the material of which can be improved. The AF is silent, and doesn’t cause any vibration. In terms of picture quality, it performs admirably provided you get plenty of light. You get sharp images under the sun. I use this lens exclusively for wildlife, and based in the U.K. we are not lucky with natural light all the time. Especially as the days get shorter, and the sun weaker, this lens’s small aperture becomes a problem. The camera bumps up the iso settings, and you get noisy photos. But I guess it’s a trade-off. The resolving power is another area where I felt I was let down compared to the previous zoom lens I used, Canon EF100-400mm L USM II. This Sony doesn’t resolve as much. This impression didn’t change when I tried different focal lengths. Of course, I shouldn’t be comparing a canon L lens to a Sony G lens, as they are not in the same class and the focal lengths are different but I thought I would include that just so that you know if you are considering making a similar move.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Excellent Long Zoom Lens

SEL200600G 10 November 2020 by DBHayes Art (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife & I each have this lens. Hers for her a7RIV and mine for my Sony a7RII. Both lens have been performing as we'd hoped.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing quality for price

SEL200600G 26 October 2020 by b12vjn86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as part of my move over to Sony from Nikon and I’m blown away by the build quality and image sharpness of a mid priced zoom lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great overall performer

SEL200600G 25 October 2020 by Brian 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought for motorsport and wildlife. Happy so far with the bird photography but no motorsport yet due to Covid rules. Unfortunately the 1.4x TC won't fully function with my 7Riii. Hoping SONY do a firmware update to rectify the issue. Works well with the 7iii and results are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Wow!!!

SEL200600G 23 October 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had chance to use this lens once since purchase, but I was absolutely blown away with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

beautiful lens

SEL200600G 22 October 2020 by Big Kahuna (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This lens has everything I want in a 200-600 zoom lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Phenomenal in every way

SEL200600G 11 October 2020 by Minister of the Bay (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this primarily for landscape photography with an occasional bit of wildlife. First of all - It is supremely sharp. Secondly - it renders a nice bokeh for bird photography. Thirdly - it handles nicely. There is nothing not to like about this lens.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

All Rounder Fast AF

SEL200600G/CSYX 10 October 2020 by LionelLCH (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago and started to explore a few genres such as wildlife and sports. Love the fast AF and the even weight distribution. Would be perfect if the tripod collar was fitted with one that could fit Arca-Swiss tripod directly.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

SEL200600G 04 October 2020 by Pyke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and so happy with this. At least it is a Sony product and get excellent result from photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

suit my style of photography

SEL200600G/CSYX 03 October 2020 by lim lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought a month a go for bird photography ,since than i am spending more time on photography

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

High quality telephoto zoom

SEL200600G 01 October 2020 by Idonothaveanickname207 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent sharpness allied to quick and accurate autofocus. A perfect match with the A9 for action and wildlife. Combination of lens and body IS allows for good hand held shooting experience. Internal zooming a pleasure to use. Lens hood "lock on" could be a little more positive and secure.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Super light lens

SEL200600G 28 September 2020 by 37sqd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome lens fantastically sharp using this on my Sony Fx9 camcorder for my wildlife films perfect!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

An excellent super telephoto lens

SEL200600G 23 September 2020 by BruceNE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens mainly for photograhing wildlife. As yet, I've not had an opportunity to test it thoroughly. But I was delighted with its performance recently at Washington Wetland Centre, taking handhold pictures of waders.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great zoom lens

SEL200600G 21 August 2020 by deevee312 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pluses: Small, light, affordable Internal zooming solid build Sharp optics Fast zooming IQ still good with 1.4TC Minuses: No Arca on tripod mount Heavy hood causing front lens element to detach Could be sharper AFC slower than 100-400mm and primes Bokeh so so too dim is used with 2X TC Not sure of differences with OIS modes

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great lens but:-

SEL200600G 09 August 2020 by Swanie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased about 6 weeks ago heavier than anticipated quick n sharp My main issue is the location of focus lock buttons they are positioned exactly wear hand goes for hand holding not great kept accidentally pressing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

200mm to 1800mm WOW!!!

