296

3.9 based on 296 customer reviews

149
63
34
16
34
Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Product reviews may include product variations. Some product variations, services and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

This ampilified soundbar is the BEST

HTZ9F 09 September 2018 by CD427 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

“This amplified soundbar is the best I have ever owned.” I have a hard time hearing the voices in shows and movies on my tv. But, I didn’t want to loose the rest of the great sounds too. I bought this to make it easier. It has the best voice enhancement out of any, with several options. Plus, I don’t loose out on all of the other sounds that make shows and movies awesome. I can adjust to all kinds of voice enhancement, sound fields, adjust the bass from none to extreme thump, can play music, and much, much more, all wirelessly. I can even add surround sound back speakers if I want. Excellent product Sony. “Excellent!” Trust me when I say, “you will not regret buying this soundbar.” Regardless of hearing issues, wanting better sound, best for movies, best for apartment living (like me), etc., this soundbar delivers. I know. I have it. I dare you to try it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Technically flawed

HT-ZF9 28 March 2021 by Chis44 (United Kingdom)

This product has the following technical problems: Does not stay connected to the subwoofer (the sound drops out for no reason). Looses connection to the Subwoofer permanently requiring a factory reset). Losses connection the Rear Speakers. When connected to a Sony TV over eARC and using the TV apps (eg Netflix) the sound drops out completely and require a power cycle to resume. There are people complaining about these issues from 2 years ago on AB forums, but these have not been addressed by Sony. For a £1000 soundbar and rear speaker this is totally unacceptable. My previous Sony Soundbar (SA-NT3) had a wireless subwoofer and in 4 years never Lost connection once. I cannot recommend this product at all. I have contacted technical support but the just asked my to connect to another TV and give it a factory reset. Also the manual states to connect the Subwoofer by cable if you have connection issues, but does not explain were to plug this (there is a hidden 3mm jack in the subwoofer, but nothing on the soundbar?) It needs a serious firmware update Sony! lost connection once.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

15

0

296 Customer Reviews

0

Great Soundbar; Surround Speakers Discontinued

HTZ9F 21 June 2022 by Kahn74 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am upgrading from an older traditional wired 5.1 surround home theater system by Yamaha, but it did not support Dolby Atmos. I selected this product because it supported Dolby Atmos, received good reviews, and offered the ability to upgrade to full surround with the optional rear surround speakers. Now that I've heard the quality, I really wanted to also add in the rear surround speakers, but those have been discontinued, so I am stuck with this unit that sounds good, but not what I ultimately wanted.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Fair

Performance

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Lacking available rear speakers

HT-ZF9 17 June 2022 by Davehall23 (United Kingdom)

I bought these just over a week ago and was advised that I could add wireless spaekers. I then found that there were none available and so I am left with a sound bar and subwoofer but I am not able to add rear spekers to them

1

0

0

works good

HTZ9F 08 May 2022 by thedr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sounds good works really well and simplified with my Sony tv

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing sound

HTZ9F 07 May 2022 by Raz Z (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing sound and super easy setup. Sony makes great products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not the bedt

HT-ZF9 06 May 2022 by Jstu (United Kingdom)

Very expensive sound bar and not the best volume cannot get it to do half what it’s supposed to do And it’s linked to a Sony TV

Design

Good

0

0

0

Sound is great.

HTZ9F 30 April 2022 by Tonybee 4442 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it to match the television. It kicks the sound up a bunch of notches.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Features

HTZ9F 04 April 2022 by Golden Nina (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We bought this to go with our new Sony TV and glad we did. Love being able to switch the sounds between live TV and movies.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The subwoofer is amazing

HT-ZF9 28 March 2022 by Talbot2022 (United Kingdom)

The look and the ease of setting up is great. However I can not get the sound bar to sound as great as it did in Currys. Maybe I have done something wrong? Still fiddling with it. I am using the HDMI cable at the moment and have since switched to the optical which sounds better??? The sound is good but will sound better when I purchase the rear speakers to go with it for the 5.1 sound. I will go back to Currys for advice. If not I will speak to Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quite loud

