16

3.4 based on 16 customer reviews

6
3
1
3
3
Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sounds amazing! But drops out a lot ...

HTA9 12 December 2021 by BossmanKB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound from this system is amazing, and I am super happy with that part of it. However they really need to fix the wireless connection capabilities of this unit as I get drop outs all the time. I tried the optimization feature on every bootup, but that actually made it worse. I originally had my Apple TV right next to it and that was really bad (dropped out just about every time I used it), so I moved them apart and now they are about 3 feet apart horizontally. But I still get drop outs. I am now using it in 'Connection' mode as opposed to 'Sound Quality' for the speaker connections and while it drops out less, I still have had a few. Almost tempted to return it and get something different....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sounding system when it works properly.

HTA9 24 October 2021 by Famililyguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One speaker was having problems connecting to the head unit and the LED light never came on when it worked, the head unit never link to my wifi router and I had to return it for a new set. The new set have worked flawlessly for the last 2 hours we will see how long it last, hopefully for few years, I gave it 2 stars because the hassle to get the first one to work and the hassle to get a second set was painful, hopefully SONY puts mor attention on these problems.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

20

2

16 Customer Reviews

0

90% there - awesome product that could be perfect

HT-A9 06 January 2022 by TechReviews (United Kingdom)

The HT-A9 is a fantastic system. I’ve had it a few months now and am more sad overall. A few improvements could be made however that would make it a truly must own product. 1, The height channels could have more oomph we have a relatively low ceiling and some of the effects come off as muddled, we’ve tried the immersive sound, dts x and dolby virtualizer- all sound quite similar although the dts x is the clearest and has the best surround sound effects and volume overall. 2, There should be an option to add 2 more speakers to the set up retroactively making 6 Ht-A9s and a tv center channel this would create a soundstage that could be even more fine tuned. 3, I own a Sony KD85 85inch 4K tv from July 2020 which new by any standards and yet I cannot use it as the center channel, this is particularly frustrating as it means I’ve just spent thousands of pounds on a set and yet cannot use it with the latest Sony theatre system. I’m sure this could be updated to be used as a centre channel via a firmware update to then connect to the speakers wirelessly via blutooth.  These minor improvements would make a huge difference overall. I do plan on getting a new set but am waiting for the QD OLED in a 97 inch of which you announced you currently only produce at a maximum size of 65 inch.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Disappointed

HTA9 28 December 2021 by Pga4trp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

No matter where I move the module it continues to cut out. It is in our basement and our wifi device is on main floor. For the amount this costs it is disappointing. I also purchased the larger sub woofer to go with it. The sound is not at all as all those you tube reviews said. They all must be getting compensated.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sounds amazing! But drops out a lot ...

HTA9 12 December 2021 by BossmanKB (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound from this system is amazing, and I am super happy with that part of it. However they really need to fix the wireless connection capabilities of this unit as I get drop outs all the time. I tried the optimization feature on every bootup, but that actually made it worse. I originally had my Apple TV right next to it and that was really bad (dropped out just about every time I used it), so I moved them apart and now they are about 3 feet apart horizontally. But I still get drop outs. I am now using it in 'Connection' mode as opposed to 'Sound Quality' for the speaker connections and while it drops out less, I still have had a few. Almost tempted to return it and get something different....

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

what should be amazing is disappointing :-(

HTA9 22 November 2021 by AZRonC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although the system sounds amazing when it works... it cuts in and out every few minutes (or seconds) throughout the play time... both movies and music. Definitely a malfunctioning "brain/box" and now we will see how promptly the warranty works. So sad! The set up wasn't bad but the simple daily on and off of the system and TV is a bit complex. Not sure why everthing is not saved so you don't have to tell it what to do every time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

1

0

Very clear

HTA9 13 November 2021 by prussiahawk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with the increased voice quality with this speaker system. The pseudo center channel gives a very good impression that the TV is producing the conversations. It was very easy to set up and adjust to room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

5

0

Best sound ever!

HTA9 05 November 2021 by Slaviky (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Praise but worth every penny .sound quality is amazing with no distinction.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Not worth the Hype, especially the price.

HTA9 02 November 2021 by Oriss (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overhyped. Too expensive. Why buy four speaks for 1924 with tax. Yet not have a subwoofer. Trust me at that it’s overpriced. And the super hyped “up to 7 phantom speakers” would have you listening hard to hear it. Tried it in a large ‍‍Space, wasn’t blown away, it sounded good, but it that impressive. Then I tried it in a smaller room, still wasn’t. I’m keeping it, only because of the easy set up, and the aesthetic. Aside from that, the atmos effect doesn’t meet the hype. Not at all meet the hype.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

10

9

0

Great Sound - Easy Setup

HTA9 27 October 2021 by Don1955 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the HT-A9 a couple of weeks ago and it was very easy to setup. The sound is amazing on 5.1 and Atmos programs. I have really enjoyed streaming 360/Atmos music via Amazon Music. One problem that continues to plague this product is the occasional “skips” of sound. I have followed all of the recommendations from the Sony Support App and have been able to reduce the number of “skips”, but the issue still exists. Hopefully a software update fix is forthcoming as I have seen this issue documented from other users.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

Poor Quality

HTA9 27 October 2021 by TigerCub (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wireless connection issues. Audio continuously drops out. Purchased on line for $1800. Sony can do better..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

3

0

Exceptional audio!

