32

4.7 based on 32 customer reviews

26
4
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

32 Customer Reviews

0

Best Professional Camera in the World

ILCE-1 12 June 2021 by vixe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought Sony A1 because of the following features, light weight, excellent auto focus with speed, ultra-fast 30fps, 50-mp image sensor, superb 1/400s flash sync, fantastic 8k video and goes on. A truly professional camera and undoubtedly the one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Improved eye focus over A9 series

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 06 June 2021 by andy88 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the A9 and good thing that I had waited for the A1 instead of buying the A9ii. I Hobe that Sony fixes the IBIS issues that other foreign websites have commented on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My first camera ever with no compromises

ILCE1/B 04 June 2021 by Winsome Pictures Inc (USA)

Simply put, this is the only camera I've ever bought where I didn't think, even while unboxing, it's so great, but I still wish it did [____]. Yes, this search for gear perfection is exacerbated by being a hybrid stills/video shooter. But even if the A1 just fulfilled one or the other of those functions this well it would still be extraordinary. Doing both so well AND concurrently? It's like sci-fi. Re stills, 50 megapixels is IMO the sweet-spot for full frame. The A1's new sensor renders the most beautiful and subtly-detailed digital images I have ever seen from a full-frame camera. It's a pleasure to use because the entire interface is so responsive. And how great to no longer have to choose between speedy-readout and resolution, or resolution and low-light capabilities. Re video, the A1 shoots 8k and 4k full-frame and APS-C mode. So I can use my Super-35 cine lenses and my G-Masters. S-Cinetone is a luscious-looking profile. The 10-bit S-Log 3 grades with loads of flexibility in Resolve. The autofocus is tenacious and feels instantaneous, the color science is great and the Auto White Balance is the most accurate I've ever experienced. Although I typically shoot like there are only 36 exposures in the camera, the 30fps shooting is insanely useful when you need it. Personally, I'm thrilled that Sony kept the A1 so compact; it's a considerable part of the appeal. An optional vertical grip is a far better option than a massive body. Yes, the price is firmly in Leica Land, but if you think of it as getting a flagship stills AND video camera, PLUS a top-level landscape/studio AND sports/action shooter all in one body, the sticker shock really isn't that bad.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great camera for fast-action wildlife photography!

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 01 June 2021 by MLKC (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to buy the Sony a1 because it has fast focus-tracking; a high resolution sensor; high continuous frame rate; and support for CFexpress cards. These are features that I really needed for wildlife photography. I'm also very pleased with the image quality from the a1. Overall, an excellent product that I have already enjoyed using.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Outstanding A1

ILCE-1 30 May 2021 by Haddington man (United Kingdom)

Only taken a few shots , already very impressed coming from Leica stable !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

4

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-1 25 May 2021 by Col72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Superb camera for my bird and wildlife photography. It’s a joy to use apart form the viewfinder blackout that occasionally happens in bright sunlight. But I am still very happy with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

8

0

Early days - star rating likely to change

ILCE-1 23 May 2021 by MikesSony (United Kingdom)

I’ve spent most of today finding my way around the menus for this camera and taking a few test pics. An early discovery is that, unless the shutter button is half depressed, the ISO value doesn’t display when set to ‘Auto’. I’ve disconnected the shutter button from focusing, using AF-ON instead. Why ISO can’t be displayed constantly, along with the rest of the shooting data, seems like a silly omission. Or, am I doing something wrong? I’ll update this review after using the camera for a few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Amazing camera with amazing AF tracking

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 21 May 2021 by Jcho (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best AF tracking for birds especially with a messy background. Tracking is so accurate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Focus tracking

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 10 May 2021 by BA T (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Focus tracking is excellent and managed to track the bird in flight with the right focus point.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

EVF dies when exposed to direct sunlight

ILCE1/B 10 May 2021 by movieguy (USA)

An otherwise fantastic camera is tarnished when sunlight hits the rear sensor and disables the EVF, shutter release, and playback button.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Stunning performance

ILCE-1 08 May 2021 by Birder99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought one month ago and coming from the A9/A7R4 marked improvement on all aspects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

36

0

Real-Time, Responsive, Resolution

ILCE-1 18 April 2021 by Markn9110 (USA)

I was one of the first to get the A1. Yes, the price is up there. But, I am truly getting my my sensitive Portrait, high-res Landscape, speed-demon Sport, and insane video capability in one gorgeous camera. The Autofocus is faster than I could possibly fathom. The metering options, even linked to auto-eye focal point, has me simply blown away. Yes, I would have loved to see a few different options in other bodies. But all around, this feels great in my large hands, I the dials are familiar coming from the riv and the menus are so much better!!!! I disagree with people who say there are too many options. What they seem to miss is that every option is a helpful feature for some user. Once the camera is customized to “your desire” you too will feel as though it is an extension of your creative style. I cannot explain how excited I am to be using this camera with several of my existing Gmaster lenses as well as some old favorites like the 55 f1.8z, and and the 90mm Macro. I am in love with the feel and responsive nature of this camera, for stills, for video, for all of the bee features available in transitioning media to my iPad, iPhone or MBP. It simply checks every box for me personally.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

ALL HYPE

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 15 April 2021 by Ray Ch (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only get 20fps and the recording mode keep shifting bertween slots 1 & 2

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

awesome camera

ILCE-1 15 April 2021 by ed87 (United Kingdom)

great camera for wildlife photography and video, compact and lightweight design, great features, amazing autofocus, impressive resolution, only thing that could for me be a little better is the image stabilisation compared to the coemption.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

160

253

0

Excellent Features

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 15 April 2021 by TongCS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Like the new of the Drive mode & Focus mode buttons. Easily switching between different modes. Previously already impressed with Sony Animal Eye AF. Now even more impressed with the Bird's Eye AF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony a1: first impressions!

