60

4.3 based on 60 customer reviews

31
23
2
2
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7G 19 November 2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

33

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom)

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

60 Customer Reviews

0

Nice camera, limited windows support

Body Only 31 May 2020 by ThisGuyIKnow (USA)

They ended support for their raw codec in windows. This is a huge negative to me. Sad I purchased this camera now since it's now several extra steps to view the photos I took.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony ARW file format Poor

Body Only 30 May 2020 by NEARACTOR (USA)

I purchased the camera primarily because of the RAW capture feature. Found the Sony ARW file format difficult to convert.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 30 May 2020 by TommyJames (USA)

I had the RX100M4 and this is an upgrade. I used the M4 for three years and loved it and now I'm thrilled to add this. I love everything about the camera and because of the small size, I use it frequently. It's far more practical than carrying a large camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

the best quality camera made

DSC-RX100M7G 29 May 2020 by leezza (USA)

I bought this as soon as it came out and I love it. I really wanted to try the new Sony ZV-1 but they are all ran out and the RX100 took some of my money. I'm not complaining. I do recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AF!!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 02 May 2020 by Camera Gal (USA)

This is my fifth Sony RX100 and the best one yet!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact quality

DSC-RX100M7G 15 April 2020 by Notpiks (United Kingdom)

I was given this for my birthday because I take photos for a walking group. Unfortunately because of lock down I have not been out as usual but I am trying to get used to the cameras myriad of features. The build quality is amazing. I did want a small camera “all in one” which it is but the small size takes getting used to after big cameras. Just what I need for climbing styles and muddy fields! Still great quality photos

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great camera and video device for travelling

DSC-RX100M7G 04 April 2020 by Stephent122 (United Kingdom)

I bought this as an upgrade to the WX500. I wanted a camera I could take on holiday which allowed me to take great pictures and video. This will do that. However, the Covid-19 outbreak is keeping me at home and I haven't yet had a chance to go through all it's features. I love the quick autofocus and the optical zoom. The new microphone jack means I can record good audio without as much win noise through an external microphone. I have recorded a short video as part of teaching amateur radio and it worked well. The big downside is price. It really is a lot a money. I am hoping to have it for years but technology does move quickly so I wonder if it is value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Fab Features and Pics

DSC-RX100M7G 31 March 2020 by Oxford Cherry (United Kingdom)

I researched long and hard before buying the Mark 7. I was look in g for a DSLR quality camera without the need to carry round loads of lenses when on holiday. The Mark 7 is very good at most things I was looking for, ease of use, battery life, sharp images and compact. 4K video is great, the hinged view panel is really good, shame it’s not ‘touch pad’. Some say it’s small size makes it difficult to hold; I don’t have any issues with this but have recently bought the Sony handle and small tripod. Although this is £100ish it’s well worth it and makes use even better. Great camera, I love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Quality product,great pictures/video

DSC-RX100M7G 30 March 2020 by IP11 (United Kingdom)

Only negative is the 5 minute limit on 4K video recording,everything else is great for such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great Autofocus and Powerful for the size

DSC-RX100M7G 18 March 2020 by Birchy2000 (United Kingdom)

I got this camera for it’s compact size, great features and its 1” sensor. I intend to put it in a waterproof housing for scuba diving. So far I’m really happy with it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

The MENU is still a jump around system

Body Only 16 March 2020 by TC3444 (USA)

I have had a RX100M1 from when they came out and enjoyed it because of it's size and picture quality. My wife has heard me say I would like a tilt screen and a viewfinder so for Christmas I got the RX100M7. I did not think Sony could make their menu system any more complicated but I was wrong. The picture quality I'm still not sure of. Still like the size. I would recommend the camera to a friend because of size and lens but price and menu would be a hard sell.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Professional camera in compact size

Body Only 26 February 2020 by huiming (Singapore)

Effortless photo taking experience, dependable AF and beautiful image quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 25 February 2020 by Stew the brew (United Kingdom)

Great all rounder Semi Pro Camera that fits in your Pocket, I have had The RX100 V, VI and now the VII, Although not a dedicated Sony user, this is one camera I keep coming back to, It has Great Pro Features all I a handy small Camera. Great for days out or trips when you don't want to take one of your Larger DSLR's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

My Eyes Have Been Opened!