HT-ZF9 27 March 2022 by Radgegadge (United Kingdom)

Had this sound bar a few months now .easy to set up and connect multiple devices .the sound is good quality nice and soft and not too piercing.which is probably why it has no tweeters ,though having no tweeters sound gets muddled up a bit now and then .good buy though overall for midrange equipment.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

HT-ZF9 19 March 2022 by G333 (United Kingdom)

I bought the Soundbar about 3 months ago, the sound quality is truly excellent. I have one major concern however, as I didn’t purchase the dedicated rear speakers at the same time thinking that I would add them later I now find that theses are now unavailable in the UK. All attempts through Sony or other sources to locate the HTZ F9 rear speakers have failed, I now cannot enjoy the system to its full capabilities - very disappointed! Sony, please reinstate the HTZ F9 rear speakers or provide a compatible alternative.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great amount of features

HT-ZF9 16 March 2022 by Madscot (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple of weeks ago as I moved house and have had to down-size my surround sound set-up, the fact it had two hdmi inputs was a big factor in my choice to replace my Sony AV receiver, it meant I could connect my 4k blu ray player and firestick directly to the soundbar for dolby atmos sound, my tv only has arc and it doesnt do atmos, you need earc for atmos so this is perfect for me, being honest moving from 7 speakers and a sub to a soundbar is going to be a bit of a comedown, I love my surround sound music and the soundbar sounds great with music since it seems made for hi-res audio, the only downside is there's no discrete sounds coming from all corners of the room, when watching movies it sounds as good as it could without being fully immersive, the atmos feature is good but not great compared to proper atmos speakers, all in all i’m not sure I could have chosen a better soundbar without spending a small fortune

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Connectivity without limits

HT-ZF9 28 February 2022 by Dedeem54 (United Kingdom)

I bought this two weeks ago and I am very happy with my purchase. Connectivity is at the top. Dialogs very easier to understand while watching TV. On the other side, spatialization is not very present and it could not read .wma files bought from Qobuz. Video play with Chromecast would have been a plus. In the whole, a very nice purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible Sound

HT-ZF9 27 February 2022 by Gilhopper (United Kingdom)

I did a lot of AV research prior to buying this soundbar. I had 5.1 surround with Dolby True HD and DTS -MA. I wanted a genuine upgrade, from a medium sized soundbar with Atmos The ZF9 is absolutely incredible. I could argue that being able to switch between Sony's DSP Presets and Dolby's processing via the remote would be handier, but that is pretty much the only criticism. The sound is crisp, clear and well balanced. Object based sound tracks work, even although the height channels are virtual. It must be noted I have a low ceiling lounge(approx 3m or 9ft), so the sound bubble effect is genuinely noticeable. If you have a high ceilinged room the effect would be much less effective and other solutions would be required. I also purchased the rear speakers (which I believe are now discontinued/ very hard to get hold of). The rear speakers were essential to my set up, your set up is up to you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Not the quality I expected from Sony

HTZ9F 03 February 2022 by Thinair (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it nearly a year ago and it just completely died. No sound coming from it in any mode. For months the subwoofer has been going in and out while watching tv like it can’t hold the wireless connection. It’s sitting 5 feet from the sound bar. Not good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing sound

HT-ZF9 30 January 2022 by Koleus 13 (United Kingdom)

Night this and wasn’t sure it would live up to its expectations how wrong I was. Truly amazing sound and so realistic and the bass is brilliant especially with an action packed movie.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Subwoofer cuts out randomly. Sony wont help.