SEL200600G 16 July 2020 by Echo Aux (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this because the 150-600 (to 1800) was not giving proper lens or mm info with teleconverters. The other lens was sharp and auto focus was good. after watching many reviews I chose the SEL200600 over the SEL100400 mainly for its internal zoom that limits dust into the lens but also I like critter, birds and some moon photography. I have the SEL24240 (360mm APS-C) and it is super sharp with a lot of reach but there are times you need 600mm or even 1200mm and then there is that 1800 (2x plus APS-C) that when you are 200 yards away and up high but want that closeup of a White Pelican in flight or Great White Egret in mating plumage that or a Buck in velvet in the morning fog is where 1800mm comes in. And you want the correct shot info in Metadata and that is where this lens combo with 1.4X and 2X teleconverters shine. For the good stuff is the AF and IS...On July 3rd night the Buck Moon was out so I put the lens on my A7iii just regular single shot settings... it lock on AF and IS kept it solid "HandHeld" then pressed the APS-C button and again another clear clear capture at 900mm. The next night the 4th it was out and this time with 2X, a clear 1200mm then APS-C a clear sharp 1800 "Handheld" and I am almost 70 to me that is impossible and that was my first use, WORTH EVERY PENNY to me!!! Look I have been using Sony since Sept. 2014 and the one most important selling point is value per $. Sony knows it is not the pros that keep them afloat and climbing but the guy saving pennies, nickels, and dimes for a dream of good gear that will last and will break that bank open when he has it. Every camera (A7S,A7Rii,A7ii) and from my first lens E 1018 (APS-C) used on the A7S in full frame @ 12mm for Astro Milky Way had pinpoint stars and no distortion with IS/AF and screw on filters $700 now $900+ (everyone FF or APS-C wants or has) 5 years and going strong and value +++. I still have my Canon Ftb from the film days and use FD 20mm f/2 and 24mm f/1.4 on my Sony as well as 35/50/80/etc, Sony made sure there were adapters for other gear when they started to bring other over. That is how Sony Thinks, way way out there. You will pass this lens down to someone and they will also. As soon as I took those first shots I ordered a Lenscoat for it with everything else and is like a bug in a rug. The last shot is with the E 1018 @ 12mm full frame talk about great lenses and cameras bought in 2015 still strong!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Precise focussing, excellent images

SEL200600G 14 July 2020 by PMCD3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had for only a week but absolutely love my new lens, super quiet and quick to focus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great value for the money...

SEL200600G 12 July 2020 by hoasjoe (USA)

A great value compared to the next closest 100-400 lens. The images came out sharp all the way up to 600mm. With a tripod bracket on the lens, it's easy to align the horizon and switch between horizontal & vertical for landscape shots. The auto focus tend to be slow and sometimes unreliable for a lens this size.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What a Fantastic Lens !!!

SEL200600G 05 July 2020 by S2020L (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I first rented this lens for a weekend. When I returned it I wanted to have a little fun so I told the guy I didn't get one good picture. He was quite surprised and said "really ??? " Then I told him I actually got a couple thousand GREAT pictures :) So I then returned the rented lens & walked out with a new one. Getting this photo of the moon was what made me decide to buy this lens And here is a cropped in pic of the head of a Sandhill Crane

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Love it but!

SEL200600G 03 July 2020 by SteveIOM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the lens which I twinned with a new A7iii. Photos sharp, verry happy. Others have seen it and also considering change to Sony. Only disappointment is the fit of the lens hood. It keeps falling off. Have resorted to carrying gaffer tape to secure. Hence only four stars. It would also help to include more detailed instructions to include birds in flight tips etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Image quality is outstanding!