HTA9 27 October 2021 by GrayWolf51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The HT-A9 (w/SA-SW5) is the best home-theater I've ever owned. Great work Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Great sounding system when it works properly.

HTA9 24 October 2021 by Famililyguy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One speaker was having problems connecting to the head unit and the LED light never came on when it worked, the head unit never link to my wifi router and I had to return it for a new set. The new set have worked flawlessly for the last 2 hours we will see how long it last, hopefully for few years, I gave it 2 stars because the hassle to get the first one to work and the hassle to get a second set was painful, hopefully SONY puts mor attention on these problems.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

20

2

0

A9

HT-A9//M1 SP1 21 October 2021  (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Set was delivered on 30th September and set up on 1 October. Set up was super-easy and as described. However, if you are planning to use speaker stands, most of the available speaker stands cannot fit this speaker properly as the bolt hole at the back is about 20.5cm from foot base. Sony, please produce an official speaker stand for this speaker..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

0

Better Than Expected

HTA9 19 October 2021 by Pirate 21 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the HT-A9 for about two weeks now. Setup was real easy. The sound is better than expected. Not using the TV as center channel and the dialog is still spot on. Surround effects are realistic. I am real happy with the setup. They are wife approved also because they look nice and clean. I do have a full Home Theater in a different room with a 120” screen that sounds better, but for my family room within a 65” Bravia where I used to have a soundbar this is night and day better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Faulty system Faulty Design and SONY KNOWS IT

HTA9 17 October 2021 by Madiboughtthis (USA)

*BUYER BEWARE 2 SYSTEMS BOTH FAILED. so I bought this system THE 1ST TIME from Electric Express via Amazon. I received serial #2000593 right out of the box the the rear right speaker would not stay connected longer then 10 seconds. I trouble shot every possible scenario and no luck so I returned it. I thought to myself, maybe this is just a 1st run issue, knock off, B stock ect. So then I ordered the system DIRECT FROM SONY which is the one I have now, 1st time I ran the sound optimization it worked and the system was up in running. The next day I changed the position of the speakers slightly and re ran the sound optimization and now it FAILS ever single time at 55%. I'm every single possible scenario it fails at 55% rendering the system basically useless because the whole point of this system is the sound field optimization. This is absolutely ridiculous and this system is SNAKE OIL at the highest level. My back ground is sound engineering and I have many years experience with audio manufacturers and this is just unacceptable. There is no way Sony has any kind of legit quality control going on here, anyone who buys this system is going to have some problems if not immediately they will come for sure within weeks or months. This all boils down to what are parents told us, if something sounds to good to be true, it probably is! If someone from Sony would like to contact me to talk about this I'm all ears*

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

16

36

0

Poor wireless speaker connection

HTA9 13 October 2021 by KAP61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this 3 weeks ago. Setup was easy and I liked the room EQ feature. However I continually hear audio drop outs. Not what I expected for $1800. The sound quality was ok, but expected much better at this price point. You definitely need to purchase the subwoofer for better bass response. I've heard ATMOS systems before with Upfiring speakers and found the effect hard to hear on the Sony system. Not sure what 360 is or does so I can't comment. In the end I wish I would have purchased a different wireless solution. I've heard the Klipsch wireless systems which worked flawlessly and sounded great! I was told by the Best Buy sales person it used the WiSA standard.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

34

44

0

Perfect sound system for condo living (As-Is)

HTA9 08 October 2021 by Bobert63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and finally relied the product today. I paired it with my Sony BRAVIA XR A80J, and connected the Center channel Sync cable. Movies sound incredible, and the surround is amazing! I don't have the sub-woofer, because I am in a condo and don't want my neighbors banging on the ceiling or floor during action scenes, but if I was in a house I would definitely add the sub, for the full-on theatre experience. One thing I want to add is the 360 Reality Audio sounds amazing, and Sony gives you a code for a free 30 day trial - DON'T PICK AMAZON MUSIC!!. There are literally only 39 songs available, and while they sound really good, they are all perfect for the spa or a massage. C'mon! If you decide to check it out, and I think you should! Research each option to see who has the biggest catalog. I basically threw my free coupon away by picking Amazon, so I have to decide whether or not I want to pay for a month on the other services. I will find out who has the most content first! Back to the system. Pairing this with my BRAVIA XR A80J makes the integration seamless. Only one remote is needed (makes the spouse happy), and it is aesthetically pleasing in the room.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

21

3