HTZ9F 25 January 2022 by BHFFS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this for about 9 months. The subwoofer will just randomly cut out. Sony is aware of the issue but wont do anything. They wont replace it nor refund my money despite me having a FIVE YEAR WARRANTY that I paid extra for. My only option is to hope for a software update or not use certain importantfeatures (eARC). Awful customer service. I have tons of Sony products (A80J, HTZ9F, surround speakers, PS5, PS4, Xperia phone, Vaio laptop) but won't be buying them again in the future after this terrible experience.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good soundbar with decent quality sound

HT-ZF9 25 January 2022 by PaulDart (United Kingdom)

Very good option if you have a budget. it's not the same as a high end cinema amp, but if you are after a soundbar that's adds volume dimension to movies and entertainment, you might consider this option. It fits nicely under most 55" TV's

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

HT-ZF9 12 January 2022 by Haroon54 (United Kingdom)

Really impressed with this sound bar have upgraded from yamaha

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Soundbar for the price

HT-ZF9 03 January 2022 by CH82 (United Kingdom)

I have had this about a month now and it really makes a difference. I used to think the speaker on the TV was decent (Sony TV with Atmos speaker), but after having this it now doesn't sound the same. I like the fact you can turn the subwoofer off for watching normal TV, so sounds more like a normal TV sound, or turn the sub up for a true cinema feel. Although I can imagine rear speakers would make a bit of a difference, I think the surround sound is still good enough that it's not really worth the extra.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Loud but not great

HT-Z9F//M SP1 29 December 2021 by Lukie84 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

happy with the purchase as it significantly improves the sound quality of my TV. however despite ensuring the source and that TV supports Atmos, the sound is not as impressive. can't really feel the surround sound effect.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

excellent sound

HT-ZF9 28 December 2021 by mark1958hjkijjuuuuuuhbyfv (United Kingdom)

excellent sound powerful easy to use would recommend to anyone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sounds very good

HT-ZF9 25 December 2021 by DJAW (United Kingdom)

Works well with my Sony TV and sounds good, main disappointment is a week after I purchsed the main box I went to purchase the rear matching wirelss speakers only to find they had been discontinued. Been nice to have been warned that was going to be the sae so disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

0

Great sound bar

HTZ9F 17 December 2021 by oramac69 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love my new Sony HTZ9F sound bar. I am 73 and have trouble hearing dialogue with movies and tv programs. This has to be one of the best sound bars for that particularly. I dont know about turning it way up how it is against others but I turn movies up pretty loud and absolutely love the sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

No expert but love it

HT-ZF9 16 December 2021 by MikeeeE (United Kingdom)

I've had this about 2 years, bought with rear speaker. Work well seemless integration TV and peripherals. Given room size and shape this was perfect solution for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Quality Dolby Soundbar, even better 'wired'

HT-ZF9 13 December 2021 by VCR959 (United Kingdom)

I bought this soundbar after reading many, and I mean 'many' reviews if not all that was out there. Some people seem to have no signal 'drop out' while others do. I did not have an issue with drop out with my subwoofer until i managed to find some new rear speakers to give me the proper 5.1 surround sound, believe me it makes a world of difference, if a bit on the pricey side, anyway as soon as I paired them up to the unit, the Subwoofer did not like it and kept cutting out making the sound on the light side and not immersive. I tried everything suggested by people on the various forums that had suffered these issues, then I read on one of the forums that there were 'secret' jack ports hidden under hard plastic glued on covers (which can be removed fairly easily) that Sony does not mention on the unit and all of the speakers, so I removed them to take a look purchased some high quality 3.5mm jack cables and har wired them all to the sound bar and it now sounds terrific with no issues whstsoever, in an ideal world you wouldn't need the speaker cables, and the unit would work wirelessly as described, but mine was not an ideal world and I could hide the cables. You know there is no shame on Sony to say that if you struggle with the wireless option, you can actually wire them for a more solid solution, and revesl where the ports are. The power lights change to a yellow/ orange colour when wired instead of green. The Soundbar is brilliant for the price, 'galaxies' better than previous ones I have had and give you full width and height, stereo seperation excellent, no issues with 'undefined',, 'muddy' or 'confused' sound some have reported, all very clear and defined to me, Dolby Virtuslizer is brilliant for non-Atmos content, DTS sounds fab as well. These units are lower in price now that they are end of line, go and grab one while you can they are future proof with HDMI 2.1 eARC. I do get the sensation of overhead travel up to a point, and the rear speakers help that sensation, the odd little nuanced sounds coming from the right and left and above me are amazing considering only 3 front facing speakers, I dont know how it works but sounds great. Search online for rear speakers in stock somewhere, maybe not in the uk any more though, because they are worth it if you dont mind 'coughing' up about £2-£300. The bar and subwoofer still do an excellent job though and shoul pair up as intended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

