26

3.2 based on 26 customer reviews

6
9
2
3
6
Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Remote needs camera Turn-On function

RMLVR1 29 June 2014 by MMC1 (USA)

Bought the HDR-AS100V bundle which included the remote. Everything about the camera is just fantastic but there seems to be some vital data that's missing on the remote which would make it an even better unit. As already mention from other reviews, the showing of the battery life of the AS100V camera would be a great feature especially when controlling multiple cameras. Im aware of Sony's advisory of the approx 140min battery life but it would be helpful not to constantly be mindful of the camera start to clock calculate when approx power will cease. Micro SD remaining time would also be a plus as would the data for Photo and INTVL. *** Most importantly the remote needs a remote turn-on function for the main camera unit. I do not know why Sony did not include this in the remote. Even the GoPro has this feature. If there's a firmware in the future this is a must!!!!! The turn on of the remote should automatically turn on the AS100V camera when its paring!!! Even though the remotes battery life is a little over 4hours with Live View I would welcome sacrificing a little battery time to have all this data without having to view the main camera units LCD screen. Please add this feature!

20

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not fit for purpose

RM-LVR1 26 June 2015 by jmiller (United Kingdom)

I bought this for use while windsurfing. Although advertised as waterproof to 3m, water entered the unit on first use. The unit was used exactly in accordance with instructions.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

26 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Action Camera and accessories.

RM-LVR1 19 February 2017  (United Kingdom)

I bought this item with a Sony HDR-AZ1VR (action camera for skiing) in December 2014. It has worked perfectly with the excellent camera until 4 weeks ago when it would no longer communicate with the camera!! However it has been excellent up to this date. Used Sony 'phone (Experia X5 Compact) to set the camera going. Better than any Go-Pro.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Live View Remote is not working

RMLVR1 28 June 2015 by ah1flyer (USA)

I like this camera, with one reservation. My Live View Remote will not hold a charge. I've left if charging overnight twice and it dies. Yesterday morning I took it off the USB and within a couple of hours, went back to use it and it was dead. Overnight I charged it again and it only went up to 3/4 charge. Then in not time, again, it went dead. I'm recharging because I want to go skiing in the morning and really dislike having to press record with my helmet off, put it on and hope it is recording while I ski. Any help possible?

2

0

0

Not fit for purpose

RM-LVR1 26 June 2015 by jmiller (United Kingdom)

I bought this for use while windsurfing. Although advertised as waterproof to 3m, water entered the unit on first use. The unit was used exactly in accordance with instructions.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Junk Does not work

RMLVR1 05 May 2015 by Nick978 (USA)

I have been trying for 3 hours to get this to work no luck. I am an experienced user.

2

1

0

Good concept, but...........

RMLVR1 22 March 2015 by Live2ride (USA)

On my first out with the live-view remote it constantly shut itself off after 5 minutes. I still have not resolved this problem. I hope I'm doing something wrong but I don't think so. It would also be nice if it had a way of mounting it to handle bars instead of the wrist.

1

0

0

Not very functional

RMLVR1 26 December 2014 by Joany (USA)

I can see the videos and pictures I have taken using the Play Memories app on my phone but a $120 device will not do that for me. I think for the lack of functionality like telling you how much memory you have left, not turning on and off the camera (are you kidding me?) That is the first function a remote control NEEDs to have in ANY device! I am so disappointed that my family gave me this for Christmas, I am sorry they spend all that money on this useless thing.

6

1

0

Live View Remote - Excellent

RMLVR1 01 December 2014 by valex777 (USA)

Great product idea - works great with the QX-30 lenscam. Only recommendation I have would be to move the zoom/menu select switches to the same side as the shutter release, or, better still, incorporate both functions into a single, multifunction rocker. This would allow for a somewhat larger screen (better for composition with lenscams) and, more importantly, finger manipulation of controls would not interfere with viewing (It would get 6 stars, then). As it is now, a righty or a lefty will end up having to reach across the device, blocking the viewscreen, in order to activate either the zoom controls (a righty wearing it on the left wrist) or the shutter release (a lefty wearing it on the right wrist). All in all, though, it's the perfect accessory for any of the lenscams and should probably be bundled with them. Then you could use your cell phone for its intended purpose - to tell someone somewhere else what you're doing.

1

0

0

good camera

RMLVR1 18 October 2014 by sorrychas (USA)

never pre order.will now cost extra $ for wrist remote.no package offered for pre sale.

