243

3.7 based on 243 customer reviews

108
56
23
17
39
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

An excellent compact design

CFD-S70 25 July 2017 by Malcolm S (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this primarily as a radio to replace my previous ageing Sony 'Boombox' ( I did not know that it was called a 'Boombox'!) The radio is a lot smaller than my previous radio which surprised me. My only complaint so far is that with the controls and the body of the radio all being in black, it is sometimes difficult to see which button I am pressing. I presume that with use I will get used to their position.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Meets the basic requirements

CFD-S70/BC SP5 31 January 2017 by TJ Chua (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cassette output is not as good as in the past which was the main reason why this model was chosen. Would be great if it comes with feature such as output to external speaker at such pricing.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

244 Customer Reviews

0

Impressive boombox!

CFD-S70/BC SP5 22 January 2021 by Nizam78 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

It seemed to be the only boombox worth considering during the 2020 year-end sale. The features meet my expectations.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice

CFD-S70/BC SP5 03 January 2021 by Fong456 (Singapore) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Son bought this for me. Very Easy to use........

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good product

CFD-S70 02 January 2021 by jb10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to play dozens of cassette tapes accumulated over many years (existing systems had packed up!). It does this very well, and has a good FM radio. I haven't used CD playing facility yet as have a much bigger CD playing set up. In general a first class product at the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Cassette , CD and Radio player

CFD-S70 19 December 2020 by JimmyJim12 (USA)

I bought this radio player a couple years ago still working Great! I love it definitely satisfied

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

None of my cds working Faulty ?

CFD-S70 18 December 2020 by Gee 69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was a present but never used till a month ago but CD compartment not working since cannot play any CD

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

junk

CFDS70BLK 14 December 2020 by get real (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the second one in less than a year. The first one I failed to register and the cd player stopped working. Now the new one the cassette player is screwed up and the volume.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

good

CFDS70BLK 05 December 2020 by vik28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this product five days ago.....i 'm having problems with the cassette .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No CD error message

CFD-S70 01 December 2020 by JayEm (USA)

I suddenly get a No CD error message although all CDs I have tried are clean and unscratched. The disc will not even spin. Until today, it worked fine. On Sony site I saw help for serial numbers all over the world, but not USA serial numbers. YouTube recommends resetting to factory specifications, but neither the website, "support bot", nor YouTube says how to do this. I am surprised and disappointed in the lack of customer support offered for this product.

1

0

0

Disappointed in product.

CFDS70BLK 25 November 2020 by Weezer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product so I could play my tapes but they didn't play on this machine. Also sound is not very good when playing cd's.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good value if your expectations are realistic

CFDS70BLK 08 November 2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very basic and compact boombox compared to my two '90s Sony boomboxes, which are still functioning very well. The sound quality isn't quite as good as my older units. It does offer better quality and sound than competing brand units, which I've bought and returned. Here are the big pluses for me: T1) This unit plays MP3 CDs as well as standard CDs; 2) cassette playback is fair-to-good with most old cassettes; 3) cassette recordings made on the CFD-70 from CD or radio are good, they sound pretty decent when played on a good home-audio deck; 4) FM and AM radio reception are good; 5) there's an aux input to plug in an external audio device; 6) using the headphone jack, this unit sounds even better on headphones or connected to an external sound system. Once you follow the owner's manual directions, the CFD-70 is easy to use. Based on quality, in a small room the unit is nice, and for that purpose I'd buy it again!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Adequate sound quality, decent functionality

CFDS70BLK 08 November 2020 by ronniebear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compared to my old Sony boomboxes - the CFD-S33 and CFD-151, which both still operate - the CFD-S70 is a much smaller unit. The sound isn't as rich and there are fewer features. However, if you want a brand-new CD/Radio Cassette-Corder which can play MP3 CD-R discs plus has a 1/8-inch Aux Input jack, the CFD-S70 seems to offer better quality than other brands I've tried and returned. If you wish, you can use the 1/8-inch headphone output to connect this to a home audio stereo system or other devices. This is an old-school unit, there's no USB jack or Bluetooth connectivity. If you want to record your own cassettes from CDs, radio or Aux input, this unit can make a decent recording. My main disappointment is the enclosed speakers are rather bright; the Mega Bass only makes the sound a tad warmer. The sound isn't as pleasant and won't play anywhere as loud as my older Sony units or my other high-end boombox with its bi-amped speakers and graphic equalizer. For casual use in my office, this very compact unit is pretty good for the price point.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

CD error message

CFDS70BLK 26 October 2020 by ttevans (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unit purchased from Amazon displayed error message No disc. Will not even spin.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Love everything about it, once I can turn on!

CFD-S70 16 October 2020 by murphy713 (USA)

I bought this unit to replace my old unit that finally died. For months all was perfect. Two weeks ago it would not turn on. Now I need to press the power button repeatedly to finally get it to come on. But all you have to do is slightly touch the power button to turn off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

looks great.

CFD-S70 03 October 2020 by povester (United Kingdom)

very satisfied so far,sony are normally good products.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0