nightmare

HT-ZF9 13 December 2021 by onvcrew (United Kingdom)

sony sell brand new units as a full atmos but they forget that rear speakers are not in sell anymore! You can only buy second hand, if you are lucky. So you have no option to upgrade to full set.

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great features!

HTZ9F 10 December 2021 by Jpjgamas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to setup and control! Great sound quality and not expensive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Almost A Substitute to Surround Sound

HTZ9F 08 December 2021 by Nomar95501 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I replaced my 7.1 surround sound set up with this sound bar and wireless subwoofer. I’m taking the minimalist approach to my theater system. So far for 4 days, I’m satisfied with the sound output and the deep bass that’s coming from a compact subwoofer compared to regular subwoofer. I’m glad I went for a premium sound bar instead of getting one that’s under $200. Watching movies still has that surround sound output, which I’m impress coming from a sound bar. I find myself turning to my left or right, realizing there are no speakers next to me. However, it’s not quite the same as true surround sound. But honestly I can live with that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cant get rear speakers anywhere for this model

HT-ZF9 21 September 2021 by Brand85 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound bar and subwoofer have great sound but I bought this thinking I could add rear speakers to it but I cant find them anywhere to buy in the UK

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Good, but not as intense as my hard-wired system

HTZ9F 15 August 2021 by musicalhockey guy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup. Good main channel, sub woofer sound. Added the wireless surround speakers. Kind of hit and miss sound quality there. Definitely not the quality of my previous Sony hard wired system (it would shake the glass off my bar), but new floor made the wires go away. Still better than all the other systems I shopped, specifically looking for wireless rear speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good sound

HT-ZF9 10 August 2021 by Ray Brown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

To replace a ht-z9000 with excellent sound but very poor vocals gets drowned out by movies music, this sound bar has a centre speaker which makes up for it, better vocally, only had a month still getting to grips with it there is a voice button to make louder but would have liked a feature the same as a amp the option to increase the volume more but then its only a bar I am happy with it any way so is the wife.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Sound - Lousy directions

HTZ9F 03 August 2021 by CliffTheTechGuy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this from Best Buy - and of course without buying a service contract I'm on my own with figuring out connections. By following the directions and using the Sound Bar as a bridge between an HDMI video/audio device - to the HDMI 1 on the sound bar - HDMI out of the sound bar to eARC on the TV...results: Audio only, no video. Of course if I use a separate HDMI port on the TV it works, but the directions purposely call out using the sound bar as a bridge for the best results. I put a call to Best Buy - sorry but we charge to send someone to you, but feel free to return it. Post a message to Sony community page - hopefully I get some answers and not just sympathy

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great sound

HT-ZF9 31 July 2021 by delboy213 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this item at the same time as a 49" XH-80/4 Ultra HD (HDR) Smart TV. The two together, absolute perfection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

great furter

HT-ZF9 30 July 2021 by simon1983 (United Kingdom)

Glad I bought this product, serves me well and I am satisfied with its capabilities

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Atmos TV Gaming and Movies, hard to buy satellites

HT-ZF9 27 July 2021  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Atmos, eARC, 3 front speakers with 1 woofer in a very competitive price. It is made in Malaysia. Satellites hard to come by. eARC (2ways) solves TV app sound out sync problem. Beside eARC port, there are 2 HDMI inputs. Don't follow the attached quick installation manual if your TV has eARC. Just connect TV eARC to this bar eARC. Reasonable sound quality and control functionalities, not shabby at all. Sony does put some efforts on the virtual sound stage and those sound category buttons on the remote. It is pleasant even for music and vocal. Nite button also useful, so your next door apartment neighbour won't be hit by bass so bad at nite hours. I listened to B&O Sound bar woofer(double the B&O bar price) , and Bose 700 with woofer (optional). Bose 700 with woofer (optional) maybe sounded better stronger and harder but without Atmos and priced at a different level since woofer sell separately.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great sound bar