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 23 February 2020 by UltimateTerrainMagLance (USA)

As a working photojournalist in the off-road industry, I've spent many years working with digital cameras. Truth be told, I'm a "Nikon Guy" with all of the professional Nikon gear you could ever want. I was in the market for a camera that was portable and made the process of shooting video content simple and quick, with outstanding quality. I toyed with the Nikon mirrorless offerings and honestly wasn't that impressed. A friend turned me onto the RX100 platform and since then, it has been an amazing purchase. The eye detection in video mode is better than anything I've ever used. No drama. No crazy setup. It just works! The addition of the external microphone port makes it an even greater camera, since I already had a few other high quality external microphones to use. I'm beyond impressed with this camera. I never considered moving to a Sony mirrorless DSLR before....but this new Mark 7 is making me seriously consider abandoning ship and heading to Sony for good!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

The best compact camera

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 20 February 2020 by mitztk (Singapore)

I have used RX100 II before. VII is relatively improved many points! Auto Focus speed, apearture range... Personaly, I loved the function that save geo tag in a photo with bluetooth connection. I always want to track location from EXIF. my concern is finally solved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor build quality and long delay in repairing

DSC-RX100M7G 18 February 2020 by swingman (United Kingdom)

I bought this as Christmas present for me and used it on the Christmas day and for a wee after it. Only taken about 100 photos and 5 video clips. hoto quality was bet below par but it's early days and hope it would improve with usage. The main problem was that the camera wouldn't engage to computer to download using WiFi. After spend few days by changing setting and trouble shooting secession with 'customer services' it was decided that it needs to be sent for repair. I was told after few days that it would take longer to repair implying serious fault. I then asked for a new replacement as the unit was not fit for purpose and only a month old. I was told that they can't do that. After paying a premium price for the compact camera, now I have to wait don't know until when to get my camera back. At this price point I would expect top quality fully working camera out of the box. On paper this is one of the top cameras in this segment but reading at various computer forums, many had quality control issues. A camera is only good if one can use it.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

Great little Camera for travel

DSC-RX100M7G 15 February 2020 by Foto Jock (United Kingdom)

I bought this for use on a Travel Holiday and I am not disappointed with its features, so much in a small (almost) pocket sized camera. Only gripe is the raw files are Sony's own, I don't think I would have purchased had I known. Capture One Software not very user friendly in my opinion and would be better to have had a generic raw file in my view in which case it would get 5 stars so a little dissapointed as post processing will not be as simple as I had hoped.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Works well

DSC-RX100M7G 14 February 2020 by bobr666 (United Kingdom)

Have been using a Sony Alpha 7s as my main camera for work (I do a lot of reports as a technology journalist). I love that camera especially with the 24/240 lens, but got fed up with the weight around my neck for days at a time. I also found the focus was a bit slow, so I often found on processing that close ups were out of focus, which was frustrating. Changed to the RX100 VII to reduce weight and improve focus. So far, I have only used it for two events - the weight is much better and with a 'sling' strap, the ergonomics are much better. Quality is not quite as good as the Alpha, but shooting Raw and with DXO for processing, it's good enough and not far off the Alpha 7. After the first event, I still had some focus failures, but fewer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Fantastic camera

DSC-RX100M7G 11 February 2020 by jt 100 (United Kingdom)

Very impressed with this camera, all the settings fantastic and microphone socket an added bonus.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Compact

DSC-RX100M7G 05 February 2020 by Kip75 (United Kingdom)

It’s a good camera but the WiFi transfer of photos to phone is terrible and needs much improvement

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great pocket-able camera with quality results

DSC-RX100M7G 30 January 2020 by brucool (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera less than 3 weeks. Great design features built into such a small space, but needs to be easier to adjust the multitude of settings needed to get the best out of the camera. Reviews of previous models made the same complaint! Body needs improving so one can hold it more safely - Sony stick-on grip - on a £1200 camera - No!!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

amazing

DSC-RX100M7G 26 January 2020 by 3manxlegs (United Kingdom)

This compact camera has all the functions a serious photographer needs . Yes the controls are small for big fingers but the menu is extensive . Is an A7 in miniature , the lens is good and sharp with a zoom to 200 mm . An attachment from lensmate in USA for a lens cap and filter which Sony might have included as many photographers like using filters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Photos