SEL200600G 01 July 2020 by gabrady46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am using this lens on the A6300. I don't know why I waited so long to buy it. I was content with my Sony 70-300 but just couldn't fill the frame with my subject sometimes. The 200-600 FILLS the frame. I have used it exclusively handheld and couldn't be happier with the results. Make no mistake this is a 600mm lens and feels every one of its four pounds. But after several days of practice I feel comfortable with it. Two important points: learn to use the zone focus for birds in flight and flexible spot small for stationary animals. Even with the lowly a6300 this lens just plain works.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

N.A

SEL200600G 30 June 2020 by DRHA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last week, have not had time to try in the field but seems to be good quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

"AWESOME ZOOM LENS!!!!!"

SEL200600G 20 June 2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this SONY 200-600mm 5.6-6.3 G OSS lens looks and feels like a $5,000.00 DOLLAR Lens. I bought this along with the OUTSTANDING SONY 2X Convertor. This lens is an EXCELLENT VALUE! Extremely Sharp with FAST INTERNAL Focusing. It is built like a TANK but doesn't weigh like one.The following photos were taken all on my Sony A6500 The Wood Peckor was taken in very low rainy light @ 4000 ISO

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

19

0

0

Magnificent lens

SEL200600G 14 June 2020 by Stac (United Kingdom)

This lens is a masterpiece, such a sharp lens, I highly recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Very versatile lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 12 June 2020 by hj123 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a travel lens as it’s very compact yet packs good performance. Very smooth focusing and feels solid. Only minor flaw is the lens hood assembly. Comes off quite easily. Room for improvement but nothing serious.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent piece of kit

SEL200600G 12 June 2020 by Dave2020 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is an excellent lens and I found that after an hour or two practising I was taking really good images with it. I enjoy wildlife photography and this lens will help me do that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exactly what I need for wildlife photography

SEL200600G 10 June 2020 by Philbute (United Kingdom)

Still getting used to it, so far I'm delighted. It pairs superbly with my A7R3.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Meets my expectations

SEL200600G 09 June 2020 by Rob 38 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only limited use in my garden because of lockdown but satisfied with pictures taken

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not too heavy long lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 07 June 2020 by KG Teo (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it after testing my friend’s lens during’Stay at home period’. Also took it to work n case something interesting pops up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding lens!

SEL200600G 04 June 2020 by JRIDLEY1 (USA)

Picked this lens up in March 2020. I traded in my Nikon gear. And now have a Sony A9II.This lens is fantastic super sharp focus very fast. I just love it. Just as sharp or sharper then my Nikon 500mmf4.So far it has been a joy to use. also Sony support freaking blows Nikon away. Great lens for birds in flight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great feature and very sharp lens

SEL200600G/CSYX 01 June 2020 by Henry73 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I m happy with this lens which I can have longer focusing and it very sharp and great photo which expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Smoothly sharp

SEL200600G 31 May 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a big lens. Got a big lens. Job done. Not buying for professional use, the cost of the lens was on the edge of affordability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome lens!

SEL200600G 16 May 2020 by WarGriff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not taken it off My A9II since I got it! Picture iq is outstanding at all focal lengths, Af is faster than My 100-400 GM. You guys (SONY) hit a home run with this lens and I'm very pleased with everything about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Perfect combo of Optics and Prize

SEL200600G 10 May 2020 by hargou23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

You might but tamron or Sigma for lesses prize, but the auto focus on this lense is extreme, and matches 90 % to its big brother ,600mm F4 GM( prize 12000$)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great lens, but with a problem

SEL200600G 10 May 2020 by thegreyfox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product about six months ago and was extremely impressed with all aspects. I particularly like the programmable buttons on the lens, which I used for the DMF function for fine tuning focus. However, over the last two weeks the lens has developed a fault, in that it will not focus at maximum ( probably between 550-600mm) zoom, and you have to reduce the zoom in order to focus, which defeats some of the lens purpose!. The camera makes a whirring sound, which suggests the focus motors are at fault. Because of Covid, I have not taken things further as yet, but am extremely dissappointed that my "go to" lens" requires some fudging before you can use it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great wildlife lens.