HT-ZF9 25 July 2021 by Smify (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar, easy to setup and use and certainly sounds better and louder than my previous home cinema system it replaced.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Theater like

HTZ9F 21 July 2021 by Brookie46 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great movie experience. Superb for Amazon unlimited music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bought in conjunction with a KD-49X8096

HT-ZF9 21 July 2021 by delboy 213 (United Kingdom)

This item connected to the above television - excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Expensive Soundbar, with sound dropping issues

HT-ZF9 16 July 2021 by Ecxx (United Kingdom)

This Soundbar is expensive, I was very disappointed with the hassle in setting it up. The HDMI ports are in an awkward place. The main issue I've had is with the sound dropping while watching content from various sources. I spent far too much time trawling the internet looking for solutions to this problem. I'm astonished a soundbar at this price has this problem. I always buy Sony, but I will be looking at alternatives in the future! When I did get it problem sorted, I have to say the sound is impressive, but the shine was taken off due to the hassle getting it set up. If you are looking for a soundbar, I would look else where, make sure before you buy to check AV forums for potential problems, not that you should have too when you are spending £600!.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

8

0

0

Disappointed.

HT-ZF9 07 July 2021 by 55Charlie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I considered this purchase for sometime before I finally went ahead with the purchase. I found the quick setup easy to follow. Unfortunately you really need to go into the advanced settings to improve the sound experience and I found this confusing. I found the vertical sound a disappointment, or perhaps I haven't got the settings right. So I'm left wondering if the problem is me or the system. It left me thinking I should buy the rear speakers, but at £299 and difficult to source that's not really an option. The sound I have is great, but not sure I could describe it as home theater.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

0

Nice design

HTZ9F 01 July 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this sound bar to go with my new 77” Sony A9G flat screen. Nice design and pretty good sound quality, offers plenty of features and most up-to-date audio signals

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

HT-ZF9 21 June 2021 by Ikram Rehman (United Kingdom)

Good Sound and Excellent Build Quality. Recommended

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Remote Problems

HTZ9F 21 June 2021  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have no complaints about the sound of the he system. I have a brand new 85 inch Sony TV, I have constant problems with the tv remote controlling the sound bar. You would assume that both products being Sony they would function easily together. I don’t understand it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

the sound is good

HT-Z9F//M SP1 19 June 2021 by wch83 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

the sound is good. and over all all is good. pricing seem good too

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Product has defects and reliability issues

HT-Z9F//M SP1 15 June 2021 by EddieGBS (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sub woofer intermittent problems. Have been monitoring to detect possible causes and also time to ascertain the reliability issues is correct. Will be liaising with Sony after sales support staff soon.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Terrible Product! the worst Soundbar!

HTZ9F 09 June 2021 by AngryBeaver83 (USA)

I bought this back in 2019. When I first had it hooked up to a 2017 model Sony X720E TV, I never had a problem with it. But ever since I bought a brand new 2020 model Sony X950H and hooked it up to that , it frequently completely stops working and when I finally do I get to starting again working it's incredibly terrible. Now after four months of owning the Sony X950H TV, the Soundbar has completely stopped and i can't get it getting working. I only bought this because I thought it would work better with a Sony TV seeing as there both Sony. But I should of known better. Because the only quality product Sony makes is their TVs. The rest is garbage!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

7

0

good quality

HT-ZF9 06 June 2021 by PJC14 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchase this unit around a month ago and I am sure I will be pleased with it once I get it set up properly