DSC-RX100M7G 22 January 2020 by RichardSt (United Kingdom)

I bought the Sony RX100 VII mainly for its apparent speed and accuracy of focusing, and the quality of the photos. So far, with limited use, I have not been disappointed. The menu system is complicated, but after an initial setting up of the camera, and putting the contols I'm most likely to use on the fn button, I don't see this as too much of an issue. The price has come down a bit but it's still an expensive little camera. For the price I think parts of the body are a bit plasticy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Can’t upload video in MAC and pic not clear

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 21 January 2020  (Singapore)

Hi, I bought this camera for my Europe Trip. It turn up to be v disappointed. The pic taken was not clear. Do not know why? 3 of us hv take turn to use the camera so it could not be all of us do not hv a stable hand. We did focus for every shots. The worst part is that I can’t upload all the video in my Macbook due to Sony do not hv the latest version for uploading the video in macbook. Hoping that Sony will come up the latest version apps for macbook.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

3

0

excellent features

DSC-RX100M7G 20 January 2020 by Knoby (United Kingdom)

had this little camera about three weeks quite impressed but haven't used it to its full extent yet I havethe Mk3 already and this seemed like a good upgrade to lighten my load

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great images

Body Only 18 January 2020 by Ollie skier (USA)

Traded my Sony HX99 for the RX100VII because the functions are pretty similar except the 700mm zoom. The images are much better especially in lower light! Maybe not as good as the Va would be but I needed more than 70mm zoom for wildlife photos! Very happy with stepping up!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worthwhile Upgrade for Vloggers

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 18 January 2020 by D Scott (Singapore)

Upgraded from the V to the VII because of the advanced video and vlogging features. With the optional grip and cold shoe bracket the VII becomes a small and lightweight videomaker's dream travel setup. Lots of new video options too in the menu settings. Best is shooting a single scene for almost 20 minutes without overheated shutdown. Best of all is the new external mic jack. Photo quality and functionality almost identical to the V, so not worth paying extra for stills.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Excellent travel camera

Body Only 18 January 2020 by PChua (Singapore)

Bought this 2 months ago. Great travel camera with 200mm zoom. Light and hence with me most of the time. Autofocus sharp, fast and reliable. Downside too slippery, dropped it once and had to get it repaired. Warranty not covered in this instance. Exposure still on the dark side. Need to tune picture to get correct exposure. Flash quite weak. Low light shots and backlit situation result not up to expectation. Miss my A7r in this instance.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great product but let down a little by accessories

DSC-RX100M7G 11 January 2020 by Kevin2020 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera for travelling and hiking. I will always take my DLSR but there are times where the size and weight is impractical. I chose the Sony because it gave me scope to cover wide angle and zoom, it had great features and I can just pop it into my pocket. However, for a product costing over a £1,000 I would have expected the grip to be included. Also, Sony has changed the orientation of their screen so the only way to install the screen protector is upside down so the word Sony appears upside down and back to front (it doesn't look very professional)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Travel Zoom

DSC-RX100M7G 10 January 2020 by Ray101 (United Kingdom)

I am primarily a dSLR user but wanted a pocketable camera for hiking and general use. After much research, I settled on the RX100 VII. I wanted a camera with a 1 inch sensor rather than the usual 1/2.3, and a flexible focal length. Whilst the zoom isn't as long as Panasonic's 1 inch sensor TZ200, image quality from the Sony is much better and it also has much faster auto focus. My only gripe is the touch screen. It cannot be used for any of the menu functions. Why include a touch screen, then not use it to the fullest.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Another advancement technology, external flash nxt

Body Only 06 January 2020 by drken (USA)

The camera does not compromise on improvements even from rx100-V. Much improvements were needed. I wish the manual was true to Sony's quality, I am laboriously printing at 2up, both sides & bound short left side in enhanced color printing. That is what is needed for those of us that like a printed book, seriously the world is digital but the manual should not only be for the price that I paid. Again not questioning the product its a big imprisonment and so needed but a manual production made large enough to read would be a nice touch even if you needed to charge me $5 more. There is so much that you have included and hunting would never uncover all the features or how to use them. This amount of time already spent 2 days is keeping me from using the camera. And by the way the contents page does not address the page numbers so it is also taking me forever to match up to the printed pages with page numbers. I found the software hard to locate for the remote control and still can't upload thru wifi, still says there is an error. Working on it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera with fast focus !

