218

4.3 based on 218 customer reviews

148
35
11
7
17
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Awesome

SRS-XB21 05 March 2019 by Marvel man66 (United Kingdom)

Excellent base speaker, so powerful, going to get another one

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Battery won’t hold a charge

SRS-XB21 28 April 2019 by Kenzie1988 (USA)

I bought my speaker about 6 months ago at Best Buy and only got to use it about 10 times before the speaker battery stopped charging. Now I can’t listen to it for more than 30 minutes without it dying. The sound is good but I can’t even use it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

218 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

SRS-XB21 03 February 2020 by EST51 (United Kingdom)

Given the size of this speaker, the sound it produces is amazing. It has replaced an I-Pod docking style speaker which was good for its day [probably 15 years old] but which is way surpassed by the new Sony. Love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love it!

SRS-XB21 03 February 2020 by Taywalk12 (USA)

I got this for Christmas after wanting a GOOD Bluetooth speaker. I was using a 10$ light up Sylvania bluetooth speaker for about 10 months hoping i would get a Sony one! I got this one and I LOVE IT! Sounds so much better! The bass and live sound options are Great! I love the app, you can change the EQ, the way the lights flash with the music. It sounds really amazing. I love it. I use it when I shower every night, and when I clean houses! I highly recommend y’all!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sound

SRS-XB21 22 January 2020 by Mattyb (United Kingdom)

Brilliant sound but battery is a bit poor very good for for the price if you listen quietly battery is brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice style

SRS-XB21 15 January 2020 by Easybaugh (United Kingdom)

Nice piece of kit, good sound quality. Xmas pressie for hubby, very pleased with it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Battery life is a joke

SRS-XB21 14 January 2020 by Wayne26 (USA)

No matter what I do, the battery life doesn't last more than 5 hours. That's not even the worst part. After two hours of use the speaker will notify me "please charge". Doing so about every 5 minutes interrupting whatever I'm listening to. Again, not even the worst part. After telling me to charge the battery the volume is cut down to about 20% of max volume. And if I try to turn it up, it will say "please charge" if I press the button 3 times it will say it three times. So, I have a speaker that claims 12 hours battery life but in reality only lasts 5 hours. And over half of that 5 hours I cant turn it up even to half volume. It's a joke. This product is more expensive than speakers that outclass it in every way. No where on the box or manual does it say it will cut your volume to almost nothing. I bought this speaker because of the sound quality but no matter how good it sounds, if it cant be played longer than a couple hours it isn't worth it. I suggest purchasing a JBL or really anything other than this tripe.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Truly worthy purchase

SRS-XB21 11 January 2020 by Smutty (United Kingdom)

I bought this on amazon without testing one in the wild, boy was I surprised! Easy to use and looks really nice with it's compact form factor. Sound quality is amazing, the bass bangs harder than R Kelly at a primary school and the treble is as crisp as a packet of doritos. A must have for the office, spare room or workspace.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB21 09 January 2020 by Lynne123 (United Kingdom)

I love the sound on this speaker, although sometimes I need to turn the bass down. I have struggled to work out how to connect to extra devices and the instruction booklets aren’t very clear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Easy to set up - Great Sound

SRS-XB21 08 January 2020  (United Kingdom)

I was given this item as a Christmas present as a temporary solution to a vinyl player I have with no speakers - its produces a great sound and I have also hooked it up with my mobile - adds a new dimension to iPlayer and any music on my Apple phone. Its light, well designed and fun - the percussion features are interesting and it lights up if you want it to in various different modes!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Satisfied Customer

SRS-XB21 26 December 2019 by B Good (United Kingdom)

Great quality, good range on the Bluetooth and outstanding battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Waterproof speaker Rocks the Bathroom!!

SRS-XB21 21 December 2019 by Cookey66 (United Kingdom)

My teenage daughter has turned our bathroom into her own personal disco. The extra base booms around the house!! Excellent sound quality from a small speaker and a nice mesh finish makes it look cool!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not impressed at all. Fake reviews?