0

0

0

RMLVR1 11 October 2014 by Maccky (USA)

The item works great but battery life is not

0

0

0

Saving my smartphone

RMLVR1 30 September 2014 by Tminus9lives (USA)

The device works very very well with the POV camera and I love being able to check the alignment or even shoot by hand for photos. Obviously you can do this with your smartphone but I really do not want to hall out my smartphone in the snow and near the water off and on all day. This REALLY makes things easier. My ONLY complaint/suggestion is the wrist strap needs to be longer. I will replace it myself but the current one is really small hence 4 stars versus 5.

1

0

0

Great combo purchase.

RMLVR1 30 September 2014 by MrZaz (USA)

Work very well with the Sony action cam. I have not try with other Sany cam.

0

0

0

Excellent product

RMLVR1 27 September 2014 by investigator (USA)

I have used the Live View Remote for both of my Sony Action Cameras. The remote is a must for most all activities. Battery life is good. I can use it all day and into the next if necessary. My use entails both pleasure (Skiing) and business (Forensic Investigations). The LVR has not failed and has been used in extreme situations at times. The quality and workmanship is just what you expect from Sony. I would like to have Sony provide a mute function for both the camera and LVR. Forensic investigations require this most of the time. The question that I must ask myself is "If had it to do again, would I purchase another LVR and the two Action Cams?" The answer is yes. When comparing the leading competitor to Sony quality it is not close. Sony's only real problem is THEY DO NOT PROPERLY MARKET THE ACTION CAM AND DO NOT EXPLAIN OR SHOW IN A SMALL VIDEO HOW THE ACCESSORIES WORK AND WHY SOMEONE WOULD WANT TO PURCHASE THEM. It should also be noted that Sony's video stabilization is unmatched. Placing an Action Cam on a snow ski is not an issue. Trying that with the leading competitor might lead one to experience video nauseating.

3

0

0

Not suitable for me, but that's just me

RMLVR1 27 September 2014 by Shureman (USA)

I use my cameras mostly indoors. In that circumstance, wifi to a tablet or cellphone is a lot more useful for exact framing. This item needs work. Bigger screen for starters (a la wearable Apple wrist gear). Get to work Sony!

3

0

0

Works Great

RMLVR1 26 September 2014 by bigbroimc (USA)

I got the Live View remote with the Action Cam and it syncs very easily. The picture can sometimes pause but it comes right back.

0

0

0

Great addition to the Action cam

RMLVR1 26 September 2014 by debodawg (USA)

I ride mountain bike this is the only product that shows you exactly what the camera sees. It is also has positive feedback your recording, battery status, memory card is installed. Not so with other manufactures. Much easier to use then phone apps as well. Very nice in that it will work with other/multiple Action Cams. Very cool Can Hardly wait to take this out snowboarding

0

0

0

Room for improvement on wireless and mounting

RMLVR1 26 September 2014 by a1b2c34d5f6g6h41gh3 (USA)

I have a lot of Sony products and love many of them. The Action Cam and Remote Viewer produced a good quality picture but the wireless connection was occasionally interrupted forcing me to reconnect. The sticky pads for the Action Cam were bad. On my first mountain bike ride I lost the Action Cam off my helmet, never to be seen again. Odd it does not come with a lanyard option. When I talked with customer service they assured me they could do nothing to help. By the way, I have asked to be removed from your email lists. Apparently that has not happened.

8

2

0

Great Product!

RMLVR1 26 September 2014 by SonyF150Terp (USA)

Works great with my HDR-AS15. Worth every penny.

0

1

0

Works as promised.

RMLVR1 26 September 2014 by Pinnnk (USA)

Works as advertised. I use it filming tandem skydiving. It's also hideously uncomfortable. The design of the wrist strap, and where the attaches is terrible.

0

0

0

Great idea, needs to improve and add more features

RMLVR1 29 August 2014  (USA)

The size of this device could accommodate more functions, perhaps incorporating the functions of the Smart Watch, with touch function, speakers and mic, this way the clock would not be without use most of the time. A must to have function is to allow play pre-recorded videos and photos. Also important would be to see on display the level of remaining battery, remaining time for video recording and remaining photo frames. Thanks.

1

1

0

Worst instructions ever

RMLVR1 09 July 2014 by DisatisfiedSonyCustomer (USA)

This remote has the worst instructions I've ever received with any product. Where's the battery? Do I replace or recharge it? If recharge, how? The battery was more than half dead when received. Need magnifying glass to read instructions. Instructions incomplete and do NOT identify all the buttons, ports, etc. Shame on Sony for such horrible customer dis-service!