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sound will not stay on

HTZ9F 05 June 2021 by Jherrera (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this not even 6 months ago and it has been giving problems, sound goes in and out and now will not e en turn on.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great Sound combined with TV

HT-ZF9 04 June 2021 by Hoodyman17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this system the sound is amazing for a £500 unit, whover it does have a couple of minor bugs.... the subwoofer can be intermitent and cuts out due to conditions i.e being 2 inches to far from soundbar or interference from surrounding brickwork etc.... my other minor niggles are sometimes when switching from HDMI 1 to 2 it sometimes goes to the home screen and also the base can at times be a tiny bit OTT and havent found a way to adjust this...... but for these minor little niggles it would have been 5stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The extra punch for I needed for movies

HT-ZF9 31 May 2021 by Old boy down south (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this simple litte package , ideal for my needs so I can watch movies with more punch, saddled this with the KE55 A8 and seems a very effective package for my needs easy to set up and use with enough features and connections , would not use for my music listening as I have a system more dedicated to this already but I love this with the awesome Sony A8 .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent sound and great design

HT-ZF9 25 May 2021 by Kaveeraj (United Kingdom)

This is the best soundbar i can recommend with the price..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great ease of use and good sound

HT-ZF9 14 May 2021 by kevin21 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item to replace a large home cinema system which was taking up a large amount of space. This soundbar bar and bass speaker are compact and produce a good sound. The soundbar integrates seamlessly with my Sony TV.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super sound

HT-ZF9 10 May 2021 by Flip flop phil (United Kingdom)

I've been waiting for the end of lock down to purchase this sound bar and rear speakers. The wait was worth it, super sound,easy to set up. Super product again from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All the sound you'll ever need.

HT-ZF9 10 May 2021 by wheelo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this Soundbar and Wireless Sub for two weeks and I'm thrilled with my purchase. Easy to follow instructions and all the sound you'll ever need. A high quality sound system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Happy owner

HT-ZF9 01 May 2021 by Toom0123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend this fantastic product to anyone looking for sound for their TV

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reasonable soundbar, with poor surround features

HT-ZF9 23 April 2021 by Rob7777777 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to use with TV, PS4 and Bluetooth vinyl player. 1. TV & PS4 - sound is ok, until you add surround sound speakers. These are great, and they need to be standard, but very expensive for what they do. 2. Bluetooth music - sound from bar and sub is good, once you play around with the settings, and I like that it hooks up to google assistant. BUT, the extra surround sound speakers don't play music. This is really annoying and why I ultimately returned them. Really poor functionality from an expensive system, and had I known this was the case I would've gone down a different route. The TV sound needs the surround speakers to really shine, but they're not worth the price if they don't play music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

A nightmare on every level.

HT-Z9F 08 April 2021 by Martin D (USA)

Let me start the review by saying that I have very low expectations for a soundbar. I don't expect to be impressive and playing music, or need a home theater experience to wow me. I was just looking for good compatibility with my new Sony television and improved dialogue sound which is allegedly one of the selling points of this sound bar. Frankly, if this $900 sound bar was compatible with the new Sony TV, boosted dialogue somewhat, and sounded as good as a $100 soundbar, I would have been fine. Instead, I got a soundbar that sounds weaker and thinner than a $20 Bluetooth speaker, or a ten year old $250 television. I know this because I compared both side by side. Also music streamed from any source sounds dramatically worse than the $20 Bluetooth speaker. As mentioned in other reviews, the subwoofer (which is 5 ft from the soundbar) constantly becomes disconnected. The soundbar also frequently becomes disconnected, no matter which method you use to hook it up. Resets don't help either. How can It be so completely incompatible with my new Sony TV? Unfortunately, I had gotten Covid shortly after buying it, so I didn't get to hook it up and check it out before the return period ran out at Best Buy. Now it now sits unplugged on my mantle, just so that we can watch TV with sound. It is literally a $900 piece of junk that will end up in a landfill, which is an environmental nightmare. I wish I could at least recycle it. I don't now what has happened to Sony. They used to make quality products that worked. Instead