SRS-XB21 08 December 2019 by SilentLamb (USA)

Bought this last month from Sony's eBay store. Gotta say not impressed by sound quality at all. It's okay if u keep the volume low. The moment it goes above 60%, the bass vanished. I asked the sony people if there was something wrong with my unit in particular and they said no it's the same for all and gave me some BS about vibrations. Also, if u focus on the language of reviews, they all seem to be written by sony employees! Mine would sound like im a jbl employee but seriously spend some more and get a flip 4 or 5. My sis has that and it's 10 times better sound quality than this!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Low battery and settings not working properly

SRS-XB21 01 December 2019 by Kimmy94 (United Kingdom)

I was expecting much more from this speaker. Firstly, the battery dies after 1 day of playback. I used to have speakers that were 1/3 price and would work for 3-4 days without charging so this is quite disappointing as these speakers aren't cheap at all. Secondly, when I first connected the speakers to my phone, on the music manager by Sony, a separate app I downloaded, I was able to change different settings, like the live mode, set up different sounds for taps on the speakers (left/right/up/down), switch between normal and extra boost mode and much more. For some reason, the app doesn't show me these functions anymore and I can't set any of the above except for the extra boost switching, but I have to do it manually holding down 2 buttons on the speaker. Overall, the sound off of these is great and the bass is nice, but I think these speakers are overpriced and not worth the money they're asking you for.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb

SRS-XB21 02 November 2019 by Comyancolin (United Kingdom)

First class sound system everything you would expect from a Sony product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sound quality

SRS-XB21 24 October 2019 by Beccad03 (United Kingdom)

I’m not happy as my specker will not allow me to connect to my phone I have followed all the instructions and the specker has not worked

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

By far the worst bluetooth speaker for the price

SRS-XB21 21 October 2019 by Suhahaus83heb (USA)

Buy another brand this speaker has terrinke battery life and the volume locks at like 20 percent when it gets low which is all the time. Even if its plugged in it will constantly die unkess left to charge for 20 minutes on its own. Not even that loud. I love Sony which is why I got this instead of the bose one for the same price and Im thouroughly disappointed.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Loud Speaker with nice bass and great qualtiy

SRS-XB21 10 October 2019 by TJFLAMEZ (USA)

The speaker has come through when i needed something to play loud and has out performed many other speakers i've owned in the past. its battery is shaky on a very high volume but if its around 80% it will last around 5 hours and more if it is less im overall very happy with the speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great sound for its size !

SRS-XB21 09 October 2019 by Emma Ss (United Kingdom)

Totally happy with this speaker ...great sound and so easy to set up...I move mine around the house without any loss of connection or sound quality...tells you when the charge is running low the lights are a good feature which can also be turned off...3 different sound settings which are a bonus but I do struggle changing them on the unit so use the app instead...all in all a great Bluetooth speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sound quality superb

SRS-XB21 29 September 2019 by Barry6319 (United Kingdom)

I bought this speaker a few months ago, the sound quality is great, definitely extra bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

13 BIRTHDAY GIFT

SRS-XB21 27 September 2019 by TJW31 (United Kingdom)

A great small speaker, sounds fab and the lights are an added bonus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Terrible battery

SRS-XB21 27 September 2019 by Sid427 (USA)

I bought my first one about a year ago and hadn’t to take it back to be replaced because the battery dies after about an hour, thought the replacement would work better but still dies within two hours of playing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does what it says

SRS-XB21 26 September 2019 by johnEwilk (United Kingdom)

I did struggle a little to set this up on my HP laptop but when I did find a web tip that solved the issue I was able to follow the on-line guide more easily. I like the quality of this simple, single but powerful little speaker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice and clear music

SRS-XB21 16 September 2019 by Maartina (United Kingdom)

Very happy with it, our son has the same and recommend it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing bass, can feel slightly tinny at tines

SRS-XB21 14 September 2019 by Mattn00b (United Kingdom)

