10

4.7 based on 10 customer reviews

7
3
0
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

14 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing feature, complicated, too small

Body Only 15 October 2019 by AllIsWellInNJ (USA)

Amazing feature set, complicated, too small to use efficiently and effectively... Used it first time on a 3-day weekend shooting movies and many stills. Very, very complicated camera operation - mostly due to overburdened and quite unnecessary features set in a camera this size (for the intended audience of enthusiasts travelling light I suppose). Manual is 634 pages! This camera made me firmly believe that smaller is NOT better - looks great on paper - and it is feature-wise - but operationally its a bit of a bust. e.g. methodology to upload pictures or videos to PC or smartphone (iPhone) is way, way too difficult (and flaky). And why do I have to use special software apps to do it (maybe I didn't read enough of the 634 page manual :-). Bottom line: Anyone interested in spending upwards of $1300 for a camera should really look elsewhere no matter how "great" the reviews and etherial the features of the RX100M7 (Mark VII) are. Who needs all that magic in a travel camera? I dare anyone to use it effectively outside the "auto" mode without the 634 page 1.5"x 8.5"x11" 2-sided printed manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Fantastic in every aspect

Body Only 07 October 2019 by ArturoN (Singapore)

I decided to travel light. I'm a user of DSLRs .... and until now almost no small cameras could compete with the fast focusing of DSLRs. Well.... this small wonder can! Really top quality images and amazing fast and precise focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

so far so good but initial problem with warranty

DSC-RX100M7G 05 October 2019 by didcotdude (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a few weeks now and so far so good, just need to get to grips with all the features. I had a Canon G16 Powershot before. There was a problem though. In what appeared to be a sealed camera box, the extended service plan card had been scratched off already! I tried to enter the number to register and it was not accepted so I can only assume it has been used before!!! I'm currently in dialog with Jessops who sold me the camera to try and sort this out. Will provide a more in depth review later once I have used the camera a bit more

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Unbelievable, so many features and so well made.

Body Only 03 October 2019 by Ken206 (USA)

I bought this from Amazon 3 days ago and can't believe all of the features and how will built the body is. I also own the A7r III and find the menu system in both to be so similar. When I can't carry the A7r iii on long walking trips I now have a very similar camera that is so easy to cary and that mirrors the larger full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My ideal camera

DSC-RX100M7G 28 September 2019 by BarryBull (United Kingdom)

Retired mostly food still life photographer. Wonderful change to use a compact camera giving all the high quality images that I look for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

The Best Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 21 September 2019 by 8064Sta (USA)

I bought this camera several weeks ago and used it during my recent trip to Europe: Netherlands, Belgium, France, Spain, Portugal, Gibraltar. This was a upgrade from the RX100 M2 (which has been my go to travel camera for many years). The VII performed superbly both for still photos (love the new auto focus capabilities) and video. Only downside is the battery life is worse than M2, but of course with the continuous auto focus, etc. I'm not surprised. What makes this a truly great travel camera is the 24-200 mm zoom. Yes you do pay a penalty in minimum aperture vs my old M2 but with stabilization and excellent high ISO quality I can live with that to get 200 mm on the far end of the zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

My first compact camera

Body Only 19 September 2019 by andrewtck (Singapore)

Bought this 2 weeks ago, after thinking about getting one a few years ago when the M4 was released. I already have a DSLR, but wanted a compact camera that would be easier to shoot with on the go or in smaller spaces. Glad that I have finally bought it; the RX100 M7 is the best so far, so it is really worth the cost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

GREAT CAMERA BUT!

Body Only 19 September 2019 by DrMike (USA)

I can't say more positive things about this camera but its missing one thing a writen Manual. I see one online but it is a pain in the neck to always have to go to the computer and look it up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features but poor ergonomics and menu system

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 12 September 2019 by shieldwulf (Singapore)

Packed with lots of features including wifi and bluetooth connectivity. However, as is in-line with many Sony mirrorless and compact camera bodies, the interface buttons are tiny and lacks tactile responsiveness. I am not sure if I pressed a button or not. The navigating menus are designed as if the intent is you want to geek out the features and contents, instead of focused on the task of shooting. It wins by the features and a great compact tool for videography but the RAW image output is restricted in size and overall still image quality is average in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Innovative technology and quality products

Body Only 23 August 2019 by mousa99 (USA)

This is my third RX100 compact camara, I love the portability and all the new almost professional options available, very happy to own this last VII version!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Had it only two days and shot 7 GB of video

DSC-RX100M7G 23 August 2019 by Highwater Media (USA)

I pre-ordered the Mark V and received on the 22nd. I did an interview for a customer and got some outdoor video of the area. I did it all in 4K and the results were excellent. I did have to search for the video as it wasn't in the DSC folder. Which did give me a mini-heart attack at first. The rapid focus and facial focus were perfect. As during the interview he picked up items to show and the focus stayed on his face, even when he was off center. The effect was amazing and I hadn't even read the manual yet. Bravo to Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

First Impressions

Body Only 21 August 2019 by TimG1677 (USA)

Extremely cheap packaging. The camera is made in China (big disappointment for a premium product at this price point). The camera doesn't necessarily come with a charger but rather a cable to plug your camera to ( not a big deal just buy a triple charger with 2 extra batteries on amazon for $29 and you are good to go). The instructions are non existent ( single page is all you get). The app that allows you to control the cam and utilize other features is absolutely unusable. It requires a lot of tinkering to understand how to make the eye tracking work. Don't even think about utilizing 4k video unless you buy a UHS I - 3 sd card. It will not work with the older ones, not at those speeds. It is a tiny camera with a lot of features and an absolutely astounding fps shooting abilities that will take more than one day to give adequate review to but amount of noise in low light conditions is a bit much ( I have yet to tinker with iso so it might not be an issue once you properly set all the setting). So 3 takeaways : 1. No manual to speak of 2. Buy UHS I or higher SD card 3. Get extra batteries with a charger because the camera doesn't come with a conventional charger.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

2

0

Seems really well built

DSC-RX100M7G 19 August 2019 by Nikon to Sony (USA)

Just opened the box, and my first observation is it is so little. Pocket sized of course, but coming from an a7III, it is small. This will be my sneaky camera when I want to be unobtrusive. The menus are virtually the same as the a6500 and the a7III, so it was easy to set up. The first one or two shots were equal to the a7III, but I expect that there will be things the a7 will do that this will not do. So far, charging the battery and then taking it out for some real world tests. Fingers crossed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic Shots from a small unit.

DSC-RX100M7G 27 July 2019  (USA)

Have used it several times, itz easy to learn the different abilities & takes stunning picX. ALL OG KUSH users should look into this for great picX.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

32