DSC-RX100M7G 06 January 2020 by Yadu (USA)

I bought this camera from Best Buy soon after it was released. It's a very good camera with fast focusing and very sharp picture quality. Ideal for casual or even serious shooting. Because of it's size, easy to take around. Since I have more Sony cameras, it was very easy for me to get hang of its menu.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Autofocus doesn't work for selfies using timer

DSC-RX100M7G 31 December 2019 by Laicey (United Kingdom)

The 'unrivaled AF' doesn't apply to selfies taken using the timer function. When you walk to the camera to press the button on timer it'll focus on your hand not when it takes the picture. Continuous autofocus is of course disabled on timer and there seems no option to get the thing to focus when the picture is taken like if you just had someone press the button after 10 seconds. There are few remote shutter options for the M7 unless you want the complicated Sony one that is bigger than the camera. If you have someone pressing the button for you it's a good little camera with impressive autofucus. It guesses the scene wrong sometimes but that can be set in the options if it starts prefering the landscape to the model.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

0

Great picks

DSC-RX100M7G 18 December 2019 by Paulzxcvbnm (United Kingdom)

Super flexibility to control the shot... once you have understood the menu structure and programmed the various buttons to allow quicker access to the most used items

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A premium compact camera.

DSC-RX100M7G 17 December 2019 by Birdofprey (United Kingdom)

Probably the best compact camera on the market today albeit at a premium price.As a fan of the RX100 series having owned mk1 and mk4 and now the 7,it amazes me how Sony manages to improve and add features at each iteration to keep us RX100 fans interested.I fine now I use my DSLR cameras less and less as the RX performs as well and I can have it with me all the time.The reason I upgraded to the 7 on this occasion was the increased focal length and excellent tracking and eye detection this model has which makes such a versatile camera.I'm not finding the lack of built-in ND filter on this model to be to much of a problem as I am learning to adjust camera settings to get round this.As seasoned photographers as myself say ''the best camera to have is the one you have with you'' and because the RX100 is so convenient in its compact size no excuse not have it with you at all times.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Excellent pocket size travel camera

DSC-RX100M7G 02 December 2019 by Cocodog (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera when I wanted to travel light but still wanted good image quality and full control. It ticks every box in my experience so far.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

Great camera for video

DSC-RX100M7G 19 November 2019 by CHDigitalMedia (USA)

I bought this Camera for video filming use, I own an AX700 which is too bulky to carry around for candid shots and so the RX is an ideal size for this, if I was to be picky I would say that I wished the screen was brighter in Movie mode 4K and 4K60p should be mandatory now on all Sony cameras. The menu system is still not intuitive which is a long time Sony failing and the video stabilisation system could be stronger in 'active' mode. Also I would like to see the camera retain the last used saved function wheel profile when I switch the camera back on instead of defaulting to the original function wheel setting as this would help to lock the shutter in Movie mode which would be very useful because the Shutter and Aperture share the same wheel and I sometimes adjust the shutter by mistake (Firmware update maybe?) All in all a very capable camera, and 'Fun' to use, highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

33

0

0

great features

Body Only 08 November 2019 by OwenXXX (Singapore)

Good product, easy to use and The price is expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Disappointed upgrade user

DSC-RX100M7G 07 November 2019 by Disappointed upgrade user (USA)

I upgraded from version ii. The greater reach of the zoom lens is a plus. However I was disappointed by several things. First, for the price of the camera, SONY could sport its users with a WELL WRITTEN PAPER user's manual. It took me half an hour to find out how to reformat a memory card, and that was by search and discover, not by finding it in the on-line manual ....and I had been using version ii for several years! Second,there was no battery charger in the package, and I had disposed of the charger that came with my version ii.....come on SONY, be a sport and include it in with the camera. On the other hand the RX 100 is a great camera for high quality travel and informal shooting. If I were asked to recommend a camera for that purpose, I would present the above factors and suggest that the buyer compare brands and models that might also be of high quality, but whose manufacturers are more generous with its customers.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

0

Amazing Camera above and below the water!