Overall this is genuinely an amazing speaker. I did have to change the sound settings quite a bit to make it sound nice, but once that had been done it's very pleasant to listen to. One of the drawbacks is once it gets to a certain volume level it can sometimes be slightly tinny, and have too high pitch sounds coming out, but as long as it's not too loud, it's great!! Personally I love my bass, and this excels in that department, although I had to set it to "Live sound", Bass +10Db, Middle +8Db and Treble +6Db. This was it greatly increases the quality of the music. As far as I'm concerned the "Extra bass" function is useless, as it doesn't really increase the bass at all and it just muffled the sound. Having said that though once you change the sound settings in the media control centre app it is a very nice speaker.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love it such a cool speaker

SRS-XB21 31 August 2019 by Gibbo26 (United Kingdom)

Great speaker I love it, party booster function is pointless and idiotic but other than that amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Terrible

SRS-XB21 28 August 2019 by Tone41 (USA)

Through two of these speakers for the same reason and that is that the charger port won't charge the speaker

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

1

0

First class

SRS-XB21 28 August 2019 by Wales number one (United Kingdom)

Bought to listen to pod casts from I pad. Sound quality very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great speaker

SRS-XB21 10 August 2019 by Dobby126 (United Kingdom)

Bought this for holiday and it's been great,sound and robust .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Easy to use

SRS-XB21 29 July 2019 by Wob004 (United Kingdom)

Wanted something more powerful and this certainly is

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Ummm waste of my money

SRS-XB21 28 July 2019 by dilpickle (USA)

The chartering port broke within the first 2 months of me purchasing this speaker from Walmart. I threw away my receipt by accident so this was a complete and total waste. Not to mentioned the app associated with the device is HORRIBLE. Glitchy. Slow. And unreliable. No ability to change the color of the lights. Says it has a lot of features, but they aren’t practical or executed well. I also purchased the smaller version and fortunately it has not broken on me yet.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Love it! But is Light Function Off?

SRS-XB21 28 July 2019 by Quiestmoi (United Kingdom)

Main Negative for me is that I do not fully understand the user guide, Re lighting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

0

1

0

No Bluetooth for iPhone X

SRS-XB21 27 July 2019 by Mandy K (USA)

I bought a new iPhone X and I can not pick up Bluetooth on it. I’m super bummed. I bought it when I had an older iPhone and it worked great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Packs a punch

SRS-XB21 26 July 2019 by Batmeister (United Kingdom)

I bought this recently to provide a music system in the garden using my iPod or iPhone as a source. It works really well. All types of music, from rock to vocal to classical are reproduced clearly and with great detail. The only reason for down-rating it to 4 stars is that in my opinion it has to be driven hard to work well, so using it for ambient music as a background isn't its forte.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great bass and sound easy to set up

SRS-XB21 26 July 2019 by Millie12 (United Kingdom)

Husband bought this for me for my birthday and I love it! Great sound and easy to link to my iPod etc..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent

SRS-XB21 24 July 2019 by Trickymc (United Kingdom)

Excellent just love this speaker appearance and sound quality really good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Glad I bought it

SRS-XB21 21 July 2019 by Nickyboy1 (United Kingdom)

Good compact sound. Easy to use. Not easy to clean due to covering

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good sound. Poor battery. Gimmicks. Expensive.

SRS-XB21 19 July 2019 by Call me H (United Kingdom)

I bought this about two weeks ago and I thought my previous Sony bluetooth iPhone dock speaker from a few years ago (Bluetooth v2.1!). I thought this was quite expensive, it was six tons. I feel it is worth less than that. The sound is very loud and seems to have too much bass for normal day to day use, but is useful for parties and when the mood fits. It seems to penetrate The battery life seems to be far less than quoted. Even with the features turned off and the lights, it's about 4-5 hours at most! The battery monitoring button does not seem to provide any accurate readings. Often it will say it's 50% when in reality it's about to reach the low battery status which causes the sound volume to be automatically lowered. The app seems quite rough at the edges and often decides to detect an additional speaker which doesn't exist. The sound tapping music mood is a silly gimmick, the novelty wore off after a few minutes playing with it. It could have been replaced with some other useful features. Multi coloured LED lights would have been better than the single white LEDs occupying the top and bottom strip - one each. But the lighting is a nice touch for those of us who do like lights synchronised to the music. It is built well and feels solid. I like the dust and water proof chassis, which means i don't have to worry about taking it in the bathroom, by the pool, beach, etc. Or worry about the weather, as here in England, it does rain a lot! For the money I would have expected a carry case or a built in strap to be included besides the micro USB cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