SEL200600G 30 April 2020 by Fatbobby1226 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A sharp well made native lens from Sony. I really like that the zoom is internal which improves the weather sealing.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent Wildlife Zoom

SEL200600G 28 April 2020 by jloz (USA)

Finally an "affordable" option for shooting (photos) wildlife. This lens performs great in well lit environments and focus is fast and accurate. When zooming in and out, the lens feels steady since the lens extends internally. The focusing mechanisms are quiet which is a must when taking photos of easily startled wildlife. The only issues I have with the lens is the lens hood and the weight (to be fair this is a 200-600mm lens). The lens hood does not lock like the 100-400 GM. It can easily unmount when hand holding the lens. The weight will affect when shooting handheld. Although, I recommend using a monopod or tripod when shooting for long periods of time. All in all this lens is fantastic. The IQ is GM quality. This lens pairs well with the α9 or α9II. I use it for my α7RIV and it works great. I highly recommend this lens for wildlife and sports action photography. You will not be disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent quality and good price.

SEL200600G 28 April 2020 by Seekyman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent quality, light weight, internal focusing. Just what you need for bird, aircraft and nature photography. A very good addition to my lens collection.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

sharp

SEL200600G 17 April 2020 by button (United Kingdom)

Heavy to hold but the sharpness at full zoom is outstanding. Works much better on my a7riii than my a6300 which struggles with focusing with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Wildlife Lens

SEL200600G 16 April 2020 by Houseman75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this "today on 4-15-2020" but the registration page it says this lens was bought in February, I don't really get that unless it was when Roberts Camera bought it along with two other new ones they had in stock.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome telephoto lens

SEL200600G 13 April 2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm an amateur photographer and needed a lens with more zoom than my current 200mm lens. I spent a good few months watching reviews on youtube and finally decided to go for it. I've taken some great photos or birds and the moon with amazing detail and clarity. I have been using this lens hand held. It's quite heavy so takes some getting used to but it's worth it. Remember to set the camera to a fast shutter speed when hand held! I'm super happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Depends on which camera you are attaching it to.

SEL200600G 10 April 2020 by cnaray123 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

There seems to be a incompatibility with the A7R4 for a lot of users. I'm hoping that the next firmware Sony issues will correct this. The hit rate of good photos to bad is a 3 in 10. I understand it works best with the A9M2 for tracking. It's really not the lens, I think. I am having a problem, but that might be because I use it on my A7R4.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Very Good

SEL200600G 02 April 2020 by P_C_L (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the lens a month now, and used in conjunction with my A7R IV, I'm really pleased with it. Very quick focus, very accurate focus, very sharp, very low distortion. Excellent lens for the money, thoroughly recommend ☺♥

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Sony 200-600 G Lens - Best for aviation & wildlife

SEL200600G/CSYX 29 February 2020 by JF Liu (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this lens 1 month ago for Singapore airshow 2020. Autofocus was quick and sharp and track onto the subject accurately. Very good lens to be use in the zoo as well, allow you to capture closely on the subject which you will never get to do with a normal lens. Great lens!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still exploiting its capabilities

SEL200600G 27 February 2020 by subs57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 1st large lens, and I am still getting used to handing this physically large item, and while the hand held shots are good, they can be a lot better. I will improve with experience of course, but my opinion is that to get the maximum results out of this lens, a sturdy tripod and mount is required to fully exploit its capabilities. (Hence 4 *)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing performance telephoto

SEL200600G 27 February 2020 by Engineria (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Acquired this last month, and the performance is great, the lens is very compact for 600mm and measures less than 330mm with the lens caps on, so fits in my lowepro flipside 200 bag.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent build quality

SEL200600G 25 February 2020 by Johnwildlife (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this lens because I heard that it was good build quality and excellent for wildlife photography. I have changed my whole system to Sony after being a Nikon photographer for 35 years. I believe you are more advanced in you Mirrorless system and the sharpness of your lenses is excellent. I am waiting for the 600mm to arrive in the next week or so.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

The best budget option for wildlife!

SEL200600G 25 February 2020 by MEARNGCSM (USA)

Excellent sharpness and ease of use! I paired this lens with the A7RIV and have been very pleased with the results. Not the best for low light but overall I love this lens!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0