4

5

0

Remote needs camera Turn-On function

RMLVR1 29 June 2014 by MMC1 (USA)

Bought the HDR-AS100V bundle which included the remote. Everything about the camera is just fantastic but there seems to be some vital data that's missing on the remote which would make it an even better unit. As already mention from other reviews, the showing of the battery life of the AS100V camera would be a great feature especially when controlling multiple cameras. Im aware of Sony's advisory of the approx 140min battery life but it would be helpful not to constantly be mindful of the camera start to clock calculate when approx power will cease. Micro SD remaining time would also be a plus as would the data for Photo and INTVL. *** Most importantly the remote needs a remote turn-on function for the main camera unit. I do not know why Sony did not include this in the remote. Even the GoPro has this feature. If there's a firmware in the future this is a must!!!!! The turn on of the remote should automatically turn on the AS100V camera when its paring!!! Even though the remotes battery life is a little over 4hours with Live View I would welcome sacrificing a little battery time to have all this data without having to view the main camera units LCD screen. Please add this feature!

20

0

0

A Fireware update could solve SOME of the issues.

RMLVR1 08 June 2014 by Thalinor (USA)

Live View Remote RM-LVR1 does NOT display how many minutes of recording are left on the SD card! Do you actually use your products? Why does it not tell me how many minutes there are left worth of recording? You would think this would be a critical thing to display. If you want to find out how long you have left on the SD card you have to take off the camera which makes the live view remote that much more useless. Live View Remote RM-LVR1 does NOT display the cameras battery level, only the remotes battery level. If you want to know the battery level of the camera you have to take it off, which defeats the purpose of the remote view in the first place! On the watch only display screen [not live video], it should also show the cameras battery level and recording time left as well. This way, if you do not want to have the live view remote showing what you are recording [to save battery on the non-swappable remote view watch], you can still use it to show how much time you have left on the SD card and battery levels of both the remote AND the camera. For those of us who don't need to see exactly what we are recording [and again to save battery as you can't swap it out], we could still use the live view remote on the watch screen [saving battery] to alert us how long we have left before the SD card is full, how much battery is left,and that we are recording [via the red light]. Can't change the battery. Waterproof 1m less than the newest Action Cam. People report it can't connect under water; I have yet to try. Overall for $150 device it's really limited with what it can do and seriously needs a feature update.

15

1

0

Must have for the Sony Action Cameras

RMLVR1 19 March 2014 by JaimeAstin (USA)

I finally took the camera and remote on mountain biking adventure last night. The camera died after 3 hours... The remote still has juice!!! I will buy a couple extra batteries and I will not even worry about the remote dying. There was little delay in the syncing of video and camera. The remote can configure the camera as well. I mean you just turn both devices on (after the initial sync) and it just works. I used the watch with the display off, but you can set it continuous video mode, clock, or off. Having the display off is the reason I did not used a "notch" of battery life. The remote is comfortable to wear and lightweight. It really is a nice device to not only view video to see what you are recording or setup a camera, it is perfect for controlling the camera!!!!!!!a

12

0

0

Performs as advertised BUT!

RMLVR1 01 January 2014 by GeriatricTeenager (USA)

Love the whole concept of the wrist band. It was the deciding option in my choice to purchase the Sony POV camera. That said, whoever designed the wrist band has never worn a ski jacket. The wrist band fits wonderfully on a mountain biker's bare wrist. Now try putting the wrist band on top of a ski jacket. It is NOT going to happen. Even more frustrating, when skiing I wear gloves that cover above my jacket's cuff. I own a Garmin sports watch. It came with a strap extension to enable it to be worn with outdoor garments. I encourage the design staff at Sony to bring some outdoor clothing into their offices and redesign the strap. They could even send me a complimentary strap for making this item functional. Now, I am off to my errr office - the ski hill!

34

7

0

bad experence

RMLVR1 28 December 2013 by padro (USA)

I bought this for Christmas, it don't work. I was very upset with Sony. To not have better control over there product. Bad quality control

7

30

0

Work's great with HDR-AS15

RMLVR1 13 December 2013 by SonyTerpFan (USA)

This is a great accessory to have. I have been using it for just a few hours with my HDR-AS15 (after updating the firmware to version 3.0). I am really impressed with the performance. Just great!

23

2