It's good

SRS-XB21 14 July 2019 by Afro86 (United Kingdom)

I was torn between three speakers. My favourite was unavailable. Sony made this one difficult to compare because it was the only speaker which didn't measure output in wattage. When the battery is low it speaks to you over the music, I'd prefer if it didn't. It does a lot of things but I can't remember all of the different combinations of buttons to get it to do them all. Sound quality is good. I like the extra bass feature, I'd prefer if it were louder. It is weighty, but I understand that is the sign of good quality. It will link to other Sony speakers. Be warned, it will only last 3 hours on full volume. It's a good speaker. It wouldn't be loud enough enough for a party though, maybe a small barbecue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Standard speaker

SRS-XB21 13 July 2019 by Deepdiver77 (United Kingdom)

The battery runs out very quickly, needs recharging frequently

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant little speaker

SRS-XB21 08 July 2019 by Samlad (United Kingdom)

Brilliant little speaker, nice bassy sound it is dust and splash proof, easy to use! I would reccomend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Good for music but not good for speech

SRS-XB21 07 July 2019 by Dart126 (United Kingdom)

I bought the speaker 5 weeks ago. I wanted to use it for music and also for speech. The "extra bass" is good for music but very poor for speech. Although the instructions show that you can shut down the "extra bass" by pressing two buttons together - this simply does not work.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB21 07 July 2019 by NORM45 (United Kingdom)

Can't believe the quality of the sound for the size of the speaker. Good bass response and excellent across the whole sound spectrum. Light and easy to carry and will accept a 3.5 mm lead id your playing unit doesn't have Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Appaling battery.

SRS-XB21 30 June 2019 by Fab2507 (United Kingdom)

Great sound. Awful battery. Nice looking unit. Last model was better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent quality

SRS-XB21 30 June 2019 by Cormac (United Kingdom)

Received this yesterday, unbelievable sound quality. Many fun features, very compact

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Speaker sound &clarity

SRS-XB21 27 June 2019 by Woody12345 (United Kingdom)

Amazing product reliable excellent sound & clarity and small and portable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good volume and sound quality

SRS-XB21 26 June 2019 by Nocciola (United Kingdom)

Just bought this to use in teaching and for Opera Appreciation class. So simple. Can simply switch it on, pair it with my ipad... in seconds. No lugging heavy speakers around. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Ticks all the boxes

SRS-XB21 24 June 2019 by SuperSix (United Kingdom)

Having listened to in a friend’s caravan this little device became a ‘must buy’ for me - and I can confirm it is money well spent - I’m delighted with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

SRS-XB21 23 June 2019 by Grevo (United Kingdom)

Very impressed by the sound quality. Small and transportable with a decent battery life. Bluetooth connection is flawless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sounds good, but...

SRS-XB21 22 June 2019 by M703 (USA)

I bought this speaker around May 15th, 2019 and I like the sound and features, but the battery life is nothing close to what the description claims. Not using the light or other features I am only able to get around 4 hours from this speaker. Sony, I would like you to provide me with a speaker that does provide up to 12 hours of music on a charge. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sharing my sounds

SRS-XB21 20 June 2019 by Morto (United Kingdom)

Had this bought for me as a secret Santa gift perfect for holiday balcony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good sound quality!

SRS-XB21 19 June 2019 by Dren (United Kingdom)

I am very happy with my purchase and i love it ! Sony you did imrpove youre bluetooth speakers, well done!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound

SRS-XB21 17 June 2019 by Vixster (United Kingdom)

Sounds much better than expected, really good bass, well worth the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect gift

SRS-XB21 15 June 2019 by MrMRA (United Kingdom)

I bought this product in May as a replacement for an earlier gift

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Speaker

SRS-XB21 11 June 2019 by Jom41 (United Kingdom)

Really decent speaker, I was surprised with how great the depth of sound is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0