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

1

0

Good sound

HT-Z9F//M SP1 07 April 2021 by JLPHOTO (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Value for money and love the design, easy to clean.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Dolsy Soundbar

HT-ZF9 06 April 2021 by Forever Blue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this soundbar for around a week now and am so far am extremely hasty with it. The build quality is great, as you'd expect from Sony, set up it fairly straight forward, I'd advise that you use good quality Interconnects, it comes with 1 x Optical cable but I'd recommend using quality HDMI cables where possible. There are 3 x HDMI ports, as follows: - 1 x HDMI ARC / EARC - Connect this to HDMI port on TV ( marked Arc / Earc) in / Out 2 x HDMI ports, connect 1 to Sky / Virgin box etc. and 1 to Blu Ray player / Games console 1 x Optical port 1 x 3.5mm Aux Port 1 x Wired ethernet port Once all connections have been made, following the instructions, set up is fairely easy. Connect to WIFI network etc. (Wireless Sub connects automatically.when switched for the first time). Sound quality is great, although I think it will take a while to tweak the settings and find which suit your own taste. The Sound from the sound bar is easy on the ear for film and music and had more than enough power to fill a large room, I do think the optional wireless speakers will be well worth adding attached later date though. All in all I am very happy with this soundbar. Once connected set up i

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Just plug and play, easy to install.

HT-Z9F//M SP1 04 April 2021 by Popong (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with the purchase, great buy, great entertaiment, very satisfied with the music quality produce.. :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Technically flawed

HT-ZF9 28 March 2021 by Chis44 (United Kingdom)

This product has the following technical problems: Does not stay connected to the subwoofer (the sound drops out for no reason). Looses connection to the Subwoofer permanently requiring a factory reset). Losses connection the Rear Speakers. When connected to a Sony TV over eARC and using the TV apps (eg Netflix) the sound drops out completely and require a power cycle to resume. There are people complaining about these issues from 2 years ago on AB forums, but these have not been addressed by Sony. For a £1000 soundbar and rear speaker this is totally unacceptable. My previous Sony Soundbar (SA-NT3) had a wireless subwoofer and in 4 years never Lost connection once. I cannot recommend this product at all. I have contacted technical support but the just asked my to connect to another TV and give it a factory reset. Also the manual states to connect the Subwoofer by cable if you have connection issues, but does not explain were to plug this (there is a hidden 3mm jack in the subwoofer, but nothing on the soundbar?) It needs a serious firmware update Sony! lost connection once.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

15

0

0

Great sound, awkward user interface

HT-ZF9 14 March 2021 by Jaylo33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the sound from this, it's got great bass and really clear dialogue. My only negative is the user setting screen that comes up on my Sony TV, it is really small and the navigation keys really don't work very well, with the screen going blank intermittently. I need to speak with Sony to understand if this is a fault or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

GREAT QUALITY

HT-ZF9 12 March 2021 by Spursy1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this to go with my new Sony TV and to replace an existing Sony home theatre to save on space. Works very well and easy to set up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Sound bar

HT-ZF9 10 March 2021 by Ray 56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound bar fill in so many sounds that you miss when watching normal TV. Quality product from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Better than most

HT-ZF9 08 March 2021 by Allan65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Heard this on a demo instore and just had to buy it. Amazing clarity and sound quality. Also well made. Remote could be a bit more upmarket if I’m going to be picky. Overall really happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Good depth of sound

HT-ZF9 05 March 2021 by Davy20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to go with Sony Bravia TV. Size length wise is a good fit for the TV. Setting up was not straight forward but contact with Sony solved the problem. (Info bar kept popping up randomly. A factory reset on the TV was needed. There is plenty of power. I don't have the rear speakers so can't comment on their effectiveness.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

very very poor performance

HTZ9F 27 February 2021 by hamidjj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

sound bar always disconnect from the TV and force me to restart the TV

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Great Sound

HT-ZF9 25 February 2021 by TonyT23 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A massive improvement in sound quality over my previous system

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0