DSC-RX100M7G 06 November 2019 by Swanee (USA)

I bought this camera a month ago to take on a "bucket list "dive trip to Palau.The pictures taken with this camera above the water are sharp, detailed ,with great color. the pics taken at depth with the camera in a housing are just amazing.i have used many brands and types of camera over the years but this thing is a step above the rest!! Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to purchase camera like this.menu was pretty easy to figure out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

It does it all

Body Only 04 November 2019 by Sam31149 (USA)

Bought it to add to my Sony collection of cameras and this by no means is the very best I’ve ever had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Grate camera

DSC-RX100M7G 28 October 2019 by Wiggiey (USA)

Hi sony should create Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX 200 with 64 bit raw photo format and HDR 10 for photos and with a quad full frame studeo sensors and quad full frame exmor cmos sensors for the best picture quality ever

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Weather seal??!?!?

DSC-RX100M7G 27 October 2019 by Alex9132 (USA)

This camera is the one of the best point and shoot on the market and very good for specific travel. Why specific ... well it does not have an environmental/weather seal like the alpha 6 series, so travel to a humid environment would really destroy the camera which really is disappointing. Sony why can we not provide weather seal to the Rx series ?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Poor quality. Defective

Body Only 24 October 2019 by nonoy2629 (USA)

Took camera on vacation to Europe and camera broke after two weeks of use. camera will not stay ON but recycles On and Off continously and will not turn off unless battery is ejected. it ruined my entire vacation which cose me close to $10,000.00

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

10

0

USB cable does not fit my camera

Body Only 20 October 2019 by BilS (USA)

Camera is great but the supplied USB cable does not fit into the camera slot, the plastic sleeve is too large. I want someone to send me an appropriate cable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

SONY RX100M7

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 17 October 2019 by angieang66 (Singapore)

Happy with my purchase. Easy to use and capture beautiful pictures and video. Compact powerful and easy to carry around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Amazing feature, complicated, too small

Body Only 15 October 2019 by AllIsWellInNJ (USA)

Amazing feature set, complicated, too small to use efficiently and effectively... Used it first time on a 3-day weekend shooting movies and many stills. Very, very complicated camera operation - mostly due to overburdened and quite unnecessary features set in a camera this size (for the intended audience of enthusiasts travelling light I suppose). Manual is 634 pages! This camera made me firmly believe that smaller is NOT better - looks great on paper - and it is feature-wise - but operationally its a bit of a bust. e.g. methodology to upload pictures or videos to PC or smartphone (iPhone) is way, way too difficult (and flaky). And why do I have to use special software apps to do it (maybe I didn't read enough of the 634 page manual :-). Bottom line: Anyone interested in spending upwards of $1300 for a camera should really look elsewhere no matter how "great" the reviews and etherial the features of the RX100M7 (Mark VII) are. Who needs all that magic in a travel camera? I dare anyone to use it effectively outside the "auto" mode without the 634 page 1.5"x 8.5"x11" 2-sided printed manual.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

2

7

0

Fantastic in every aspect

Body Only 07 October 2019 by ArturoN (Singapore)

I decided to travel light. I'm a user of DSLRs .... and until now almost no small cameras could compete with the fast focusing of DSLRs. Well.... this small wonder can! Really top quality images and amazing fast and precise focusing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

so far so good but initial problem with warranty

DSC-RX100M7G 05 October 2019 by didcotdude (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a few weeks now and so far so good, just need to get to grips with all the features. I had a Canon G16 Powershot before. There was a problem though. In what appeared to be a sealed camera box, the extended service plan card had been scratched off already! I tried to enter the number to register and it was not accepted so I can only assume it has been used before!!! I'm currently in dialog with Jessops who sold me the camera to try and sort this out. Will provide a more in depth review later once I have used the camera a bit more

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

0

Unbelievable, so many features and so well made.

