265

4.0 based on 265 customer reviews

125
74
27
11
28
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great mini Sony Walkman digital sound machine

8GB 26 May 2019  (Singapore)

I brought the player to a holiday at Turkey and had a wonderful time listening to my favorite songs. I had downloaded so many songs for the journey by air to Turkey (11 hours or so) and similarly long hours back to Singapore. On the land journey to any location needs a variation of 1 to 4 hours and I had my personal Sony Walkman Digital music player as my personal entertainment device. I have set my vision on owning the Sony Bluetooth Digital Player so that I have my hands free to perform other tasks and need not have to rely on the ear piece although the music from the ear piece was astoundingly clear and crisp.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Gone bad to worse

8GB 18 July 2016 by shadowflare88 (Singapore)

Cons: 1) Display is not as vibrant and clear as the old model 2) Unable to create playlist straight from windows explorer. Have to go through tedious process through windows media player by syncing music. 3) Fewer functions as compared to old model, e.g. no podcast. 4) Feels very plastic and cheap for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

265 Customer Reviews

0

Sony Walkman NW-E394

8GB 16 February 2020 by Margaret 1949 (United Kingdom)

I love this product and I would recommend it, I use mine to listen to the radio and my library books. It's very user friendly. I broke my last Sony Walkman which I had few a few years, My husband bought me my second Sony Walkman to replace the one I broke, I'm so happy he did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better features than previously

8GB 06 February 2020 by Harker (United Kingdom)

Had this as a Christmas present to replace a previous one that had worn out from over use. Irritations of the previous model such as always catching buttons and turning on so constantly draining the power have been sorted with a lock on the side.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Nice looking

8GB 03 February 2020 by Thomas230 (United Kingdom)

It was bought specifically to listen to books, unfortunately it is difficult to move books onto the device and almost impossible to download audible books from the internet h

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony Walkman

8GB 01 February 2020 by YorkyBoy (United Kingdom)

Great little device - east to put music on and a good sound.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not working

8GB 31 January 2020 by Daaaaaaa (United Kingdom)

Brand new and cannot connect to PC or download any music. Waste of money. Sony support online non existent!!!

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Disappointing

8GB 26 January 2020 by Cozi (United Kingdom)

Not as good as an iPod replacement as I hoped the Music centre software is also rubbish

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Easy to operate

8GB 25 January 2020 by Tom3 (United Kingdom)

Uploading music on to the walkman is very easy. Attach to your computer, open windows music player, drag album to the "sync" section and you're off. Supplied earbuds not for me, I'm using Bose in ear buds, and Bose over ear cans which give amazing results. Only downside is I could do with a little more volume ! Menu easy too.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just what I needed

8GB 25 January 2020 by Gazzer 53 (United Kingdom)

Good compact and easy to use even for a none techno like me

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

No video playback anymore

NW-E390 SERIES 23 January 2020 by Trinaa15 (USA)

My husband bought this for me for Christmas to replace both my broken nwz-a816 (which was working for the last ten to 15 years until I accidentally spilled water in the charging port one night) , and my nwz-e465, of which the buttons broke a few years ago. I used to download movie files from my purchased movies so I could listen to them at night in bed, but was sorely disappointed when I found out this one did not support video feed. So, I returned it. I wish Sony would have a better policy of fixing their older items because I loved my other mp3 players and still have them, so maybe one day they can be fixed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Fits well in pocket

8GB 22 January 2020 by Coldo (United Kingdom)

Great for listening to radio when taking dog for a walk. Fits really well in pocket

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great Sound Quality

8GB 19 January 2020 by PhilipD (United Kingdom)

Ideal for taking on my walk and takes my mind of the walking !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Given to me as a gift

8GB 13 January 2020 by 72scotty (United Kingdom)

I was given this to replace an I pod which I destroyed accidentally in the washing machine. While I had no problem to transfer cds to Walkman , I can't figure out how to transfer my I Tunes library , I am disappointed that the transfer is not straightforward, I am totally fed up trying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Will Not Work With MAC Computer

NW-E390 SERIES 08 January 2020 by Peter128 (USA)

The Content Transfer "Sony" software does not work as it Crashes when I attempt to open the app. This Walkman is useless with the Content Transfer software working. Is Sony going to update the Content Transfer software so it will work with Mac Computers? If Sonny will not update and you own a Mac computer do not purchase this device.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Dated

8GB 07 January 2020 by Jogym (United Kingdom)

Bought this for use in the gym, lightweight due to poor quality of casing. Had to buy separate ear plugs, as original poor sound quality. Easy to download from laptop, but unable to download from other streaming platforms. It does its job, but poor imitation of Ipod equipment.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

great product

8GB 06 January 2020 by h220 (United Kingdom)

The Walkman is powerful,has sufficient capacity to hold all my playlist and more. Setting up is easy and the screen user friendly. All-in-all a great buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

8GB 04 January 2020 by Braces (United Kingdom)