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 15 April 2021 by JEAN670650 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought the One and took it for real-life wildlife/bird shooting: super fast and accurate AF, yes 30fps! It feels physically better than previous models. Love the extra shutter speed, pixels, and quality too. The new reorganized menu is also most welcomed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect Balance all rounder camera

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 13 April 2021 by Royfrosty (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A1 for birding purposes and some landscape or my toddler photography. I love how fast this camera really is. It gives the most ticks in terms of speed, high megapixel and fast af performance. It is by far the best camera for my birding needs. However dealing with high Megapixel cameras comes iso noise. It is not possible to be great in iso noise performance with a high Megapixel sensor. But nevertheless i find that the iso performance strikes a balance for my needs. Impressive but i wish it will improve further in the future. The only problem i had was the not so confident bird eye AF on a backlit situation. It tends to go off focus, or being tricked and causes some focusing issue and at times i have to switch it back to normal single point af and AFS mode. I hope is just a firmware issue and i hope it gets better in a future update. Overall beast camera, best all rounder, love what you guys are doing, keep up the good work there!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

The best so far - an A9ii on steroids!

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 13 April 2021 by emm73 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I expected an A9ii upgrade but this is far better, an A7Riv, plus A9ii and more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

ILCE-1 06 April 2021 by Greebocat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Words fail me just how good this camera is at everything!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

99

154

0

Great Eye Tracking

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 06 April 2021 by SP Fong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally the model comes with bird eye tracking and it was fantastic!!! This eye tracking enable me to capture many good shorts of small and skittish birds in the tree and bird in flight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

New sensor and dual CPU with great overall feature

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 03 April 2021 by gSteve99 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received pre-ordered unit on 12 March. Very happy with overall quality. Performed as expected, especially the eye focus, speed and fast acquiring of subject. Nice new menu layout too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great gear, a bit pricey but full of potential

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 02 April 2021 by anatexis (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony made it happen to put the latest technology in a small body. Great results and great to handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 26 March 2021 by Parimalam (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two weeks ago and managed to do the basic set up and started shooting. It is a great camera with lots of good features. However, the birds eye detections need to be improved

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

A Stellar All-rounder!

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 26 March 2021 by SH Ng (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I take the camera out for shooting animals and birds often and it has not failed me once in terms of sharpness and speed. The Bird Eye AF works like a dream for still birds perched on trees. Portraits are top-notch in quality. This is undoubtedly a camera that will serve me well in the myriad activities I use it for.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great combination of speed and high megapixel

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 25 March 2021 by rachnei (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was using the A9m2 and the A7R4 and I find the A1 to be the perfect replacement for both cameras in terms of speed and high megapixel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing camera that does everything

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 19 March 2021 by PhotofitSG (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Managed to get first shipment and was so excited to be able receive. This camera has surpassed all my expectations and I absolutely have fallen in love with it. Best sony all-in-one beast. I sold my A7R4 and A7S3 to upgrade and get the A9 built in. It fits my style so well because I do a little video, some landscape, some motor sports and some Street. Being able to have all three of my favourite cameras in one body and flick between the different styles is a blessing. I personally think it's the best all-round camera produced and Sony has done an amazing job for the first release, honestly at the moment I cannot think of anything that needs improvement. One month on and I am still blown away. Thanks Sony for finally giving us the camera we asked for. 5stars

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The best got better!

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 19 March 2021 by Benny Lim (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was a DSLR user for a long time. Switched over to Sony mirrorless and since then there is no turning back. I have the A7R4, A9II and now the A1. I am using all of them for birding. The A1 combines them in a small package. Really packs a punch!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great monster of a machine!!!

ILCE-1/BQ AP2 19 March 2021 by paulsingapore (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

No regrets buying this camera. Have been a Sony user since day one so I am happy that it has evolved into something others can only aspire to achieve.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

TOP camera

ILCE-1 01 March 2021 by PetrSehnal (USA)

I am positively surprised by overall quality of this camera. This monster has zero compromises. Especially fantastic is new viewfinder (seems like optical, virutally zero lag), autofocus is just wow, videos are PRO level and overall versatility is just fantastic. What a great camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

5

0

awesome Casera

ILCE-1 06 February 2021 by Uttuzsase (USA)

This camera has almost all feature needed for pros

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

9

0

a1 is a monster

ILCE-1 05 February 2021 by lew898 (USA)

very fast eye af, 30fps is crazy I love it very much

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

9

0

This is the monster

ILCE-1 28 January 2021 by Thilina (USA)

This is the camera i never seen before. Its a magic an speed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

48

40