Body Only 03 October 2019 by Ken206 (USA)

I bought this from Amazon 3 days ago and can't believe all of the features and how will built the body is. I also own the A7r III and find the menu system in both to be so similar. When I can't carry the A7r iii on long walking trips I now have a very similar camera that is so easy to cary and that mirrors the larger full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

My ideal camera

DSC-RX100M7G 28 September 2019 by BarryBull (United Kingdom)

Retired mostly food still life photographer. Wonderful change to use a compact camera giving all the high quality images that I look for

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

7

0

The Best Travel Camera

DSC-RX100M7G 21 September 2019 by 8064Sta (USA)

I bought this camera several weeks ago and used it during my recent trip to Europe: Netherlands, Belgium, France, Spain, Portugal, Gibraltar. This was a upgrade from the RX100 M2 (which has been my go to travel camera for many years). The VII performed superbly both for still photos (love the new auto focus capabilities) and video. Only downside is the battery life is worse than M2, but of course with the continuous auto focus, etc. I'm not surprised. What makes this a truly great travel camera is the 24-200 mm zoom. Yes you do pay a penalty in minimum aperture vs my old M2 but with stabilization and excellent high ISO quality I can live with that to get 200 mm on the far end of the zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

My first compact camera

Body Only 19 September 2019 by andrewtck (Singapore)

Bought this 2 weeks ago, after thinking about getting one a few years ago when the M4 was released. I already have a DSLR, but wanted a compact camera that would be easier to shoot with on the go or in smaller spaces. Glad that I have finally bought it; the RX100 M7 is the best so far, so it is really worth the cost.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

GREAT CAMERA BUT!

Body Only 19 September 2019 by DrMike (USA)

I can't say more positive things about this camera but its missing one thing a writen Manual. I see one online but it is a pain in the neck to always have to go to the computer and look it up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great features but poor ergonomics and menu system

Body + Shooting Grip Kit 12 September 2019 by shieldwulf (Singapore)

Packed with lots of features including wifi and bluetooth connectivity. However, as is in-line with many Sony mirrorless and compact camera bodies, the interface buttons are tiny and lacks tactile responsiveness. I am not sure if I pressed a button or not. The navigating menus are designed as if the intent is you want to geek out the features and contents, instead of focused on the task of shooting. It wins by the features and a great compact tool for videography but the RAW image output is restricted in size and overall still image quality is average in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Innovative technology and quality products

Body Only 23 August 2019 by mousa99 (USA)

This is my third RX100 compact camara, I love the portability and all the new almost professional options available, very happy to own this last VII version!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Had it only two days and shot 7 GB of video

DSC-RX100M7G 23 August 2019 by Highwater Media (USA)

I pre-ordered the Mark V and received on the 22nd. I did an interview for a customer and got some outdoor video of the area. I did it all in 4K and the results were excellent. I did have to search for the video as it wasn't in the DSC folder. Which did give me a mini-heart attack at first. The rapid focus and facial focus were perfect. As during the interview he picked up items to show and the focus stayed on his face, even when he was off center. The effect was amazing and I hadn't even read the manual yet. Bravo to Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

First Impressions

Body Only 21 August 2019 by TimG1677 (USA)

Extremely cheap packaging. The camera is made in China (big disappointment for a premium product at this price point). The camera doesn't necessarily come with a charger but rather a cable to plug your camera to ( not a big deal just buy a triple charger with 2 extra batteries on amazon for $29 and you are good to go). The instructions are non existent ( single page is all you get). The app that allows you to control the cam and utilize other features is absolutely unusable. It requires a lot of tinkering to understand how to make the eye tracking work. Don't even think about utilizing 4k video unless you buy a UHS I - 3 sd card. It will not work with the older ones, not at those speeds. It is a tiny camera with a lot of features and an absolutely astounding fps shooting abilities that will take more than one day to give adequate review to but amount of noise in low light conditions is a bit much ( I have yet to tinker with iso so it might not be an issue once you properly set all the setting). So 3 takeaways : 1. No manual to speak of 2. Buy UHS I or higher SD card 3. Get extra batteries with a charger because the camera doesn't come with a conventional charger.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

2

0

Seems really well built

DSC-RX100M7G 19 August 2019 by Nikon to Sony (USA)

Just opened the box, and my first observation is it is so little. Pocket sized of course, but coming from an a7III, it is small. This will be my sneaky camera when I want to be unobtrusive. The menus are virtually the same as the a6500 and the a7III, so it was easy to set up. The first one or two shots were equal to the a7III, but I expect that there will be things the a7 will do that this will not do. So far, charging the battery and then taking it out for some real world tests. Fingers crossed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Fantastic Shots from a small unit.

DSC-RX100M7G 27 July 2019  (USA)

Have used it several times, itz easy to learn the different abilities & takes stunning picX. ALL OG KUSH users should look into this for great picX.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

33