Wife bought me this for Christmas and am very pleased with it. Easy to transfer from the PC and the sound and picture quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

8GB 27 December 2019 by trgharry (United Kingdom)

First time purchase of MP player which I am delighted with

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor

4 GB 26 December 2019 by Trace36 (United Kingdom)

My husband brought for Christmas, I’m unable to work it out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

Updated from original I pod

8GB 24 December 2019 by what do you want (United Kingdom)

Bought this to play music through the car radio while travelling

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great mp3 Player -- WORST manual I have EVER used

8 GB 18 December 2019 by Donna77642 (USA)

I got this on sale, so it was a really good time for me to try out an mp3 player. I have not had it a full month yet, so it is really too soon to evaluate it thoroughly. The sound is great. I use it with earphones at night to combat insomnia--it works perfectly....30 minutes of Sleeping at Last's angel sounding music puts me right to sleep. One thing I DO NOT LIKE is the awful online documentation that is supposedly the HELP. It is the worse I have ever used. I always like to print screen pages that have info that I use over and over...forget it with this manual. It jumps all around and is so confusing that, if I did not like the player already, I would bring it back just because the manual is so hard to use. I mean, really, just list all the areas and give directions for each area. Someone was having so much fun playing with technology that lets them use links to jump to areas that they forgot to make it simple for a new user to simply read the pages consecutively. Really? Why do that to us. The links are fine to jump to a new subject, but I have never seen to replace the actual directions given THERE on the page. Please rethink your HORRIBLE manual. I would NOT recommend this product due to the manual being just impossible to use. Sorry, but an instruction manual is as equally important to the product as the product itself. I will be searching YouTube hoping to get more direction from there. How sad.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Awesome!

8GB 09 December 2019 by Lori19 (United Kingdom)

I boughtthis MP3 player aweek ago and LOVE it! It sounds great and thebattery lasts a long time. I would highly recommend this little player.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Many functions; just want to hear my playlists

8 GB 09 December 2019 by Sean K (USA)

Sony requires the creation of playlists on its own Music Center. I couldn't simply transfer my existing from Windows Media Player. Wish the Mp3 and Windows Media Player were compatible.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

Nice and small

8GB 01 December 2019 by JenL (United Kingdom)

I bought this walkman mainly as it has a radio. I found the instructions unclear and felt I had to work the controls out myself. There is a so-called instruction manual but it doesn’t tell you how to work the walkman. Haven’t even tried to load music - need help with that....I did eventually find the radio..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Less than expected

8GB 18 November 2019 by Mike141 (United Kingdom)

Expected it to be good, it isn't. So disappointed.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great unit

8GB 08 November 2019 by David 60 (United Kingdom)

Very good unit good battery easy to use Very light good sound quality would recommend it to anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Sony Walkman Digital Music Player

16GB 05 November 2019 by Jas82 (United Kingdom)

I recently bought this Item at my Local Store and I am well pleased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Impossibly complex software - was unable to use

NW-E390 SERIES 23 October 2019 by Skippie (USA)

Bought this to replace Ipod (which broke) - on the basis of Amazon reviews of this product. I have spent hours trying to find a way to download music to it but have failed to either download iTunes to it or to get Amazon music to download to it. Unless you are a computer geek, this is about a frustrating a device as I've come across.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Easy to use and sturdy.

8GB 22 October 2019 by Gaglag (United Kingdom)

This is just what I was looking for. You press a button and it does what you want it to. No skipping past your menu choice like the touch sensitives players I have tend to do. Excellent memory and battery life. I just love it and would recommend it to anyone. Top marks from me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works well & Very easy to use.

8GB 20 October 2019 by Dick0848 (United Kingdom)

I bought this to replace a Philips go gear that died and it is better,louder and easy to load.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good quality product

8GB 13 October 2019 by Ding Dong 68 (United Kingdom)

I've had my Walkman for just over a week and I am really pleased with it. Good quality music reproduction in a nice small slim unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Arrived on time

8GB 29 September 2019 by Hairset (United Kingdom)

This was given as a present , to replace my old walkerman, mother put my music on so I am unable to comment.

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Complicated walkman

8GB 27 September 2019 by donkey1 (United Kingdom)

Bought as a replacement for an ipod, and now regret buying it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Not good

8GB 21 September 2019 by wxyz12344567 (United Kingdom)

Bought in late July, stopped working in early September. Have had an exchange, see how that works

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Great features

8GB 15 September 2019 by Nightwalker1 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and can’t believe how small and lightweight it is. I am still downloading all my cd’s and it is such an easy and quick process and there is so much space, more than I will need. Very easy to operate and find your music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

easy to operate

4 GB 10 September 2019 by jasper60 (United Kingdom)

Having had a zen this mp3 player is much easier to operate,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Turns itself on too easily

8GB 08 September 2019 by Welsh prop (United Kingdom)

Is too sensitive and turns itself in when in the pocket or bag. This drains the battery

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0